DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

KAUR (Kor), HARNAM, immigrant; b. c. 1886 in Peshawar (Pakistan); m. Bhag Singh, and they had two children; d. 30 Jan. 1914 in Vancouver.

Harnam Kaur was one of four or five women among several thousand Sikh pioneers in Canada. Her immigration case produced a determined agitation among Sikhs in British Columbia and contributed to the adversarial relationship between her people and the authorities in charge of immigration.

Harnam Kaur’s husband, Bhag Singh, who was a Punjabi from the village of Bhikhiwind (Bhikkiwind Uttar), India, had come to Canada in 1906. In Vancouver he became secretary of the Sikh temple and played a prominent role in protesting the country’s exclusionary immigration laws after they were introduced in 1908. In 1910 he returned to India. Early the next year he and Harnam Kaur set out for Canada along with Balwant Singh, a priest at the Vancouver temple, and his wife Kartar Kaur and their two children. They intended to establish the right of wives to join husbands in Canada, and their purpose was well advertised among Sikhs in North America.

Like the other members of the party, in Calcutta and Rangoon (Yangon), Burma, Harnam Kaur was unable to get a direct passage. This predicament existed for all immigrants from India. Beginning in 1908, Canada required them to come by continuous journey, and the government had made the stipulation an absolute obstacle by instructing shipping companies not to issue through tickets. When Harnam Kaur and her companions tried to enter at San Francisco and then Seattle, Wash., they were turned back by the American authorities. Late in the year, in Hong Kong, she gave birth to a boy, who had been conceived after she and her husband left India.

In January 1912 the two families arrived at Vancouver on a steamship from Hong Kong. Because their journey had been broken, they did not meet the requirement of the law. The men were accepted as returning residents but the women and children were ordered deported. In 1910, in a case that had attracted little controversy, immigration officials had accepted the wife of Uday Ram Joshi, a labour contractor, but two years later they were determined not to encourage others. Opening the door to “Hindu” women, the Vancouver immigration agent argued, “would carry with it the permanency of their community in Canada.”

The objections of Sikhs to the exclusion of their families were countered by the ministerial council of Vancouver, the National Council of Women of Canada, and others who shared the concern that once women and children were allowed in, immigrants from India would settle permanently. In June 1912 the minister of the interior, Robert Rogers*, decided to permit Harnam Kaur and Kartar Kaur to stay but made it clear that this ruling was not a precedent. The department made the same concession in two subsequent cases – those of Hira Singh’s wife and Hakam Singh’s mother and four sons. They were allowed entry in July 1912 and July 1913 respectively. Each case was a protracted one, and no further concessions were made although Sikhs continued to raise the issue. Finally, in 1919, after imperial statesmen indicated that Canada’s policy contributed to British difficulties in the Punjab, the wives and children of men with established residence began to be admitted. Sikh family formation in Canada then started.

Harnam Kaur died in 1914 at her home in Vancouver’s Fairview district, nine days after giving birth to a daughter. On the day of her funeral the Vancouver Sikh temple accepted responsibility for her two children. Tragically, their father died in a shooting at the temple later that year. Because there were so few Punjabi women in Canada, the baby girl was placed with a white woman (possibly Annie Singh, the wife of a Punjabi Sikh). When she was six, the temple sent her to India for a Punjabi upbringing. There is no mention in the available records of the fate of her brother after their father’s death.

Hugh J. M. Johnston

Norman Buchignani et al., Continuous journey: a social history of South Asians in Canada ([Toronto], 1985). H.[J.M.] Johnston, “Patterns of Sikh migration to Canada, 1900–1960,” in Sikh history and religion in the twentieth century, ed. J. T. O’Connell et al. (Toronto, 1988), 296–313; The voyage of the “Komagata Maru”: the Sikh challenge to Canada’s colour bar (Delhi, India, 1979; 2nd ed., Vancouver, 1989). Kesar Singh, Canadian Sikhs and “Kamagata Maru” massacre (1v. to date, Surrey, B.C., 1989–  ). Mahinder Singh Dhillon, A history book of the Sikhs in Canada and California (Vancouver, 1981).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Hugh J. M. Johnston, “KAUR, HARNAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 14, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 20, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/kaur_harnam_14E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/kaur_harnam_14E.html
Author of Article: Hugh J. M. Johnston
Title of Article: KAUR, HARNAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 14
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1998
Year of revision: 1998
Access Date: September 20, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 17 octobre 1817 dans le Maryland

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

Titre original :  Bhag Singh Harnam Kaur Vancouver History

Provenance : Lien

KAUR (Kor), HARNAM, née vers 1886 à Peshâwar (Pãkistãn) ; elle épousa Bhag Singh, et ils eurent deux enfants ; décédée le 30 janvier 1914 à Vancouver.

Il y eut plusieurs milliers de pionniers sikhs au Canada ; Harnam Kaur est l’une des quatre ou cinq femmes que l’on retrouve parmi eux. Les sikhs de la Colombie-Britannique se mobilisèrent pour qu’elle obtienne le statut d’immigrante, et son cas donna lieu à la détérioration des rapports entre sa communauté et les autorités de l’immigration.

