DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, Comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

d. 13 Dec. 1827 near Hammersmith (London), England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Colonel Little of the 96th Battalion Lake Superior Regiment, 1918. Image courtesy of the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society. Accession number 979.1.359.

Source: Link

LITTLE, JAMES ARTHUR, banker, militia officer, businessman, and lumberman; b. 17 Jan. 1868 in Trenton, Ont., son of George Little and Mary E. Foster; m. 16 Nov. 1910 Ethel Marguerite Wardrope in Belleville, Ont., and they had a son and a daughter; d. 17 June 1931 in Port Arthur (Thunder Bay), Ont.

James Arthur Little was an enigmatic character whose professional life remains largely shrouded by the shadows that characterized natural-resources politics in early-20th-century Canada. He was raised in Trenton, where he attended school and later entered the employ of Molsons Bank [see William Molson*]. In 1903 he agreed to relocate to northern Ontario to manage the Port Arthur branch, a move that would lead to his profound involvement in the Lakehead’s development.

For a little over a decade, J. A. Little’s life in Port Arthur was generally unremarkable, but he was making valuable connections. In 1905, while working at the bank, he helped Lieutenant-Colonel Dr Charles Norval Laurie establish the 96th (Lake Superior) Regiment; Little was commissioned with the rank of major. When Laurie retired in 1911, Little was promoted lieutenant-colonel and put in command of the militia detachment, a post he would retain until 1921. The regiment was called on to provide aid to local police during a gun battle with striking coal handlers in 1912. During World War I it was responsible for guarding Port Arthur’s shipbuilding company, grain elevators, powerhouses, and wireless station.

Little resigned from the bank in 1919, by which time he and several of his contemporaries, such as Walter H. Russell, had apparently mastered navigation of the murky waters that surrounded access to government-controlled, or crown, resources and privileges. The arrangement typically involved obtaining the desired prize in exchange for making a contribution to the party or a local elected official; the partisan go-between often received a payment for brokering the deal. During the Conservative administration of Premier William Howard Hearst*, for example, Little, an avowed Tory, was granted virtually exclusive fishing privileges on Lake Nipigon and allegedly caught and sold sturgeon with little regard for quota regulations. Presumably the presence of his long-time business associate and friend Donald McDonald Hogarth on Ontario’s standing committee on game and fish aided and abetted Little’s cause in this regard. Similarly, Little and two of his partners formed the New Ontario Contracting Company Limited, which harvested lumber with impunity, despite infringement of provincial cutting provisions, along the National Transcontinental Railway line near Sioux Lookout. Little and his cronies used the same firm to cut pulpwood in the Thunder Bay district; thanks to a legal loophole that the Ontario government refused to close, they were able to export wood across the border from crown lands on which they had staked mining claims, thus turning a handsome profit for nominal expenditure.

Little’s political lifelines were severed when the Conservatives were defeated in 1919 by Ernest Charles Drury*’s party, the United Farmers of Ontario. The new government cancelled his fishing licences and appointed Francis Robert Latchford and William Renwick Riddell* to investigate possible violations of the Crown Timber Act in the Port Arthur area; Little escaped censure and denied allegations that he had bribed the erstwhile minister of lands, forests, and mines, George Howard Ferguson*, to achieve his aims. The following year Little, undaunted, joined with a number of Wisconsin paper makers to incorporate Nipigon Fibre and Paper Mills Limited near the village of Nipigon, northeast of Port Arthur. A sudden downturn in the pulp market during the 1920–21 recession sent the firm into receivership, but its major handicap had been the inability to secure a large timber limit from the provincial government.

The Conservatives, now led by Ferguson, were re-elected in 1923, but Little quickly discovered that his political stripe did not guarantee access to crown resources. He and Hogarth, who had not been returned to the legislature as mpp for Port Arthur, hatched a plan to secure control of the Lakehead’s jack pine forests in order to monopolize the district’s profitable railway-tie manufacturing sector. But their efforts were thwarted by rivals – namely Hogarth’s successor, Francis Henry Keefer*, and his pulpwood-exporting clients – who enjoyed greater influence with the imperious premier. Similarly, Little and Hogarth entered into an agreement with mining executive Noah Anthony Timmins, who in 1924 purchased Little’s pulp mill in Nipigon. The price was $50,000 in cash, and Little and Hogarth retained a 50 per cent interest in the enterprise, which Timmins intended to expand; in exchange, Little was to facilitate Timmins’s acquisition of the pulpwood limits he sought from the province. However, Little’s competitors persuaded Ferguson to grant a major portion of the timber in question to Keefer’s gang, thereby drastically diminishing the woodland available to Timmins.

