DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  LE BRIGAND #489 -- Portrait - FRANÇOIS JOSEPH BRESSANI (1612-1672)

Source: Link

BRESSANI, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH (Francesco-Giuseppe), priest, Jesuit, missionary; b. 6 May 1612 in Rome; d. 9 Sept. 1672 in Florence.

Bressani entered the Society of Jesus 15 Aug. 1626, at the age of 14. He held in succession the chairs of literature, philosophy, and mathematics. Like so many others he was attracted by the foreign missions, and sought the privilege of being sent to New France. His superiors granted his wish in 1642. He first spent some time at Quebec in order to adapt himself; from there he went to Trois-Rivières (1643), a post much frequented by the Indians during the summer months. The missionary aspired to more arduous tasks; he obtained permission to penetrate 900 miles into the interior of the country, where the Hurons lived.

On 27 April 1644, as soon as the snows melted, he set out, together with one Frenchman and six Christian Hurons. He did not know that some ten bands of Iroquois were in ambush at strategic points on the route followed by the convoys of the French or those of their allies. Seven or eight miles from Fort Richelieu, when they were on their third day of travel, Father Bressani and his companions were attacked by a band of 27 Iroquois. The assailants took them prisoner, and dragged them by short stages towards their tribal territory, which they reached on 30 May. Father Bressani, weakened and mutilated, was only at the beginning of his sufferings. He bore stoically the most savage tortures; on 19 June, when he was awaiting death, his torturers handed him over to an old Iroquois woman, to replace her grandfather who had earlier been murdered by the Hurons. This unexpected outcome gave him a little respite and enabled him to write a long letter to the general of the Jesuits. This document, taken from the Breve Relatione, is dated 15 July 1644, and recounts in detail the sufferings he underwent. It opens with these lines: “I know not whether Your Paternity will recognize the letter of a poor cripple, who formerly, in perfect health, was well known to you. The letter is badly written and quite soiled, because, in addition to other inconveniences, he who writes it has only one whole finger on his right hand; and it is difficult to avoid staining the paper with the blood which flows from his wounds, not yet healed; he uses arquebus powder for ink, and the earth for a table.”

The captive could not be the slightest use to the old woman, who got rid of him by turning him over to the Dutch for a trifling ransom. The religious was well treated, and was able to return to France: he reached the port of La Rochelle 15 Nov. 1644. He asked to go back to New France. In July 1645 he was once again at Trois-Rivières, where he took part in the peace palavers of an Iroquois delegation, fraternizing with his former torturers. In the autumn of the same year, he started out again for the Huron country.

The Huron missions, continually harassed by the Iroquois, lived in terror. The situation was such that in 1648 the decision was made to appeal to Governor Huault de Montmagny. Father Bressani, at the head of 250 Hurons, was to go and ask help. The assemblage arrived at Quebec at the end of July 1648. All that the governor could do was to grant an escort of 12 soldiers; the Jesuits sent a few religious as reinforcements. The fleet of 60 canoes, bringing back the 250 Hurons and 26 Frenchmen, reached the Huron country without mishap. Father Bressani was dumbfounded to hear that during his absence the Iroquois had wiped out the village of Saint-Joseph (Teanaostaiaë), murdered Father Antoine Daniel, and killed more than 700 Hurons. This was only a beginning. On 6 March 1649, when the winter was scarcely over, the Iroquois reappeared, and ruthlessly massacred both Hurons and missionaries. The powerful Huron nation was reduced to a few hundred fugitives, whom the missionaries took to the Île Saint-Joseph (Christian Island), in order to give them temporary asylum. Help had once again to be sought from Quebec. Once more Father Bressani was instructed to go and plead the cause of the Huron missions, before the new governor Louis D’Ailleboust. He was received with kindliness, but obtained no formal promises. The governor could not withdraw his troops from the posts on the St. Lawrence. The missionary wanted to return to his flock immediately, and he left Quebec with a few Hurons on 28 Sept. 1649. His journey was a wildly imprudent venture, and the Hurons forced the father to turn back at the Rivière des Prairies, in the vicinity of Montreal. He returned reluctantly to Quebec, but was to leave again for the Huron country in June 1650 with a flotilla of some 23 canoes, carrying about 30 Frenchmen and 30 Indians, including J.-B. Atironta. Meanwhile, after painful deliberation, the missionaries in the Huron country had decided that it was impossible to maintain their position in that region, and that it was better to bring back to the St. Lawrence the few hundred Hurons who had escaped the massacre. Father Paul Ragueneau was leading a group of 300 survivors towards Quebec in the summer of 1650 when he met the rescue column led by Father Bressani. They had to go back to the capital (28 July 1650).

