DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:    L' espace de Louis Goulet (Paperback, 1976) - First Nations

Source: Link

GOULET, LOUIS, freighter, scout, interpreter, cowboy, manual labourer, boxer, and storyteller; b. 10 Oct. 1859 in Rivière aux Gratias (Morris), about 30 miles from St Norbert (Man.), son of Moïse Goulet and Marie Beauchamp, both Métis; m. 13 April 1888 Caroline Rowand (d. 1922), the widow of Peter Ballendine, in the parish of St Vital, in Battleford (Sask.); they had no children; d. 26 Sept. 1936 in Portage la Prairie, Man.

Like many of his Métis compatriots, Louis Goulet was adventurous and worked at a number of trades in areas of Canada that would become Manitoba, Alberta, and Saskatchewan, as well as in the American northwest. A handsome and powerfully built man and a famous boxer, he stood about six feet two inches tall. Around 1930 he would tell the story of his life to fellow Métis Guillaume Charette (who was engaged in preserving the heritage of his people) by “[o]rnamenting his already limpid speech with turns of phrase gleaned from various Indian expressions.” This outstanding storyteller’s memoirs would be published by Émile Pelletier in Winnipeg in 1976, under the title L’espace de Louis Goulet.

Before he was ten years old, Louis accompanied his father, who was a merchant, on his many journeys to St Paul, Minn., Wood Mountain (Sask.), and St Albert (Alta), near Fort Edmonton (Edmonton), or Fort Layusse, as he called it. Between these travels and the winter season he worked as a farmhand for the curé of St Norbert, Noël-Joseph Ritchot*. He got practical instruction from his father (in hunting, fishing, trading, traditional geography, and riding and training horses), while his mother taught him such values as honesty, generosity, independence, and respect for the elders. From 1870 to 1875 he attended intermittently the school run by the Grey Nuns (the popular name for the Sisters of Charity of the Hôpital Général of Montreal) in St Norbert, but he got his education mainly in the evening when the elders would tell him about prairie life and legends. He spoke Michif French, Cree, Saulteaux (Ojibwa), other aboriginal languages, and English. At a very early age, he showed that he had a quick wit and an independent and enterprising character.

Around the mid 1870s and during the 1880s, Goulet travelled through what would become Saskatchewan and Montana. He acted as a guide and interpreter for the North-West Mounted Police at Fort Walsh (Sask.) and for the American army at the Missouri River. He traded with the Dakotas and Assiniboins for important merchants such as Antoine Gingras and Jean-Louis Légaré*, and also with the Métis communities of Judith Basin, near Lewistown (Mont.). In 1879 Goulet and Antoine, named Caillou, Morin guided Superintendent James Morrow Walsh* of the NWMP in his negotiations with Sitting Bull [Ta-tanka I-yotank*] and his band, who had taken refuge in the Wood Mountain region late in 1876; the goal was to convince them that they should return to the United States.

Goulet was too young to have taken part in the first Métis resistance at Red River (Man.) in 1869–70 [see Louis Riel*], but he was deeply involved in the second one, which occurred in 1885. He attended one of the first Métis meetings held by Gabriel Dumont* in Batoche (Sask.) in 1884, but he stayed out of the ensuing developments. He would later say that in his youth he had had disagreements with Riel about the sale of alcohol to aboriginal peoples, but that he nevertheless had a great deal of respect for him. In the spring of 1885 Goulet was in the neighbourhood of Fort Pitt and Frog Lake (Alta). He arrived at the camp of Big Bear Mistahimaskwa*] in early April and was present at the incident during which nine whites were killed [see Léon-Adélard Fafard*]. Goulet and his compatriots went to the assistance of two women who lost their husbands on this occasion, Theresa Delaney and Theresa Mary Gowanlock Johnson*]. In the eyes of the Canadian authorities, the relations and dealings of Goulet and his companions with the Cree in this affair incriminated them. They were arrested and put in prison. The generosity they had shown to the two women probably earned them the court’s favourable consideration.

