DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

ROSS, ALEXANDER – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 23 Oct. 1856 in the Red River settlement (Man.)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Peter John Veniot . - [19-] - Archives de Montréal

Source: Link

VENIOT, PIERRE-JEAN (baptized Pierre Vignault, commonly known as Peter John, and he usually signed P. J.), journalist, typographer, newspaper owner, political organizer, politician, and civil servant; b. 4 Oct. 1863 in Richibucto, N.B., son of Étienne (Stephen) Vignault (Vineau) and Marie Morell (Morel, Morelle); m. 8 Feb. 1885 Catherine Melançon in Scoudouc, N.B., and they had six sons and one daughter; d. 6 July 1936 in Bathurst, N.B. and was buried there three days later.

Little is known about Pierre-Jean Veniot’s youth and private life. In 1870, at the age of seven, he moved with his parents to the English-speaking community of Pictou, N.S. From 1874 to 1878 he attended the Pictou Academy, an English-language public school, where it is thought a teacher suggested he adopt the name Veniot, which for anglophones was less difficult to pronounce than Vignault.

Probably as soon as he had completed his studies, Veniot went to work as a journalist for the Colonial Standard. There he also acquired basic skills in the typography trade, which he practised at the Daily Transcript in Moncton, N.B., beginning in 1882. It was during this time that Veniot returned to his Acadian roots. He learned French from Catherine Melançon, a unilingual francophone, whom he married in 1885. He became shop foreman at the Bathurst Courrier des provinces Maritimes and then editor-in-chief two years later. He bought the print shop in 1891 and the weekly in 1896.

In 1891 Veniot had been elected secretary of the organizing committee for the Liberal convention to choose the Acadian candidate for the riding of Gloucester in the next federal election. He was already beginning to be recognized as the Liberal leader of the Acadians in New Brunswick, although this political label would not stick until later. In the provincial election the following year he ran unsuccessfully in Gloucester. He won his seat there in the 1894 by-election and was re-elected in the general elections of 1895 and 1899.

Following an accident Veniot suffered serious health problems, which caused him financial difficulties. He had to leave politics, sell the Courrier des provinces Maritimes, and resign his position as editor-in-chief at the end of 1899. He joined the federal civil service as a customs officer, a more stable occupation, which he pursued in Bathurst beginning the following year. He was unable to conceal his political stripes, however, and lost his position when Robert Laird Borden’s Conservatives came to power in 1911.

Veniot reappeared on the provincial political scene during the election campaign of 1912, in which the Conservatives, led by Premier James Kidd Flemming*, returned to power on 24 June with an impressive majority, winning 44 of the 48 seats in the Legislative Assembly. With its ranks decimated, the Liberal Party had to rebuild and decided to call on the services of Veniot – who had been defeated in Gloucester – as well as on those of journalist Edward S. Carter and lawyer and Liberal mp Frank Broadstreet Carvell*. This trio made up the “Dark Lantern Brigade.” Veniot concerned himself mainly with the French-speaking regions located in the northeastern sector of the province, between Moncton and Edmundston, which he criss-crossed day and night to organize the Liberal machine and attract the Acadian vote. A talented orator in both English and French, and with a distinguished appearance, he was a charismatic figure.

In 1914, two years after the Conservatives’ crushing victory, the Liberals, prepared and supported by the famous trio, brought forward accusations of collusion and corruption against the premier. To shed light on the situation, the Conservatives set up two royal commissions of inquiry, whose conclusions led to Flemming’s resignation the same year.

The Liberals exploited these scandals and came to power in the general election of 1917. The influence of Veniot, who was elected in Gloucester, had been a determining factor since the Acadian vote had made a difference in ridings where the contest had been hard fought. The Conservative press called Veniot a conspirator, claiming that he had spent the previous five years using his network of electoral agents to set up a political machine aimed at giving power to the Acadians. Beyond these partisan criticisms, it was clear that Veniot was not only the Acadians’ political leader, but also indispensable to the party and its strongest mla.

