DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Joseph-Avila Roch, vers 1930. Avec l’aimable autorisation des Archives de la société des Missions étrangères.

Courtesy of Archives de la Société des Missions Étrangères

Source: Link

ROCH, JOSEPH-AVILA, Roman Catholic priest, teacher, and first superior of the Société des Missions Étrangères de la Province de Québec and of its seminary; b. 20 June 1875 in Saint-Norbert, Que., son of Clément Roch, a farmer, and Marie-Délia Laporte; d. 21 Dec. 1940 in Montreal.

Joseph-Avila Roch was the eldest son in a family of 12 children, 3 of whom would become priests and 2, nuns. Following his classical studies at the Collège Joliette (1889–97), where he distinguished himself through his oratorical gifts and leadership qualities, he entered the Grand Séminaire de Montréal in 1897. He returned to the Collège Joliette in 1899 as a teacher and monitor while continuing his theological studies. Ordained priest in Montreal on 1 June 1901 by the archbishop of Montreal, Paul Bruchési, he was appointed curate of the parish of Sainte-Geneviève-de-Berthier, which would become part of the diocese of Joliette, established in 1904. On the recommendation of the Sulpicians, who were in charge of the Grand Séminaire de Montréal, he was sent by Archbishop Bruchési to the College of the Sacred Congregation of Propaganda in Rome in October 1902. There he obtained two doctorates, one in theology in 1904 and one in canon law the following year.

In 1905 Roch returned to Canada and began teaching philosophy and theology at the Séminaire de Joliette, known until the previous year as the Collège Joliette. According to the accounts of his former students, he was well regarded as a teacher for his clear and methodical instruction. His clerical education and his upbringing had instilled in him not only respect for authority, but also familiarity with human relationships and a sense of obligation and loyalty, which moderated his rather impetuous nature. As a valued adviser to his bishop, Guillaume Forbes, Roch was appointed canon on 8 Dec. 1914. Of all the tasks he would undertake throughout his life, teaching would always be his favourite. It was owing to his sense of duty, therefore, that, in 1918, he answered the call from Bishop Forbes, who asked him to become the curé of the cathedral of Saint-Charles-Borromée in Joliette. In his parish he dedicated himself to a mission of reconciliation and spiritual renewal by holding closed retreats. Through his concern for the poor and the sick he soon became attached to his parishioners, but his presence in the cathedral would be of short duration.

Shortly after the end of World War I, faced with the disastrous state of the Catholic missions, which were suffering from a shortage of personnel and material resources, Pope Benedict XV called for a missionary renewal in his encyclical of 30 Nov. 1919. In response to this appeal, in which the creation of seminaries for missions was given priority, the French Canadian episcopate decided on a local initiative to increase the participation of the secular clergy in foreign missions. Rather than limiting their efforts to providing new recruits for missionary institutes of European origin, the bishops wanted to establish their own mission seminary. In pursuing this objective they were of one mind with Délia Tétreault*, the founder of the Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, who had been promoting a new mission seminary for several years.

On 2 Feb. 1921, therefore, the bishops of the province of Quebec decided to establish such a seminary and to set it up in the archdiocese of Montreal [see François-Xavier Brunet*]. They entrusted the implementation of the undertaking to an episcopal committee chaired by Paul-Eugène Roy*, coadjutor archbishop of Quebec; Bishop Forbes was the secretary. Dreaming of a return to teaching, Roch offered his services as professor of theology in the future seminary. On 12 May the bishops named him, instead, the first superior of their new institution, a role involving practical organizational work that held little appeal for Canon Roch. Although these new responsibilities disrupted his plans, he deferred once again to his sense of duty as well as to the conviction that he was serving a cause of utmost importance to the French Canadian church.

