DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

NAUKANA (Nanton, Manton, Nowkin), WILLIAM, also known as Likameen, Lakamine, or Lackaman, HBC employee and settler; b. 1813 in the Sandwich (Hawaiian) Islands; d. December 1909 and was buried at Fulford Harbour, B.C.

Family tradition has it that William Naukana was related to the Hawaiian royal family, possibly to Naukane, a sometime royal retainer who first travelled to the northwest coast of North America in 1811 under the name of John Coxe. His native islands were favoured wintering and stopover points for European merchant vessels in the 19th century. Local men, called Owhyhees or more often Kanakas, which was a Polynesian term for persons of aboriginal blood, might be taken on as crew members. Some soon returned home or continued as seamen, but others went ashore at ships’ destinations. Those who did so on the northwest Pacific coast often ended up working in the fur trade alongside Orkney Islanders and French Canadians as boatmen, blacksmiths, farm help, mill-hands, and general labourers. From the mid 1820s the Hudson’s Bay Company, which had inherited some Kanaka labourers from the companies that preceded it in the Pacific northwest, recruited Kanakas on contract for its posts. Altogether three or four hundred were employed in the fur trade there during the 19th century, and some of them stayed on in British Columbia to make an important contribution to pioneer life.

The comparatively menial positions that Kanakas occupied in the fur trade and the ease with which names were altered to facilitate pronunciation or for other reasons make it difficult to trace individual lives. Only from time to time does William Naukana emerge from the shadows of the past. He may have arrived in the Pacific northwest as early as 1835, although the first point at which he can be specifically identified as an HBC servant is in 1845–46, when he was at Fort Vancouver (Vancouver, Wash.). He was employed on contract in the New Caledonia district (B.C.) in 1846–18 and at Fort Langley (near Langley) in 1848–49, Thompson’s River Post (Kamloops) in 1850–51, and Fort Victoria (Victoria) in 1853–56. In old age Naukana recalled long HBC hunting expeditions through unsurveyed territory and spoke affectionately of a personal relationship with chief factor and governor James Douglas*, for whom he sometimes served as interpreter. Naukana disappears from the company records after 1856, and it is likely he was part of a group of Kanakas who later went to work on the San Juan Islands. He is known to have been there in the 1860s. According to one story, he had first returned to the Sandwich Islands but, learning that the family land had been made part of a sugar-cane plantation, he had come back to the Pacific northwest.

In 1859 the San Juan Islands had become the object of a dispute between Britain and the United States, and in 1872 they were awarded to the Americans through international arbitration. Many of the Kanakas who had settled on them decided to move to British soil, where they enjoyed greater civil liberties, including rights to own land, become citizens, and vote. Naukana and his good friend John Palua (Palan) took up property on tiny Portland Island, just south of Salt Spring Island where numerous other Kanakas farmed and fished. He spent his remaining years on Portland and at nearby Isabella Point on Salt Spring. In 1889 he was naturalized as a British subject.

The Kanakas on Salt Spring and the neighbouring smaller islands long maintained a sense of community through geographical proximity, membership in St Paul’s Catholic Church, which they helped build, traditional feasts extending for weeks on end, and intermarriage from the second generation on. Most early Kanakas established personal relationships with native women, and Naukana was no exception. During the 1850s and 1870s he fathered a son who died young and six daughters. Two of the daughters married fellow Kanakas and the others European or part-European settlers. The position of leadership in the community which has been attributed to him appears to derive at least in part from his longevity. He died at the age of 96 and is buried alongside several of his pioneer contemporaries at St Paul’s Church.

Jean Barman

[Stories concerning William Naukana’s life passed down through the family were related to the author by his great-granddaughter Rosemary Tahouney Unger of Victoria in an interview of 27 June 1990. Naukana’s certificate of naturalization, dated 5 Dec. 1889, was also passed down through the family and is currently in Rosemary Unger’s possession.  j.b.]

