DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

VIAU, Dalbé (baptized Joseph-Dalbé), architect, administrator, and politician; b. 29 Sept. 1881, probably in Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Que., and baptized the same day in the parish of Sainte-Geneviève (Montreal), son of Amable Viau, a farmer, and Philomène Desforges; m. 31 Oct. 1910 Mathilde Lacas in the parish of Saint-Jacques, Montreal, and they had three sons and a daughter; d. 24 Aug. 1938 in Quebec City and was buried three days later in Lachine (Montreal).

At the age of two Dalbé Viau suffered a form of paralysis that left him permanently lame in one leg. He received his primary education at the model school in Lachine, and then he studied commerce at the École Saint-Henri in Montreal, both institutions run by the Brothers of the Christian Schools.

Viau began his career as a merchant, but did not pursue this occupation. From 1898 to 1900 he was a draftsman with the Montreal architect Casimir Saint-Jean, who at the time was in charge of building several large religious edifices such as the Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste in Nicolet, completed in 1899, and the Église Saint-Jérôme, inaugurated in 1900 in the town of the same name. Saint-Jean’s architectural style was very ornamental, which probably led Viau to enhance his architectural vocabulary. On 2 May 1899, thanks to what he had learned in the firm, he passed the matriculation examination of the Province of Quebec Association of Architects. Two years later he was hired by Joseph-Arthur Godin, a Montreal architect renowned for his knowledge and his use of concrete in both religious and residential architecture. Viau pursued his training with Godin for four years. In the winter of 1904–5 he took an intensive course in architectural drawing at McGill University; he was the only French Canadian in his cohort. The course confirmed his vocation and made it possible for him to pass the professional entrance examination of the Province of Quebec Association of Architects in 1905.

Montreal and its suburbs were then experiencing significant population growth. Large numbers of people moved from the countryside to urban areas to take advantage of the salaries paid by manufacturing concerns. Most of the Montreal area was subdivided and built between 1875 and 1915, and at the end of this period Viau devoted himself primarily to residential architecture. From 1906 to 1912, working from his offices in Lachine and Montreal, he constructed – for himself as investments, but also for small shopkeepers and entrepreneurs – multiple-occupancy dwellings in Lachine, and in the downtown and Saint-Jacques quarter of Montreal, as well as in Saint-Louis (Montreal) and Outremont (Montreal). He worked independently but occasionally collaborated on housing projects with the architect Alfred-Hector Lapierre, who was established in Montreal. At that time, two- or three-storey buildings were erected, which often had shops on the ground floor and were characterized by exterior staircases and ornate brick or stonework facades, stained-glass windows, and wrought-iron detail. Viau had more than 80 different residential clients and about 20 for construction and alteration of workshops and small factories. He would continue to work in these areas for much of his career.

From 1906 Viau was also involved in school architecture, for which he gained some renown in the Montreal area. That year the Saint-Louis school board asked him for plans to build the Académie du Boulevard, and then, in 1911–12, for the École de l’Enfant-Jésus. Viau’s buildings were easily recognizable with architecture that conformed to the standards of the school boards. He used inexpensive materials such as brick, and adopted the beaux-arts style, which included, in particular, economical, low-relief ornamentation with elements moulded rather than sculpted, especially for use on the exterior. In 1910 Viau drew up the plans for the École Frontenac and the Baril School for the Hochelaga school board, and between then and 1914, he would land five of the six contracts let by that board. In 1912 the boards of two towns, Saint-Laurent and Saint-Pierre-aux-Liens, hired him for, respectively, the École Saint-Alfred and the Académie Desrosiers.

In 1908 a fire that started in the western part of Trois-Rivières completely destroyed all but a few blocks of houses. The following year Viau, like some of his Montreal colleagues, offered his services to help rebuild the town; he even opened an office there. Only five apartment buildings, a warehouse, and a studio were commissioned from him. But he had several jobs in hand: he continued to draw up plans and oversee residential building sites in Montreal and Lachine. The name of Louis-Zéphirin Gauthier* sometimes appears next to his, leading one to believe that they worked together.

Viau’s association with Louis-Alphonse Venne, which was made official in 1912, thrust him, however, to another level of architectural activity. Venne, who in Montreal had taken over from Maurice Perrault*, needed an associate and he knew Viau. The latter brought to the firm of Viau et Venne his contracts and expertise, especially in the scholastic sphere, but for the most part he handled administration. He took care of the daily business of the office, which included supervising building sites, meeting deadlines, and managing employees and accounts. His more unobtrusive role did not prevent him from soliciting contracts or from assuming responsibility for a few of them in his area of specialization.

