DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

DESAULNIERS, GONZALVE (baptized Jean-Baptiste-Amédée-Gonzalve), journalist, poet, lawyer, and judge; b. 24 June 1863 in Upton-Partie-Nord-Est (Saint‑Guillaume), Lower Canada, son of Antoine Lesieur-Desaulniers, a physician, and Hélène-Lucil-Virginie Tellier; m. 5 July 1887 Elizabeth Martin in the Montreal parish of Saint‑Jacques, and they had one son and two daughters; d. suddenly 5 April 1934 in Montreal.

Gonzalve Desaulniers studied at the Collège du Sacré-Cœur in Sorel (Sorel-Tracy) until 1877, when he began four years of classical studies at the Collège Sainte‑Marie in Montreal. There he was on the editorial staff of Le Journal d’Arthabaska, a daily newspaper dedicated to promoting Wilfrid Laurier*, the federal Liberal candidate in the riding of Drummond and Arthabaska. Desaulniers had literary talent, and at the age of 18 he wrote a tragedy in verse that he had the writer Louis Fréchette* read. The latter put his library at the disposal of the young scribe. After studying law (but without attending a school), he would be called to the bar on 5 July 1895.

Meanwhile, Desaulniers earned his living mainly from writing and politics. From 1883 to 1889 he was a journalist in Montreal at L’Étendard, an ultramontane periodical run by Senator François-Xavier-Anselme Trudel*. An active member of the Cercle Ville-Marie, Desaulniers was also the editor of the Montreal Revue canadienne in 1883 and 1884 and wrote a column on political life in Canada and abroad. In December 1889 he left L’Étendard and went to work for the Montreal weekly Le National (at first Castor and later Liberal), for which he had editorial responsibility until it ceased publication in 1896. During the provincial election campaign of 1892 he transformed the paper into a militant daily. Honoré Mercier*s Liberals were defeated, and Desaulniers’s ideas made the party leaders uneasy. He also contributed to an openly anticlerical Montreal periodical, the Canada-Revue of Aristide Filiatreault*, who was the spokesman for the city’s radical Liberals. In 1896, with Jules Helbronner* and Télesphore Saint‑Pierre*, he wrote for the short-lived Montreal daily Le Soir during the federal campaign that resulted in the election of Laurier and the Liberals.

Work would never keep Desaulniers from pursuing his literary activities. He made his initial forays into poetry in the Revue canadienne as well as in Montreal’s Le Monde illustré (1884, 1885) and Quebec City’s Les Nouvelles Soirées canadiennes (1887). In 1886, after Louis Riel* was hanged, he attracted attention by publishing in Montreal a long poem, L’absolution avant la bataille, which highlighted the heroism of the Montreal militiamen sent to the North-West Territories in May 1885. The text appeared first in La Minerve and later in pamphlet form. In 1893 he defended Fréchette during a spectacular dispute with William Chapman*, who accused the laureate of plagiarism. Desaulniers published poems in the Montreal periodicals Le Journal de Françoise, Le Passe-Temps, La Revue populaire, and La Revue moderne. He also contributed to La Revue des deux Frances (Paris and Montreal).

On 29 April 1898 Desaulniers joined the group of young people who had established the École Littéraire de Montréal. Along with his writer friends Alphonse Beauregard, Germain Beaulieu*, Jean Charbonneau, Hector Demers, Georges-Alma Dumont, Albert Ferland*, Lionel Léveillé, and Jules Tremblay, he participated quite actively in meetings and in 1910 he became president (an office he held from 19 Oct. 1910 until 13 Oct. 1911). Two of the group’s publications, an anthology titled Les soirées du château de Ramezay and the magazine Le Terroir, published in Montreal in 1900 and 1909 respectively, contain a dozen of his poems. In 1926, having been excluded from Les soirées de l’École littéraire de Montréal: proses et vers, a collection released in the same city the previous year, and disagreeing with its offensive remarks about the French writer Anatole France, he resigned in sensational fashion.

Desaulniers flaunted his progressive ideas by taking part in various social and cultural activities, despite the occasional conflicts with the religious authorities that resulted. On 20 Jan. 1899 he joined L’Émancipation masonic lodge in Montreal. (The names of some members of this secret society would be made public in 1910.) In 1902 he and Godfroy Langlois*, who was also a freemason, founded the Ligue de l’Enseignement, which openly advocated educational reform at variance with several aspects of the Roman Catholic Church’s position. In the same year, with the lawyer Zénon Fontaine, he founded the Théâtre des Nouveautés in Montreal, which presented French classical and contemporary plays that did not always please the clergy.

