DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

THEAKER, JOHN WESLEY – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

b. 21 Sept. 1866 in Glanford Township, Upper Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:   Thomas Chalmers Brainerd

Source: Link

BRAINERD, THOMAS CHALMERS, assistant surgeon, army officer, businessman, and industrialist; b. 27 Sept. 1837 in Philadelphia, the eldest of the four children of Thomas Brainerd, a pastor, and Mary Whiting, widow of Daniel Wadsworth Whiting; m. 5 Jan. 1865 Mari Laflin Boies in Saugerties, N.Y., and they had four sons and three daughters; d. 24 April 1910 in Montreal and was buried the following day in Mount Royal Cemetery in Outremont (Montreal).

Thomas Chalmers Brainerd’s ancestor, Daniel Brainerd, a native of England, arrived in Connecticut around 1649. Thomas Chalmers spent his childhood in the presbytery adjacent to Philadelphia’s famous Old Pine Street Church, where his father officiated. In 1855, after receiving private tuition, he entered Yale College in New Haven, Conn., from which he graduated with a liberal arts degree in 1859. He studied medicine at Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia for at least the 1859–60 academic year.

In 1861, at the start of the American Civil War, Brainerd enlisted as an officer in the Union army and became an assistant surgeon. He was posted to, among other places, Columbian College General Hospital in Washington and Broad Street Hospital in Philadelphia. As a first lieutenant in 1863, he took part in the siege of Charleston, S.C., during which he worked tirelessly to treat a large number of wounded soldiers. He was tasked with the concurrent administration of four military hospitals, including the enormous Mower U.S. General Hospital in Philadelphia. After the war (which ended in 1865), he served in Arkansas. In May 1866 he resigned his commission because of his wife’s poor health and abandoned surgery. In July the ranks of captain and major were bestowed on him, retroactive to 13 March 1865, for his loyal and commendable service.

Brainerd subsequently worked in the iron business and then in the manufacture of blasting powder. In 1867 he joined the Laflin Powder Company, whose president was his father-in-law, Joseph Milton Boies; from the position of agent, he rose to department head in 1869 and then to secretary around 1870. In 1872 he also became secretary of the board of the Gunpowder Trade Association of the United States (GTAUS), formed that year by the six largest blasting-powder manufacturers to set prices in the industry. From 1874 to 1876 he operated his own gunpowder mill near York, Penn. In 1876 the GTAUS established a subsidiary, the Gunpowder Export Company Limited, to export its surplus production to Canada and England; Brainerd was appointed president. He settled his family in Montreal that year to run the Canadian branch and would become a naturalized British subject in 1884. When the American market suddenly began to grow, the GTAUS surplus evaporated, and Brainerd realized that if he wanted to sell explosives he would have to manufacture them himself.

Together with his friend Lammot Du Pont, an American chemist and industrialist, Brainerd bought the Ontario-based Hamilton Powder Company (HPC) at the end of 1878. His father-in-law and his brother-in-law, Henry Martyn Boies, also acquired shares. Brainerd became president and Du Pont a director. The company, whose head office he quickly transferred to 61 Rue Saint-François-Xavier in Montreal, had two factories in Ontario: one for black powder in Cumminsville and one for nitroglycerin near Kingston. Nitroglycerin enabled the owners to manufacture dynamite. This powerful explosive, invented by the Swedish chemist Alfred Nobel, was considered safe because it withstood shocks and required a separate detonator. In 1877 the HPC had acquired the Windsor Powder Company of Windsor Mills (Windsor), Quebec. Towards the end of 1883 it would purchase the Acadia Powder Company of Halifax, a move to take control of a troublesome competitor.

