DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

PADDON, HENRY LOCKE, physician and medical missionary; b. 9 Aug. 1881 in Thornton Heath (London), England, son of Henry Wadham Locke Paddon and Catherine Van Sommer; m. 1 Oct. 1913 Mina Gilchrist in Indian Harbour, Labrador, and they had four sons; d. 24 Dec. 1939 in Haverford, Pa.

Harry Paddon was endowed with missionary zeal from childhood. His mother died just after he was born and his father, a military pensioner, wore himself out with the care of four young children. Harry was sent to Wimbledon (London) with a sister to be raised by their devout grandfather, James Van Sommer. Soon afterwards he entered Woodbridge Grammar School in Suffolk. During the summer holidays at Sheringham, having declared at age eight his desire to become a missionary, he distributed religious pamphlets to local fishermen on behalf of the Children’s Special Service Mission. At 13 he moved on to Repton School, where he received a classical education and performed well at football and cricket. In 1900 he entered University College, Oxford, to read for a degree in history, but he did not graduate until 1906.

With Oxford behind him, Paddon spent some time with the North Sea fishing fleet as a missioner of the Royal National Mission to Deep Sea Fishermen, which fitted out hospital ships that could remain on station for weeks on end. This kind of practical Christianity suited his religiosity. It had also attracted Wilfred Thomason Grenfell, the mission’s first superintendent, who first took the society’s work to Newfoundland and the Labrador coast in 1892. Paddon, who had heard Grenfell talk at Repton, resolved to become a physician, and in the winter of 1907 he enrolled at St Thomas’s Hospital in London. Still a keen athlete, he captained its football team in 1908 and during the following cricket season bowled against St Bartholomew’s to win the Inter-Hospital Cup.

After passing the qualifying examinations in surgery and medicine, in February 1911 Paddon received confirmation of his appointment to the Guest Hospital in the West Midlands town of Dudley. He stood on the verge of a conventional medical career, but a year later he resigned. Moved by his experiences in the North Sea, he had accepted an invitation from the RNMDSF to work at its hospital in Indian Harbour on the Labrador coast.

Once in Labrador in 1912, Paddon faced a crisis in public health caused by a high incidence of tuberculosis and infant mortality. He nonetheless embraced the north and its physical challenges. The Labrador fishery brought him into contact with thousands of itinerant Newfoundlanders during the spring and summer. As they vanished at the end of the season, he adopted a pattern of work that would continue throughout his vigorous early years: he shifted inland in the fall to treat the white and mixed population of Lake Melville and, in the winter, crossed the northern part of Labrador by dog team to reach the coastal communities.

Soon after his arrival at Indian Harbour, Paddon was treated to the high intensity of Grenfell’s initial visit, which he later described:

Firing questions and suggestions like shrapnel, helping with an operation, holding an impromptu service for the patients,… inditing a few letters or writing a chapter of some book, sharing the griefs or joys of any fresh comer always with complete detachment from all other interests, trying out new fungi on reluctant ‘volunteers,’ preaching the gospel of brown flour to a septuagenarian widow while his own dinner cooled.… When [Grenfell] could think of nothing more to do or say, he breezed off forty miles up the inlet for a goose hunt.… A marsh with a hundred or so square miles of area, a river and legions of waterfowl, was his Mecca.

In return, Grenfell thought highly of his utterly committed, Latin-reading confrère.

Paddon’s life was transformed during this first summer when he met Mina Gilchrist, a nurse from New Brunswick. He had never allowed much time for romance, but by September 1912 he was ready to marry her; after waiting eight months while she filled in at Grenfell’s hospital at St Anthony, Nfld, he did so in 1913. Settling into family life, the couple took in the broader significance of their task as they moved between their summer station at Indian Harbour and the temporary inland hospital set up in an abandoned lumber camp at Mud Lake. Like Grenfell and other colonial physicians before him, Paddon was already looking beyond his immediate practice to investigate the social milieu of illness. At the end of a furlough in England in 1914–15, he transferred to the winter hospital in North West River, the hub of the Labrador fur trade.

