DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

GOWANLOCK, JENNY KIDD (Trout) – Volume XV (1921-1930)

b. 21 April 1841 in Kelso, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Ovide Charlebois., BM1,S5,P0383-1

Source: Link

Charlebois, Ovide (baptized William-Ovide), Oblate of Mary Immaculate and Roman Catholic priest, teacher, school administrator, and bishop; b. 17 Feb. 1862 in Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes (Oka), Lower Canada, son of Hyacinthe Charlebois and Émérente (Émérence) Chartier (Chartier-Robert); d. 20 Nov. 1933 in The Pas, Man.

Soon after his birth Ovide Charlebois, the seventh of 14 children, moved with his family to nearby Saint-Benoît (Mirabel), and in 1864 they settled in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, northwest of Terrebonne. Ovide obtained rudimentary instruction at the local school. From 1876 to 1882 he attended the Collège de L’Assomption and then he entered the Oblate noviciate in Lachine (Montreal). After he made his initial vows in 1883 he studied theology and philosophy at the College of Ottawa and the Saint-Joseph scholasticate. He took his perpetual vows in 1884, received the tonsure two years later, and was ordained priest in Ottawa by Bishop Vital-Justin Grandin* of the diocese of St Albert on 17 July 1887.

In September Charlebois began his long missionary career at Cumberland House (Sask.). While at the noviciate, he had expressed a willingness to serve in the Canadian northwest, but had also indicated a fear of being alone. Ironically, during his first four years in the immense Cumberland district, the longest time he spent with a fellow Oblate was one and a half months. In 1890 he established a school at Cumberland House, and besides seeing to his regular missionary duties he taught there four hours each day. Yet he was obliged to travel extensively to minister to the dispersed indigenous and Métis population. He estimated that during the winter of 1900–1 he journeyed some 3,000 miles by snowshoe and dogsled and camped 35 times in the snow.

In 1903 Charlebois was named principal of St Michael’s Indian Residential School at Duck Lake. In addition to teaching catechism in Cree to the students and caring for those who were ill, he also strove to reduce the school’s debt of over $10,000 and ameliorate its physical plant. Like others of his era, he believed that the well-being of indigenous students could be improved by removing them from the influence of their communities. Conditions at St Michael’s, however, like those in many residential schools at the time [see Peter Henderson Bryce], were unsafe and unsanitary, which led to disease and an alarming death rate (by the end of 1910 nearly half of the schools students from a nearby reserve had died). In a proposal to the federal government in 1909 he suggested that it establish a special agricultural colony to help discharged pupils become self-sufficient farmers. He also recommended that senior scholars be allowed to work in order to gain practical experience: the boys could learn to operate a farm and the girls to manage a home. As an experiment, the Department of Indian Affairs (DIA) authorized Charlebois to place several discharged female students in non-indigenous homes as domestic servants, despite protests from their parents. It was only after a DIA agent wrote a letter to his department calling the situation akin to slavery that the project was abandonned.

While at Duck Lake, Charlebois collaborated in launching a Roman Catholic, French-language newspaper to serve the needs of the province’s isolated minority. In December 1908 he and Abbé Pierre-Elzéar Myre of neighbouring Bellevue (St-Isidore-de-Bellevue) outlined the role and policy of the paper and, along with other clergy, they purchased shares in the Société de la Bonne Presse Limitée, the company they set up to publish Le Patriote de l’Ouest. Printed in a woodworking shop at the boarding school, the paper first appeared in August 1910, edited by Father Adrien-Gabriel Morice. In November fire destroyed the printing equipment, but the paper started up again in June 1911. Charlebois also contributed to enhancing the status of a grotto at Saint-Laurent-de-Grandin (St-Laurent-Grandin) by making the pilgrimage to the site an annual event for the students; local residents also adopted the practice.

In 1907 the formation of a new vicariate apostolic, consisting of the northern parts of Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Ontario, was discussed as a means of facilitating missionary work. Archbishop Adélard Langevin* of St Boniface in Manitoba had already put forward Charlebois’s candidacy as its head to the Oblate general administration. On 4 March 1910 Rome created the vicariate apostolic of Keewatin and on 8 August named Charlebois titular bishop of Berenice and vicar apostolic. On 30 November he was consecrated bishop in L’Assomption, Que., by Langevin. Unfortunately, the Oblate administration refused to accept responsibility for the new vicariate because it could not provide sufficient clergy to ensure proper functioning. The administration claimed that it had not been consulted on the erection of the vicariate or on the nomination of a bishop. Hence, Charlebois was forced to spend considerable time, expense, and effort recruiting personnel and raising money for his apostolic work.

