DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

SHADD, MARY ANN CAMBERTON (Cary), educator, abolitionist, author, publisher, and journalist; b. 9 Oct. 1823 in Wilmington, Del., daughter of Abraham Doras Shadd and Harriet Parnell; m. 3 Jan. 1856 Thomas Fauntleroy Cary (d. 1860) in St Catharines, Upper Canada, and they had one son and one daughter; d. 5 June 1893 in Washington, D.C.

The eldest child of a prominent black abolitionist, Mary Ann Camberton Shadd was ten when her family left Wilmington for West Chester, Pa, where she was educated at a Quaker boarding-school. After six years of schooling, the 16-year-old Mary Ann returned to Wilmington, where she organized a school for black youths. From 1839 to 1850 she taught, first at the Wilmington school and subsequently at black schools in New York City, Trenton, N.J., and West Chester and Norristown, Pa, everywhere echoing her father’s view that education, thrift, and hard work were the means by which blacks could achieve racial parity, and thus integration, in America. These views appear in Hints to the colored people of the North, a 12-page pamphlet Mary Ann published in 1849 that pointed to the folly of blacks imitating the conspicuous materialism of whites. In accordance with the legacy of her father’s political activism, Mary Ann implored blacks to take the initiative in anti-slavery reform without waiting for whites to provide beneficence or support. Shadd, only in her mid 20s, had thus gained considerable recognition by articulating what would become her perennial themes: black independence and self-respect.

Shadd’s prominence was truly established, however, when she became a leader and spokesperson for the black refugees who had fled from the United States to Upper Canada after the passage of the Fugitive Slave Act in 1850. Believing that she could help these black emigrants, in the fall of 1851 Shadd moved to Windsor, where she opened a school with the support of the American Missionary Association. Although her relations with other black leaders in Canada were initially friendly, she was soon embroiled in a feud with Henry Walton Bibb*. Shadd supported the complete integration of blacks and opposed segregated communities such as those of the Refugee Home Society, with which Bibb was closely connected. She also objected to the society’s “begging” for funds and she went on to question Bibb’s financial gain through his involvement with the society. For his part, Bibb asked in his newspaper, the Voice of the Fugitive, why Shadd had not made her grant from the AMA known to the parents of her pupils. The dispute was injurious to both parties and in January 1853 the AMA, ostensibly because it objected to Shadd’s evangelical religious views, withdrew its support for her school.

Shadd was now writing more extensively. In the summer of 1852 she had published A plea for emigration, a pamphlet in which she sought to encourage American blacks to immigrate to Canada and simultaneously attacked the growing separatist philosophy of Canadian blacks. Despite the widespread circulation of this pamphlet, Shadd desired a continuing medium through which she could disseminate her beliefs. In early 1853, with the timely help of fellow black abolitionist Samuel Ringgold Ward*, Shadd published the first edition of the Provincial Freeman. Proclaimed editor of this bold venture, Ward only lent his name to the newspaper to generate interest and subscriptions. Although Shadd had no official title or position, she nevertheless represented the driving force behind the new enterprise. Staunchly assimilationist in tenor, the first issue appeared in March. Publication was then suspended for a year while Shadd travelled in the United States and Canada on a lecture tour to raise money for her fledgling endeavour.

By March 1854 she had found sufficient support for the Provincial Freeman to resume publication. With the motto “Self-Reliance is the True Road to Independence,” the Freeman, now based in Toronto, began appearing on a regular basis. Shadd used her newspaper to comment on all aspects of black life in Canada, but she focused especially on problems of racial discrimination and segregation. She assailed anyone, blacks and whites alike, who sought to compromise with slavery, and she particularly castigated her fellow blacks who were prepared to accept second-class status. She reserved her greatest vituperation, however, for self-segregated black settlements: to her, these settlements only fostered discrimination, and she urged blacks to seek assimilation into Canadian society. John Scoble* and Josiah Henson* of the Dawn settlement were pilloried almost as exhaustively as Bibb, while grudging approval was granted to the Elgin settlement under William King.

Regular publication of the Freeman was interrupted several times because of financial problems. On 30 June 1855 William P. Newman became editor, though Shadd may well have remained a powerful background force, and the paper was moved to Chatham. In January 1856 Shadd married black businessman Thomas Cary and that May she returned to the Freeman as one of its three editors. After 1856, however, it appeared only sporadically and by 1859, when the financial burden had become too debilitating, publication ceased entirely.

