DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

GIROD, AMURY – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 18 Dec. 1837 in Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montreal)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Fortier, Achille (baptized Antonio-Achille), teacher, composer, tenor, and civil servant; b. 23 Oct. 1864 in Saint-Clet, Lower Canada, son of Léonard-Agapit Fortier, a physician, and Émérante Bonin; m. first 2 Dec. 1893 Marie-Louise Lefebvre (d. 24 May 1909) in Montreal; m. secondly 6 June 1910 Marie-Jeanne Lavoie in Aylmer (Gatineau), Que., and they had two children; d. 19 Aug. 1939 in Montreal.

Achille Fortier began studying music with Abbé Stanislas-Alfred Sauvé, a teacher at the Petit Séminaire de Sainte-Thérèse northwest of Montreal. From 1883 to 1885, in Montreal, he took singing and harmony courses from Guillaume Couture* and piano lessons from Dominique Ducharme. He went to France in the autumn of 1885 and participated in André Gédalge’s composition classes, which prepared him for the Conservatoire de Paris. In 1887 he entered the music competition of the town of Senlis, at which he won the jury prize. In November 1889 he became the first Canadian to be admitted as a regular student to the Conservatoire de Paris in Ernest Guiraud’s fugue and composition class, where his classmates included the future composers Alfred Bachelet and Victor Staub. Despite indications in some Canadian works that Fortier was also enrolled at the Conservatoire de Paris in a harmony class with Théodore Dubois and a singing class with Romain Bussine, there is no documentary evidence to corroborate such a claim. For family reasons, Fortier had to return to Canada before the end of his first academic year.

Back in Montreal in 1890, Fortier taught singing, harmony, and counterpoint at the Asile Nazareth until 1906, work he would take up again from 1920 to 1923. He offered singing and composition lessons at the convent of the Religious of the Sacred Heart. From 1895 to 1901 he assumed responsibility for the singing and harmony classes at the conservatory of the Canadian Artistic Society. His students included Édouard LeBel and Joseph Saucier*, who would become singers, and Frédéric Pelletier, a future music critic.

Fortier made his first appearance as a tenor on 29 March 1891 at Notre-Dame church in Montreal, when, with Couture conducting, he sang the Messe solennelle … by Ambroise Thomas. Until 1901 he would occasionally give recitals or take part in concerts. In 1892, for less than a year, he was choirmaster at Notre-Dame church. On 29 Nov. 1893, under Couture’s baton, Association Hall presented a vocal and instrumental concert devoted to 16 of Fortier’s works. A few days later Fortier married his singing pupil Marie-Louise Lefebvre. On 22 Dec. 1896 he conducted at Notre-Dame church a mass for organ, orchestra, and four male voices that he had composed, part of which appeared in the December issue of the Montreal periodical L’Art musical.

Around 1893 Fortier published the arrangements of 20 chansons populaires du Canada (Montréal). Moreover, he was one of the first, along with Alfred Laliberté, to harmonize traditional songs. Seven years later, in the same city and in Toronto, he released Hæc dies: chœur pascal pour trois voix égales …. Between 1890 and 1900 he also composed “Marche solennelle” and “Valse” for orchestra, as well as “Méditation” for cello and piano. It seems that he may have set fire to part of his work in 1901.

Relations between Fortier and Couture were sometimes stormy. In Montreal, in Le Monde of 10 and 31 March 1894 and L’Art musical of May 1897, Fortier (who signed as Cinq-Sens in the former and Dulciane in the latter) protested against one of Couture’s practices that involved putting his signature beside those of composers of Latin vocal works whose lyrics he had altered. Once Couture had unmasked the person hiding behind the pseudonyms, he did all he could to undermine Fortier.

Fortier had become a freemason in 1896 by entering Cœurs Unis Lodge No.45 as a member. In April of the same year he joined the committee that was seeking to create L’Émancipation lodge [see Godfroy Langlois*].

