DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

ULOQSAQ – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 24 Sept. 1929 at the settlement of Coppermine (Kugluktuk, Nunavut)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  David Alexander Stewart (1874-1937)

Source: Link

STEWART, David Alexander, missionary, journalist, physician, sanitarium director, university professor, lecturer, author, and historian; b. 15 Feb. 1874 in Fletcher, Ont., son of Francis Beattie Stewart and Elizabeth Farquharson; m. 2 June 1915 Ida Kate Bradshaw (d. 1936) in Winnipeg, and they had a son; d. there 16 Feb. 1937.

In 1891 David Alexander Stewart moved with his parents to Manitoba, where they served as Presbyterian lay missionaries. He graduated from normal school in Winnipeg in 1892, and subsequently taught school for two years in Morden before enrolling in Manitoba College. After completing a ba (1899) he entered theology. In 1902, perhaps drawn to the idea of becoming a medical missionary, he abandoned theology for medicine at the Manitoba Medical College. His younger sister, Isabel Maitland Stewart, would become one of North America’s pre-eminent nursing educators.

His family was unable to finance his studies, so Stewart had to pay his own way. Initially, he derived his income chiefly from mission work, but between 1903 and 1906 he was a reporter for the Manitoba Free Press, where he became a protégé and lifelong friend of editor John Wesley Dafoe*. He would continue until his death to be a regular contributor to the paper.

After graduating in 1906 Stewart served as the first senior intern in medicine at the Winnipeg General Hospital, where he specialized in communicable diseases. In 1908 he was appointed executive director of the Manitoba Tuberculosis Society, created to campaign for a provincial sanitarium. He remained in this capacity for two years, travelling extensively and writing prolifically. In 1909 he contracted tuberculosis, and sought care at the Adirondack Cottage Sanitarium at Saranac Lake, N.Y., founded by American physician Edward Livingston Trudeau. There, he gained personal experience of the rest cure, the regimen of wholesome food, fresh air, sunlight, and leisure that would prevail at the sanitarium soon to be established in Manitoba.

In 1910 the goal of a sanitarium for the province was realized with the opening on 24 May of a 65-bed facility near Ninette in southwestern Manitoba. Stewart, still convalescing in New York, was named medical superintendent, an office he would hold until his death. Under his direction the Manitoba Sanatorium became a renowned centre for tuberculosis care and research. He is credited with developing an advanced thoracic surgery program; with convincing officials at the medical school at the University of Manitoba to make it, in 1914, the first in Canada to require its students to take rotations in the treatment of tubercular patients; and with setting up, after 1926, mobile diagnostic clinics that visited remote communities. A passionate advocate of sanitarium care, he persuaded the provincial government to assume the costs for indigent patients. This measure allowed more invalids to remain at the facility until they had recovered and were no longer contagious, thereby slowing the spread of the disease. In addition, he passed on his knowledge to another generation of physicians; the University of Manitoba appointed him lecturer in medicine in 1918, assistant professor in 1920, and associate professor in 1921.

Stewart emphasized both treatment and prevention through education. The author of a prodigious number of academic articles, he popularized his work in newspapers, magazines, and pamphlets and through presentations and radio addresses. He saw education as vital not only to the elimination of tuberculosis, but also to a broader project of social uplift. From its earliest days, patients at the Ninette sanitarium were required to take courses in nutrition and disease prevention. Moreover, he developed programs that enabled adult patients to study high-school subjects and to acquire vocational skills while they were convalescing. In later years he became a prominent supporter of the adult-education movement [see Alfred Fitzpatrick], helping in 1931 to found the Manitoba Association for Adult Education.

In 1916 Stewart and his wife, Ida, moved to Ninette, where their son was born. Two years later Ida contracted a severe tubercular infection. After all other options had been exhausted, she underwent thoracoplasty, a radical operation involving the removal of ribs. It was successful, and the experience reinforced Stewart’s commitment to aggressive treatment. However, the surgery also left Ida an invalid, often confined to house and bed. This result inspired Stewart to contemplate the meanings of ill health and disability, and he would later write extensively on what he called “the philosophy of the sick man.” He was similarly reflective about the obligations of the physician, and one of his final projects was to revise the code of ethics for the Canadian Medical Association.