Veniot became minister of public works on 4 April 1917. His appointment as head of the most influential department in Premier Walter Edward Foster*’s cabinet had great significance for the Acadian minority, for it acknowledged the important role and extended the political power of one of their own. According to the historian Jean-Guy Finn, “It was indeed generally recognized, both provincially and federally, that this department offered rather exceptional possibilities for ‘patronage.’” Veniot laid off hundreds of Conservative civil servants and replaced them with Liberals, many of whom were of Acadian descent. His sway within the cabinet created a certain frustration in Anglo-Protestant circles, thereby contributing to the ethnic divide between the political parties. A number of English-language newspapers portrayed Veniot as a leader of Acadians and the Liberal Party as a pro-Acadian party.

As minister, Veniot launched one of the most ambitious road construction programs in the country. Financed by debentures, fees paid by car owners, an annual federal government contribution of $230,000, and one-third of the provincial budget, it led to the creation or improvement of more than 1,200 miles of New Brunswick’s road network. These accomplishments even earned the minister the nickname “Good Roads Veniot.” During the electoral campaign of 1920 the opposition criticized this program for being imprudent and extravagant on the grounds that it catered to the idle rich who travelled the tourist routes rather than farmers, who used country roads. The Conservatives also accused the program of disproportionate spending in Acadian ridings.

In 1920 the Liberals were returned to power. Veniot succeeded once again in winning the Acadian vote and retaining his seat. Acadian voices were being heard more and more in the Legislative Assembly. In 1923 Premier Foster announced to his caucus that he was retiring from politics and asked that it support the candidacy of Veniot as his successor. He thus rose to the highest political position in the province, the first Acadian to do so. The elevation was regarded more as an expression of gratitude to a talented politician and loyal party man than a gesture of respect for the Acadian population.

As head of the government Veniot was preoccupied with the public debt and with a project to develop hydroelectric power in northern New Brunswick. The economic viability of the undertaking depended on plans for expansion by the province’s three big forestry companies: the Bathurst Lumber Company Limited, Fraser Companies Limited, and the International Paper Company. Even though the province had been in difficult financial straits since 1921 – chiefly because of the fall in prices and the declining demand for almost all raw materials, the numerous job losses in the working-class sector, and the successive dry seasons that affected the harvest – he thought that economic development called for an interventionist approach, rather than being under the control of these private companies. In a speech delivered to the Legislative Assembly on 7 March 1924, he summed up his opinion on the subject: “The opponents of public ownership will raise their hands in holy horror to high heaven and tell the people that our scheme will bankrupt the province. They will point to the necessity of economy in these times of commercial and industrial stress. But, it is not economy to with-hold the expenditure of public moneys when you are convinced that by proper and judicious expenditures you can create a greater expansion of trade and industry.… Hydro development is the salvation of the province of New Brunswick.”

The electoral campaign that began on 17 July 1925 would be waged on two fronts. The energy issue revealed the power of the private interests opposed to the nationalization of resources in any form. The forestry firms, especially the Bathurst Lumber Company, owned by Angus McLean, were Veniot’s major adversaries. Before the campaign had started, they brought pressure to bear on him. Because of the difficult economic times (half of the sawmills in the province had been closed since 1921), on 2 June they asked for, among other things, a reduction in stumpage fees and the adoption of the system of wood measurement used in the province of Quebec. At the beginning of July Veniot granted them a smaller reduction in fees. He could not grant their second request, for that would have required the passage of a special law. This reason was not good enough for McLean, who told the premier that the Lumbermen and Limit Holders’ Association of New Brunswick, of which he was one of the principal spokesmen, would not support him in the next election. According to the Telegraph-Journal of 7 Aug. 1925, Veniot replied in his usual fashion, telling him to “bring on [his] ‘dogs of war.’” He was not yet aware that McLean was one of the businessmen who had persuaded the Conservative federal mp John Babington Macaulay Baxter* to return to the provincial scene to become premier.

Veniot was also faced with an upsurge in intolerance. Perceived as the premier of the Acadians and Roman Catholics, he waged a campaign in the ridings where prejudice against the French language and the Catholic religion was strongly entrenched. Pamphlets circulating in the mainly anglophone regions declared that Veniot wanted to eliminate Protestants from the face of the earth. This time, on 10 August, the Acadian vote was not sufficient to bring the Liberals back to power; they won 11 seats, including that of Veniot. Strong tensions, combined with the mobilization of the forest industry, had prevented the return to power of a party led by an Acadian.

