DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LÉGARÉ, JOSEPH – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. at Quebec 21 June 1855

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Henderson, Julia WiLlmotHe (Henshaw) (named at birth Julia Willmotte, her middle name is often spelled Wilmotte, and in later life she wrote it as Willmothe; also known as Julian Durham and G’wan), journalist, novelist, mountaineer, botanist, photographer, and lecturer; b. 8 Aug. 1868 in Durham, England, seventh daughter of William Henderson and Lucy Durham; m. 15 June 1887 Charles Grant Henshaw (d. 1927) in Montreal, and they had one daughter; d. 19 Nov. 1937 in Vancouver.

Although Julia Henderson would live most of her adult life in western Canada, she grew up in Durham, England, probably in comfortable circumstances. By 1871 her father, a prosperous carpet manufacturer, employed over 500 workers in the business he owned with his brother. Julia’s parents had eight children and almost as many servants; she was educated by governesses and tutors, and sometime during her youth she studied in France and Germany. Like many other 19th-century women intrigued by science, she was influenced by her father. A keen outdoorsman, he would be the author of a popular book on angling, and he spent much time with Julia, his youngest daughter, who developed an early interest in nature and open-air adventure, including mountain climbing. She also began to write at a young age, and is said to have contributed to the Girl’s Own Paper (London).

By 1881, for unknown reasons, Julia was no longer at home with her parents. Aged 12, she lived in Durham with her sister Lucy and her brother-in-law, John George Norton, a clergyman. She likely moved with them to Montreal when Norton accepted the position of rector at Christ Church Cathedral in 1884.

In 1887 Julia married investment broker Charles Grant Henshaw. According to the Canadian Magazine she continued to write, and published articles in the Montreal Daily Star, although none has come to light. Three years later the couple and their daughter, Doris, took the train to British Columbia and settled in Vancouver. The west opened up new vistas for Julia. She found new subjects and markets for her articles while her husband worked as a commission merchant and served as a jp. The Henshaws shared a sense of adventure and in British Columbia Julia was able to indulge her interests in botany, photography, and the exploration of uncharted territory, first in the Rocky Mountains and later by mapping part of the interior of Vancouver Island. Highly energetic, she sought to recreate the social and cultural milieu she had known in England; a society hostess, she was among the founders of the Vancouver Woman’s Musical Club, the Georgian Club (honorary treasurer, 1911–12), and the Alpine Club of Canada (honorary secretary, 1910–12, 1914–20). She was active in the Vancouver branch of the Women’s Canadian Club, in which she served as vice-president about 1911; the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire [see Margaret Smith Polson*], of which she was national vice-president in 1916; and the Canadian Society of Authors, of which she was vice-president of the provincial section in 1924.

In 1894 Henshaw began to write for the Province (Victoria). After the paper became a daily in March 1898 and was moved to Vancouver she was its book-review editor and theatre critic under the pen name Julian Durham, which she used for what she considered her serious work. From 1900 to 1910 she edited the Sunday page of the Vancouver Daily News-Advertiser, and as G’wan, the pseudonym she reserved for “women’s work,” she was the paper’s social editor. After the establishment of the Vancouver Sun in 1912, she edited its book page and wrote the “Note book” column; she contributed until her death.

As Julian Durham, Henshaw published two articles in the Canadian Magazine: “Vancouver, a twelve year old city” in 1898, and “The queen city of British Columbia” the following year. Her first novel, Hypnotized? or, The experiment of Sir Hugh Galbraith: a romance, written under the same pen name, also appeared in Toronto in 1898. She was British Columbia’s first female novelist. After 1900, perhaps because of the success of her novel, she began to issue her works under her married name. Why not, sweetheart? (Toronto, 1901), a novel set in the southern part of the province, appeared when she was 32 years old. The book, which the Literary history of Canada describes as an “extravagant melodrama,” includes her observations on the climate, geography, flora, and fauna and depicts her personal experience with the land and the people. It reflects the prevalent belief in the “unlimited possibilities of the great Canadian West … her inexhaustible wealth, and the dauntless energy of her settlers that strikes the keynote of their success.”