Under the authority of the episcopal committee, Canon Roch set to work, taking on two assistants, the abbés Louis-Adelmar Lapierre of Montreal and Clovis Rondeau of Joliette. By the autumn of 1921 the trio had moved into the former presbytery of the parish of Sainte-Madeleine, in Outremont (Montreal), which had been provided by the Clerics of St Viator. They devoted the winter to promoting the cause in the parishes and colleges of the province, fund-raising among the clergy, and searching for a piece of land on which to build the new seminary. The Société des Missions Étrangères de la Province de Québec was incorporated by provincial statute on 8 March 1922. The goals of this body, which had a board of directors consisting of four bishops, were to ensure, among other things, the training of the secular clergy as missionaries and the promotion of their participation in Catholic missions abroad, especially in the Far East. The seminary would therefore become the cornerstone of this initiative of the French Canadian episcopate.

Under the authority of the society’s board of directors, Roch proceeded, on 27 April 1922, to purchase a lot on the banks of the Rivière des Prairies at Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval), in the region that would become the municipality of Pont-Viau (Laval) in 1926. The construction of the seminary, watched over by Roch and paid for by the day, lasted for more than a year. The canon and his colleagues took possession of the building on 27 Feb. 1924, and in September the new institution opened its doors to 7 priests and 15 seminarians.

In addition to his duties as superior, procurator, and teacher of Holy Scripture at the seminary, Roch took on the responsibility of organizing, for diocesan priests, the Société des Missions Étrangères, which the new missionaries would join. Thus, on 6 Jan. 1925 the coadjutor archbishop of Montreal, Georges Gauthier, canonically established the society, as well as its seminary, and approved their respective regulations for three years. On 1 June Canon Roch and 12 colleagues took the vow of stability for three years. The first missionaries were sent off on 11 September when abbés Lapierre, Eugène Bérichon, and Léo Lomme departed for the society’s first mission in Manchuria (People’s Republic of China).

Roch continued his organizational work by going to Rome in 1927 to present the society’s constitutions to the Sacred Congregation of Propaganda, which would approve them in 1929. On 8 May 1928 the society’s directors set up the first council for the internal governance of the seminary. As the seminary’s superior general, Roch worried about the new missionaries he was sending so far away, with all the accompanying dangers of disease, accidents, and death. He was also anxious about their first tasks in the mission field and the material support that he would have to provide for them, although he had few resources, especially during the Great Depression of the 1930s. In addition to having collaborated from 1925 with the Union Missionnaire du Clergé, and then with the Œuvre de la Sainte-Enfance, he built up a network of benefactors to support the society he headed.

In August 1932, at the first chapter meeting of the Société des Missions Étrangères, Roch’s leadership was confirmed when he was elected superior general. In the fall of 1935 he travelled to Manchuria to visit the vicariate apostolic of Szepingkai, entrusted to the society by Pope Pius XI in 1929, where 45 of its members were working. In April 1937 a second mission territory in Asia was approved, in the Philippines, and in May the vicariate of Szepingkai was divided in order to create the new prefecture apostolic of Lintong. However, the burden of illness was weighing more and more heavily on Roch. In view of his declining health, the society, at its second chapter meeting in July 1938, elected Edgar Larochelle, a missionary in Manchuria, to replace him.

After two years of sickness and diminishing activity in the seminary he had built, Canon Joseph-Avila Roch died on 21 Dec. 1940. Of this man of duty, who had always been close to the hundred or so missionaries he had gathered together and organized in less than 20 years, his successor said the following, reported in 1941 in Missions étrangères de Québec: “Canon Roch worked himself to death for our Society. It is he who has made it what it is and who has given it what it has. We will never be able to fully appreciate the sacrifices that he made for us.”

Bertrand Roy

Joseph-Avila Roch is the author of, among other works, “Le Séminaire des Missions-Étrangères de la province de Québec,” in La semaine missionnaire de Montréal (Montréal, 1931), 241–50.

