DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

b. 17 Oct. 1817 in Maryland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

EN:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

Original title:  I-6765.1

Source: Link

Dougall, John Redpath, journalist, editor, social reformer, and businessman; b. 17 Aug. 1841 in Montreal, eldest child of John Dougall* and Elizabeth Redpath; brother of Lily Dougall*; d. unmarried 18 Sept. 1934 in Westmount, Que.

John Redpath Dougall personified a major trend in Protestant thinking in Quebec. His career as a journalist and proponent of social causes, which lasted more than seven decades, spanned the transition from Victorian evangelical radicalism to early-20th-century pragmatism and the Social Gospel.

Dougall inherited his values from both sides of his family. His father was a leading temperance advocate, political reformer, and anti-Roman Catholic crusader. His mother was the eldest daughter of John Redpath*, a prominent businessman and leading figure in numerous Protestant charitable organizations, including the Montreal Protestant House of Industry and Refuge and the city’s Mechanics’ Institute. Both of Dougall’s parents had originally been members of the Church of Scotland but left it and joined the rigorous Zion Church, where they and their nine children worshipped. The importance of temperance and morality was the hallmark of Dougall’s upbringing and coloured his entire life.

His parents’ marriage also brought lucrative economic ties and social dividends. Born into wealth and privilege, Dougall, who often went by the initials J. R., was raised in a comfortable house called Ivy Green on the slopes of Mount Royal on land that had formed part of the country estate developed by his maternal grandfather into a fashionable Montreal suburb. He attended the elite High School of Montreal, where he received signal honours in literature, and then McGill College, where he obtained a ba in 1860 and an ma in 1867. He retained a connection with McGill as a senior fellow in arts, in which capacity he helped govern Quebec’s most influential educational, and leading secular Protestant, institution. In 1921 it would award him an honorary lld.

After finishing his bachelor’s degree, Dougall joined the staff of the weekly newspaper founded by his father, the Montreal Witness, the first issue of which had been published in 1846. A daily edition of the paper was added in 1860. J. R. reported on the American Civil War, which the Witness covered in great detail, taking a strong abolitionist stance, and he went to Washington to interview Abraham Lincoln at the Executive Mansion (later known as the White House). He travelled to Europe to cover the Franco-German War and the creation of France’s Third Republic. Upon J. R.’s return to Montreal in the spring of 1871, his father decided to start a new publication in New York and left the Witness in his son’s hands. J. R. remained the publisher and editor until 1913, when he sold the daily edition to the Telegraph Publishing Company Limited, which renamed it the Daily Telegraph and Daily Witness. He had control of the weekly version, however, until just before his death. In 1915 the weekly newspaper had a circulation of more than 22,000. About 1862 J. R. had opened a company with his father called John Dougall and Son, which printed the paper and their subsequent publications; it would operate until 1935, the year after Dougall’s death.

The company also owned and printed several other publications in Montreal. These included the second series of the Canadian Messenger, for which J. R. wrote. An evangelical, family-oriented magazine specializing in science, agriculture, and temperance issues, it first appeared in 1866. Renamed the Northern Messenger ten years later, it lasted until about 1935. There was also the New Dominion Monthly, a Canadian cultural review founded by the senior Dougall in 1867, which the company stopped issuing in 1879 owing to debt and competition. World Wide, established by J. R. in 1900, was a weekly reprint of topical editorials from newspapers around the world; it closed around 1937. Founded by J. R.’s nephew Frederick Eugene Dougall, Canadian Pictorial was a glossy magazine celebrating Canada’s landscape and prominent people, published by the family business between 1906 and 1916. It boasted of containing “between one and two thousand square inches of pictures in each issue.”

