DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Jean Anne Drever Pinkham (1849-1940). Source: http://www.mhs.mb.ca/docs/people/pinkham_jad.shtml

Source: Link

DREVER, JEAN ANNE (Pinkham), community organizer; b. 6 May 1849 in Lower Fort Garry (Man.), daughter of William Drever and Helen Rothney (Rothnie); m. 29 Dec. 1868 William Cyprian Pinkham (1844–1928) in Upper Fort Garry (Winnipeg), and they had eight children, of whom three boys and four girls survived infancy; d. 1 Feb. 1940 in Calgary.

In her reminiscences Jean Drever Pinkham would call herself a prairie “old timer”; others remembered her as a gifted leader and a “gracious chatelaine.” Born to Scottish Presbyterian parents in Lower Fort Garry, she spent almost 91 years in western Canada. Her father, William Drever, was an Orkneyman who worked for the Hudson’s Bay Company and eventually settled in the Red River colony (Man.), where he married in 1843. After leaving the HBC in 1851, he became a successful merchant. His wife, Helen, raised six children in difficult frontier conditions, emphasizing religious faith, British education, generosity, and hospitality. Since there was no Presbyterian church in the settlement, the Drevers attended Church of England services. Their four daughters boarded at Mathilda Davis*’s school in the Anglican parish of St Andrews, where they studied English, French, music, drawing, dancing, needlework, and deportment. Generally, Jean recalled, “we girls had a very pleasant life in a simple and friendly way. I have often, when hearing of a dance, begun to make a muslin or tarleton dress in the morning and worn it at night, and that without the help of a sewing machine.” Following the sudden death of her mother in 1866, Jean assumed the care of her father, the elder of her two brothers (the younger had died earlier the same year), and her two sisters who remained at home. During the Red River uprising of 1869–70 the family would have “a very anxious and trying time,” she later wrote, her father and brother being “well known Loyalists” and subject to harassment by Louis Riel*’s forces. The family enjoyed good relations with the Plains First Nations, who in the early years were among their few neighbours and whom they found to be, in Jean’s words, “very well behaved.” On one occasion when her father was sick, “they surrounded the house, singing and shouting, my mother was alarmed …, they told her they had heard he was ill and were trying to drive out the ‘bad spirit.’”

A tall, striking 19-year-old, Jean impressed William Cyprian Pinkham, an energetic and well-educated Anglican missionary from Newfoundland who arrived in September 1868 to serve the diocese of Rupert’s Land in St James parish. He received a warm welcome from the Drevers, and married Jean three months later. Throughout their long union Pinkham felt blessed. Jean shared his spiritual faith and embraced the challenges presented by the frontier communities he served. With a strong personality and outstanding leadership ability, she made, as her husband’s biographer notes, “the ideal clergyman’s wife,” one who demonstrated enthusiasm, a social conscience, and remarkable independence. The young Jean knew little about the duties expected of her, she confessed in her reminiscences, but she “put on a brave front,” teaching Sunday school, conducting a needlework class for girls, presiding over mothers’ meetings, and visiting the sick. Her responsibilities grew as her husband’s career advanced. Pinkham became a member, under the chairmanship of his bishop, Robert Machray*, of the Protestant section of the Board of Education of Manitoba, superintendent of Protestant schools, secretary to the Anglican synod, canon of St John’s Cathedral in Winnipeg, and archdeacon of the diocese. Jean helped found the diocesan Woman’s Auxiliary and taught sewing to pupils from St John’s College Ladies’ School after it opened in 1877. Later described as “a fine mother,” she gave birth to eight children, seven of them in Manitoba. The death in infancy of her first child focused her attention on health care. A passion for community hospitals guided her work as a founding vice-president and later president of the Women’s Hospital Aid Society, organized in 1883 to help support the Winnipeg General Hospital. Among her other interests in the late 1880s was the Children’s Home of Winnipeg.