BCARS, D-19, Portland Island file; Tape 3807.1 (oral hist. interview conducted by Amber Hindle with Jack and Paul Roland, 22 June 1977). NA, RG 31, C1, 1881, Salt Spring Island, household 162; 1891, Salt Spring Island, household 43. PAM, HBCA, William Naukana file. Daily Colonist (Victoria), 23 Dec. 1909. J. K. Duncan, “Minority without a champion: the Kanaka contribution to the western United States, 1750–1900” (ma thesis, Portland State Univ., Portland, Oreg., 1972) [a 25-page summary version of this dissertation has been published by the Oreg. Hist. Soc. as J. K. Duncan, Minority without a champion: Kanakas on the Pacific coast, 1788–1850 (Portland, 1972)]. Bea Hamilton, Salt Spring Island (Vancouver, 1969). Susan Kardas, ‘“The people bought this and the Clatsop became rich’: a view of nineteenth century fur trade relationships on the lower Columbia between Chinookan speakers, whites, and Kanakas” (phd thesis, Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, Pa, 1971). E. M. Naughton, “Hawaiians in the fur trade: cultural influence on the northwest coast, 1811–1875” (ma thesis, Western Wash. Univ., Bellingham, 1983). T. K. Ovanin, Island heritage buildings: a selection of heritage buildings in the Islands Trust area (Victoria, 1984; repr. 1987).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean Barman, “NAUKANA, WILLIAM, Likameen, Lakamine, Lackaman,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed August 22, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/naukana_william_13E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/naukana_william_13E.html
Author of Article: Jean Barman
Title of Article: NAUKANA, WILLIAM, Likameen, Lakamine, Lackaman
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1994
Year of revision: 1994
Access Date: August 22, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

NAUKANA (Nanton, Manton, Nowkin), WILLIAM (aussi connu sous les noms de Likameen, Lakamine ou Lackaman), employé de la Hudson’s Bay Company et colon, né en 1813 aux îles Sandwich (Hawaï) ; décédé en décembre 1909 et inhumé à Fulford Harbour, Colombie- Britannique.

Selon la tradition familiale, William Naukana était apparenté à la famille royale hawaïenne, peut-être par l’intermédiaire d’un membre de la suite royale appelé Naukane, qui vint sur le littoral nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord en 1811 sous le nom de John Coxe. Au xixe siècle, beaucoup de navires marchands d’Europe faisaient escale aux îles Sandwich ou y passaient l’hiver. Parfois, des hommes du lieu, appelés Owhyhees ou plus souvent Kanakas, terme polynésien qui signifie « aborigènes », étaient pris comme membres d’équipage. Certains ne tardaient pas à retourner chez eux ou continuaient leur vie de marins, mais d’autres descendaient à terre lorsque le navire était arrivé à destination. Ceux qui s’attardaient ainsi sur le littoral nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord finissaient souvent par travailler dans la traite des fourrures aux côtés des Orcadiens et des Canadiens français, soit à titre de pagayeurs, de forgerons, de journaliers ou d’ouvriers de fermes ou de moulins. À compter du milieu des années 1820, la Hudson’s Bay Company, qui avait hérité des travailleurs kanakas des compagnies qui l’avaient précédée sur le littoral du Pacifique, en recruta d’autres par contrat pour ses postes. Au xixe siècle, 300 ou 400 y furent employés dans la traite des fourrures, et certains demeurèrent en Colombie-Britannique, où ils prirent une part importante à la vie pionnière.

Comme les Kanakas occupaient des positions plutôt humbles dans la traite des fourrures et que l’on modifiait souvent leurs noms, notamment pour en faciliter la prononciation, il est difficile de retrouver leurs traces. William Naukana n’émerge que par endroits des brumes du passé. Peut-être était-il arrivé sur la côte nord-ouest dès 1835, mais c’est seulement en 1845–1846 qu’il commence à figurer parmi les employés de la Hudson’s Bay Company ; il était alors au fort Vancouver (Vancouver, Washington). Il fut employé par contrat dans le district de New Caledonia (Colombie-Britannique) de 1846 à 1848, au fort Langley (près de Langley) en 1848–1849, au Thompson’s River Post (Kamloops) en 1850–1851 et au fort Victoria (Victoria) de 1853 à 1856. Dans sa vieillesse, Naukana évoquait les longues expéditions de chasse qu’il avait faites en territoire inexploré lorsqu’il travaillait pour la compagnie et parlait affectueusement de l’agent principal et gouverneur James Douglas*, qu’il avait bien connu et à qui il avait parfois servi d’interprète. Son nom ne figure plus dans les registres de la compagnie après 1856. Probablement faisait-il partie d’un groupe de Kanakas qui alla par la suite travailler dans l’archipel de San Juan ; du moins, il était là dans les années 1860. On raconte qu’il était d’abord retourné aux îles Sandwich mais que, apprenant que la terre de sa famille faisait désormais partie d’une plantation de canne à sucre, il avait regagné le Nord-Ouest.