Charlebois established his episcopal residence at The Pas in a log cabin, 14 feet by 14 feet. In May 1911 he began a five-month tour of his vicariate, travelling some 2,500 miles by foot, canoe, wagon, and railway to visit 14 missions and posts. In 1915 he divided the vast region into three districts, each under the direction of a superior, and every year afterwards he visited one of the districts in turn. His arrival at a mission was a source of jubilation and celebration, marked by the discharge of firearms. Those who greeted him then knelt to receive his benediction and a handshake, ceremonies that were followed by religious instruction, sermons, and the sacraments. These pastoral visits were a source of great consolation for the Oblate missionaries as well, many of whom were without colleagues and, hence, unable to follow the rule of their order with respect to communal living.

Education remained a major concern for Charlebois and he became involved in school controversies in Manitoba, Ontario, and Saskatchewan. When Manitoba Premier Rodmond Palen Roblin succeeded in having the boundaries of his province extended northward into the District of Keewatin in 1912, Charlebois unsuccessfully petitioned the federal government of Robert Laird Borden to maintain the constitutional right of Catholics in the area to state-supported separate schools. He encouraged the Association Canadienne-Française d’Éducation d’Ontario in its conflict with the provincial administration of Sir James Pliny Whitney* over Regulation 17 [see Ovide-Arthur Rocque*]. Saskatchewan public schools in his vicariate would be subject to legislation prohibiting the display of religious garb and emblems enacted in 1930 by Premier James Thomas Milton Anderson*. Although not outspoken like his metropolitan, Langevin, Charlebois tirelessly promoted the rights of French Catholics in a number of matters, including the question of episcopal nominations in Ontario and western Canada, the creation of new dioceses, the establishment of the Association Catholique Franco-Canadienne de la Saskatchewan in 1912, the protests against the contents of high-school textbooks in Manitoba, and the petitions to reinstate the original name of Le Pas, which had been incorporated that year as The Pas.

Given its northern location, the Keewatin vicariate was ideally situated to promote the evangelization of the Canadian Arctic’s Inuit. In 1911 Charlebois asked Oblate Arsène Turquetil* to explore the region and evaluate its potential for the foundation of missions. In September of the following year Turquetil began constructing a mission at the hamlet of Chesterfield Inlet (Nunavut), which would become the largest Catholic mission in the eastern Arctic. Charlebois authorized a mission at Eskimo Point (Arviat) in 1925 and planned to set up others, but they never materialized because responsibility for the eastern Arctic was detached from his jurisdiction in 1925 and transferred to the newly created prefecture apostolic of Hudson Bay. This decision profoundly distressed him because he had not been consulted.

The discovery and exploitation of minerals and other natural resources in the region during the mid 1920s transformed the nature of Charlebois’s vicariate. The establishment of mines, smelters, hydroelectric projects, and the Hudson Bay Railway brought in a large white population, and new missions had to be built. Although the indigenous population increased only slightly during Charlebois’s ministry, from about 10,000 persons to 11,150 in 1933, the non-indigenous population jumped from about 100 residents to 11,500. The influx created serious social problems and the bishop denounced the nefarious influence of the newcomers on indigenous peoples, urging his clergy to combat “these powerful sources of perversion and demoralization.”

As a result of Charlebois’s endeavours, his vicariate, which had 9 missions in 1911, contained 19 in 1933 and the number of clergy and religious had increased threefold. Despite his advancing age, he continued to undertake gruelling pastoral visits. In 1923, for example, he had travelled 1,000 miles by canoe, walked some 80 miles of portages, and slept 23 nights in the open. He had travelled to seven missions, preached retreats that lasted from five to seven days to some 2,500 members of First Nations, and administered confirmation to 220 persons. In 1927, while returning from a one-month visit to missions in Norway House and Cross Lake, Man., his boat nearly capsized twice in Lake Winnipeg. He admitted that he was exhausted. During the period from 1911 to 1922 he had journeyed five times to Île-à-la-Crosse, Sask., to preach weeklong retreats or provide religious instruction.

