DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  Photograph Reverend Mr. Massey, Montreal, QC, 1882 Wm. Notman & Son December 26, 1882, 19th century Silver salts on paper mounted on paper - Albumen process 15 x 10 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-67840.1 © McCord Museum Keywords:  Photograph (77678)

Source: Link

MASSEY, SAMUEL, social worker, writer, and Church of England clergyman; b. 30 Dec. 1817 in Wincham, England, son of Samuel Massey, ship carpenter, and Ann Moreton; d. 10 June 1897 in Montreal.

Samuel Massey was born in a country cottage. Ivy, honeysuckle, and roses overspread the façade; polyanthus, primroses, and daisies lined the garden path; a “Rosidendrum” tree, bursting with purple flowers, graced the gable end; and, out front, a sturdy oak mounted guard over this idyllic scene. Within, young Samuel grew up under the steady Christian influence of a quiet, prayerful mother, who, he wrote later, “regarded religion as an every-day business.” Rarely venturing outside his native Cheshire, he received his formal education at an academy in Lostock Gralam and supplemented it by extensive reading and private tutoring. He first worked as a miner, and then for about eight years taught in village schools at Helsby and Poynton. On 31 July 1840, in Chester, he married Mary Fryer, the illiterate daughter of a salt-works agent; the couple would have eight children. Early in the 1850s, leaving behind his peaceful rural existence, Massey became a missionary for the Manchester City Mission run by the Young Men’s Christian Association. In 1853 the Manchester YMCA received a request from its Montreal counterpart for a city missionary; from 70 candidates it chose Samuel Massey.

The Montreal YMCA, the first in North America, had been organized in 1851. Initially, members had met principally for literary and devotional purposes, but in 1852 they decided that greater efforts should be made to bring young men under Christian influence. These efforts included the employment of a city missionary, and in October 1853 Massey arrived to take up the duties. At first he focused his labours on seamen and immigrants in summer and on young men and the poor in winter. He worked alone with sustained diligence despite many rebuffs and unpleasant experiences. As the YMCA’s report for 1856 put it, “few men meet with more filth, disease and vice.” In time his work increased in scope and volume. Each year he made thousands of visits to the poor of Griffintown (Montreal), comforting the sick, finding clothes, food, and employment for the needy, and distributing tracts, many of which he wrote himself, on religious and other subjects. He visited hospitals, jails, and asylums, started Sunday schools and dayschools, and held regular temperance meetings. His visits to stores and other places of business, primarily to encourage young men to shun the taverns for the facilities of the YMCA, ultimately enabled him to perform a rudimentary employment service by bringing together unemployed young people and job openings. His district prayer meetings put him in touch with refugee slaves from the United States, many of whom he assisted. And, by meeting ships as they docked, he alleviated the distress of many confused and destitute immigrant families. Among the seamen from hundreds of ships each year he became known as the “Sailors’ Missionary,” and in 1862 he helped to found the Montreal Sailors’ Institute, which provided reading materials, recreation, refreshments, lectures, and worship services.

By the early 1860s the Montreal YMCA was experiencing financial difficulties and, probably because of them, Massey left in 1864 to become one of two missionaries engaged by the newly created Montreal City Mission. It had been organized by nine evangelical congregations “on catholic principles” primarily to provide spiritual ministrations and financial relief to those who had no church connection. Support for the mission dwindled quickly, however, and by 1866 much of its work in Griffintown had been assumed by the American Presbyterian Church, which, that year, purchased a house and engaged Massey to carry on mission work in the district. So successful was he that by 1870 a large new stone church, seating 400 and containing rooms for school and Bible study classes, had been erected on Rue Inspecteur. He also organized free day-schools, soup kitchens in winter, aid to victims of the frequent spring floods, during which he would sometimes spend days in boats distributing food and other necessities, and regular temperance meetings for working men that became known throughout the city. By 1866 he had become concerned about the deplorable sanitary conditions in many parts of Montreal, and on the suggestion of social reformer Philip Pearsall Carpenter* he helped to form the Montreal Sanitary Association “to collect and diffuse information, and take action on all matters relating to the public health.” With characteristic vigour, he threw himself into the task, forming district committees and speaking to them and other groups about practical sanitary measures. The association led eventually to the establishment of an effective board of health in the city.

