DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

MUNRO, JOHN – Volume IV (1771-1800)

d. 27 Oct. 1800 at Dickinson’s Landing (probably Long Sault, Ont.)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BLOW, Thomas Henry, medical doctor, businessman, and politician; b. 22 Jan. 1862 in South Mountain, Upper Canada, son of Robert Hutchinson Blow and Sarah Henderson; m. 18 June 1895 Ida Jane Mulholland (1866–1943) in South Mountain, Ont., and they had two sons and two daughters; d. 27 Dec. 1932 in Vancouver and was buried in Calgary.

Thomas Henry Blow was born and raised in South Mountain, in the Ottawa valley about 30 miles south of the Canadian capital. His father owned a carriage works in the village, where as a youth Thomas would be employed building, upholstering, and painting vehicles. Robert Blow had come from County Armagh (Northern Ireland), and Thomas’s mother was a native of South Mountain itself. Raised a Presbyterian, Blow never smoked or drank. On account of his parents’ poor health, he supported the family after finishing his primary education at age 13. When an opportunity arose many years later to attend high school in neighbouring Kemptville, he took it. He was 28. The gifted young man completed the entire program in a single year.

In 1891, having passed his matriculation exam, Blow entered medical school at McGill University in Montreal. In the year of his graduation, 1895, he married Ida Mulholland in South Mountain. That summer he also passed the state medical examinations in Colorado. His movements over the next few years are uncertain. In London, England, and Edinburgh he pursued postgraduate training in the diseases of the eye, ear, nose, and throat; he is known to have spent about a year in Denver at some point; and it is also thought that he exercised his profession briefly in Ottawa. In 1903 he relocated to Calgary. According to his obituary in the Journal of the Canadian Medical Association, he was the first physician in the city to focus on the eye, ear, nose, and throat. Dr James Wilson Richardson, a younger colleague, would recall that Blow gained enormous respect in his field. His services were in demand throughout southern Alberta, and in parts of Saskatchewan and British Columbia.

Blow’s younger son, Donald Mulholland, would later describe his father’s medical practice in Calgary. Dr Blow established his offices, examination rooms, and a small operating theatre in a section of the family’s brick home. His principal specialization was the eye, and he administered the majority of tests for colour blindness and other problems required by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company in Calgary. A compassionate man, he often declined to charge if a client could not afford a doctor. Despite the many demands on his time, Donald remembered, his father managed to play hockey and baseball with his children. He loved the outdoors. Every fall he took Donald out of school (as he had likely done with his other son, the elder by ten years) and they went duck hunting for two weeks.

Upon his arrival in southern Alberta, Blow had become heavily involved in real estate. He constructed a warehouse and several business blocks in downtown Calgary. In the 1910s the entrepreneur built and operated a theatre, the Princess, adjacent to the city hall. By 1906 his parents, his brother, an unmarried sister, and his wife’s parents had also settled in Calgary. The city was growing rapidly at this time, its population rising tenfold from slightly over 4,000 to more than 40,000 between 1901 and 1911. Blow worked with his father and brother, a real-estate agent, in the buying and selling of farmland. When an economic crash occurred just before the outbreak of World War I, Donald recalled, his father was somehow able to avoid major losses.

Blow had a strong predilection for politics. In 1909 he ran provincially for his lifelong party, the Conservatives, who were then in opposition. He lost, but he won the seat of Calgary South by a landslide in 1913 and was re-elected handily four years later. While not a strong, eloquent speaker, he gained respect for his devotion to his constituents and his knowledge of the province. When George Hedley Vicars Bulyea* retired as lieutenant governor in 1915, it was rumoured that Blow might succeed him, and he was subsequently thought a likely replacement for Edward Michener*, who resigned in 1918 as leader of the provincial Conservatives; in the end, these positions went to others. Blow left politics after his defeat in the election of 1921.