Viau lived in Lachine, where he was a town councillor in 1923 and then mayor from 1925 to 1933. He was a Conservative Party candidate in the provincial election of 1931 in the riding of Jacques-Cartier and had to concede victory to Victor Marchand, who garnered 216 more votes than he did. Since Venne was a declared Liberal, the two architects had ties to both sides of the Legislative Assembly.

After Venne’s death in 1934 Viau obtained few contracts, a dearth attributable mainly to the Great Depression. He did some work for the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary such as putting up a normal school in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield (1933–34) as well as extensions to their residence at the Académie des Saints-Anges in Montreal (1938–39) and to the Pensionnat du Saint-Nom-de-Marie in Outremont (1938). His last big contract was for the Église Saint-Denis in Montreal, undertaken in 1931 before Venne’s death. In 1935–36 Viau was the supervising architect for the annex of the custom-house in Montreal.

Dalbé Viau died on 24 Aug. 1938 in a hotel room of the Château Frontenac in Quebec City. He is known above all for his collaboration in the work of Viau et Venne, which he managed until the death of his partner. The firm had been the largest of its time in the Montreal region. As a result of its special relationship with institutional powers, it obtained and fulfilled sizeable contracts, including St Joseph’s Oratory in Montreal and the mother house of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary in Outremont [see Louis-Alphonse Venne]. By constructing churches, schools, and institutional buildings at a time when the Montreal area was expanding rapidly, Viau helped give the architecture of the province of Quebec some of its character.

Raymonde Gauthier

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S28, 29 sept. 1881. FD, Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur, cathédrale [Saint Jacques] (Montréal), 31 oct. 1910. Le Canada (Montréal), 25 août 1938. La Presse, 5 nov. 1913, 23 juill. 1914. Le Prix courant (Montréal), 1906–18. Le Soleil, 25 août 1938. BCF, 1926: 237. Directory, Montreal, 1892–1938. Raymonde Gauthier, Construire une église au Québec: l’architecture religieuse avant 1939 (Montréal, 1994); La tradition en architecture québécoise: le XXe siècle (Québec, 1989). André Laberge, “Transcender le style et la fonction: l’architecture religieuse de Viau et Venne (1898–1938)” (thèse de phd, univ. Laval, Québec, 1990). Montreal metropolis, 1880–1930, ed. Isabelle Gournay and France Vanlaethem (Toronto, 1998). Montreal Urban Community, Planning Dept. of the Territory, Architecture civile (2v., Montréal, 1980–81), 1 (Les édifices publics); 2 (Les édifices scolaires); Architecture religieuse (2v., Montréal, 1981–84), 1 (Les églises); 2 (Les couvents). Luc Noppen, Les églises du Québec (1600–1850) (Québec, 1977). Who’s who and why, 1917–21. Who’s who in Canada, 1922–29.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Raymonde Gauthier, “VIAU, DALBÉ (baptized Joseph-Dalbé),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 19, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/viau_dalbe_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/viau_dalbe_16E.html
Author of Article: Raymonde Gauthier
Title of Article: VIAU, DALBÉ (baptized Joseph-Dalbé)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: September 19, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MACDONALD, JOHN SANDFIELD – Volume X (1871-1880)

né le 12 décembre 1812 à St Raphael West, dans le comté de Glengarry, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

VIAU, Dalbé (baptisé Joseph-Dalbé), architecte, administrateur et homme politique, né le 29 septembre 1881, probablement à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Québec, et baptisé le même jour dans la paroisse Sainte-Geneviève (Montréal), fils d’Amable Viau, cultivateur, et de Philomène Desforges ; le 31 octobre 1910, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Jacques, à Montréal, Mathilde Lacas, et ils eurent trois fils et une fille ; décédé le 24 août 1938 à Québec et inhumé le 27 à Lachine (Montréal).

À l’âge de deux ans, Dalbé Viau souffre d’une forme de paralysie qui lui inflige un handicap permanent à une jambe. Il est formé au primaire à l’école modèle de Lachine, puis fait son cours commercial à l’école Saint-Henri, à Montréal, deux établissements tenus par les Frères des écoles chrétiennes.