In the wake of the Freeman’s demise, Shadd remained in Chatham and returned to teaching. Yet she watched with great interest as the sectional crisis intensified in the United States. Her hope for the destruction of slavery in the impending conflict had been heightened by John Brown’s arrival in Canada in the spring of 1858. Part of a group that met with Brown, Shadd became privy to the visionary’s intended plans. Another member of the group, Osborne Perry Anderson, a young black, was so taken with Brown that he joined him at Harpers Ferry in October 1859 and survived the raid to record his memoirs in A voice from Harpers Ferry, edited and prepared for publication by Shadd in 1861.

Through the early years of the Civil War, Shadd continued to teach in an interracial school in Chatham. But she soon grew tired of watching the conflict from a distance. Anxious to assist in the Northern war effort, in late 1863 she accepted an invitation from Martin Robinson Delany to serve as an enlistment recruiter; she returned to the United States to participate in the recruitment programs of several states. Shadd agonized over whether to remain in the United States after Appomattox. She finally concluded that she could best serve her people by remaining to help with the education and assimilation of the millions of newly emancipated blacks. Toward this end, in July 1868 she obtained an American teaching certificate and taught briefly in Detroit before relocating in Washington, D.C. Supporting herself by teaching, she would eventually receive a law degree from Howard University in 1883.

Shadd continued to participate in both civil rights and equal rights movements in the United States, returning to Canada only briefly, in 1881, to organize a suffragist rally. Enfeebled by rheumatism and cancer, she died in the summer of 1893.

Jason H. Silverman

Mary Ann Camberton Shadd is the author of Hints to the colored people of the North (Wilmington, Del., 1849) and A plea for emigration: or, notes of Canada West, in its moral, social, and political aspect . . . for the information of colored emigrants (Detroit, 1852). Her edition of Osborne Perry Anderson’s memoirs was published in Boston in 1861 as A voice from Harpers Ferry: a narrative of events at Harpers Ferry; with incidents prior and subsequent to its capture by Captain Brown and his men.

Amistad Research Center Library, Tulane Univ. (New Orleans), American Missionary Assoc. Arch., Mary Shadd Cary papers; Canadian files, 1846–78, Mary Shadd Cary papers (mfm. at AO). AO, MS 483 (mfm.). Moorland-Spingarn Research Center Library, Howard Univ. (Washington), ms Division, M. A. Shadd Cary papers. NA, MG 24, K22. Raleigh Township Centennial Museum (North Buxton, Ont.), Shadd family records. Jim Bearden and L. J. Butler, Shadd: the life and times of Mary Shadd Cary (Toronto, 1977). J. H. Silverman, “Mary Ann Shadd and the search for equality,” Black leaders of the nineteenth century, ed. August Meier and Leon Litwack (Urbana, Ill., 1988), 87–100; Unwelcome guests: Canada Wests response to American fugitive slaves, 1800–1865 (Millwood, N.Y., 1985). R. W. Winks, The blacks in Canada: a history (London and New Haven, Conn., 1971). H. B. Hancock, “Mary Ann Shadd: negro editor, educator, and lawyer,” Del. Hist. (Wilmington), 15 (April 1973): 187–94. A. L. Murray, “The Provincial Freeman: a new source for the history of the negro in Canada,” OH, 51 (1959): 25–31.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jason H. Silverman, “SHADD, MARY ANN CAMBERTON,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 1, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/shadd_mary_ann_camberton_12E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/shadd_mary_ann_camberton_12E.html
Author of Article: Jason H. Silverman
Title of Article: SHADD, MARY ANN CAMBERTON
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1990
Year of revision: 1990
Access Date: October 1, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

SHADD, MARY ANN CAMBERTON (Cary), éducatrice, abolitionniste, auteure, éditrice et journaliste, née le 9 octobre 1823 à Wilmington, Delaware, fille d’Abraham Doras Shadd et de Harriet Parnell ; le 3 janvier 1856, elle épousa à St Catharines, Haut-Canada, Thomas Fauntleroy Cary (décédé en 1860), et ils eurent un fils et une fille ; décédée le 5 juin 1893 à Washington.