In 1887 her popular husband was chosen to succeed John McLean* in the see of Saskatchewan. Shortly afterwards, he was asked by Lieutenant Governor Edgar Dewdney* to serve on the Board of Education for the North-West Territories, and at its first meeting he was elected chairman. As a bishop, he developed a reputation for moderation, “accepting a diversity of views among his clergy,” according to historian Lewis Gwynne Thomas, favouring neither the strongly evangelical nor the high-church stream. Likewise Jean espoused both moderation in religion and diplomacy within the parish and her family. She and the children moved west in 1889, a year after Pinkham received an additional appointment as bishop of Calgary (he would resign the see of Saskatchewan in 1903).

In Calgary, Jean became a valuable community leader and popular hostess. The Church of the Redeemer, which had opened in 1884, grew with the town; in 1889 it was designated the pro-cathedral of the diocese. Jean, who encouraged her daughters to take leadership roles in church work, served as first president of the pro-cathedral’s Woman’s Auxiliary from 1891 to 1904, and in 1920 she would initiate its Girls’ Branch. By that time she was honorary president of the diocesan WA. Well known for her excellent cooking, she hosted in her home weddings, dinners, and meetings of church groups such as the Women’s Guild and the Mothers’ Union (she at different times headed both organizations). She recalled “making fifteen pounds of butter into pies” for a social at the parish hall and carving 12 turkeys for a fund-raising event. In 1890 she not only headed a women’s group that collected money to establish the Calgary General Hospital but also organized the Women’s Hospital Aid Society, of which she would be president until 1901, to equip, maintain, and enlarge it. In 1897 her eldest daughter died in childbirth, a loss that no doubt propelled her into greater efforts to raise the revenue necessary to build a maternity hospital and nursing home connected to the CGH. Jean supported the bishop’s educational plans and was excited when he received permission from his ecclesiastical superiors to create a school for girls in Calgary, the only Protestant girls’ school in the territories. From this early beginning in education grew St Hilda’s College, opened in 1905, and Bishop Pinkham College for boys, which took in its first students in 1911.

Jean’s own children grew up surrounded by a large and influential extended family in a series of residences that she (no doubt tongue in cheek) referred to as “palatial.” Each was called Bishop’s Court. Her two younger sisters lived in Calgary: Mary Isabella, who had married James Farquharson Macleod*, commissioner of the North-West Mounted Police, and Christian Helen, the wife of John Pascoe Jermy Jephson, a prominent lawyer. Elder sister Margaret had married the Anglican missionary John Alexander Mackay* and resided in Saskatchewan. In addition to family and friends, the Pinkhams’ lively abode welcomed many international visitors. Jean also led an active social life outside her home, frequenting local ranches such as the Cochrane Ranche [see Matthew Henry Cochrane*] and pursuing a variety of hobbies. One photograph shows her playing field hockey with her youngest daughter in Banff.

As time went by, her associational commitments grew to include national organizations. When Lady Aberdeen [Marjoribanks] visited Calgary in 1894, she enlisted Jean and her close friend Isabella Clark Lougheed [Hardisty] to assist in inaugurating a local branch of the National Council of Women of Canada. Founded the following year, it was short-lived but would be resuscitated in 1912 through the efforts of Henrietta Louise Muir Edwards. In 1909 both Jean and Belle Lougheed were also involved in establishing a chapter of the Victorian Order of Nurses for Canada, another of Lady Aberdeen’s initiatives, and that same year Jean was made first regent, and Belle first vice-regent, of the Colonel Macleod Chapter of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire. In 1911 Jean became a charter member of the Calgary Women’s Canadian Club as well. During World War I she helped create the Alberta branch of the Canadian Red Cross Society in 1914 and acted as the province’s vice-president on the Canadian Serbian Relief Committee, receiving for this service Serbia’s Order of St Sava, 3rd class, and its Cross of Mercy. Sadly, her youngest son, Captain Ernest Frederick John Vernon Pinkham, was killed at the battle of the Somme in 1916 while serving with the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