The Witness, however, was Dougall’s key publication. It was the mouthpiece for an evangelical strain of thought within Canadian Protestantism that advocated morality, propriety, honesty, self-reliance, liberty of thought and expression, and free trade. The Witness prided itself on being popular, affordable (the price for one copy had increased from one cent to five cents by the time of J. R.’s death), and always inclined to take the moral high ground in opposing privilege and vested interests. This stance was entirely consistent with its strong opposition to alcohol, the consumption of which, it was felt, led inevitably to addiction and consequently to the abandonment of the virtues the editors held so dear. Like the Puritans of previous centuries, the Witness disapproved of anything that seemed to smack of immorality; it refused to allow advertisements for theatres, hotels, lotteries, and sensational medicines, which filled the columns of most other papers, even though this decision meant turning away substantial revenue. Indeed, because of his principles, Dougall was eventually obliged to operate the publication at a loss, paying the production expenses and employees’ wages out of his own pocket.

The paper’s anti-Catholic position did not help expand its readership in Quebec. Protestant radicals had always criticized the power of the Catholic Church, but by the second half of the 19th century, with the rise of ultramontanism, their comments had become strident. After confederation many Protestants worried that they would suffer in an overwhelmingly Catholic Quebec, and the editors of the Witness took pains to underscore the dangers. The paper frequently promoted the work of Charles Chiniquy*, a former Catholic priest who had become a virulent opponent of the religion. Dougall, like his father, was not shy about painting Catholicism as the antithesis of virtue, arguing that it inspired intellectual laziness and encouraged people to rely on big church and big government instead of their own mettle. His constant attacks on the church infuriated its leaders, and in 1875 the bishop of Montreal, Ignace Bourget*, banned Catholics from buying or reading the Witness – an action that confirmed the editor’s worst fears even as it fuelled his ire. Towards the end of the century, as the Liberals expanded their influence within French Canada both federally and provincially, Protestant radicals came to find common cause with the party on issues such as church–state relations and free trade.

Aside from his printing and publishing ventures, Dougall was involved in a couple of other businesses. About 1891 he founded the Linotype Company in Montreal. In 1903 he patented a machine known as the Dougall linotype, but it was not a commercial success; the next year he sold the company. From 1897 until his death, he served as a director for the Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada.

Dougall’s well-known views made him a logical choice for president of the Quebec branch of the Dominion Alliance for the Total Suppression of the Liquor Traffic, a national temperance organization aiming to enforce universal Prohibition. This role brought him into contact with the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union and the world of religiously motivated reform known as the Social Gospel movement. Dougall’s own religious convictions and hostility towards corrupt power were translated into a concerted desire to save society’s impoverished masses from the effects of disease, crime, and vice. He denounced purveyors of liquor, notably Montreal’s Joe Beef [Charles McKiernan*], innkeeper and self-styled “Son of the People.” Beef sued the Witness for libel in 1880, but he lost the case.

Dougall had the practical objective of making institutions more efficient and improving the lot of the disadvantaged. In the 1880s he was a member of the Citizens’ League of Montreal, which sought to end the corruption associated with the liquor trade. For many years he was president of the Montreal Young Men’s Christian Association, an organization that would provide education and shelter to generations of young people. He championed the reform of Quebec’s schools, particularly as it was undertaken within the Protestant system early in the 20th century. A survey conducted by the Witness in 1906 pointed to widely perceived fears among Protestants that those in rural areas would be obliged to send their children to Catholic schools if their own system was not improved, and editorials acclaimed the 1907 opening of the School for Teachers at Macdonald College [see Sir William Christopher Macdonald*] in Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, which would revolutionize Protestant teacher training in Quebec.

Perhaps Dougall’s favourite cause was that of juvenile delinquents. As president of the Boys’ Home of Montreal in 1907, he promoted the creation of an institution in Shawbridge (Prévost), north of the city, where delinquent boys could live, receive an education, and learn a trade in a rural setting. He raised over $12,000 for the construction of the Boys’ Farm and Training School, which opened in 1908, and he continued to publicize it in the Witness. Dougall was later honoured when one of the residences was named after him. Generations of social workers and youth leaders owe much of their training to the boys’ farm and its counterparts across the country.

