DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

CHASSIN DE THIERRY, FRANÇOIS-NICOLAS DE (he signed Thierry de Chassin), officer in the colonial regular troops; b. at Versailles, France, son of Nicolas de Chassin, billeting officer for the king’s household, and Charlotte Thyerry; m. 26 Dec. 1734 at Louisbourg, Île Royale (Cape Breton Island), Marie-Josephe, daughter of Pierre Rousseau de Souvigny and Jeanne de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, by whom he had six children; d. 20 Oct. 1755 at Louisbourg.

François-Nicolas de Chassin de Thierry first came to Canada in 1717 as a cadet and returned to France the following year. In 1719 he was posted to Louisiana as a second lieutenant. Following a grave illness in 1725, he returned to France in the spring of 1726 to convalesce. He remained there until the spring of 1730 when he was appointed ensign at Île Royale. He was promoted lieutenant in 1737 and captain in 1744.

Thierry’s service at Louisbourg apparently met with the approval of his superiors. In 1732 the governor of Île Royale, Saint-Ovide [Monbeton], charged him with supervising the annual assembly of the Indians of Nova Scotia and Île Royale; he was entrusted “with the presents for the savages and the goods with which to provide a feast.” Of his performance Saint-Ovide reported: “one cannot be more satisfied than I was with the exactness, the devotion, and the care which this officer showed during the course of the journey.”

Thierry is best remembered as the officer responsible for the hasty evacuation of Louisbourg’s Royal battery on the night of 11 May 1745, shortly after New Englanders under the command of William Pepperrell landed at Gabarus Bay. In a terse note to the commandant, Louis Du Pont* Duchambon, Thierry had claimed that the battery was virtually impossible to defend against a landward assault and should therefore be evacuated and blown up. At a tumultuous meeting of the council of war, all the officers present, except Étienne Verrier, the engineer, concurred with Thierry’s recommendation. Finally a compromise was reached: the battery would be abandoned but not destroyed, its guns would be spiked and its stores of foodstuffs and munitions evacuated to Louisbourg. Once the order was transmitted, Thierry’s men proceeded in uncontrolled panic, driving steel rods into the guns’ touch holes, but neglecting to smash either trunnions or carriages, and leaving virtually all the stores behind in their flight into Louisbourg. On 12 May a detachment was sent out to carry away the foodstuffs and powder, but the shells and ball were left behind.

Meanwhile, detachments of New Englanders began pouring onto the high ground which dominated the walled fortress on three sides. Early on 13 May William Vaughan of New Hampshire discovered that the Royal battery had been abandoned and promptly proceeded, “with ye grace of God and ye courage of about thirteen men,” to take possession. Within 24 hours New England armourers had unspiked the battery’s guns and had them trained on Louisbourg. The anonymous “Habitant” noted in his Journal: “From the fourteenth, the enemy saluted us with our own guns and kept up a tremendous fire.”

In this way Thierry provided “mighty Encouragement and Advantage” to the inexperienced New Englanders. The defenders eventually surrendered the fortress on 28 June and the French garrison was evacuated to France. It is perhaps amusing to note that as early as 1750 Thierry was posted once again to command a detachment at the scene of his first effort at soldiering in 1745. Four years later, with over 35 years in the service, he was received into the order of Saint-Louis. He died at Louisbourg a year later.

Bernard Pothier

AN, Col., B, 54, ff.503–3v; 65, ff.482–83; 78, f.410; 93, f.235; 98, f.178; 99, f.249; C11B, 12, f.270v; 29, ff.39–44, 66–71v; F3, 50; Marine, C7, 320 (dossier Thierry de Chassaing); Section Outre-Mer, G1, 406 (26 déc. 1734); 409 (7 sept., 20 oct. 1755, 5 févr. 1758). Louisbourg in 1745 (Wrong), 39–41. “The Pepperrell papers,” Mass. Hist. Soc. Coll., 6th ser., X (1899). Thomas Prentice, A sermon preached at Charlestown, on a general thanksgiving, July 18, 1745, for the reduction of Cape-Breton . . . (Boston, 1745). Frégault, François Bigot, I. McLennan, Louisbourg, 150–52. Parkman, Half-century of conflict, II. Rawlyk, Yankees at Louisbourg, 89–97.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Bernard Pothier, “CHASSIN DE THIERRY, FRANÇOIS-NICOLAS DE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 3, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/chassin_de_thierry_francois_nicolas_de_3E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/chassin_de_thierry_francois_nicolas_de_3E.html
Author of Article: Bernard Pothier
Title of Article: CHASSIN DE THIERRY, FRANÇOIS-NICOLAS DE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1974
Year of revision: 1974
Access Date: September 3, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

FR:Special Projects

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_whats_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

COWANS, MARY – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédée le 17 janvier 1901 à Montréal

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

CHASSIN DE THIERRY, FRANÇOIS-NICOLAS DE (il signait Thierry de Chassin), officier dans les troupes de la Marine, né à Versailles, France, fils de Nicolas de Chassin, fourrier du logis de la maison du roi, et de Charlotte Thyerry, il épousa à Louisbourg, île Royale (île du Cap-Breton), le 26 décembre 1734, Marie-Josephte, fille de Pierre Rousseau de Souvigny et de Jeanne de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, qui lui donna six enfants, décédé le 20 octobre 1755 à Louisbourg.