Henshaw’s ventures into the Rocky Mountains and her interest in photography and botany resulted in the publication of several guides on plants. Like the publications of Catharine Parr Traill [Strickland*], an earlier British immigrant, her books were based on her field experience. Henshaw’s Mountain wild flowers of Canada: a simple guide to the names and descriptions of the flowers that bloom above the clouds (Toronto, 1906) elicited some resentment from her colleague Mary Townsend Schäffer [Sharpless]. Henshaw had learned the photographic techniques of Mary and her husband, Charles, both Rocky Mountain explorers and naturalists, and benefited from their studies. By publishing before them, she pre-empted the attention their work might have received. Her book, brought out in the United States as Mountain wild flowers of America … (Boston, 1906), and her subsequent volume, Wild flowers of the North American mountains (New York, 1915), were the first North American guides to alpine plants. They were innovative in the use of photographs rather than lithographs, and the contents were arranged according to colour of the blossoms rather than in taxonomic order (used for many plant guides), or, like Traill’s Canadian wildflowers (Montreal, 1868), according to the seasons. In addition, Henshaw published several articles on mountain vegetation in the Canadian Alpine Journal (Calgary), starting with its first issue in 1907. Throughout the early 1900s she wrote on alpine flowers, gardens, travel in western Canada, mountaineering, and other outdoor recreations for the Canadian Magazine and many other Canadian, American, and British periodicals; her articles were often accompanied by photographs, some of which were probably her own.

During the First World War, while her husband worked as a recruiting officer in Vancouver, Henshaw, an honorary captain in the British Red Cross Society, visited the front to ascertain the non-medical needs of Canadian patients and medical personnel and then gave lectures across Canada, raising funds to provide comforts for the wounded. Later she drove an ambulance in France and acted as a director of the Red Cross there. For her services she was awarded the Croix de Guerre by the French government. After the war she returned home to resume her exploring, writing, and lecturing. She had been elected a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society in 1913, and in 1920, as a delegate of the Alpine Club of Canada, she attended the international Alpine Congress in Monaco, where she delivered several slide-illustrated presentations on the Rockies. These were well received and she was made an officer in the country’s Order of St Charles. A popular speaker, she gave a talk about the Columbia River to the Victoria League in London in 1924; the following year she addressed the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Scottish Geographic Society on Canada’s national parks. She was at that time a director of the Canadian National Parks Association. Henshaw Creek on Vancouver Island was named for her. These and other honours were testimony to her accomplishments.

Julia Henshaw was writing up to the time of her death in 1937; an uncashed cheque from the Sun Publishing Company was among her effects. Her estate, valued at just over $6,047, was inherited by her daughter. Energetic and determined, she left another legacy in the number and variety of her books and articles.

Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S63, 15 June 1887. BCA, GR-1415, file 23316; GR-2951, no.1937-09-536536. City of Vancouver Arch., Add. mss 54 (J. S. Matthews coll.), topical files, Henshaw, Charles [and] Julia. Durham County Council, Register Office (Bishop Auckland, Eng.), Reg. of births, Saint Nicholas, 8 Aug. 1868. National Arch. (G.B.), RG 10, piece 4966, f.12, pp.17–18; RG 11, piece 4961, f.19, p.31. Windermere Valley Museum and Arch. (Invermere, B.C.), A314, A315 (Julia Henshaw photographs). New York Times, 21 Nov. 1937. Vancouver Daily Province, 19 Nov. 1937. M. G. Ainley, “Last in the field? Canadian women natural scientists, 1815–1965,” in Despite the odds: essays on Canadian women and science, ed. M. G. Ainley (Montreal, 1990), 25–62. B. M., “Canadian celebrities: no.XXX, Julia W. Henshaw,” Canadian Magazine, 18 (November 1901–April 1902): 220–21. J. S. Beck, No ordinary woman: the story of Mary Schäffer Warren (Calgary, 2001). Canadian annual rev., 1919, 1927. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). Canadian who’s who, 1936/37. Joseph and Nesta Dunn Ewan, Biographical dictionary of Rocky Mountain naturalists: a guide to the writings and collections of botanists, zoologists, geologists, artists, and photographers, 1682–1932 (Utrecht, Netherlands, 1981). “In memoriam: Julia W. Henshaw, F.R.G.S., 1869–1937,” Canadian Alpine Journal ([Banff, Alta]), 25 (1937): 128–31. Marjory Lang and Linda Hale, “Women of The World and other dailies: the lives and times of Vancouver newspaperwomen in the first quarter of the twentieth century,” BC Studies (Vancouver), no.85 (spring 1990): 3–23. Literary History of Canada: Canadian literature in English, ed. C. F. Flinck et al. (2nd ed., 4v., Toronto, 1976–90), 1: 314. Rosemary Neering, Wild west women: travellers, adventurers and rebels (Vancouver, 2000). E. O. S. Scholefield and F. W. Howay, British Columbia from the earliest times to the present (4v., Vancouver, 1914). Cyndi Smith, Off the beaten track: women adventurers and mountaineers in western Canada (Jasper, Alta, 1989). Who’s who in Canada, 1923/24. Who’s who in western Canada … (Vancouver), 1911. Who was who among North American authors, 1921–1939 (2v., Detroit, 1976).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley, “HENDERSON, JULIA WILLMOTHE (Henshaw),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 21, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/henderson_julia_willmothe_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/henderson_julia_willmothe_16E.html
Author of Article: Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley
Title of Article: HENDERSON, JULIA WILLMOTHE (Henshaw)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: June 21, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