Viau commence sa carrière comme commerçant, mais ne poursuit pas dans ce métier. De 1898 à 1900, il est dessinateur auprès de l’architecte montréalais Casimir Saint-Jean, alors responsable de la réalisation de plusieurs édifices religieux d’importance, comme la cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste, à Nicolet, achevée en 1899, et l’église Saint-Jérôme, dans la ville du même nom, inaugurée en 1900. L’architecture de Saint-Jean est très ornementale, ce qui amène probablement Viau à perfectionner sa connaissance du vocabulaire architectural. Le 2 mai 1899, grâce à ce qu’il a appris dans ce bureau, Viau réussit l’examen d’immatriculation de l’Association des architectes de la province de Québec. Deux ans plus tard, Viau est engagé par Joseph-Arthur Godin, architecte montréalais réputé pour sa compréhension et son utilisation du béton en architecture aussi bien religieuse que résidentielle. Il y poursuit sa formation durant quatre ans. À l’hiver de 1904–1905, il suit un cours intensif de dessin d’architecture à la McGill University ; il est le seul Canadien français de sa cohorte. Ce cours le confirme dans sa vocation et lui permet, en 1905, de réussir l’examen d’admission à la profession de l’Association des architectes de la province de Québec.

Montréal et ses faubourgs connaissent alors une importante expansion démographique. De nombreux ruraux s’y installent pour profiter des salaires payés par les entreprises industrielles. L’essentiel du territoire de Montréal est loti et bâti entre 1875 et 1915, période à la fin de laquelle Viau se consacrera surtout à l’architecture résidentielle. De 1906 à 1912, Viau construit – à son propre compte, à partir de son bureau à Lachine ou à Montréal, mais aussi pour de petits commerçants et entrepreneurs – des maisons à logements multiples à Lachine, au centre-ville et dans le quartier Saint-Jacques de la métropole, à Saint-Louis (Montréal) et à Outremont (Montréal). Il travaille seul, mais partage, à l’occasion, des projets d’immeubles résidentiels avec l’architecte Alfred-Hector Lapierre, établi à Montréal. À cette époque, on crée des édifices de deux ou trois étages. Ces derniers comprennent souvent des magasins au rez-de-chaussée ; ils sont de plus caractérisés par leurs escaliers extérieurs et leurs façades ornées de jeux de brique ou de pierre, de vitraux et d’éléments en fer forgé. Viau a plus de 80 clients différents dans la construction résidentielle, et environ une vingtaine pour la réalisation ou la modification d’ateliers et de petites usines. Il continuera à œuvrer dans ces domaines pendant une grande partie de sa carrière.

Dès 1906, Viau est également actif dans le secteur de l’architecture scolaire, ce qui lui vaut une certaine notoriété dans la région montréalaise. Cette année-là, la commission scolaire Saint-Louis lui demande des plans pour la construction de l’académie du Boulevard, puis, en 1911–1912, pour l’école de l’Enfant-Jésus. Viau produit des édifices aisément reconnaissables et d’une architecture conforme aux normes des commissions scolaires. Il utilise des matériaux peu coûteux, comme la brique, et adopte la manière Beaux-Arts, qui comprend notamment une ornementation économique à faible relief (ses éléments ne sont pas sculptés, mais moulés, surtout pour l’extérieur). Pour la commission scolaire d’Hochelaga, Viau effectue en 1910 les plans de l’école Frontenac et ceux de l’école Baril. Jusqu’en 1914, il décrochera cinq des six contrats conclus par cette dernière commission scolaire. En 1912, la commission scolaire de la ville Saint-Laurent l’engage pour l’école Saint-Alfred, tandis que la commission scolaire de la ville Saint-Pierre-aux-Liens retient ses services pour l’académie Desrosiers.

En 1908, un incendie a détruit entièrement Trois-Rivières à partir de l’ouest, à l’exception de quelques pâtés de maisons. L’année suivante, comme certains de ses collègues montréalais, Viau propose ses services pour aider à reconstruire la ville ; il y ouvre même un bureau. Seulement cinq immeubles résidentiels, un entrepôt et un studio lui sont commandés. Mais Viau mène plusieurs affaires de front : il continue de concevoir des plans et de surveiller des chantiers de résidences à Montréal et à Lachine. Le nom de Louis-Zéphirin Gauthier* figure parfois à côté du sien, ce qui donne à penser qu’ils collaborent.

