DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Link

Source: Link

DIXON, Frederick John, labourer, designer, social reformer, lecturer, politician, office holder, and insurance salesman; b. 20 Jan. 1881 in Englefield, England, son of Thomas Dixon and Hannah More; m. 15 Oct 1914 Winona Margaret Flett* in Winnipeg, and they had three children, two of whom died before reaching adulthood; d. 18 March 1931 in Fort Garry (Winnipeg) and was buried in Brookside Cemetery, Winnipeg.

Fred Dixon was born on an estate near Reading, west of London, to a rural labouring family. Little is known of his early life. He apprenticed as a gardener, but finding himself unemployed he followed his elder brother George to Manitoba in 1904. Initially his fortunes fared little better in Canada and he turned to various jobs, including farm labourer and pick-and-shovel worker. He took a correspondence course in drafting to improve his drawing skills, and obtained a full-time position as a designer in the Winnipeg office of Bemis Brothers Bag Company, a packaging firm.

As a result of the wheat boom, Edwardian Winnipeg experienced both the problems and the promises of unrestrained growth. Not surprisingly, the city was a hothouse of reform ideas and social movements. Dixon gravitated to a circle of reformers who met above the bookstore of Robert Max Mobius, a naturopath, phrenologist, and, most important for Dixon, an advocate of the single tax. The single tax movement had developed from the ideas of American social critic Henry George, whose theories had been publicized in Canada by, among others, John Wilson Bengough* and Thomas Phillips Thompson. George believed that the growing poverty in wealthy societies was caused by private ownership of land. Unequal access to land meant that when social processes such as population growth increased the value of property, a privileged few benefited from the unearned increment, while others were driven into penury.

In the hands of Dixon and his close colleagues, including reformer Seymour James Farmer*, the Georgite philosophy was both all-encompassing and surprisingly narrow. A single tax on land values, it was thought, would act as a panacea, curing an array of social problems. The achievement of this goal required fighting against the Canadian tariff, which unfairly enriched those with the power to convince government to protect their interests, and pressing for direct legislation that would allow citizens to initiate laws and recall politicians, thus breaking the hold that established parties had on government. This democratic agenda was consistent with those proposed by other movements that attracted Dixon, particularly women’s suffrage and workers’ rights. Yet, at the same time, his defence of free trade implied an economic liberalism that separated him from the socialists. This distinction was significant. Throughout his political life Dixon would associate closely with the Trades and Labour Council of Winnipeg and with local labour parties, but he remained a strong believer in individual rights and freedoms. For example, in 1908, during an attempt by the newly created Independent Labor Party to define its platform, Dixon headed the group opposed to the inclusion of a plank on collective ownership of the means of mass production, and the party ultimately split.

Over the next ten years Dixon contributed a regular column entitled “Land values” to Arthur W. Puttee*’s Voice (Winnipeg), a labour newspaper. Through articles he frequently published in the Grain Growers’ Guide (Winnipeg), he probably reached a wider, rural audience. He led in the creation of the Single Tax League of Manitoba in 1909, and was active in a range of reform organizations that cut across class lines, including the Manitoba Health League, founded in 1907, and the Manitoba Federation for Direct Legislation, for which he worked as a paid organizer from February 1911 to 1914. He was also involved in the province’s main women’s suffrage group, the Political Equality League, and he married another prominent member, Winona Flett, in 1914.

In 1910 Puttee had called Dixon the Winnipeg labour movement’s “most forceful, fearless and logical speaker.” His considerable oratorical abilities and activism led to his nomination by the short-lived Manitoba Labor Party as its candidate in the provincial election of June 1910 for the riding of Winnipeg Centre. He lost to Conservative Thomas William Taylor by only 73 ballots. Four years later, describing himself as an “independent progressive,” he ran in the election of 10 July and won by a large majority. Both campaigns were aimed at a broad spectrum of voters. Dixon’s platform in 1914 had been, for the most part, little different from that of the increasingly reform-minded Liberals under Tobias Crawford Norris. As an mla, he played an important part in exposing the corruption surrounding the construction of the new provincial legislative building [see Victor William Horwood] that brought down the Conservative government of Sir Rodmond Palen Roblin and led to a Liberal victory in the contest of August 1915 and his own re-election. On the issues dearest to Dixon’s perception of direct democracy, there were mixed results under Norris’s Liberals. The Initiative and Referendum Act of 1916 allowed citizens to propose legislation and force referenda on the assembly, but it would ultimately be declared ultra vires by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. Dixon’s advocacy of female suffrage proved more successful; the Norris government granted women the right to vote in 1916.