Much of his political interest came from his love of education. He had actively promoted the founding of Mount Royal College, an elementary and secondary school that opened in 1911, and served on its board of directors. His principal focus, however, was the creation of a university in Calgary. In 1907 the University of Alberta had been established with provincial money at Strathcona (Edmonton). Within a few years Blow and other Calgarians began to argue for a privately financed institution of higher learning in their city, and in 1910 he became chair of the board of governors of the proposed University of Calgary. His great ally in this project was local farmer and politician William John Tregillus*, who gave a large tract of land as well as a substantial grant of money to the project. The promoters wanted the institution to be privately funded so as to be free of “political affiliations.” They believed that its establishment would assist business in southern Alberta by increasing land values and encouraging trade. The training of scientific and technical experts would also help with the exploitation of the area’s forests, minerals, and farmland. Finally, a university in Calgary would allow local children to obtain higher education in their own city.

Henry Marshall Tory*, the founding president of the University of Alberta, opposed the idea from the beginning. The province, he stated, could afford only one institution capable of first-rate research and teaching. Concurring, the legislature declined to endow the proposed institution with degree-granting powers, and thus it was Calgary College that Blow and others incorporated in 1910. By 1912 its promoters had acquired some 600 acres of land and claimed that subscriptions had reached $500,000; $40,000 in property and money came from the doctor himself. Having managed to attract a well-qualified staff, the college began classes in October 1912 in the new Calgary Public Library; however, continued legislative opposition to the bestowal of university status, the collapse of the real-estate market in 1913, and a rapid decline in enrolment after war was declared the following year would put an end to Calgary’s hope of a privately financed university. In May 1914 the provincial government of Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton* appointed a three-member commission composed of the presidents of Dalhousie, Toronto, and Saskatchewan universities “to consider the granting of degree-conferring powers to Calgary College.” They recommended in December that the University of Alberta remain the only university in the province but that a publicly funded provincial institute of technology and art be established in Calgary. Blow’s college closed its doors in the late spring of 1915.

In the legislature the great champion of higher education in Calgary kept up the struggle, agitating for the implementation of the commission’s recommendation of a technological institute. The province in February 1916 agreed to equip and maintain the building that the city of Calgary itself would eventually erect; the facility opened in temporary premises that October. When the cornerstone of the Provincial Institute of Technology and Art was laid on 22 June 1921, the energetic doctor’s contribution to its founding was acknowledged by Premier Charles Stewart* and others. Perhaps he had failed to win a university for Calgary, but he had helped to obtain the consolation prize, the establishment known since 1960 as the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology.

Thomas Henry Blow died of a heart attack in Vancouver, where he and his wife had gone because of the illness of their younger daughter.

Donald B. Smith

Thomas Henry Blow is the author of “Why the University of Calgary should not become part of the University of Alberta,” Morning Albertan (Calgary), 31 May 1913: 13.

GA, M 1543-519, E. E. Braithwaite and T. H. Blow to A. E. Cross, 26 March 1912; M 9151, interview by H. C. Klassen with Donald [M.] Blow, 26 April 1975 (transcript). LAC, RG 150, Acc. 1992–93/166, box 829-10. Calgary Eye Opener, 23 Oct. 1915. “City loses a fine citizen,” Calgary Herald, 28 Dec. 1932: 4. “Dr. Blow, m.l.a., mentioned for Lieut.-Governor,” Calgary News Telegram, 23 Aug. 1915. “Dr. Blow death causes sincere regret in city,” Calgary Albertan, 28 Dec. 1932. “Dr. Blow’s motion to give Calgary university lost,” Calgary Herald, 6 April 1921. D. B. Smith, “Calgary university’s fight 75 years old,” Calgary Herald, 3 Oct. 1987. “A sound candidate,” Calgary News Telegram, 4 June 1917. “Technology school corner-stone is laid with much ceremony,” Calgary Herald, 23 June 1921: 6. “Theater owner complains of business tax,” Calgary News Telegram, 31 Jan. 1917. Alta, Chief Electoral Officer, A report on Alberta elections, 1905–1982 ([Edmonton, 1983?]). John Blue, “Thomas Henry Blow, m.d.,” in his Alberta, past and present, historical and biographical (3v., Chicago, 1924), 2: 480–84. Max Foran, with Edward Cavell, Calgary: an illustrated history (Toronto, 1978). G. E. Learmonth, “Dr. Thomas Henry Blow,” Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 28 (1933): 227. N. L. McLeod, “Calgary College, 1912–1915: a study of an attempt to establish a privately financed university in Alberta” (phd thesis, Univ. of Calgary, 1970). A. O. MacRae, History of the province of Alberta (2v., [Calgary], 1912), 2: 636–38. Rosalie Pedersen, Technically, an experiment: the history of the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (Calgary, 1991). Anthony Rasporich, Make no small plans: the University of Calgary at forty ([Calgary], 2007). D. B. Smith, “Will Tregillus: an Alberta booster a century ago,” Alberta Hist. (Calgary), 58 (2010), no.3: 2–10.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Donald B. Smith, “BLOW, THOMAS HENRY,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 27, 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/blow_thomas_henry_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/blow_thomas_henry_16E.html
Author of Article:   Donald B. Smith
Title of Article:   BLOW, THOMAS HENRY
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 27, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