About a year later Veniot left provincial politics and became the first Acadian to sit in the federal cabinet, having been elected in the riding of Gloucester on 14 Sept. 1926. He served as postmaster general from 1926 to 1930 in the Liberal government of William Lyon Mackenzie King*. Under his direction, on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of confederation in 1927, the country issued its first bilingual postage stamps. Veniot helped to organize the delivery of mail by air; in 1928, for instance, he inaugurated a connection between Montreal and Toronto [see Joseph-Hervé Saint-Martin]. Despite the defeat of King’s government in 1930, Veniot held the seat in his own riding, where he would win for the last time in 1935 and where his son Clarence Joseph would succeed him on 17 Aug. 1936.

After a political career of nearly 25 years Pierre-Jean Veniot died in office in Bathurst on 6 July 1936, succumbing to cancer of the stomach and liver. Three days later the pages of L’Évangéline paid tribute to him: “M. Veniot served his fellow citizens with a combination of remarkable qualities: a clear mind, an energetic will, the gift of eloquence … he left a work that will endure. In the province: a network of excellent roads and the ‘hydro.’… Through his talent, his deeds, and the perfect dignity of his private life, he will have contributed greatly to raising our prestige and inspiring our people with confidence in their own destinies.” Veniot can certainly be recognized for having persuaded the Acadians to vote for the Liberal Party. He was above all a politician who did not back away from political sparring, as well as a skilled organizer and unifier. He received honorary doctorates in law from the University of New Brunswick and the Université Laval, in 1923 and 1925 respectively.

In collaboration with Chedly Belkhodja and Éric Thomas

The author would like to thank Maurice Basque, academic adviser at the Institut d’Études Acadiennes, Univ. de Montcton, N.B., for his assistance in the preparation of this biography.

FD, Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue (Richibucto, N.-B.), 8 nov. 1863; Saint-Jacques (Scoudouc, N.-B.), 8 févr. 1885. PANB, SD141, F19330, 9 juill. 1936. Courrier des provinces Maritimes (Bathurst, N.-B.), 5, 12, 26 févr., 14 mai 1891; 6 oct. 1892; 28 mai 1896; 6 juill., 31 août 1899. Le Devoir, 7, 8, 16 juill. 1936. L’Évangéline (Moncton), 13 nov. 1894, 17 mai 1911, 30 sept. 1926, 7 juill. 1927, 9 juill. 1936, 29 oct. 1942. Le Moniteur acadien (Shédiac, N.-B.), 5 avril 1887; 24 sept. 1889; 19 mai 1891; 13 nov. 1894; 28 sept., 7 déc. 1899; 12 juill. 1900; 12 avril 1917. Antoine Bernard, La renaissance acadienne au XXe siècle (Québec, [1949]). Can., House of Commons, Debates, 1927–29. CPG, 1936. A. T. Doyle, Front benches & back rooms: a story of corruption, muckraking, raw partisanship and intrigue in New Brunswick (Toronto, 1976); “New Brunswick’s first Acadian premier,” Atlantic Advocate (Fredericton), 73 (1982–83), no.2: 48–49; The premiers of New Brunswick (Fredericton, 1983). Elections in New Brunswick, 1784–1984. Jean-Guy Finn, “Développement et persistance du vote ethnique: les Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick” (mémoire de ma, univ. d’Ottawa, 1972). Don Hoyt, A brief history of the Liberal Party of New Brunswick ([Fredericton?, 2000?]). Nicolas Landry et Nicole Lang, Histoire de l’Acadie (Sillery [Québec], 2001). N.B., Legislative Assembly, Synoptic report of the proc., 1924; “Veniot, Pierre John (P.J.) (Hon.)”: www.gnb.ca/legis/publications/tradition/premiers/bio-e/PJVeniot.pdf (consulted 14 Aug. 2015). PANB, “Mgr Donat Robichaud genealogical and historical research collection”: archives.gnb.ca/Search/FatherRobichaudTranscriptions/BiographyDocuments.aspx?culture=en-CA (consulted 14 Aug. 2015). Léon Thériault, La question du pouvoir en Acadie: essai (Moncton, 1982). [J.] R. [H.] Wilbur, The rise of French New Brunswick (Halifax, 1989).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