Dougall had advocated the union of Protestant churches as early as 1904, when he was a member of the joint committee on church union. He supported the creation of the United Church in 1925 [see Samuel Dwight Chown; Clarence Dunlop Mackinnon] although he argued that its power promised to be too centralized for his Congregationalist tastes. In later years Dougall was a member of Calvary Church, an offshoot of Zion Church, after the latter relocated to Westmount in the early 20th century.

After World War I, Dougall left Ivy Green, where he had lived for over 70 years, and moved to his nephew Frederick’s house on Belmont Avenue in Westmount. Hale into his nineties, apparently able to chop large quantities of wood at his summer retreat in Métis-sur-Mer, he fell ill early in 1934 and was obliged to surrender control of the Witness to Frederick. Four years later the newspaper, which was running a $10,000 deficit, would cease publication. Dougall died in 1934 a few weeks after his 93rd birthday. He was cremated at Mount Royal Cemetery and his ashes were interred in the family plot. Not surprisingly, newspapers across the country were quick to honour the veteran editor: the Gazette (Montreal) declared that he had been the dean of Montreal’s journalists and heralded him as a “true crusader.”

Roderick MacLeod

LAC, R7457-0-9. Mount Royal Cemetery (Montreal), Records, section L3. Gazette (Montreal), 19 Sept. 1934. Montreal Daily Star, 18 Sept. 1934. Montreal Daily Witness, 1871–1913. Montreal Herald, 18 Sept. 1934. Montreal Witness, 1861–1934. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1898 and 1912). Owen Dawson, My story of the Boys’ Farm at Shawbridge: also, angels I have met ([Montreal], 1952). Dominion almanac (Montreal; annual suppl. to the Montreal Witness). L[ily] Dougall, When I was a little girl ([Edinburgh, 1896]). J. Hamelin et al., La presse québécoise. John Redpath Dougall, m.a., ll.d., doyen of Canadian journalism … ([New York, 1934?]). [Charles McKiernan], Joe Beef of Montreal, the son of the people ([Montreal, 1879]). [Zion Church], Brief annals of Zion Church, Montreal, from 1832 to 10th May, 1871: with lists of office-bearers and members, and reports for 1870 (Montreal, 1871).

General Bibliography

Citations

EN:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dougall_john_redpath_16E.html
Author of Article:   Roderick MacLeod
Title of Article:   DOUGALL, JOHN REDPATH
Publication Name:   EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16
Publication Details:   EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 2021
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   October 17, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

FARRELL, EDWARD – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

né le 25 septembre 1842 à Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  I-6765.1

Provenance : Lien

DOUGALL, JOHN REDPATH, journaliste, rédacteur en chef, réformateur social et homme d’affaires, né le 17 août 1841 à Montréal, aîné des enfants de John Dougall* et d’Elizabeth Redpath ; frère de Lily Dougall* ; décédé célibataire le 18 septembre 1934 à Westmount, Québec.

John Redpath Dougall incarna une forte tendance de la pensée protestante dans la province de Québec. Sa carrière de journaliste et de partisan de causes sociales s’échelonna sur plus de sept décennies, couvrant la transition entre l’époque victorienne caractérisée par le radicalisme évangélique et le début du xxe siècle axé sur le pragmatisme et le mouvement Social Gospel.

Dougall hérita des valeurs des membres des deux côtés de sa famille. Son père était un chef de file en matière de tempérance, un réformateur politique et un militant anticatholique. Sa mère était la fille aînée de John Redpath*, homme d’affaires bien en vue et figure de proue de plusieurs organismes de bienfaisance protestants, notamment la Maison protestante d’industrie et de refuge et l’Institut des artisans de Montréal. À l’origine, les parents de Dougall avaient tous deux appartenu à l’Église d’Écosse, mais ils l’avaient quittée pour adhérer à la stricte église Zion, où ils pratiquaient leurs dévotions avec leurs neuf enfants. L’importance accordée à la tempérance et au sens moral marqua l’éducation de Dougall et influença sa vie entière.