From 1900 to 1924 Fortier worked as a Hansard translator for the federal government in Ottawa. He divided his time between the activities of the House of Commons, the music lessons he gave in Montreal during parliamentary recesses, and composition, which occupied his leisure. On 6 June 1910 he married Marie-Jeanne Lavoie, with whom he had two children.

Fortier was a member of the jury for the Prix d’Europe in 1925 in Montreal, and for the Canadian Folk Song and Handicraft Festival from 24 to 28 May 1928 in Quebec City. The Université de Montréal awarded him an honorary d.mus. in 1926. Two years later Fortier harmonized the patriotic song “Ô Canada, mon pays, mes amours,” written by Sir George-Étienne Cartier*. On 29 April 1937 his cottage in Sainte-Scholastique (Mirabel) was engulfed by fire: along with some of his works, Fortier lost the manuscript of the bilingual legal dictionary on which he was labouring.

Achille Fortier died on 19 Aug. 1939 as a result of the cancer from which he had been suffering for several years. In his honour a street was named after him in the Pointe-aux-Trembles district of Montreal in 1983. Three years later a vocal and instrumental ensemble with an interest in the Quebec repertoire of the 19th century and the first half of the 20th took his name. On 22 Aug. 1939 Frédéric Pelletier wrote in Le Devoir: “I had the privilege of being Achille Fortier’s student for a number of years and, if I amount to anything, I owe it to his keen educational discernment and his very high standard for what constitutes the art of music.”

Jean-Nicolas De Surmont

More than 30 of Achille Fortier’s original scores are held at the BANQ-CAM, in the Claude Champagne fonds (MSS345). In 1989 Liette Turner (Juneau), Erik Oland, and Réjean Coallier interpreted ten of Fortier’s melodies, which are included on the CD The romanticism in Canada, released in Montreal that year. In 1994 Coallier published the sheet-music collection Douze mélodies pour voix et piano (Saint-Nicolas [Lévis, Québec]), which includes among others Mon bouquet (1892), based on the poem of Louis Fréchette*; Impromptu (Ottawa, 1915); and Orgueil (Ottawa, 1915), based on the poems of Charles Gill*.

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S1, 2 déc. 1893; CE601-S17, 23 oct. 1864; CE606-S22, 18 août 1834, 8 janv. 1859. FD, Saint-Paul (Aylmer [Gatineau, Québec]), 6 juin 1910, 25 août 1912, 14 juill. 1915. Le Devoir, 21, 22 août 1939, 24 févr. 1990. Le Monde (Montréal), 17 mars 1894. Lucie Boulianne, “Achille Fortier (1864–1939): espoirs et désillusions d’un compositeur au tournant du siècle,” ARMuQ, Cahiers (Québec), no.12 (avril 1990): 54–61. Historica Canada, “The Canadian Encyclopedia”: www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca (consulted 18 Aug. 2015). Roger Le Moine, Deux loges montréalaises du Grand Orient de France (Ottawa, 1991). L.‑P. Morin, Papiers de musique (Montréal, 1930).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean-Nicolas De Surmont, “FORTIER, ACHILLE (baptized Antonio-Achille),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 18, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fortier_achille_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fortier_achille_16E.html
Author of Article: Jean-Nicolas De Surmont
Title of Article: FORTIER, ACHILLE (baptized Antonio-Achille)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: December 18, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 18 octobre 1910 à Belleville, Ontario

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Fortier, Achille (baptisé Antonio-Achille), professeur, compositeur, ténor et fonctionnaire, né le 23 octobre 1864 à Saint-Clet, Bas-Canada, fils de Léonard-Agapit Fortier, médecin, et d’Émérante Bonin ; le 2 décembre 1893, il épousa à Montréal Marie-Louise Lefebvre (décédée le 24 mai 1909), puis le 6 juin 1910, à Aylmer (Gatineau, Québec), Marie-Jeanne Lavoie, et de ce mariage naquirent deux enfants ; décédé le 19 août 1939 à Montréal.