WHITEHEAD, CHARLOTTE – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

née le 15 juillet 1843 à Darlington, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

HENDERSON, JULIA WILLMOTHE (Henshaw) (elle reçut à la naissance le nom de Julia Willmotte ; son deuxième prénom fut souvent orthographié Wilmotte et, plus tard dans sa vie, elle l’écrivit Willmothe ; elle utilisa les pseudonymes de Julian Durham et de G’wan), journaliste, romancière, alpiniste, botaniste, photographe et conférencière, née le 8 août 1868 à Durham, Angleterre, septième fille de William Henderson et de Lucy Durham ; le 15 juin 1887, elle épousa à Montréal Charles Grant Henshaw (décédé en 1927), et ils eurent une fille ; décédée le 19 novembre 1937 à Vancouver.

Julia Willmothe Henderson grandit à Durham, probablement dans des conditions aisées, mais elle passerait presque toute sa vie adulte dans l’Ouest canadien. En 1871, son père, prospère fabricant de tapis, employait plus de 500 ouvriers dans l’entreprise qu’il possédait avec son frère. Les Henderson avaient huit enfants et quasi autant de domestiques ; Julia Willmothe fut éduquée par des gouvernantes et des précepteurs et, au cours de sa jeunesse, étudia en France et en Allemagne. À l’instar de nombreuses femmes du xixe siècle intriguées par la science, elle subit l’influence de son père. Grand amateur de plein air, ce dernier signerait un livre à succès sur la pêche à la ligne et passa beaucoup de temps avec Julia Willmothe, sa fille cadette, qui développa très tôt un goût pour la nature et les activités extérieures, notamment l’alpinisme. Elle commença également à écrire dès son jeune âge et aurait collaboré au Girl’s Own Paper de Londres.

En 1881, pour des raisons inconnues, Julia Willmothe n’était déjà plus au domicile de ses parents. Alors âgée de 12 ans, elle habitait Durham avec sa sœur Lucy et son beau-frère, John George Norton, pasteur. Elle partit vraisemblablement avec eux vivre à Montréal, après que ce dernier eut accepté le poste de rector à la cathédrale Christ Church en 1884.

En 1887, Julia Willmothe se maria avec Charles Grant Henshaw, courtier en placements. Selon le Canadian Magazine, elle continua d’écrire et publia des articles dans le Montreal Daily Star, mais aucun n’a été retrouvé. Trois ans plus tard, les époux et leur fille, Doris, prirent le train pour se rendre en Colombie-Britannique et s’établirent à Vancouver. L’Ouest ouvrit d’autres perspectives à Mme Henshaw. Elle trouva de nouveaux sujets et marchés pour ses textes, tandis que son mari travaillait comme négociant-commissionnaire et juge de paix. Les Henshaw partageaient le goût de l’aventure et, en Colombie-Britannique, Julia put s’adonner à la botanique, à la photographie et à l’exploration de territoires inconnus, d’abord dans les montagnes Rocheuses, puis à l’intérieur de l’île de Vancouver. Animée d’une grande énergie, elle chercha à recréer le milieu social et culturel qu’elle avait connu en Angleterre ; dame de société, elle compta parmi les fondatrices du Vancouver Woman’s Musical Club, du Georgian Club (trésorière honoraire, 1911–1912) et du Club alpin du Canada (secrétaire honoraire, 1910–1912, 1914–1920). Elle participait activement aux activités de la section de Vancouver du Women’s Canadian Club, où elle occupa le poste de vice-présidente vers 1911, de l’Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire [V. Margaret Smith Polson*], dont elle fut vice-présidente nationale en 1916, et de la Canadian Society of Authors, où elle assuma la vice-présidence de la section provinciale en 1924.