Charlebois always demonstrated great concern for the education of indigenous people and sought to offer them more than what was provided by the rudimentary mission schools. Consequently, he began to petition the federal government for the establishment of residential schools and, after considerable effort, he succeeded in obtaining two new ones: at Cross Lake in Manitoba and at Sturgeon Landing in Saskatchewan. He had great hopes for these institutions as well as for the one at Beauval, which had been founded in 1895 and was to serve as a scholasticate. On 19 Sept. 1927, however, that building burned to the ground; 1 nun and 19 students perished. The financial loss was evaluated at $50,000. Charlebois began the reconstruction at his own expense while awaiting government assistance. In 1930 students set fire to the school at Cross Lake; a nun and 11 students lost their lives.

In his last years Charlebois became obsessed with communism, which he condemned in no uncertain terms. While attending the general meeting of Canadian bishops in Quebec City in 1933, he became ill. On his return to The Pas, he was admitted to hospital, and he died there, aged 71.

Fluent in Cree and Chipewyan, Charlebois was a skilful carpenter, constructing chapels, schools, and residences as well as his episcopal residence and cathedral in The Pas. He was, and remained, a very humble person. In 1905, in keeping with the precepts of poverty and self-denial, he had refrained from visiting his dying father and attending the funeral. For his own service he insisted on a pauper’s burial; his coffin cost $40. His cause for beatification was begun in 1951 and submitted to Rome in 1953.

Ovide Charlebois oversaw a vast, isolated vicariate with a harsh climate; these factors complicated travel and the establishment of missions, and subjected him and his missionaries to incredible hardship. Devoid of worldly pretensions, he admired the virtues of poverty, humility, and mortification. He considered it his duty to expand God’s kingdom and he did so without seeking recognition or praise. His lifes work, however, contains some regrettable episodes, as demonstrated in particular by the conditions that reigned at St Michaels residential school during his principalship.

Raymond Huel

Ovide Charlebois is the author of “Vicariat du Keewatin: Mgr Charlebois, o.m.i., en tournée pastorale,” Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Rome), 53 (1919): 277–92; Mgr O. Charlebois, o.m.i., v.a., chez les Esquimaux: notes de voyage, visite pastorale, ordination, etc. (Ottawa, [1923]); and, with Arsène Turquetil, of Débuts d’un évêque missionnaire: Mgr Ovide Charlebois, o.m.i., évêque de Bérénice, vicaire apostolique du Keewatin: prise de possession, installation, première visite pastorale des missions sauvages (Montréal, n.d.).

Arch. Deschâtelets, Oblats de Marie-Immaculée (Ottawa), H 5201-5250; LC 6001-8000. Le Patriote de l’Ouest (Prince Albert, Sask.), 21 févr. 1923. Gaston Carrière, Dictionnaire biographique des oblats de Marie-Immaculée au Canada (4v., Ottawa, 1976–89); Le père du Keewatin: Mgr Ovide Charlebois, o.m.i., 1862–1933 (Montréal, 1962). A. R. Greyeyes, St. Michaels Indian Residential School 1894–1926: a study within a broader historical and ideological framework (msw thesis, Carleton Univ., Ottawa, 1995). R. [J. A.] Huel, “The Anderson amendments and the secularization of Saskatchewan public schools,” CCHA, Study sessions, 44 (1977): 61–76. Martin Lajeunesse, Directives missionnaires (The Pas, Man., 1942). “O. Charlebois à mon très révérend père général, 10 novembre 1901,” Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Paris), 40 (1902): 48. J.‑M. Pénard, The vicar apostolic of Keewatin, Canada, Bishop Ovide Charlebois, trans. M. A. Gray (Montreal, 1939). Marius Rossignol, “Mission de l’Île-à-la-Crosse,” Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Rome), 56 (1922): 49–59. Arsène Turquetil, “Chez les Esquimaux du Keewatin,” Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Rome), 50 (1912): 441–44. “Un journal catholique et français en Saskatchewan,” Les Cloches de Saint-Boniface (Saint-Boniface [Winnipeg]), 9 (1910): 70. “Vicariat du Keewatin: rapport du révérendissime vicaire des missions,” Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée, 56: 47.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Raymond Huel, “CHARLEBOIS, OVIDE (baptized William-Ovide),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed April 21, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/charlebois_ovide_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/charlebois_ovide_16E.html
Author of Article: Raymond Huel
Title of Article: CHARLEBOIS, OVIDE (baptized William-Ovide)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: April 21, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

