DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

ROBICHAUD, VÉNÉRANDE (baptized Hanna-Rachel), collector of patrimonial memorabilia and seamstress; b. 29 Aug. 1835 in Neguac, N.B., daughter of Louis Robichaux and Anastasie Poirier; d. there unmarried 4 Aug. 1936.

Vénérande Robichaud was the eighth in a family of nine children. She is listed in all censuses taken in New Brunswick and Canada from 1851 to 1921. The enumeration of 1851 indicates that the little girl, who was baptized Hanna-Rachel, was already called Vénérande, although her name was inscribed in the records as “Henarande.” The change had perhaps occurred upon the death of her great-aunt Vénérande Robichaux* in 1839. As well, this first name had been common in the extended Robichaud (or, according to the oldest spelling of the surname, Robichaux) family since the 18th century.

Vénérande Robichaud lived her entire life in the home of her father, Louis, despite changes in the property’s ownership. She shared it with several widowed or unmarried brothers and sisters, and remained there even after her younger brother Agapit had sold the property to his nephew, Agapit Godin. It was still her place of residence when she died on 4 Aug. 1936 at the age of 100 years and 11 months. Vénérande declared herself a seamstress in two censuses (1881 and 1911), as did other female members of the household. In 1911 she indicated that she was self-employed and worked from home. Considered in isolation, these details give no hint that the family was very prosperous. Her grandfather, Otho Robichaux*, and her great-uncles were among the founders of Neguac and, like members of subsequent generations, were involved in the retail trade and the lumber business in Quebec and New Brunswick. Together they held important positions in the Neguac region; Otho and others, all landowners, also became justices of the peace or overseers of the poor.

In view of the renown of the Robichaud family, the centenarian’s death did not go unnoticed in New Brunswick. It was highlighted on 13 Aug. 1936 in L’Évangéline, the main Acadian periodical of the province, which reported that Vénérande Robichaud had remained lucid and alert to the end. The weekly also confirmed that she had been a sought-after source of information spanning a century of development of the region and had preserved many objects that pre-dated the expulsion of the Acadians [see Charles Lawrence*]. These include a bone crucifix, a silk bridal shawl, and a remnant of the wedding dress that had belonged to her paternal grandmother, Marie-Louise Thibodeau (Thibaudeau), which, again according to L’Évangéline, had been used to line the inside of the tabernacle of the first chapel built in Neguac.

Of greater significance to historians is the fact that Vénérande Robichaud also preserved her great-aunt Vénérande’s correspondence. This fortuitous act would remain the greatest contribution of these two women to Acadian history. The elder Vénérande had indeed maintained a long correspondence with her brother Otho, the grandfather of the younger woman, and with her nephew Louis, the younger woman’s father. Their ties of affection and their financial links remained strong despite the distances and span of years between them. Of the 18 known letters of the elder Vénérande that were kept by her younger namesake and have been preserved until the present day, 7 were addressed to Otho and 2 to Louis. Placide Gaudet*, a teacher and amateur historian at the time, copied them when he passed through Neguac on 27 May 1878. Letters such as these, written by exiled Acadians, are rare in the 21st century. Although sources describe how Acadians engaged in an impressive correspondence right from the start of the dispersion, only a small number of these letters, which document an entire era and advance the growing body of knowledge about the deported Acadians, still exist. Without the documents preserved by Vénérande Robichaud, the outcomes of research on the deportation would be all the poorer.

