DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

CARPENTIER, BONAVENTURE (baptized Étienne), priest and Recollet; b. and baptized 18 Sept. 1716 at Beaumont (Que.), probably the son of Étienne Carpentier and Marie-Charlotte Blanchon; d. 6 Jan. 1778 at Saint-Nicolas (Que.).

Étienne Carpentier took his vows on 29 April 1737 and on 23 Sept. 1741 was ordained priest with the name Father Bonaventure. After a few months’ ministry at Lotbinière and a two-year stay at the Recollet monastery in Trois-Rivières, he became chaplain at Fort Saint-Frédéric (near Crown Point, N.Y.) at the beginning of 1747. From 1750 to 1753 he ministered to the parishes of Sainte-Marie-de-la-Nouvelle-Beauce (Sainte-Marie, Que.) and Saint-Joseph-de-la-Nouvelle-Beauce (Saint-Joseph, Que.); then from 1753 to 1754 he acted as chaplain at Fort Frontenac (Kingston, Ont.). For some years afterward there is no trace of him.

In 1758 Father Bonaventure was a missionary to the Acadians and the Indians along the Miramichi River (N.B.). In September of that year Murray, under Wolfe*’s orders, destroyed their settlement (since that time called Burnt Church), forcing Father Bonaventure and his flock to flee into the woods in the direction of Baie des Chaleurs. In 1764 Father Bonaventure became the first resident priest at Bonaventure (Que.). Two years later he wrote Bishop Briand that his age and health no longer allowed him to minister to his immense territory, where he had to cover seven or eight leagues to visit the sick, and furthermore that the mission at Bonaventure could no longer support a missionary unless that person “is willing to follow the trade of a Recollet” and beg.

In 1767 accusations of scandalous conduct were made against Father Bonaventure – he and an Indian woman were said to have had a child – and Bishop Briand called him to Quebec to give an account of himself. Ignoring this order, he was suspended from all his functions as parish priest including that of saying mass in the diocese. Faced with such sanctions he entrusted his mission to Father Ambroise, the priest at Restigouche, and retired to Paspébiac, promising Bishop Briand in January 1768 that he would go to Quebec in the spring. This repentance did not, however, last long, for he seems to have resumed his ministry on the pretext “that having been appointed by the king and the governor no one had the right to remove him.” The Indian chiefs of the Miramichi region had protested the loss of their missionary to the bishop, who replied rather sternly in a pastoral letter dated 9 Oct. 1768 and addressed to the inhabitants of Baie des Chaleurs: he ordered them “to have no further dealings or association with Brother Bonaventure Carpentier, Recollet, for purposes of religion, . . . to expel him from the presbytery, where he has no longer any right to be, to take away from him the key to the church and sacristy and all the vestments and sacred vessels. . . .”

Father Bonaventure finally went to Quebec, where Bishop Briand, out of consideration for François Bonaventure, the parish priest of Trois-Rivières and the Recollet’s cousin, appointed him parish priest of Saint-Nicolas in 1769. After only a few months there, he quarrelled with the churchwardens and sought shelter in his cousin’s house where he remained three years, helping out in that parish. The bishop, who had again removed his authority to exercise the ministry, returned it except for confession in 1772. Two years later Father Bonaventure resumed his parish charge at Saint-Nicolas, where he died on 6 Jan. 1778.

Fidèle Thériault

AAQ, 22 A, III, 391, 617; 311 CN, I, 141; 33 CR, A, 37, 49. Archives de l’archevêché de Rimouski (Rimouski, Qué.), Correspondance. Archives de l’évêché de Gaspé (Gaspé, Qué.), casier des paroisses, Bonaventure, lettre de Louis-Joseph Desjardins à Mgr Hubert, 30 sept. 1795. N.B. Hist. Soc., Coll., III (1907–14), no.9, 303 (James Abercrombie to James Wolfe, 24 Sept. 1758). Allaire, Dictionnaire, I, 100. Jouve, Les franciscains et le Canada: aux Trois-Rivières, 180–81, 236, 243–44. Archange Godbout, “Les aumôniers de la vallée du Richelieu,” SCHÉC Rapport, 12 (1945–46), 74–75. Henri Têtu, “M. Jean-Félix Récher, curé de Québec, et son journal, 1757–1760,” BRH, IX (1903), 305.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Fidèle Thériault, “CARPENTIER, BONAVENTURE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 4, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 14, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/carpentier_bonaventure_4E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/carpentier_bonaventure_4E.html
Author of Article: Fidèle Thériault
Title of Article: CARPENTIER, BONAVENTURE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 4
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1979
Year of revision: 1979
Access Date: September 14, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

FR:Special Projects

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_whats_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

BERTHON, GEORGE THEODORE – Volume XII (1891-1900)

décédé le 18 janvier 1892 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

CARPENTIER, BONAVENTURE (baptisé Étienne), prêtre et récollet, né et baptisé à Beaumont (Québec), le 18 septembre 1716, probablement fils d’Étienne Carpentier et de Marie-Charlotte Blanchon, décédé à Saint-Nicolas (Québec), le 6 janvier 1778.