By this time Paddon had a vision for social medicine. He was determined to treat Labradorians on their home ground. By the autumn of 1919, following the Spanish influenza epidemic, he and Henry Gordon, the Anglican priest at Cartwright, had raised sufficient money to build a residential school at Muddy Bay to accommodate orphaned children. Then, in 1921, Paddon took up permanent residence in the hospital at North West River and started to cultivate land for his own use and as an example to local people. To battle scurvy and malnutrition, which was a major killer of children, he promoted the consumption of vegetables, fresh berries, brown flour, and cod liver oil. He was just beginning to see some progress in the fight against nutritional diseases when, in early 1924 while he was in the United States to study and raise funds, the hospital was destroyed by fire. Despite the International Grenfell Association’s inclination to abandon North West River and consolidate its services at St Anthony – the Paddons always felt their work was poorly supported – Harry Paddon was determined to rebuild the hospital and did so by October.

In 1927 he developed another plan for social reform: a cottage system for the treatment of tuberculosis. Similar to his school project, which he had envisioned as small residences instead of dormitories, this scheme foresaw log houses with staff and patient quarters, each self-sufficient with goats, cod oil, chickens, gardens, and materials for making fishing nets, toys, needlework, and weaving. The Hudson’s Bay Company was to assist with the administration, and Paddon had found a donor in New England to help finance the project. A year later he brought into service the 60-ton hospital vessel Maraval for visiting coastal communities in the summer. In 1930 he took it up the Labrador coast as far as Nain, accompanied by an eye, ear, and throat specialist from Cincinnati, Ohio, and a doctor provided by the Moravian mission in Labrador, which normally resented the intrusions of Grenfell personnel.

Following Sir Wilfred Grenfell’s retirement as his mission’s figurehead in 1935 (he retained the superintendency), the new Commission of Government in Newfoundland [see Frederick Charles Munro Alderdice] moved to establish its role in rural health services. In effect, it gave the IGA jurisdiction in Labrador from Blanc-Sablon to Indian Harbour and over most of Newfoundland’s Northern Peninsula. With this decision, the Paddons were able to turn their attention to building their own house, but as they took up residence, new anxieties arose about the future of North West River. The commission, eager to develop a pulp mill, promised to grant a timber licence over a vast acreage in Labrador to Bowater-Lloyd, a British paper manufacturer. Paddon was alarmed by the development that might follow, including reports that the company would supply its own medical and educational facilities. Even after the agreement fell through, he remained concerned that his mission property might become a townsite.

In the autumn of 1939 Paddon left with Mina for a reunion with their sons in Pennsylvania, but he fell sick from a bacterial infection en route. He passed away on Christmas Eve, leaving his wife to return to North West River with his ashes and run the station throughout World War II. For her efforts she was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire. Their eldest son, William Anthony*, who served in the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve as a medical officer, returned after the war to continue his father’s practice. From 1981 to 1986 he held office as lieutenant governor of Newfoundland, including Labrador, where Harry Paddon had struggled so long without government attention of the most basic kind.

From his headquarters at North West River, Paddon had pioneered a range of innovations for the treatment of tuberculosis and deficiency diseases, and founded institutions for the development of educational and public life. By so doing, he became one of Labrador’s modern-day builders.


Ronald Rompkey

Henry Locke Paddon is the author of “Forty days with fleeters and single-boaters,” Toilers of the Deep: A Record of Mission Work amongst Them (London), 21 (1906): 236–37. His work in Labrador is chronicled in The Labrador memoir of Dr Harry Paddon, 1912–1938, ed. Ronald Rompkey (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2003).