In 1909 Desaulniers was elected president of the Montreal committee of the Alliance Française, an office he would hold for the rest of his life. In this capacity, and also as first vice-president of the Fédération de l’Alliance Française aux États-Unis et au Canada from 1910, he would bring in more than 200 speakers, including representatives of republican and liberal France. Inspired by the fraternal ties between France and Canada during World War I, he would pay homage to his intellectual homeland in a long poem titled Pour la France … (Montreal, 1918). In 1910, on behalf of the École Littéraire de Montréal, he supported Victor Morin’s campaign for a public and secular municipal library in that city. Archbishop Paul Bruchési, like all the province’s bishops, took a dim view of the expansion of such a library, where reading material would not be monitored. Bruchési acted ruthlessly in 1913 when Olivar Asselin, then the president of the Société Saint‑Jean-Baptiste de Montréal, invited his friend Desaulniers to recite a few poems at the celebration on 24 June. It is thought that the archbishop may have threatened to deny the society the use of a hall belonging to the Université Laval if Desaulniers took part in the program. The poet ultimately decided to withdraw.

Desaulniers had practised law in Montreal, alone or in partnership, from at least 1897. He was named a kc in 1903. Over the years he specialized in matters related to the press, championing liberal ideas and defending free speech. For example, in 1908 he represented Rodolphe Girard – the author of Marie Calumet, a novel condemned by the archbishop of Montreal when it was published in 1904 – in a libel suit brought against the Quebec City newspaper La Vérité. He won the case on 27 Oct. 1911. On 15 Jan. 1923, at the age of 59, he was appointed judge of the Superior Court for the district of Montreal. He would serve in this capacity until the end of his life. Among the proceedings over which he presided was the 1928 test case on the opening of cinemas on Sunday.

In 1930 Desaulniers published in Montreal a deluxe, large-format volume that he titled Les bois qui chantent. It contains some 50 of his poems composed over the course of more than 40 years. They represent only part of his output, but they are entirely typical. These approximately 2,500 lines of lyrical and contemplative verse, written in elegant alexandrines, were strongly influenced by his reading of French literary masters such as Jean-Jacques Rousseau and Alphonse de Lamartine. They belong to another era, for they are Parnassian in metrical structure and romantic in inspiration. Although the poems struck some as unconventional, the collection was well received by Quebec critics and by the Académie Française and the Alliance Française in Paris, which awarded him its gold medal. Following this international recognition Desaulniers was admitted to the Royal Society of Canada in 1932. The French government made him an officier de l’Instruction publique, as well as a chevalier and then an officer of the Legion of Honour. In 1927 he was given an honorary doctorate by McGill University in recognition of his contribution to French language and culture.

Ranked by literary historians somewhere between the grandiloquent Louis Fréchette and the intimist Nérée Beauchemin, this lyric poet was indisputably a member of the first generation of the École Littéraire de Montréal, a group with an abiding interest in classical prosody. A liberal-minded man of letters and the law, Gonzalve Desaulniers stood out from his peers by winning recognition in forms of expression as disparate as journalism, poetry, lectures, court argument, and judicial decisions.

Kenneth Landry

In addition to works already mentioned, Gonzalve Desaulniers wrote “La chevrette,” RSC, Trans., 2nd ser., 5 (1899), sect.i: 81–86 and Sir Lomer Gouin: sa vie, son œuvre ([Montréal], 1923).