In collaboration with Chedly Belkhodja and Éric Thomas, “VENIOT, PIERRE-JEAN (baptized Pierre Vignault) (Peter John, P. J.),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 23, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/veniot_pierre_jean_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/veniot_pierre_jean_16E.html
Author of Article:   In collaboration with Chedly Belkhodja and Éric Thomas
Title of Article:   VENIOT, PIERRE-JEAN (baptized Pierre Vignault) (Peter John, P. J.)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 23, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

ROSS, ALEXANDER – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

décédé le 23 octobre 1856 dans la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge (Manitoba)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Peter John Veniot . - [19-] - Archives de Montréal

Provenance : Lien

VENIOT, PIERRE-JEAN (baptisé Pierre Vignault, il fut surtout connu sous les prénoms de Peter John et sous la signature P. J.), journaliste, typographe, propriétaire de journal, organisateur et homme politique, et fonctionnaire, né le 4 octobre 1863 à Richibucto, Nouveau-Brunswick, fils d’Étienne (Stephen) Vignault (Vineau) et de Marie Morell (Morel, Morelle) ; le 8 février 1885, il épousa à Scoudouc, Nouveau-Brunswick, Catherine Melançon, et ils eurent six garçons et une fille ; décédé le 6 juillet 1936 à Bathurst, Nouveau-Brunswick, et inhumé trois jours plus tard dans la même ville.

On connaît peu de chose sur la jeunesse et sur la vie privée de Pierre-Jean Veniot. À l’âge de sept ans, en 1870, ce dernier s’installe avec ses parents dans la communauté anglophone de Pictou, en Nouvelle-Écosse. De 1874 à 1878, il reçoit son éducation à la Pictou Academy, école publique anglophone où un professeur lui aurait suggéré d’adopter le nom de Veniot, moins difficile à prononcer que Vignault pour des anglophones.

Probablement dès la fin de ses études, Veniot commence à travailler comme journaliste au Colonial Standard. Il s’y initie de plus au métier de typographe, qu’il exerce au Daily Transcript de Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à partir de 1882. Veniot renoue alors avec ses racines acadiennes. Il apprend le français grâce à celle qu’il choisit pour épouse en 1885, Catherine Melançon, unilingue francophone. Il devient chef d’atelier au Courrier des provinces Maritimes de Bathurst en 1887, puis rédacteur en chef deux années plus tard. Il acquiert l’imprimerie en 1891 et l’hebdomadaire en 1896.

En 1891, Veniot a été élu secrétaire du comité d’organisation du congrès libéral pour désigner le candidat acadien aux prochaines élections fédérales dans la circonscription de Gloucester. Même si cette étiquette politique s’avérera ultérieurement, il commence déjà à être reconnu comme le chef libéral des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il se présente aux élections provinciales de l’année suivante dans la circonscription de Gloucester, sans succès. Il y est élu à l’élection partielle de 1894, puis réélu aux élections générales de 1895 et de 1899.

À la suite d’un accident, Veniot éprouve de sérieux problèmes de santé qui l’entraînent dans des difficultés financières. Il doit ainsi quitter la politique, vendre le Courrier des provinces Maritimes et démissionner de son poste de rédacteur en chef à la fin de l’année 1899. Veniot devient douanier dans la fonction publique fédérale, métier plus stable qu’il exerce à Bathurst à partir de l’année suivante. Toutefois, incapable de cacher ses couleurs partisanes, il perd son emploi à l’arrivée au pouvoir des conservateurs de Robert Laird Borden en 1911.

Veniot retourne sur la scène politique provinciale aux élections de 1912, à l’issue desquelles, sous le leadership du premier ministre James Kidd Flemming*, les conservateurs reprennent le pouvoir le 24 juin avec une imposante majorité, soit 44 des 48 sièges de l’Assemblée législative. Ses rangs décimés, le Parti libéral doit se rebâtir et décide de faire appel aux services de Veniot – battu dans Gloucester –, ainsi qu’à ceux d’Edward S. Carter, journaliste, et de Frank Broadstreet Carvell*, avocat et député libéral à la Chambre des communes. Ce trio forme la « brigade de la lanterne sourde ». Veniot s’occupe principalement des régions francophones situées dans le demi-cercle nord-est de la province, entre Moncton et Edmundston, qu’il sillonne jour et nuit pour organiser la machine libérale et lui attirer le vote acadien. Orateur doué autant en anglais qu’en français, à la tenue distinguée, il fait figure de personnalité charismatique.