In 1877, to the regret of his congregation, Massey decided that the time had come to transfer his labours to Montreal’s east end. He moved to Salem Chapel, a Methodist church having fewer than a dozen members, on Rue Panet. Within a year he had renovated the building, increased the congregation to several hundred, built up a Sunday school of more than 150 pupils, made visits throughout the east end, started regular temperance meetings, and initiated work among sailors from ships at nearby wharfs.

By this time Massey was known as the Reverend Samuel Massey, but he had never been ordained or formally appointed as a clergyman. In 1881 he was described as a “practical man, intensely earnest,” whose theological views “untrammelled by any denominational creed . . . may, in a certain restricted sense, be termed liberal” and whose “creed, if he has any, is that of ‘faith working by love.’” As a preacher, he was “serious, clear and forcible,” and he pleased at least one listener because “he always stuck to his text, and gave over when he had done.” Around 1884 Massey decided to regularize his position, and he left Salem Chapel to seek ordination in the Church of England. In this decision he was probably influenced by a growing respect for Bishop William Bennett Bond*, whose practical skills and pastoral concerns for the clergy would have been most appealing to him. For a few years he took services at St John’s, a German church on Rue Saint-Dominique, while studying at the Montreal Diocesan Theological College. Bond ordained him deacon in January 1888 and priest that December. From the latter date until late 1895 he carried on his service to the poor as the incumbent of St Simon’s Church in the Saint-Henri district. He was priest-in-charge of the Richmond Square Mission of the Church of St James the Apostle in 1896–97 and for some years chaplain to the Sixth Battalion of Infantry (Fusiliers), of which his son was colonel.

Samuel Massey was possibly the first urban community service worker in Canada in the modern sense of the term, yet his roots lay in a traditional rural English background. Recalling his idyllic childhood, and, no doubt, his painful urban missions, he reflected in 1887 that “the social and moral condition of any community depends much on the character of its homes, and they depend much on the character of the mothers.” Motivated by religious commitment and influenced by the 19th-century social reform movement, his sustained efforts to improve social conditions set examples the effects of which went far beyond the immediate localities in which he worked.

Jack P. Francis

Samuel Massey, a regular contributor to the religious press in Canada and in England, is the author of numerous books and pamphlets on religion and other subjects, including Historical sketches of the Protestant churches and ministers of Montreal (Montreal, 1885); ‘Home; sweet home’, a lecture on ‘our city homes, and how to make them healthy and sweet’ delivered in StJohns Church, Montreal (n.p., n.d.); My mother and our old English home (2nd ed., Montreal, 1887); The RevSamuel Masseys farewell: his last sermon as rector of StSimons Church, StHenry, Montreal; reminiscences of a long and useful ministry (Montreal, 1895); and ‘Surrey Chapel’: a lecture on Rowland Hill, his times and eccentricities . . . ([Montreal, 1887]). The Notman Photographic Arch. at the McCord Museum contains six photographs of Massey (79939-I-79944-I) and a portrait is reproduced in My mother and our old English home and in The RevSamuel Masseys farewell . . . .

ACC, Diocese of Montreal Arch., clergy reg. ANQ-M, CE1-69, 10 juin 1897. Cheshire Record Office (Chester, Eng.), Great Budworth, reg. of baptisms, 8 Feb. 1818. Erskine and American United Church (Montreal), American Presbyterian Church, Home Missions Committee, minutes, 1867–77; Session minutes, 1877. GRO (London), Reg. of marriages for the parish of St Peter’s (Chester), 31 July 1840. Private arch., Guy Suckling (Montreal), “Samuel Massey’s book, 1810” (Massey family bible). St James the Apostle (Anglican) Church (Montreal), Parish magazine, 1896. Montreal Young Men’s Christian Assoc., Report, 1856, 1859, 1863–64. Canadian Churchman, 28 Jan. 1896. Gazette (Montreal), 22 Oct. 1878, 11 June 1897. Montreal Daily Witness, 21 June 1862; 15 Nov. 1865; 23–28 April 1866; 22 Jan., 30 March, 8 May, 27 July, 31 Oct. 1867; 16, 30 May, 19 Dec. 1868; 24 April, 8 May 1869; 10 May, 27 Dec. 1870; 2 March 1871; 30 Oct. 1873; 29 Aug. 1877; 7 June 1878; 1 April 1887. Canadian biog. dict. Crockfords clerical directory . . . (London), 1895. H. C. Cross, One hundred years of service with youth: the story of the Montreal YMCA (Montreal, 1951). History of the Montreal Young Mens Christian Association . . . (Montreal, 1873). C. H. Hopkins, History of the Y.M.C.A. in North America (New York, 1951). Montreal Sailors’ Institute, Annual report, 1941.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jack P. Francis, “MASSEY, SAMUEL,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 1, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/massey_samuel_12E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/massey_samuel_12E.html
Author of Article: Jack P. Francis
Title of Article: MASSEY, SAMUEL
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1990
Year of revision: 1990
Access Date: September 1, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  Photograph Reverend Mr. Massey, Montreal, QC, 1882 Wm. Notman & Son December 26, 1882, 19th century Silver salts on paper mounted on paper - Albumen process 15 x 10 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-67840.1 © McCord Museum Keywords:  Photograph (77678)