All the missionaries from the Huron country were available for new duties. The superior decided to send some of them back to France, to await better times. Father Bressani was among them. He sailed 2 Nov. 1650. He returned to Italy and devoted himself to preaching and to his apostolate.

During his eight years of evangelizing in Canada, Father Bressani had acquired valuable experience of the country and its inhabitants. He recorded his discoveries and observations in a work devoted principally to the Huron country and its martyrs. The Relation abrégée of Bressani, written in Italian, has been translated into French by Father F. Martin, a Jesuit.

Albert Tessier

[F.-J. Bressani], Relation abrégée de quelques missions des pères de la Compagnie de Jésus dans la Nouvelle-France par le R. P. Bressany de la même compagnie, ed. Félix Martin (Montréal, 1852). JR (Thwaites). JJ (Laverdière et Casgrain). “Une lettre inédite du R. P. Bressani,” BRH, XXXVIII (1932), 546–47. Rochemonteix, Les Jésuites et la Nouvelle-France au XVIIe siècle, II, 36–37. Yvon Thériault, Lapostolat missionnaire en Mauricie (Trois-Rivières, 1951), 37–44.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Albert Tessier, “BRESSANI, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 20, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bressani_francois_joseph_1E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bressani_francois_joseph_1E.html
Author of Article: Albert Tessier
Title of Article: BRESSANI, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1966
Year of revision: 1966
Access Date: September 20, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  LE BRIGAND #489 -- Portrait - FRANÇOIS JOSEPH BRESSANI (1612-1672)

Provenance : Lien

BRESSANI, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH (Francesco-Giuseppe), prêtre, jésuite, missionnaire, né à Rome le 6 mai 1612 et décédé à Florence le 9 septembre 1672.

Bressani entra dans la Compagnie de Jésus à l’âge de 14 ans, le 15 août 1626. Il occupa successivement les chaires de littérature, de philosophie et de mathématiques. Attiré comme tant d’autres par les missions étrangères, il sollicita la faveur d’être envoyé en Nouvelle-France. Ses supérieurs accédèrent à son désir en 1642. Il séjourna d’abord quelque temps à Québec pour s’initier ; de là, il passa à Trois-Rivières (1643), poste très fréquenté par les Indiens durant les mois d’été. Le missionnaire aspirait à des tâches plus pénibles ; il obtint d’aller à 900 milles à l’intérieur du pays, chez les Hurons.

Le 27 avril 1644, dès la fonte des neiges, il se mit en route, accompagné d’un Français et de six chrétiens hurons. Il ignorait qu’une dizaine de bandes iroquoises s’étaient embusquées aux points stratégiques de la route suivie par les convois français ou alliés. À sept ou huit milles du fort Richelieu, alors qu’ils en étaient à leur troisième journée de voyage, le père Bressani et ses compagnons furent attaqués par une bande de 27 Iroquois. Les assaillants les firent prisonniers et les entraînèrent à petites journées vers leurs cantons, où ils arrivèrent le 30 mai. Affaibli et mutilé, le père n’était qu’au début de ses souffrances. Il endura stoïquement les plus atroces tortures ; le 19 juin, alors qu’il attendait la mort, ses bourreaux le remirent à une vieille Iroquoise pour remplacer son grand-père assassiné jadis par les Hurons. Cette solution inattendue lui accorda un peu de répit et lui permit d’écrire une longue lettre à son père général. Ce document, extrait de la Breve Relatione, est daté du 15 juillet 1644 et relate en détail les souffrances endurées. Il s’ouvre par ces lignes : « Je ne sais si votre Paternité reconnaîtra l’écriture d’un pauvre estropié, autrefois sain de corps et très connu d’elle. La lettre est mal écrite et assez sale, parce que, entre autres infirmités, celui qui l’écrit n’a plus qu’un doigt entier à la main droite et il ne peut empêcher le sang qui découle de ses plaies encore ouvertes de salir le papier. Son encre est formée de poudre à fusil délayée et la terre lui sert de table ».

