DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BROADUS, EDMUND KEMPER, university professor and author; b. 27 Aug. 1876 in Alexandria, Va, son of Thomas Andrew Broadus and Sarah Jane Botts; m. 15 Aug. 1900 Eleanor Hammond in Chicago, and they had one son; d. 17 Dec. 1936 in Edmonton.

As a young man, Edmund Kemper Broadus attended Columbian College in Washington, D.C., earning his ba in 1897. He received an ma from the University of Chicago in 1900 and a phd from Harvard University in Cambridge, Mass., in 1908. During these years, he taught English at Stetson University in Florida, the University of South Dakota, and Harvard.

In the essay “Small beginnings,” later collected in Saturday and Sunday (Toronto, 1935), Broadus recalled his first meeting with Henry Marshall Tory*, president of the newly founded University of Alberta: “On a day in June, 1908, the president of a university not yet in being, in a province which I had never heard of, in a country which I had never visited, came to Harvard and offered me the professorship of English. The offer sounded like midsummer madness. I think that what I accepted was, not the position or the salary, but the man.” His own health might also have been a factor since he had apparently developed a tubercular gland in his neck and been advised to seek a healthier climate in the west.

Broadus began lecturing in Strathcona (now southern Edmonton) in the fall, one of only four faculty members among 45 students in the fledgling institution, which for the first term occupied the top floor of an elementary school. He would remain at the University of Alberta, as professor of English language and literature and head of the department, until his death. He readily adapted to life in what was still a pioneer community at the end of a branch railway line. Broadus and his family spent two winters in a rented house; then he, classics professor William Hardy Alexander, and their wives built well-insulated houses out in the country on a site overlooking the North Saskatchewan River. Broadus’s essay about his “Little Brown House” portrayed the coming of winter to this northern landscape – winter that could bring temperatures of “forty below” but also an “austere and magnificent” beauty.

By all accounts, he was an outstanding teacher who made a lasting impression on his students. Both feared and esteemed, he was described as exacting, sarcastic, and “like a Regimental Sergeant-Major” but also inspiring, spellbinding, and a “beautiful reader” with a “melodious voice.” He could be equally demanding of his colleagues. In the 1930s students not enrolled in the courses came to audit his classes. Of his pedagogical credo, Broadus wrote: “The only thing that really matters is to persuade the student to go on a voyage of discovery for himself with his own aroused curiosity at the helm.” With university colleagues he golfed, fished, and refereed amateur boxing matches. Many years later he was remembered for driving a “very cool car” named Hotspur after the Shakespearean character.

E. K. Broadus’s academic publications included The laureateship: a study of the office of poet laureate in England … (Oxford, Eng., 1921), the definitive work on the subject for many years; The story of English literature (New York, 1931; Toronto, 1936); English prose from Bacon to Hardy (London and Toronto, 1918), edited with Robert Kay Gordon, a member of the English department; and the influential volume for which he is chiefly remembered today, A book of Canadian prose and verse (Toronto, 1923, 1934), co-edited with his wife, Eleanor Hammond Broadus, a noted scholar and translator.

The editors had “two objects in view – to bring together into a single volume of usable size a representative selection of Canadian poetry and prose; and, in so doing, to create, with its proper setting, a picture of Canadian life, past and present. The two objects have not been found to be incompatible. Lyric poetry that lacks the flavour of locality, and imaginative prose that transports the reader to other scenes than Canadian, have been with a few exceptions excluded.” The first section, “Canada and the Canadian scene,” was devoted to poetry. In the second section, entitled “The people” and made up of prose selections, the editors “intended to present, by means of excerpts from the records of early explorers, from essays and from novels, a picture of the past and a panoramic view of the varied aspects of Canadian life to-day.” The third section, called “The nation builders,” contained passages from the speeches of six political leaders “at epochal moments of national growth.”

Originally authorized for use in Alberta schools and published in the Macmillan Company of Canada’s Western Canada series, the textbook was adopted for senior students in several other provinces and also at the college level. By 1928 more than 17,000 copies had been printed. In 1934, largely at the instigation of poet and university teacher Edwin John Pratt* at Victoria College in the University of Toronto, the volume was extensively revised; the university was introducing an honours course in American and Canadian literature in the 1934–35 year, for which A book of Canadian prose and verse was to be an assigned text. A number of older poems by minor authors were dropped and more recent works added throughout the volume. The revisions were made in-house at Macmillan’s with the approval of the Broaduses.

