DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

CORRIVEAU (Corrivaux), MARIE-JOSEPHTE, known as La Corriveau; b. and baptized 14 May 1733 at Saint-Vallier, near Quebec, daughter of Joseph Corriveau, a farmer, and Marie-Françoise Bolduc; m. first on 17 Nov. 1749 Charles Bouchard, a farmer, who was buried on 27 April 1760 and by whom she had three children; and secondly on 20 July 1761 Louis Dodier, a farmer; died on the gallows at Quebec, probably on 18 April 1763.

There is scarcely any woman in all of Canadian history who has a worse reputation than Marie-Josephte Corriveau, generally called La Corriveau. This wretched woman died more than two centuries ago, but she continues to haunt the imagination. People still talk of her, of her crimes, real and fictitious. On 15 April 1763 she was condemned to death by a court martial for murdering Louis Dodier, her second husband, during the night of 26–27 Jan. 1763. This murder gave rise to two sensational trials before a military tribunal which met in one of the rooms of the Ursuline convent in Quebec and was composed of 12 English officers and presided over by Lieutenant-Colonel Roger Morris. The reports of these trials, discovered in London in 1947, allow us to establish the facts quite precisely and to separate them from the legend which grew up about them.

The first trial, which began on 29 March 1763, ended on 9 April with the death sentence for Joseph Corriveau, who was found guilty of the murder, and the sentencing of his daughter, Marie-Josephte, to be flogged and branded. But these sentences were not carried out because Joseph Corriveau’s confession – made after sentence had been pronounced on the advice of his confessor, the Jesuit superior Augustin-Louis de Glapion* – revealed his daughter as the sole guilty person and indicated that the crown attorney, Hector-Théophilus Cramahé*, had erred in his charge and his interpretation of the facts. His error was due to the fact that he accepted the testimony, contradictory as it happened, of Joseph’s niece, Élisabeth-Marguerite (Isabelle) Veau, dit Sylvain, that of a neighbour, Joseph Corriveau, the accused man’s homonym, which was, at least on the surface, overwhelming, and finally that of another neighbour, the talkative and imaginative Claude Dion. It was the contradictions in the evidence that the defence lawyer, Jean-Antoine Saillant, had tried to bring out in his pleading.

The court met again on 15 April to hear Marie-Josephte’s confession, in which she declared that she had killed her husband by hitting him on the head twice with an axe while he was sleeping. A new sentence, pronounced the same day, stipulated that Marie-Josephte would be hanged and that, in conformity with English law (Great Britain, Statutes, 25, Geo. II, 1752), her corpse would be exposed in chains for an indefinite period. The execution took place on the Buttes-à-Nepveu, near the Plains of Abraham, probably on 18 April 1763, and the iron cage, which was set up at Pointe-Lévy (Lauzon), remained in sight of passers-by until at least 25 May, when an order from the governor, James Murray*, authorized its removal. As for Joseph Corriveau, he was discharged with a certificate of innocence, as was his niece, Isabelle Sylvain, who had been accused of perjury at the first trial. His pardon received royal assent from George III on 8 August of that year.

All these unusual facts and others still, such as the discovery of the iron cage in the cemetery of Lauzon around 1850, struck people’s imaginations. They were transformed into deep-rooted legends that are still recounted in oral tradition and inspired several fantastic tales which have been cleverly used by some Canadian writers. In Les Anciens Canadiens (Quebec, 1863) Philippe-Joseph Aubert* de Gaspé brought out in particular the nocturnal appearances of La Corriveau in her cage, begging a belated habitant on the road to Beaumont to take her to the sabbath of the will-o’-the-wisps and witches on the Île d’Orléans. After Sir James MacPherson Le Moine* in his article “Marie-Josephte Corriveau, a Canadian Lafarge” in Maple Leaves (Quebec, 1863), William Kirby*, in his novel The Golden Dog (New York, 1877), made La Corriveau into a professional poisoner, a direct descendant of the famous Catherine Deshayes, called La Voisin, who was hanged in Paris in 1680. Several other writers and historians, among them Louis-Honoré Fréchette* in his article “Une Relique,” in Le Monde Illustré (Montreal), 7 May 1898, and Pierre-Georges Roy* in “L’Histoire de La Corriveau,” Cahiers des Dix, II (1937), 73–76, have told La Corriveau’s story, without succeeding however in completely separating the true facts from anachronistic fantasies or legendary and romantic details. There is, for example, a lack of agreement on the number of murders – between two and seven – which are attributed to this wretched woman and on the different means which she used to carry them out. La Corriveau has also inspired artists: the sculptor Alfred Laliberté * made a remarkable bronze which is in the Musée du Québec portraying a haggard young woman bent under the weight of fatality and the cage in which she is imprisoned.