Dixon could be distinguished from the Norris Liberals principally by his views on military conflict. Well before World War I began, he had loudly denounced the spirit of militarism that he saw pervading both the federal Conservative and Liberal parties. In the provincial election of 1914 he had specifically pilloried Roblin’s “flag-flapping.” Compulsory military service especially offended him. He quickly became an important spokesperson of the TLC’s campaign at the end of 1916 against the registration of workers required by the establishment of the National Service Board, urging them not to sign their registration cards and declaring his own willingness to go to jail over the issue.

Dixon’s anti-war pronouncements provoked a national storm. Norris declared that opponents of registration should be imprisoned. Dixon’s alleged “pro-Germanism” was denounced by editors of the city’s newspapers (including John Wesley Dafoe* of the Manitoba Free Press), the Winnipeg Board of Trade, and the Winnipeg Ministerial Association. About 2,000 people crammed the Thomas Scott Memorial Orange Hall on 30 Jan. 1917 to protest against his comments. But there were limits to wartime jingoism in the province. The Manitoba Grain Growers’ Association received him enthusiastically despite threats that its convention in Brandon would be disrupted. Dixon’s opponents tried to turn his dearly loved instruments of direct democracy against him. They circulated a petition demanding his recall from the legislature and the removal from Winnipeg Centre of the “stigma of a seditious constituency.” Although the petition had no legal standing, Dixon promised to resign if it received the support of 25 per cent or more of the electors in his riding. The Manitoba Free Press claimed that “everyone” was signing it except “foreigners,” yet presentation was repeatedly delayed – the Winnipeg Telegram joked that it would still be circulating in 1927. In the end, the attempt to unseat Dixon failed.

By 1918 the existence of reinvigorated labour and farmer groups led Dixon to try to create in Manitoba a united movement of “wealth producers,” a Non-Partisan League on the models of those in North Dakota and Alberta. In June he wrote to approximately 100 potential members, but little came of the effort. He then focused on the new Dominion Labor Party, the provincial wing of the Canadian Labor Party, becoming its chairman in the winter of 1918–19. Closely tied to the unions, the DLP also reflected his passions, adopting a reconstruction program that called for a single tax on property.

After the war the city headed towards the great conflagration of the Winnipeg General Strike [see Mike Sokolowiski*]. Despite Dixon’s lack of trade-union credentials, his sense of justice and personal courage led him directly into the fray. At the now-famous meeting held on 22 Dec. 1918 at the Walker Theatre, he called for the release of political prisoners, such as so-called enemy aliens and conscientious objectors. The meeting, sponsored by the TLC and the Socialist Party of Canada, and featuring the city’s most prominent labour and socialist speakers, demonstrated the growing identification of the workers with international revolutionary movements as well as the convergence of trade-unionist and socialist forces. When the strike broke out the following May, he supported it from the floor of the Legislative Assembly. He and his close friend James Shaver Woodsworth* took over the TLC’s Western Labor News (Winnipeg) when its editor, William Ivens*, and other strike leaders were arrested on 16 June. A week later Woodsworth was arrested and the paper was forcibly suppressed. Dixon went into hiding but continued to publish it, first on 24 June as a special edition of the Western Star and on the next two days as the Enlightener. When Ivens was let out on bail, Dixon turned himself in, was briefly imprisoned, and then released on 28 June.

Dixon’s trial for seditious libel, held from 29 Jan. to 16 Feb. 1920, became a cause célèbre. Although coached by the notable jurists Lewis St George Stubbs and Edward James McMurray, he chose to defend himself. At issue was his speech at the Walker Theatre and others, as well as three articles. “Kaiserism in Canada” and “Bloody Saturday” had assailed the brutality with which the authorities had attacked the “silent parade” of returned soldiers on 21 June 1919, while his “Alas! The poor alien,” seized before it could be printed, deplored the treatment of foreign-born strikers who had been arrested. In a masterful closing address, he focused on liberty of speech and of the press. He was acquitted and the crown decided to drop similar charges against Woodsworth. Dixon had his hands full during the trial. Each day he raced from the courtroom to the legislative assembly, where he pressed the Norris government to reveal who was paying for the prosecution of the strike leaders; in his case, it was the provincial attorney-general. After the strike he undertook a lecture tour with Woodsworth to raise money for the defence of those accused.