Profès le 29 avril 1737, Étienne Carpentier est ordonné prêtre et prend le nom de père Bonaventure, le 23 septembre 1741. Après quelques mois de ministère à Lotbinière, il séjourne deux ans au couvent des récollets de Trois-Rivières. Au début de 1747, il devient, pour quelque temps, aumônier au fort Saint-Frédéric (près de Crown Point, New York). De 1750 à 1753, il dessert les paroisses Sainte-Marie-de-la-Nouvelle-Beauce (Sainte-Marie, Québec) et Saint-Joseph-de-la-Nouvelle-Beauce (Saint-Joseph, Québec) puis fait office d’aumônier au fort Frontenac (Kingston, Ontario) de 1753 à 1754. Nous perdons alors sa trace pour quelques années.

En 1758, le père Bonaventure est missionnaire chez les Acadiens et les Indiens de la rivière Miramichi (Nouveau-Brunswick). En septembre de la même année, Murray, sous les ordres de Wolfe*, détruit leur établissement (depuis lors appelé Burnt Church), forçant le père Bonaventure et ses ouailles à fuir dans les bois vers la baie des Chaleurs. En 1764, le père Bonaventure devient le premier prêtre résidant de Bonaventure (Québec). Deux ans plus tard, il écrit à Mgr Briand que son âge et son état de santé ne lui permettent plus de desservir son vaste territoire où il doit parcourir sept à huit lieues pour se rendre au chevet de ses malades et que, de plus, sa mission de Bonaventure ne peut plus soutenir un missionnaire à moins, dit-il, que celui-ci « ne veuille faire le métié de recolect ».

En 1767, des plaintes concernant sa conduite scandaleuse sont portées contre lui – il aurait eu un enfant avec une Indienne – et Mgr Briand le somme de venir s’expliquer à Québec. Ignorant cet ordre, le père Bonaventure est alors suspendu de toutes ses fonctions curiales, et interdit de dire la messe dans le diocèse. Devant de pareilles sanctions, il remet le soin de sa mission au père Ambroise, desservant de Restigouche, et se retire à Paspébiac, promettant à Mgr Briand, en janvier 1768, de se rendre à Québec au printemps. Ce repentir est cependant de courte durée ; il semble bien qu’il reprend son ministère sous prétexte « qu’ayant été placé par le roy et par le gouverneur personne n’avait droit de le retirer ». Les chefs indiens de la Miramichi avaient protesté contre la perte de leur missionnaire auprès de l’évêque qui répliqua assez sévèrement dans une lettre pastorale, datée du 9 octobre 1768, adressée aux habitants de la baie des Chaleurs, leur ordonnant « de ne plus avoir aucun commerce ni société pour la religion avec le frère Bonaventure Carpentier, recollect, [...] de le faire sortir du presbitere dans lequel il n’a plus de droit, de retirer la clef de l’église et sacristie d’entre ses mains, et tous les ornemens et vases sacrés ».

Le père Bonaventure se rend enfin à Québec où Mgr Briand, par égard pour François Bonaventure, curé de Trois-Rivières et cousin du récollet, le nomme à la cure de Saint-Nicolas en 1769. Après quelques mois seulement dans sa nouvelle paroisse, il se brouille avec les marguilliers et va se réfugier chez son cousin où il demeurera trois ans, l’assistant dans sa paroisse. L’évêque, qui lui avait de nouveau enlevé le pouvoir d’exercer le ministère, le lui remet, à l’exception de la confession, en 1772. Deux ans plus tard, le père Bonaventure reprend sa cure de Saint-Nicolas où il meurt le 6 janvier 1778.

Fidèle Thériault

AAQ, 22 A, III : 391, 617 ; 311 CN, I : 141 ; 33 CR, A, 37, 49. Archives de l’archevêché de Rimouski (Rimouski, Québec), Correspondance.— Archives de l’évêché de Gaspé (Gaspé, Québec), casier des paroisses, Bonaventure, lettre de Louis-Joseph Desjardins à Mgr Hubert, 30 sept. 1795. [James Murray, Lettre de James Murray à James Wolfe, 24 sept. 1758], N.B. Hist. Soc., Coll., III (1907–1914), no 9 : 303. Allaire, Dictionnaire, I : 100. Jouve, Les franciscains et le Canada : aux Trois-Rivières, 180s., 236, 243s.— Archange Godbout, Les aumôniers de la vallée du Richelieu, SCHÉC Rapport, 13 (1945–1946) : 74s.— Henri Têtu, M. Jean-Félix Récher, curé de Québec, et son journal, 1757–1760. BRH, IX (1903) : 305.

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

FR:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default FR:

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/carpentier_bonaventure_4F.html
Author of Article:   Fidèle Thériault
Title of Article:   CARPENTIER, BONAVENTURE
Publication Name:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 4
Publication Details:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 1980
Year of publication:   1980
Year of revision:   1980
Access Date:   18 janvier 2021