DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Émiliano Renaud / Dupras et Colas . - [Vers 1910]

Source: Link

RENAUD, ÉMILIANO (baptized Anthelme-Marie-Renaud-Alexandre-Émiliano), pianist, organist, teacher, and composer; b. 26 June 1875 in Saint-Jean-de-Matha, Que., son of Zotique (Zothique) Renaud, a law student, and Dorothée La Salle; d. unmarried 3 Oct. 1932 in Montreal and was buried there two days later in Notre-Dame-des-Neiges cemetery.

Émiliano Renaud’s family settled in Montreal in 1875. Émiliano discovered the piano through his mother, and then studied for two years with Paul Letondal, one of the pioneers of professional musical life in Quebec. He pursued, but did not complete, classical studies at the Collège Sainte-Marie (1886–87 and 1890–91) and the Petit Séminaire de Montréal (1889–90). At the same time, he was the organist and accompanist for the student choir in those institutions.

In 1892 Renaud obtained his first job in Church Point, N.S., as a piano teacher and parish choir leader. A year later he returned to Montreal for health reasons. His meeting with Dominique Ducharme, a renowned piano teacher and student of Letondal, would date from this period. Ducharme professed great admiration for the pianist Ignacy Jan Paderewski and introduced Renaud to his remarkable technique. In October 1896 Renaud left Montreal again, this time for Oswego, N.Y., where he was the church organist in the parish of St Mary. On 28 Jan. 1897, the day after his Montreal debut at the Young Men’s Christian Association, La Patrie was already calling him the Canadian Paderewski and predicting a promising future for him. That spring Renaud rounded out his studies in the city before departing for Vienna. Ducharme’s influence was not unconnected to Renaud’s decision to develop his talent in German-speaking countries rather than in Paris, the favourite destination of a number of artists from the province of Quebec. Renaud spent two years (1897–99) studying in Europe, first in Vienna and then in Berlin, under a disciple of Theodor Leschetizky, the former teacher of Paderewski.

On his return to Montreal in 1899 Renaud began a career as a concert artist: he appeared in recital as a soloist and as a chamber player with individual artists and prestigious groups such as the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal. He set new standards for the development of solo programs at a time when concerts were, for the most part, a collection of extracts played by several performers. Renaud introduced his own pieces as well as complete works by romantic composers such as Brahms, Chopin, Liszt, and Schumann, a repertoire that he played from memory and to which he would remain faithful throughout his entire life. The critics praised his technique and musicality, recognizing him as a true virtuoso. The day after his recital at Windsor Hall on 28 Sept. 1899, the music columnist for La Patrie paid this tribute: “He comes back to us, after going through the school that trained Paderewski and other great pianists, with considerable artistic knowledge. Those who have heard him are today unanimous in their appreciation of the exquisite style, the perfect technique, the intense feeling, the undeniable virtuosity of our young compatriot.”

The following year, on 20 April at Windsor Hall, Renaud gave the first performance of his concerto Concertstück with the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal. The next day a journalist from the Montreal Daily Star said of the evening: “He plays with virility and makes great bravoura effects.… In his composition, he has fulfilled the requirements of modern music thought, in that, he has had something to express of value and has expressed it with clearness and lucidity.”

On 22 Oct. 1901 Renaud, whose fame had already spread beyond Quebec’s borders, attracted notice when he made his debut at Toronto’s Massey Hall. His many successes on the country’s artistic scene and his collaboration with the faculty of the McGill Conservatorium of Music, founded in Montreal in 1904, prepared Renaud for his future career in the United States. For about five years (1907–11), he worked at the Indianapolis Conservatory of Music, first as a piano teacher and then as department head, temporarily setting aside his composing activities.

Around 1912, by which time he seems to have acquired a personal fortune, Renaud left the constraints of teaching to pursue a career as an independent artist, which was more in keeping with his temperament. He began composing again and moved to Boston, where he lived from 1912 to 1916 and where leading American publishers, such as the Oliver Ditson Company, undertook to publish his works. In 1912 he also accompanied Emma Calvé, a French star of the Metropolitan Opera in New York City, in a series of North American concerts, a tour that earned Renaud international status.