Dixon’s personal popularity, reflected in the results of the provincial election of 29 June 1920, was astounding. Winnipeg City was a single, ten-member constituency. He came first among 41 contestants, with almost three times as many votes as Attorney General Thomas Herman Johnson*, the second-place candidate. Despite deep social divisions in post-strike Winnipeg, he had won 101 of the city’s 135 polls. He took his place at the head of the 11-member Labour caucus. The years following the strike proved difficult for his brand of liberalism. The city’s labour movement was deeply divided between the increasingly conservative TLC and the new, more radical One Big Union. In order to distance themselves from these battles, some moderate Labourites, former strike leaders, and heads of special-interest groups joined to form the Independent Labor Party in November 1920 with Dixon as their chief. The new party met with a certain amount of success, electing provincial and federal representatives.

Although re-elected in July 1922 as the first of the 43 candidates in his riding, Dixon was soon overwhelmed by personal tragedy. The death in 1920 of his son, aged two, followed by those of his wife in 1922 and his nine-year-old daughter and his mother-in-law (who had helped to care for the children) in 1924, sapped his morale. He resigned from the legislature in July 1923 because of skin cancer and underwent numerous treatments. He had been a part-time insurance salesman for the Confederation Life Assurance Company since 1919 and now worked on a full-time basis when his health permitted it. His only return to public life was to serve from November 1927 to early 1928 on a provincial commission examining seasonal unemployment. One of the commission’s recommendations was the creation of a national unemployment insurance plan. He died in March 1931.

Three decades later, Frederick George Tipping, a colleague from the days of the general strike, remembered Dixon as “without doubt the most popular man in public life that Winnipeg has ever had.” An individual of wide reading and broad experience, Dixon possessed oratorical skills and a passion for justice that made him a leading figure of the formidable reform tradition that emerged in Winnipeg during the years before World War I. His career also testifies to the extent that democracy had become a class issue; Dixon chose to stand beside Winnipeg’s workers in the epic struggles of 1919.

James Naylor

Frederick John Dixon’s impressive speech during his trial for seditious libel was published as Dixon’s address to the jury in defence of freedom of speech, considered the most powerful address ever delivered in the courts of Manitoba, and Judge Galt’s charge to the jury in “Rex v. Dixon” (Winnipeg, [1920]).

AM, MG 14, B25 (Frederick John Dixon papers); P5607 (Jack Samuel Walker papers). Man., Dept. of Tourism, Culture, Heritage, Sport and Consumer Protection, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), nos.1914-134063, 1931-019331. National Arch. (G.B.), RG 11/1299, f.110, p.14; RG 12/989, f.69, p.5; RG 13/1156, f.45, p.14. Manitoba Free Press, 1912–31. Voice (Winnipeg), 1907–18. Western Labor News (Winnipeg), 1918–21. Winnipeg Telegram, 20 March 1917. CPG, 1910–31. Harry and Mildred Gutkin, Profiles in dissent: the shaping of radical thought in the Canadian west (Edmonton, 1997). D. N. Irvine, “Reform, war, and industrial crisis in Manitoba: F. J. Dixon and the framework of consensus, 1903–1920” (ma thesis, Univ. of Man., Winnipeg, 1981). Allen Mills, “Single tax, socialism and the Independent Labour Party of Manitoba: the political ideas of F. J. Dixon and S. J. Farmer,” Labour (Halifax), 5 (1980): 33–56. Martin Robin, Radical politics and Canadian labour, 1880–1930 (Kingston, Ont., 1968). R. St G. Stubbs, Prairie portraits (Toronto, 1954). F. [G.] Tipping, “Vote for men in jail,” Canadian Democrat (Winnipeg), 2, no.3 (April–May 1960): 11–15. Winnipeg 1919: the strikers’ own history of the Winnipeg General Strike, ed. Norman Penner (2nd ed., Toronto, 1975).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

James Naylor, “DIXON, FREDERICK JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 19, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dixon_frederick_john_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dixon_frederick_john_16E.html
Author of Article: James Naylor
Title of Article: DIXON, FREDERICK JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: September 19, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

décédé le 13 décembre 1827 près de Hammersmith (Londres)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Lien