En 1914, deux ans après la victoire écrasante des conservateurs, les libéraux, préparés et soutenus par le fameux trio, portent des accusations de collusion et de corruption contre le premier ministre. Pour faire la lumière sur la situation, les conservateurs instituent deux commissions royales d’enquête, dont les conclusions mènent à la démission de Flemming la même année.

Les libéraux exploitent ces scandales et prennent le pouvoir aux élections générales de 1917. L’influence de Veniot, lui-même élu dans Gloucester, a été déterminante, car, dans les circonscriptions où la lutte a été serrée, le vote acadien a fait la différence. La presse conservatrice qualifie Veniot de conspirateur : selon elle, il a passé les cinq années précédentes à mettre en œuvre, par l’intermédiaire de son réseau d’agents électoraux, une machine politique visant à donner le pouvoir aux Acadiens. Par-delà ces critiques partisanes, il s’avère que Veniot est non seulement le leader libéral des Acadiens, mais aussi l’homme indispensable du parti et son plus fort député.

Veniot devient ministre des Travaux publics le 4 avril 1917. Cette nomination à la tête du département le plus influent au sein du cabinet du premier ministre Walter Edward Foster* est très significative pour la minorité acadienne, car elle reconnaît la place importante et étend le pouvoir politique de l’un des siens. Selon l’historien Jean-Guy Finn, « il est en effet communément admis, tant au provincial qu’au fédéral, que ce ministère comporte des possibilités de “patronages” assez exceptionnelles ». Veniot congédie des centaines de fonctionnaires d’allégeance conservatrice pour les remplacer par des libéraux, dont plusieurs sont d’origine acadienne. Son influence au sein du cabinet provoque une certaine frustration dans les milieux anglo-protestants, ce qui contribue à diviser ethniquement les partis politiques. Plusieurs journaux anglophones font de Veniot un leader des Acadiens, et du Parti libéral un parti proacadien.

Comme ministre, Veniot met en œuvre un des plus ambitieux programmes de construction routière au pays. Financé par des obligations, les frais des propriétaires de voitures, une contribution annuelle de 230 000 $ du gouvernement fédéral et le tiers du budget provincial, celui-ci permet la création ou l’amélioration de plus de 1 200 milles du réseau routier du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ces réalisations méritent même au ministre le surnom de « Good Roads Veniot ». Pendant la campagne électorale de 1920, l’opposition conservatrice critique pour sa part l’imprudence et l’extravagance de ce programme, qui privilégierait la population riche et oisive qui emprunte les routes touristiques, aux dépens des fermiers qui utilisent les routes de campagne. Elle l’accuse également de dépenser de manière disproportionnée dans les circonscriptions acadiennes.

En 1920, les libéraux sont reportés au pouvoir. Veniot, réélu, réussit encore une fois à gagner le vote acadien. D’ailleurs, à l’Assemblée législative, les voix acadiennes se font de plus en plus entendre. En 1923, le premier ministre Foster annonce à son caucus qu’il se retire de la politique et lui demande d’appuyer la candidature de Veniot pour lui succéder. Veniot accède ainsi au plus haut poste politique de la province – il est le premier Acadien à y parvenir –, ce que l’on voit plus comme un acte de reconnaissance envers un politicien doué et un fidèle partisan que comme un geste de considération pour la population acadienne.