L’association de Viau avec Louis-Alphonse Venne, officialisée en 1912, le propulse toutefois à un autre niveau. Venne, qui a repris, à Montréal, la succession de Maurice Perrault*, a besoin d’un associé et il connaît Viau. Ce dernier apporte à la firme Viau et Venne ses contrats et son expertise, surtout dans le monde scolaire, mais il en assure principalement l’administration. Il s’occupe des affaires quotidiennes de l’agence, notamment la surveillance des chantiers, le respect des échéanciers, la gestion du personnel et des comptes. Son rôle plus effacé ne l’empêche pas de solliciter des contrats ni de prendre la responsabilité de quelques-uns dans son champ de spécialité.

Viau réside à Lachine, où il est conseiller municipal en 1923, puis maire de 1925 à 1933. Candidat du Parti conservateur à l’élection provinciale de 1931 dans la circonscription de Jacques-Cartier, il doit céder la victoire à Victor Marchand, qui récolte 216 voix de plus. Venne s’affirmant libéral, l’entreprise des deux architectes a des liens avec les deux côtés de l’Assemblée législative.

Après la mort de Venne en 1934, Viau obtient peu de contrats, situation surtout attribuable à la grande dépression. Il exécute quelques travaux pour les Sœurs des Saints-Noms de Jésus et de Marie, tels que la construction d’une école normale à Salaberry-de-Valleyfield (1933–1934), et les agrandissements de leur résidence à l’académie des Saints-Anges à Montréal (1938–1939) et du pensionnat du Saint-Nom-de-Marie à Outremont (1938). Son dernier gros contrat est l’érection de l’église Saint-Denis à Montréal, mise en œuvre en 1931, avant la mort de Venne. En 1935–1936, Viau est l’architecte-superviseur de l’annexe du Bureau des douanes à Montréal.

Dalbé Viau meurt le 24 août 1938 dans une chambre d’hôtel du château Frontenac, à Québec. Il est surtout reconnu pour sa participation aux travaux de la firme Viau et Venne, dont il a assumé l’administration jusqu’au décès de son associé. L’entreprise a été la plus importante de son époque dans la région montréalaise. Ses architectes ont obtenu et exécuté des contrats considérables, notamment ceux de l’oratoire Saint-Joseph, à Montréal, et de la maison mère des Sœurs des Saints-Noms de Jésus et de Marie, à Outremont [V. Louis-Alphonse Venne], particulièrement en raison de leurs relations privilégiées avec les pouvoirs institutionnels. Au moment où la région de Montréal était en plein développement, Viau a contribué à donner à l’architecture de la province de Québec une partie de son caractère en construisant des églises, des écoles et des édifices institutionnels.

Raymonde Gauthier

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S28, 29 sept. 1881.— FD, Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur, cathédrale [Saint-Jacques] (Montréal), 31 oct. 1910.— Le Canada (Montréal), 25 août 1938.— La Presse, 5 nov. 1913, 23 juill. 1914.— Le Prix courant (Montréal), 1906–1918.— Le Soleil, 25 août 1938.— Annuaire, Montréal, 1892–1938.— BCF, 1926 : 237.— Communauté urbaine de Montréal, Service de la planification du territoire, Architecture civile (2 vol., Montréal, 1980–1981), 1 (les Édifices publics) ; 2 (les Édifices scolaires) ; Architecture religieuse (2 vol., Montréal, 1981–1984), 1 (les Églises) ; 2 (les Couvents).— Raymonde Gauthier, Construire une église au Québec : l’architecture religieuse avant 1939 (Montréal, 1994) ; la Tradition en architecture québécoise : le xxe siècle (Québec, 1989).— André Laberge, « Transcender le style et la fonction : l’architecture religieuse de Viau et Venne (1898–1938) » (thèse de ph.d., univ. Laval, 1990).— Montréal métropole, 1880–1930, sous la dir. d’Isabelle Gournay et France Vanlaethem ([Montréal], 1998).— Luc Noppen, les Églises du Québec (1600–1850) (Québec, 1977).— Who’s who and why, 1917–1921.— Who’s who in Canada, 1922–1929.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Raymonde Gauthier, « VIAU, DALBÉ (baptisé Joseph-Dalbé) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 12 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/viau_dalbe_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/viau_dalbe_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Raymonde Gauthier
Titre de l'article:   VIAU, DALBÉ (baptisé Joseph-Dalbé)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   12 décembre 2017