Achille Fortier s’initie à la musique auprès de l’abbé Stanislas-Alfred Sauvé, professeur au petit séminaire de Sainte-Thérèse, situé au nord-ouest de Montréal. De 1883 à 1885, à Montréal, il suit des cours de chant et d’harmonie avec Guillaume Couture* et des leçons de piano avec Dominique Ducharme. Il se rend en France à l’automne de 1885. Il prend part aux cours de composition d’André Gédalge, qui le prépare pour le Conservatoire de Paris. En 1887, il est candidat au concours musical de la ville de Senlis, où il obtient le prix du jury. En novembre 1889, il devient le premier Canadien admis comme élève régulier au Conservatoire de Paris, dans la classe de fugue et de composition d’Ernest Guiraud, où il a notamment comme condisciples Alfred Bachelet et Victor Staub, futurs compositeurs. Malgré les indications fournies par des ouvrages canadiens, aucune preuve écrite ne permet de corroborer l’information selon laquelle Fortier se serait aussi inscrit, au Conservatoire de Paris, en classe d’harmonie avec Théodore Dubois et en classe de chant avec Romain Bussine. Pour des raisons familiales, Fortier doit revenir au Canada avant la fin de sa première année scolaire.

De retour à Montréal en 1890, Fortier enseigne le chant, l’harmonie et le contrepoint à l’asile Nazareth jusqu’en 1906, fonction qu’il exercera de nouveau de 1920 à 1923. Il donne des cours de chant et de composition au couvent des Religieuses du Sacré-Cœur. De 1895 à 1901, il prend en charge les classes de chant et d’harmonie au conservatoire de la Société artistique canadienne. Il est notamment le professeur d’Édouard LeBel et de Joseph Saucier*, qui deviendront chanteurs, et de Frédéric Pelletier, futur critique musical.

Fortier s’est produit pour la première fois comme ténor le 29 mars 1891 à l’église Notre-Dame, à Montréal, quand, sous la direction de Couture, il interprète la Messe solennelle [...] d’Ambroise Thomas. Occasionnellement jusqu’en 1901, il donnera des récitals ou participera à des concerts. En 1892, pour moins d’une année, il est maître de chapelle à l’église Notre-Dame. Le 29 novembre 1893, sous la direction de Couture, l’Association Hall présente un concert vocal et instrumental entièrement consacré à 16 des œuvres de Fortier. Quelques jours plus tard, Fortier épouse son élève de chant, Marie-Louise Lefebvre. Le 22 décembre 1896, à l’église Notre-Dame, il dirige la présentation d’une messe pour orgue, orchestre et quatre voix masculines, qu’il a composée et qui est partiellement publiée à Montréal dans l’Art musical de décembre.

Vers 1893, Fortier a publié, à Montréal, les arrangements de 20 chansons populaires du Canada. Il est d’ailleurs l’un des premiers, avec Alfred Laliberté, à harmoniser des chansons de tradition orale. Sept années plus tard, il fait paraître, dans la même ville et à Toronto, Hæc dies : chœur pascal pour trois voix égales [...]. Entre 1890 et 1900, il a aussi composé Marche solennelle et Valse, pour orchestre, ainsi que Méditation, pour violoncelle et piano. En 1901, il aurait, semble-t-il, mis le feu à une partie de son œuvre.

La relation entre Fortier et Couture a parfois été houleuse. À Montréal, dans le Monde du 10 et du 31 mars 1894 et dans l’Art musical de mai 1897, Fortier (qui signe Cinq-Sens dans le premier périodique et Dulciane dans l’autre) s’insurge contre une des méthodes de Couture qui consiste à apposer sa signature à côté de celle des compositeurs d’œuvres vocales latines dont il a modifié les paroles. Une fois que Couture démasque celui qui se cache derrière ces pseudonymes, il fait tout pour déstabiliser Fortier.