E. K. Broadus held visiting lectureships over the years at the University of California in Berkeley and Los Angeles, the University of Oxford, Haverford College in Pennsylvania, and the University of Chicago. At the University of Alberta he served several terms on the senate as a faculty representative. In 1933, on the 25th anniversary of the university and his arrival there, he delivered one of the celebratory public lectures and received an honorary lld. A year later he was elected fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

But by this time his health was failing. Early in 1936 he suffered what he called “a sort of general nervous breakdown” and spent several months in a sanitarium in British Columbia. At the same time he was struggling to complete revisions to The story of English literature that had been demanded by the Nova Scotia department of education. In writing this book Broadus had wanted to inspire “interest and curiosity” in students by presenting the story as a narrative. But the department insisted on “inter-chapters” that provided historical context and other factual information which he thought “any moderately competent teacher” could supply. He returned to Edmonton at the end of April and with the help of his wife was able to correct proofs for the new edition. But he did not live to see the book in print; he died in December 1936 at the age of 60. The Edmund Kemper Broadus Lectures were established in his honour at the University of Alberta in 1971.

Ernest George Mardon and Austin Mardon in collaboration with Elizabeth Hulse

In addition to the titles mentioned in the text, Edmund Kemper Broadus is the author of Studies in oral English (n.p., n.d.), a textbook for students at the University of Alberta; Principles and practice of debating (Edmonton, 1913); and articles in both popular and scholarly journals. His lecture “English poetry during these twenty-five years,” given during the 25th anniversary celebrations of the University of Alberta, appears in These twenty-five years: a symposium … (Toronto, 1933), 27–51. He also edited Books and ideals: an anthology (London and Toronto, 1921), Thomas Fuller: selections … (Oxford, Eng., 1928), and works by Charles Dickens and Robert Louis Stevenson.

McMaster Univ., William Ready Div. of Arch. and Research Coll. (Hamilton, Ont.), Macmillan Company of Canada fonds, box 77, file 11; box 78, files 1–3; production files. Lovat Dickson, The ante-room (Toronto, 1959). W. H. Johns, A history of the University of Alberta, 1908–1969 (Edmonton, 1981). Rod Macleod, All true things: a history of the University of Alberta, 1908–2008 (Edmonton, 2008). F. J. Nezoson, “A most memorable lesson,” History Trails, winter 1982: www.ualberta.ca/ALUMNI/history/peoplea-g/82winbroadus.htm (consulted 26 Jan. 2013). RSC, “Edmund Kemper Broadus,” Trans., 3rd ser., 31 (1937), proc.: vii–ix. Ellen Schoeck, I was there: a century of alumni stories about the University of Alberta, 1906–2006 (Edmonton, 2006). Georgina Thomson, “The burning word,” History Trails, winter 1957–58: www.ualberta.ca/ALUMNI/history/peoplea-g/57winword.htm (consulted 26 Jan. 2013). Univ. of Alta, “Edmund Broadus”: www.ualbertacentennial.ca/cgi-bin/people/displaybio.php?bio_id=608 (consulted 26 Jan. 2013).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Ernest George Mardon and Austin Mardon in collaboration with Elizabeth Hulse, “BROADUS, EDMUND KEMPER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 20, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/broadus_edmund_kemper_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/broadus_edmund_kemper_16E.html
Author of Article: Ernest George Mardon and Austin Mardon in collaboration with Elizabeth Hulse
Title of Article: BROADUS, EDMUND KEMPER
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: November 20, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BURGESS, COLIN – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 20 octobre 1905 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

BROADUS, EDMUND KEMPER, professeur d’université et auteur, né le 27 août 1876 à Alexandria, Virginie, fils de Thomas Andrew Broadus et de Sarah Jane Botts ; le 15 août 1900, il épousa à Chicago Eleanor Hammond, et ils eurent un fils ; décédé le 17 décembre 1936 à Edmonton.

Le jeune Edmund Kemper Broadus fréquenta le Columbian College à Washington, où il obtint un baccalauréat ès arts en 1897. La University of Chicago lui décerna une maîtrise ès arts en 1900 et la Harvard University à Cambridge, au Massachusetts, un doctorat en 1908. Pendant ces années, il enseigna la littérature anglaise à la Stetson University en Floride, à la University of South Dakota et à Harvard.

Dans l’essai « Small beginnings », qui ferait partie du recueil Saturday and Sunday, paru à Toronto en 1935, Broadus évoqua sa première rencontre avec Henry Marshall Tory*, président de la University of Alberta fondée depuis peu : « Un jour de juin 1908, le président d’une université qui n’existait pas encore, située dans une province dont je n’avais jamais entendu parler, dans un pays que je n’avais jamais visité, vint à Harvard et m’offrit la chaire d’anglais. La proposition me sembla pure folie. Je crois que ce que j’ai accepté, ce n’était non pas le poste ni le salaire, mais l’homme. » La santé de Broadus put également avoir joué un certain rôle, car un ganglion tuberculeux s’était apparemment développé dans son cou et on lui avait conseillé de chercher un climat plus sain dans l’Ouest.