Stewart was a moral philosopher; in a 1926 address to nurses he encapsulated his approach to life in “four master words”: knowledge, work, conscience, and charity. He ardently promoted the acquisition of knowledge for its own sake, and considered rational recreation and the pursuit of hobbies to be imperative to personal development. A keen amateur historian with a special interest in the western fur trade, he played a pivotal role in the reconstitution in 1926 of the Historical and Scientific Society of Manitoba, dormant since 1910, and he served as its president from 1929 to 1934. He viewed the organization as a means of diffusing popular knowledge about local history and was especially active in the designation of historic sites and the placement of commemorative plaques. From the early 1930s he was also an internationalist and a pacifist whose Remembrance Day addresses at the sanitarium were widely reprinted, although Ida, who wrote prolifically about peace and disarmament, was the better-known activist.

David Alexander Stewart received many distinctions during his lifetime. He served as president of the Manitoba Medical Association in 1926 and as vice-president of the American National Tuberculosis Association that same year. In 1927 he was awarded an honorary lld by the University of Manitoba. In his introduction of Stewart for the presentation, former Manitoba College professor Frederick W. Clark noted that the sanitarium was “Stewart’s monument.” By the time of his death, the result of a post-operative infection, the institution had grown from 65 beds to 300, and the mortality rate from tuberculosis in the province had dropped by four-fifths. The province was at the forefront of the treatment of tuberculosis in Canada, and “Stewart of Manitoba” was recognized worldwide for his contributions to professional education, preventive medicine, and the international campaign against tuberculosis.

Chris Dooley

The DCB has a list of more than 130 articles, speeches, brochures, and reports that David Alexander Stewart wrote on medical subjects, particularly tuberculosis and public health, as well as on the history of the Canadian west, philosophy, and natural history.

AM, MG9, A54 (David Alexander Stewart fonds). Eva Calverley, And so … Ninette, 1879–1919 ([Brandon, Man.], n.d.). F. W. Clark, “Doctor David A. Stewart,” Univ. of Manitoba Quarterly (Winnipeg), 2 (1927–28): 43–44. Dedication and unveiling of Dr. David A. Stewart memorial, Manitoba Sanatorium, Ninette, Canada, July 24, 1940 (n.p., [1940?]). R. G. Ferguson, “David A. Stewart Memorial Lecture: changes in the epidemiological conception of tuberculosis,” Univ. of Manitoba Medical Journal (Winnipeg), 13 (1941–42): 62–68. C. S. Houston, “D. A. Stewart, 1874–1937: western tuberculosis pioneer,” Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Can., Annals (Ottawa), 25 (1992): 36–38; “R. G. Ferguson and D. A. Stewart: leaders in the crusade against tuberculosis: fifth DAS Lecture, 13 November 1989” (unpublished paper, 1989; copy in author’s possession). Man., Dept. of Cultural Affairs and Hist. Resources, Hist. resources branch, Dr. David Alexander Stewart, m.d. ([Winnipeg?], 1982). R. B. Mitchell, “Life piled on life: the second annual Doctor David A. Stewart Memorial Lecture, February 12, 1941,” Manitoba Medical Rev. (Winnipeg), 21 (May 1941): 85–89. E. W. Montgomery, “The Dr. David A. Stewart Memorial Lecture,” Manitoba Medical Rev., 20 (April 1940): 73–79. D. B. Stewart, Holy ground: the story of the Manitoba Sanatorium at Ninette (Killarney, Man., 1999).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Chris Dooley, “STEWART, DAVID ALEXANDER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 24, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/stewart_david_alexander_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/stewart_david_alexander_16E.html
Author of Article: Chris Dooley
Title of Article: STEWART, DAVID ALEXANDER
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: September 24, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BARAGA, FREDERIC – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 29 juin 1797 près de Dobrnič (Yougoslavie)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  David Alexander Stewart (1874-1937)

Provenance : Lien

STEWART, David Alexander, missionnaire, journaliste, médecin, directeur de sanatorium, professeur d’université, conférencier, auteur et historien, né le 15 février 1874 à Fletcher, Ontario, fils de Francis Beattie Stewart et d’Elizabeth Farquharson ; le 2 juin 1915, il épousa à Winnipeg Ida Kate Bradshaw (décédée en 1936), et ils eurent un fils ; décédé le 16 février 1937 au même endroit.

En 1891, David Alexander Stewart s’installa avec ses parents au Manitoba, où ces derniers exercèrent la fonction de missionnaires laïques presbytériens. Il termina ses études à l’école normale de Winnipeg en 1892, puis enseigna pendant deux ans à Morden avant de s’inscrire au collège de Manitoba. Après avoir obtenu un baccalauréat en 1899, il s’orienta vers la théologie. En 1902, peut-être attiré par l’idée de devenir missionnaire-médecin, il délaissa la théologie pour étudier la médecine au collège médical de Manitoba. Sa sœur cadette, Isabel Maitland Stewart, serait l’une des infirmières enseignantes renommées en Amérique du Nord.