Provenance : Lien

MASSEY, SAMUEL, travailleur social, auteur et ministre de l’Église d’Angleterre, né le 30 décembre 1817 à Wincham, Angleterre, fils de Samuel Massey, charpentier de navires, et d’Ann Moreton ; décédé le 10 juin 1897 à Montréal.

Samuel Massey naquit dans une petite maison de campagne dont la façade était recouverte de lierre, de chèvrefeuille et de roses. Des primevères et des marguerites bordaient l’allée du jardin, un « rosidendron » ornait le toit de ses fleurs violettes et, à l’avant, un robuste chêne montait la garde sur cette scène idyllique. Le jeune Samuel grandit sous l’influence d’une mère calme et pieuse qui, écrivit-il plus tard, « considérait la religion comme l’affaire de tous les jours ». S’aventurant rarement hors de son Cheshire natal, il fit ses études dans une école secondaire de Lostock Gralam et enrichit ses connaissances par de nombreuses lectures et des leçons particulières. Il travailla d’abord dans une mine, puis enseigna durant environ huit ans dans des écoles villageoises à Helsby et à Poynton. Le 31 juillet 1840, à Chester, il épousa une jeune femme illettrée, Mary Fryer, la fille du représentant d’une raffinerie de sel. Le couple allait avoir huit enfants. Au début des années 1850, Massey quitta sa paisible existence campagnarde pour devenir missionnaire à la Manchester City Mission, que dirigeait la Young Men’s Christian Association. En 1853, la YMCA de Montréal demanda à celle de Manchester de lui trouver un auxiliaire laïque, et c’est Massey que l’on choisit parmi 70 candidats.

La YMCA de Montréal, la première en Amérique du Nord, avait été formée en 1851. Au début, les membres se réunissaient surtout à des fins littéraires et pieuses mais, en 1852, ils avaient conclu qu’ils devaient multiplier leurs efforts de christianisation auprès des jeunes gens. Le nouveau programme prévoyait, entre autres, l’engagement d’un auxiliaire laïque, et Massey arriva en octobre 1853 pour exercer cette fonction. Au début, il œuvra surtout auprès des marins et des immigrants en été et auprès des jeunes gens et des pauvres en hiver. Il travaillait seul, avec une diligence soutenue, malgré les nombreuses rebuffades et expériences désagréables qu’il vivait. Comme le disait en 1856 le rapport de la YMCA, « peu d’hommes côto[yaient] plus de saleté, de maladie et de vice ». Avec le temps, son travail se diversifia et s’intensifia. Chaque année, il faisait des milliers de visites aux pauvres de Griffintown (Montréal), réconfortait les malades, trouvait des vêtements, de la nourriture et de l’emploi pour les nécessiteux et distribuait des brochures, dont il était souvent l’auteur, sur des sujets religieux ou autres. Il visitait hôpitaux, prisons et asiles, ouvrait des écoles du dimanche et des écoles de jour, et tenait régulièrement des réunions de tempérance. Ses tournées dans les magasins et autres lieux d’affaires, entreprises d’abord pour encourager les jeunes gens à délaisser les tavernes pour les locaux de la YMCA, lui permirent finalement d’offrir un service rudimentaire de placement pour les jeunes chômeurs. Les réunions de prières qu’il tenait dans le district le mirent en relation avec des esclaves américains réfugiés, et il aida bon nombre d’entre eux. De plus, en accueillant les navires aux quais, il allégeait la détresse de beaucoup de familles d’immigrants désorientées et pauvres. Les équipages des centaines de navires qui arrivaient chaque année en vinrent à l’appeler le « missionnaire des marins » et, en 1862, il participa à la fondation de l’Institut maritime de Montréal, qui offrait livres et brochures, loisirs, rafraîchissements, conférences et offices religieux.