DAVIN, NICHOLAS FLOOD – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 18 octobre 1901 à Winnipeg et inhumé le 22 au cimetière Beechwood, Ottawa

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Ovide Charlebois., BM1,S5,P0383-1

Provenance : Lien

CHARLEBOIS, OVIDE (baptisé William-Ovide), père oblat de Marie-Immaculée, enseignant, administrateur scolaire et évêque, né le 17 février 1862 à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes (Oka, Québec), fils d’Hyacinthe Charlebois et d’Émérente (Émérence) Chartier (Chartier-Robert) ; décédé le 20 novembre 1933 à The Pas, Manitoba.

Peu après sa naissance au Bas-Canada, Ovide Charlebois, septième de 14 enfants, partit vivre avec sa famille dans la localité voisine de Saint-Benoît (Mirabel), puis, en 1864, à Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, au nord-ouest de Terrebonne. Ovide reçut une instruction rudimentaire à l’école du coin. De 1876 à 1882, il fréquenta le collège de L’Assomption ; il entra ensuite au noviciat oblat de Lachine (Montréal). Après avoir prononcé ses vœux simples, en 1883, il étudia la théologie et la philosophie au collège d’Ottawa et au scolasticat Saint-Joseph. Il fit sa profession perpétuelle en 1884, fut tonsuré deux ans plus tard et ordonné prêtre à Ottawa par l’évêque Vital-Justin Grandin*, du diocèse de Saint-Albert, le 17 juillet 1887.

En septembre, Charlebois amorça sa longue carrière de missionnaire à Cumberland House (Saskatchewan). Pendant qu’il était au noviciat, il avait exprimé le souhait de servir dans le Nord-Ouest canadien, mais il avait également mentionné sa crainte de la solitude. Ironiquement, pendant ses quatre premières années dans l’immense district de Cumberland, il ne passa jamais plus d’un mois et demi en compagnie d’un collègue oblat. En 1890, il ouvrit une école à Cumberland House, où non seulement il effectuait ses tâches missionnaires habituelles, mais il enseignait aussi quatre heures par jour. Il était toutefois obligé de voyager beaucoup pour apporter son ministère à la population dispersée d’Amérindiens et de Métis. Selon ses estimations, il aurait, pendant l’hiver de 1900–1901, parcouru quelque 3 000 milles en raquettes et en traîneau à chiens, et campé 35 fois dans la neige.

En 1903, Charlebois fut nommé directeur du pensionnat autochtone de Saint-Michel à Duck Lake. Outre qu’il enseignait le catéchisme en cri et soignait les malades, il s’efforça de réduire la dette de l’école, qui s’élevait à plus de 10 000 $, et d’améliorer ses installations. Comme d’autres à son époque, il croyait que les élèves autochtones connaîtraient un meilleur bien-être si on les soustrayait à l’influence de leur communauté. Cependant, les élèves qui résidaient à Saint-Michel vivaient dans des conditions insalubres et dangereuses, situation semblable à celle de nombreux autres pensionnats [V. Peter Henderson Bryce]. Cela entraînait des maladies et un taux de décès alarmant : à la fin des années 1910, une réserve voisine de Saint-Michel avait perdu près de la moitié de ses enfants qui avaient fréquenté cette école. Dans une proposition adressée au gouvernement fédéral en 1909, il suggéra de fonder une colonie agricole spéciale pour aider les élèves qui quittaient le pensionnat à devenir des fermiers autosuffisants. Il recommanda également de permettre aux plus avancés de travailler pour acquérir une expérience pratique : les garçons pourraient apprendre à exploiter une ferme et les filles à tenir maison. À titre d’expérience, le ministère des Affaires indiennes autorisa Charlebois à placer plusieurs jeunes filles, après leurs études au pensionnat, dans des foyers non autochtones, afin d’y travailler comme domestiques, et ce, malgré les protestations de leurs parents. On abandonna le projet seulement après qu’un agent des Affaires indiennes eut écrit à son ministère pour dénoncer la situation, qu’il décrivit comme « comparable à de l’esclavage ».