Luc Lacourcière

An exhaustive bibliography listing all manuscript and printed sources, reference works, and studies will be found in two articles by Luc Lacourcière: “Le triple destin de Marie-Josephte Corriveau,” Cahiers des Dix, XXXIII (1968), 213–42; “Le destin posthume de la Corriveau,” Cahiers des Dix, XXXIV (1969), 239–71.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Luc Lacourcière, “CORRIVEAU, MARIE-JOSEPHTE, La Corriveau,” in EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 3, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed April 23, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/corriveau_marie_josephte_3E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/corriveau_marie_josephte_3E.html
Author of Article: Luc Lacourcière
Title of Article: CORRIVEAU, MARIE-JOSEPHTE, La Corriveau
Publication Name: EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 3
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1974
Year of revision: 1974
Access Date: April 23, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

CORRIVEAU (Corrivaux), MARIE-JOSEPHTE, dite La Corriveau, née à Saint-Vallier, près de Québec, et baptisée le 14 mai 1733, fille de Joseph Corriveau, cultivateur, et de Marie-Françoise Bolduc ; elle épousa en premières noces, le 17 novembre 1749, Charles Bouchard, cultivateur, inhumé le 27 avril 1760, de qui elle eut trois enfants, et en secondes noces, le 20 juillet 1761, Louis Dodier, cultivateur ; morte pendue à Québec, probablement le 18 avril 1763.

Il n’est guère de femme, dans toute l’histoire canadienne, qui ait plus mauvaise réputation que Marie-Josephte Corriveau, appelée communément La Corriveau. Cette malheureuse est morte voilà plus de deux siècles, mais elle continue de hanter les imaginations. On parle encore d’elle, de son crime réel et de ses crimes fictifs. Le 15 avril 1763, elle fut condamnée à mort par une cour martiale pour le meurtre de Louis Dodier, son second mari, survenu dans la nuit du 26 au 27 janvier 1763. Cet assassinat donna lieu à deux procès retentissants devant un tribunal militaire qui se réunit dans une des salles du monastère des ursulines de Québec et qui était composé de 12 officiers anglais et présidé par le lieutenant-colonel Roger Morris. Les procès-verbaux de ces procès, retrouvés en 1947 à Londres, permettent d’établir les faits très exactement et de les dégager de la légende qui les entoura par la suite.

Le premier procès, qui commença le 29 mars 1763, se termina le 9 avril suivant par la condamnation à mort de Joseph Corriveau, reconnu coupable de meurtre, et par la condamnation de sa fille Marie-Josephte, sa présumée complice, à la peine du fouet et du fer rouge. Mais ces sentences ne furent pas exécutées parce que les aveux de Joseph Corriveau – faits après le prononcé de la sentence, sous le conseil de son confesseur, le père Augustin-Louis de Glapion*, supérieur des jésuites – dénonçant sa fille comme étant la seule coupable, démontrèrent que l’avocat de la couronne, Hector Theophilus Cramahé*, avait erré dans son acte d’accusation et dans l’interprétation des faits. Son erreur est due au fait qu’il accepta le témoignage, d’ailleurs contradictoire, d’Élisabeth-Marguerite (Isabelle) Veau, dit Sylvain, nièce de l’accusé, celui, accablant, du moins en apparence, de Joseph Corriveau, homonyme et voisin de l’accusé, et enfin celui du loquace et imaginatif Claude Dion, un autre voisin. L’avocat de la défense, Jean-Antoine Saillant, avait tenté de démontrer dans sa plaidoirie les contradictions de ces témoignages.

