DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

ULOQSAQ – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 24 Sept. 1929 at the settlement of Coppermine (Kugluktuk, Nunavut)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  John Pease Babcock. - RBCM Archives

Source: Link

Babcock, John Pease, fisheries expert, civil servant, conservationist, and author; b. 11 June 1855 in St Paul (Minn.), son of Lorenzo Allen Babcock, attorney general of Minnesota Territory, and Amanda Pease; d. unmarried 12 Oct. 1936 in Victoria.

John Pease Babcock helped to establish the scientific and institutional underpinnings of fisheries conservation in British Columbia although he had no formal education in fisheries science. He had been educated in the classics and languages in private schools in Wisconsin and in his father’s native Vermont, and he is said to have attended Lawrence University in Appleton, Wis. He was hired by the government of British Columbia in 1901 on the advice of prominent salmon canner and businessman Robert Paterson Rithet*, who had heard of his fisheries-conservation efforts in California. Since 1891 Babcock had worked for the state’s Board of Fish Commissioners, and at the turn of the century he was seeking to restore salmon runs on the Sacramento River despite the effects of settlement, forest removal, and hydraulic mining. Although it is doubtful that his efforts were successful – in this period few aquaculture experiments with salmon obtained positive results – Babcock had earned a reputation in the fishing industry.

In the early 1900s the government of British Columbia was attempting to expand its activities in fisheries conservation. Constitutional disputes between Ontario and the federal government over fisheries jurisdiction had raised the prospect of an eventual decentralization of authority to the provinces. These questions occurred during a period of expansion in the Pacific salmon fishery, when canneries were being set up in increasing numbers on the lower Fraser River and on the north coast on the Skeena and Nass rivers. Prominent canners feared that a growing industry might reduce the sockeye runs up the Fraser and counselled the provincial government to bolster federal regulation by implementing conservation measures. Babcock entered British Columbia with a mandate to preserve stocks.

For over 30 years Babcock would act in various capacities in the provincial civil service, advising on fisheries and conducting research: from 1901 to 1906 as fisheries commissioner; from 1907 to 1909 as deputy fisheries commissioner; and from 1912 to 1933 as assistant to the deputy fisheries commissioner. His titles changed over time (from 1907 the position of fisheries commissioner was held by an elected official), but the modifications did not signal a demotion. Although he took up work in California from 1910 to 1912, in 1910 he was named to the Dominion–British Columbia Boat-Rating Commission, a royal commission to inquire into the number of boats to be used by the salmon fishery.

On his arrival in the province Babcock had promptly established a survey of spawning beds which he would conduct in most years, concluding with a final report in 1931. Although his enquiries relied heavily on native informants, he offered little sympathy to native fishers. When he set up a hatchery at Seton Lake to boost the supply of sockeye on the Fraser River system, he displaced a native fishery there. The hatchery initiative ended in failure when too few fish returned to justify the effort.

After this initial experiment Babcock abandoned fish culture and focused his attention on monitoring the fishery, commissioning scientific research, and advising on policy. In addition to the surveys he carried out, he collected statistics on both the American and Canadian sockeye fisheries and requested reports from well-respected American scientists. One of these specialists was William Francis Thompson, who would later hold prominent research positions with both the International Fisheries Commission and the International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission, but who first reported to Babcock in 1913 about the condition of shellfish beds in British Columbia. Another was Charles Henry Gilbert, the leading zoologist of Pacific fish life in the early 20th century and a founder of the fisheries program at Stanford University in Palo Alto, Calif. Gilbert wrote a series of papers published in the fisheries commission reports starting in 1913 on the life of the sockeye salmon, the major commercial species. Babcock’s inventorial work and the investigations he authorized were the more significant because there were few federal research projects; they only began in earnest with the establishment of a marine station at Nanaimo in 1908.