McGEE, FRANCIS CLARENCE – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

mort au combat le 16 septembre 1916 près de Courcelette, France

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

BLOW, Thomas Henry, médecin, homme d’affaires et homme politique, né le 22 janvier 1862 à South Mountain, Haut-Canada, fils de Robert Hutchinson Blow et de Sarah Henderson ; le 18 juin 1895, il épousa à South Mountain, Ontario, Ida Jane Mulholland (1866–1943), et ils eurent deux fils et deux filles ; décédé le 27 décembre 1932 à Vancouver et inhumé à Calgary.

Thomas Henry Blow naquit et grandit à South Mountain, dans la vallée de l’Outaouais, à environ 30 milles au sud d’Ottawa, où son père, Robert Hutchinson, possédait une fabrique de voitures. Thomas Henry y travailla, dans ses jeunes années, à la construction, au capitonnage et à la peinture des véhicules. Son père venait du comté d’Armagh (Irlande du Nord) et sa mère de South Mountain. Ayant reçu une éducation presbytérienne, Thomas Henry ne fuma jamais et ne but jamais d’alcool. La mauvaise santé de ses parents l’amena à subvenir aux besoins de la famille à l’âge de 13 ans, à la fin de ses études primaires. L’occasion de fréquenter l’école secondaire dans la ville voisine de Kemptville se présenta à lui bien plus tard : alors âgé de 28 ans, il la saisit. Doué, le jeune homme suivit l’ensemble du programme en une seule année.

En 1891, après avoir réussi son examen d’admission, Blow s’inscrivit à l’école de médecine de la McGill University à Montréal. En 1895, il reçut son diplôme et épousa Ida Jane Mulholland à South Mountain. L’été de cette année-là, il réussit également ses examens d’État en médecine au Colorado. On en sait peu sur ses déplacements au cours des quelques années suivantes, mis à part qu’il reçut une formation supérieure à Londres et à Édimbourg dans le domaine des maladies des yeux, des oreilles, du nez et de la gorge, qu’il passa près d’un an à Denver, et qu’il exerça apparemment sa profession pendant une courte période à Ottawa. En 1903, il s’installa à Calgary, où, selon sa nécrologie publiée dans le Journal de la Canadian Medical Association, il fut le premier médecin spécialisé dans l’ophtalmologie et l’otorhinolaryngologie. James Wilson Richardson, collègue plus jeune, témoignerait de l’immense respect que Blow avait gagné dans son domaine. On faisait appel à ses services dans tout le sud de l’Alberta, et dans certaines régions de la Saskatchewan et de la Colombie-Britannique.

Composée de bureaux, de salles d’examen et d’une petite salle d’opération, la clinique de Blow à Calgary, que décrirait son fils cadet Donald Mulholland, occupait une partie de la maison familiale en brique. Spécialisé principalement dans le soin des yeux, Blow effectua la majorité des examens de dépistage du daltonisme et d’autres problèmes qu’exigeait la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique. Homme de compassion, il lui arriva souvent de ne pas réclamer d’honoraires à des patients qui n’avaient pas les moyens de consulter un médecin. Donald Mulholland relaterait que son père trouvait le temps de jouer au hockey et au baseball avec ses enfants, malgré son agenda très chargé, et que, amoureux du plein air, il le retirait de l’école chaque automne (comme il l’avait sans doute fait auparavant avec son autre fils, plus vieux de dix ans) pour aller avec lui à la chasse au canard pendant deux semaines.