En 1894, Mme Henshaw avait commencé à écrire pour le journal Province de Victoria. Quand le périodique devint un quotidien, en mars 1898, et fut transféré à Vancouver, elle y fit paraître des recensions de livres et des critiques de théâtre sous le pseudonyme de Julian Durham, qu’elle utilisait pour ses travaux qu’elle jugeait sérieux. De 1900 à 1910, elle fut rédactrice en chef de la page du dimanche du Vancouver Daily News-Advertiser et, sous le pseudonyme de G’wan, qu’elle réservait aux « écrits féminins », elle se chargeait du carnet mondain. Après la création du Vancouver Sun, en 1912, elle était responsable de sa page littéraire et rédigeait la chronique « Note book » ; elle collaborerait à ce journal jusqu’à sa mort.

Sous la signature de Julian Durham, Mme Henshaw publia deux articles dans le Canadian Magazine : « Vancouver, a twelve year old city », en 1898, et « The queen city of British Columbia », l’année suivante. Son premier roman, Hypnotized ? or, The experiment of Sir Hugh Galbraith : a romance, parut également en 1898 à Toronto sous le même pseudonyme. Elle fut la première romancière de la Colombie-Britannique. Après 1900, peut-être grâce au succès de son roman, elle commença à publier ses écrits sous son nom de femme mariée. Le roman Why not, sweetheart ?, dont l’histoire se déroule dans le sud de la province, parut à Toronto en 1901, quand elle avait 32 ans. Le livre, décrit dans Literary history of Canada comme un « mélodrame extravagant », relate ses observations sur le climat, la géographie, la flore, la faune et son expérience personnelle au contact du territoire et des gens. Il reflète la croyance courante dans les « possibilités illimitées de l’immense Ouest canadien […, dans] ses richesses inépuisables, et [dans] l’énergie intrépide de ses colons, élément clé de leur succès ».

Les expéditions de Mme Henshaw dans les Rocheuses, ainsi que son intérêt pour la photographie et la botanique, donnèrent lieu à la publication de plusieurs guides sur les plantes. À l’instar des ouvrages de Catharine Parr Traill [Strickland*], immigrante britannique arrivée plus tôt, ses livres s’inspiraient de son expérience sur le terrain. En 1906, Mme Henshaw publia à Toronto Mountain wild flowers of Canada : a simple guide to the names and descriptions of the flowers that bloom above the clouds, qui souleva quelque contrariété chez sa collègue Mary Townsend Schäffer [Sharpless]. Elle avait appris les techniques photographiques de cette dernière et de son mari, Charles, tous deux explorateurs des montagnes Rocheuses et naturalistes, et tiré profit de leurs études. En publiant avant eux, elle court-circuita l’attention que leurs travaux auraient pu recevoir. Son livre, qui sortit à Boston la même année sous le titre Mountain wild flowers of America […], et le volume subséquent, Wild flowers of the North American mountains, paru à New York en 1915, furent les premiers guides nord-américains sur les plantes alpines. Ils étaient novateurs par l’usage de photographies au lieu de lithographies. Leur contenu était agencé selon les couleurs des fleurs plutôt que selon l’ordre taxinomique (utilisé dans maints guides de plantes) ou selon les saisons (comme dans l’ouvrage de Traill paru à Montréal en 1868, Canadian wildflowers). De plus, Mme Henshaw publia plusieurs articles sur la végétation alpestre dans le Canadian Alpine Journal de Calgary, et ce, dès le premier numéro en 1907. Au début des années 1900, elle écrivit sur les fleurs alpines, les jardins, les voyages dans l’Ouest canadien, l’alpinisme et diverses activités de plein air pour le Canadian Magazine et de nombreux autres périodiques canadiens, américains et britanniques ; ses articles s’accompagnaient souvent de photographies, certaines probablement prises par elle-même.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, alors que son mari travaillait comme officier de recrutement à Vancouver, Mme Henshaw était capitaine honoraire de la British Red Cross Society. Elle se rendit au front pour évaluer les besoins non médicaux des patients et du personnel médical canadiens, puis donna des conférences dans tout le Canada pour recueillir des fonds en vue de procurer des commodités aux blessés. Plus tard, elle conduisit une ambulance en France et agit à titre de directrice de la Croix-Rouge. Le gouvernement français lui décerna la croix de Guerre en reconnaissance de ses services. À l’issue du conflit, elle rentra au pays pour reprendre ses explorations, écrits et conférences. Elle avait été élue membre de la Royal Geographical Society en 1913. En 1920, elle assista, en tant que déléguée du Club alpin du Canada, au Congrès de l’alpinisme international à Monaco. Elle y prononça plusieurs conférences sur les Rocheuses, illustrées de diapositives, qui furent bien reçues ; on la décora du titre d’officier de l’ordre de Saint-Charles de la principauté. Oratrice populaire, elle donna une causerie sur le fleuve Columbia à la Victoria League de Londres en 1924 ; l’année suivante, elle présenta les parcs nationaux canadiens devant la Royal Society of Arts et la Royal Scottish Geographic Society. Elle dirigeait à cette époque-là la Canadian National Parks Association. Le ruisseau Henshaw, dans l’île de Vancouver, fut nommé en son honneur. Ces distinctions, parmi d’autres, étaient des témoignages de ses réalisations.