À titre de chef du gouvernement, Veniot se préoccupe de la dette publique et d’un projet de développement de l’hydroélectricité dans le nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, projet dont la viabilité économique dépend des plans d’expansion des trois grandes compagnies forestières de la province : Bathurst Lumber Company Limited, Fraser Companies Limited et International Paper Company. Même si la situation financière de la province reste difficile depuis 1921 – notamment en raison de la chute du prix et de la demande de presque toutes les matières premières, des nombreuses pertes d’emplois dans le milieu ouvrier et des sécheresses successives qui affectent les récoltes –, il considère que le projet ne doit pas être sous l’emprise de ces entreprises, car le développement économique appelle une approche interventionniste. Dans un discours prononcé le 7 mars 1924 à l’Assemblée législative, il résume bien sa pensée à cet égard : « Les opposants à la propriété publique lèveront les mains au ciel avec horreur et diront à la population que notre plan mènera la province à la faillite. Ils insisteront sur le besoin de restriction budgétaire en ces moments de tension dans le milieu économique et industriel. Mais, ce n’est pas économiser que de retenir l’utilisation de fonds publics quand on a la conviction que, grâce à des dépenses appropriées et judicieuses, on peut créer une plus grande expansion du commerce et de l’industrie […] Le développement hydroélectrique est le moyen de sauver la province du Nouveau-Brunswick. »

La campagne électorale déclenchée le 17 juillet 1925 se jouera sur deux fronts. L’enjeu énergétique montre la puissance des intérêts privés opposés à toute forme de nationalisation des ressources. Les compagnies forestières, notamment la Bathurst Lumber Company Limited, propriété d’Angus McLean, sont les grands adversaires de Veniot. Avant la campagne, elles font pression sur lui. En raison des temps économiques difficiles (la moitié des scieries de la province a fermé ses portes depuis 1921), elles demandent entre autres choses, le 2 juin, une réduction des droits de coupe et l’adoption de la méthode de mesurage de la province de Québec. Au début du mois de juillet, Veniot leur accorde une réduction moindre. Il ne peut donner suite à leur deuxième requête, car, pour ce faire, il faudrait voter une loi spéciale. Cela ne suffit pas à McLean qui déclare au premier ministre que la Lumbermen and Limit Holders’ Association of New Brunswick, dont il est l’un des principaux porte-parole, ne lui donnera pas son appui aux prochaines élections. Selon le Telegraph-Journal du 7 août 1925, Veniot lui réplique à sa façon en lui disant d’« amener [ses] “chiens de guerre” ». Il ne sait pas encore que McLean fait partie des hommes d’affaires qui ont convaincu le député fédéral conservateur John Babington Macaulay Baxter* de retourner sur la scène provinciale pour devenir premier ministre.

Veniot doit également faire face à une montée d’intolérance. Perçu comme le premier ministre des Acadiens et des catholiques, il mène une campagne dans des circonscriptions où l’intolérance à l’égard du français et de la religion catholique est fortement ancrée. Des pamphlets, qui circulent dans des régions majoritairement anglophones, déclarent que Veniot veut éliminer les protestants de la surface de la Terre. Cette fois, le 10 août, le vote acadien ne suffit pas pour reporter au pouvoir les libéraux qui remportent 11 sièges, dont celui de Veniot. Les vives tensions, ajoutées à la mobilisation de l’industrie forestière, n’ont pas permis de porter au pouvoir un parti dirigé par un Acadien.

Environ un an plus tard, Veniot quitte la scène provinciale et devient le premier Acadien à accéder au cabinet fédéral. En effet, élu dans la circonscription électorale fédérale de Gloucester le 14 septembre 1926, il sert en tant que ministre des Postes de 1926 à 1930 sous le gouvernement libéral de William Lyon Mackenzie King*. Sous son ministère, à l’occasion du soixantième anniversaire de la Confédération en 1927, le pays émet ses premiers timbres bilingues. Veniot contribue à l’organisation du transport du courrier par voie aérienne ; par exemple, il inaugure en 1928 une liaison entre Montréal et Toronto [V. Joseph-Hervé Saint-Martin]. Malgré la défaite du gouvernement de King en 1930, Veniot est réélu dans sa circonscription, où il gagne sa dernière élection en 1935 et où son fils Clarence Joseph lui succédera le 17 août 1936.