On the occasions when Little was successful in exploiting his connections, the dividends for him and the members of his cabal were lucrative indeed. During the mid 1920s he and his associates negotiated a secret $100,000 pay-off from the Consolidated Water Power and Paper Company in Wisconsin for ensuring that the firm was granted a timber limit. Little also engineered a truly extraordinary ruse whereby he and Hogarth (re-elected mpp in 1926) delivered to Consolidated a rich pulpwood tract north of Sault Ste Marie. The stratagem, which Ferguson personally approved, involved having senior officials in the Department of Lands and Forests fabricate ludicrous timber cruises to rationalize the deal. Little and Hogarth profited to the tune of $500,000, although they were expected to share their riches by contributing roughly 10 per cent of their return to the federal coffers of Richard Bedford Bennett*’s Tories during the 1930 election campaign. In the same year Little arranged for his brother-in-law, George Calvin Wardrope, to win a fixed tender for a timber licence; Wardrope promptly flipped it to a bona fide operator at a higher price. It was perhaps ironic that, two years earlier, Little’s own contracting firm, the Thunder Bay Harbor Improvement Company Limited, had won an open competition for a timber tract near Port Arthur, but at a higher price than he wanted to pay. Just before the Tories, now led by George Stewart Henry*, lost to Mitchell Frederick Hepburn*’s Liberals in 1934, they reduced the stumpage fees to benefit Little’s widow.

Interestingly, Little played a posthumous role in a remarkable intrigue that testifies to the political machinations of the period. Shortly after his death from heart failure brought on by pneumonia, his private papers, which revealed shady and often illicit dealings with government officials, were acquired by one of his nemeses, Charles Winnans Cox, whose foes alleged that he had stolen these “dead man’s letters.” The Conservatives in Ottawa and Queen’s Park were cowed by the Liberal timber contractor’s threats to make the documents public, and Hogarth conceded the Tories’ long-held provincial seat in Port Arthur to Cox in the 1934 election. Cox began exploiting his new position for personal gain, but within a few years his enemies had gathered enough incriminating information to hoist him with his own petard.

Undoubtedly, many in the Thunder Bay district would have regarded Cox’s malevolent use of Little’s letters as a case of “the colonel” finally getting his just deserts, even though he was not around to receive them. Despite engaging in some community work – Little played a leading role in reviving the Port Arthur Golf and Country Club – he was far better known for being a harsh and imperious disciplinarian than for being a benevolent soul. His political involvement was driven almost entirely by self-interest, and he was repeatedly in the courts defending against or launching lawsuits; he was even found guilty of beating the 69-year-old gardener at his summer retreat outside Port Arthur.

Little’s career provides a window into some of the vicissitudes that pervaded the exploitation of crown resources in the early 20th century by entrepreneurs who gained access to them through political channels. Just before his death, Little’s assets were valued at roughly $500,000 – a fortune that reflected the tangible rewards connections could garner. But knowledge of his chequered record in dealing with the government suggests there were even more princely sums available for the taking during those years.

Mark Kuhlberg

The author wishes to acknowledge the assistance of Thorold Tronrud, director/curator of the Thunder Bay Museum, in Ontario, in the preparation of this biography.