Arch. Foreign Missions Soc. of the Prov. of Que. (Laval, Que.), Acte de sépulture de J.‑A. Roch, 24 déc. 1940; Donat Chaumont, “Biographie de monsieur le chanoine Joseph-Avila Roch” (mimeographed text, n.p., n.d.); Clovis Rondeau, “Biographie de M. le chanoine Joseph-Avila Roch, p.m.é., premier supérieur général” (typescript, Pont-Viau [Laval], 1955). BANQ-CAM, CE605-S35, 20 juin 1875. L’Action catholique (Québec), 4 janv. 1941. Le Devoir, 23, 24 déc. 1940. Jules Bernard, “Les débuts de la Société des Missions-Étrangères de la province de Québec,” CCHA, Sessions d’étude, 38 (1971): 31–54. Foreign Missions Soc. of the Prov. of Que., “History”: www.smelaval.org/?page_id=2347&lang=en (consulted 22 Dec. 2016). Que., Statutes, 1922, c.132. Clovis Rondeau, “Notice biographique,” Missions étrangères du Québec (Pont-Viau), 1 (1941), no.2: I–VIII. Nérée Turcotte, “Force et loyauté,” Missions étrangères (Laval), 15 (1971), no.2: 29.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Bertrand Roy, “ROCH, JOSEPH-AVILA,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 19, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/roch_joseph_avila_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/roch_joseph_avila_16E.html
Author of Article: Bertrand Roy
Title of Article: ROCH, JOSEPH-AVILA
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: November 19, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

PELLETIER, WILFRID – Volume XXI (1981-1990)

né le 20 juin 1896 dans la paroisse Sacré-Cœur-de-Jésus, Montréal

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Joseph-Avila Roch, vers 1930. Avec l’aimable autorisation des Archives de la société des Missions étrangères.

Avec l’aimable autorisation des Archives de la société des Missions étrangères.

Provenance : Lien

ROCH, JOSEPH-AVILA, prêtre catholique, professeur et premier supérieur du séminaire et de la société des Missions étrangères de la province de Québec, né le 20 juin 1875 à Saint-Norbert, Québec, fils de Clément Roch, cultivateur, et de Marie-Délia Laporte ; décédé le 21 décembre 1940 à Montréal.

Joseph-Avila Roch est le fils aîné d’une famille de 12 enfants qui comptera 3 prêtres et 2 religieuses. Après ses études classiques au collège Joliette (1889–1897), où il se distingue par ses dons oratoires et ses qualités de leader, il entre au grand séminaire de Montréal en 1897. Il revient au collège Joliette en 1899 comme professeur et surveillant, tout en continuant ses études théologiques. Ordonné prêtre à Montréal le 1er juin 1901 par Mgr Paul Bruchési, archevêque de Montréal, il est nommé vicaire de la paroisse Sainte-Geneviève-de-Berthier, qui fera partie du diocèse de Joliette érigé en 1904. Sur recommandation des sulpiciens, responsables du grand séminaire de Montréal, il est envoyé par Mgr Bruchési au collège de la Sacrée Congrégation de la propagande à Rome en octobre 1902. Il y obtient deux doctorats : un en théologie en 1904 et un en droit canonique l’année suivante.

En 1905, Roch revient au Canada et enseigne dès lors la philosophie et la théologie au séminaire de Joliette, nom qu’a pris le collège Joliette l’année précédente. Selon les témoignages de ses anciens élèves, il est un professeur apprécié pour son enseignement clair et méthodique. Son éducation familiale et cléricale lui a appris le respect de l’autorité, mais aussi la familiarité des rapports humains, et un sens du devoir et de la loyauté qui modère son caractère plutôt impétueux. Conseiller estimé de son évêque, Mgr Guillaume Forbes, Roch est nommé chanoine le 8 décembre 1914. Parmi les fonctions qu’il assumera au cours de sa vie, celle de professeur aura toujours sa préférence. Ainsi, c’est par sens du devoir qu’il répond, en 1918, à l’appel de Mgr Forbes, qui lui demande de devenir curé de la cathédrale Saint-Charles-Borromée, à Joliette. Il se consacre dans sa paroisse à un travail de réconciliation et de renouveau spirituel par l’œuvre des retraites fermées. Son souci des pauvres et des malades l’attache vite à ses paroissiens, mais sa présence à la cathédrale sera de courte durée.

