DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

LOLA, PETER (also known as Pierre or Peter Laurent), Malecite leader, guide, and runner; b. probably c. 1815 in or near Medoctec (four miles upriver from present-day Meductic), N.B.; m. 31 Oct. 1837 Fanny (Françoise) Joseph, and they had two sons and two daughters; last known to be alive in September 1852.

Beginning with William Odber Raymond*’s account in 1890, the story of Peter Lola’s foot-race with a stage-coach has become part of New Brunswick’s folklore. Some time around 1840, when he was in Fredericton, Lola requested passage in a stage-coach bound for Woodstock, a distance of approximately 60 miles. Although he offered the customary fare, he was refused. Angered, he vowed to reach the destination before the four-in-hand. Both left around eight in the morning and, despite the efforts of the coach’s driver, John Turner, Lola led the entire way over the rough New Brunswick roads. Raymond describes the conclusion of the race: “It was still early in the afternoon when the citizens of Woodstock were aroused in a manner entirely unexpected. The stage-coach came tearing into the town at the heels of an Indian who was yelling like a demon and running as for his life. . . . The finish was a close one, but the Indian was ahead.”

Unfortunately for the Malecites of the middle Saint John region, they were winners only of foot-races. Around the same time as the race took place, the members of the band were becoming increasingly concerned over the number of settlers homesteading on the site of their traditional summer village, Medoctec. This area had been allotted by the Nova Scotia authorities on 15 Oct. 1784 to 120 men from De Lancey’s Brigade, including Benjamin Peck Griffith and Robert Brown, but it was well into the 19th century before the number of permanent settlers became substantial.

In 1836, when Peter Fraser*, a Fredericton lawyer, drew up his will, he included a direction that a farm of some 200 acres, situated three miles south of Woodstock, be made a reserve for Medoctec’s displaced Indians. Fraser felt that the band should be compensated for the land of which they had been “wrongfully deprived.” The reserve was finally established on 22 May 1851, more than ten years after Fraser’s death. On 6 October, Peter Lola was one of the eight Malecites who signed the release whereby the band gave up their claim to Medoctec. John Dibblee, who was the eldest son of the Reverend Frederick Dibblee* and who, like his father, had been acquainted for some time with the Indians in the area, verified Lola’s long-standing residence at Medoctec and his right to sign the document. Lola and his family were among the old Medoctec community that moved either onto the Woodstock reserve or to a settlement at the mouth of the Meduxnakik (Meduxnekeag) River at Upper Woodstock.

An intrepid woodsman and effective guide, Peter Lola accompanied William Teel Baird* on a hunting and fishing trip in September 1852. A nostalgic account of their experiences is given in Baird’s autobiography, Seventy years of New Brunswick life. This work provides an excellent description of adventures with “rod and gun” carried out under the tutelage of Baird’s Indian guides on the lakes and rivers of central New Brunswick.

Although Peter Lola was not an important Malecite leader, the facts and legends which surround his life help to depict both the attitude of the English-speaking community of central New Brunswick towards the Malecites and the band’s response to that attitude.

Vincent O. Erickson

Arch. paroissiales, St-Bruno (Van Buren, Maine), Reg. des baptêmes, mariages et sépultures, vol.1. PAC, RG 31, A1, 1861, Woodstock, N.B. PANB, RG 2, RS7, 40: 207. St Dunstan’s Roman Catholic Church (Fredericton), Reg. of baptisms, marriages, and burials, vol.2: 1837, no.26; 1840, no.192. Canada, Indian treaties and surrenders . . . [1680–1906] (3v., Ottawa, 1891–1912; repr. Toronto, 1971), 3: 13. W. T. Baird, Seventy years of New Brunswick life . . . (Saint John, N.B., 1890; repr. Fredericton, 1978). W. O. Raymond, The River St. John: its physical features, legends and history from 1604 to 1784 (Saint John, 1910; [2nd ed.], ed. J. C. Webster, Sackville, N.B., 1943; repr. 1950).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Vincent O. Erickson, “LOLA, PETER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 8, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 23, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lola_peter_8E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lola_peter_8E.html
Author of Article: Vincent O. Erickson
Title of Article: LOLA, PETER
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 8
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1985
Year of revision: 1985
Access Date: October 23, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

LOLA, PETER (connu aussi sous le nom de Pierre ou Peter Laurent), chef malécite, guide et coureur à pied, né probablement vers 1815 à Médoctec (à quatre milles en aval de l’actuel Meductic, Nouveau-Brunswick) ou dans les environs de ce village ; le 31 octobre 1837, il épousa Fanny (Françoise) Joseph, et ils eurent deux fils et deux filles ; décédé après septembre 1852.

