DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
The War of 1812

This feature introduces the last major conflict fought on Canadian soil, the War of 1812. In the Maritimes this war affected the population but little, and it was the central colonies that were chiefly involved. Although the strategy was planned in Lower Canada by Governor George Prevost and some conflicts took place there under military leaders who earned renown, such as Charles-Michel d’Irumberry de Salaberry, most of the fighting took place largely in Upper Canada where Administrator Isaac Brock could rely for trained support upon only a handful of British soldiers. Brock and his aide-de-camp John Macdonell (Greenfield) died early in the war at Queenston Heights, their examples becoming part of the myth that would grow up around the conflict. The attempt to maintain naval superiority on the Great Lakes fell to Sir James Lucas Yeo. Robert Heriot Barclay fought a bitter, lost, naval battle on Lake Erie in 1813 as did Daniel Pring in 1814 on Lake Champlain.

Almost as important as the threat of American armies was the dubious allegiance of figures such as Joseph Willcocks and the non-loyalist Americans such as Benajah Mallory who by this time constituted the majority of the Upper Canadian population. Disaffection proved an enduring theme of the war when, after the American occupation of York (Toronto) in 1813, men such as Elijah Bentley revealed the democratic sympathies of segments of the population opposed to the monarchical exhortations of a John Burns or a John Strachan.

Many biographies attest to the personal and physical damages of the War of 1812 while others discuss the political and economic ramifications particularly in Upper Canada. The decline and fall of native power east of the prairies is another melancholy theme. A wave of resistance to American growth, organized by Tecumseh, was dissipated when the British withdrew from the southwestern peninsula of Upper Canada, and the possibility of a native buffer state south of the Great Lakes disappeared.

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
La guerre de 1812

L’ensemble de biographies ici présenté porte sur le dernier conflit majeur qui se soit déroulé en sol canadien : la guerre de 1812. Celle-ci affecta bien peu la population des Maritimes ; les colonies du centre, surtout, furent touchées. Même si la stratégie fut élaborée dans le Bas-Canada par le gouverneur sir George Prevost et que quelques conflits s’y déroulèrent sous les ordres de chefs militaires qui, tels que Charles-Michel d’Irumberry de Salaberry, se firent un nom, les combats eurent lieu en grande partie dans le Haut-Canada, où l’administrateur Isaac Brock ne pouvait compter, en fait d’hommes rompus aux techniques militaires, que sur une poignée de soldats britanniques. Brock et son aide de camp John Macdonell (Greenfield) moururent à Queenston Heights, peu après le début des hostilités. Ils serviraient d’exemples dans le mythe qui se constituerait autour de la guerre. Sir James Lucas Yeo tenta de maintenir la supériorité navale des Britanniques sur les Grands Lacs. Robert Heriot Barclay livra et perdit un dur combat naval sur le lac Érié en 1813, tout comme Daniel Pring sur le lac Champlain en 1814.

La fidélité douteuse de personnages tels que l’Irlandais Joseph Willcocks et des Américains non loyalistes comme Benajah Mallory – qui à l’époque formaient la majorité de la population du Haut-Canada – était presque aussi menaçante que les troupes américaines. Après l’occupation d’York (Toronto) par les Américains en 1813, des hommes comme Elijah Bentley firent ressortir les appuis à la démocratie, par certaines parties de la population, en opposition aux exhortations monarchiques d’un John Burns ou d’un John Strachan ; la désaffection envers les autorités persista jusqu’à la fin de la guerre.

De nombreuses biographies évoquent les blessés, les morts et les dommages matériels causés par la guerre de 1812. D’autres en décrivent les ramifications politiques et économiques, tout particulièrement dans le Haut-Canada. Le déclin et la chute de la puissance amérindienne à l’est des Prairies constituent d’autres épisodes sombres de l’histoire du Canada. Une vague de résistance contre la croissance américaine, organisée par Tecumseh, se dissipa avec le retrait des Britanniques de la péninsule sud-ouest du Haut-Canada ; la possibilité d’un état tampon amérindien au sud des Grands Lacs disparut alors.

◀◀ ◀ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