Pendant qu’il était à Duck Lake, Charlebois collabora à la création d’un journal catholique francophone pour répondre aux besoins de la minorité isolée de la province. En décembre 1908, lui et l’abbé Pierre-Elzéar Myre, de la localité voisine de Bellevue (Saint-Isidore-de-Bellevue), présentèrent le rôle et la politique du périodique et, avec d’autres membres du clergé, fournirent la mise de fonds initiale et lancèrent une campagne de souscription pour établir la Société de la Bonne Presse Limitée, compagnie qui chapeauterait la publication du Patriote de l’Ouest. Imprimé dans un atelier de menuiserie du pensionnat, celui-ci commença à paraître en août 1910 ; le rédacteur en chef en était le père Adrien-Gabriel Morice. En novembre, un incendie détruisit le matériel d’imprimerie, mais on reprit la publication du journal en juin 1911. Charlebois contribua également à rehausser le statut de la grotte de Saint-Laurent-de-Grandin (Saint-Laurent-Grandin) en faisant du pèlerinage au site un événement annuel pour les élèves ; les résidants du coin adoptèrent aussi cette pratique.

En 1907, la formation d’un nouveau vicariat apostolique, comprenant les parties septentrionales de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba et de l’Ontario, avait été abordée comme moyen de faciliter le travail missionnaire. Adélard Langevin*, archevêque de Saint-Boniface, au Manitoba, avait déjà présenté la candidature de Charlebois à la direction de l’administration générale oblate. Le 4 mars 1910, Rome créa le vicariat apostolique du Keewatin et, le 8 août, nomma Charlebois évêque titulaire de Bérénice et vicaire apostolique. Le 30 novembre, à L’Assomption, au Québec, Langevin le sacra évêque. Malheureusement, l’administration oblate refusa la responsabilité du nouveau vicariat, parce qu’elle ne pouvait le doter d’un clergé suffisant pour lui assurer un fonctionnement convenable. Elle affirma n’avoir été consultée ni sur l’érection du vicariat, ni sur la nomination d’un évêque. Par conséquent, Charlebois fut forcé de consacrer du temps, de l’argent et des efforts considérables pour recruter du personnel et recueillir des fonds pour accomplir son travail apostolique.

Charlebois établit sa résidence épiscopale à The Pas, dans une cabane en rondins de 14 pieds sur 14. En mai 1911, il commença une tournée de cinq mois dans son vicariat, parcourant quelque 2 500 milles à pied, en canot, en chariot et en train pour visiter 14 missions et postes. En 1915, il divisa la vaste région en trois districts, chacun sous la direction d’un supérieur ; par la suite, il se rendrait chaque année dans l’un des districts à tour de rôle. Son arrivée à une mission créait une occasion de réjouissance et de célébration, marquée par des salves d’armes à feu. Ceux qui l’accueillaient s’agenouillaient alors pour recevoir sa bénédiction et une poignée de main, cérémonies suivies d’instruction religieuse, de sermons et d’administration des sacrements. Ces visites pastorales apportaient également beaucoup de consolation aux missionnaires oblats, car nombre d’entre eux n’avaient aucun collègue et ne pouvaient donc observer la règle de leur ordre en matière de vie commune.

L’éducation demeurait une grande préoccupation pour Charlebois, et il fut impliqué dans des controverses scolaires au Manitoba, en Ontario et en Saskatchewan. En 1912, lorsque le premier ministre du Manitoba, Rodmond Palen Roblin, réussit à obtenir une extension des frontières de la province vers le nord, à l’intérieur du district de Keewatin, Charlebois tenta en vain d’exercer des pressions auprès du gouvernement fédéral de Robert Laird Borden pour maintenir le droit constitutionnel des catholiques de la région de disposer d’écoles séparées subventionnées par des fonds publics. Il soutint l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation d’Ontario dans son conflit avec l’administration provinciale de sir James Pliny Whitney* au sujet du Règlement 17 [V. Ovide-Arthur Rocque*]. Les écoles publiques de la Saskatchewan relevant de son vicariat seraient assujetties à la loi qui interdirait le port de costumes et de symboles religieux, sanctionnée en 1930 par le premier ministre James Thomas Milton Anderson*. Même s’il ne possédait pas la verve de Langevin, son métropolitain, Charlebois défendit sans relâche les droits des catholiques de langue française dans un certain nombre d’affaires, notamment sur la question des nominations épiscopales en Ontario et dans l’Ouest canadien, la création de nouveaux diocèses, la fondation de l’Association catholique franco-canadienne de la Saskatchewan en 1912, les protestations contre le contenu des manuels dans les écoles secondaires du Manitoba et les pétitions pour rétablir le nom original de Le Pas, localité constituée sous celui de The Pas cette année-là.