Le mari de Harnam Kaur, Bhag Singh, qui était originaire du village de Bhikhiwind, au Pañjãb (Bhikkiwind Uttar, Inde), était arrivé au Canada en 1906. À Vancouver, il devint secrétaire du temple sikh et participa activement aux protestations contre les lois d’exclusion adoptées en 1908 en matière d’immigration. En 1910, il retourna en Inde. Au début de l’année suivante, lui-même et Harnam Kaur se mirent en route pour le Canada en compagnie d’un prêtre du temple de Vancouver, Balwant Singh, de sa femme, Kartar Kaur, et des deux enfants de ceux-ci. Leur but, annoncé abondamment parmi les sikhs de l’Amérique du Nord, était d’établir le droit des femmes à rejoindre leur mari au Canada.

À Calcutta et à Rangoon (Yangon, Birmanie), Harnam Kaur, comme les autres membres du groupe, se vit refuser un aller direct. Tous les immigrants venant de l’Inde subissaient cette situation fâcheuse. Depuis 1908, le Canada exigeait qu’ils fassent un voyage sans escale, et le gouvernement avait fait de cette règle un obstacle insurmontable en ordonnant aux compagnies de transport maritime de ne pas vendre de billets directs. Harnam Kaur et ses compagnons tentèrent de débarquer à San Francisco puis à Seattle, dans l’État de Washington, mais les autorités américaines les refoulèrent. Dans les derniers mois de l’année, à Hong-Kong, elle donna naissance à un garçon qui avait été conçu après qu’elle-même et son mari eurent quitté l’Inde.

En janvier 1912, les deux familles arrivèrent à Vancouver à bord d’un vapeur en provenance de Hong-Kong. Comme leur voyage ne s’était pas fait d’un seul trait, ils ne répondaient pas à l’exigence de la loi. Les hommes furent acceptés en tant que résidents rentrant au pays, mais les autorités ordonnèrent la déportation des femmes et des enfants. En 1910, les fonctionnaires de l’immigration avaient accepté la femme d’un embaucheur, Uday Ram Joshi, ce qui n’avait guère soulevé de controverse. Deux ans plus tard cependant, ils étaient déterminés à ne pas encourager d’autres familles à venir. Ouvrir la porte aux femmes des « Hindous », fit valoir l’agent d’immigration de Vancouver, « entraînerait l’établissement définitif de leur communauté au Canada ».

Les objections des sikhs à l’exclusion de leurs familles furent contrées par le conseil ministériel de Vancouver, le National Council of Women of Canada et d’autres organismes qui craignaient que les immigrants venus de l’Inde ne s’établissent en permanence une fois qu’on aurait admis leurs femmes et leurs enfants. En juin 1912, le ministre de l’Intérieur, Robert Rogers*, décida d’autoriser Harnam Kaur et Kartar Kaur à rester, tout en soulignant que sa décision ne pourrait pas servir de précédent. Par la suite, le département fit la même concession dans deux autres cas – celui de la femme de Hira Singh et celui de la mère et des quatre fils de Hakam Singh. Ces personnes furent admises respectivement en juillet 1912 et en juillet 1913. Le règlement de ces deux cas fut long, et aucune autre concession ne suivit, même si les sikhs continuèrent de soulever la question. Finalement, en 1919, après que des hommes d’État de l’Empire eurent fait valoir que la politique du Canada aggravait les difficultés de la Grande-Bretagne au Pañjãb, les femmes et les enfants des hommes ayant établi leur statut de résident commencèrent d’être admis. À compter de ce moment, des familles sikhs se formèrent au Canada.

Harnam Kaur mourut en 1914 chez elle dans le district de Fairview, à Vancouver, neuf jours après avoir donné naissance à une fille. Le jour de ses obsèques, le temple sikh de Vancouver accepta la charge de ses deux enfants. Leur père mourut au cours d’une fusillade au temple plus tard la même année. Comme il y avait très peu de femmes du Pañjãb au Canada, la petite fille fut confiée à une Blanche (peut-être Annie Singh, la femme d’un sikh du Pañjãb). Quand elle eut six ans, le temple l’envoya en Inde pour qu’elle soit élevée selon les coutumes du Pañjãb. Les documents qu’on a pu consulter ne disent rien sur ce qu’il advint à son frère après la mort de leur père.

Hugh J. M. Johnston

Norman Buchignani et al., Continuous journey : a social history of South Asians in Canada ([Toronto], 1985).— H. [J. M.] Johnston, « Patterns of Sikh migration to Canada, 1900–1960 », dans Sikh history and religion in the twentieth century, J. T. O’Connell et al., édit. (Toronto, 1988), 296–313 ; The voyage of the « Komagata Maru » : the Sikh challenge to Canada’s colour bar (Delhi, Inde, 1979 ; 2e éd., Vancouver, 1989).— Kesar Singh, Canadian Sikhs and « Kamagata Maru » massacre (1 vol. paru, Surrey, C.-B., 1989–  ).— Mahinder Singh Dhillon, A history book of the Sikhs in Canada and California (Vancouver, 1981).

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

FR:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default FR:

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/kaur_harnam_14F.html
Author of Article:   Hugh J. M. Johnston
Title of Article:   KAUR, HARNAM
Publication Name:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 14
Publication Details:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 1998
Year of publication:   1998
Year of revision:   1998
Access Date:   17 octobre 2021