Babcock’s numerous reports on the state of the province’s fisheries laid the foundations of an inventorial science of Pacific salmon. In addition, he published a popular handbook, The game fishes of British Columbia (Victoria, 1910), which was translated into German, and he won a short-story competition in 1924 for a tale of a rough-hewn trapper named Peace River Joe. He became an important adviser to the provincial government in its dealings with the federal Department of Marine and Fisheries. Beginning with his first report, published in 1902, he advocated negotiations with the United States to control the rate, timing, and intensity of international fishing and to conduct cooperative research. In his correspondence with journalists and politicians throughout the 1920s, he argued in plain and forceful language for the wisdom of cooperative measures and warned of the dangers of leaving the fisheries unmanaged. Familiar with many of the important fisheries officials on both sides of the border, he looked on treaties as the only hope for the long-term reclamation of the Fraser River sockeye, which had been devastated by a landslide at Hells Gate in 1913 and decades of heavy fishing. The adoption in 1923 by Canada and the United States of a convention covering Pacific halibut led to his nomination the following year as chairman of the International Fisheries Commission, which was organized to regulate the halibut fishery. Owing partly to his efforts, a tentative agreement on the salmon fishery was struck between the two countries in 1930 and finally ratified in 1937, a year after his death.

Babcock had settled in Victoria in 1901, and except for the short period in 1910–12 when he returned to California, he would spend the rest of his life there, becoming a British subject on 1 March 1913. In Victoria he engaged in a range of sporting and social activities that befitted his social class and bachelor status. He was a member of the Victoria Golf and Union clubs, and a practising mason. He also helped to found the Queen Alexandra Solarium for Crippled Children and served as a director there. In 1935 he received an honorary lld from the University of British Columbia.

Babcock was one of the most important conservationists in early-20th-century British Columbia. He argued for the rational use of nature’s reserves, criticized waste by industry, and envisioned the necessity of striking international agreements to manage transnational resources. His conservation practice evinced a strong commitment to, and belief in, state regulation and control of the environment for perpetual exploitation.

Matthew Evenden

BCA, GR-1304, file 442/1936; GR-1378; GR-2951, no.1936-09-519052 (mfm.). Univ. of B.C. Library, Rare Books and Special Coll. (Vancouver), International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission coll. Univ. of Wash. Libraries, Special Coll. (Seattle, Wash.), ms coll. 0860; 2597.

Victoria Daily Times, 13 Oct. 1936. B.C., Legislative Assembly, Sessional papers, 1902–33 (reports of the commissioner of fisheries, 1901–31). The development of the Pacific salmon-canning industry: a grown man’s game, ed. Dianne Newell (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1989). Joanne Drake-Terry, The same as yesterday: the Lillooet chronicle the theft of their lands and resources (Lillooet, B.C., 1989). M. D. Evenden, Fish versus power: an environmental history of the Fraser River (Cambridge, Eng., 2004); “Locating science, locating salmon: institutions, linkages, and spatial practices in early British Columbia fisheries science,” Environment and Planning D: Society and Space (London), 22 (2004): 355–72; “Social and environmental change at Hells Gate, British Columbia,” Journal of Hist. Geog. (London and New York), 30 (2004): 130–53. Geoff Meggs, Salmon: the decline of the British Columbia fishery (Vancouver, 1991). Univ. of B.C. Library, Univ. Arch., “Honorary degrees conferred by UBC”: www.library.ubc.ca/archives/hondegre.html (consulted 26 Sept. 2013).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Matthew Evenden, “BABCOCK, JOHN PEASE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 24, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/babcock_john_pease_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/babcock_john_pease_16E.html
Author of Article: Matthew Evenden
Title of Article: BABCOCK, JOHN PEASE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: September 24, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

ARMSTRONG, GEORGE – Volume XI (1881-1890)

décédé le 22 septembre 1888 à Montréal

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  John Pease Babcock. - RBCM Archives

Provenance : Lien

Babcock, John Pease, expert des pêches, fonctionnaire, défenseur de l’environnement et auteur, né le 11 juin 1855 à St Paul (Minnesota), fils de Lorenzo Allen Babcock, procureur général du territoire du Minnesota, et d’Amanda Pease ; décédé célibataire le 12 octobre 1936 à Victoria.

John Pease Babcock contribua à établir les bases scientifiques et institutionnelles de la protection des pêches en Colombie-Britannique, même s’il ne possédait aucune formation officielle en sciences halieutiques. Il avait étudié les classiques et les langues dans des écoles privées du Wisconsin et du Vermont, où son père était né, et aurait fréquenté la Lawrence University à Appleton, au Wisconsin. Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique l’engagea en 1901, sur la recommandation de l’important homme d’affaires et conserveur de saumon Robert Paterson Rithet*, qui avait entendu parler de ses travaux sur la conservation du poisson en Californie. Employé par le Board of Fish Commissioners de cet État depuis 1891, Babcock essaya, au tournant du siècle, de rétablir les montaisons de saumons dans le fleuve Sacramento, malgré les dégâts causés par la colonisation, la déforestation et l’extraction hydraulique. Ses efforts n’eurent sans doute aucun succès – à cette époque, les expérimentations sur le saumon apportaient rarement des résultats positifs –, mais Babcock s’était bâti une réputation au sein de l’industrie des pêches.