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S33, 5 juill. 1887; CE601-S51, 9 janv. 1854. BANQ‑MCQ, CE403-S11, 24 juin 1863. Centre de Recherche Interuniversitaire sur la Littérature et la Culture Québécoises, Univ. Laval (Québec), Arch. du projet DOLQ; Arch. du projet Histoire de la vie littéraire au Québec. Le Canada (Montréal), 6 avril 1934. Le Devoir, 9 avril 1934. Le Pays (Montréal), 8 juin, 9 août 1913. La Presse, 13 juill. 1903, 14 oct. 1911. Le Réveil (Montréal), 9 févr. 1895, 7 janv. 1899. [É.‑J. Auclair], “L’honorable juge Desaulniers,” RSC, Trans., 3rd ser., 28 (1934), proc.: x–xii. Samuel Baillargeon, Littérature canadienne-française (Montréal, 1957). Germain Beaulieu, Nos immortels (Montréal, 1931), 59–69. Henri Bernard, La Ligue de l’enseignement: histoire d’une conspiration maçonnique à Montréal (Notre-Dame-des-Neiges [Montréal], 1904), 27–28. Jean Charbonneau, L’École littéraire de Montréal: ses origines, ses animateurs, ses influences (Montréal, 1935), 161–72. Dictionary of literary biography (357v. to date, Detroit, 1978–    ), 92 (Canadian writers, 1890-1920, ed. W. H. New, 1990): 82–85. DOLQ, 2: 151–53. L’École littéraire de Montréal: procès-verbaux et correspondance (et autres documents inédits sur l’école), Réginald Hamel, édit. (2v., Montréal, 1974). Guy Frégault, Histoire de la littérature canadienne-française: seconde moitié du XIXe siècle (Montréal, 1996), 108–24. Antonio Huot, Le poison maçonnique (Québec, 1911), 23–25. A.‑J. Lemieux, La loge L’Émancipation (Montréal, 1910), 21–30. Roger Le Moine, Deux loges montréalaises du Grand Orient de France (Ottawa, 1991), 85–87, 111–12. P.‑G. Roy, Les juges de la prov. de Québec. La vie culturelle à Montréal vers 1900, sous la dir. de Micheline Cambron ([Montréal], 2005). Paul Villard, Alliance française, comité de Montréal, 1902-1942: quarante années au service de la pensée française (Montréal, 1941).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Kenneth Landry, “DESAULNIERS, GONZALVE (baptized Jean-Baptiste-Amédée-Gonzalve),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/desaulniers_gonzalve_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/desaulniers_gonzalve_16E.html
Author of Article: Kenneth Landry
Title of Article: DESAULNIERS, GONZALVE (baptized Jean-Baptiste-Amédée-Gonzalve)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: November 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

décédé le 13 décembre 1827 près de Hammersmith (Londres)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

DESAULNIERS, GONZALVE (baptisé Jean-Baptiste-Amédée-Gonzalve), journaliste, poète, avocat et juge, né le 24 juin 1863 à Upton-Partie-Nord-Est (Saint-Guillaume, Québec), fils d’Antoine Lesieur-Desaulniers, médecin, et d’Hélène-Lucil-Virginie Tellier ; le 5 juillet 1887, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Jacques, à Montréal, Elizabeth Martin, et ils eurent un fils et deux filles ; décédé subitement le 5 avril 1934 à Montréal.

Gonzalve Desaulniers étudie au collège du Sacré-Cœur, à Sorel (Sorel-Tracy), jusqu’en 1877. À partir de cette année, il poursuivra ses études classiques pendant quatre ans au collège Sainte-Marie, à Montréal, ville d’où il collabore à la rédaction du Journal d’Arthabaska. Ce quotidien est voué à la promotion de Wilfrid Laurier*, candidat du Parti libéral fédéral dans la circonscription de Drummond et Arthabaska. Doué pour les lettres, Desaulniers rédige, à 18 ans, une tragédie en vers qu’il fait lire par l’écrivain Louis Fréchette*. Ce dernier met sa bibliothèque à la disposition de Desaulniers qui, après avoir étudié le droit (mais sans fréquenter une école), sera admis au barreau le 5 juillet 1895.

Entre-temps, Desaulniers gagne principalement sa vie grâce à l’écriture et la politique. En effet, de 1883 à 1889, à Montréal, il est journaliste à l’Étendard, périodique ultramontain dirigé par le sénateur François-Xavier-Anselme Trudel*. Membre actif du Cercle Ville-Marie, Desaulniers dirige également la Revue canadienne, à Montréal, en 1883 et 1884. Il y signe une chronique consacrée à la vie politique canadienne et étrangère. En décembre 1889, il abandonne l’Étendard pour travailler au National, hebdomadaire de Montréal (d’abord « castor », puis libéral) dont il sera le rédacteur jusqu’à sa fermeture en 1896. Pendant la campagne électorale provinciale de 1892, il le transforme en un quotidien de combat. Les libéraux d’Honoré Mercier* sont défaits et les idées de Desaulniers inquiètent les dirigeants du parti. Il collabore aussi, en effet, à un périodique montréalais ouvertement anticlérical, le Canada-Revue d’Aristide Filiatreault*, porte-parole des libéraux radicaux de Montréal. En 1896, avec Jules Helbronner* et Télesphore Saint-Pierre*, il rédige le quotidien éphémère le Soir, de Montréal, pendant la campagne électorale fédérale qui mène à l’élection de Laurier et des libéraux.