Provenance : Lien

DIXON, FREDERICK JOHN, ouvrier, dessinateur, réformateur social, conférencier, homme politique, fonctionnaire et vendeur d’assurances, né le 20 janvier 1881 à Englefield, Angleterre, fils de Thomas Dixon et de Hannah More ; le 15 octobre 1914, il épousa à Winnipeg Winona Margaret Flett*, et ils eurent trois enfants, dont deux moururent avant l’âge adulte ; décédé le 18 mars 1931 à Fort Garry (Winnipeg) et inhumé au cimetière Brookside, Winnipeg.

Frederick John Dixon (surnommé Fred) naquit dans un domaine près de Reading, à l’ouest de Londres, au sein d’une famille d’ouvriers agricoles. On en sait peu sur les premières années de sa vie. Il fit son apprentissage comme jardinier, mais, après s’être trouvé sans travail, il suivit son frère aîné George au Manitoba en 1904. Il ne réussit d’abord guère mieux au Canada et occupa divers emplois, entre autres ceux de garçon de ferme et d’ouvrier au pic et à la pelle. Il suivit un cours de dessin par correspondance pour améliorer ses aptitudes et obtint un poste de dessinateur à temps plein au bureau de Winnipeg d’une firme d’emballage, la Bemis Brothers Bag Company.

À la suite du boom du blé, le Winnipeg de l’époque édouardienne connut à la fois les problèmes et les promesses d’une croissance effrénée. Il n’est pas étonnant que la ville ait été une pépinière d’idées réformistes et de mouvements sociaux. Dixon gravita autour d’un cercle de réformistes qui se réunissaient au-dessus de la librairie de Robert Max Mobius, naturopathe, phrénologue et, aspect le plus important pour Dixon, défenseur de l’impôt unique. Le mouvement pour l’impôt unique s’était développé à partir des idées du critique social américain Henry George, dont les théories avaient été diffusées au Canada par, notamment, John Wilson Bengough* et Thomas Phillips Thompson. George croyait que la pauvreté grandissante dans les sociétés riches était causée par la propriété foncière privée. L’accès inégal aux terres signifiait que, lorsque des processus sociaux, telle la croissance démographique, augmentaient la valeur de la propriété, quelques privilégiés bénéficiaient de la plus-value, tandis que d’autres étaient acculés à la misère.

Reprise par Dixon et ses proches collègues, dont le réformateur Seymour James Farmer*, la philosophie de George devint à la fois englobante et étonnamment étroite. Un impôt unique sur les valeurs foncières, pensait-on, servirait de panacée à une gamme de problèmes sociaux. La réalisation de cet objectif exigeait de se battre contre les douanes canadiennes, qui enrichissaient injustement ceux qui avaient le pouvoir de convaincre le gouvernement de protéger leurs intérêts, et d’exercer des pressions pour la législation directe qui permettrait aux citoyens de proposer des mesures législatives et de voter le retrait d’hommes politiques, rompant ainsi avec la mainmise des partis établis sur le gouvernement. Ce programme démocratique correspondait à ceux que proposaient d’autres mouvements qui attiraient Dixon, en particulier ceux qui promouvaient le suffrage féminin et les droits des travailleurs. Pourtant, en même temps, son appui au libre-échange supposait un libéralisme économique qui l’éloignait des socialistes. Cette distinction était importante. Tout au long de sa carrière politique, Dixon s’associerait étroitement au Trades and Labour Council (TLC) de Winnipeg et aux partis travaillistes locaux, tout en continuant de croire fermement aux libertés et droits individuels. Par exemple, en 1908, pendant que le Parti ouvrier indépendant nouvellement créé tentait de définir sa plateforme, Dixon prit la tête d’un groupe opposé à l’inclusion d’un article sur la propriété collective des moyens de production de masse et le parti finit par se scinder.