Brainerd was now in a position to respond to the growing demand for explosives brought about by the construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway and other railways, the enlargement of the Lachine Canal, and the exploitation of mines (including those in Quebec, such as the asbestos mine in Thetford Township (Thetford Mines) [see James King*] and the copper mine in Eustis). Demand for explosives also came from sports hunters, land-clearers, police forces, and the military. To satisfy all these customers, Brainerd decided in 1878 to build a new factory in Belœil (McMasterville), which would become the most valuable asset of the HPC and would remain in business for 120 years. He chose the site, drew up plans for all the buildings, and supervised the construction. The production of black powder, nitroglycerin, and dynamite began in 1879.

When Du Pont died in 1884 in an explosion at the nitroglycerin factory of his Repauno Chemical Company in Gibbstown, N.J., Brainerd bought all the shares of the HPC owned by the estate of his loyal friend, as well as those of his father-in-law and brother-in-law. He therefore became sole proprietor of the firm, whose share capital would reach $300,000 in 1896 and then $1 million in 1899.

On 9 Oct. 1884 three consecutive explosions partially destroyed the Cumminsville factory. Fortunately, they occurred during the mid-day break, with the result that only 5 of the 200 employees perished. After the plant was closed down, production of black powder was moved that same year to Windsor Mills. Several other fatal accidents would occur in these powder mills.

In January 1886 Brainerd and four partners, including the future Liberal-Conservative prime minister John Joseph Caldwell Abbott* and the Conservative senator John Hamilton*, founded the Dominion Cartridge Company Limited with share capital of $100,000. The enterprise, housed in the former Pacific Powder Mill in Chatham (Brownsburg-Chatham), was to specialize in the manufacture and sale of cartridges, shells, torpedoes, and various articles of wrought brass. Brainerd was its first general manager and later, in 1888, its president. The head office was in Montreal, in the same location as that of the HPC. The Dominion Cartridge Company Limited, which obtained its supplies from the HPC, dominated the ammunitions market in Canada. The Bradstreet credit agency would gradually upgrade its rating, from C (good) in 1888 to A (very high) in 1910, the year it placed a value on the company’s financial resources of between $300,000 and $400,000. In 1890 Brainerd established a powder plant in Nanaimo, on Vancouver Island, his first in the Canadian west.

In 1900 the Nobel-Dynamite Trust Company of London acquired a stake in the HPC. With this transaction Brainerd wanted to obtain help for the research and development of explosives. Eight years later about a dozen specialized workers from the Ardeer factory in Scotland joined a handful of compatriots already working at the Belœil powder mill. Their expertise was needed to launch the production of new explosives, such as gelignite, mechanize the manufacturing processes for dynamite, and train the local employees. Productivity and safety were improved, an outcome that was to prove very valuable during World War I, when the great demand for explosives by allied military forces would have to be met.

In 1904 Brainerd was partially paralysed by a stroke. He then turned over the presidency of the HPC to his eldest son, Dwight. Although he retired, Brainerd remained on the board of directors until his death in 1910. That year, according to Bradstreet, the company had over $1 million in financial assets and an AA (uncontested) credit rating. In 1911 it was sold to Canadian Explosives Limited, which had received its letters of patent on 18 Nov. 1910 with share capital of $15 million, and merged with the Dominion Cartridge Company Limited, the Acadia Powder Company, the Ontario Powder Company, Standard Explosives Limited, Western Explosives Limited, and the Victoria Chemical Company. In 1927 Canadian Explosives Limited became Canadian Industries Limited, whose diversified output would easily surpass that of explosives and which is still in operation at the beginning of the 21st century.

When he arrived in Montreal in 1876, Thomas Chalmers Brainerd had set himself very lofty goals. He reached them brilliantly through his abilities as a far-sighted and efficient administrator, while at the same time engaging in formidable competition. As a Canadian explosives magnate, he made his mark for over 30 years. After his death his four sons (Dwight, Henry Boies, Winthrop, and Herbert Whiting) worked in the same sector.

J.-Roger Cloutier

During the preparation of this biography it was not possible to consult the archives of the Hamilton Powder Company.