Le travail n’empêchera jamais Desaulniers de poursuivre ses activités littéraires. C’est dans la Revue canadienne qu’il fait ses premières incursions dans le domaine de la poésie, de même que dans le Monde illustré de Montréal (1884, 1885) et les Nouvelles Soirées canadiennes de Québec (1887). En 1886, après la pendaison de Louis Riel*, il se fait remarquer en publiant à Montréal un long poème, l’Absolution avant la bataille, qui souligne l’héroïsme des miliciens montréalais envoyés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en mai 1885. Le texte paraît d’abord dans la Minerve, puis en brochure. En 1893, il défend Fréchette au cours d’une querelle retentissante avec William Chapman*, qui accuse le poète lauréat de plagiat. Il fait paraître des poèmes à Montréal dans le Journal de Françoise, le Passe-Temps, la Revue populaire et la Revue moderne. Il collabore également à la Revue des deux Frances (Paris et Montréal).

Le 29 avril 1898, Desaulniers se joint au groupe de jeunes qui ont fondé l’École littéraire de Montréal. Avec ses amis écrivains Alphonse Beauregard, Germain Beaulieu*, Jean Charbonneau, Hector Demers , Georges-Alma Dumont, Albert Ferland*, Lionel Léveillé et Jules Tremblay, il participe assez activement aux séances de l’école jusqu’en 1910, année où il en devient président (il le demeure du 19 octobre 1910 au 13 octobre 1911). Deux publications de l’école, le recueil intitulé les Soirées du château de Ramezay et la revue le Terroir, parues à Montréal respectivement en 1900 et 1909, renferment une douzaine de ses poèmes. En 1926, après avoir été exclu des Soirées de l’École littéraire de Montréal : proses et vers, collectif publié l’année précédente à Montréal, et en désaccord avec les propos désobligeants qui s’y trouvent au sujet de l’écrivain français Anatole France, il démissionne de façon fracassante.

Desaulniers affiche ses idées progressistes en participant à diverses activités sociales et culturelles, et ce, malgré les conflits avec les autorités religieuses que cela lui occasionne parfois. Le 20 janvier 1899, il devient membre de la loge franc-maçonne L’Émancipation de Montréal ; les noms de quelques membres de cette société secrète seront rendus publics en 1910. En 1902, en compagnie de Godfroy Langlois*, lui aussi franc-maçon, il crée la Ligue de l’enseignement, qui prône ouvertement une réforme scolaire dont plusieurs éléments vont à l’encontre des positions de l’Église catholique. La même année, avec l’avocat Zénon Fontaine, il fonde le théâtre des Nouveautés à Montréal, où l’on joue un répertoire français classique et contemporain de pièces qui ne plaisent pas toujours au clergé.

En 1909, Desaulniers est élu à la présidence du comité de Montréal de l’Alliance française, fonction qu’il occupera jusqu’à sa mort. À ce titre, ainsi qu’à celui de premier vice-président de la Fédération de l’Alliance française aux États-Unis et au Canada (à partir de 1910), il fera venir plus de 200 conférenciers, dont des représentants de la France républicaine et libérale. Inspiré par la fraternité franco-canadienne pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il rendra hommage à sa patrie intellectuelle dans un long poème intitulé Pour la France […], publié à Montréal en 1918. En 1910, il appuie, au nom de l’École littéraire de Montréal, la campagne de Victor Morin en faveur d’une bibliothèque municipale publique et laïque à Montréal. Mgr Paul Bruchési, tout comme l’épiscopat de la province, voit d’un mauvais œil l’expansion d’une telle bibliothèque, où les lectures ne seraient pas surveillées. En 1913, il sévit quand Olivar Asselin, alors président de la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal, invite son ami Desaulniers à réciter quelques poèmes aux fêtes du 24 juin ; il aurait apparemment menacé la société de lui interdire l’usage d’une salle appartenant à l’université Laval si ce dernier faisait partie du programme. Le poète choisit finalement de se retirer.

Desaulniers pratique le droit à Montréal, seul ou en association, au moins à partir de 1897. Il est nommé conseiller du roi en 1903. Au fil des ans, il se fait une spécialité des affaires de presse comme avocat des idées libérales et défenseur des droits de la parole. En 1908, par exemple, il représente Rodolphe Girard – l’auteur de Marie Calumet, roman condamné par l’archevêque de Montréal dès sa parution en 1904 – dans un procès intenté pour diffamation au journal la Vérité, de Québec, procès qu’il gagne le 27 octobre 1911. Le 15 janvier 1923, à l’âge de 59 ans, il est nommé juge à la Cour supérieure pour le district de Montréal. Il le restera jusqu’à la fin de sa vie. Il dirige notamment le procès, en 1928, de la cause type sur l’ouverture des cinémas le dimanche.