Au cours des dix années suivantes, Dixon signa une chronique intitulée « Land values » dans Voice, journal ouvrier d’Arthur W. Puttee*, publié à Winnipeg. Grâce aux articles qu’il faisait fréquemment paraître dans le Grain Growers’ Guide de Winnipeg, il atteignait probablement un plus vaste auditoire dans les régions rurales. Il organisa la création de la Single Tax League of Manitoba en 1909 et prit part aux activités de nombreuses organisations réformistes qui transcendaient les classes sociales, notamment la Manitoba Health League, fondée en 1907, et la Manitoba Federation for Direct Legislation, pour laquelle il travailla comme organisateur rémunéré de février 1911 à 1914. Il apporta également sa contribution au principal groupe de défense du vote des femmes dans la province, la Political Equality League, dont il épousa l’une des membres influentes, Winona Margaret Flett, en 1914.

En 1910, Puttee avait qualifié Dixon de « porte-parole le plus énergique, le plus courageux et le plus logique » du mouvement travailliste de Winnipeg. Ses talents oratoires remarquables et son activisme menèrent à sa nomination comme candidat de l’éphémère Manitoba Labor Party aux élections provinciales de juin 1910 dans la circonscription de Winnipeg Centre. Il perdit contre le conservateur Thomas William Taylor par seulement 73 voix. Quatre ans plus tard, se décrivant lui-même comme « indépendant progressiste », il brigua les suffrages aux élections du 10 juillet et triompha par une forte majorité. Les deux campagnes avaient visé un vaste bassin d’électeurs. En 1914, la plateforme de Dixon avait été, en majeure partie, peu différente de celle des libéraux, de plus en plus réformistes, sous la direction de Tobias Crawford Norris. En sa qualité de député, il joua un rôle important dans la mise au jour de la corruption entourant la construction du nouvel édifice de l’Assemblée législative [V. Victor William Horwood] qui entraîna la chute du gouvernement conservateur de sir Rodmond Palen Roblin, la victoire libérale au scrutin d’août 1915 et sa propre réélection. Sur les questions chères à Dixon quant à sa perception de la démocratie directe, les libéraux de Norris aboutirent à des résultats mitigés. L’Initiative and Referendum Act de 1916 permit aux citoyens de proposer des lois et d’obliger l’Assemblée à tenir des référendums, mais cette loi serait ensuite déclarée inconstitutionnelle par le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé. Dixon eut plus de succès dans sa défense du suffrage féminin ; le gouvernement Norris accorda le droit de vote aux femmes en 1916.

Dixon se distinguait des libéraux de Norris principalement par ses opinions sur le conflit militaire. Bien avant le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, il avait dénoncé haut et fort le militarisme qu’il voyait envahir tant les conservateurs que les libéraux fédéraux. Aux élections provinciales de 1914, il avait expressément fustigé Roblin pour ses « déclarations cocardières ». Le service militaire obligatoire le choquait plus particulièrement. Il devint bientôt un porte-parole important du TLC dans la campagne de cet organisme, à la fin de l’année 1916, contre la conscription des travailleurs exigée par la création du National Service Board. Il les exhorta à ne pas signer leur fiche d’inscription et se déclara prêt à aller en prison pour défendre cette position.

Les déclarations de Dixon contre la guerre provoquèrent une tempête nationale. Norris déclara que les opposants à l’enrôlement devraient être incarcérés. Les rédacteurs en chef de journaux de la ville (entre autres John Wesley Dafoe* du Manitoba Free Press), le Bureau de commerce de Winnipeg et la Winnipeg Ministerial Association condamnèrent le présumé « progermanisme » de Dixon. Le 30 janvier 1917, environ 2 000 personnes s’entassèrent dans le Thomas Scott Memorial Orange Hall pour protester contre ses commentaires. Mais le chauvinisme en temps de guerre avait ses limites dans la province. La Manitoba Grain Growers’ Association reçut Dixon avec enthousiasme malgré des menaces selon lesquelles son congrès de Brandon serait perturbé. Les opposants à Dixon tentèrent de retourner contre lui les instruments de démocratie directe qui lui étaient si chers. Ils firent circuler une pétition demandant son renvoi de l’Assemblée législative pour extirper de la circonscription de Winnipeg Centre le « stigmate de la sédition ». Même si la pétition n’avait aucun statut légal, Dixon promit de démissionner si elle recevait le soutien de 25 % ou plus des électeurs de sa circonscription. Le Manitoba Free Press affirma que « tout le monde » la signait excepté les « étrangers », mais on reporta maintes fois sa présentation ; le Winnipeg Telegram annonça en plaisantant qu’elle circulerait toujours en 1927. Au bout du compte, la tentative de déloger Dixon échoua.