Le mariage des parents de Dougall avait également donné lieu à des liens économiques lucratifs et à des avantages sociaux. Né dans la richesse et les privilèges, Dougall, qui utilisait souvent les initiales J. R., grandit dans une maison confortable appelée Ivy Green sur les pentes du mont Royal. Le terrain qu’elle occupait avait fait partie d’un domaine rural transformé par son grand-père maternel en une banlieue chic de Montréal. Dougall fréquenta la prestigieuse High School of Montreal, où il se distingua en littérature, puis le McGill College, qui lui décerna une licence ès arts en 1860 et une maîtrise ès arts en 1867. Il conserva un lien avec le collège comme associé principal en arts. À ce titre, il aida à administrer l’établissement d’enseignement protestant laïque le plus influent de la province de Québec. En 1921, il y recevrait un doctorat honorifique en droit.

Depuis l’obtention de sa licence, Dougall travaillait pour l’hebdomadaire fondé par son père, le Montreal Witness, dont le premier numéro avait paru en 1846. Une édition quotidienne du journal vit le jour en 1860. J. R. réalisa des reportages sur la guerre de Sécession, que le Montreal Witness relata dans les moindres détails en adoptant une position nettement abolitionniste, et il se rendit à Washington pour interviewer Abraham Lincoln au palais présidentiel (connu plus tard sous le nom de Maison-Blanche). Il voyagea en Europe pour couvrir la guerre franco-allemande et la création de la troisième République française. Quand Dougall revint à Montréal, au printemps de 1871, son père décida de lancer une nouvelle publication à New York et lui confia le Montreal Witness. J. R. en demeura l’éditeur et le rédacteur en chef jusqu’en 1913. Cette année-là, il vendit l’édition quotidienne à la Telegraph Publishing Company Limited, qui la renomma Daily Telegraph and Daily Witness. Il garda toutefois la direction de l’édition hebdomadaire presque jusqu’à sa mort. En 1915, l’hebdomadaire tirait à plus de 22 000 exemplaires. Vers 1862, Dougall avait fondé avec son père la John Dougall and Son, qui imprima le périodique et leurs publications ultérieures ; la société cessa d’exister en 1935, un an après le décès de Dougall.

L’entreprise possédait et imprimait également plusieurs autres périodiques à Montréal, notamment la deuxième série du Canadian Messenger, pour lequel Dougall écrivait des articles. Cette revue évangélique destinée à la famille, dont le premier numéro parut en 1866, se spécialisait dans des thèmes comme la science, l’agriculture et la tempérance. Rebaptisée le Northern Messenger dix ans plus tard, elle dura jusqu’en 1935. Il y avait aussi le New Dominion Monthly, revue culturelle canadienne fondée par Dougall père en 1867, que la compagnie cessa de publier en 1879 pour cause de dettes et de concurrence. Le World Wide, hebdomadaire lancé par J. R. Dougall en 1900, reprenait des éditoriaux d’actualité de journaux du monde entier ; sa parution s’arrêta vers 1937. Créée par le neveu de J. R. Dougall, Frederick Eugene Dougall, la revue de luxe Canadian Pictorial mettait en vedette des paysages et des personnalités du Canada ; l’entreprise familiale la publia de 1906 à 1916. On s’y flattait de présenter « entre mille et deux mille pouces carrés d’illustrations dans chaque numéro ».

La publication phare de Dougall resta néanmoins le Montreal Witness, porte-parole d’un courant de pensée évangélique au sein du protestantisme canadien, qui prônait le sens moral, la bienséance, l’honnêteté, l’autonomie, la liberté de pensée et d’expression, et le libre-échange. Le Montreal Witness s’enorgueillissait de sa popularité et de son prix abordable (le prix d’un numéro passa d’un à cinq cents durant la vie de J. R. Dougall), et avait toujours tendance à afficher une position moralement élevée en se prononçant contre les privilèges et les droits acquis. Cette attitude concordait parfaitement avec sa forte opposition à l’alcool, dont la consommation, croyait-on, menait inévitablement à la dépendance et, par conséquent, à l’abandon des vertus si chères à sa direction. À l’instar des puritains des siècles précédents, le Montreal Witness désapprouvait tout ce qui semblait avoir un relent d’immoralité ; il refusait de diffuser de la publicité pour les théâtres, les hôtels, les loteries et les médicaments miracles, qui remplissait les pages de la plupart des autres journaux, même si cette décision signifiait la perte de revenus substantiels. En effet, en raison de ses principes, Dougall en vint à diriger la publication à perte, et payait de sa poche les dépenses de production et les salaires des employés.

