DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MAHOI (Mahoy, Magoi), MARIA (Douglas; Fisher) – Volume XVI (1931-1940)

“This a wonderful biography … It exemplifies what makes the DCB/DBC the extraordinary historical dictionary that it is.” (Ramsay Cook)

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

MARSH (March), JOHN, HBC governor in Hudson Bay; d. 1688/89.

Recommended by Lord Churchill (later Duke of Marlborough), Marsh was appointed governor of James Bay in 1688 when the Company’s three forts had been for two years in French hands. He was instructed to build a new settlement on Albany River to re-establish the HBC’s trade but in doing so to avoid “annoyeing” the French, for a truce was in effect between the two nations.

For the new fort Marsh chose an island in James Bay and began building operations. The ships Churchill (Capt. William Bond) and Yonge (Capt. John Simpson) were to winter with him and assist him. He was to take strong measures against private trading and interloping (trespassing on the Company’s monopoly). On the way out his party did meet an interloping ship, the Mary, which had become jammed in the Hudson Strait ice and they took its captain and 20 men on board before the ship sank next day.

The expedition was ill-fated. While out hunting, Bond and his colleagues became careless of their safety and were surprised and taken prisoner by the French. Marsh, who was ill at the time, died on 30 Jan. 1688/89 (HBC Arch. A.15/3, L158). He was succeeded by Capt. Andrew Hamilton, his deputy, who shortly afterwards surrendered to the French, under Pierre Le Moyne* d’Iberville. Marsh left a widow, Elizabeth, who received settlement of his account in May 1690.

Maud M. Hutcheson

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Maud M. Hutcheson, “MARSH, JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 28, 2016, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/marsh_john_1E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/marsh_john_1E.html
Author of Article: Maud M. Hutcheson
Title of Article: MARSH, JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1966
Year of revision: 1979
Access Date: July 28, 2016

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 17 octobre 1817 dans le Maryland

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

MARSH (March), JOHN, gouverneur de la Hudsons Bay Company, dans la baie du même nom, décédé en 1688/1689.

Sur la recommandation de Lord Churchill, qui devint plus tard le duc de Marlborough, Marsh fut nommé gouverneur de la baie James en 1688, alors que les trois forts de la compagnie étaient aux mains des Français depuis deux ans. Il reçut l’ordre d’établir un nouveau comptoir sur la Quichicouane (Albany) afin de réorganiser le commerce de la compagnie, mais en évitant de provoquer les Français et de mettre fin à la trêve qui existait alors entre les deux nations.

Comme emplacement du nouveau poste, Marsh choisit une île de la baie James et y entreprit les travaux de construction. Les vaisseaux Churchill (capitaine : William Bond) et Yonge (capitaine : John Simpson) devaient y passer l’hiver afin de lui prêter assistance. Il avait pour mission de prendre des moyens énergiques pour enrayer le commerce privé et le commerce interlope, afin de faire respecter le monopole de la compagnie. À la sortie de la baie d’Hudson, il rencontra un vaisseau de contrebande, la Mary, retenu par les glaces du détroit. Il prit à son bord le capitaine et les 20 hommes d’équipage de ce navire qui devait sombrer le lendemain.

L’expédition devait avoir un dénouement malheureux. Au cours d’une partie de chasse, Bond et ses collègues, s’étant aventurés trop loin, furent surpris et capturés par les Français. Marsh, qui était malade à l’époque, mourut le 30 janvier 1688/1689 (HBC Arch. A.15/3, f.158). Son adjoint, le capitaine Andrew Hamilton, lui succéda, mais, peu après, il dut se rendre aux Français commandés par Pierre Le Moyne* d’Iberville. La veuve de Marsh, Elizabeth, reçut le solde de son traitement en mai 1690.

Maud M. Hutcheson

[Pour ce qui est des événements de 1688/1689, V. aussi Abraham, Outlaw et Verner.]

HBRS, XI, XX (Rich and Johnson) ; XXI (Rich).

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

FR:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default FR:

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/marsh_john_1F.html
Author of Article:   Maud M. Hutcheson
Title of Article:   MARSH, JOHN
Publication Name:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 1
Publication Details:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 1966
Year of publication:   1966
Year of revision:   1986
Access Date:   17 octobre 2021