Documents held in private archives were consulted for this biography. Raymond Lloyd (Tetbury, Eng.) holds two unpublished mss: Raymond Lloyd, “Jessie Marian Paddon, 1877–1958: the story of her forebears, background and early life” (1986) and J. M. Paddon (Lloyd), [Narrative of her early life, 1883–1902] (1947–54). Sheila Paddon (North West River, Labrador) holds Paddon family papers, and the family of Richard Locke Paddon Jr holds the Richard Paddon papers. Also consulted was MG 63 at RPA.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Ronald Rompkey, “PADDON, HENRY LOCKE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 22, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/paddon_henry_locke_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/paddon_henry_locke_16E.html
Author of Article: Ronald Rompkey
Title of Article: PADDON, HENRY LOCKE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2013
Year of revision: 2013
Access Date: November 22, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

PADDON, HENRY LOCKE, médecin et missionnaire, né le 9 août 1881 à Thornton Heath (Londres), fils de Henry Wadham Locke Paddon et de Catherine Van Sommer ; le 1er octobre 1913, il épousa à Indian Harbour, Labrador, Mina Gilchrist, et ils eurent quatre fils ; décédé le 24 décembre 1939 à Haverford, Pennsylvanie.

Henry Locke Paddon, surnommé Harry, fut animé d’un zèle missionnaire dès son enfance. Sa mère mourut juste après sa naissance et son père, pensionné de l’armée, s’épuisa à s’occuper de quatre jeunes enfants. Harry et l’une de ses sœurs furent envoyés à Wimbledon (Londres) afin que leur grand-père, James Van Sommer, homme dévot, se charge de les élever. Peu de temps après, Harry entra à la Woodbridge Grammar School, dans le Suffolk. Ayant exprimé à l’âge de huit ans son désir de devenir missionnaire, il distribuait des opuscules religieux aux pêcheurs de Sheringham pendant ses vacances d’été, au nom de la Children’s Special Service Mission. À l’âge de 13 ans, il accéda à la Repton School, où il fit des études classiques et excella au football et au cricket. En 1900, il entra au University College d’Oxford pour suivre une formation en histoire, mais il n’obtint son diplôme qu’en 1906.

Une fois Oxford derrière lui, Paddon passa quelque temps auprès de la flotte de pêche de la mer du Nord en tant que missionnaire de la Royal National Mission to Deep Sea Fishermen, qui équipait des navires-hôpitaux pouvant demeurer en service pendant des semaines. Ce type de pratique du christianisme était à la mesure de sa ferveur religieuse. Il avait aussi attiré Wilfred Thomason Grenfell, premier surintendant de la mission, qui, en 1892, avait été le premier à étendre les œuvres de l’organisme jusqu’à Terre-Neuve et sur la côte du Labrador. Paddon, qui avait entendu parler Grenfell à la Repton School, résolut de devenir médecin et, à l’hiver de 1907, il entra au St Thomas’s Hospital de Londres. Toujours passionné de sport, il fut capitaine de l’équipe de football de cet hôpital en 1908 et, au cours de la saison de cricket suivante, il affronta l’équipe du St Bartholomew’s Hospital et remporta l’Inter-Hospital Cup.

Après avoir obtenu sa qualification en chirurgie et en médecine, Paddon reçut confirmation, en février 1911, de sa nomination au Guest Hospital de la ville de Dudley, située dans les West Midlands. Il était sur le point d’entreprendre une carrière médicale classique, mais il démissionna un an plus tard. Remué par les expériences qu’il avait vécues en mer du Nord, il avait accepté une invitation de la Royal National Mission to Deep Sea Fishermen à travailler dans son hôpital d’Indian Harbour, sur la côte du Labrador.

Une fois installé au Labrador, en 1912, Paddon affronta une crise de santé publique causée par un nombre élevé de cas de tuberculose et de mortalité infantile. Néanmoins, il apprécia le Nord et ses exigences physiques. Les pêcheries du Labrador lui permirent d’entrer en contact avec des milliers de Terre-Neuviens itinérants durant le printemps et l’été. Lorsqu’ils partirent, à la fin de la saison, il adopta un mode de travail qu’il conserverait pendant ses premières années, où il était plein d’ardeur : à l’automne, il se déplaça vers l’intérieur des terres pour soigner la population blanche et métisse du lac Melville et, à l’hiver, il traversa le nord du Labrador en traîneau à chiens pour se rendre dans les villages côtiers.

