DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Special Projects

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_whats_new_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

COWANS, MARY – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 17 Jan. 1901 in Montreal

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

EN:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

THIBOULT, THOMAS, priest, canon, parish priest at Quebec, fourth superior of the Quebec seminary; b. c. 1681 at Purier in the diocese of Rouen; d. 12 April 1724 at Quebec.

For 4 or 5 years Thiboult had been a priest in the seminary in Paris, in preparation for joining the missions in China; beyond that we know nothing of his birth or his education prior to his being sent to Quebec in the spring of 1710. On 6 May 1711 he was admitted as a member of the community of the seminary of Quebec. Upon the death of Pierre Pocquet, the parish priest of Quebec, the superior of the seminary, Louis Ango Des Maizerets, with whom the appointment rested. chose the new arrival to be administrator of the charge, before bestowing upon him the title of parish priest on 2 Nov. 1713. By virtue of his office he had already become a canon on 18 March of that year.

While Dom Poulet, a notorious Jansenist, was dangerously ill at the Hôtel-Dieu, Bishop Saint-Vallier [La Croix] gave instructions to Father Thiboult, as parish priest, concerning the conditions upon which Poulet might be admitted to the Sacrament; but the sick man would not yield. Although he was a member of the seminary, M. Thiboult was imprudent enough to agree to act as attorney for the chapter and went to France (1713–16) to settle a dispute between the chapter and the seminary to the detriment of his own house. This made of him “a sorry figure,” to use his own expression, and compromised the success of his mission. Upon his return there was an attempt to appoint him honorary canon without consulting the bishop, who rebuked such procedure. Disillusioned, M. Thiboult spoke of going to the missions in the Mississippi country, but no attention was paid to this. Then the ill-health of M. de Glandelet, superior of the seminary, led to Thiboult’s being chosen as his successor in 1723. When Thiboult died, therefore, he was parish priest and superior of the seminary. The historian Bertrand de Latour* accused him of being a follower of Jansenism, but nothing is more inconsistent with the facts.

Honorius Provost

ASQ, Chapitre, 40, 47, 177, 270, 273; Fonds Verreau, cahier 035, pièce 14; Lettres, M, 41, 42, 45–47; O, 50; Paroisse de Québec, 1–3, 40, 115. Bertrand de Latour, Mémoires sur la vie de Mde Laval, premier évêque de Québec (Cologne, 1761), 50. Provost, Le Séminaire de Québec: documents et biographies, 438.

General Bibliography

Citations

EN:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/thiboult_thomas_2E.html
Author of Article:   Honorius Provost
Title of Article:   THIBOULT, THOMAS
Publication Name:   EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 2
Publication Details:   EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 1969
Year of publication:   1969
Year of revision:   1982
Access Date:   January 17, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

THIBOULT, THOMAS, prêtre, chanoine, curé de Québec, quatrième supérieur du séminaire de Québec, né à Purier, diocèse de Rouen, vers 1681, décédé à Québec le 12 avril 1724.

On ignore tout de sa naissance et de sa formation jusqu’à son envoi à Québec, au printemps de 1710, sauf qu’il était depuis quatre ou cinq ans prêtre du séminaire de Paris et se destinait aux missions de Chine. Il fut agrégé au séminaire de Québec le 6 mai 1711. À la mort de M. Pierre Pocquet, curé de Québec, le supérieur Louis Ango Des Maizerets, de qui relevait la nomination, choisit le nouveau venu comme administrateur de la cure, avant de lui en conférer le titre canonique le 2 novembre 1713. Déjà, de par sa fonction, il était devenu chanoine le 18 mars.

Pendant que Dom Poulet, janséniste notoire, était dangereusement malade à l’Hôtel-Dieu, Mgr de Saint-Vallier [La Croix] manda au curé Thiboult à quelles conditions on pourrait l’admettre aux sacrements ; mais le malade s’obstina. Bien que faisant partie du séminaire, M. Thiboult eut l’imprudence d’accepter une procuration du chapitre et se rendit en France (1713–1716) pour régler un différend contre sa propre maison, ce qui fit de lui, selon son expression, « un triste personnage » et compromit le succès de sa mission. À son retour, on voulut le nommer chanoine honoraire, sans consulter l’évêque, qui réprouva cette procédure. Désabusé, M. Thiboult parla des missions du Mississipi ; mais on n’en tint pas compte. L’invalidité de M. de Glandelet, supérieur du séminaire, fit porter les suffrages sur lui comme successeur, en 1723. Il était donc, à sa mort, curé et supérieur du séminaire. L’historien Bertrand de Latour* l’accuse d’avoir été adepte u jansénisme : les faits contredisent cependant cette opinion.

Honorius Provost

ASQ, Chapitre, 40, 47, 177, 270, 273 ; Fonds Verreau, cahier 035, pièce 14 ; Lettres, M, 41, 42, 4547 ; Lettres, O, 50 ; Paroisse de Québec, 13, 40, 115,— Bertrand de Latour, Mémoire sur la vie de Mde Laval, premier évêque de Québec (Cologne, 1761), 50.— Provost, Le Séminaire de Québec : documents et biographies, 438.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Honorius Provost, « THIBOULT, THOMAS », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 26 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/thiboult_thomas_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/thiboult_thomas_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Honorius Provost
Titre de l'article:   THIBOULT, THOMAS
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   26 juillet 2014