Le récit de William Odber Raymond* fit connaître, en 1890, l’histoire de la course à pied de Peter Lola contre une diligence. Cet exploit fait maintenant partie du folklore du Nouveau-Brunswick. Lola, qui se trouvait à Fredericton aux environs de 1840, voulut prendre place dans une diligence se rendant à Woodstock, ville située à une soixantaine de milles. Bien qu’il ait offert de payer son passage, on refusa de le laisser monter. Furieux, Lola jura qu’il arriverait à destination avant la voiture à chevaux. Les deux concurrents partirent en même temps vers huit heures du matin. En dépit des efforts de John Turner, le conducteur de la diligence, Lola devança celle-ci pendant tout le trajet sur les chemins raboteux du Nouveau-Brunswick. Raymond décrit ainsi la fin de la course : « Il était encore tôt dans l’après-midi quand les habitants de Woodstock furent dérangés d’une façon tout à fait inattendue. La diligence déboucha en trombe dans la ville sur les talons d’un Indien qui hurlait comme un démon et qui courait comme s’il y allait de sa vie [...] La course fut très serrée, mais l’Indien arriva le premier. »

Malheureusement, les Malécites du centre de la vallée de la rivière Saint-Jean ne gagnaient que les courses à pied. À peu près à l’époque où cette course eut lieu, les membres de la bande s’inquiétaient de plus en plus du nombre de colons venus se fixer sur l’emplacement de Médoctec, leur village d’été traditionnel. Le 15 octobre 1784, les autorités de la Nouvelle-Écosse avaient assigné ce secteur à 120 hommes de la brigade de De Lancey, dont Benjamin Peck Griffith et Robert Brown, mais ce n’est que dans les années 1840 qu’un nombre important de colons s’y établirent de façon permanente.

En 1836, lorsque Peter Fraser*, avocat de Fredericton, rédigea son testament, il y inclut une clause stipulant qu’une ferme de quelque 200 acres située à trois milles au sud de Woodstock soit transformée en réserve pour les Indiens évincés de Médoctec. Fraser croyait que la bande devait être indemnisée pour la terre dont elle avait été « injustement dépossédée ». La réserve fut finalement établie le 22 mai 1851, plus de dix ans après la mort de Fraser. Le 6 octobre, Peter Lola fut l’un des huit Malécites qui signèrent une décharge par laquelle la bande renonçait à ses droits sur Médoctec. John Dibblee, le fils aîné du révérend Frederick Dibblee*, qui, comme son père, connaissait depuis un certain temps les Indiens de la région, s’assura que Lola demeurait depuis longtemps à Médoctec et qu’il était autorisé à signer le document. Lola et sa famille faisaient partie de la vieille communauté de Médoctec qui alla s’installer dans la réserve de Woodstock ou dans l’établissement situé à l’embouchure de la rivière Meduxnakik (rivière Meduxnekeag) à Upper Woodstock.

Intrépide homme des bois et excellent guide, Lola accompagna William Teel Baird* au cours d’une excursion de chasse et de pêche en septembre 1852. On trouve dans l’autobiographie de Baird, Seventy years of New Brunswick life [...], un récit de leurs expériences empreint de nostalgie. Cet ouvrage contient une excellente narration des aventures vécues avec « la canne à pêche et le fusil » sur les lacs et les rivières du centre du Nouveau-Brunswick, sous la tutelle des guides indiens de Baird.

Même si Peter Lola ne fut pas un grand chef malécite, les faits et les légendes qui entourent sa vie permettent de décrire l’attitude de la communauté de langue anglaise du centre du Nouveau-Brunswick à l’égard des Malécites, aussi bien que la réaction de la bande à cette attitude.

Vincent O. Erickson

APC, RG31, A1, 1861, Woodstock, N.-B.— APNB, RG 2, RS7, 40 : 207.— Arch. paroissiales, St-Bruno (Van Buren, Maine), Reg. des baptêmes, mariages et sépultures, vol. 1.— St Dunstan’s Roman Catholic Church (Fredericton), Reg. of baptisms, marriages, and burials, vol. 2 : 1837, no 26 ; 1840, no 192.— Canada, Indian treaties and surrenders [...] [1680–1906] (3 vol., Ottawa, 1891–1912 ; réimpr., Toronto, 1971), 3 : 1–3.— W. T. Baird, Seventy years of New Brunswick life [...] (Saint-Jean, N.-B., 1890 ; réimpr., Fredericton, 1978).— W. O. Raymond, The River St. John : its physical features, legends and history from 1604 to 1784 (Saint-Jean, 1910 ; [2e éd.], J. C. Webster, édit., Sackville, N.-B., 1943 ; réimpr., 1950).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Vincent O. Erickson, « LOLA, PETER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 8, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 avril 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lola_peter_8F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lola_peter_8F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Vincent O. Erickson
Titre de l'article:   LOLA, PETER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 8
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1985
Année de la révision:   1985
Date de consultation:   21 avril 2014