AO, F 208, MU 1570 (Charles W. Cox MLA corr.), 1922–36; RG 1-246-3, no.7608, 1915–19 and no.32405 (J. A. Little to B. Bowman, 1 March 1923); RG 3-4-0-190, G. W. Mason to W. E. Raney, 7 Sept. 1920; RG 18-79, Proc. of Timber Commission, vol.2 (1920): 1550–89; RG 75-57, PC209/18; RG 80-5-0-413, no.12146; RG 80-8-0-1302, no.32448. Lakehead Univ. Arch. (Thunder Bay), MG7, O. Styffe to News-Chronicle, 3, 10, 27 Feb. 1941. Ont., Ministry of Govt. and Consumer Services, Companies and personal property security branch (Toronto), Dormant corporation files, TC 17628 (Nipigon Fibre & Paper Mills Ltd). Thunder Bay Museum, A83 (James A. Little/Donald M. Hogarth fonds), ser.1 (general corr.), file 1, Statements by Messrs Walter Oliver and George Horrigan, 18 Oct. 1919, file 2, J. A. Little to D. M. Hogarth, 27 April 1922, all items in files 3, 4, and 5, and in 7, J. A. Little to D. M. Hogarth, 12 Aug. 1930 and W. Lawr to O. A. Knights, 2 June 1932; ser.2 (special corr. and agreements), all items in file 1, and in 2, E. B. Redford to J. A. Little, 7 Feb. 1927 and enclosure of 8 April 1926; ser.3 (financial records), file 1, financial statement of J. A. Little, 30 April 1930. Hush (Toronto), 24 Feb. 1934. News-Chronicle (Port Arthur [Thunder Bay]), 18 June 1931, 1 Feb. 1941. Toronto Daily Star, 22 June, 5 Aug. 1920. J. P. Bertrand, Timber wolves: greed and corruption in northwestern Ontario’s timber industry, 1875–1960 (Thunder Bay, 1997). Mark Kuhlberg, “‘Nothing but a cash deal’: crown timber corruption in northern Ontario, 1923–1930,” Thunder Bay Hist. Museum Soc., Papers and Records, 28 (2000): 3–22. H. V. Nelles, The politics of development: forests, mines & hydro-electric power in Ontario, 1849–1941 (Toronto, 1974). F. B. Scollie, Thunder Bay mayors & councillors, 1873–1945 … (Thunder Bay, 2000), 146–47. G. F. G. Stanley, In the face of danger: the history of the Lake Superior Regiment, intro. R. A. Keane (Port Arthur, [1960]). Thunder Bay Museum, “[The Lake Superior Regiment, a history]”: www.thunderbaymuseum.com/exhibits/virtual-exhibits/lake-superior-regiment (consulted 5 Oct. 2015).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Mark Kuhlberg, “LITTLE, JAMES ARTHUR,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/little_james_arthur_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/little_james_arthur_16E.html
Author of Article: Mark Kuhlberg
Title of Article: LITTLE, JAMES ARTHUR
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: December 13, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LEAKE, Sir JOHN – Volume II (1701-1740)

décédé le 21 août 1720 à Greenwich

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Colonel Little of the 96th Battalion Lake Superior Regiment, 1918. Image courtesy of the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society. Accession number 979.1.359.

Provenance : Lien

LITTLE, JAMES ARTHUR, banquier, officier de milice, homme d’affaires et entrepreneur forestier, né le 17 janvier 1868 à Trenton, Ontario, fils de George Little et de Mary E. Foster ; le 16 novembre 1910, il épousa à Belleville, Ontario, Ethel Marguerite Wardrope, et ils eurent un fils et une fille ; décédé le 17 juin 1931 à Port Arthur (Thunder Bay, Ontario).

James Arthur Little fut un personnage énigmatique dont la vie professionnelle demeure en grande partie entourée des ténèbres qui caractérisaient la politique sur les ressources naturelles dans le Canada du début du xxe siècle. Il grandit à Trenton, où il fit ses études, puis entra au service de la Banque Molson [V. William Molson*]. En 1903, il accepta de s’installer dans le nord de l’Ontario pour gérer la succursale de Port Arthur, décision qui l’amènerait à participer activement à la croissance de la région du Lakehead.

