DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

JULIAN, PETER NICHOLAS, Micmac chief, farmer, and lumberman; b. 1854 at Eel Ground, N.B., son of John Nicholas Julian and Mary Angelique Cloud; m. first 1875 Mary Ann Gurnabil (a corruption of Somerville), and they had at least three daughters and a son; m. secondly 1887 Mary Charlotte Ward (d. 15 Jan. 1958); they had no children; d. 25 Feb. 1938 at Eel Ground.

Peter N. Julian’s baptism on 24 Sept. 1854, at the age of four weeks, is found in the records of St Patrick’s Roman Catholic Church at Nelson (Miramichi), N.B. He was a great-grandson of John Julien*, who had received a commission as chief of the Indians on the Miramichi River for his support of the British during the Indian unrest associated with the American revolution. In the 1780s land was licensed to him and his tribe in the Red Bank area of the Miramichi and at nearby Eel Ground. His tribe consisted of a band at Eel Ground, to which he belonged, and one at Red Bank. After his death the chiefship went to his son Andrew Julian; it then passed to Andrew’s cousin Barnaby Julian of Red Bank.

In 1841, when New Brunswick Indian commissioner Moses Henry Perley* visited the Miramichi, he found that much of the riverfront at Red Bank had been divided into lots and leased or sold by Barnaby Julian. After consulting with the tribe in council, Perley revoked his commission and designated Nicholas Julian of Eel Ground (a brother of Andrew) as chief. This appointment made Nicholas the nominal head of the tribe, but he did not involve himself in the affairs of the Red Bank band, which fell into a state of disorganization.

When Nicholas Julian died in 1868, his son John Nicholas assumed the chiefship and sought a government appointment. However, the transfer of the Indian file to Ottawa at confederation caused a bureaucratic backlog, and it was not until 1871 that he was officially named chief. The delay created an atmosphere of uncertainty in which his tenure was questioned and opposition took root. At his death in 1888 almost every adult male on the Eel Ground Reserve signed a petition to end hereditary chiefship and introduce an elective system. The band subsequently voted Thomas Barnaby* into office, but in 1893 a clamour arose for another election, at which point Peter N. Julian, then in his late thirties, entered tribal politics. Early the following year he wrote to Ottawa, stating that Barnaby’s rivals were resorting to “detestable means” to have him removed. Though he denied any desire to unseat Barnaby, he still let it be known that as “a lineal descendant of the Julian family” he was the “proper person” to be chief. After the Department of Indian Affairs told him an election was necessary, he stood in April 1894 and won. At the time he was a successful farmer and lumberman, and a dutiful Catholic who did not use alcohol or tobacco. As a farmer, he maintained “the best bit of land at Eel Ground,” and when he employed a crew of men to cut and haul railway ties, he treated them fairly. For these reasons and because of his charm and aristocratic bearing, he commanded respect.

Shortly before Julian was elected, Indian Affairs had decided to seek formal surrenders from the Miramichi Indians of lands that had passed out of their possession, largely through illegal leases and sales. The lots would then be patented to their non-Indian occupants. Most were in the Red Bank area, and when the Indians there learned of the plan, they found it unacceptable. At the same time Julian notified the department that, since he had an interest in the lands, no sales were to be made without his consent. District Indian superintendent William Doherty Carter cautioned the department against Julian’s claim: the Indians at Red Bank had played no part in his election and resented his interference. Nonetheless, in November 1894, as the only officially recognized chief on the Miramichi, Julian was invited to Ottawa to discuss the surrenders, and he seemed willing to cooperate. He gave assurances that his band had no interest in the lands occupied by the Red Bank Indians. It did, however, claim the Big Hole and Indian Point tracts and land west of Red Bank along the Little Southwest Miramichi, where most of the lots to be surrendered were located.

Although it was common knowledge that these areas belonged to Red Bank, Carter was instructed to convene a meeting of both bands and attempt to get the documents of surrender signed. At this gathering and at others that followed, few Red Bank residents could be induced to sign, so Julian’s band provided most of the signatures, and by early 1896 the department had forced through the surrenders. The chief’s real goal was to have the huge unsurrendered portion of the Big Hole tract taken from Red Bank and given to Eel Ground. By laying claim to the lands from which surrenders were being sought, and then facilitating those surrenders, he placed himself in a strong bargaining position. There was no denying that Eel Ground was poor in land relative to the smaller band at Red Bank. Although the Indians there baulked initially, under intense pressure they agreed in 1896 to transfer half of Big Hole to Eel Ground. This assignment ended the land struggle, but the government’s high-handedness left the Red Bank band resentful, and the self-serving role Julian had played, with his band’s connivance, soured relations between the communities. In 1896 Indian Affairs recognized the Red Bank Indians as a distinct band and John P. Tenass* became its chief.