La position anticatholique du Montreal Witness nuisit à l’augmentation de son lectorat au Québec. Les protestants radicaux avaient toujours critiqué le pouvoir de l’Église catholique, mais avec l’essor de l’ultramontanisme, dans la seconde moitié du xixe siècle, leurs commentaires avaient particulièrement gagné en sévérité. Après la Confédération, de nombreux protestants craignirent de pâtir dans une province de Québec à forte majorité catholique, et les rédacteurs du Montreal Witness s’efforcèrent de souligner les dangers de cette situation. La revue louangeait fréquemment les travaux de Charles Chiniquy*, ancien prêtre catholique devenu un virulent adversaire de la religion. À l’instar de son père, Dougall n’hésitait pas à dépeindre le catholicisme comme l’antithèse de la vertu ; selon lui, il inspirait la paresse intellectuelle, et encourageait les gens à compter sur la puissance de l’Église et du gouvernement plutôt que sur leur propre détermination. Ses attaques constantes contre l’Église exaspéraient ses autorités et, en 1875, l’évêque de Montréal, Ignace Bourget*, avait interdit aux catholiques d’acheter ou de lire le Montreal Witness, geste qui confirmait les pires appréhensions du rédacteur en chef tout en attisant sa colère. Vers la fin du siècle, à mesure que les libéraux étendaient leur influence au sein du Canada français sur les scènes fédérale et provinciale, les protestants radicaux en vinrent à faire cause commune avec le parti sur des questions telles que les relations entre l’Église et l’État, ainsi que le libre-échange.

Outre l’imprimerie et l’édition, Dougall s’engagea dans quelques autres entreprises. Vers 1891, il fonda à Montréal la Linotype Company. En 1903, il inventa une machine connue sous le nom de linotype Dougall qui n’obtint pas de succès commercial ; l’année suivante, il vendit la société. De 1897 jusqu’à sa mort, il siégea au conseil d’administration de la Compagnie canadienne d’assurance sur la vie, dite du Soleil.

Les opinions notoires de Dougall firent de lui un candidat tout désigné, au Québec, pour la présidence de la section provinciale de la Dominion Alliance for the Total Suppression of the Liquor Traffic, organisme national de tempérance ayant pour but d’imposer la prohibition universelle. Ce rôle le mit en contact avec la Woman’s Christian Temperance Union et le mouvement de réforme religieuse Social Gospel. Les convictions religieuses personnelles de Dougall et son hostilité envers la corruption du pouvoir se concrétisèrent en un désir de sauver la population pauvre des effets de la maladie, du crime et du vice. Il dénonça les fournisseurs de boissons alcooliques, notamment l’aubergiste de Montréal surnommé Joe Beef [Charles McKiernan*], qui se décrivait lui-même comme le « fils du peuple ». Joe Beef poursuivit le Montreal Witness pour diffamation en 1880, mais perdit sa cause.

Dougall s’était fixé l’objectif pratique de rendre les institutions plus efficaces et d’améliorer le sort des défavorisés. Dans les années 1880, il appartenait à la Citizens’ League of Montreal, qui tentait de mettre fin à la corruption liée à la vente d’alcool. Pendant de nombreuses années, il assura la présidence de la Young Men’s Christian Association de Montréal, organisme qui enseignerait et fournirait de l’hébergement à plusieurs générations de jeunes hommes. Il se fit le défenseur de la réforme des écoles de la province de Québec, en particulier dans le réseau protestant à l’aube du xxe siècle. En 1906, le Montreal Witness mena une enquête qui fit ressortir les craintes largement ressenties par les protestants, selon lesquelles leurs coreligionnaires des régions rurales devraient envoyer leurs enfants dans des écoles catholiques si leur propre réseau ne connaissait pas d’amélioration. En 1907, des éditoriaux acclamèrent l’inauguration de la School for Teachers au Macdonald College [V. sir William Christopher Macdonald*], à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, qui révolutionnerait la formation des instituteurs protestants dans la province.