Le captif ne pouvait être utile en aucune façon à la vieille femme, qui s’en débarrassa en le cédant aux Hollandais contre une rançon minime. Bien traité le religieux put retourner en France ; il toucha le port de La Rochelle le 15 novembre 1644. Il demanda de retourner en Nouvelle-France. En juillet 1645, on le retrouve à Trois-Rivières où il participe aux palabres de paix d’une délégation iroquoise. Il fraternise avec ses anciens bourreaux. À l’automne de la même année, il remonte vers le pays des Hurons.

Sans cesse harcelées par les Iroquois, les missions huronnes vivent dans la terreur. La situation est telle qu’en 1648 on décide de faire appel au gouverneur Huault de Montmagny. Le père Bressani ira, à la tête de 250 Hurons, demander de l’aide. Le convoi arrive à Québec à la fin de juillet 1648. Le gouverneur ne peut faire mieux que d’accorder une escorte de 12 soldats ; les Jésuites envoient quelques religieux en guise de renfort. La flottille de 60 canots, qui ramène les 250 Hurons et 26 Français, atteint sans encombre la Huronie. Le père Bressani est atterré à la nouvelle que, durant son absence, les Iroquois ont rasé la bourgade Saint-Joseph (Téanaostaiaé), assassiné le père Antoine Daniel et tué plus de 700 Hurons. Ce n’est qu’un début. Le 6 mars 1649, alors que l’hiver est à peine terminé, les Iroquois réapparaissent et massacrent sans pitié Hurons et missionnaires. La puissante nation huronne est réduite à quelques centaines de fugitifs que les missionnaires conduisent dans l’île Saint-Joseph (Christian Island) pour les mettre temporairement à l’abri. Il faut de nouveau recourir à l’appui de Québec. Une fois de plus, le père Bressani est chargé d’aller plaider la cause de la Huronie auprès du gouverneur Louis d’Ailleboust. Il est accueilli avec bienveillance, mais n’obtient pas de promesses formelles. Le gouverneur ne peut dégarnir les postes du Saint-Laurent. Le missionnaire veut retourner immédiatement auprès de ses ouailles et il part de Québec avec quelques Hurons le 28 septembre 1649. Ce voyage est d’une folle imprudence et les Hurons forcent le père à rebrousser chemin à la rivière des Prairies, aux environs de Montréal. Il revient à regret à Québec, mais repartira pour la Huronie en juin 1650 avec une flotille de quelque 23 canots portant une trentaine de Français et autant d’Indiens dont Jean-Baptiste Atironta. Dans l’intervalle, les missionnaires de la Huronie ont décidé, après de pénibles délibérations, qu’il est impossible de se maintenir là-bas et que mieux vaut ramener au Saint-Laurent les quelques centaines de Hurons qui ont échappé au massacre. Le père Paul Ragueneau conduit un groupe de 300 rescapés vers Québec, à l’été de 1650, alors qu’il rencontre le convoi de secours dirigé par le père Bressani. Il faut revenir vers la capitale (28 juillet 1650).

Tous les missionnaires de la Huronie étaient en disponibilité. Le supérieur décida d’en renvoyer quelques-uns en France en attendant des temps meilleurs. Le père Bressani était du nombre. Il s’embarqua le 2 novembre 1650. Il retourna en Italie et se consacra à la prédication et à l’apostolat.

Au cours de ses huit années d’évangélisation au Canada, le père Bressani avait acquis une précieuse expérience du pays et de ses habitants. Il consigna ses découvertes et ses observations dans un ouvrage consacré surtout à la Huronie et à ses martyrs. Écrite en italien, la Relation abrégée de Bressani a été traduite en français par le père F. Martin, jésuite.

Albert Tessier

[F-J. Bressani], Relation abrégée de quelques missions des pères de la Compagnie de Jésus dans la Nouvelle France par le RPBressany de la même Compagnie, éd. Félix Martin (Montréal, 1852).— JJ (Laverdière et Casgrain).— JR (Thwaites).— Un Lettre inédite du R. P. Bressani, BRH, XXXVIII (1932) : 546s.— Rochemonteix, Les Jésuites de la N.-F. au XVIIe siècle, II : 36s.— Yvon Thériault, L’Apostolat missionnaire en Mauricie (Trois-Rivières, 1951), 37–44.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Albert Tessier, « BRESSANI, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 sept. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bressani_francois_joseph_1F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bressani_francois_joseph_1F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Albert Tessier
Titre de l'article:   BRESSANI, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1966
Année de la révision:   1966
Date de consultation:   23 septembre 2014