Fortier a adhéré à la franc-maçonnerie en 1896 en devenant membre de la Cœurs Unis Lodge No. 45. En avril de cette année, il s’inscrit au comité qui demande la création de la loge L’Émancipation [V. Godfroy Langlois*].

De 1900 à 1924, Fortier assume la fonction de traducteur du hansard pour le gouvernement fédéral à Ottawa. Il partage son temps entre les activités de la Chambre des communes, les cours de musique qu’il donne à Montréal au moment des vacances parlementaires et la composition, à laquelle il s’adonne pendant ses loisirs. Le 6 juin 1910, il épouse Marie-Jeanne Lavoie, avec qui il a deux enfants.

En 1925, à Montréal, Fortier est membre des jurys du prix d’Europe et, du 24 au 28 mai 1928, à Québec, du Festival de la chanson et des métiers du terroir. En 1926, l’université de Montréal lui décerne un doctorat honorifique en musique. Deux années plus tard, Fortier harmonise le chant patriotique Ô Canada, mon pays, mes amours, écrit par sir George-Étienne Cartier*. Le 29 avril 1937, son chalet situé à Sainte-Scholastique (Mirabel) est la proie d’un incendie : en plus d’une partie de ses œuvres, Fortier perd ainsi le manuscrit du dictionnaire juridique bilingue sur lequel il travaillait.

Achille Fortier meurt le 19 août 1939 des suites d’un cancer dont il souffrait depuis plusieurs années. Une rue est nommée en son honneur dans le quartier Pointe-aux-Trembles, à Montréal, en 1983. Trois années plus tard, un ensemble vocal et instrumental qui s’intéresse au répertoire québécois du xixe siècle et de la première moitié du xxe siècle adopte son nom. Le 22 août 1939, Pelletier a écrit dans le Devoir : « J’ai eu l’honneur d’être l’élève d’Achille Fortier pendant plusieurs années, et, si je suis quelque chose, je le dois à son sens pédagogique aigu et à sa très haute idée de ce qu’est l’art de la musique. »

Jean-Nicolas De Surmont

Plus de 30 partitions originales d’Achille Fortier sont conservées à BAnQ-CAM, dans le fonds Claude Champagne (MSS345). En 1989, Liette Turner (Juneau), Erik Oland et Réjean Coallier ont interprété dix mélodies de Fortier, qui figurent sur le CD le Canada romantique, paru à Montréal la même année. En 1994, Coallier a publié le recueil de partitions musicales Douze mélodies pour voix et piano (Saint-Nicolas [Lévis, Québec]), qui comprend notamment Mon bouquet (1892), d’après un poème de Louis Fréchette*, Impromptu (Ottawa, 1915) et Orgueil (Ottawa, 1915), d’après des poèmes de Charles Gill*.

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S1, 2 déc. 1893 ; CE601-S17, 23 oct. 1864 ; CE606-S22, 18 août 1834, 8 janv. 1859.— FD, Saint-Paul (Aylmer [Gatineau, Québec]), 6 juin 1910, 25 août 1912, 14 juill. 1915.— Le Devoir, 21–22 août 1939 ; 24 févr. 1990.— Le Monde (Montréal), 17 mars 1894.— Lucie Boulianne, « Achille Fortier (1864–1939) : espoirs et désillusions d’un compositeur au tournant du siècle », ARMuQ, Cahiers (Québec), no 12 (avril 1990) : 54–61.— Historica Canada, « l’Encyclopédie canadienne » : www.encyclopediecanadienne.ca (consulté le 18 août 2015).— Roger Le Moine, Deux loges montréalaises du Grand Orient de France (Ottawa, 1991).— L.-P. Morin, Papiers de musique (Montréal, 1930).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean-Nicolas De Surmont, « FORTIER, ACHILLE (baptisé Antonio-Achille) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fortier_achille_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fortier_achille_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jean-Nicolas De Surmont
Titre de l'article:   FORTIER, ACHILLE (baptisé Antonio-Achille)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   18 octobre 2017