À son arrivée dans le sud de l’Alberta, Blow investit massivement dans le marché immobilier. Il fit bâtir un entrepôt et plusieurs édifices commerciaux dans le centre-ville de Calgary. Dans les années 1910, il construisit et exploita un théâtre, le Princess, situé à côté de l’hôtel de ville. En 1906, ses parents, une sœur célibataire, son frère et les parents de sa femme s’étaient aussi installés à Calgary. La ville connut une croissance rapide à cette époque : sa population passa d’un peu plus de 4 000 habitants en 1901 à plus de 40 000 en 1911. Avec son père et son frère agent immobilier, Blow travailla dans l’achat et la vente de terres agricoles. Quand un krach économique survint, juste avant le début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il parvint, selon son fils cadet, à éviter des pertes importantes d’une manière ou d’une autre.

Très attiré par la politique, Blow se présenta aux élections provinciales de 1909 pour le Parti conservateur, alors dans l’opposition et auquel il resterait fidèle toute sa vie. Il perdit, mais remporta le siège de Calgary South par une écrasante victoire en 1913 et fut réélu haut la main quatre ans plus tard. Orateur ni éloquent ni remarquable, il gagna le respect grâce à son dévouement pour ses électeurs et sa connaissance de la province. Lorsque le lieutenant-gouverneur George Hedley Vicars Bulyea* prit sa retraite en 1915, le bruit courut que Blow lui succéderait ; on crut ensuite qu’il remplacerait probablement Edward Michener*, chef des conservateurs de la province, quand celui-ci démissionna en 1918. Finalement, on nomma d’autres personnes à ces postes. Blow quitta la politique après sa défaite aux élections de 1921.

Le penchant de Blow pour la politique lui venait surtout de sa passion pour l’éducation. Il encouragea vivement la fondation du Mount Royal College, école élémentaire et secondaire qui ouvrit ses portes en 1911, et siégea à son conseil d’administration. Il se concentra toutefois sur la création d’une université à Calgary. La University of Alberta avait été fondée en 1907 à Strathcona (Edmonton) avec des fonds de la province. Quelques années plus tard, Blow et d’autres Calgariens commencèrent à préconiser la création, dans leur ville, d’un établissement d’enseignement supérieur à financement privé. En 1910, il devint président du conseil d’administration de l’éventuelle University of Calgary. Grand allié de Blow dans ce projet, William John Tregillus*, cultivateur et homme politique local, fit don d’un important lot de terre et d’une somme d’argent substantielle. Les promoteurs voulaient un financement privé de l’établissement pour l’exempter de toute « affiliation politique ». Selon eux, la création de l’université stimulerait les affaires dans le sud de l’Alberta en accroissant la valeur des terrains et en encourageant le commerce. La formation d’experts scientifiques et techniques contribuerait aussi à l’exploitation des forêts, des ressources minières et des terres agricoles de la région. Enfin, une université à Calgary offrirait aux jeunes de l’endroit la possibilité de poursuivre des études supérieures dans leur ville.

Henry Marshall Tory*, président fondateur de la University of Alberta, s’opposa au projet dès le départ. La province, disait-il, ne pouvait se permettre plus d’un établissement d’enseignement et de recherche de haut niveau. Partageant ce point de vue, l’Assemblée législative refusa au futur établissement d’enseignement le pouvoir de décerner des diplômes. En 1910, le Calgary College fut donc constitué juridiquement, notamment par Blow. En 1912, ses promoteurs avaient acquis quelque 600 acres de terrain et affirmaient que les souscriptions atteignaient 500 000 $. Blow avait lui-même fourni 40 000 $ en biens et en argent. Après avoir réussi à recruter un personnel très qualifié, le collège offrit ses premiers cours en octobre 1912 dans la nouvelle Calgary Public Library. Cependant, l’opposition continuelle de l’Assemblée législative à l’octroi du statut d’université, l’effondrement du marché immobilier en 1913, de même qu’un déclin rapide des inscriptions après la déclaration de guerre l’année suivante, mirent un terme au rêve d’établir une université privée à Calgary. En mai 1914, le gouvernement provincial d’Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton* nomma une commission de trois membres, composée des recteurs des universités de Dalhousie, de Toronto et de Saskatchewan, « afin d’examiner l’octroi du pouvoir de décerner des diplômes au Calgary College ». En décembre, celle-ci recommanda que la University of Alberta demeure la seule université de la province, mais qu’on établisse à Calgary une école provinciale publique de technologie et d’art. Le collège si cher à Blow cessa ses activités à la fin du printemps de 1915.