Mary Ann Camberton Shadd était l’aînée des enfants d’un éminent abolitionniste noir. Elle avait dix ans quand sa famille quitta Wilmington pour West Chester, en Pennsylvanie, où elle fit ses études dans un pensionnat quaker. Six ans plus tard, Mary Ann quitta cet établissement et retourna à Wilmington, où elle mit sur pied une école pour les jeunes Noirs. Elle y enseigna d’abord, de 1839 à 1850, puis dans des écoles noires de New York, Trenton au New Jersey, ainsi que West Chester et Norristown en Pennsylvanie. Partout, elle répandait le message de son père : les Noirs pouvaient atteindre la parité raciale, donc s’intégrer à la société américaine, par l’éducation, l’épargne et le labeur. Ces opinions figurent dans Hints to the colored people of the north, opuscule de 12 pages paru en 1849, dans lequel elle soulignait la folie de ceux qui imitaient le matérialisme ostentatoire des Blancs. Militante politique comme son père, Mary Ann implorait les Noirs de prendre l’initiative de la réforme antiesclavagiste sans attendre la bonne volonté ou l’appui des Blancs. Au milieu de la vingtaine, elle avait déjà acquis une renommée considérable en développant les thèmes qui lui resteraient chers : l’indépendance et le respect de soi pour les Noirs.

Cependant, Mary Ann Shadd atteignit vraiment la célébrité quand elle devint chef et porte-parole des réfugiés noirs qui avaient fui les États-Unis pour gagner le Haut-Canada après l’adoption du Fugitive Slave Act en 1850. Croyant qu’elle pourrait les aider, elle s’installa à Windsor à l’automne de 1851, et y ouvrit une école avec l’aide de l’American Missionary Association. Ses relations avec les autres leaders noirs du Canada furent d’abord amicales, mais bientôt elle se trouva mêlée à une querelle avec Henry Walton Bibb*. Elle prônait en effet la complète intégration des Noirs et s’opposait aux communautés séparées, comme celles de la Refugee Home Society, auxquelles Bibb était étroitement associé. En outre, elle reprochait à cette société de « mendier » des fonds et en vint même à soupçonner Bibb de retirer un avantage financier de sa participation à la société. Quant à Bibb, il demandait dans son journal, le Voice of the Fugitive, pourquoi elle avait caché aux parents de ses élèves la subvention que lui avait accordée l’American Missionary Association. Cette querelle nuisit aux deux parties ; en janvier 1853, l’association, manifestement opposée aux opinions évangéliques de la jeune femme, cessa de financer son école.

Mary Ann Shadd écrivit alors davantage. Pendant l’été de 1852, elle avait publié une brochure, A plea for emigration [...], dans laquelle elle encourageait les Noirs américains à immigrer au Canada et attaquait la philosophie de plus en plus séparatiste des Noirs canadiens. Cette publication connut une large diffusion, mais Mary Ann voulait un organe régulier pour répandre ses vues. Au début de 1853, grâce à l’aide opportune de l’abolitionniste noir Samuel Ringgold Ward*, elle lança le premier numéro du Provincial Freeman. Officiellement rédacteur en chef de cette publication audacieuse, Ward n’avait en fait que prêté son nom afin de soulever l’intérêt des lecteurs et d’attirer des abonnés. Mary Ann Shadd n’avait ni titre ni poste officiel, mais elle était l’âme de la nouvelle entreprise. Le premier numéro, résolument intégrationniste, parut en mars. Ensuite, on suspendit la publication pendant un an, en raison de la tournée de conférences que fit la jeune femme aux États-Unis et au Canada afin de recueillir des fonds pour le nouveau journal.

Dès mars 1854, Mary Ann Shadd avait trouvé suffisamment d’appuis pour relancer le Provincial Freeman, dont la devise était : L’autonomie seule peut mener à l’indépendance. Installé à Toronto, le journal parut régulièrement. Mary Ann y commentait tous les aspects de la vie des Noirs au Canada, mais elle s’attardait surtout aux problèmes de discrimination et de ségrégation raciales. Elle attaquait quiconque, Noir ou Blanc, était disposé à faire un compromis avec les esclavagistes et stigmatisait surtout ceux de ses frères noirs qui étaient prêts à accepter un statut de deuxième classe. Toutefois, ses invectives les plus féroces allaient aux communautés séparées, qui selon elle ne faisaient que favoriser la discrimination, et elle pressait les Noirs de tenter de s’intégrer à la société canadienne. Elle critiquait John Scoble* et Josiah Henson*, du village de Dawn, presque aussi sévèrement que Bibb, et n’admettait qu’à contrecœur les qualités de la communauté d’Elgin, dirigée par William King.

Des problèmes financiers interrompirent la publication régulière du Provincial Freeman plusieurs fois. Le 30 juin 1855, William P. Newman devint rédacteur en chef et le journal s’installa à Chatham, mais Mary Ann Shadd peut avoir continué d’y jouer un rôle d’arrière-plan. En janvier 1856, elle épousa l’homme d’affaires noir Thomas Fauntleroy Cary ; en mai, elle retourna au Provincial Freeman pour occuper l’un des trois postes de rédacteur. Cependant, le journal ne parut que sporadiquement à compter de 1856, et il ferma ses portes en 1859 ; le fardeau financier était devenu trop lourd.