Caroline-Isabelle Caron

Ancestry.com, “1921 census of Canada”: www.ancestry.ca (consulted 24 April 2015). FD, Saint-Bernard (Neguac, N.-B.), 20 mars 1836. LAC, Census returns for 1911 Canadian census, N.B., dist. Northumberland (30), subdist. Alnwick (3): 1; R233-29-7, N.B., dist. Northumberland, subdist. Alnwick: 30; R233-32-7, N.B., dist. Northumberland (44a), subdist. Alnwick: 5; R233-34-0, N.B., dist. Northumberland (184), subdist. Alnwick (A): 16; R233-35-2, N.B., dist. Northumberland (35), subdist. Alnwick (A): 32; R233-36-4, N.B., dist. Northumberland (17), subdist. Alnwick (A): 10; R233-37-6, N.B., dist. Northumberland (19), subdist. Alnwick (A): 14. PANB, RS141C5, 103, F19332, 9 Aug. 1936. L’Évangéline (Moncton, N.-B.), 13 août 1936. Maurice Basque, Des hommes de pouvoir: histoire d’Otho Robichaud et de sa famille, notables acadiens de Port-Royal et de Néguac (Neguac, 1996); Entre baie et péninsule: histoire de Néguac (Néguac, 1991). Corinne LaPlante, “Robichaud, Vénérande II (1835–1936), couturière de Néguac,” Soc. Hist. Nicolas-Denys, La Rev. d’hist. (Bertrand, N.-B.), 12 (1984), no.3: 62. Laura Metay, “Édition critique de la correspondance de Vénérande Robichaud (1781–1831)” (mémoire de ma, Univ. de Moncton, 1997). Donat Robichaud, Les Robichaud: histoire et généalogie (Bathurst, N.-B., [1967]).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Caroline-Isabelle Caron, “ROBICHAUD, VÉNÉRANDE (baptized Hanna-Rachel),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 21, 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/robichaud_venerande_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/robichaud_venerande_16E.html
Author of Article:   Caroline-Isabelle Caron
Title of Article:   ROBICHAUD, VÉNÉRANDE (baptized Hanna-Rachel)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   October 21, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 17 octobre 1817 dans le Maryland

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

ROBICHAUD, VÉNÉRANDE (baptisée Hanna-Rachel), collectionneuse du patrimoine familial et couturière, née le 29 août 1835 à Neguac, Nouveau-Brunswick, fille de Louis Robichaux et d’Anastasie Poirier ; décédée célibataire le 4 août 1936 dans sa ville natale.

Vénérande Robichaud était la huitième d’une famille de neuf enfants. Elle figura dans tous les recensements du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Canada de 1851 à 1921. Celui de 1851 indique que la petite fille, baptisée Hanna-Rachel, se faisait déjà appeler Vénérande, bien que le rapporteur y inscrivit « Henarande ». Peut-être l’avait-on renommée au décès de sa grand-tante Vénérande Robichaux*, en 1839. De plus, ce prénom était commun dans la famille élargie des Robichaud (ou, selon la plus ancienne orthographe du patronyme, Robichaux) depuis le xviiie siècle.

Vénérande Robichaud demeura toute sa vie dans le logis de son père Louis, malgré les changements de propriétaire. Elle le partagea avec plusieurs frères et sœurs, veufs ou célibataires. Elle y resta même après que son frère cadet Agapit eut cédé la propriété à son neveu Agapit Godin. Elle y habitait toujours quand elle s’éteignit le 4 août 1936, à l’âge de 100 ans et 11 mois. Vénérande se déclara couturière dans deux recensements (1881 et 1911), tout comme d’autres membres féminins du logis. En 1911, elle indiqua qu’elle travaillait à son propre compte, à partir de la maison. Considéré isolément, ce détail ne laisse pas supposer la grande prospérité de sa famille. Son grand-père Otho Robichaux* et ses grands-oncles comptaient parmi les fondateurs de Neguac et, ainsi que les générations suivantes, ils furent impliqués dans la vente au détail et dans le commerce du bois au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Ils cumulèrent des positions de marque dans la région de Neguac ; Otho et d’autres, propriétaires terriens, occupèrent de plus la fonction de juge de paix ou assumèrent la responsabilité de l’aide aux pauvres.