Depuis 1859, l’archipel de San Juan faisait l’objet d’un litige entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis, et en 1872, les îles furent attribuées aux Américains par un tribunal international d’arbitrage. Bon nombre des Kanakas qui s’y étaient installés décidèrent de passer en sol britannique, où ils avaient plus de libertés civiles, dont le droit de posséder des terres, d’acquérir la citoyenneté et de voter. Naukana et son bon ami John Palua (Palan) s’établirent dans la petite île Portland, juste au sud de l’île Salt Spring, où beaucoup d’autres Kanakas cultivaient la terre et pêchaient. Il passa le reste de sa vie dans l’île Portland et à Isabella Point, dans l’île Salt Spring. En 1889, il fut naturalisé sujet britannique.

Les Kanakas de l’île Salt Spring et des petites îles avoisinantes conservèrent longtemps le sens de leur identité commune. Ils vivaient proches les uns des autres, fréquentaient l’église catholique St Paul, qu’ils aidèrent à construire, célébraient des fêtes traditionnelles qui duraient des semaines et, à partir de la deuxième génération, se marièrent entre eux. La plupart des premiers Kanakas se lièrent à des femmes autochtones, et Naukana ne fit pas exception. Pendant les années 1850 et 1870, il eut un fils qui mourut jeune et six filles. Deux de ses filles épousèrent des compatriotes kanakas, et les autres, des colons européens ou partiellement européens. Il semble que la position d’autorité qui lui avait été attribuée dans la communauté découlait au moins en partie de sa longévité. Il mourut à l’âge de 96 ans et repose à l’église St Paul, aux côtés de plusieurs de ses contemporains pionniers.

Jean Barman

Les anecdotes concernant la vie de William Naukana et transmises dans la famille d’une génération à l’autre nous ont été contées par son arrière-petite-fille, Rosemary Tahouney Unger, de Victoria, au cours d’une entrevue réalisée le 27 juin 1990. Le certificat de naturalisation de Naukana, daté du 5 déc. 1889, a aussi été transmis d’une génération à l’autre et se trouve entre les mains de Rosemary Unger.  [j. b.]

AN, RG 31, C1, 1881, Salt Spring Island, 162 ; 1891, Salt Spring Island, 43.— BCARS, D-19, Portland Island file ; Tape 3807.1 (entrevue réalisée par Amber Hindle avec Jack et Paul Roland, 22 juin 1977).— PAM, HBCA, William Naukana file.— Daily Colonist (Victoria), 23 déc. 1909.— J. K. Duncan, « Minority without a champion : the Kanaka contribution to the western United States, 1750–1900 » (thèse de m.a., Portland State Univ., Portland, Oreg., 1972) ; une version abrégée (25 pages) de cette thèse a été publiée par l’Oreg. Hist. Soc. : J. K. Duncan, Minority without a champion : Kanakas on the Pacific coast, 17881850 (Portland, 1972).— Bea Hamilton, Salt Spring Island (Vancouver, 1969).— Susan Kardas, « The people bought this and the Clatsop became rich » : a view of nineteenth century fur trade relationships on the lower Columbia between Chinookan speakers, whites, and Kanakas » (thèse de {{ph.d}}., Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, Pa, 1971).— E. M. Naughton, « Hawaiians in the fur trade : cultural influence on the northwest coast, 1811–1875 » (thèse de {{m.a}}., Western Wash. Univ., Bellingham, 1983).— T. K. Ovanin, Island heritage buildings : a selection of heritage buildings in the Islands Trust area (Victoria, 1984 ; réimpr., 1987).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean Barman, « NAUKANA, WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 oct. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/naukana_william_13F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/naukana_william_13F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jean Barman
Titre de l'article:   NAUKANA, WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1994
Année de la révision:   1994
Date de consultation:   24 octobre 2014