FD, American Presbyterian Church, Montreal, 24 April 1910. Library and Arch. Can., “Citizenship registration records for the Montreal circuit court (1851–1945)”: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/immigration/citizenship-naturalization-records/citizenship-montreal-1851-1945/Pages/search.aspx (consulted 30 March 2017); R233-37-6, Que., dist. Montreal (175), subdist. St Antoine Ward (A): 16. Le Courrier de Saint-Hyacinthe (Saint-Hyacinthe, Québec), 20 juill. 1901. Daily Leader (Eau Claire, Wis.), 11 Oct. 1884. La Presse, 2 avril 1890, 30 janv. 1891, 17 juill. 1901. Toronto Daily Mail, 10 Oct. 1884. Maurice Auclair, “Belœil, berceau de C.I.L.,” Soc. d’Hist. de Belœil-Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Cahiers d’hist. (Belœil, Québec), no.1 (1980): 19–22. Bradstreet’s commercial reports, 1888–95, 1906, 1910–12. L. A. Brainard, The genealogy of the Brainerd-Brainard family in America, 1649–1908 (3v., [Hardford, Conn.?], 1908), 1. [Dwight Brainerd], Ancestry of Thomas Chalmers Brainerd (Montreal, 1948). Catalogue of the officers and students in Yale college (New Haven, Conn.), 1855–59. Catalogue of the trustees, professors, and students of the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia (Philadelphia), 1859–60. Catalogus senatus academici … in collegio Yalensi … ([New Haven], 1880). J.‑R. Cloutier, “Thomas Chalmers Brainerd et la poudrière de McMasterville,” Soc. d’Hist. de Belœil-Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Cahier d’hist. (Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Québec), no.102 (2013): 3–32. G. V. Henry, Military record of civilian appointments in the United States Army (2v., New York, 1869–73), 1: 58. A history of chemistry in Canada, comp. C. J. S. Warrington et R. V. V. Nicholls (Toronto, 1949). H. H. Lank et E. L. Williams, The Du Pont Canada history (n.p., 1982). J. H. Maule, “McMasterville, évolution explosive,” Soc. d’Hist. de Belœil-Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Cahiers d’hist. (Belœil), no.2 (1980): 25–33. U.S.A., Senate, Journal of the executive proc. (Washington), 14 July 1866; Journal of the proc. (Washington), 5 Aug. 1861. A. P. Van Gelder and Hugo Schlatter, History of the explosives industry in America (New York, 1927).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

J.-Roger Cloutier, “BRAINERD, THOMAS CHALMERS,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 21, 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brainerd_thomas_chalmers_13E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brainerd_thomas_chalmers_13E.html
Author of Article:   J.-Roger Cloutier
Title of Article:   BRAINERD, THOMAS CHALMERS
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   September 21, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :   Thomas Chalmers Brainerd

Provenance : Lien

BRAINERD, THOMAS CHALMERS, aide-chirurgien, officier dans l’armée, homme d’affaires et industriel, né le 27 septembre 1837 à Philadelphie, aîné des quatre enfants de Thomas Brainerd, pasteur, et de Mary Whiting, veuve de Daniel Wadsworth Whiting ; le 5 janvier 1865, il épousa à Saugerties, New York, Mari Laflin Boies, et ils eurent quatre fils et trois filles ; décédé le 24 avril 1910 à Montréal et inhumé le jour suivant au cimetière Mont-Royal, à Outremont (Montréal).

L’ancêtre de Thomas Chalmers Brainerd, Daniel Brainerd, originaire d’Angleterre, arriva au Connecticut vers 1649. Thomas Chalmers vécut son enfance dans le presbytère adjacent à la célèbre église Old Pine Street de Philadelphie, où son père officiait. En 1855, après des cours particuliers, il entra au Yale College de New Haven, au Connecticut, où il obtint un diplôme du département d’arts libéraux en 1859. Il étudia la médecine au Jefferson Medical College de Philadelphie au moins pendant l’année scolaire 1859–1860.