In 1917 the pianist decided to move to New York. He devoted himself to teaching – notably by founding his own conservatory – and to developing a method of learning piano by using records, without the need for an instructor. The Disk-phone piano method appeared in 1918, probably at the author’s expense. It was distributed again in 1920 under the name Renaud-phone piano method. The following year Renaud covered the cost of publishing it in French, under the original title. The method earned the approval of Paderewski and of the music critic of the New York Times, James Gibbons Huneker. This contribution to musical pedagogy furthered its democratization, a trend at that time.

Renaud returned to Quebec in 1921. He divided his professional life between giving concerts (some of which became the event of the artistic season), composing, collaborating as a performer and teacher at the radio station CKAC (for which he adapted his method in 30 lessons, a first in North America), and editing the monthly MusiCanada (1922–23). In 1924 he presented a series of three concerts at the prestigious Wigmore Hall in London, which would establish his reputation on British soil. When he died suddenly in Montreal on 3 Oct. 1932, the musical community lamented the loss of this highly esteemed musician.

As a composer, Renaud left a catalogue of some 50 works (a number of others are thought to have been lost), the majority for piano and voice, and a few pieces of chamber music, concert works, and two musical farces: Sandwich (1925) and its modified version, Djympko (1926). The English premiere of Djympko took place at Montreal’s Windsor Hall on 29 Nov. 1926. These compositions were not at all in keeping with the avant-garde or folkloric trends of Renaud’s time. He preferred to use the language of the 19th-century German composers.

At Windsor Hall on the evening of 17 Feb. 1930, several illustrious Canadian artists, including the tenor Rodolphe Plamondon and the violinist Émile Taranto, had joined with Renaud to perform his compositions. After Renaud’s death his works attracted little attention, apart from that of the famous contralto Sigrid Onégin, who would introduce into her repertoire the 1931 melody Le Pardon (which was dedicated to her), and that of the composer Eugène Lapierre, who would assemble the first catalogue of Renaud’s compositions in 1943. Many years would go by before they came to light again during a concert presented on 16 Oct. 1986 at the Université Laval as part of the International Year of Canadian Music.

Émiliano Renaud deserves an important place in Canada’s cultural landscape. Because of the diversity of his musical contributions, the quality of his programs, his remarkable performances, and his international reputation, he is considered to be the first virtuoso pianist from the province of Quebec.

Pascale-Andrée Bessette

The author wishes to thank Pierre Vachon, musicologist and director of civic impact and education at the Opéra de Montréal, for his preliminary research on Émiliano Renaud. The author also extends her gratitude to Monique Renaud, the artist’s niece, for the interview she granted on 17 Feb. 2011.

Further information concerning Renaud can be found in the author’s ma thesis, “Émiliano Renaud (1875–1932): premier pianiste-virtuose du Québec; interprète-pédagogue-compositeur” (univ. de Montréal, 2011).

Renaud’s works were published under different pseudonyms in the United States by American companies (the Oliver Ditson Company, White-Smith Music Publishing, New Music Publishing) and in Canada by Edmond Archambault*’s business, Nouveau Théâtre Musical, and the newspaper La Presse as well as in the magazine MusiCanada (Montréal). Some of his works also appeared in Canadian Musical Heritage Soc., The Canadian musical heritage (25v., Ottawa, 1983–99), 6 (Piano music II, 1986). Four of Renaud’s compositions were recorded on discs. Josephte Dufresne recorded his Prélude, fugue et choral. The manuscript of this work is not dated.