En 1918, l’existence de groupes d’ouvriers et de fermiers ragaillardis avait déjà amené Dixon à essayer de créer au Manitoba un mouvement uni de « producteurs de richesse », une Non-Partisan League inspirée de celles du Dakota du Nord et de l’Alberta. En juin, il écrivit à une centaine de membres potentiels, sans grand succès. Il concentra ensuite ses efforts sur le nouveau Dominion Labor Party, aile provinciale du Parti travailliste du Canada dont il devint président à l’hiver de 1918–1919. Étroitement lié aux syndicats, le Dominion Labor Party refléta aussi les passions de Dixon en adoptant un programme de reconstruction qui prônait un impôt unique sur la propriété.

Le Winnipeg d’après-guerre s’en allait vers le grand bouleversement de la grève générale [V. Mike Sokolowiski*]. Même si Dixon manquait d’expérience en matière syndicale, son sens de la justice et son courage l’amenèrent directement au cœur de l’action. Au cours de la réunion, qui deviendrait célèbre, tenue le 22 décembre 1918 au Walker Theatre, il appela à la libération des prisonniers politiques, tels les prétendus étrangers ennemis et les objecteurs de conscience. La rencontre, parrainée par le TLC et le Parti socialiste du Canada et mettant en vedette les tribuns travaillistes et socialistes les plus en vue de la ville, révéla l’identification grandissante des travailleurs aux mouvements révolutionnaires internationaux, ainsi que la convergence des forces syndicalistes et socialistes. Lorsque la grève éclata, au mois de mai suivant, Dixon l’appuya du parquet de l’Assemblée législative. Quand le rédacteur en chef, William Ivens*, et d’autres chefs des grévistes furent arrêtés le 16 juin, lui et son ami intime James Shaver Woodsworth* prirent la direction du Western Labor News du TLC, publié à Winnipeg. La semaine suivante, Woodsworth fut arrêté à son tour et on interdit la publication du journal. Dixon se cacha, mais continua de le publier, d’abord le 24 juin en une édition spéciale du Western Star et les deux jours suivants sous le titre Enlightener. Lorsque Ivens fut libéré sous caution, Dixon se rendit lui-même aux autorités, fut emprisonné pour une courte période, puis libéré le 28 juin.

Le procès en diffamation de Dixon, tenu du 29 janvier au 16 février 1920, devint une cause célèbre. Même s’il bénéficiait des conseils des éminents juristes Lewis St George Stubbs et Edward James McMurray, il choisit d’assurer sa propre défense. Le litige portait sur le discours qu’il avait prononcé au Walker Theatre et sur d’autres allocutions, ainsi que sur trois de ses articles. Dans « Kaiserism in Canada » et « Bloody Saturday », Dixon avait critiqué la brutalité avec laquelle les autorités avaient attaqué, le 21 juin 1919, la « manifestation silencieuse » des soldats rentrés au pays et, dans son article intitulé « Alas ! The poor alien », saisi avant d’être imprimé, il déplorait le traitement des grévistes d’origine étrangère au moment de leur arrestation. Dans une plaidoirie magistrale, il se concentra sur la liberté de parole et de presse. Il fut acquitté et la couronne décida d’abandonner les charges similaires contre Woodsworth. Dixon eut fort à faire pendant le procès. Chaque jour, il courait du tribunal à l’Assemblée législative, où il pressait le gouvernement Norris de révéler les noms de ceux qui finançaient les poursuites contre les chefs des grévistes ; dans son cas, c’était le procureur général de la province. Après la grève, il entreprit une tournée de conférences avec Woodsworth pour amasser des fonds qui serviraient à la défense des accusés.

La popularité de Dixon était immense, comme en témoignèrent les résultats des élections provinciales du 29 juin 1920. La circonscription de Winnipeg City représentait dix sièges à pourvoir. Dixon arriva au premier rang parmi les 41 candidats, en recueillant presque trois fois plus de votes que le procureur général Thomas Herman Johnson*, qui finit deuxième. Malgré les dissensions sociales profondes de l’après-grève, Dixon avait triomphé dans 101 des 135 bureaux de scrutin de la ville. Il prit la tête des 11 députés travaillistes. Les années qui suivirent la grève s’avérèrent difficiles pour le type de libéralisme qu’il défendait. Le mouvement travailliste de la ville était profondément divisé entre le TLC, de plus en plus conservateur, et le nouveau mouvement, One Big Union, plus radical. Afin de se distancier de ces querelles, certains travaillistes modérés, d’anciens chefs de grévistes et des dirigeants de groupes d’intérêt se réunirent pour former le Parti ouvrier indépendant en novembre 1920 avec Dixon à sa tête. Le nouveau parti connut un certain succès, avec des représentants élus au provincial et au fédéral.