Après la disparition du Provincial Freeman, Mary Ann Shadd demeura à Chatham et recommença à enseigner. Toutefois, elle suivait avec grand intérêt la polarisation de l’opinion américaine. L’arrivée de John Brown au Canada, au printemps de 1858, avait renforcé son espoir de voir le conflit imminent mettre fin à l’esclavage. Elle faisait partie d’un groupe qui rencontra Brown et fut mise au courant des projets de ce visionnaire. Un autre membre du groupe, le jeune Noir Osborne Perry Anderson, fut si enthousiasmé par Brown qu’il le suivit à Harpers Ferry en octobre 1859. Il survécut à la bataille et raconta ses souvenirs dans A voice from Harper’s Ferry [...], que Mary Ann Shadd prépara pour la publication en 1861.

Pendant les premières années de la guerre de Sécession, Mary Ann Shadd continua d’enseigner dans une école interraciale à Chatham, mais elle finit par en avoir assez de suivre le conflit de loin. À la fin de 1863, impatiente de participer à l’effort de guerre des Nordistes, elle accepta, comme Martin Robinson Delany le lui demandait, d’être agente de recrutement. Rentrée aux États-Unis, elle participa aux programmes d’enrôlement de plusieurs États. Après la bataille d’Appomattox ; elle se demanda vraiment si elle devait demeurer aux États-Unis ; elle y réfléchit longtemps et en vint à la conclusion, que le meilleur moyen de servir son peuple était de rester et d’aider à l’éducation et à l’intégration des millions de Noirs nouvellement émancipés. À cette fin, elle obtint en juillet 1868 un certificat d’enseignement américain et enseigna quelque temps à Detroit avant de se fixer à Washington. Elle gagna sa vie en enseignant et obtint finalement un diplôme de droit de la Howard University en 1883.

Mary Ann Camberton Shadd continua de militer pour les droits civils et l’égalité des droits. Elle ne revint au Canada que peu de temps, en 1881, pour organiser un ralliement en faveur du suffrage féminin. Atteinte de rhumatisme et de cancer, elle mourut pendant l’été de 1893.

Jason H. Silverman

Mary Ann Camberton Shadd est l’auteure de : Hints to the colored people of the North (Wilmington, Del., 1849) ; et A plea for emigration : or, notes of Canada West, in its moral, social, and political aspect [...j for the information of colored emigrants (Detroit, 1852). L’édition qu’elle fit des mémoires d’Osborne Perry Anderson à été publiée à Boston en 1861 sous le titre de A voice from Harper’s Ferry : a narrative of events at Harper’s Ferry ; with incidents prior and subsequent to its capture by Captain Brown and his men.

Amistad Research Center Library, Tulane Univ. (New Orleans), American Missionary Assoc. Arch., Mary Shadd Cary papers ; Canadian files, 1846–1878, Mary Shadd Cary papers (mfm aux AO).— AN, MG 24, K22.— AO, MS 483 (mfm).— Moorland-Spingarn Research Center Library, Howard Univ. (Washington), ms Division, M. A. Shadd Cary papers.— Raleigh Township Centennial Museum (North Buxton, Ontario), Shadd family records.— Jim Bearden et L. J. Butler, Shadd : the life and times of Mary Shadd Cary (Toronto, 1977).— J. H. Silverman, « Mary Ann Shadd and the search for equality », Black leaders of the nineteenth century, August Meier et Leon Litwack, édit. (Urbana, Ill., 1988), 87–100 ; Unwelcome guests : Canada West’s response to American fugitive slaves, 1800–1865 (Millwood, N.Y., 1985).— R. W. Winks, The blacks in Canada : a history (Londres et New Haven, Conn., 1971).— H. B. Hancock, « Mary Ann Shadd : negro editor, educator, and lawyer », Del. Hist. (Wilmington), 15 (avril 1973) : 187–194.— A. L. Murray, « The Provincial Freeman : a new source for the history of the negro in Canada », OH, 51 (1959) : 25–31.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jason H. Silverman, « SHADD, MARY ANN CAMBERTON », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 12, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/shadd_mary_ann_camberton_12F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/shadd_mary_ann_camberton_12F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jason H. Silverman
Titre de l'article:   SHADD, MARY ANN CAMBERTON
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 12
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1990
Année de la révision:   1990
Date de consultation:   30 juillet 2014