DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MELLISH, HUMPHREY PICKARD WOLFGANG, teacher, lawyer, and judge; b. 13 May 1862 in Lot 50, P.E.I., youngest child of James Lewis Mellish and Margaret Sophia Murray; m. 25 Oct. 1898 Margaret Mabel Wilmot White, cousin of Albert Scott White, in Springfield, Kings County, N.B.; they had no children; d. 19 June 1937 in Halifax.

Prince Edward Island farmers James Lewis and Margaret Sophia Mellish had limited financial means, yet a daughter, Mary*, became a leading educator at the ladies’ academy associated with Mount Allison College in Sackville, N.B., and their son Humphrey Mellish studied at Prince of Wales College in Charlottetown before attending Dalhousie College in Halifax. He completed a ba in 1882, and spent time at the University of London, where he matriculated in the honours division in 1883. After returning to Nova Scotia, he taught mathematics at Pictou Academy from 1885 to 1888. He obtained his llb from Dean Richard Chapman Weldon*’s recently established Dalhousie law school in 1890. A talented public speaker, he delivered valedictory addresses at both his arts and law convocations. In 1898 he married Mabel White of Belleisle Creek, N.B. From 1898 to 1902 he served as a second lieutenant in the 66th Battalion of Infantry (Princess Louise Fusiliers).

Mellish had completed his articles under the supervision of John Urquhart Ross in Pictou, and in Halifax under future Supreme Court of Canada justice Edmund Leslie Newcombe of Meagher, Drysdale, and Newcombe. Admitted to the provincial bar in 1890, Mellish worked in a series of Halifax law firms; his partners included Arthur Drysdale, later a judge in the Nova Scotia Supreme Court, and Hector McInnes, who had been Mellish’s predecessor at Pictou Academy. Named a kc in 1904, he took leadership positions within the legal community, serving as president of the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society in 1912–13. Mellish enjoyed a diverse practice, and took advantage of his aptitude for public speaking in frequent litigation for corporate clients, including the Dominion Coal Company Limited [see Henry Melville Whitney*]. He represented the owners of the ammunition ship Mont Blanc during the inquiry into the causes of the Halifax explosion on 6 Dec. 1917, though his performance has been deemed somewhat mediocre by lawyer and author Donald A. Kerr.

A Liberal, Mellish showed no interest in pursuing electoral office. On 11 Feb. 1918 Sir Robert Laird Borden’s Union government appointed him to the Nova Scotia Supreme Court. Two years later, on 13 Oct. 1920, he was named chair of a royal commission to investigate the Provincial Highway Board. Despite evidence of partisan politics in the board’s operations, the commission exonerated George Henry Murray*’s government of any wrongdoing. Mellish also served as a deputy local judge in admiralty and a local judge in admiralty in 1920 and 1921 respectively.

Contemporaries described him as a lenient judge; for example, lawyer James Edward Rutledge claimed after Mellish’s death that the “underdog in a case had no need to worry with Judge Mellish on the bench. He was a just man.” The 1933 case of Peter Petrovich Verigin provides some evidence for this characterization. Verigin, the second leader of the Doukhobors in Canada [see Peter Vasil’evich Verigin*], who had been jailed in Halifax, faced deportation to the Soviet Union because Richard Bedford Bennett*’s government feared he was a closet leader of the Sons of Freedom and a dangerous Bolshevik. Verigin’s lawyers applied successfully to Mellish for a writ of habeas corpus to gain their client’s release from custody.

Despite his contemporaries’ assessment, historians have been highly critical of Mellish because of his decisions against organized labour. In the 1920s and 1930s class conflict marred the province’s coal and steel industries [see William Davis*]. These tensions spilled into the Nova Scotia Supreme Court, which had several judges with corporate ties, including Robert Edward Harris, a former president of the Nova Scotia Steel and Coal Company Limited, and Daniel Duncan McKenzie, a one-time solicitor for the same organization. On 4 March 1924 mp James Shaver Woodsworth* declared in the House of Commons that he had been told “corporation influence on the bench was so strong that the court is looked upon by labour as a company department.”