En 1861, au début de la guerre de Sécession, Brainerd s’enrôla comme officier dans l’armée de l’Union et devint aide-chirurgien. Il fut notamment affecté au Columbian College General Hospital, à Washington, et au Broad Street Hospital, à Philadelphie. En 1863, premier lieutenant, il prit part au siège de Charleston, en Caroline du Sud, durant lequel il soigna sans répit un grand nombre de soldats blessés. Il fut chargé de l’administration simultanée de quatre hôpitaux militaires, dont l’immense Mower U.S. General Hospital de Philadelphie. Puis, après la guerre (qui prit fin en 1865), il servit en Arkansas. En mai 1866, il démissionna de sa commission d’officier en raison de la mauvaise santé de sa femme et délaissa la chirurgie. Au mois de juillet, il obtint les grades de capitaine et de major pour ses services loyaux et méritoires, avec effet rétroactif au 13 mars 1865.

Brainerd travailla ensuite dans le commerce du fer, puis dans la fabrication de la poudre explosive. En 1867, il entra à l’emploi de la Laflin Powder Company, présidée par son beau-père Joseph Milton Boies ; du poste d’agent, il accéda à celui de chef de département en 1869, puis de secrétaire vers 1870. En 1872, il devint également secrétaire du conseil de la Gunpowder Trade Association of the United States (GTAUS), formée cette année-là par les six plus importants manufacturiers de poudre explosive dans le but de fixer les prix dans l’industrie. De 1874 à 1876, il exploita sa propre fabrique de poudre près de York, en Pennsylvanie. En 1876, la GTAUS créa une filiale, la Gunpowder Export Company Limited, pour exporter ses surplus de production au Canada et en Angleterre ; Brainerd fut nommé à la présidence. Il établit sa famille à Montréal la même année afin de diriger la succursale canadienne et obtiendrait sa naturalisation britannique en 1884. Quand, soudainement, le marché américain entra en croissance, l’excédent de la GTAUS se dissipa et Brainerd comprit que, s’il voulait vendre des explosifs, il lui faudrait en faire lui-même.

Avec son ami Lammot Du Pont, chimiste et industriel américain, Brainerd acheta la Compagnie de poudre de Hamilton (CPH), en Ontario, à la fin de 1878. Son beau-père et son beau-frère Henry Martyn Boies acquirent aussi des actions. Brainerd en devint le président et Du Pont, un des administrateurs. L’entreprise, dont il transféra rapidement le siège social à Montréal, au 61, rue Saint-François-Xavier, possédait deux usines en Ontario : une de poudre noire à Cumminsville et une de nitroglycérine près de Kingston. La nitroglycérine permit aux propriétaires de fabriquer de la dynamite. Invention du chimiste suédois Alfred Nobel, ce puissant explosif était considéré comme sécuritaire parce qu’il résistait aux chocs et requérait un détonateur indépendant. En 1877, la CPH avait acquis la Windsor Powder Company de Windsor Mills (Windsor), au Québec. Vers la fin de 1883, elle achèterait l’Acadia Powder Company de Halifax pour prendre le contrôle de ce concurrent embarrassant.

Brainerd était maintenant disposé à répondre à la demande croissante en explosifs causée par la réalisation du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique et d’autres chemins de fer, l’agrandissement du canal de Lachine et l’exploitation de mines (au Québec, par exemple, la mine d’amiante du canton de Thetford (Thetford Mines) [V. James King*] et celle de cuivre à Eustis). Les forces armées, les corps de police, les chasseurs sportifs et les défricheurs en avaient aussi besoin. Pour satisfaire tous ces clients, Brainerd décida de construire à Belœil (McMasterville), en 1878, une nouvelle usine qui deviendrait le joyau des actifs de la CPH et resterait en activité pendant 120 ans. Il choisit l’emplacement, planifia tous les bâtiments et supervisa les travaux. On commença à y produire de la poudre noire, de la nitroglycérine et de la dynamite dès 1879.