Peu après son arrivée à Indian Harbour, Paddon eut droit à toute l’intensité de la première visite de Grenfell, qu’il décrivit ainsi :

[Il nous] bombard[ait] de questions et de suggestions, aid[ait] à [pratiquer] une opération, célébr[ait] un office improvisé pour les patients, [...] rédige[ait] des lettres ou écri[vait] un chapitre de quelque livre, partage[ait] les chagrins et les joies de chaque nouveau venu, toujours complètement détaché de tout autre centre d’intérêt, test[ait] de nouveaux champignons sur des « volontaires » réticents, prêch[ait] les vertus de la farine de blé entier à une veuve septuagénaire pendant que son propre repas refroidissait […] Lorsque [Grenfell] ne trouvait plus rien à faire ou à dire, il partait en coup de vent à quarante milles vers l’anse pour chasser l’oie [...] Sa Mecque était un marécage d’une superficie d’environ cent milles carrés, avec une rivière et d’innombrables oiseaux aquatiques.

En retour, Grenfell pensait le plus grand bien de son confrère entièrement dévoué, qui savait lire le latin.

Au cours de ce premier été, la vie de Paddon fut transformée lorsqu’il fit la connaissance de Mina Gilchrist, infirmière du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il n’avait jamais accordé beaucoup de temps à l’amour, mais dès septembre 1912, il était prêt à l’épouser ; c’est ce qu’il fit en 1913, après avoir attendu pendant huit mois qu’elle termine sa suppléance à l’hôpital de Grenfell, situé à St Anthony, à Terre-Neuve. Tout en s’installant dans sa vie de famille, le couple saisit toute l’étendue de sa tâche lorsqu’il se déplaça entre son poste d’été d’Indian Harbour et l’hôpital temporaire qui se trouvait à l’intérieur des terres, dans un camp de bûcherons abandonné de Mud Lake. Comme Grenfell et d’autres médecins coloniaux avant lui, Paddon allait déjà au delà du simple exercice de sa profession pour étudier le contexte social des maladies. À la fin d’un congé qu’il passa en Angleterre en 1914–1915, il alla travailler à l’hôpital d’hiver de North West River, centre de la traite des fourrures au Labrador.

Déjà à cette époque, Paddon avait une conception de la médecine sociale. Il était déterminé à traiter les Labradoriens sur leur territoire. Dès l’automne de 1919, à la suite de l’épidémie de grippe espagnole, Paddon et Henry Gordon, prêtre anglican à Cartwright, avaient amassé suffisamment d’argent pour construire un pensionnat à Muddy Bay afin d’y accueillir des orphelins. Puis, en 1921, Paddon s’installa en permanence à l’hôpital de North West River et commença à cultiver la terre pour son propre usage et pour donner l’exemple aux habitants de l’endroit. Pour combattre le scorbut et la malnutrition, une des principales causes de décès chez les enfants, il encouragea la consommation de légumes, de baies fraîches, de farine de blé entier et d’huile de foie de morue. À peine commençait-il à constater les progrès de sa lutte aux maladies de la nutrition que, au début de 1924, tandis qu’il se trouvait aux États-Unis pour étudier et trouver du financement, l’hôpital fut détruit par un incendie. Malgré le désir de l’International Grenfell Association d’abandonner North West River et de regrouper ses services à St Anthony – les Paddon eurent toujours le sentiment que leur travail recevait peu de soutien –, Harry Paddon était décidé à faire reconstruire l’hôpital ; il y parvint au mois d’octobre.

En 1927, Paddon élabora un nouveau plan de réforme sociale, qui consistait en un réseau de chalets destinés au traitement de la tuberculose. Semblable à son projet d’école, pour lequel il avait imaginé un ensemble de petites résidences plutôt que des dortoirs, ce plan prévoyait la construction de maisons en rondins comprenant des quartiers pour le personnel et pour les patients. Ces quartiers seraient autosuffisants et posséderaient chèvres, huile de morue, poulets et jardins, ainsi que le matériel nécessaire à la fabrication de filets de pêche et de jouets, aux travaux d’aiguille et au tissage. La Hudson’s Bay Company aiderait à l’administration, et Paddon avait trouvé en Nouvelle-Angleterre un donateur qui contribuerait financièrement au projet. Un an plus tard, il mit en service le Maraval, un navire-hôpital de 60 tonnes destiné à la visite des villages du littoral durant l’été. En 1930, Paddon remonta à son bord la côte du Labrador jusqu’à Nain en compagnie d’un spécialiste en soins des yeux, des oreilles et de la gorge venant de Cincinnati, en Ohio, et d’un médecin de la mission morave du Labrador, laquelle était généralement défavorable aux interventions du personnel de Grenfell.