Au début des années 1860, la YMCA de Montréal connut des difficultés financières. C’est probablement pour cette raison que Massey la quitta en 1864 pour travailler, avec un autre missionnaire, à la Montreal City Mission. Organisée depuis peu « selon des principes catholiques » par neuf congrégations évangéliques, cette mission visait surtout à offrir une assistance spirituelle et financière aux gens qui n’étaient membres d’aucune Église. Cependant, le soutien dont elle bénéficiait diminua rapidement et, dès 1866, une bonne partie de son œuvre dans Griffintown était accomplie par la congrégation Presbyterian Church qui, cette année-là, acheta une maison et engagea Massey pour continuer le travail missionnaire dans le district. Son succès fut tel que dès 1870 une nouvelle église de pierre, qui contenait 400 places assises et des classes d’enseignement général et biblique, s’élevait rue Inspecteur. Massey organisa aussi des écoles de jour gratuites, des soupes populaires en hiver, de l’aide pour les victimes des fréquentes inondations printanières (durant lesquelles il passait parfois des jours entiers, en bateau, à distribuer de la nourriture et autres biens de première nécessité) et, à l’intention des ouvriers, des réunions régulières de tempérance qui devinrent connues dans toute la ville. En 1866, inquiet des déplorables conditions d’hygiène qui sévissaient dans bien des quartiers de Montréal, il avait participé, sur le conseil du docteur Philip Pearsall Carpenter*, promoteur de réformes sociales, à la formation de l’Association sanitaire de Montréal, qui devait « recueillir et diffuser de l’information sur toutes les questions relatives à la santé publique, et prendre des mesures » dans ce domaine. Massey se lança dans ce travail avec son énergie coutumière : il forma des comités de district et prononça, devant eux et d’autres groupes, des conférences sur les mesures pratiques d’hygiène. L’association mena finalement à l’établissement d’un bureau de santé efficace.

En 1877, au grand regret de sa congrégation, Massey conclut que le temps était venu pour lui d’aller travailler dans l’est de Montréal. Il s’installa rue Panet, au temple méthodiste Salem, qui ne comptait même pas une douzaine de fidèles. En moins d’un an, il avait rénové l’édifice, fait passer le nombre de fidèles à plusieurs centaines, mis sur pied une école du dimanche qui accueillait plus de 150 élèves, effectué des visites dans tout l’est de la ville, lancé des réunions régulières de tempérance et commencé à travailler parmi les marins des navires qui accostaient aux quais voisins.

À cette époque, on l’appelait le révérend Samuel Massey, mais jamais il n’avait été ordonné ni nommé ministre. En 1881, quelqu’un le décrivit comme un « homme pratique, intensément dévoué », dont les positions théologiques, « libres de toute affiliation confessionnelle, [... pouvaient], jusqu’à un certain point, être qualifiées de libérales » et dont le « credo, s’il en a[vait] un, [était] « vivre sa foi par l’amour ». C’était un prédicateur « sérieux, clair et énergique » ; au moins un auditeur appréciait qu’« il s’en tien[ne] toujours à son texte et s’arrête quand il avait fini de le lire ». Vers 1884, Massey décida de régulariser sa situation et quitta le temple Salem en vue de se faire ordonner par l’Église d’Angleterre. Son respect de plus en plus grand pour l’évêque William Bennett Bond*, dont l’attitude pragmatique envers le clergé et les préoccupations pastorales étaient de nature à lui plaire, influença probablement son choix. Pendant quelques années, il exerça à l’église allemande St John, rue Saint-Dominique, tout en étudiant au Montreal Diocesan Theological College. Bond l’ordonna diacre en janvier 1888 et prêtre en décembre. À compter de ce moment et jusqu’à la fin de 1895, Massey continua d’œuvrer auprès des pauvres en qualité de titulaire de l’église St Simon, dans le district de Saint-Henri. En 1896–1897, il desservit la Richmond Square Mission, affiliée à l’église St James the Apostle ; pendant quelques années il avait été aumônier du Sixth Battalion of Infantry (Fusiliers), dont son fils était le colonel.