Mellish was especially disposed to assisting a former client. On 25 July 1917 a major disaster in a Dominion Coal mine in New Waterford had killed 65 men. Mellish had helped to prepare the company’s defence against manslaughter charges before becoming a judge. Despite his previous involvement, he presided over the 1918 trial, in which Hector McInnes, his former partner, argued for Dominion Coal, and directed a verdict of not guilty. In 1922 Mellish again assisted the company, now affiliated with the British Empire Steel Corporation Limited (Besco), when he rejected a union argument for a stay of unilateral wage reductions in Cape Breton coalmines until a federal board could investigate.

Particularly notorious was Mellish’s handling of the 1923 sedition trial of labour leader James Bryson McLachlan, a champion of miners and steelworkers struggling for decent wages and living conditions. Besco had arranged for the publication in Halifax’s Morning Chronicle (6 July) of a private letter in which McLachlan had called upon union members to fight the government of Premier Ernest Howard Armstrong*. Proceedings against McLachlan were held in Halifax rather than in Sydney to ensure a jury more likely to convict, and provincial attorney general Walter Joseph Aloysius O’Hearn prosecuted. In December McLachlan was convicted of three counts of sedition. The judge’s instructions to the jury made it clear that he was not disinterested. Historian Barry Cahill describes the handling of the case as a “gross miscarriage of justice”; he questions Mellish’s impartiality because his former law firm represented Besco and McInnes sat on the company’s board of directors.

After suffering from strokes over several years, Mellish announced his retirement in April 1937, and succumbed to a brain haemorrhage on 19 June, the same day that McInnes died. The Halifax Chronicle extolled Mellish for having had “one of the most brilliant and useful legal careers in the history of this province,” but his record of judicial partiality in the labour clashes of Nova Scotia during the interwar period has overshadowed his reputation for legal skill.

R. Blake Brown

Mount Allison Univ. Arch. (Sackville, N.B.), 5501 (R. C. Archibald papers), 6/4. NSA, MG 100, vol.188, no.24 (R. H. Graham, “Honourable Humphrey Mellish”). PARO, St John’s Anglican Church (Milton, P.E.I.), Reg. of baptisms. “Halifax shocked at loss of two distinguished citizens,” Halifax Mail, 19 June 1937: 5. R. B. Brown and S. S. Jones, “A collective biography of the Supreme Court judiciary of Nova Scotia, 1900–2000,” in The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, 1754–2004: from imperial bastion to provincial oracle, ed. Philip Girard et al. (Toronto, 2004), 204–42. Barry Cahill, “Howe (1835), Dixon (1920) and McLachlan (1923): comparative perspectives on the legal history of sedition,” Univ. of New Brunswick Law Journal (Fredericton), 45 (1996): 281–307. Harry Flemming, A century plus: McInnes Cooper and Robertson ([Halifax, 1989]). Philip Girard, “The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia: confederation to the twenty-first century,” in The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, 140–203. D. A. Kerr, “Another calamity: the litigation,” in Ground zero: a reassessment of the 1917 explosion in Halifax Harbour, ed. Alan Ruffman and C. D. Howell (Halifax, 1994), 365–75.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

R. Blake Brown, “MELLISH, HUMPHREY PICKARD WOLFGANG,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 22, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mellish_humphrey_pickard_wolfgang_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mellish_humphrey_pickard_wolfgang_16E.html
Author of Article: R. Blake Brown
Title of Article: MELLISH, HUMPHREY PICKARD WOLFGANG
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2014
Year of revision: 2014
Access Date: November 22, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MELLISH, HUMPHREY PICKARD WOLFGANG, professeur, avocat et juge, né le 13 mai 1862 sur le lot 50, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, dernier enfant de James Lewis Mellish et de Margaret Sophia Murray ; le 25 octobre 1898, il épousa à Springfield, comté de Kings, Nouveau-Brunswick, Margaret Mabel Wilmot White, cousine d’Albert Scott White, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 19 juin 1937 à Halifax.