Étant donné son emplacement nordique, le vicariat du Keewatin était idéalement situé pour promouvoir l’évangélisation des Inuits de l’Arctique canadien. En 1911, Charlebois demanda à l’oblat Arsène Turquetil* d’explorer la région et d’évaluer son potentiel pour la fondation de missions. En septembre de l’année suivante, Turquetil commença à construire une mission dans le hameau de Chesterfield Inlet (Nunavut), qui deviendrait la mission catholique la plus importante de l’est de l’Arctique. Charlebois autorisa la mise sur pied d’une mission à Eskimo Point (Arviat) en 1925 et planifia l’érection d’autres missions qui ne se concrétisa jamais, car l’est de l’Arctique fut retiré de son autorité en 1925 et transféré à la nouvelle préfecture apostolique de la baie d’Hudson. Cette décision le perturba profondément, parce qu’il n’avait pas été consulté.

La découverte et l’exploitation de minerais et d’autres ressources naturelles dans la région au milieu des années 1920 transformèrent la nature du vicariat de Charlebois. L’établissement de mines, de fonderies, de projets hydroélectriques et du Hudson Bay Railway attira une forte population blanche et de nouvelles missions durent être construites. Même si la population autochtone n’augmenta que légèrement pendant le ministère de Charlebois – elle passa d’environ 10 000 personnes à 11 150 en 1933 –, la population non autochtone d’une centaine de personnes grimpa à 11 500. Cet afflux entraîna de graves problèmes sociaux et l’évêque dénonça l’influence pernicieuse des nouveaux arrivants sur les autochtones, exhortant son clergé à combattre « ces puissantes sources de perversion et de dépravation ».

Comme résultat des initiatives de Charlebois, le nombre de missions de son vicariat passa de 9 en 1911 à 19 en 1933, et celui des membres du clergé et des religieux tripla. Malgré son âge avancé, il continua d’entreprendre des visites pastorales éreintantes. En 1923, par exemple, il avait parcouru 1 000 milles en canot, franchi 80 milles de portages et dormi 23 nuits à la belle étoile. Il visita sept missions, prêcha des retraites de cinq à sept jours à quelque 2 500 membres des Premières Nations et administra la confirmation à 220 personnes. En 1927, au retour d’une visite d’un mois aux missions de Norway House et de Cross Lake, au Manitoba, son bateau faillit chavirer deux fois dans le lac Winnipeg. Il avoua être épuisé. Pendant la période de 1911 à 1922, il avait accompli cinq voyages à Île-à-la-Crosse, en Saskatchewan, pour prêcher des retraites d’une semaine ou pour offrir de l’instruction religieuse.

Charlebois manifesta une préoccupation constante pour l’éducation des autochtones et cherchait à leur offrir plus que ce qui était enseigné dans les écoles rudimentaires de mission. Par conséquent, il commença à adresser des requêtes au gouvernement fédéral pour la création de pensionnats amérindiens et, après des efforts considérables, réussit à en obtenir deux nouveaux : à Cross Lake, au Manitoba, et à Sturgeon Landing, en Saskatchewan. Il caressait de grands espoirs pour ces établissements et celui de Beauval, fondé en 1895, qui allait servir de scolasticat, mais qui, le 19 septembre 1927, fut rasé par un incendie dans lequel disparurent une religieuse et 19 élèves. La perte financière fut évaluée à 50 000 $. Charlebois commença la reconstruction à ses frais en attendant de l’aide du gouvernement. En 1930, les élèves mirent le feu à l’école de Cross Lake ; une religieuse et 11 élèves périrent.