Au lendemain de la Première Guerre mondiale, devant l’état désastreux des missions catholiques, souffrant du manque de personnel et de ressources matérielles, le pape Benoît XV invite à un renouveau missionnaire dans sa lettre encyclique du 30 novembre 1919. En réponse à cet appel, où la fondation de séminaires pour les missions reçoit la priorité, l’épiscopat canadien-français favorise une initiative locale pour développer la participation du clergé séculier aux missions étrangères. Au lieu de se limiter à offrir de nouvelles recrues à des instituts missionnaires d’origine européenne, les évêques veulent établir leur propre séminaire des missions. Ils rejoignent ainsi le désir de Délia Tétreault*, fondatrice des Sœurs missionnaires de l’Immaculée-Conception, qui fait la promotion de ce projet depuis plusieurs années.

Le 2 février 1921, les évêques de la province de Québec décident donc de créer un séminaire des missions et de l’installer dans l’archidiocèse de Montréal [V. François-Xavier Brunet*]. Ils en confient la mise en œuvre à un comité épiscopal présidé par Mgr Paul-Eugène Roy*, coadjuteur de l’archevêque de Québec ; Mgr Forbes en est le secrétaire. Rêvant d’un retour à l’enseignement, Roch offre ses services comme professeur de théologie dans le futur séminaire. Le 12 mai, les évêques le nomment plutôt premier supérieur du séminaire des missions qu’ils viennent de fonder, ce qui implique un travail d’organisation matérielle pour lequel le chanoine Roch a peu d’attrait. Ces nouvelles fonctions bouleversent ses plans, mais son sens du devoir l’emporte encore une fois, ainsi que la conviction d’être utile à une œuvre prioritaire de l’Église canadienne-française.

Sous l’autorité du comité épiscopal, le chanoine Roch s’attelle à la tâche en s’associant deux collaborateurs, les abbés Louis-Adelmar Lapierre de Montréal et Clovis Rondeau de Joliette. Dès l’automne de 1921, le trio s’installe dans l’ancien presbytère de la paroisse Sainte-Madeleine, à Outremont (Montréal), offert par les Clercs de Saint-Viateur, et consacre l’hiver à un travail de propagation dans les paroisses et les collèges de la province, de collecte de fonds auprès du clergé, et de recherche d’un terrain pour construire le nouveau séminaire. Le 8 mars 1922, une loi provinciale constitue la société des Missions étrangères de la province de Québec en corporation civile. L’objectif de cette corporation, dont quatre évêques composent le conseil d’administration, est d’assurer, entre autres, la formation missionnaire du clergé séculier et de promouvoir sa participation aux missions catholiques à l’étranger, spécialement en Extrême-Orient. Le séminaire tiendra donc lieu de pierre angulaire de cette œuvre de l’épiscopat canadien-français.

Mandaté par le conseil d’administration de la société, Roch procède, le 27 avril 1922, à l’achat d’un terrain situé sur le bord de la rivière des Prairies à Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval), dans le secteur qui deviendra la municipalité de Pont-Viau (Laval) en 1926. Les travaux de construction du séminaire, exécutés sous l’œil de Roch et payés à la journée, durent plus d’une année. Avec ses collaborateurs, le chanoine prend possession de l’édifice le 27 février 1924. En septembre, le nouveau séminaire accueille 7 prêtres et 15 séminaristes.

À ses fonctions de supérieur, de procureur et de professeur d’Écriture sainte au séminaire, Roch ajoute l’organisation de l’institut de prêtres diocésains pour les missions auquel se joindront les nouveaux missionnaires. Le 6 janvier 1925, Mgr Georges Gauthier, coadjuteur de l’archevêque de Montréal, érige canoniquement la société des Missions étrangères de la province de Québec, ainsi que son séminaire, et en approuve les règlements respectifs pour trois ans. Le 1er juin, le chanoine Roch et 12 confrères prononcent le serment de stabilité pour trois ans. Le premier envoi missionnaire a lieu le 11 septembre. Les abbés Lapierre, Eugène Bérichon et Léo Lomme partent vers la première mission de la société en Mandchourie (république populaire de Chine).