La cour dut se réunir de nouveau le 15 avril pour entendre l’aveu de Marie-Josephte qui déclara avoir tué son mari de deux coups de hache à la tête pendant qu’il dormait. Une nouvelle sentence, rendue le même jour, précise que Marie-Josephte sera pendue et que son cadavre sera indéfiniment exposé dans les « chaînes », en conformité avec la loi anglaise (Statutes United Kingdom, 25, George II, 1752). L’exécution eut lieu sur les Buttes-à-Nepveu, près des plaines d’Abraham, probablement le 18 avril ; le gibet, dressé à la Pointe-Lévy (Lauzon, Québec), et la cage de fer demeurèrent à la vue des passants jusqu’au 25 mai au moins, alors qu’un ordre du gouverneur James Murray* en permit l’enlèvement. Quant à Joseph Corriveau, il fut renvoyé avec un certificat d’innocence, ainsi que sa nièce, Isabelle Sylvain, que l’on avait accusée de parjure au premier procès. Le pardon de Corriveau reçut la sanction royale de George III le 8 août suivant.

Tous ces faits inusités et d’autres, comme la découverte de la cage de fer dans le cimetière de Lauzon, vers 1850, frappèrent l’imagination populaire. Ils se transformèrent en légendes tenaces qui se racontent encore dans la tradition orale, et inspirèrent plusieurs contes fantastiques habilement exploités par quelques écrivains canadiens. Philippe-Joseph Aubert* de Gaspé, dans Les Anciens Canadiens (Québec, 1863), a surtout mis en évidence les apparitions nocturnes de La Corriveau dans sa cage, suppliant un habitant attardé sur la route de Beaumont de la conduire à l’île d’Orléans au sabbat des feux follets et des sorciers. À la suite de sir James MacPherson Le Moine*, dans son article intitulé Marie-Josephte Corriveau, A Canadian Lafarge, Maple Leaves [...] (Québec, 1863), William Kirby*, dans son roman, The Golden Dog (New York, 1877), fait de La Corriveau une empoisonneuse de profession, descendante directe de la célèbre Catherine Deshayes, dite la Voisin, pendue à Paris en 1680. Plusieurs autres littérateurs et historiens, dont Louis-Honoré Fréchette*, dans son article intitulé Une relique, Le Monde illustré (Montréal), 7 mai 1898, et Pierre-Georges Roy* dans l’Histoire de La Corriveau, Cahiers des Dix, II (1937) : 73–76, ont raconté l’histoire de La Corriveau, mais sans parvenir à dissocier complètement les faits réels des fantaisies anachroniques ou des données légendaires et romanesques. Par exemple, on ne s’entend pas sur le nombre de meurtres – entre deux et sept – attribués à cette misérable femme et sur les moyens différents dont elle se serait servie pour les accomplir. La Corriveau a aussi inspiré des artistes : le sculpteur Alfred Laliberté* a fait d’elle un bronze remarquable – conservé au Musée du Québec représentant une jeune femme hagarde, courbée sous le poids de la fatalité et de la cage qui l’emprisonne.

Luc Lacourcière

Pour une bibliographie exhaustive, énumérant toutes les sources manuscrites et imprimées, les ouvrages de référence et les études, le lecteur consultera avec profit les deux articles de Luc Lacourcière : Le triple destin de Marie-Josephte Corriveau, Cahiers des Dix, XXXIII (1968) : 213242 ; Le destin posthume de la Corriveau, Cahiers des Dix, XXXIV (1969) : 239271.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Luc Lacourcière, « CORRIVEAU, MARIE-JOSEPHTE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 29 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/corriveau_marie_josephte_3F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/corriveau_marie_josephte_3F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Luc Lacourcière
Titre de l'article:   CORRIVEAU, MARIE-JOSEPHTE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1974
Année de la révision:   1974
Date de consultation:   29 juillet 2014