From 1886 to 1892 Goulet worked at transporting goods (by trains of Red River carts drawn by oxen) between Battleford and Prince Albert and farther south, in the Swift Current area. He then went on to Lethbridge (Alta), where he worked as a navvy on a railway. It was at this time that he became aware of the progressive blindness that would force him into early retirement around 1900. It was at this time as well that he abandoned his adventurous life and was reconciled with the Roman Catholic Church (he had probably lapsed in his religious duties in the 1880s) after a meeting with Father Albert Lacombe*, an Oblate of Mary Immaculate who was a famous figure in the Canadian west. On 1 Oct. 1900 he was admitted to the Home for Incurables in Portage la Prairie. He spent most of his life thereafter in this establishment, leaving it once a year to return for a while to his family at Rat River (St Pierre Jolys).

With his keen imagination and sense of Métis identity and culture, Louis Goulet left a priceless account of the way of life and values of the Métis of his time. Guillaume Charette termed him “a very handsome specimen of a man whose qualities of heart were as impressive as his still-legendary physique,” and “one of the most fascinating men of the Old West.” Émile Pelletier, who published the accounts taken down by Charette, added: “L’espace de Louis Goulet is more than a record of Métis folklore or culture, it is [the] story [of] a man and an important period in the life of a nation.”


Diane Paulette Payment

The main source of information about Louis Goulet is his memoirs, which he dictated to Guillaume Charette around 1930. Their transcription, by Charette, can be found at AM, MG 9, A6 and the memoirs have also been published: Guillaume Charette, Vanishing spaces: (memoirs of a prairie Métis), trans. Ray Ellenwood (Winnipeg, 1980). Several works mention Goulet’s name and activities, in particular the following: W. B. Cameron, Blood red the sun (4th ed., Calgary, 1950); S. A. Carter, “The exploitation and narration of the captivity of Theresa Delaney and Theresa Gowanlock, 1885,” in Making western Canada: essays on European colonization and settlement, ed. Catherine Cavanaugh and Jeremy Mouat (Toronto, 1996), 31–61; J. F. Dion, My tribe, the Crees, ed. H. A. Dempsey (Calgary, 1979); T. [M. Johnson] Gowanlock and Theresa Delaney, Two months in the camp of Big Bear: the life and adventures of Theresa Gowanlock and Theresa Delaney (Parkdale [Toronto], Ont., 1885); and D. [W.] Light, Footprints in the dust (North Battleford, Sask., 1987).

Goulet’s death certificate is at Man., Dept. of Healthy Living, Seniors and Consumer Affaires, Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), no.1936-06-036028, his baptismal certificate is at Arch. Paroissiales, Saint-Norbert, Man., RBMS, 10 oct. 1859, and his marriage certificate is at Arch. Paroissiales, Saint-Vital (Battleford, Sask.), RBMS, 13 avril 1888.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Diane Paulette Payment, “GOULET, LOUIS,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed August 28, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/goulet_louis_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/goulet_louis_16E.html
Author of Article: Diane Paulette Payment
Title of Article: GOULET, LOUIS
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2013
Year of revision: 2013
Access Date: August 28, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :    L' espace de Louis Goulet (Paperback, 1976) - First Nations

Provenance : Lien

GOULET, LOUIS, fréteur, éclaireur, interprète, cow-boy, terrassier, boxeur et raconteur, né le 10 octobre 1859 à la rivière aux Gratias (Morris), à une trentaine de milles de Saint-Norbert (Manitoba), fils de Moïse Goulet et de Marie Beauchamp, tous deux Métis ; le 13 avril 1888, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Vital de Battleford (Saskatchewan) Caroline Rowand (décédée en 1922), veuve de Peter Ballendine, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 26 septembre 1936 à Portage-la-Prairie, Manitoba.