Samuel Massey fut peut-être le premier travailleur social urbain du Canada, au sens que l’on donne aujourd’hui à ce terme, même s’il venait d’un milieu rural traditionnel de l’Angleterre. En se remémorant son enfance idyllique, et sans doute ses pénibles missions urbaines, il fit observer en 1887 : « la condition sociale et morale de toute collectivité dépend beaucoup du caractère de ses foyers, qui à leur tour dépendent beaucoup du caractère des mères ». Inspirés par son engagement religieux et influencés par le mouvement de réforme sociale du xixe siècle, ses efforts soutenus pour améliorer les conditions sociales furent un exemple dont les effets dépassèrent de beaucoup les milieux où il travailla.

Jack P. Francis

Samuel Massey est l’auteur de nombreux livres et brochures traitant de religion et d’autres sujets. Parmi ses ouvrages, on trouve : Historical sketches of the Protestant churches and ministers of Montreal (Montréal, 1885) ; « Home ; sweet home », a lecture on « our city homes, and how to make them healthy and sweet » delivered in St. John’s Church, Montreal (s.l.n.d.) ; My mother and our old English home (2e éd., Montréal, 1887) ; « Surrey Chapel » : a lecture on Rowland Hill, his times and eccentricities [...] ([Montréal, 1887]) ; The Rev. Samuel Massey’s farewell : his last sermon as rector of St. Simon’s Church, St. Henry, Montreal ; reminiscences of a long and useful ministry (Montréal, 1895). Il était un collaborateur assidu de la presse religieuse au Canada et en Angleterre.

Il existe six photographies de Massey au Musée McCord dans les Notman Photographic Arch. (79939-I–79944-I) et un portrait a été reproduit dans My mother and our old English home et dans The Rev. Samuel Massey’s farewell [...].

ANQ-M, CE1-69, 10 juin 1897.— Arch. privées, Guy Suckling (Montréal), « Samuel Massey’s book, 1810 » (bible de la famille Massey).— Cheshire Record Office (Chester, Angl.), Great Budworth, reg. of baptisms, 8 févr. 1818.— EEC, Diocese of Montreal Arch., clergy reg.— Erskine and American United Church (Montréal), American Presbyterian Church, Home Missions Committee, minutes, 1867–1877 ; Session minutes, 1877.— GRO (Londres), Reg. of marriages for the parish of St Peter’s (Chester), 31 juill. 1840.— St James the Apostle (Anglican) Church (Montréal), Parish magazine, 1896.— Montreal Young Men’s Christian Assoc., Report, 1856 ; 1859 ; 1863–1864.— Canadian Churchman, 28 janv. 1896.— Gazette (Montréal), 22 oct. 1878, 11 juin 1897.— Montreal Daily Witness, 21 juin 1862, 15 nov. 1865, 23–28 avril 1866, 22 janv., 30 mars, 8 mai, 27 juill., 31 oct. 1867, 16, 30 mai, 19 déc. 1868, 24 avril, 8 mai 1869, 10 mai, 27 déc. 1870, 2 mars 1871, 30 oct. 1873, 29 août 1877, 7 juin 1878, 1er avril 1887.— Canadian biog. dict.— Crockford’s clerical directory [...] (Londres), 1895.— H. C. Cross, One hundred years of service with youth : the story of the Montreal YMCA (Montréal, 1951).— History of the Montreal Young Men’s Christian Association [...] (Montréal, 1873).— C. H. Hopkins, History of the Y.M.C.A. in North America (New York, 1951).— Montreal Sailors’ Institute, Annual report, 1941.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jack P. Francis, « MASSEY, SAMUEL », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 12, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 29 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/massey_samuel_12F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/massey_samuel_12F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jack P. Francis
Titre de l'article:   MASSEY, SAMUEL
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 12
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1990
Année de la révision:   1990
Date de consultation:   29 juillet 2014