En 1930, Desauniers publie à Montréal un volume de luxe et de grand format qu’il intitule les Bois qui chantent. Une cinquantaine de ses pièces en vers, écrites pendant une période de plus de 40 ans, s’y trouvent réunies. Elles ne représentent qu’une partie de sa production, mais en sont tout à fait caractéristiques. Ces quelque 2 500 vers à la fois lyriques et contemplatifs, tournés en alexandrins élégants, sont pénétrés de ses lectures de maîtres français comme Jean-Jacques Rousseau et Alphonse de Lamartine. Ils appartiennent à une autre époque, car ils sont parnassiens par la technique de versification et romantiques par l’inspiration. Bien qu’il détonne un peu, le recueil est bien reçu par la critique québécoise, ainsi que par l’Académie française et l’Alliance française de Paris, qui lui décerne sa médaille d’or. Cette consécration internationale est suivie, en 1932, de l’admission de Desaulniers à la Société royale du Canada. Le gouvernement français l’a nommé officier de l’Instruction publique, ainsi que chevalier, puis officier de la Légion d’honneur. En 1927, la McGill University a reconnu sa contribution à la langue et à la culture françaises par un doctorat honorifique.

Ce poète lyrique, que l’histoire littéraire range quelque part entre un Louis Fréchette grandiloquent et un Nérée Beauchemin intime, appartient sans contredit à la première génération de l’École littéraire de Montréal, celle qui s’intéresse encore à une prosodie classique. Homme de lettres et de droit aux idées libérales, Gonzalve Desaulniers se distingue de ses semblables en s’illustrant dans des formes d’expression aussi disparates que le journalisme, la poésie, la conférence, la plaidoirie et le jugement.

Kenneth Landry

En plus des titres déjà mentionnés, Gonzalve Desaulniers a écrit : « la Chevrette », SRC, Mémoires, 2e sér., 5 (1899), sect. i : 81–86 et Sir Lomer Gouin : sa vie, son œuvre ([Montréal], 1923).

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S33, 5 juill. 1887 ; CE601-S51, 9 janv. 1854.— BAnQ-MCQ, CE403-S11, 24 juin 1863.— Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la littérature et la culture québécoises, Univ. Laval, Arch. du projet DOLQ ; Arch. du projet Histoire de la vie littéraire au Québec.— Le Canada (Montréal), 6 avril 1934.— Le Devoir, 9 avril 1934.— Le Pays (Montréal), 8 juin, 9 août 1913.— La Presse, 13 juill. 1903, 14 oct. 1911.— Le Réveil (Montréal), 9 févr. 1895, 7 janv. 1899.— [É.-J. Auclair], « l’Honorable Juge Desaulniers », SRC, Mémoires, 3e sér., 28 (1934), proc. : x–xii.— Samuel Baillargeon, Littérature canadienne-française (Montréal, 1957).— Germain Beaulieu, Nos immortels (Montréal, 1931), 59–69.— Henri Bernard, la Ligue de l’enseignement : histoire d’une conspiration maçonnique à Montréal (Notre-Dame-des-Neiges [Montréal], 1904), 27–28.— Jean Charbonneau, l’École littéraire de Montréal : ses origines, ses animateurs, ses influences (Montréal, 1935), 161–172.— Dictionary of literary biography (357 vol. parus, Detroit, 1978–    ), 92 (Canadian writers, 1890–1920, W. H. New, édit., 1990) : 82–85.— DOLQ, 2 : 151–153.— L’École littéraire de Montréal : procès-verbaux et correspondance (et autres documents inédits sur l’école), Réginald Hamel, édit. (2 vol., Montréal, 1974).— Guy Frégault, Histoire de la littérature canadienne-française : seconde moitié du xixe siècle (Montréal, 1996), 108–124.— Antonio Huot, le Poison maçonnique (Québec, 1911), 23–25.— A.-J. Lemieux, la Loge L’Émancipation (Montréal, 1910), 21–30.— Roger Le Moine, Deux loges montréalaises du Grand Orient de France (Ottawa, 1991), 85–87, 111–112.— P.-G. Roy, les Juges de la prov. de Québec.— La Vie culturelle à Montréal vers 1900, sous la dir. de Micheline Cambron ([Montréal], 2005).— Paul Villard, Alliance française, comité de Montréal, 1902–1942 : quarante années au service de la pensée française (Montréal, 1941).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Kenneth Landry, « DESAULNIERS, GONZALVE (baptisé Jean-Baptiste-Amédée-Gonzalve) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 13 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/desaulniers_gonzalve_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/desaulniers_gonzalve_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Kenneth Landry
Titre de l'article:   DESAULNIERS, GONZALVE (baptisé Jean-Baptiste-Amédée-Gonzalve)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   13 décembre 2017