James Lewis et Margaret Sophia Mellish étaient des fermiers peu fortunés de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Néanmoins, l’une de leurs filles, Mary*, devint une éducatrice influente à l’école de jeunes filles affiliée au Mount Allison College de Sackville, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et leur fils Humphrey Pickard Wolfgang fit ses études au Prince of Wales College de Charlottetown avant de fréquenter le Dalhousie College de Halifax. Il obtint une licence ès arts en 1882, puis étudia un certain temps à la University of London, où il fut admis au programme de spécialisation en 1883. Après son retour en Nouvelle-Écosse, il enseigna les mathématiques à la Pictou Academy de 1885 à 1888. En 1890, il reçut une licence de l’école de droit de la Dalhousie University, fondée depuis peu et dirigée par le doyen Richard Chapman Weldon*. Orateur de talent, Mellish prononça des discours d’adieu à ses deux cérémonies de remise des diplômes, en arts et en droit. En 1898, il épousa Margaret Mabel Wilmot White de Belleisle Creek, au Nouveau-Brunswick. De 1898 à 1902, il fut lieutenant en second dans le 66th Battalion of Infantry (Princess Louise Fusiliers).

Mellish avait effectué ses stages à Pictou sous la supervision de John Urquhart Ross, ainsi qu’à Halifax auprès du futur juge de la Cour suprême du Canada Edmund Leslie Newcombe, du cabinet Meagher, Drysdale, and Newcombe. Admis au barreau de la province en 1890, Mellish travailla dans différents cabinets d’avocats de Halifax. Il fut associé, entre autres, à Arthur Drysdale, qui deviendrait juge de la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et à Hector McInnes, qui avait été son prédécesseur à la Pictou Academy. Nommé conseiller du roi en 1904, Mellish occupa des postes élevés au sein du milieu juridique, dont celui de président de la Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society en 1912–1913. Il défendait des causes variées et mettait souvent ses talents d’orateur à profit en plaidant pour des entreprises clientes, dont la Dominion Coal Company Limited [V. Henry Melville Whitney*]. Il représenta les propriétaires du Mont blanc, navire ravitailleur en munitions, pendant l’enquête sur les causes de l’explosion de Halifax survenue le 6 décembre 1917. Son travail dans cette affaire serait cependant jugé plutôt médiocre par l’avocat et auteur Donald A. Kerr.

D’allégeance libérale, Mellish n’avait aucune intention de briguer un siège. Le 11 février 1918, le gouvernement d’union de sir Robert Laird Borden le nomma à la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Deux ans plus tard, le 13 octobre 1920, il fut désigné président d’une commission royale d’enquête sur le Provincial Highway Board. Malgré la preuve de politiques partisanes dans la gestion de l’organisme, la commission innocenta le gouvernement de George Henry Murray*. Mellish fut aussi juge local adjoint et juge local d’un tribunal maritime, respectivement en 1920 et 1921.

Les contemporains de Mellish le décrivaient comme un juge clément. Par exemple, après son décès, l’avocat James Edward Rutledge affirmerait que « celui qui avait peu de chances de gagner sa cause n’avait pas à s’inquiéter lorsque le juge Mellish siégeait au tribunal. C’était un homme juste. » La cause de Peter Petrovich Verigin, entendue en 1933, corrobore cette description. Verigin, deuxième chef des doukhobors au Canada [V. Peter Vasil’evich Verigin*], était emprisonné à Halifax et risquait d’être déporté vers l’Union soviétique parce que le gouvernement de Richard Bedford Bennett* craignait qu’il dirige secrètement les Fils de la liberté et soit un dangereux bolchevik. Les avocats de Verigin obtinrent de Mellish une ordonnance d’habeas corpus pour que leur client soit libéré.

Malgré l’opinion des contemporains de Mellish, les historiens ont été très critiques envers lui à cause des décisions contre le mouvement syndical. Dans les années 1920 et 1930, la lutte des classes perturbait les industries du charbon et de l’acier de la province [V. William Davis*]. Ces tensions débordèrent jusqu’à la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse, où plusieurs juges avaient des liens avec des entreprises, comme Robert Edward Harris, ancien président de la Nova Scotia Steel and Coal Company Limited, et Daniel Duncan McKenzie, qui avait été solicitor pour la même compagnie. Le 4 mars 1924, le député James Shaver Woodsworth* déclara à la Chambre des communes qu’on lui avait dit que « l’influence des entreprises sur les juges était si grande que les travailleurs consid[éraient] le tribunal comme une section d’entreprise ».