Sa famille ne pouvant pas payer ses études, Stewart dut subvenir à ses propres besoins. Au début, il gagna sa vie principalement en œuvrant comme missionnaire, mais entre 1903 et 1906 il travailla comme journaliste pour le Manitoba Free Press, où il devint le protégé du rédacteur en chef John Wesley Dafoe*, qui resterait son ami toute sa vie. Stewart collaborerait régulièrement au journal jusqu’à sa mort.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en 1906, Stewart occupa le poste de premier interne supérieur en médecine à l’Hôpital Général de Winnipeg, où il se spécialisa dans les maladies contagieuses. En 1908, il fut nommé directeur général de la Manitoba Tuberculosis Society, fondée pour promouvoir la création d’un sanatorium provincial. Il demeura à ce poste pendant deux ans, voyageant beaucoup et écrivant abondamment. En 1909, il contracta la tuberculose et fut soigné à l’Adirondack Cottage Sanitarium, établi par le médecin américain Edward Livingston Trudeau à Saranac Lake, dans l’État de New York. À cette occasion, il acquit une expérience personnelle du traitement par le repos, la saine alimentation, l’air frais, le soleil et les loisirs, qui serait prescrit au sanatorium créé peu après au Manitoba.

En 1910, l’objectif de doter la province d’un sanatorium se réalisa avec l’ouverture, le 24 mai, d’un centre comprenant 65 lits, près de Ninette, dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba. Stewart, toujours en convalescence dans l’État de New York, fut nommé surintendant médical, poste qu’il allait conserver jusqu’à sa mort. Sous sa gouverne, le Manitoba Sanatorium devint un centre réputé pour les soins aux tuberculeux et la recherche sur la tuberculose. On lui attribue l’élaboration d’un programme avancé de chirurgie thoracique ; il sut aussi convaincre les autorités de l’école de médecine de l’université de Manitoba d’en faire, en 1914, la première au Canada à exiger une rotation des étudiants dans le traitement des patients tuberculeux ; enfin, il mit sur pied, après 1926, des cliniques de diagnostic ambulantes pour atteindre les collectivités éloignées. Défenseur passionné des soins en sanatorium, il persuada le gouvernement provincial d’en assumer le coût pour les patients indigents. Cette mesure permit à plus de malades de demeurer au sanatorium jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient guéris et non contagieux, et ainsi de ralentir la propagation de la pathologie. De plus, il transmit son savoir à une autre génération de médecins ; l’université de Manitoba l’engagea comme maître de conférences en médecine en 1918, professeur adjoint en 1920, puis professeur agrégé en 1921.

Stewart insistait à la fois sur le traitement et sur la prévention par l’éducation. Auteur d’un nombre prodigieux d’articles scientifiques, il vulgarisa ses travaux dans des journaux, des revues et des brochures, ainsi que dans des conférences et des interventions radiophoniques. Il considérait l’éducation comme vitale non seulement pour éradiquer la tuberculose, mais aussi dans une perspective plus vaste d’élévation sociale. Dès le début, les patients du sanatorium de Ninette durent suivre des cours de nutrition et de prévention de la maladie. De plus, Stewart conçut des programmes permettant aux patients adultes d’étudier les matières des écoles secondaires et d’acquérir une formation professionnelle durant leur convalescence. Au cours des années suivantes, il devint un partisan important du mouvement pour l’éducation des adultes [V. Alfred Fitzpatrick] et contribua à la création de la Société d’enseignement postscolaire du Manitoba, en 1931.

En 1916, Stewart et sa femme, Ida Kate, s’installèrent à Ninette, où naquit leur fils. Deux ans plus tard, Ida Kate contracta une infection tuberculeuse grave. Tous les autres traitements s’étant révélés infructueux, elle subit une thoracoplastie, opération radicale impliquant l’ablation de côtes. L’intervention fut un succès et l’expérience renforça la confiance de Stewart à l’égard des traitements énergiques. Toutefois, Ida Kate resta invalide, souvent confinée à la maison et alitée. Ce résultat plongea Stewart dans une réflexion sur le sens de la maladie et de l’invalidité. Par la suite, il écrirait abondamment sur ce qu’il appelait « la philosophie de l’homme malade ». De même, il réfléchit aux obligations du médecin ; l’un de ses derniers projets consista à réviser le code de déontologie de la Canadian Medical Association.