Grand défenseur des études supérieures à Calgary, Blow poursuivit la lutte à l’Assemblée législative où il fit campagne pour la mise sur pied de l’école de technologie recommandée par la commission. En février 1916, la province accepta d’équiper et d’entretenir l’édifice que la ville de Calgary construirait finalement. En octobre de la même année, l’établissement ouvrit ses portes dans des locaux temporaires. La pierre angulaire du Provincial Institute of Technology and Art fut posée le 22 juin 1921 et, à cette occasion, plusieurs, dont le premier ministre Charles Stewart*, soulignèrent la contribution du dynamique médecin à sa fondation. Si Blow avait échoué à doter Calgary d’une université, il avait tout de même réussi à lui faire obtenir un prix de consolation : la création de l’établissement connu, à partir de 1960, sous le nom de Southern Alberta Institute of Technology.

Thomas Henry Blow mourut d’une crise cardiaque à Vancouver, où il s’était rendu avec sa femme en raison de la maladie de leur fille cadette.

Donald B. Smith

Thomas Henry Blow est l’auteur de « Why the University of Calgary should not become part of the University of Alberta », Morning Albertan (Calgary), 31 mai 1913 : 13.

BAC, RG 150, Acc. 1992–93/166, boîte 829-10.— GA, M 1543-519, E. E. Braithwaite and T. H. Blow to A. E. Cross, 26 mars 1912 ; M 9151, interview by H. C. Klassen with Donald [M.] Blow, 26 avril 1975 (transcript.).— Calgary Eye Opener, 23 oct. 1915.— « City loses a fine citizen », Calgary Herald, 28 déc. 1932 : 4.— « Dr. Blow death causes sincere regret in city », Calgary Albertan, 28 déc. 1932.— « Dr. Blow, m.l.a., mentioned for Lieut.-Governor », Calgary News Telegram, 23 août 1915.— « Dr. Blow’s motion to give Calgary university lost », Calgary Herald, 6 avril 1921.— D. B. Smith, « Calgary university’s fight 75 years old », Calgary Herald, 3 oct. 1987.— « A sound candidate », Calgary News Telegram, 4 juin 1917.— « Technology school corner-stone is laid with much ceremony », Calgary Herald, 23 juin 1921 : 6.— « Theater owner complains of business tax », Calgary News Telegram, 31 janv. 1917.— Alberta, Chief Electoral Officer, A report on Alberta elections, 1905–1982 ([Edmonton, 1983 ?]).— John Blue, « Thomas Henry Blow, m.d. », dans son ouvrage Alberta, past and present, historical and biographical (3 vol., Chicago, 1924), 2 : 480–484.— Max Foran et Edward Cavell, Calgary : an illustrated history (Toronto, 1978).— G. E. Learmonth, « Dr. Thomas Henry Blow », Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 28 (1933) : 227.— N. L. McLeod, « Calgary College, 1912–1915 : a study of an attempt to establish a privately financed university in Alberta » (thèse de ph.d., Univ. of Calgary, 1970).— A. O. MacRae, History of the province of Alberta (2 vol., [Calgary], 1912), 2 : 636–638.— Rosalie Pedersen, Technically, an experiment : the history of the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (Calgary, 1991).— Anthony Rasporich, Make no small plans : the University of Calgary at forty ([Calgary], 2007).— D. B. Smith, « Will Tregillus : an Alberta booster a century ago », Alberta Hist. (Calgary), 58 (2010), no 3 : 2–10.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Donald B. Smith, « BLOW, THOMAS HENRY », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 16 sept. 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/blow_thomas_henry_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/blow_thomas_henry_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Donald B. Smith
Titre de l'article:    BLOW, THOMAS HENRY
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    16 septembre 2021