Animé d’un esprit d’aventure comme beaucoup de ses compatriotes métis, Louis Goulet exerce divers métiers dans les régions du Canada qui deviendront le Manitoba, l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan et dans le Nord-Ouest américain. Bel homme musclé et boxeur de renommée, il mesure environ six pieds deux pouces. Vers 1930, il relatera sa vie à Guillaume Charette, lui-même Métis et engagé dans la conservation du patrimoine de son peuple, « en ornant son parler déjà limpide de tournures glanées à même différents idiomes indiens » ; les mémoires de ce raconteur par excellence seront publiés par Émile Pelletier en 1976, à Winnipeg, sous le titre l’Espace de Louis Goulet.

Avant l’âge de dix ans, Louis accompagne son père, qui est commerçant, dans ses nombreux voyages à St Paul, dans le Minnesota, à Montagne de Bois (Wood Mountain, Saskatchewan) et à Saint-Albert (Alberta), près du fort Edmonton (Edmonton) ou fort Layusse, selon son expression. Entre les voyages et les hivernements, il travaille comme garçon de ferme pour le curé de Saint-Norbert, Noël-Joseph Ritchot*. Il reçoit une formation pratique de son père (chasse, pêche, commerce, géographie traditionnelle, façon de monter et de dresser les chevaux), tandis que sa mère lui transmet des valeurs comme l’honnêteté, la générosité, l’indépendance et le respect des anciens. De 1870 à 1875, il fréquente par intervalles l’école des sœurs grises (désignation populaire des Sœurs de la Charité de l’Hôpital Général de Montréal) de Saint-Norbert ; son éducation se fait cependant surtout pendant les soirées où les aînés lui racontent la vie et les légendes des Prairies. Il parle le métchif-français, le cri, le sauteux (ojibway), ainsi que d’autres langues autochtones et l’anglais. Très jeune, il fait preuve d’un esprit vif, d’un caractère indépendant et entreprenant.

Vers le milieu des années 1870 et durant les années 1880, Goulet voyage dans les territoires qui deviendront la Saskatchewan et le Montana. Il agit comme guide et interprète pour la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest à fort Walsh (Fort Walsh, Saskatchewan) et pour l’armée américaine à la rivière Missouri. Il fait la traite avec les Dakotas et les Assiniboines pour le compte d’importants commerçants, comme Antoine Gingras et Jean-Louis Légaré*, et aussi avec les communautés métisses du bassin Judith, près de Lewistown (dans le Montana). En 1879, Goulet et Antoine, dit Caillou, Morin assistent James Morrow Walsh*, surintendant de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, dans ses négociations avec Sitting Bull [Ta-tanka I-yotank*] et sa bande – qui se sont réfugiés dans la région de Montagne de Bois à la fin de l'année 1876 – dans le but de les convaincre de retourner aux États-Unis.

Trop jeune pour avoir été personnellement associé, en 1869–1870, à la première résistance des Métis à la Rivière-Rouge (Manitoba) [V. Louis Riel*], Goulet est cependant intimement impliqué dans la deuxième, qui a lieu en 1885. Il assiste à une des premières assemblées des Métis, tenue à Batoche (Saskatchewan) en 1884 par Gabriel Dumont*, mais se tient à l’écart des démarches qui s’ensuivent. Plus tard, il dira qu’il avait eu dans sa jeunesse des conflits avec Riel, au sujet de la vente d’alcool aux peuples autochtones, mais qu’il n’en avait pas moins beaucoup de respect pour lui. Au printemps de 1885, il se retrouve dans la région du fort Pitt (Fort Pitt) et du lac La Grenouille (lac Frog, Alberta). Goulet arrive au camp de Gros Ours [Mistahimaskwa*] au début d’avril et assiste à l’événement au cours duquel neuf Blancs trouvent la mort [V. Léon-Adélard Fafard*]. Goulet et ses compatriotes viennent au secours de deux femmes qui se sont ainsi retrouvées veuves, Mmes Theresa Delaney et Theresa Mary Gowanlock Johnson*]. Aux yeux des autorités canadiennes, les relations et les échanges qu’a eus Goulet avec les Cris au cours de cette affaire le compromettent, ainsi que ses compagnons. Ils sont arrêtés et incarcérés ; la générosité dont ils ont fait preuve à l’égard des deux dames leur vaut probablement la faveur de la cour.