Roch poursuit son travail d’organisation en se rendant à Rome, en 1927, en vue de présenter les constitutions de la société à la Sacrée Congrégation de la propagande, qui les cautionnera en 1929. Le 8 mai 1928, les administrateurs de la société forment le premier conseil pour la régie interne du séminaire, où Roch agit comme supérieur général. À ce titre, ce dernier se fait du souci pour les nouveaux missionnaires qu’il envoie au loin avec tous les risques de maladies, d’accidents et de décès que cela comporte. Il s’inquiète de leurs premières œuvres en mission et du soutien matériel qu’il doit leur assurer avec peu de ressources, surtout durant la crise économique des années 1930. En plus de sa participation depuis 1925 à l’Union missionnaire du clergé, puis à l’Œuvre de la Sainte-Enfance, il bâtit un réseau de bienfaiteurs pour appuyer la société dont il a la charge.

En août 1932, le premier chapitre de la société des Missions étrangères confirme les qualités de chef de Roch en l’élisant supérieur général. À l’automne de 1935, ce dernier se rend en Mandchourie pour visiter le vicariat apostolique de Szepingkai, que le pape Pie XI a confié à la société en 1929 et où 45 membres de la société travaillent. En avril 1937, un deuxième territoire de mission en Asie est accepté aux Philippines et, en mai, le vicariat de Szepingkai est divisé pour créer la nouvelle préfecture apostolique de Lintong. Cependant, Roch ressent de plus en plus le poids de la maladie. En juillet 1938, sa santé déclinante conduit le deuxième chapitre de la société à élire Edgar Larochelle, missionnaire en Mandchourie, pour le remplacer.

Après deux années de maladie et d’effacement vécues dans le séminaire qu’il a bâti, le chanoine Joseph-Avila Roch meurt le 21 décembre 1940. De cet homme de devoir, toujours proche de la centaine de missionnaires qu’il a rassemblés et organisés en moins de 20 ans, son successeur, dont les propos seront repris en 1941 dans Missions étrangères du Québec, dit ceci : « Monsieur le chanoine Roch s’est tué au service de notre Société. C’est lui qui l’a faite ce qu’elle est et qui lui a donné ce qu’elle a. Nous ne pourrons jamais apprécier à leur juste valeur les sacrifices qu’il s’est imposés pour nous. »

Bertrand Roy

Joseph-Avila Roch est notamment l’auteur de l’article suivant : « le Séminaire des Missions-Étrangères de la province de Québec », dans la Semaine missionnaire de Montréal (Montréal, 1931), 241–250.

Arch. de la soc. des Missions étrangères de la prov. de Québec (Laval, Québec), Acte de sépulture de J.-A. Roch, 24 déc. 1940 ; Donat Chaumont, « Biographie de monsieur le chanoine Joseph-Avila Roch » (texte ronéotypé, s.l.n.d.) ; Clovis Rondeau, « Biographie de M. le chanoine Joseph-Avila Roch, p.m.é., premier supérieur général » (texte dactylographié, Pont-Viau [Laval], 1955).— BAnQ-CAM, CE605-S35, 20 juin 1875.— L’Action catholique (Québec), 4 janv. 1941.— Le Devoir, 23–24 déc. 1940.— Jules Bernard, « les Débuts de la société des Missions-Étrangères de la province de Québec », SCHEC, Sessions d’étude, 38 (1971) : 31–54.— Québec, Statuts, 1922, c.132.— Clovis Rondeau, « Notice biographique », Missions étrangères du Québec (Pont-Viau), 1 (1941), no 2 : i–viii.— Soc. des Missions étrangères, « Histoire » : www.smelaval.org/?page_id=66 (consulté le 22 déc. 2014).— Nérée Turcotte, « Force et Loyauté », Missions étrangères (Laval), 15 (1971), no 2 : 29.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Bertrand Roy, « ROCH, JOSEPH-AVILA », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 juin 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/roch_joseph_avila_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/roch_joseph_avila_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Bertrand Roy
Titre de l'article:   ROCH, JOSEPH-AVILA
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   20 juin 2019