Stewart était un moraliste ; dans un discours adressé en 1926 à des infirmières, il résuma en « quatre maîtres-mots » son approche de la vie : savoir, travail, conscience et charité. Il promouvait ardemment l’acquisition de connaissances comme but en soi et estimait que s’adonner à des loisirs éducatifs et à des passe-temps était essentiel au développement personnel. Historien amateur passionné, particulièrement intéressé à la traite des fourrures dans l’Ouest, il joua un rôle central dans la relance, en 1926, de la Société historique et scientifique de Manitoba, inactive depuis 1910, qu’il présida de 1929 à 1934. Il voyait l’organisation comme un moyen de diffuser la connaissance de l’histoire locale auprès du grand public et, en particulier, s’engagea activement dans la désignation de lieux historiques et la mise en place de plaques commémoratives. À partir du début des années 1930, il fut également un internationaliste et un pacifiste dont on réimprima à grande échelle les discours du jour du Souvenir au sanatorium, même si Ida Kate, qui écrivit beaucoup sur la paix et le désarmement, était la plus connue en tant qu’activiste.

David Alexander Stewart reçut de nombreuses distinctions au cours de sa vie. Il assuma la présidence de la Manitoba Medical Association en 1926 et la vice-présidence de la National Tuberculosis Association des États-Unis la même année. En 1927, l’université de Manitoba lui remit un doctorat honorifique en droit. Dans son allocution de présentation de Stewart, Frederick W. Clark, ancien professeur du collège de Manitoba, affirma que le sanatorium était « le monument de Stewart ». Au décès de Stewart, des suites d’une infection postopératoire, l’établissement était passé de 65 à 300 lits et le taux de mortalité lié à la tuberculose dans la province avait diminué des quatre cinquièmes. La province était à l’avant-garde du traitement de la tuberculose au Canada, et « Stewart du Manitoba » était reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses contributions à l’éducation professionnelle, à la médecine préventive et à la campagne internationale contre la tuberculose.

Chris Dooley

Le DBC conserve une liste de plus de 130 articles, discours, opuscules et rapports qu’a écrits David Alexander Stewart sur des sujets médicaux, notamment la tuberculose et la santé publique, ainsi que sur l’histoire de l’Ouest canadien, la philosophie et l’histoire naturelle.

AM, MG9, A54 (David Alexander Stewart fonds).— Eva Calverley, And so... Ninette, 1879–1919 ([Brandon, Manitoba], s.d.).— F. W. Clark, « Doctor David A. Stewart », Univ. of Manitoba Quarterly (Winnipeg), 2 (1927–1928) : 43–44.— Dedication and unveiling of Dr. David A. Stewart memorial, Manitoba Sanatorium, Ninette, Canada, July 24, 1940 (s.l., [1940 ?]).— R. G. Ferguson, « David A. Stewart Memorial Lecture : changes in the epidemiological conception of tuberculosis », Univ. of Manitoba Medical Journal (Winnipeg), 13 (1941–1942) : 62–68.— C. S. Houston, « D. A. Stewart, 1874–1937 : western tuberculosis pioneer », Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, Annales (Ottawa), 25 (1992) : 36–38 ; « R. G. Ferguson and D. A. Stewart : leaders in the crusade against tuberculosis : fifth DAS Lecture, 13 November 1989 » (travail non publié, 1989 ; copie en possession de l’auteur).— Manitoba, Dept. of Cultural Affairs and Hist. Resources, Hist. resources branch, Dr. David Alexander Stewart, M.D. ([Winnipeg ?], 1982).— R. B. Mitchell, « Life piled on life : the second annual Doctor David A. Stewart Memorial Lecture, February 12, 1941 », Manitoba Medical Rev. (Winnipeg), 21 (mai 1941) : 85–89.— E. W. Montgomery, « The Dr. David A. Stewart Memorial Lecture », Manitoba Medical Rev., 20 (avril 1940) : 73–79.— D. B. Stewart, Holy ground : the story of the Manitoba Sanatorium at Ninette (Killarney, Manitoba, 1999).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Chris Dooley, « STEWART, DAVID ALEXANDER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 29 juin 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/stewart_david_alexander_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/stewart_david_alexander_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Chris Dooley
Titre de l'article:   STEWART, DAVID ALEXANDER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   29 juin 2017