Entre 1886 et 1892, Goulet travaille au « frétage » de marchandises (ou transport au moyen de trains de charrettes tirées par des bœufs) entre Battleford et Prince Albert et plus au sud, dans la région de Swift Current. Ensuite, il se dirige vers Lethbridge (Alberta), où il travaille comme terrassier ferroviaire. C’est à ce moment qu’il prend connaissance de la cécité qui l’envahit et qui le forcera à une retraite prématurée vers 1900. C’est alors, également, qu’il abandonne sa vie d’aventurier et se réconcilie avec l’Église catholique (il ne pratiquait plus sa religion depuis probablement les années 1880) après une rencontre avec le père oblat de Marie-Immaculée Albert Lacombe*, illustre dans l’Ouest canadien. Le 1er octobre 1900, il est admis au Home for Incurables de Portage-la-Prairie. Il passe ensuite le plus clair de sa vie dans cet établissement, le quittant une fois par année pour passer quelque temps avec sa famille à la Rivière-aux-Rats (Saint-Pierre-Jolys).

Homme doué d’une vive imagination et conscient de son identité et de sa culture métisses, Louis Goulet a laissé un témoignage incomparable sur le mode de vie et les valeurs des Métis de son époque. Selon Guillaume Charette, il « était un très beau type d’homme dont les qualités du cœur égalaient celles d’un physique resté légendaire » et « un des hommes les plus intéressants de l’Ouest d’autrefois ». L’éditeur des propos recueillis par Charette, Émile Pelletier, ajoute : « “L’Espace de Louis Goulet”, c’est plus qu’un cahier de folklore ou de culture métisse, c’est l’histoire d’un homme et d’une époque importante de la vie d’une nation. »

Diane Paulette Payment

Les mémoires de Louis Goulet, qu’il a dictés à Guillaume Charette vers 1930, constituent la source principale d’information sur le personnage. Leur transcription, par Charette, se trouve aux AM, MG 9, A6 et a donné lieu à une publication : Guillaume Charette, l’Espace de Louis Goulet (Winnipeg, 1976). Plusieurs ouvrages mentionnent le nom et les activités de Goulet, en particulier les suivants : W. B. Cameron, Blood red the sun (4e éd., Calgary, 1950) ; S. A. Carter, « The exploitation and narration of the captivity of Theresa Delaney and Theresa Gowanlock, 1885 », dans Making western Canada : essays on European colonization and settlement, Catherine Cavanaugh et Jeremy Mouat, édit. (Toronto, 1996), 31–61 ; J. F. Dion, My tribe, the Crees, H. A. Dempsey, édit. (Calgary, 1979) ; T. [M. Johnson] Gowanlock et Theresa Delaney, Two months in the camp of Big Bear : the life and adventures of Theresa Gowanlock and Theresa Delaney (Parkdale, Ontario, 1885) ; et D. [W.] Light, Footprints in the dust (North Battleford, Saskatchewan, 1987).

Le certificat de décès de Goulet se trouve à Manitoba, Ministère de la Vie saine, des Aînés et de la Consommation, Consommation et Corporations, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), no 1936-06-036028, son acte de baptême aux Arch. paroissiales, Saint-Norbert, Manitoba, RBMS, 10 oct. 1859, et son acte de mariage aux Arch. paroissiales, Saint-Vital (Battleford, Saskatchewan), RBMS, 13 avril 1888.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Diane Paulette Payment, « GOULET, LOUIS », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 déc. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/goulet_louis_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/goulet_louis_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Diane Paulette Payment
Titre de l'article:   GOULET, LOUIS
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2013
Année de la révision:   2013
Date de consultation:   19 décembre 2014