Au début des années 1900, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique tentait d’accroître ses activités en matière de protection des pêches. Des querelles constitutionnelles entre l’Ontario et le gouvernement fédéral au sujet de la juridiction des pêches avaient soulevé la possibilité d’une décentralisation des pouvoirs au profit des provinces. Ces questions survinrent à un moment où la pêche au saumon du Pacifique était en pleine expansion et où un nombre grandissant de conserveries s’établissaient dans le bas du fleuve Fraser et près des rivières Skeena et Nass, vers le nord sur la côte. Les gros conserveurs craignaient que la croissance de l’industrie ne réduise les montaisons de sockeye dans le fleuve Fraser et conseillèrent au gouvernement de renforcer les réglementations fédérales en établissant des mesures de protection. Babcock entra en Colombie-Britannique avec le mandat de préserver les stocks.

Pendant plus de 30 ans, Babcock agirait à divers titres dans la fonction publique provinciale, prodiguant ses conseils en matière de pêches et menant des recherches. Sans que cela n’indique une rétrogradation, son titre changea avec le temps (à partir de 1907, le poste de commissaire des pêches était occupé par un élu) : il serait commissaire des pêches de 1901 à 1906, commissaire adjoint des pêches de 1907 à 1909 et assistant du commissaire adjoint des pêches de 1912 à 1933. Même s’il travailla en Californie de 1910 à 1912, il fut nommé en 1910 à la commission royale d’enquête sur le nombre de bateaux à utiliser par les conserveries de saumon dans la province de Colombie-Britannique.

À son arrivée dans la province, Babcock avait rapidement établi un relevé des frayères, qu’il effectuerait presque chaque année jusqu’à son rapport final de 1931. Même si les renseignements pour ses enquêtes provenaient en grande partie d’informateurs autochtones, il démontra peu de sympathie pour les pêcheurs autochtones. Quand il établit une alevinière au lac Seton, afin de renforcer l’approvisionnement de sockeye sur le réseau du fleuve Fraser, il déplaça une entreprise de pêche autochtone qui s’y trouvait. L’initiative se solda par un échec : trop peu de poissons revinrent à l’alevinière pour justifier les efforts déployés.

Après cette première expérience, Babcock abandonna la pisciculture et se concentra sur la surveillance des pêches, la commande de recherches scientifiques et la consultation en matière de politiques gouvernementales. En plus des relevés qu’il réalisa, il recueillit des statistiques sur la pêche de saumon sockeye au Canada et aux États-Unis et demanda à des scientifiques américains de renom de préparer des rapports. Parmi ces spécialistes figurait William Francis Thompson, qui s’occuperait des postes de recherche de premier plan dans la Commission internationale des pêcheries et la Commission internationale des pêches de saumon du Pacifique, mais qui présenta d’abord à Babcock, en 1913, une étude sur l’état des bancs de mollusques en Colombie-Britannique. Il y avait également Charles Henry Gilbert, qui était le plus éminent zoologue de la vie marine du Pacifique au début du xxe siècle et l’un des fondateurs du programme de pêches de la Stanford University à Palo Alto, en Californie. À partir de 1913, Gilbert écrivit une série d’articles sur la vie du saumon sockeye, la plus importante espèce commerciale, publiés dans les rapports des commissions sur les pêches. Le travail d’inventaire de Babcock et les recherches qu’il autorisa étaient d’autant plus significatifs qu’il existait peu de projets de recherche fédéraux à cette époque ; ceux-ci ne commencèrent véritablement qu’avec l’établissement d’une station marine à Nanaimo en 1908.