Après une carrière politique de près de 25 ans, Pierre-Jean Veniot meurt en fonction à Bathurst le 6 juillet 1936 d’un cancer de l’estomac et du foie. Trois jours plus tard, les pages de l’Évangéline lui rendent hommage : « M. Veniot a apporté au service de ses concitoyens un ensemble de qualités remarquables : un esprit lucide, une volonté énergique, le don de l’éloquence […] il a laissé une œuvre qui durera. Dans la province : un réseau de routes excellentes, et l’“hydro” […] Par son talent, son travail et la parfaite dignité de sa vie privée il aura contribué énormément à relever notre prestige et à inspirer aux nôtres confiance dans leurs propres destinées. » On peut certainement reconnaître que Veniot a amené les Acadiens à voter pour le Parti libéral. Avant tout, il a été un politicien qui ne reculait pas devant la joute politique, ainsi qu’un organisateur et un rassembleur habile. Il a reçu deux doctorats honorifiques en droit, en 1923 et en 1925, respectivement de la University of New Brunswick et de l’université Laval.

En collaboration avec Chedly Belkhodja et Éric Thomas

Nous remercions Maurice Basque, conseiller scientifique à l’Institut d’études acadiennes de l’université de Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, pour l’aide qu’il nous a apportée pendant la préparation de cette biographie.

APNB, SD141, F19330, 9 juill. 1936.— FD, Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue (Richibucto, N.-B.), 8 nov. 1863 ; Saint-Jacques (Scoudouc, N.-B.), 8 févr. 1885.— Courrier des provinces Maritimes (Bathurst, N.-B.), 5, 12, 26 févr., 14 mai 1891 ; 6 oct. 1892 ; 28 mai 1896 ; 6 juill., 31 août 1899.— Le Devoir, 7–8, 16 juill. 1936.— L’Évangéline (Moncton), 13 nov. 1894, 17 mai 1911, 30 sept. 1926, 7 juill. 1927, 9 juill. 1936, 29 oct. 1942.— Le Moniteur acadien (Shédiac, N.-B.), 5 avril 1887 ; 24 sept. 1889 ; 19 mai 1891 ; 13 nov. 1894 ; 28 sept., 7 déc. 1899 ; 12 juill. 1900 ; 12 avril 1917.— APNB, « Mgr Donat Robichaud, recherches historiques et généalogiques » : archives.gnb.ca/Search/FatherRobichaudTranscriptions/BiographyDocuments.aspx?culture=fr-CA (consulté le 14 août 2015).— Antoine Bernard, la Renaissance acadienne au xxe siècle (Québec, [1949]).— Canada, Chambre des communes, Débats, 1927–1929.— CPG, 1936.— A. T. Doyle, Front benches & back rooms : a story of corruption, muckraking, raw partisanship and intrigue in New Brunswick (Toronto, 1976) ; « New Brunswick’s first Acadian premier », Atlantic Advocate (Fredericton), 73 (1982–1983), no 2 : 48–49 ; The premiers of New Brunswick (Fredericton, 1983).— Les Élections au Nouveau-Brunswick, 1784–1984.— Jean-Guy Finn, « Développement et Persistance du vote ethnique : les Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick » (mémoire de m.a., univ. d’Ottawa, 1972).— Don Hoyt, Bref Aperçu de l’histoire du Parti libéral du Nouveau-Brunswick ([Fredericton ?, 2000 ?]).— Nicolas Landry et Nicole Lang, Histoire de l’Acadie (Sillery [Québec], 2001).— N.-B., Assemblée législative, Synoptic report of the proc., 1924 ; « l’Hon. Peter John (P. J.) Veniot » : gnb.ca/legis/publications/tradition/premiers/bio-f/VeniotPJ-TR.pdf (consulté le 14 août 2015).— Léon Thériault, la Question du pouvoir en Acadie : essai (Moncton, 1982).— [J.] R. [H.] Wilbur, The rise of French New Brunswick (Halifax, 1989).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

En collaboration avec Chedly Belkhodja et Éric Thomas, « VENIOT, PIERRE-JEAN (baptisé Pierre Vignault) (Peter John, P. J.) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 oct. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/veniot_pierre_jean_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/veniot_pierre_jean_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    En collaboration avec Chedly Belkhodja et Éric Thomas
Titre de l'article:    VENIOT, PIERRE-JEAN (baptisé Pierre Vignault) (Peter John, P. J.)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    23 octobre 2020