Durant un peu plus d’une décennie, la vie de Little à Port Arthur n’eut généralement rien de remarquable ; néanmoins, il y noua des relations précieuses. En 1905, tout en travaillant à la banque, il aida le lieutenant-colonel Charles Norval Laurie, médecin, à créer le 96th (Lake Superior) Regiment ; Little fut nommé major. Quand Laurie prit sa retraite en 1911, Little accéda au grade de lieutenant-colonel et on lui confia le commandement du détachement de milice, poste qu’il occuperait jusqu’en 1921. Le régiment fut appelé à prêter main-forte à la police locale durant une fusillade impliquant des manutentionnaires de charbon en grève en 1912. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il eut la responsabilité d’assurer la garde de l’entreprise de construction navale, des élévateurs à grains, des centrales électriques et de la station de télégraphie sans fil de Port Arthur.

Little démissionna de ses fonctions à la banque en 1919, époque où lui et plusieurs de ses contemporains, comme Walter H. Russell, avaient apparemment appris à naviguer dans les eaux troubles qui entouraient l’accès aux ressources et aux privilèges relevant du gouvernement ou de la couronne. En règle générale, les arrangements comportaient l’obtention du privilège désiré en échange d’une contribution au parti ou aux activités d’un élu local ; l’intermédiaire partisan recevait souvent une récompense pour avoir négocié le marché. Par exemple, pendant que les conservateurs du premier ministre William Howard Hearst* étaient au pouvoir, Little, tory déclaré, obtint des privilèges de pêche presque exclusifs sur le lac Nipigon ; il aurait pêché et vendu de l’esturgeon en ne se souciant guère des règlements sur les quotas. La présence de Donald McDonald Hogarth, à la fois associé et ami de longue date, au sein du comité permanent de l’Ontario sur la chasse et la pêche aida et soutint sans doute la cause de Little à cet égard. De façon similaire, Little et deux de ses associés créèrent la New Ontario Contracting Company Limited, qui abattait impunément des arbres, même s’ils enfreignaient les dispositions provinciales en matière de coupe forestière, le long de la ligne de chemin de fer National Transcontinental, près de Sioux Lookout. Little et ses compères utilisèrent la même entreprise pour couper du bois à pâte dans le district de Thunder Bay ; grâce à une faille dans la loi que le gouvernement ontarien refusait de corriger, ils étaient en mesure d’exporter au delà de la frontière du bois des terres de la couronne où ils avaient établi des concessions minières, ce qui leur rapportait de jolis bénéfices et exigeait peu d’investissements.

Les précieux liens politiques de Little se rompirent quand les conservateurs furent battus, en 1919, par le parti d’Ernest Charles Drury*, les Fermiers unis de l’Ontario. Le nouveau gouvernement révoqua ses permis de pêche et chargea Francis Robert Latchford et William Renwick Riddell* d’enquêter sur de possibles violations du Crown Timber Act dans la région de Port Arthur ; Little évita tout reproche et nia les allégations voulant qu’il ait soudoyé l’ancien ministre des Terres, des Forêts et des Mines, George Howard Ferguson*, pour atteindre ses buts. L’année suivante, Little, loin de se laisser décourager, se joignit à un certain nombre de fabricants de papier du Wisconsin pour constituer en société la Nipigon Fibre and Paper Mills Limited près du village de Nipigon, au nord-est de Port Arthur. Un ralentissement soudain sur le marché de la pâte pendant la récession de 1920–1921 eut comme résultat la mise sous séquestre de l’entreprise, mais le plus grand désavantage de cette dernière avait été son incapacité d’obtenir une grande concession forestière auprès du gouvernement provincial.

Les conservateurs, alors dirigés par Ferguson, revinrent au pouvoir en 1923 ; toutefois, Little se rendit compte rapidement que son allégeance politique ne lui garantissait pas l’accès aux ressources de la couronne. Avec Hogarth, qui n’avait pas été réélu comme député provincial de la circonscription de Port Arthur, il élabora un plan pour mettre la main sur les forêts de pins gris de la région du Lakehead, afin de prendre le monopole du secteur rentable de la fabrication de traverses de chemin de fer dans le district. Leurs efforts furent contrecarrés par des rivaux – à savoir, le successeur de Hogarth, Francis Henry Keefer*, et ses clients exportateurs de bois à pâte – qui jouissaient d’une plus grande influence auprès de l’impérieux premier ministre. De façon similaire, Little et Hogarth conclurent un accord avec l’administrateur minier Noah Anthony Timmins, qui acquit, en 1924, l’usine de pâte de Nipigon appartenant à Little. Timmins paya 50 000 $ comptant, et Little et Hogarth retinrent 50 % des intérêts dans l’entreprise que Timmins avait l’intention d’agrandir ; en échange, Little devait faciliter l’acquisition des concessions de bois à pâte que Timmins demandait à la province. Cependant, des concurrents de Little persuadèrent Ferguson d’accorder une importante partie du bois en question au clan de Keefer, ce qui réduisit considérablement les zones boisées disponibles pour Timmins.