Du Pont mourut en 1884 lors d’une explosion dans son usine de fabrication de nitroglycérine de la Repauno Chemical Company à Gibbstown, au New Jersey. Brainerd acheta toutes les actions de la CPH que la succession de son fidèle ami possédait, ainsi que celles de son beau-père et de son beau-frère. Brainerd devint donc l’unique propriétaire de l’entreprise, dont le capital social passerait à 300 000 $ en 1896, puis à un million de dollars en 1899.

Le 9 octobre 1884, trois explosions consécutives détruisirent partiellement l’usine de Cumminsville. Heureusement, puisqu’elles survinrent pendant la pause du midi, seuls 5 des 200 employés périrent. Après la désaffectation de l’établissement industriel, la production de la poudre noire fut déplacée, la même année, vers Windsor Mills. Plusieurs autres accidents mortels arriveraient en ces lieux.

En janvier 1886, Brainerd et quatre partenaires, dont le futur premier ministre libéral-conservateur du Canada John Joseph Caldwell Abbott* et le sénateur conservateur John Hamilton*, fondèrent la Dominion Cartridge Company Limited avec un capital-actions de 100 000 $. L’entreprise, installée dans l’ancienne usine de poudre de la Pacific Powder Mill à Chatham (Brownsburg-Chatham), se spécialiserait dans la fabrication et la vente de cartouches, d’obus, de torpilles et de divers objets en cuivre jaune forgé. Brainerd en fut le premier directeur général, puis le président en 1888. Le siège social se trouvait à Montréal, au même endroit que celui de la CPH. La Dominion Cartridge Company Limited, qui s’approvisionnait à la CPH, domina le marché des munitions au Canada. L’agence de crédit Bradstreet augmenta progressivement sa classe, qui passa de C (bon) en 1888 à A (très haute) en 1910, année où elle attribuait aux ressources financières de l’entreprise une valeur située entre 300 000 $ et 400 000 $. En 1890, Brainerd avait créé une usine de poudre à Nanaimo, dans l’île de Vancouver, sa première dans l’Ouest canadien.

En 1900, la Nobel-Dynamite Trust Company de Londres acquit des intérêts dans la CPH. Brainerd voulait ainsi obtenir de l’aide pour la recherche et le développement des explosifs. Huit ans plus tard, une douzaine de travailleurs spécialisés de l’usine d’Ardeer, en Écosse, se joignirent à quelques compatriotes déjà présents à la fabrique de Belœil. On avait besoin de leur expertise pour démarrer la production de nouveaux explosifs, dont la gélinite, mettre en place la mécanisation des procédés de fabrication de la dynamite et former les employés locaux. La productivité et la sécurité s’en trouvèrent améliorées, ce qui s’avérerait très précieux, durant la Première Guerre mondiale, quand il faudrait répondre à la grande demande en explosifs des forces militaires alliées.

En 1904, une attaque paralysa partiellement Brainerd. Il céda alors la présidence de la CPH à son fils aîné, Dwight. Il prit sa retraite tout en siégeant au conseil d’administration jusqu’à son décès, en 1910. L’entreprise disposait cette année-là, selon Bradstreet, de plus d’un million de dollars en ressources financières et d’une cote de crédit Aa (incontestée). En 1911, elle fut vendue à la Canadian Explosives Limited, qui avait reçu ses lettres patentes le 18 novembre 1910 avec un capital-actions de 15 millions de dollars, et fusionna avec la Dominion Cartridge Company Limited, l’Acadia Powder Company, l’Ontario Powder Company, la Standard Explosives Limited, la Western Explosives Limited et la Victoria Chemical Company. En 1927, la Canadian Explosives Limited devint la Canadian Industries Limited, toujours en activité au début du xxie siècle et dont la production diversifiée dépasserait largement le secteur des explosifs.