La cause favorite de Dougall fut peut-être celle de la délinquance juvénile. À titre de président du Boys’ Home of Montreal en 1907, il promut la création d’un établissement à Shawbridge, au nord de la ville, où les garçons délinquants pouvaient vivre, recevoir une éducation et apprendre un métier dans un milieu rural. Il recueillit plus de 12 000 $ pour la construction de la Boys’ Farm and Training School, qui ouvrit ses portes en 1908, et continua d’en faire la publicité dans le Montreal Witness. Dougall reçut ultérieurement une marque de reconnaissance quand on nomma l’une des résidences en son honneur. Des générations de travailleurs sociaux et de responsables d’organisations de jeunesse doivent une grande partie de leur formation à cette ferme et à d’autres lieux semblables partout au pays.

Dougall avait défendu le regroupement des églises protestantes dès 1904, en qualité de membre du comité mixte sur l’unification des Églises. Il appuya la création de l’Église unie en 1925 [V. Samuel Dwight Chown ; Clarence Dunlop Mackinnon], même s’il soutenait que son pouvoir deviendrait trop centralisé pour ses valeurs congrégationalistes. Dougall adhérerait à l’église Calvary, ramification de l’église Zion, après sa relocalisation à Westmount au début du xxe siècle.

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, John Redpath Dougall quitta Ivy Green, où il vivait depuis plus de 70 ans, et s’installa chez son neveu Frederick Eugene dans l’avenue Belmont, à Westmount. Nonagénaire en santé, apparemment capable de couper de grandes quantités de bois à sa résidence d’été de Métis-sur-Mer, il tomba malade en 1934 et dut céder la direction du Montreal Witness à Frederick Eugene. Quatre ans plus tard, le journal, grevé d’un déficit de 10 000 $, disparaîtrait. Dougall mourut en 1934, quelques semaines après son quatre-vingt-treizième anniversaire. On incinéra sa dépouille au cimetière Mont-Royal, et on enterra ses cendres dans le lot familial. Bien évidemment, des journaux de tout le pays s’empressèrent de rendre hommage au rédacteur en chef chevronné : la Gazette de Montréal le déclara doyen des journalistes de la ville et le qualifia de « véritable militant ».

Roderick MacLeod

BAC, R7457-0-9.— Cimetière Mont Royal (Montréal), Registres, section L3.— Gazette (Montréal), 19 sept. 1934.— Montreal Daily Star, 18 sept. 1934.— Montreal Daily Witness, 1871–1913.— Montreal Herald, 18 sept. 1934.— Montreal Witness, 1861–1934.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1898 et 1912).— Owen Dawson, My story of the Boys’ Farm at Shawbridge : also, angels I have met ([Montréal], 1952).— Dominion almanac (Montréal ; suppl. annuel du Montreal Witness).— L[ily] Dougall, When I was a little girl ([Édimbourg, 1896]).— [Église Zion], Brief annals of Zion Church, Montreal, from 1832 to 10th May, 1871 : with lists of office-bearers and members, and reports for 1870 (Montréal, 1871).— J. Hamelin et al., la Presse québécoise.— John Redpath Dougall, m.a., ll.d., doyen of Canadian journalism […] ([New York, 1934 ?]).— [Charles McKiernan], Joe Beef of Montreal, the son of the people ([Montréal, 1879]).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Roderick MacLeod, « DOUGALL, JOHN REDPATH », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 sept. 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dougall_john_redpath_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dougall_john_redpath_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Roderick MacLeod
Titre de l'article:    DOUGALL, JOHN REDPATH
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2021
Année de la révision:    2021
Date de consultation:    25 septembre 2021