Quand Little était en mesure de mettre à profit ses relations, les dividendes pour lui et les membres de sa clique étaient très lucratifs. Au milieu des années 1920, ses associés et lui négocièrent une récompense secrète de 100 000 $ auprès de la Consolidated Water Power and Paper Company du Wisconsin pour s’assurer que la société obtienne une concession forestière. Little ourdit aussi une ruse vraiment extraordinaire par laquelle Hogarth (réélu en tant que député provincial en 1926) et lui fournirent à cette entreprise une riche aire d’exploitation de bois à pâte au nord de Sault-Sainte-Marie. Par ce stratagème, que Ferguson approuva personnellement, on demandait à de hauts fonctionnaires du ministère des Terres et Forêts de fabriquer des inventaires forestiers ridicules pour justifier la transaction. Little et Hogarth reçurent une somme de 500 000 $, mais on s’attendait à ce qu’ils versent une contribution équivalant à environ 10 % de leur récompense dans les coffres des conservateurs fédéraux de Richard Bedford Bennett* durant la campagne électorale de 1930. La même année, Little fit le nécessaire pour que son beau-frère, George Calvin Wardrope, gagne un marché truqué qui lui permit d’acquérir une concession forestière ; Wardrope la revendit rapidement à un exploitant de bonne foi à un prix plus élevé. Peut-être ironie du sort, deux ans auparavant, la propre firme d’entrepreneurs de Little, la Thunder Bay Harbor Improvement Company Limited, avait remporté un appel d’offres ouvert pour disposer d’une aire d’exploitation forestière près de Port Arthur, mais à un prix plus élevé qu’il désirait payer. Par ailleurs, les conservateurs, alors dirigés par George Stewart Henry*, réduisirent les droits de coupe pour avantager la veuve de Little tout juste avant de perdre leurs élections contre les libéraux de Mitchell Frederick Hepburn* en 1934.

Fait intéressant, Little joua un rôle posthume dans une intrigue mémorable qui témoigne des machinations politiques de l’époque. Peu de temps après qu’il mourut d’une défaillance cardiaque provoquée par une pneumonie, ses papiers personnels, qui révélaient des transactions louches et souvent illicites avec des fonctionnaires du gouvernement, furent acquis par l’un de ses pires ennemis, Charles Winnans Cox ; les rivaux de ce dernier prétendirent qu’il avait volé ces « lettres d’un mort ». Les conservateurs d’Ottawa et de Queen’s Park furent intimidés par les menaces de l’entrepreneur forestier libéral de rendre ces documents publics ; Hogarth céda à Cox, aux élections de 1934, le siège détenu depuis longtemps par les conservateurs provinciaux dans la circonscription de Port Arthur. Cox commença à se servir de son nouveau poste pour obtenir des avantages personnels, mais après quelques années, ses ennemis avaient réuni assez d’information compromettante pour le prendre à son propre piège.

Sans aucun doute, dans le district de Thunder Bay, les gens auraient été nombreux à considérer l’utilisation malveillante des lettres de Little par Cox comme une situation où « le colonel » aurait finalement eu ce qu’il méritait, même s’il n’était plus là pour le recevoir. Little s’était engagé dans du travail communautaire – il joua un rôle important dans la relance du Port Arthur Golf and Country Club –, mais il était beaucoup plus connu comme un être impitoyable et autoritaire en matière de discipline que comme une âme bienveillante. Son engagement politique était presque entièrement motivé par ses intérêts personnels et il se retrouva à plusieurs reprises devant les tribunaux pour se défendre contre des poursuites ou en intenter ; il fut même déclaré coupable d’avoir frappé le jardinier de sa maison d’été située à l’extérieur de Port Arthur, alors âgé de 69 ans.