Julia Willmothe Henshaw, femme énergique et déterminée, écrivit jusqu’à sa mort en 1937 ; un chèque non encaissé émis par la Sun Publishing Company se trouvait parmi ses effets personnels. Sa fille hérita de ses biens, évalués à 6 047 $. Le nombre et la diversité de ses livres et articles font également partie de son legs.

Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S63, 15 juin 1887.— BCA, GR-1415, file 23316 ; GR-2951, no 1937-09-536536.— City of Vancouver Arch., Add. mss 54 (J. S. Matthews coll.), topical files, Henshaw, Charles [and] Julia.— Durham County Council, Register Office (Bishop Auckland, Angleterre), Reg. of births, Saint Nicholas, 8 août 1868.— National Arch. (G.-B.), RG 10, piece 4966, f.12, p.17–18 ; RG 11, piece 4961, f.19, p.31.— Windermere Valley Museum and Arch. (Invermere, C.-B.), A314, A315 (Julia Henshaw photographs).— New York Times, 21 nov. 1937.— Vancouver Daily Province, 19 nov. 1937.— M. G. Ainley, « Last in the field ? Canadian women natural scientists, 1815–1965 », dans Despite the odds : essays on Canadian women and science, M. G. Ainley, édit. (Montréal, 1990), 25–62.— J. S. Beck, No ordinary woman : the story of Mary Schäffer Warren (Calgary, 2001).— Canadian annual rev., 1919, 1927.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— Canadian who’s who, 1936–1937.— Joseph et Nesta Dunn Ewan, Biographical dictionary of Rocky Mountain naturalists : a guide to the writings and collections of botanists, zoologists, geologists, artists, and photographers, 1682–1932 (Utrecht, Pays-Bas, 1981).— « In memoriam : Julia W. Henshaw, F.R.G.S., 1869–1937 », Canadian Alpine Journal ([Banff, Alberta]), 25 (1937) : 128–131.— Marjory Lang et Linda Hale, « Women of The World and other dailies : the lives and times of Vancouver newspaperwomen in the first quarter of the twentieth century », BC Studies (Vancouver), no 85 (printemps 1990) : 3–23. — Literary history of Canada : Canadian literature in English, C. F. Klinck et al., édit. (2e éd., 4 vol., Toronto, 1976–1990), 1 : 314.— B. M., « Canadian celebrities : no. xxx, Julia W. Henshaw », Canadian Magazine, 18 (novembre 1901–avril 1902) : 220–221.— Rosemary Neering, Wild west women : travellers, adventurers and rebels (Vancouver, 2000).— E. O. S. Scholefield et F. W. Howay, British Columbia from the earliest times to the present (4 vol., Vancouver, 1914).— Cyndi Smith, Off the beaten track : women adventurers and mountaineers in western Canada (Jasper, Alberta, 1989).— Who’s who in Canada, 1923–1924.— Who’s who in western Canada [...] (Vancouver), 1911.— Who was who among North American authors, 1921–1939 (2 vol., Detroit, 1976).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley, « HENDERSON, JULIA WILLMOTHE (Henshaw) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 15 juill. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/henderson_julia_willmothe_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/henderson_julia_willmothe_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley
Titre de l'article:   HENDERSON, JULIA WILLMOTHE (Henshaw)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   15 juillet 2018