À l’automne, Broadus commença à enseigner à Strathcona (qui deviendrait la partie sud d’Edmonton). Il était l’un des quatre professeurs de la jeune université qui comptait 45 étudiants et qui, pendant la première session, occupa le dernier étage d’une école primaire. Il resterait à la University of Alberta à titre de professeur de langue et de littérature anglaises et de directeur du département jusqu’à sa mort. Il s’adapta facilement à la vie d’une collectivité encore pionnière rassemblée à l’extrémité d’une ligne ferroviaire secondaire. Broadus et sa famille passèrent deux hivers dans une maison louée ; par la suite, lui et le professeur d’études classiques William Hardy Alexander, ainsi que leurs femmes, construisirent à la campagne des maisons bien isolées contre le froid sur un emplacement donnant sur la rivière Saskatchewan-du-Nord. Dans l’essai sur sa « petite maison brune », Broadus décrivit l’arrivée de l’hiver dans ce paysage nordique, saison qui pouvait amener des températures de « moins quarante », mais également une beauté « austère et grandiose ».

Au dire de tous, Broadus était un professeur remarquable qui laissait une impression durable chez ses étudiants. À la fois craint et apprécié, il était décrit comme un homme exigeant et sarcastique, « comme un sergent-major régimentaire », ce qui ne l’empêchait pas d’inspirer et de fasciner. C’était aussi un « merveilleux lecteur » à la « voix mélodieuse ». Il pouvait être tout aussi exigeant envers ses collègues. Dans les années 1930, des étudiants non inscrits à ses cours venaient y assister en tant qu’auditeurs libres. À propos de son credo pédagogique, Broadus écrivit : « La seule chose qui compte vraiment est de persuader l’étudiant d’entreprendre un voyage de découvertes pour lui-même avec, comme guide, sa propre curiosité en éveil. » En compagnie de collègues de l’université, il jouait au golf, allait à la pêche et arbitrait des matchs de boxe amateurs. De nombreuses années plus tard, on se souviendrait de lui conduisant une « voiture très chouette » appelée Hotspur, d’après le personnage de Shakespeare.

Parmi les publications érudites de Broadus figurent : The laureateship : a study of the office of poet laureate in England […] (Oxford, Angleterre, 1921), ouvrage qui fit autorité sur le sujet pendant un grand nombre d’années ; The story of English literature (New York, 1931 ; Toronto, 1936) ; English prose from Bacon to Hardy (Londres et Toronto, 1918), édité en collaboration avec Robert Kay Gordon, membre du département d’anglais ; et l’ouvrage marquant grâce auquel surtout on se souviendrait de lui, A book of Canadian prose and verse (Toronto, 1923, 1934), qu’il édita avec la collaboration de sa femme, Eleanor Hammond Broadus, érudite et traductrice reconnue.

Les éditeurs avaient « deux objectifs en vue : rassembler en un seul volume de dimension commode un choix représentatif de textes canadiens en vers et en prose et, ce faisant, peindre, dans son propre contexte, un tableau de la vie canadienne passée et présente. Aucune incompatibilité n’a été trouvée entre les deux objectifs. La poésie lyrique qui manque de saveur locale et la prose pleine d’imagination qui transporte le lecteur dans des scènes autres que canadiennes ont été exclues, à quelques exceptions près. » La première partie, « Canada and the Canadian scene », fut consacrée à la poésie. Dans la deuxième, intitulée « The people » et composée d’œuvres choisies en prose, les éditeurs « avaient l’intention de présenter, à l’aide d’extraits de récits des premiers explorateurs, d’essais et de romans, un tableau du passé et un panorama des divers aspects de la vie canadienne d’aujourd’hui ». La troisième partie, intitulée « The nation builders », comprenait des extraits de discours de six chefs politiques, prononcés « à des moments marquants du développement du pays ».

À l’origine, le manuel fut publié dans la collection « Western Canada » de la Macmillan Company of Canada et fut autorisé dans les écoles de l’Alberta, avant d’être adopté pour les étudiants du secondaire dans plusieurs autres provinces et au niveau collégial. En 1928, plus de 17 000 exemplaires avaient déjà été imprimés. En 1934, en grande partie à l’instigation du poète et professeur Edwin John Pratt* du Victoria College à la University of Toronto, l’ouvrage fit l’objet d’une révision en profondeur ; l’université lançait en 1934–1935 un programme spécialisé en littérature américaine et canadienne, et la lecture du livre A book of Canadian prose and verse serait obligatoire. Un certain nombre de poèmes anciens écrits par des poètes mineurs furent écartés et des œuvres plus récentes furent ajoutées au volume. La Macmillan Company effectua les révisions dans ses bureaux, avec l’approbation des Broadus.