BANQ-CAM, CE605-S30, 1er juill. 1874, 27 juin 1875. LAC, R12142-0-8. Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., P365. Univ. Laval, Div. des arch., P269. Le Devoir, 18 févr. 1930, 20 oct. 1986. Gazette (Montreal), 4 Oct. 1932. Montreal Daily Star, 21 April 1900. Le Passe-Temps (Montréal), 17 mars 1900, 21 sept. 1918, octobre 1932. La Patrie, 28 janv. 1897, 3 oct. 1932. BCF. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). “Les Canadiens en Europe,” L’Art musical (Montréal), 3 (1898–99): 9. Dictionnaire biographique des musiciens canadiens (2e éd., Lachine [Montréal], 1935). E. [G.] Hesselberg, A review of music in Canada (New York and Toronto, [1912?]). L’heure canadienne, réalisation de Johanne Goyette (Radio-Canada broadcast, Montreal, 13 nov. 1988). Historica Canada, “The Canadian encyclopedia”: www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca (consulted 27 Jan. 2016). “Montréal,” L’Art musical, 1 (1896–97): 291. The musical red book of Montreal …, ed. B. K. Sandwell (Montreal, 1907). Franz Pazdírek, Universal-Handbuch der Musikliteratur/The universal handbook for musical literature (12v., Hilversum, Netherlands, 1967), 9. “Une invention canadienne: Huneker apprécie l’œuvre d’Émiliano Renaud,” Le Canada musical (Montréal), 3 (1919–20), no.2: 9. Vir, “Émiliano Renaud,” La Quinzaine musicale et artistique … ([Montréal]), 2 (1931–32): 41.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Pascale-Andrée Bessette, “RENAUD, ÉMILIANO (baptized Anthelme-Marie-Renaud-Alexandre-Émiliano),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 13, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/renaud_emiliano_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/renaud_emiliano_16E.html
Author of Article: Pascale-Andrée Bessette
Title of Article: RENAUD, ÉMILIANO (baptized Anthelme-Marie-Renaud-Alexandre-Émiliano)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: November 13, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

McVICAR, KATE – Volume XI (1881-1890)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2019

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Émiliano Renaud / Dupras et Colas . - [Vers 1910]

Provenance : Lien

RENAUD, Émiliano (baptisé Anthelme-Marie-Renaud-Alexandre-Émiliano), pianiste, organiste, pédagogue et compositeur, né le 26 juin 1875 à Saint-Jean-de-Matha, Québec, fils de Zotique (Zothique) Renaud, étudiant en droit, et de Dorothée La Salle ; décédé célibataire le 3 octobre 1932 à Montréal et inhumé le 5 dans cette ville au cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges.

La famille d’Émiliano Renaud s’installe à Montréal au cours de l’année 1875. Émiliano découvre le piano grâce à sa mère, puis poursuit sa formation durant deux ans auprès de Paul Letondal, l’un des pionniers de la vie musicale professionnelle au Québec. Il fait des études classiques, restées inachevées, au collège Sainte-Marie (1886–1887 et 1890–1891) et au petit séminaire de Montréal (1889–1890). Parallèlement, il est organiste accompagnateur du chœur des élèves dans ces établissements.

En 1892, Renaud obtient un premier emploi à Church Point, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en tant que professeur de piano et directeur de la chorale paroissiale. Il revient à Montréal un an plus tard pour des raisons de santé. Sa rencontre avec Dominique Ducharme, réputé professeur de piano et élève de Letondal, daterait de cette période. Ducharme voue une grande admiration au pianiste Ignacy Jan Paderewski et initie Renaud à sa remarquable technique. En octobre 1896, ce dernier quitte de nouveau Montréal, pour Oswego, dans l’État de New York, où il est organiste à l’église de la paroisse Sainte-Marie. Le 28 janvier 1897, le lendemain de ses débuts montréalais à la Young Men’s Christian Association, la Patrie le surnomme déjà le Paderewski canadien et lui prédit un avenir prometteur. Au printemps suivant, Renaud parfait sa formation dans la métropole avant son départ pour Vienne. L’influence de Ducharme n’est pas étrangère au fait que Renaud choisisse d’aller se perfectionner dans les pays germaniques plutôt qu’à Paris, destination favorite de plusieurs artistes de la province de Québec. Renaud séjourne deux ans (1897–1899) en Europe. Il étudie sous la direction d’une disciple de Theodor Leschetizky, l’ancien maître de Paderewski, d’abord à Vienne, puis à Berlin.

À son retour à Montréal en 1899, Renaud commence une carrière de concertiste : il se produit en récital comme soliste et comme chambriste auprès d’artistes et de formations prestigieuses tel l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Il établit de nouveaux standards dans l’élaboration de programmes solos à une époque où les concerts sont pour la plupart un assemblage d’extraits de pièces exécutés par plusieurs interprètes. Renaud propose ses propres compositions, ainsi que des œuvres entières de musiciens romantiques (Brahms, Chopin, Liszt et Schumann), répertoire qu’il joue de mémoire et auquel il restera fidèle toute sa vie. La critique louange sa technique et sa musicalité. Elle reconnaît en lui un véritable virtuose. Le lendemain de son récital présenté à la salle Windsor le 28 septembre 1899, le chroniqueur musical de la Patrie livre ce témoignage : « Il nous revient, après avoir passé par l’école qui a formé Paderewski et d’autres grands pianistes, avec un bagage artistique considérable. Ceux qui l’ont entendu n’ont aujourd’hui qu’une voix pour reconnaître le style exquis, la méthode parfaite, le sentiment intense, la virtuosité incontestable de notre jeune compatriote. »

