DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

RAGEOT DE SAINT-LUC, CHARLES, clerk of the provost court of Quebec and royal notary; baptized 12 Aug. 1674 at Quebec, eldest son of Gilles Rageot*, royal notary and clerk of court, and of Marie-Madeleine Morin; d. and buried 18 Dec. 1702 at Quebec.

Even before the end of his studies, probably at the Jesuit college, Charles Rageot began to help his father in the registry of the provost court. Gilles Rageot, although still young, suffered a great deal from gout. When he died it was, therefore, natural to think of his son as his successor. On the recommendation of Frontenac [Buade*] and Champigny [Bochart], the king granted Charles a commission as clerk of court, dated 1 March 1693. After the customary investigation as to “character” he was admitted to office by the Conseil Souverain on 7 December following. As he was not yet 25 – the age at which one attained one’s majority – he had to get his mother to stand surety for him before he could practise his profession.

In 1695 Charles Rageot obtained a commission as royal notary, which has not been found. As clerk of court and royal notary, on occasion appearing for a litigant before the council, Charles was treading blithely in his father’s footsteps. With his future assured, he married Marie-Geneviève Gauvreau, aged 17, on 23 May 1696. She bore him four children, two of whom, both boys, died shortly after birth. In the autumn of 1702 Rageot, like all his fellow-citizens, was getting ready for a peaceful winter; for example, on 28 October he signed a contract with a settler of Lauson for the purchase of 12 cords of wood at 50 sols a cord. But an epidemic of smallpox broke out suddenly, spreading consternation and mourning throughout the colony. The strongest and the most active were not spared: Charles Rageot succumbed 18 December and his wife on the 26th; on 5 January their younger daughter also died. The only survivor was Marie-Madeleine-Geneviève, born in 1697, who later became an Hospitaller.

This short existence had certainly not allowed Charles to amass a fortune. True, he had invested 300 livres in the Compagnie de la Colonie; but in 1708 Jacques Raudot stated that he had “left no assets.”

His brother, Nicolas Rageot de Saint-Luc, succeeded him as royal notary and clerk of court.

André Vachon

AJQ, Greffe de Louis Chambalon, 28 oct. 1702; Greffe de Charles Rageot, 1695–1702; Greffe de Charles Royer, 3 mai 1696. AQ, NF, Ins. Cons. sup., II, 110v et seq.; NF, Ins. de la Prév. de Québec, I, 712. “Correspondance de Frontenac (1689–99),” APQ Rapport, 1927–28, 147. Jug. et délib., III, IV, V. “Liste générale des intéressés en la compagnie de la colonie du Canada, et des actions qu’ils y ont prises,” BRH, XL (1934), 506. Tanguay, Dictionnaire, I, 507. J.-E. Roy, Histoire du notariat, I, 106, 108, 132, 313. P.-G. Roy, Fils de Québec, I, 96f.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

André Vachon, “RAGEOT DE SAINT-LUC, CHARLES,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 25, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rageot_de_saint_luc_charles_2E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rageot_de_saint_luc_charles_2E.html
Author of Article: André Vachon
Title of Article: RAGEOT DE SAINT-LUC, CHARLES
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1969
Year of revision: 1969
Access Date: October 25, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

RAGEOT DE SAINT-LUC, CHARLES, greffier de la Prévôté de Québec et notaire royal, baptisé à Québec le 12 août 1674, fils aîné de Gilles Rageot*, notaire royal et greffier, et de Marie-Madeleine Morin, décédé et enseveli à Québec le 18 décembre 1702.

Dès le temps de ses études, au collège des Jésuites (probablement), Charles Rageot commença à aider son père au greffe de la prévôté. Gilles Rageot, en effet, bien que jeune encore, souffrait beaucoup de la goutte. Aussi, quand il mourut, songea-t-on naturellement à son fils pour lui succéder. Louis XIV lui accorda, sur la recommandation de Frontenac [Buade*] et de Champigny [Bochart], une commission de greffier datée du 1er mars 1693. Après l’ « information » d’usage, Charles Rageot fut reçu par le Conseil souverain le 7 décembre suivant. N’ayant point encore 25 ans – l’âge de la majorité – il dut toutefois obtenir de sa mère qu’elle le cautionnât avant de pouvoir exercer.

En 1695, Charles Rageot obtint une commission de notaire royal, qui n’a pas été retrouvée. Greffier, notaire royal, à l’occasion représentant quelque plaideur devant le conseil, Charles marchait allégrement sur les traces de son père. L’avenir assuré, il épousa, le 23 mai 1696, Marie-Geneviève Gauvreau, âgée de 17 ans. Le couple eut quatre enfants, dont deux, des garçons, moururent peu après leur naissance. À l’automne de 1702, Rageot se préparait, comme tous ses concitoyens, à un hiver paisible, signant, par exemple, le 28 octobre, un contrat avec un habitant de Lauson pour l’achat de 12 cordes de bois à 50 sols la corde. Mais une épidémie de petite vérole éclata tout à coup, semant la consternation et le deuil dans la colonie. Les plus forts et les plus actifs n’étaient point épargnés : Charles Rageot succomba le 18 décembre et sa femme le 26 ; le 5 janvier leur fille cadette mourait à son tour. Restait, seule survivante, Marie-Madeleine-Geneviève, née en 1697, qui se fit plus tard hospitalière.

Cette courte existence n’avait certes pas permis à Charles Rageot d’amasser une fortune. Il avait, il est vrai, placé 300# dans la Compagnie de la Colonie ; mais, en 1708, Jacques Raudot affirmait qu’il n’avait « laissé aucuns biens ».

Son frère, Nicolas Rageot de Saint-Luc, lui succéda comme notaire royal et greffier.

André Vachon

AJQ, Greffe de Louis Chambalon, 28 oct. 1702 ; Greffe de Charles Rageot, 1695–1702 ; Greffe de Charles Royer, 3 mai 1696.— AQ, NF, Ins. Cons. sup., II : 110v.s. ; NF, Ins. de la Prév. de Québec, I : 712.— Correspondance de Frontenac (1689–1699), RAPQ, 1927–28 : 147.— Jug. et délib., III, IV, V, passim.— Liste des intéressés en la compagnie de la colonie, BRH, XL (1934) : 506.— Tanguay, Dictionnaire, I : 507.— J.-E. Roy, Histoire du notariat, I : 106, 108, 132, 313.— P.-G. Roy, Fils de Québec, I : 96S.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

André Vachon, « RAGEOT DE SAINT-LUC, CHARLES », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 1 sept. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rageot_de_saint_luc_charles_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rageot_de_saint_luc_charles_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   André Vachon
Titre de l'article:   RAGEOT DE SAINT-LUC, CHARLES
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   1 septembre 2014