Au cours des dernières années de son existence, Charlebois devint obsédé par le communisme, qu’il condamnait fermement. Pendant l’assemblée générale des évêques canadiens à Québec, en 1933, il tomba malade. À son retour à The Pas, il fut admis à l’hôpital, où il mourut à 71 ans.

Outre qu’il parlait couramment le cri et le chipewyan, Charlebois était un menuisier habile qui construisit des chapelles, des écoles et des pensionnats, de même que sa résidence épiscopale et la cathédrale à The Pas. Il fut toujours une personne très humble. En 1905, conformément aux préceptes de pauvreté et d’abnégation, il s’était retenu de rendre visite à son père mourant et d’assister aux funérailles. Pour son propre service funèbre, il demanda avec insistance un enterrement de pauvre ; son cercueil coûta 40 $. Sa cause de béatification fut amorcée en 1951 et soumise à Rome en 1953.

Ovide Charlebois gouverna un vicariat vaste et isolé, dans un climat rude ; ces facteurs, qui compliquaient les voyages ainsi que l’établissement de missions, les exposèrent, lui et les missionnaires, à des difficultés incroyables. Dépourvu de prétentions matérielles, Charlebois admirait les vertus de pauvreté, d’humilité et de mortification. Il considérait l’extension du royaume de Dieu comme relevant de son devoir et il le fit sans chercher de reconnaissance ou de louanges. Son œuvre renferme toutefois des épisodes regrettables, comme en témoignent les conditions de vie au pensionnat autochtone de Saint-Michel pendant son directorat.

Raymond Huel

Ovide Charlebois est l’auteur de « Vicariat du Keewatin : Mgr Charlebois, O.M.I., en tournée pastorale », Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Rome), 53 (1919) : 277–292 et de Mgr O. Charlebois, o.m.i., v.a., chez les Esquimaux : notes de voyage, visite pastorale, ordination, etc. (Ottawa, [1923]). Il a aussi écrit, en collaboration avec Arsène Turquetil, Débuts d’un évêque missionnaire : Mgr Ovide Charlebois, O.M.I., évêque de Bérénice, vicaire apostolique du Keewatin : prise de possession, installation, première visite pastorale des missions sauvages (Montréal, s.d.).

Arch. Deschâtelets, Oblats de Marie-Immaculée (Ottawa), H 5201-5250 ; LC 6001-8000.— Le Patriote de l’Ouest (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan), 21 févr. 1923.— Gaston Carrière, Dictionnaire biographique des oblats de Marie-Immaculée au Canada (4 vol., Ottawa, 1976–1989) ; le Père du Keewatin : Mgr Ovide Charlebois, o.m.i., 1862–1933 (Montréal, 1962).— A. R. Greyeyes, « St. Michaels Indian Residential School 1894–1926 : a study within a broader historical and ideological framework » (mémoire de m. serv. soc., Carleton Univ., Ottawa, 1995). R. [J. A.] Huel, « The Anderson amendments and the secularization of Saskatchewan public schools », SCHEC, Study sessions, 44 (1977) : 61–76.— Martin Lajeunesse, Directives missionnaires (The Pas, Manitoba, 1942).— « O. Charlebois à mon très révérend père général, 10 novembre 1901 », Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Paris), 40 (1902) : 48.— J.-M. Pénard, Mgr Charlebois (notes et souvenirs) (Montréal, 1937).— Marius Rossignol, « Mission de l’Île-à-la-Crosse », Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Rome), 56 (1922) : 49–59.— Arsène Turquetil, « Chez les Esquimaux du Keewatin », Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée (Rome), 50 (1912) : 441–444.— « Un journal catholique et français en Saskatchewan », les Cloches de Saint-Boniface (Saint-Boniface [Winnipeg]), 9 (1910) : 70.— « Vicariat du Keewatin : rapport du révérendissime vicaire des missions », Missions de la Congrégation des missionnaires oblats de Marie Immaculée, 56 : 47.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Raymond Huel, « CHARLEBOIS, OVIDE (baptisé William-Ovide) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 oct. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/charlebois_ovide_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/charlebois_ovide_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Raymond Huel
Titre de l'article:   CHARLEBOIS, OVIDE (baptisé William-Ovide)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   18 octobre 2018