Au fil des ans, Broadus fut chargé de cours invité à la University of California à Berkeley et Los Angeles, à la University of Oxford, au Haverford College en Pennsylvanie et à la University of Chicago. À la University of Alberta, il remplit plusieurs mandats au conseil universitaire comme représentant des professeurs. En 1933, à l’occasion du vingt-cinquième anniversaire de l’université et de son entrée en fonction, il prononça l’une des conférences publiques commémoratives et reçut un doctorat honorifique en droit. Un an plus tard, il fut élu membre de la Société royale du Canada.

La santé d’Edmund Kemper Broadus commença cependant à décliner vers cette époque. Au début de 1936, il fut affligé de ce qu’il appela « une sorte de dépression nerveuse générale » et passa plusieurs mois dans une maison de santé en Colombie-Britannique. Il s’efforça en même temps de terminer les révisions de l’ouvrage The story of English literature, qui avaient été exigées par le département de l’Éducation de la Nouvelle-Écosse. En écrivant ce livre, Broadus avait voulu inspirer aux étudiants « intérêt et curiosité » en présentant l’histoire sous forme narrative. Mais le département insistait sur l’ajout de sections intercalaires pour donner un contexte historique et d’autres renseignements factuels que, selon Broadus, « tout professeur moyennement compétent » pouvait fournir. Il retourna à Edmonton à la fin du mois d’avril et, avec l’aide de sa femme, il réussit à corriger les épreuves de la nouvelle édition. Il ne vit jamais le livre imprimé ; il mourut en décembre 1936 à l’âge de 60 ans. Les conférences Edmund Kemper Broadus furent instaurées en son honneur à la University of Alberta en 1971.

Ernest George Mardon et Austin Mardon en collaboration avec Elizabeth Hulse

Outre les ouvrages déjà mentionnés, Edmund Kemper Broadus a écrit : Studies in oral English (s.l.n.d.), manuel à l’usage des étudiants à la University of Alberta ; Principles and practice of debating (Edmonton, 1913) ; et des articles pour des revues populaires et savantes. La conférence « English poetry during these twenty-five years », qu’il a prononçée durant les célébrations du vingt-cinquième anniversaire de la University of Alberta, a paru dans These twenty-five years : a symposium […] (Toronto, 1933), 27–51. Broadus a également dirigé la publication de Books and ideals : an anthology (Londres et Toronto, 1921), de Thomas Fuller : selections […] (Oxford, Angleterre, 1928), et d’ouvrages de Charles Dickens et de Robert Louis Stevenson.

McMaster Univ., William Ready Div. of Arch. and Research Coll. (Hamilton, Ontario), Macmillan Company of Canada fonds, box 77, file 11 ; box 78, files 1–3 ; production files.— Lovat Dickson, The ante-room (Toronto, 1959).— W. H. Johns, A history of the University of Alberta, 1908–1969 (Edmonton, 1981).— Rod Macleod, All true things : a history of the University of Alberta, 1908–2008 (Edmonton, 2008).— F. J. Nezoson, « A most memorable lesson », History Trails, hiver 1982 : www.ualberta.ca/ALUMNI/history/peoplea-g/82winbroadus.htm (consulté le 26 janv. 2013).— Ellen Schoeck, I was there : a century of alumni stories about the University of Alberta, 1906–2006 (Edmonton, 2006).— SRC, « Edmund Kemper Broadus », Mémoires, 3e sér., 31 (1937), proc. : vii–ix.— Georgina Thomson, « The burning word », History Trails, hiver 1957–1958 : www.ualberta.ca/ALUMNI/history/peoplea-g/57winword.htm (consulté le 26 janv. 2013).— Univ. of Alberta, « Edmund Broadus » : www.ualbertacentennial.ca/cgi-bin/people/displaybio.php?bio_id=608 (consulté le 17 janv. 2013).

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

Ernest George Mardon et Austin Mardon en collaboration avec Elizabeth Hulse, « BROADUS, EDMUND KEMPER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/broadus_edmund_kemper_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/broadus_edmund_kemper_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Ernest George Mardon et Austin Mardon en collaboration avec Elizabeth Hulse
Titre de l'article:   BROADUS, EDMUND KEMPER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   20 octobre 2017