Mellish était particulièrement disposé à venir en aide à ses anciens clients. Le 25 juillet 1917, une catastrophe majeure survenue dans une mine de la Dominion Coal à New Waterford avait fait 65 morts. Mellish avait aidé à préparer la défense de la compagnie, accusée d’homicide involontaire, avant de devenir juge. Malgré cette relation passée, il présida le procès de 1918, dans lequel Hector McInnes, son ancien partenaire, plaidait pour la Dominion Coal, et ordonna un verdict de non-culpabilité. En 1922, Mellish aida de nouveau la compagnie, alors affiliée à la British Empire Steel Corporation Limited (Besco), en rejetant les arguments du syndicat en faveur d’une suspension de la décision unilatérale de réduire les salaires dans les mines de charbon du Cap-Breton jusqu’à ce qu’une commission fédérale puisse faire enquête.

La manière dont Mellish mena, en 1923, le procès pour sédition du dirigeant syndical James Bryson McLachlan, défenseur de mineurs et de métallurgistes qui se battaient pour obtenir des conditions de vie et des salaires décents, est tristement célèbre. La Besco avait fait en sorte que soit publiée dans le Morning Chronicle de Halifax (le 6 juillet) une lettre personnelle de McLachlan, dans laquelle il avait exhorté des membres du syndicat à lutter contre le gouvernement du premier ministre Ernest Howard Armstrong*. Le procès de McLachlan eut lieu à Halifax plutôt qu’à Sydney pour que le jury soit plus enclin à le condamner et le procureur général de la province, Walter Joseph Aloysius O’Hearn, dirigeait la poursuite. En décembre, McLachlan fut reconnu coupable de trois chefs d’accusation de sédition. Dans les directives qu’il adressa au jury, le juge fit bien comprendre qu’il n’était pas désintéressé. L’historien Barry Cahill décrirait la façon dont la cause fut traitée comme une « flagrante erreur judiciaire » ; il remettrait en question l’impartialité de Mellish parce que c’était son ancien cabinet d’avocats qui représentait la Besco et que McInnes siégeait au conseil d’administration de la compagnie.

Après avoir été victime d’attaques d’apoplexie pendant plusieurs années, Humphrey Pickard Wolfgang Mellish annonça qu’il prenait sa retraite en avril 1937. Il succomba à une hémorragie cérébrale le 19 juin, le jour même du décès de McInnes. Le Halifax Chronicle porta Mellish aux nues pour avoir mené « l’une des carrières juridiques les plus brillantes et utiles de l’histoire de la province », mais sa partialité en tant que juge dans les conflits de travail survenus en Nouvelle-Écosse entre les deux guerres assombrirait sa réputation de juriste habile.

R. Blake Brown

Mount Allison Univ. Arch. (Sackville, N.-B.), 5501 (R. C. Archibald papers), 6/4.— NSA, MG 100, vol. 188, no 24 (R. H. Graham, « Honourable Humphrey Mellish »).— PARO, St John’s Anglican Church (Milton, Î.-P.-É.), Reg. of baptisms.— « Halifax shocked at loss of two distinguished citizens », Halifax Mail, 19 juin 1937 : 5.— R. B. Brown et S. S. Jones, « A collective biography of the Supreme Court judiciary of Nova Scotia, 1900–2000 », dans The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, 1754–2004 : from imperial bastion to provincial oracle, Philip Girard et al., édit. (Toronto, 2004), 204–242.— Barry Cahill, « Howe (1835), Dixon (1920) and McLachlan (1923) : comparative perspectives on the legal history of sedition », Univ. of New Brunswick Law Journal (Fredericton), 45 (1996) : 281–307.— Harry Flemming, A century plus : McInnes Cooper and Robertson ([Halifax, 1989]).— Philip Girard, « The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia : confederation to the twenty-first century », dans The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia […], 140–203.— D. A. Kerr, « Another calamity : the litigation », dans Ground zero : a reassessment of the 1917 explosion in Halifax Harbour, Alan Ruffman et C. D. Howell, édit. (Halifax, 1994), 365–375.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

R. Blake Brown, « MELLISH, HUMPHREY PICKARD WOLFGANG », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 oct. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mellish_humphrey_pickard_wolfgang_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mellish_humphrey_pickard_wolfgang_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   R. Blake Brown
Titre de l'article:   MELLISH, HUMPHREY PICKARD WOLFGANG
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2014
Année de la révision:   2014
Date de consultation:   30 octobre 2014