François-Nicolas de Chassin de Thierry vint au Canada pour la première fois en 1717, en qualité de cadet, pour retourner en France l’année suivante. Il fut affecté en Louisiane avec le grade de sous-lieutenant en 1719. Tombé gravement malade en 1725, il rentra en France au printemps de 1726 pour y faire sa convalescence. Il y demeura jusqu’au printemps de 1730 et on le nomma alors enseigne à l’île Royale. Il passa au grade de lieutenant en 1737 et à celui de capitaine en 1744.

Il semble que Thierry se soit acquitté de son service à la satisfaction de ses supérieurs. En 1732, le gouverneur de l’île Royale, Saint-Ovide [Monbeton], lui confia la tâche de diriger l’assemblée annuelle des Indiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l’île Royale ; il « fut chargé des présents des sauvages et des effets pour leur faire le festin ». Par la suite, Saint-Ovide déclarera : « l’on ne peut estre plus satisfait que je lay esté de l’exactitude, des peines et des soins que cest officier sest donné dans le cours de ce voyage ».

Thierry est surtout passé à l’histoire pour le rôle qu’il joua, à titre d’officier responsable de l’évacuation précipitée de la batterie Royale de Louisbourg, le soir du 11 mai 1745, peu après le débarquement à la baie de Gabarus des troupes de la Nouvelle-Angleterre sous les ordres de William Pepperrell. Dans une brève note adressée au commandant, Louis Du Pont* Duchambon, Thierry avait prétendu que la batterie était à peu près indéfendable contre une attaque venant du côté de terre, qu’il faudrait donc l’évacuer et la faire sauter. Lors d’un tumultueux conseil de guerre, tous les officiers, à l’exception de l’ingénieur Étienne Verrier, se dirent d’accord avec la recommandation de Thierry. On en arriva à un compromis : la batterie serait abandonnée mais non détruite, les canons seraient encloués. les vivres et les munitions transportés à Louisbourg. Lorsque les ordres leur furent transmis, les hommes de Thierry se mirent à l’œuvre sous le coup d’une panique incontrôlable ; ils enfoncèrent des tiges d’acier dans la lumière des canons, mais négligèrent de démolir les tourillons ou les affûts et, dans leur fuite désordonnée vers Louisbourg, laissèrent derrière eux la presque totalité des vivres et des munitions. Le 12 mai, un détachement s’y rendit pour reprendre les vivres et la poudre mais on oublia les obus et les boulets.

Dans l’intervalle, des détachements de la Nouvelle-Angleterre avaient commencé à se répandre sur les plateaux qui dominaient les murs de la forteresse sur trois côtés. De bonne heure le 13 mai, William Vaughan du New Hampshire s’aperçut que la batterie Royale avait été évacuée et se mit immédiatement en devoir, « avec la grâce de Dieu et le courage de quelque treize hommes », d’en prendre possession. Il fallut moins de 24 heures aux armuriers de la Nouvelle-Angleterre pour désenclouer les canons de la batterie et les pointer sur Louisbourg. L’« Habitant » anonyme note dans son Journal : « Dès le quatorze, les ennemis nous saluèrent avec nos propres Canons, dont ils firent un feu épouvantable. »

Thierry avait de la sorte fourni « un encouragement et un avantage puissants » à l’ennemi sans expérience. Les assiégés finirent par capituler le 28 juin et leur garnison fut évacuée en France. Fait amusant qui vaut peut-être d’être signalé, Thierry était de nouveau envoyé dès 1750, à titre de commandant d’un détachement, au lieu même où il avait fait ses premières expériences du métier des armes en 1745. Quatre ans plus tard, après plus de 35 ans de service, il fut créé chevalier de Saint-Louis. Il mourut à Louisbourg l’année suivante.

Bernard Pothier

AN, Col., B, 54, ff.503s. ; 65, ff.482v.–483 ; 78, f.410 ; 93, f.235 ; 98, f.178. 99, f.249 ; Col., C11B, 12, f.270v. ; 29, ff.39–44, 66–71v. ; Col., F3, 50 ; Marine, C7, 320 (dossier Thierry de Chassaing) ; Section Outre-Mer, G1, 406 (26 déc. 1734) ; 409 (7 sept., 20 oct. 1755, 5 févr. 1758).— Louisbourg in 1745 (Wrong), 3941.— The Pepperrell papers, Mass. Hist. Doc. Coll., 6e sér., X (1899).— Thomas Prentice, A sermon preached at Charlestown, on a general thanksgiving, July 18, 1745, for the reduction of Cape-Breton [...] (Boston, 1745).— Frégault, François Bigot, I.— McLennan, Louisbourg, 150152.— Parkman, Half-century of conflict, II.— Rawlyk, Yankees at Louisbourg, 8997.

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

FR:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default FR:

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/chassin_de_thierry_francois_nicolas_de_3F.html
Author of Article:   Bernard Pothier
Title of Article:   CHASSIN DE THIERRY, FRANÇOIS-NICOLAS DE
Publication Name:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 3
Publication Details:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 1974
Year of publication:   1974
Year of revision:   1974
Access Date:   17 janvier 2021