Julian retained the Eel Ground chiefship until 1903. He did not re-offer that year but held the position again in 1906–9. In conducting band affairs, he was as shrewd as he had been in dealing with Ottawa. He knew how to compromise, make pacts with his enemies, and settle scores. A law-and-order chief whose priorities included policing and operating a lock-up, he did not shrink from using force against wrongdoers. He took so much interest in the federal day school on the reserve that he was accused of being meddlesome. His concern was viewed more favourably in 1902 when he fitted up a room in his home for use as a classroom after the school had been destroyed by a runaway brush fire.

Julian’s enemies questioned his every action, but his intelligence, energy, and dedication to his community could not be denied. Later in life, he became a respected elder who, the North Shore Leader (Newcastle) noted at his death, was “held in high esteem on the reserve for his many fine characteristics.”


W. D. Hamilton

North Shore Leader (Newcastle, N.B.), 4 March 1938. W. D. Hamilton, Dictionary of Miramichi biography (Saint John, 1997); The federal Indian day schools of the Maritimes (Fredericton, N.B., 1986); The Julian tribe (Fredericton, 1984).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

W. D. Hamilton, “JULIAN, PETER NICHOLAS,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 16, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/julian_peter_nicholas_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/julian_peter_nicholas_16E.html
Author of Article: W. D. Hamilton
Title of Article: JULIAN, PETER NICHOLAS
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2013
Year of revision: 2013
Access Date: September 16, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

JULIAN, PETER NICHOLAS, chef micmac, fermier et entrepreneur forestier, né en 1854 à Eel Ground, Nouveau-Brunswick, fils de John Nicholas Julian et de Mary Angelique Cloud ; en 1875, il épousa Mary Ann Gurnabil (une déformation de Somerville), et ils eurent au moins trois filles et un fils, puis en 1887, Mary Charlotte Ward (décédée le 15 janvier 1958), et le couple n’eut pas d’enfants ; décédé le 25 février 1938 à Eel Ground.

Le baptême de Peter Nicholas Julian, célébré lorsqu’il avait quatre semaines, soit le 24 septembre 1854, est consigné dans les archives de l’église catholique St Patrick à Nelson (Miramichi), au Nouveau-Brunswick. Julian était l’arrière-petit-fils de John Julien*, qui avait reçu le mandat de chef des Amérindiens de la rivière Miramichi en raison du soutien qu’il avait apporté aux Britanniques pendant la période d’agitation des Amérindiens liée à la Révolution américaine. Dans les années 1780, on lui concéda, à lui et à sa tribu, des terres situées sur la Miramichi aux environs de Red Bank, ainsi qu’à Eel Ground, non loin de là. Sa tribu se composait d’une bande établie à Eel Ground, à laquelle il appartenait, et d’une autre à Red Bank. Après sa mort, le rôle de chef alla à son fils Andrew Julian ; le pouvoir passa ensuite aux mains du cousin d’Andrew, Barnaby Julian, de Red Bank.

En 1841, quand le commissaire aux Affaires indiennes du Nouveau-Brunswick, Moses Henry Perley*, se rendit à la Miramichi, il s’aperçut que Barnaby Julian avait divisé une grande partie de la rive à Red Bank en lots, qu’il avait loués ou vendus. Après avoir consulté le conseil de bande, Perley le destitua et nomma chef Nicholas Julian d’Eel Ground, un frère d’Andrew. Cette désignation plaça Nicholas Julian à la tête de la tribu, mais celui-ci ne s’impliqua pas dans les affaires de la bande de Red Bank, où le désordre s’installa.

Quand Nicholas Julian mourut, en 1868, son fils John Nicholas prit le rôle de chef et tenta d’obtenir une nomination officielle du gouvernement. Toutefois, le transfert des affaires indiennes à Ottawa au moment de la Confédération provoqua un retard administratif, et ce n’est qu’en 1871 que John Nicholas Julian fut officiellement nommé chef. Ce délai créa un climat d’incertitude, qui donna lieu à une remise en question de son mandat et à la formation d’une opposition. À sa mort, en 1888, presque tous les hommes d’âge adulte de la réserve d’Eel Ground signèrent une pétition pour que cesse la succession héréditaire au poste de chef et pour que soit instauré un système électoral. La bande élut par la suite Thomas Barnaby*, mais en 1893, on réclama une autre élection, et c’est à cette occasion que Peter Nicholas Julian, alors dans la fin trentaine, fit son entrée en politique tribale. Au début de l’année suivante, il écrivit à Ottawa que les rivaux de Barnaby avaient recours à des « moyens odieux » pour le faire destituer. Bien qu’il ait nié toute volonté de déloger Barnaby, il mentionna quand même qu’en tant que « descendant en ligne directe de la famille Julian », il était la « personne apte » à remplir les fonctions de chef. En avril 1894, après que le département des Affaires indiennes lui eut fait savoir qu’une nouvelle élection était nécessaire, il se présenta et fut élu. À cette époque, il était un fermier et un entrepreneur forestier prospère, ainsi qu’un catholique dévoué qui ne consommait pas d’alcool ni de tabac. Comme fermier, il s’occupait du « meilleur lopin de terre d’Eel Ground » et quand il employait une équipe d’hommes pour couper et transporter des traverses de chemin de fer, il les traitait équitablement. Pour ces raisons, et grâce à son charme et son allure aristocratique, il imposait le respect.