Même s’il fut réélu en juillet 1922 comme premier des 43 candidats de sa circonscription, Dixon fut bientôt écrasé par des tragédies personnelles. La mort de son fils de 2 ans en 1920, suivi de celle de sa femme en 1922, puis la disparition de sa fille de 9 ans et de sa belle-mère (qui avait veillé sur les enfants) en 1924, minèrent son moral. Il démissionna de son poste de député en juillet 1923 en raison d’un cancer de la peau et suivit de nombreux traitements. Il avait été vendeur d’assurances à temps partiel pour la Confederation Life Assurance Company depuis 1919 et travaillait alors à plein temps quand sa santé le lui permettait. Il retourna à la vie publique une seule fois, pour participer aux travaux d’une commission provinciale sur le chômage saisonnier, de novembre 1927 au début de 1928. Parmi ses recommandations, la commission proposa la création d’un programme national d’assurance-chômage. Dixon mourut en mars 1931.

Trois décennies plus tard, Frederick George Tipping, collègue de Frederick John Dixon pendant la grève générale, se souvenait de lui comme « sans doute l’homme le plus populaire sur la scène publique que Winnipeg ait jamais connu ». Doté d’une vaste culture et d’une expérience diversifiée, Dixon avait des talents oratoires et une passion pour la justice qui firent de lui une figure dominante de la tradition réformatrice redoutable qui émergea à Winnipeg pendant les années précédant la Première Guerre mondiale. Sa carrière montre aussi à quel point la démocratie était devenue une question de classe sociale ; Dixon choisit de se battre aux côtés des travailleurs de Winnipeg pendant les luttes épiques de 1919.

James Naylor

Frederick John Dixon livra, au cours de son procès pour écrits diffamatoires séditieux, un impressionnant discours publié sous le titre Dixon’s address to the jury in defence of freedom of speech, considered the most powerful address ever delivered in the courts of Manitoba, and Judge Galt’s charge to the jury in Rex v. Dixon (Winnipeg, [1920]).

AM, MG 14, B25 (Frederick John Dixon papers) ; P5607 (Jack Samuel Walker papers).— Manitoba, Ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture, du Patrimoine, du Sport et de la Protection du consommateur, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), nos 1914-134063, 1931-019331.— National Arch. (G.-B.), RG 11/1299, f.110, p.14 ; RG 12/989, f.69, p.5 ; RG 13/1156, f.45, p.14.— Manitoba Free Press, 1912–1931.— Voice (Winnipeg), 1907–1918.— Western Labor News (Winnipeg), 1918–1921.— Winnipeg Telegram, 20 mars 1917.— CPG, 1910–1931.— Harry et Mildred Gutkin, Profiles in dissent : the shaping of radical thought in the Canadian west (Edmonton, 1997).— D. N. Irvine, « Reform, war, and industrial crisis in Manitoba : F. J. Dixon and the framework of consensus, 1903–1920 » (mémoire de m.a., Univ. of Manitoba, Winnipeg, 1981).— Allen Mills, « Single tax, socialism and the Independent Labour Party of Manitoba : the political ideas of F. J. Dixon and S. J. Farmer », le Travailleur (Halifax), 5 (1980) : 33–56.— Martin Robin, Radical politics and Canadian labour, 1880–1930 (Kingston, Ontario, 1968).— R. St G. Stubbs, Prairie portraits (Toronto, 1954).— F. [G.] Tipping, « Vote for men in jail », Canadian Democrat (Winnipeg), 2, no 3 (avril–mai 1960) : 11–15.— Winnipeg 1919 : the strikers’ own history of the Winnipeg General Strike, Norman Penner, édit. (2e éd., Toronto, 1975).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

James Naylor, « DIXON, FREDERICK JOHN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 13 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dixon_frederick_john_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dixon_frederick_john_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   James Naylor
Titre de l'article:   DIXON, FREDERICK JOHN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   13 décembre 2017