Throughout their long lives Jean and her husband acquired many honours, such as an invitation to attend the coronation of King George V and Queen Mary in 1911. Arriving in London just before the ceremony, Jean had little time to buy a suitable outfit or make a booking with a hairdresser. Ever the resourceful pioneer woman, she altered a new dress using safety pins and personally arranged her hair. Her husband, who resigned from his bishopric in 1926, died two years later; the elderly matriarch, viewed by some as a formidable and domineering presence, survived him for almost 12 years, living with daughters Mary Isabella Ross and Margaret Pauline Christian. At a special Sunday service on 26 Jan. 1936 she witnessed the installation of new stained-glass windows in the pro-cathedral. Donated by Richard Bedford Bennett*, a long-time friend, the windows depict the former bishop as St Cyprian and, in commemoration of her public work, portray Jean as Martha of Bethany. A biblical verse on Jean and Cyprian’s Calgary gravestone echoes the theme of practical charity: “And I heard a voice from Heaven saying unto me write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from Henceforth[:] yea, saieth the spirit[,] that they may rest from their labours and their works do follow them.”

Patricia Roome

The original typescript of Jean Anne Drever (Pinkham)’s memoirs is held in the Univ. of Calgary Library, Special Coll., 76/74.9.SOR80.9 (Anglican Church of Canada, Diocese of Calgary fonds, Synod Office records, ser.3: general files, 80.9 (“Reminiscences of an old timer” – Mrs. W. C. (Jean) Pinkham. ca. 1930)). A copy is available at GA, Pinkham family fonds, M 977. She first published the memoirs in the Calgary Herald, 8, 15, 22, 29 Nov., 6, 13 Dec. 1924. Excerpts have been issued in three parts as “Selections from the unpublished recollections of Mrs. W. C. Pinkham,” Manitoba Pageant (Winnipeg), 19 (1973–74), no.2: 21–23, and no.3: 19–22; and 20 (1974–75), no.1: 11–17; and in two parts as “Reminiscences of an old timer,” Manitoba Hist. (Winnipeg), no.20 (autumn 1990): 16–20, and no.21 (spring 1991): 13–16. William Cyprian Pinkham’s memoirs are also held at GA, Pinkham family fonds, in M 978-1; they have been published in part as “Selections from the unpublished autobiography of the Right Rev. William Cyprian Pinkham (1844–1928), first bishop of Calgary,” intro. D. J. Carter, Manitoba Pageant, 19, no.1: 12–20.

Calgary Public Library, Clippings file Pinkham, Jean Drever. GA, Pinkham family fonds. Univ. of Calgary Library, Special Coll., 76/74.9.213 and 76/74.9.SOR25 (Anglican Church of Canada, Diocese of Calgary fonds, Women’s Auxiliary/Anglican Church Women records). C. W. Adams et al., The Anglican Church in Calgary: church activities, 1878–1974, ed. Herb Surplis (Calgary, 1975). Doris Anderson, “Encounter,” Beaver (Winnipeg), 84 (2004–5), no.4: 53. D. J. Carter, Calgary’s Anglican cathedral: the Cathedral Church of the Redeemer, Calgary, Alberta ([Calgary], 1973); Where the wind blows: a history of the Anglican diocese of Calgary, 1888–1968 (Calgary, [1968]). Sherrill MacLaren, Braehead: three founding families in nineteenth century Canada (Toronto, 1986). A. M. Pinkham, “A summer at the Macleod ranch,” Alberta Hist. (Calgary), 45 (1997), no.2: 18–23. Julie Sribney, The Cathedral Church of the Redeemer: 100 years (Calgary, 2005). L. G. Thomas, “The Church of England and the Canadian west,” in The Anglican Church and the world of western Canada, 1820–1970, ed. Barry Ferguson (Regina, 1991), 16–28. Keith Wilson, William Cyprian Pinkham (Winnipeg, 1986).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Patricia Roome, “DREVER, JEAN ANNE (Pinkham),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 25, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/drever_jean_anne_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/drever_jean_anne_16E.html
Author of Article:   Patricia Roome
Title of Article:   DREVER, JEAN ANNE (Pinkham)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   November 25, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

DUMONT, GABRIEL – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2020

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Jean Anne Drever Pinkham (1849-1940). Source: http://www.mhs.mb.ca/docs/people/pinkham_jad.shtml

Provenance : