DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

ULOQSAQ – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 24 Sept. 1929 at the settlement of Coppermine (Kugluktuk, Nunavut)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  peintres canadiens --A / Canadian Artists A

Source: Link

WILKINSON, CAROLINE HELENA (Armington) (named at birth Helena), artist and nurse; b. 12 Sept. 1875 in Brampton, Ont., daughter of William Wilkinson, a farmer and agricultural-implement dealer, and Mary Crawford; m. 6 and 8 Sept. 1900 Frank Milton Armington (d. 1941) in Paris; they had no children; d. 25 Oct. 1939 in New York City.

Caroline Wilkinson, known as Carrie, attended public school and high school in Brampton, and about 1890 she began to study art in Toronto with her father’s cousin John Wycliffe Lowes Forster. While a student and briefly a teacher of art in Toronto, she became acquainted with another of Forster’s pupils, Frank Milton Armington. Family pressure and her own practical bent diverted Caroline’s attention briefly from art. She trained as a nurse at the Guelph General Hospital and then practised in New York City and Toronto, earning enough money for her passage to France. In May 1900 she joined Frank’s mother and sister in Paris; Frank had spent the year there studying art.

Following their marriage in a civil ceremony at the British consulate on 6 September and a religious ceremony two days later at the American Church in Paris, the couple returned to Canada. After a brief sojourn in Sault Ste Marie, Ont., in 1901, they settled in Manitoba, where Frank had briefly lived in the 1890s. In Winnipeg the couple made friends within the small community of artists and newspaper people who, like themselves, had been drawn by the prospects of an emerging metropolis and, in particular, the burgeoning commercial-art industry. Frank found employment with the Winnipeg Tribune, taught at Havergal College, and supplemented his income with various commercial-art assignments. He regularly placed newspaper advertisements offering his services as a portrait painter, which put him in direct competition with Winnipeg’s long-established portrait artist, Victor Albert Long. Soon Frank’s studio became a gathering place for artists who sketched there on Wednesday evenings. In 1902, with Hay Strafford Stead* and others, he became a founding member of the Manitoba Society of Artists and he served as its first vice-president. The organization sought to improve professional art instruction locally, establish cultural institutions, hold regular exhibitions, and encourage the development of a uniquely Manitoba art. Caroline took on some private nursing, offered painting lessons in her home, and attended meetings of the Winnipeg branch of the Women’s Art Association of Canada. She kept a lower profile than her husband, did not participate in local shows, and was never mentioned in art reviews. She did join a WAAC-sponsored sketching group which included some of the city’s well-known women artists who, like herself, had benefited from advanced instruction elsewhere.

In 1905 the Armingtons returned to Europe for further instruction. They briefly enrolled at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière in Paris and later they attended the Académie Julian, in classes separated according to gender. Both began to take an interest in printmaking, primarily etching. A fellow student taught Frank to etch and soon he and Caroline were equally proficient. For Caroline, etching would eventually take precedence over painting. From the outset her prints were meticulously detailed and also picturesque portrayals of European scenery in which architectural panoramas rather than human figures were the focus.

Caroline won a silver medal at the Salon of 1911 for her painting of a peasant absorbed in thought, Vieille Brugeoise. Her Portrait de ma mère (1912) reveals her continued attachment to accurate and solid representation and her adoption of a more high-keyed palette than that which she had previously used. Frank’s work as a painter was also moving in the same direction.

Despite their expatriate status, the Armingtons sent their productions to Canada for exhibition and kept up contacts with friends there. Prints soon became an important source of income and the Armingtons sold not only to private collectors, but also to important public institutions in Europe, the United States, and Canada. In 1910 the National Gallery in Ottawa had purchased a print by Caroline, Le quai vert, Bruges (1908), and in 1911 it acquired two additional items, The Seine and Notre-Dame, Paris (1909) and The Thames and St. Paul’s, London (1911). The couple donated some of their art to museums and public galleries in the United States and Europe, an excellent strategy for stimulating future sales and creating goodwill. It was a practice that they would continue throughout their lives. They were also adept at ensuring coverage of their activities in the media in Canada and abroad. A commission from the Canadian Pacific Railway to provide landscapes, but “nothing with Indians and nothing with snow,” brought them home again in 1911 for three to four months and gave them opportunities for numerous displays of their work across the country.

Caroline’s growing success was evidenced by the inclusion of her art in juried exhibitions, and her achievements caused one journalist to ask in 1913 whether she and her husband were in competition. “Never,” she replied. “We accomplished about the same amount of work each year, and when one of us carries off an honor at an exhibition the other is as proud as if he or she had done so himself or herself.”

The Armingtons had close ties to the colony of American artists, authors, and intellectuals living in Paris. During World War I Caroline put her nursing skills to use once again by volunteering with the American Ambulance Field Service; Frank became an orderly for the same organization. Despite the military conflict, she continued to etch, producing mostly scenes of Paris. After the war, Lord Beaverbrook [Aitken*] selected two of her solidly constructed prints, depicting the No.8 Canadian General Hospital in Saint-Cloud and the British Army and Navy Leave Club in Paris, for purchase by the Canadian War Memorials Fund.

Caroline was also adept at negotiating contracts that had the potential to generate multiple prints. In September 1920 she finished a commission for the Aero Club of America to etch the Wilbur Wright monument (unveiled the previous July) in Le Mans. For this assignment she had left Frank painting ballet dancers in Paris, she told friends, while she ventured out on an etching trip that also produced notable and saleable images of Chartres, Reims, and other picturesque sites.

During the 1920s and 1930s Caroline went on painting and etching, and she received favourable notices in France, the United States, and Canada. Art critic Eugène Hoffmann, writing in Le Journal des Arts in 1923, congratulated her on an enriching and substantial show, her first solo exhibition of paintings, held at the Galeries Simonson in Paris, while the European edition of the New York Herald, which kept up with the activities of Americans in the city, praised her illustrations of solid architectural masses, “faithfully rendered.… In Paris Mrs. Armington has been particularly interested in the river, its bridges and the barges which lie at anchor in their shadow.” The following year she sold numerous etchings to the T. Eaton Company Limited [see Timothy Eaton*]. In 1925 and 1926 works by the Armingtons were sent on tour across the United States and were seen in private galleries and art spaces in New York City, Detroit, Toledo, Ohio, and Des Moines, Iowa. The Toledo Times observed that “the etchings of Mrs. Armington, in the main studies of Paris, are of very high quality, sure in expression and of true feeling.”

Asked in 1928 why she and her husband had remained in Europe, Caroline explained, “We feel we can best represent Canada by staying where we are. Here we are not isolated as far as art is concerned and we can make more progress because of the artistic atmosphere.… If we went back to live we would have to teach, or else paint, portraits, or illustrate. It is very nice for Canada to have pioneers but they do not sell enough to make a living.” The following year the Armingtons held a joint exhibition at the Grange in Toronto which was well received by local reviewers and generated sales.

By 1939 Caroline and Frank Armington, both in their 60s, were unwell. In May Caroline suffered a heart attack during an air-raid alarm. Despite her precarious health, the couple decided to leave Europe. Caroline died three days after their arrival in New York City. Her conventional lifestyle, her prolonged absence from Canada, and her work, sometimes considered old-fashioned when viewed against the modernist paradigm, have made her lesser known in her country of birth than she has been in the United States and France. Research and publications in the late 20th century have revived interest in the Armingtons, in particular Caroline, and have effectively integrated them into an ongoing construction of Canadian art history that is more inclusive and nuanced than past accounts.

Marilyn Baker

Few of Caroline Helena Armington’s paintings are found in public collections, but her etchings are preserved in Canadian, American, British, French, and German institutions. In Canada, the largest collection is held by the Peel Art Gallery in Brampton, Ont., and outside of the country by the National Library of France in Paris.

AO, RG 80-2-0-84, no.24032. Peel Art Gallery, Museum and Arch., Frank and Caroline Armington coll. Eugène Hoffmann, “Petites expositions: exposition Caroline Armington,” Le Journal des arts (Paris), 28 févr. 1923. New York Herald (Paris), 2 Nov. 1913, 25 Feb. 1923. M. A. Perry, “The Armingtons of Paris and Toronto,” Toronto Star Weekly, 31 March 1928. Toledo Times (Toledo, Ohio), 7 Feb. 1926. Janet Braide and Nancy Parke-Taylor, Caroline and Frank Armington: Canadian painter-etchers in Paris ([Brampton], 1990). A. McK. Brockman, Caroline (1875–1939) and Frank (1876–1941) Armington ([Two Mountains], Que., 1985). A dictionary of Canadian artists, comp. C. S. MacDonald et al. (8v., Ottawa, 1967–2006; vol.9 online only); all vols. available online in the “Artists in Canada” database at www.pro.rcip-chin.gc.ca/application/aac-aic/description-about.app?lang=en. R. L. Tovell, A new class of art: the artist’s print in Canadian art, 1877–1920 (Ottawa, 1996). Who’s who in Canada, 1936.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Marilyn Baker, “WILKINSON, CAROLINE HELENA (Armington),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 24, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/wilkinson_caroline_helena_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/wilkinson_caroline_helena_16E.html
Author of Article: Marilyn Baker
Title of Article: WILKINSON, CAROLINE HELENA (Armington)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: September 24, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 18 octobre 1910 à Belleville, Ontario

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  peintres canadiens --A / Canadian Artists A

Provenance : Lien

WILKINSON, CAROLINE HELENA (Armington) (elle reçut à sa naissance le prénom d’Helena), artiste et infirmière, née le 12 septembre 1875 à Brampton, Ontario, fille de William Wilkinson, fermier et marchand d’instruments aratoires, et de Mary Crawford ; les 6 et 8 septembre 1900, elle épousa à Paris Frank Milton Armington (décédé en 1941), et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédée le 25 octobre 1939 à New York.

Caroline Helena Wilkinson, connue sous le prénom de Carrie, fréquenta l’école publique et l’école secondaire à Brampton, puis, vers 1890, commença à étudier les beaux-arts à Toronto auprès du cousin de son père, John Wycliffe Lowes Forster. À l’époque où elle était étudiante et, durant une courte période, professeure d’art à Toronto, elle fit la connaissance d’un autre apprenti de Forster, Frank Milton Armington. Elle se détourna momentanément de l’art à cause de pressions familiales et de son propre côté pratique. Elle suivit une formation d’infirmière au Guelph General Hospital, puis exerça sa profession à New York et à Toronto, ce qui lui permit de gagner assez d’argent pour aller en France. En mai 1900, elle rejoignit la mère et la sœur de Frank Milton à Paris ; ce dernier y avait passé l’année à étudier les beaux-arts.

Après un mariage civil au consulat de Grande-Bretagne le 6 septembre et un mariage religieux deux jours plus tard à l’American Church in Paris, le couple retourna au Canada. Il effectua un court séjour à Sault-Sainte-Marie, en Ontario, puis, en 1901, s’installa au Manitoba, où Frank Milton avait vécu pendant quelque temps dans les années 1890. À Winnipeg, les Armington se lièrent d’amitié avec des membres de la petite communauté d’artistes et de gens de la presse écrite qui, comme eux, avait été attirés par les perspectives d’avenir d’une métropole naissante et, en particulier, par l’industrie de l’art publicitaire, qui était en plein essor. Frank Milton trouva un emploi au Winnipeg Tribune, enseigna au Havergal College et effectua divers travaux d’art publicitaire pour arrondir ses fins de mois. Il faisait régulièrement passer des annonces dans les journaux où il offrait ses services de portraitiste, ce qui le mettait en concurrence directe avec Victor Albert Long, artiste établi depuis longtemps à Winnipeg. L’atelier de Frank Milton devint rapidement un lieu de rendez-vous pour les artistes, qui s’y réunissaient les mercredis soir afin de faire des esquisses. En 1902, avec Hay Strafford Stead* et d’autres collègues, il devint membre fondateur de la Manitoba Society of Artists, dont il fut le premier vice-président. L’organisation cherchait à améliorer l’enseignement des arts professionnels à l’échelle locale, à créer des institutions culturelles, à organiser régulièrement des expositions et à encourager le développement d’un art typiquement manitobain. Mme Armington offrit des soins infirmiers privés, donna des leçons de peinture chez elle et assista à des assemblées de la section de Winnipeg de la Women’s Art Association of Canada. Elle se faisait plus discrète que son mari, ne participait pas aux expositions locales et n’était jamais mentionnée dans les critiques d’art. Elle fit toutefois partie d’un groupe de dessinatrices parrainé par la Women’s Art Association of Canada, qui comprenait certaines des femmes artistes connues de la ville et qui, comme elle, avaient fait des études à l’extérieur de la région.

En 1905, les Armington retournèrent en Europe pour parfaire leur formation. Ils s’inscrivirent à l’Académie de la grande chaumière à Paris, mais n’y restèrent pas longtemps. Ils fréquentèrent plus tard l’académie Julian, dans des classes divisées selon les sexes. Les deux artistes commencèrent à s’intéresser à la gravure, surtout à l’eau-forte. Un camarade de classe enseigna à Frank Milton les techniques pour graver à l’eau-forte et, rapidement, les Armington atteignirent tous les deux un bon niveau. Pour Mme Armington, la gravure à l’eau-forte deviendrait plus importante que la peinture. Dès le début, ses estampes étaient méticuleusement détaillées et représentaient de façon pittoresque des paysages européens dans lesquels des panoramas architecturaux, plutôt que des personnages, constituaient les éléments centraux.

Mme Armington remporta une médaille d’argent au Salon de 1911 pour son tableau représentant une paysanne plongée dans ses pensées, intitulé Vieille Brugeoise. Son Portrait de ma mère (1912) révèle son attachement continu à la représentation précise et solide, ainsi que l’adoption d’une palette plus claire que celle qu’elle avait utilisée auparavant. Le travail de son mari en peinture prenait la même direction.

Bien qu’expatriés, les Armington envoyaient leurs œuvres à des expositions au Canada et restaient en contact avec des amis qui s’y trouvaient. Les estampes devinrent rapidement une source de revenus considérable pour le couple, qui vendit ses œuvres non seulement à des collectionneurs privés, mais aussi à des établissements publics de l’Europe, des États-Unis et du Canada. En 1910, la Galerie nationale, à Ottawa, avait fait l’acquisition d’une estampe de Mme Armington, le Quai vert, Bruges (1908) et, en 1911, ajouta à sa collection deux œuvres de l’artiste, The Seine and Notre-Dame, Paris (1909) et The Thames and St. Paul’s, London (1911). Le couple fit don de certaines de ses œuvres à des musées et à des galeries publiques aux États-Unis et en Europe, excellente stratégie pour stimuler les ventes et établir de bonnes relations avec sa clientèle. Les Armington conserveraient cette pratique tout au long de leur vie. Ils étaient aussi passés maîtres dans l’art d’assurer la couverture de leurs activités dans les médias au Canada et à l’étranger. Une commande de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique pour des paysages, mais « rien avec des Indiens ni avec de la neige », les fit rentrer à nouveau au pays en 1911 pour trois ou quatre mois et leur donna l’occasion de faire de nombreuses expositions de leurs œuvres partout au Canada.

Le succès grandissant de Mme Armington se manifesta par l’inclusion de ses œuvres dans des expositions avec jury et amena un journaliste à lui demander, en 1913, s’il y avait une rivalité entre elle et son mari. « Jamais, répondit-elle. Nous avons accompli environ la même quantité de travail chaque année, et quand l’un d’entre nous remporte un honneur à une exposition, l’autre est aussi fier que s’il l’avait lui-même mérité. »

Les Armington entretenaient des liens étroits avec la colonie d’artistes, d’auteurs et d’intellectuels américains qui vivaient à Paris. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, Mme Armington mit de nouveau à contribution ses compétences d’infirmière en se portant volontaire auprès de l’American Ambulance Field Service ; son mari devint aide-soignant au sein de la même organisation. Elle continua malgré tout à graver à l’eau-forte, produisant principalement des scènes de Paris. Après la guerre, lord Beaverbrook [Aitken*] choisit deux de ses estampes les plus solidement construites, qui représentaient l’Hôpital général canadien no 8 à Saint-Cloud, en banlieue de Paris, et le British Army and Navy Leave Club, dans la capitale, en prévision de leur achat par la Caisse canadienne des monuments commémoratifs de guerre.

Mme Armington était également douée pour négocier des contrats qui pouvaient l’amener à produire de multiples estampes. En septembre 1920, elle termina pour l’Aero Club of America une eau-forte du monument Wilbur Wright, dévoilé au mois de juillet précédent au Mans. Afin de réaliser cet ouvrage, elle s’était aventurée à l’extérieur de Paris où, dit-elle à des amis, elle avait laissé son mari qui peignait des ballerines ; au cours de ce voyage qu’elle consacra à la gravure, elle produisit également des images de Chartres, de Reims et d’autres lieux pittoresques, de grande qualité et de valeur commerciale.

Pendant les années 1920 et 1930, Mme Armington continua de peindre et de graver à l’eau-forte, et reçut des comptes rendus favorables en France, aux États-Unis et au Canada. En 1923, à l’occasion de sa première exposition de peinture en solo, aux Galeries Simonson à Paris, le critique d’art Eugène Hoffmann la félicita, dans le Journal des Arts, pour une exposition enrichissante et substantielle. Dans l’édition européenne du New York Herald, qui suivait les activités des Américains à Paris, on loua ses représentations de masses architecturales solides « fidèlement rendues » ; on écrivit aussi : « À Paris, Mme Armington s’est particulièrement intéressée au fleuve, à ses ponts et aux barges qui mouillent dans leur ombre. » L’année suivante, elle vendit de nombreuses eaux-fortes à la T. Eaton Company Limited [V. Timothy Eaton*]. En 1925 et 1926, des œuvres des Armington furent envoyées en tournée aux États-Unis et exposées dans des galeries privées et des endroits consacrés à l’art à New York, à Detroit, à Toledo, en Ohio, et à Des Moines, en Iowa. Le Toledo Times fit remarquer que « les eaux-fortes de Mme Armington, dans les principales études de Paris, [étaient] de très haute qualité, montr[aient] une expression pleine d’assurance et communiqu[aient] des sentiments véritables ».

Lorsqu’on lui demanda en 1928 la raison pour laquelle elle et son mari étaient restés en Europe, Mme Armington expliqua : « Nous pensons pouvoir mieux représenter le Canada en demeurant où nous sommes. Ici, nous ne sommes pas isolés, en ce qui a trait à l’art, et nous pouvons nous améliorer davantage, grâce à l’atmosphère artistique […] Si nous rentrions, nous devrions enseigner, ou peindre, faire des portraits ou de l’illustration pour vivre. C’est très bien que le Canada ait des pionniers, mais on n’y vend pas assez d’œuvres pour gagner sa vie. » L’année suivante, les Armington organisèrent une exposition commune à la Grange de Toronto, qui fut bien accueillie par les critiques de la région et permit de faire des ventes.

En 1939, Caroline Helena et Frank Milton Armington, tous deux dans la soixantaine, ne se portaient pas bien. En mai, Mme Armington eut une crise cardiaque au cours d’une alarme de raid aérien. Malgré la santé précaire de cette dernière, le couple décida de quitter l’Europe. Mme Armington mourut trois jours après son arrivée à New York. Son mode de vie ordinaire, son absence prolongée du Canada et ses œuvres, parfois considérées comme démodées comparativement au paradigme moderniste, firent d’elle une artiste moins connue dans son pays de naissance qu’aux États-Unis et en France. Les recherches et les publications de la fin du xxe siècle ont ravivé un intérêt pour les Armington, en particulier pour Caroline Helena, et les ont intégrés avec succès dans une construction continue de l’histoire de l’art canadienne, plus large et nuancée qu’auparavant.

Marilyn Baker

Peu de tableaux de Caroline Helena Armington se trouvent dans des collections publiques, mais ses gravures sont conservées dans des établissements canadiens, américains, britanniques, français et allemands. Au Canada, la plus grande collection appartient à la Peel Art Gallery, Museum and Arch., à Brampton, en Ontario, et, en dehors du pays, à la Bibliothèque nationale de France, à Paris.

AO, RG 80-2-0-84, no 24032.— Peel Art Gallery, Museum and Arch., Frank and Caroline Armington coll.— Eugène Hoffmann, « Petites Expositions : exposition Caroline Armington », le Journal des arts (Paris), 28 févr. 1923.— New York Herald (Paris), 2 nov. 1913, 25 févr. 1923.— M. A. Perry, « The Armingtons of Paris and Toronto », Toronto Star Weekly, 31 mars 1928.— Toledo Times (Toledo, Ohio), 7 févr. 1926.— Janet Braide et Nancy Parke-Taylor, Caroline and Frank Armington : Canadian painter-etchers in Paris ([Brampton], 1990).— A. McK. Brockman, Caroline (1875–1939) and Frank (1876–1941) Armington ([Deux-Montagnes, Québec], 1985).— A dictionary of Canadian artists, C. S. MacDonald, compil. (8 vol. parus, Ottawa, 1967–2006 ; vol. 9 accessible en ligne seulement) ; tous les volumes sont accessibles en ligne à « Artists in Canada » : www.pro.rcip-chin.gc.ca/application/aac-aic/description-about.app?lang=en.— R. L. Tovell, A new class of art : the artist’s print in Canadian art, 1877–1920 (Ottawa, 1996).— Who’s who in Canada, 1936.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Marilyn Baker, « WILKINSON, CAROLINE HELENA (Armington) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/wilkinson_caroline_helena_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/wilkinson_caroline_helena_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Marilyn Baker
Titre de l'article:   WILKINSON, CAROLINE HELENA (Armington)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   18 octobre 2017