Peu de temps avant que Julian soit élu, les Affaires indiennes avaient décidé de demander aux Amérindiens de la Miramichi de céder officiellement les terres qui ne leur appartenaient plus, principalement parce qu’elles avaient été louées ou vendues illégalement. Les lots seraient alors devenus la propriété de leurs occupants non amérindiens. La plupart de ces lots se trouvaient sur le territoire de Red Bank, et quand les Amérindiens de l’endroit prirent connaissance de ce projet, ils le jugèrent inacceptable. Au même moment, Julian avisa le département qu’en raison de son intérêt pour ces terres, aucune ne devrait être vendue sans son consentement. Le surintendant de district des Affaires indiennes, William Doherty Carter, mit en garde le département contre la demande de Julian : les Amérindiens de Red Bank n’avaient joué aucun rôle dans son élection et étaient contrariés par son ingérence dans leurs affaires. Néanmoins, en novembre 1894, en tant que seul chef officiel sur la Miramichi, Julian fut invité à Ottawa pour discuter de l’abandon des terres et semblait vouloir coopérer. Il assura le département que les terres occupées par les Amérindiens de Red Bank n’intéressaient pas sa bande. Celle-ci revendiquait, par contre, la Big Hole Tract, l’Indian Point Tract et un territoire situé à l’ouest de Red Bank, le long de la Little Southwest Miramichi, où se trouvaient la plupart des lots qui devaient être cédés.

Même s’il était de notoriété publique que ces territoires appartenaient à Red Bank, Carter reçut l’ordre de tenir une réunion avec les deux bandes et de tenter de leur faire signer les documents d’abandon des terres. Au cours de cette réunion et d’autres qui suivirent, peu de résidents de Red Bank se laissèrent convaincre de signer, si bien que la bande de Julian fournit la plupart des signatures. Ainsi, dès le début de 1896, le département avait réussi à imposer l’abandon des terres. Le véritable objectif du chef était de faire transférer à la bande d’Eel Ground la grande partie de la Big Hole Tract que la bande de Red Bank n’avait pas cédée au gouvernement. En revendiquant les terres dont on réclamait l’abandon, puis en facilitant ensuite cet abandon, Julian se plaçait dans une position de négociation avantageuse. Il ne faisait pas de doute que la bande d’Eel Ground possédait un territoire restreint comparativement à celui de la bande de Red Bank, qui était plus petite. Les Amérindiens de cet endroit opposèrent d’abord une résistance, mais ils cédèrent à la forte pression en 1896 et acceptèrent de transférer la moitié de la Big Hole Tract à Eel Ground. Cette cession mit fin au conflit territorial, mais la bande de Red Bank garda du ressentiment contre la conduite arbitraire du gouvernement, et le rôle intéressé que joua Julian, de connivence avec sa bande, provoqua la dégradation des relations entre les deux collectivités. En 1896, les Affaires indiennes reconnurent le statut distinct de la bande de Red Bank et John P. Tenass* en devint le chef.

Julian demeura chef d’Eel Ground jusqu’en 1903. Il ne se représenta pas cette année-là, mais il redevint chef de 1906 à 1909. Dans la conduite des affaires de la bande, il était aussi habile qu’il l’avait été dans les négociations avec Ottawa. Il savait faire des compromis, conclure des pactes avec ses adversaires et régler ses comptes. Dirigeant soucieux de l’ordre public, il accordait notamment la priorité au maintien de la paix et à la gestion d’une prison, et il n’hésitait pas à utiliser la force contre les malfaiteurs. Il porta tant d’intérêt à l’externat fédéral de la réserve qu’on l’accusa de se mêler de ce qui ne le regardait pas. On considéra cet intérêt avec plus d’indulgence quand, en 1902, il aménagea une pièce de sa demeure en salle de classe, après que l’école eut été détruite par un incontrôlable feu de broussailles.

Les adversaires de Peter Nicholas Julian mettaient en doute chacune de ses actions, mais personne ne pouvait nier son intelligence, son énergie et son dévouement à sa communauté. Plus tard, il devint un ancien respecté qui, comme le déclara à sa mort le North Shore Leader de Newcastle, était « tenu en haute estime sur la réserve pour ses nombreuses qualités ».


W. D. Hamilton

North Shore Leader (Newcastle, N.-B.), 4 mars 1938.— W. D. Hamilton, Dictionary of Miramichi biography (Saint-Jean, N.-B., 1997) ; The federal Indian day schools of the Maritimes (Fredericton, 1986) ; The Julian tribe (Fredericton, 1984).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

W. D. Hamilton, « JULIAN, PETER NICHOLAS », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/julian_peter_nicholas_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/julian_peter_nicholas_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   W. D. Hamilton
Titre de l'article:   JULIAN, PETER NICHOLAS
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2013
Année de la révision:   2013
Date de consultation:   24 juillet 2014