En 1935, après la retraite de sir Wilfred Thomason Grenfell, qui était la figure de proue de sa mission et qui en demeura le surintendant, la nouvelle Commission de gouvernement de Terre-Neuve [V. Frederick Charles Munro Alderdice] prit des dispositions pour établir son rôle dans la prestation des services de santé ruraux. En fait, elle conféra à l’International Grenfell Association l’autorité sur le Labrador, depuis Blanc-Sablon, localité frontière du Québec, jusqu’à Indian Harbour, et sur presque toute la péninsule nord de Terre-Neuve. Grâce à cette décision, les Paddon purent tourner leur attention vers la construction de leur propre maison, mais lorsqu’ils y élurent domicile, d’autres inquiétudes surgirent concernant l’avenir de North West River. La commission, impatiente d’implanter une usine de pâte à papier, promit d’accorder un permis de coupe de bois sur une vaste superficie du Labrador à Bowater-Lloyd, fabricant de papier de Grande-Bretagne. Paddon s’alarma des changements qui pourraient s’ensuivre ; des rumeurs disaient notamment que la compagnie fournirait ses propres services médicaux et scolaires. Même après que cette entente fut tombée à l’eau, Paddon continua de craindre que les terrains de la mission ne se transforment en lotissement urbain.

À l’automne de 1939, Paddon et Mina partirent retrouver leurs fils en Pennsylvanie, mais Paddon contracta une infection bactérienne en chemin. Il mourut la veille de Noël ; sa femme retourna à North West River avec ses cendres et elle dirigea la mission pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ses efforts lui valurent le titre d’officier de l’ordre de l’Empire britannique. Son fils aîné, William Anthony*, qui servit dans la Réserve des volontaires de la Marine royale canadienne en tant que médecin militaire, revint après la guerre pour reprendre le travail de son père. De 1981 à 1986, il occupa la fonction de lieutenant-gouverneur de Terre-Neuve, qui comprenait le Labrador, où Harry Paddon s’était battu si longtemps sans obtenir la moindre attention du gouvernement.

De son quartier général de North West River, Henry Locke Paddon avait introduit de nombreuses innovations en matière de traitement de la tuberculose et des maladies de carence, et il fonda des établissements pour l’amélioration de l’éducation et de la vie publique. Ce faisant, il devint l’un des bâtisseurs des temps modernes du Labrador.


Ronald Rompkey

Henry Locke Paddon est l’auteur de « Forty days with fleeters and single-boaters », Toilers of the Deep : A Record of Mission Work amongst Them (Londres), 21 (1906) : 236–237. Son travail au Labrador est raconté dans The Labrador memoir of Dr Harry Paddon, 1912–1938, Ronald Rompkey, édit. (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2003).

Pour rédiger cette biographie, nous avons consulté des documents dans des archives privées. Raymond Lloyd (Tetbury, Angleterre) possède deux manuscrits non publiés : Raymond Lloyd, « Jessie Marian Paddon, 1877–1958 : the story of her forebears, background and early life » (1986) et J. M. Paddon (Lloyd), [Narrative of her early life, 1883–1902] (1947–1954). Sheila Paddon (North West River, Labrador) conserve des papiers de la famille Paddon et dans la famille de Richard Locke Paddon fils se trouvent les papiers de Richard Paddon. Nous les avons consultés, ainsi que RPA, MG 63.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Ronald Rompkey, « PADDON, HENRY LOCKE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 28 août 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/paddon_henry_locke_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/paddon_henry_locke_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Ronald Rompkey
Titre de l'article:   PADDON, HENRY LOCKE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2013
Année de la révision:   2013
Date de consultation:   28 août 2014