En arrivant à Montréal en 1876, Thomas Chalmers Brainerd s’était fixé des objectifs très élevés. Il les atteignit brillamment en agissant en gestionnaire clairvoyant et efficace, tout en se livrant à une redoutable concurrence. Comme magnat canadien des explosifs, il marqua son époque pendant plus de 30 ans. Après sa mort, ses quatre fils (Dwight, Henry Boies, Winthrop et Herbert Whiting) travaillèrent dans le même domaine.

J.-Roger Cloutier

Nous n’avons pas eu la possibilité, au moment de la préparation de cette biographie, de consulter les archives de la Compagnie de poudre de Hamilton.

Bibliothèque et Arch. Canada (Ottawa), « Documents de l’enregistrement de la citoyenneté de la Cour de circuit de Montréal (1851–1945) » : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/immigration/citoyennete-dossiers-naturalisation/citoyennete-1851-1945-montreal/Pages/introduction.aspx (consulté le 30 mars 2017) ; R233-37-6, Québec, dist. Montréal (175), sous-dist. quartier Saint-Antoine (A) : 16.— FD, American Presbyterian Church, Montréal, 24 avril 1910.— Le Courrier de Saint-Hyacinthe (Saint-Hyacinthe, Québec), 20 juill. 1901.— Daily Leader (Eau Claire, Wis.), 11 oct. 1884.— La Presse, 2 avril 1890, 30 janv. 1891, 17 juill. 1901.— Toronto Daily Mail, 10 oct. 1884.— Maurice Auclair, « Belœil, berceau de C.I.L. », Soc. d’hist. de Belœil–Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Cahiers d’hist. (Belœil, Québec), no 1 (1980) : 19–22.— Bradstreet’s commercial reports, 1888–1895, 1906, 1910–1912.— L. A. Brainard, The genealogy of the Brainerd-Brainard family in America, 1649–1908 (3 vol., [New Haven, Conn. ?], 1908), 1.— [Dwight Brainerd], Ancestry of Thomas Chalmers Brainerd (Montréal, 1948).— Catalogue of the officers and students in Yale college (New Haven), 1855–1859.— Catalogue of the trustees, professors, and students of the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia (Philadelphie), 1859–1860.— Catalogus senatus academici [...] in collegio Yalensi [...] ([New Haven], 1880).— J.-R. Cloutier, « Thomas Chalmers Brainerd et la poudrière de McMasterville », Soc. d’hist. de Belœil–Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Cahier d’hist. (Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Québec), no 102 (2013) : 3–32.— É.-U., Senate, Journal of the executive proc. (Washington), 14 juill. 1866 ; Journal of the proc. (Washington), 5 août 1861.— G. V. Henry, Military record of civilian appointments in the United States Army (2 vol., New York, 1869–1873), 1 : 58.— A history of chemistry in Canada, C. J. S. Warrington et R. V. V. Nicholls, compil. (Toronto, 1949).— [H. H. Lank et E. L. Williams], Du Pont Canada : coup d’œil rétrospectif sur ses antécédents et sur les personnalités marquantes de son histoire, Huguette Lavigueur, trad. (s.l., 1982).— J. H. Maule, « McMasterville, évolution explosive », Soc. d’hist. de Belœil–Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Cahiers d’hist. (Belœil), no 2 (1980) : 25–33.— A. P. Van Gelder et Hugo Schlatter, History of the explosives industry in America (New York, 1927).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

J.-Roger Cloutier, « BRAINERD, THOMAS CHALMERS », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 27 nov. 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brainerd_thomas_chalmers_13F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brainerd_thomas_chalmers_13F.html
Auteur de l'article:    J.-Roger Cloutier
Titre de l'article:    BRAINERD, THOMAS CHALMERS
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2021
Année de la révision:    2021
Date de consultation:    27 novembre 2021