En raison de la renommée de la famille Robichaud, la mort de la centenaire ne passa pas inaperçue au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle fut soulignée le 13 août 1936 dans l’Évangéline, principal périodique acadien de la province. On y rapporta que Vénérande Robichaud avait gardé sa lucidité et sa vivacité d’esprit jusqu’à la fin. L’hebdomadaire confirma aussi qu’elle avait été une source recherchée de renseignements sur le développement de la région pendant un siècle et avait conservé plusieurs objets d’avant la déportation des Acadiens [V. Charles Lawrence*]. Parmi ceux-ci figurent un crucifix en os, un châle de noces en soie et un morceau de la robe de noces de sa grand-mère paternelle, Marie-Louise Thibodeau (Thibaudeau), qui, toujours selon l’Évangéline, avait servi à doubler l’intérieur du tabernacle de la première chapelle construite à Neguac.

Vénérande Robichaud conserva aussi la correspondance de sa grand-tante Vénérande. De plus grande importance pour les historiens, cette préservation fortuite demeurerait la contribution la plus considérable de ces deux femmes à l’histoire acadienne. En effet, l’aînée des Vénérande avait entretenu une longue correspondance avec son frère Otho, grand-père de la cadette, et avec son neveu Louis, père de cette dernière. Leurs liens d’affection et financiers demeurèrent forts malgré les distances et les années. Des 18 lettres connues de l’aînée des Vénérande conservées par la cadette, puis sauvegardées jusqu’à nos jours, 7 furent adressées à Otho et 2 à Louis. Placide Gaudet*, alors instituteur et historien amateur, les copia au cours de son passage à Neguac le 27 mai 1878. De telles lettres d’Acadiens en exil sont rares au début du xxie siècle. Bien que les sources racontent comment les Acadiens engagèrent une correspondance impressionnante dès le début de la dispersion, une petite partie seulement de ces écrits, qui documentent toute une époque et éclairent l’avancement des connaissances sur les Acadiens déportés, subsiste encore. Sans les documents que Vénérande Robichaud a conservés, les résultats des recherches sur la déportation seraient plus pauvres.

Caroline-Isabelle Caron

Ancestry.com, « Recensement du Canada de 1921 » : www.ancestry.ca (consulté le 24 avril 2015).— APNB, RS141C5, 103, F19332, 9 août 1936.— BAC, Déclarations de recensement du Canada de 1911, N.-B., dist. Northumberland (30), sous-dist. Alnwick (3) : 1 ; R233-29-7, N.-B., dist. Northumberland, sous-dist. Alnwick : 30 ; R233-32-7, N.-B., dist. Northumberland (44a), sous-dist. Alnwick : 5 ; R233-34-0, N.-B., dist. Northumberland (184), sous-dist. Alnwick (A) : 16 ; R233-35-2, N.-B., dist. Northumberland (35), sous-dist. Alnwick (A) : 32 ; R233-36-4, N.-B., dist. Northumberland (17), sous-dist. Alnwick (A) : 10 ; R233-37-6, N.-B., dist. Northumberland (19), sous-dist. Alnwick (A) : 14.— FD, Saint-Bernard (Neguac, N.-B.), 20 mars 1836.— L’Évangéline (Moncton, N.-B.), 13 août 1936.— Maurice Basque, Des hommes de pouvoir : histoire d’Otho Robichaud et de sa famille, notables acadiens de Port-Royal et de Néguac (Neguac, 1996) ; Entre baie et péninsule : histoire de Néguac (Neguac, 1991).— Corinne LaPlante, « Robichaud, Vénérande II (1835–1936), couturière de Néguac », Soc. hist. Nicolas-Denys, la Rev. d’hist. (Bertrand, N.-B.), 12 (1984), no 3 : 62.— Laura Metay, « Édition critique de la correspondance de Vénérande Robichaud (1781–1831) » (mémoire de m.a., univ. de Moncton, 1997).— Donat Robichaud, les Robichaud : histoire et généalogie (Bathurst, N.-B., [1967]).

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

FR:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default FR:

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/robichaud_venerande_16F.html
Author of Article:   Caroline-Isabelle Caron
Title of Article:   ROBICHAUD, VÉNÉRANDE (baptisée Hanna-Rachel)
Publication Name:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16
Publication Details:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 2021
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   17 octobre 2021