L’année suivante, le 20 avril, à la salle Windsor, Renaud crée son œuvre concertante intitulée Concertstück en compagnie de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Le lendemain, un journaliste du Montreal Daily Star décrit ainsi la soirée : « Il joue avec virilité et de grands effets de bravoure [… Dans sa] composition[, il] remplit les exigences de la pensée musicale moderne en [ayant] quelque chose de valable à exprimer et [en le faisant] avec clarté et lucidité. »

Le 22 octobre 1901, Renaud, dont la renommée a déjà dépassé les frontières de la province de Québec, fait des débuts remarqués au Massey Hall de Toronto. Ses nombreux succès sur les scènes artistiques du pays et sa collaboration à l’équipe professorale du McGill Conservatorium of Music, fondé à Montréal en 1904, préparent Renaud à sa future carrière américaine. Pendant environ cinq années (1907–1911), il travaille à l’Indianapolis Conservatory of Music, aux États-Unis, d’abord comme professeur de piano, puis comme chef de département, mettant temporairement en veilleuse ses activités de compositeur.

Vers 1912, année à partir de laquelle il semble disposer d’une fortune personnelle, Renaud quitte les contraintes de l’enseignement pour poursuivre une carrière d’artiste indépendant, plus conforme à son tempérament. Il se remet à la composition et s’établit à Boston, où il demeure de 1912 à 1916 et où d’importants éditeurs américains, tels que Oliver Ditson Company, acceptent de publier ses œuvres. En 1912, il accompagne également Emma Calvé, vedette française du Metropolitan Opera à New York, dans une série de concerts. Cette tournée nord-américaine confère à Renaud un statut international.

En 1917, le pianiste choisit de s’installer à New York. Il se consacre à l’enseignement – notamment en fondant son propre conservatoire – et à l’élaboration d’une méthode d’apprentissage du piano à l’aide de disques, sans professeur. La Disk-phone piano method paraît en 1918, probablement à compte d’auteur. Elle est diffusée à nouveau en 1920, sous le titre Renaud-phone piano method. L’année suivante, Renaud la publie en français à compte d’auteur, sous le titre original. La méthode obtient l’assentiment de Paderewski et du critique musical du New York Times, James Gibbons Huneker. Cet apport à la pédagogie musicale contribue à sa démocratisation, phénomène en vogue à cette époque.

L’année 1921 ramène Renaud au Québec. Le musicien partage sa vie professionnelle entre les concerts (dont certains deviennent l’événement de la saison artistique), la composition, les collaborations comme interprète et pédagogue à la station radiophonique CKAC (pour qui il adapte sa méthode en 30 leçons, une première en Amérique !), et la direction du mensuel MusiCanada (1922–1923). En 1924, il donne une série de trois concerts au prestigieux Wigmore Hall de Londres qui consacreront son talent en sol britannique. À sa mort, survenue brusquement à Montréal le 3 octobre 1932, le milieu musical déplore la perte de ce musicien tant apprécié.

À titre de compositeur, Renaud a laissé un catalogue d’une cinquantaine d’œuvres (plusieurs autres auraient été égarées), en majorité pour le piano et la voix, quelques pièces de musique de chambre, des œuvres concertantes et deux farces musicales : Sandwich (1925) et sa version modifiée, Djympko (1926). La création en anglais de Djympko a eu lieu à la salle Windsor le 29 novembre 1926. Ces compositions ne s’inscrivent nullement dans les tendances avant-gardistes ou folkloriques du temps de Renaud, celui-ci préférant utiliser le langage des compositeurs allemands du xixe siècle.