La carrière de James Arthur Little offre un aperçu de certaines vicissitudes dans lesquelles baignait, au début du xxe siècle, l’exploitation des ressources de la couronne par des entrepreneurs qui en obtenaient l’accès par des voies politiques. Juste avant sa mort, Little possédait des biens évalués à environ 500 000 $, fortune qui mettait en évidence les avantages tangibles que des relations permettaient de récolter. Mais le fait que Little parvenait à des résultats en dents de scie lorsqu’il faisait affaire avec le gouvernement donne à penser que des sommes encore plus considérables pouvaient être encaissées à cette époque.

Mark Kuhlberg

Nous souhaitons remercier Thorold Tronrud, directeur et conservateur du Thunder Bay Museum, en Ontario, pour l’aide qu’il nous a apportée dans la préparation de cette biographie.

AO, F 208, MU 1570 (Charles W. Cox MLA corr.), 1922–1936 ; RG 1-246-3, no 7608, 1915–1919 et no 32405 (J. A. Little à B. Bowman, 1er mars 1923) ; RG 3-4-0-190, G. W. Mason à W. E. Raney, 7 sept. 1920 ; RG 18-79, Proc. of Timber Commission, vol. 2 (1920) : 1550-1589 ; RG 75-57, Orders-in-council, PC209/18 ; RG 80-5-0-413, no 12146 ; RG 80-8-0-1302, no 32448.— Lakehead Univ. Arch. (Thunder Bay), MG7, O. Styffe to News-Chronicle, 3, 10, 27 févr. 1941.— Ontario, Ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs, Direction des compagnies et des sûretés mobilières (Toronto), Dormant corporation files, TC 17628 (Nipigon Fibre & Paper Mills Ltd).— Thunder Bay Museum, A83 (James A. Little/Donald M. Hogarth fonds), ser. 1 (general corr.), file 1, Statements by Messrs Walter Oliver and George Horrigan, 18 oct. 1919, file 2, J. A. Little à D. M. Hogarth, 27 avril 1922, files 3–5 (tous les documents), file 7, J. A. Little à D. M. Hogarth, 12 août 1930 et W. Lawr à O. A. Knights, 2 juin 1932 ; ser. 2 (special corr. and agreements), file 1 (tous les documents), file 2, E. B. Redford à J. A. Little, 7 févr. 1927 et 8 avril 1926 (pièce jointe) ; ser. 3 (financial records), file 1, financial statement of J. A. Little, 30 avril 1930.— Hush (Toronto), 24 févr. 1934.— News-Chronicle (Port Arthur [Thunder Bay]), 18 juin 1931, 1er févr. 1941.— Toronto Daily Star, 22 juin, 5 août 1920.— J. P. Bertrand, Timber wolves : greed and corruption in northwestern Ontario’s timber industry, 1875–1960 (Thunder Bay, 1997).— Mark Kuhlberg, « “Nothing but a cash deal” : crown timber corruption in northern Ontario, 1923–1930 », Thunder Bay Hist. Museum Soc., Papers and Records, 28 (2000) : 3–22.— H. V. Nelles, The politics of development : forests, mines & hydro-electric power in Ontario, 1849–1941 (Toronto, 1974).— F. B. Scollie, Thunder Bay mayors & councillors, 1873–1945 […] (Thunder Bay, 2000), 146–147.— G. F. G. Stanley, In the face of danger : the history of the Lake Superior Regiment, introd. par R. A. Keane (Port Arthur, [1960]).— Thunder Bay Museum, « [The Lake Superior Regiment, a history] » : www.thunderbaymuseum.com/exhibits/virtual-exhibits/lake-superior-regiment (consulté le 5 oct. 2015).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Mark Kuhlberg, « LITTLE, JAMES ARTHUR », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 août 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/little_james_arthur_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/little_james_arthur_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Mark Kuhlberg
Titre de l'article:   LITTLE, JAMES ARTHUR
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   21 août 2017