Les nombreux rapports de Babcock sur l’état des pêches de la province posèrent les fondations d’une science de l’inventaire du saumon du Pacifique. Il publia en outre, à Victoria, en 1910, un guide grand public, The game fishes of British Columbia, qui fut traduit en allemand. Il remporta un concours de nouvelles en 1924 pour le récit d’un trappeur rustre nommé Peace River Joe. Il devint un important conseiller du gouvernement provincial pour ses relations avec le ministère fédéral de la Marine et des Pêcheries. Dès son premier rapport, paru en 1902, il avait préconisé d’entreprendre des négociations avec les États-Unis pour contrôler les taux, les périodes et l’intensité des pêches internationales, et pour mener des recherches en coopération. Dans sa correspondance avec des journalistes et des hommes politiques tout au long des années 1920, il défendit, dans un langage simple et fort, le bien-fondé de mesures de coopération, et mit en garde contre le danger qu’il y avait à laisser les pêches sans contrôle. Familier avec beaucoup de hauts fonctionnaires des pêches des deux côtés de la frontière, il considérait que les traités représentaient le seul espoir d’assurer une réhabilitation durable du sockeye du fleuve Fraser, qui avait été dévasté par un glissement de terrain à Hells Gate en 1913 et par des décennies de pêche intensive. L’adoption par le Canada et les États-Unis, en 1923, d’une convention sur le flétan du Pacifique conduisit l’année suivante à la nomination de Babcock comme président de la Commission internationale des pêcheries, mise sur pied pour réglementer la pêche du flétan. En partie grâce à ses efforts, un projet d’accord sur la pêche au saumon fut conclu entre les deux pays en 1930 et finalement ratifié en 1937, une année après sa mort.

Babcock s’était installé à Victoria en 1901 et y passerait le reste de sa vie, à l’exception d’une courte période en 1910–1912 où il retourna en Californie. Il devint sujet britannique le 1er mars 1913. À Victoria, il s’engagea dans une série d’activités sociales et sportives qui convenaient à son rang social et à son statut de célibataire. Il était membre du Victoria Golf Club et de l’Union Club, et était un franc-maçon pratiquant. Il contribua aussi à la fondation du Queen Alexandra Solarium for Crippled Children, dont il fut directeur. En 1935, il reçut un doctorat honorifique en droit de la University of British Columbia.

John Pease Babcock fut l’un des plus importants défenseurs de l’environnement au début du xxe siècle en Colombie-Britannique. Il plaida pour l’utilisation rationnelle des ressources naturelles, critiqua le gaspillage par l’industrie et envisagea la nécessité de conclure des accords internationaux pour assurer la gestion des ressources transnationales. Ses pratiques de conservation montrent un engagement ferme et une grande conviction dans la réglementation et le contrôle de l’environnement par l’État pour assurer une exploitation perpétuelle.

Matthew Evenden

BCA, GR-1304, file 442/1936 ; GR-1378 ; GR-2951, no 1936-09-519052 (mfm).— Univ. of B.C. Library, Rare Books and Special Coll. (Vancouver), International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission coll.— Univ. of Wash. Libraries, Special Coll. (Seattle, Wash.), ms coll. 0860 ; 2597.— Victoria Daily Times, 13 oct. 1936.— C.-B., Legislative Assembly, Sessional papers, 1902–1933 (rapports du commissaire des pêcheries, 1901–1931).— The development of the Pacific salmon-canning industry : a grown man’s game, Dianne Newell, édit. (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1989).— Joanne Drake-Terry, The same as yesterday : the Lillooet chronicle the theft of their lands and resources (Lillooet, C.-B., 1989).— M. D. Evenden, Fish versus power : an environmental history of the Fraser River (Cambridge, Angleterre, 2004) ; « Locating science, locating salmon : institutions, linkages, and spatial practices in early British Columbia fisheries science », Environment and Planning D : Society and Space (Londres), 22 (2004) : 355–372 ; « Social and environmental change at Hells Gate, British Columbia », Journal of Hist. Geog. (Londres et New York), 30 (2004) : 130–153.— Geoff Meggs, Salmon : the decline of the British Columbia fishery (Vancouver, 1991).— Univ. of B.C. Library, Univ. Arch., « Honorary degrees conferred by UBC » : www.library.ubc.ca/archives/hondegre.html (consulté le 26 sept. 2013).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Matthew Evenden, « BABCOCK, JOHN PEASE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 22 sept. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/babcock_john_pease_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/babcock_john_pease_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Matthew Evenden
Titre de l'article:   BABCOCK, JOHN PEASE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   22 septembre 2017