D’illustres artistes canadiens se sont associés à Renaud pour présenter ses compositions, comme en témoigne la soirée du 17 février 1930, à la salle Windsor, à laquelle ont participé le ténor Rodolphe Plamondon et le violoniste Émile Taranto. Après la mort de Renaud, ses œuvres feront l’objet de peu d’attention, à l’exception de celle de Sigrid Onégin, célèbre contralto qui introduira à son répertoire la mélodie le Pardon (1931) (dont elle est la dédicataire), et de celle du compositeur Eugène Lapierre, qui en constituera un premier catalogue en 1943. Il faudra attendre ensuite plusieurs années pour qu’on les redécouvre, à l’occasion d’un concert présenté à l’université Laval le 16 octobre 1986, dans le cadre de l’Année internationale de la musique canadienne.

Émiliano Renaud mérite d’occuper une place importante dans notre paysage culturel, car la diversité de sa contribution musicale, la qualité de ses programmes, ses interprétations remarquables et son rayonnement international ont fait de lui le premier pianiste virtuose de la province de Québec.

Pascale-Andrée Bessette

Nous tenons à remercier Pierre Vachon, musicologue et directeur de la division Action sociale et éducation à l’Opéra de Montréal, pour ses recherches préliminaires sur Émiliano Renaud. Nous voulons également exprimer notre reconnaissance à Monique Renaud, nièce de l’artiste, pour l’entrevue qu’elle nous a accordée le 17 février 2011.

Nous recommandons au lecteur qui voudra en savoir davantage sur Renaud de consulter notre mémoire de maîtrise : « Émiliano Renaud (1875–1932) : premier pianiste-virtuose du Québec ; interprète-pédagogue-compositeur » (univ. de Montréal, 2011).

Les œuvres de Renaud ont été publiées aux États-Unis par les firmes Oliver Ditson Company, White-Smith Music Publishing et New Music Publishing, et au Canada par Edmond Archambault*, le Nouveau Théâtre musical et le journal la Presse, ainsi que dans la revue MusiCanada (Montréal) sous divers pseudonymes. Certaines ont aussi paru dans : Soc. pour le patrimoine musical canadien, le Patrimoine musical canadien (25 vol., Ottawa, 1983–1999), 6 (Musique pour piano II, 1986). Quatre de ses compositions ont fait l’objet d’enregistrements sur disques. Josephte Dufresne a enregistré son Prélude, fugue et choral, œuvre dont la partition manuscrite n’est pas datée.

BAC, R12142-0-8.— BAnQ-CAM, CE605-S30, 1er juill. 1874, 27 juin 1875.— Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., P365.— Univ. Laval, Div. des arch., P269.— Le Devoir, 18 févr. 1930, 20 oct. 1986.— Gazette (Montréal), 4 oct. 1932.— Montreal Daily Star, 21 avril 1900.— Le Passe-Temps (Montréal), 17 mars 1900, 21 sept. 1918, octobre 1932.— La Patrie, 28 janv. 1897, 3 oct. 1932.— BCF.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— « Les Canadiens en Europe », l’Art musical (Montréal), 3 (1898–1899) : 9.— Dictionnaire biographique des musiciens canadiens (2e éd., Lachine [Montréal], 1935).— E. [G.] Hesselberg, A review of music in Canada (New York et Toronto, [1912 ?]).— L’Heure canadienne, réalisation de Johanne Goyette (émission de la Société Radio-Canada, Montréal, 13 nov. 1988).— Historica Canada, « l’Encyclopédie canadienne » : www.encyclopediecanadienne.ca/fr (consulté le 27 janv. 2016).— « Montréal », l’Art musical, 1 (1896–1897) : 291.— The musical red book of Montreal [...], B. K. Sandwell, édit. (Montréal, 1907).— Franz Pazdírek, Universal-Handbuch der Musikliteratur/Manuel universel de la littérature musicale (12 vol., Hilversum, Pays-Bas, 1967), 9.— « Une invention canadienne : Huneker apprécie l’œuvre d’Émiliano Renaud », le Canada musical (Montréal), 3 (1919–1920), no 2 : 9.— Vir, « Émiliano Renaud », la Quinzaine musicale et artistique [...] ([Montréal]), 2 (1931–1932) : 41.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Pascale-Andrée Bessette, « RENAUD, ÉMILIANO (baptisé Anthelme-Marie-Renaud-Alexandre-Émiliano) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 nov. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/renaud_emiliano_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/renaud_emiliano_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Pascale-Andrée Bessette
Titre de l'article:   RENAUD, ÉMILIANO (baptisé Anthelme-Marie-Renaud-Alexandre-Émiliano)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   20 novembre 2019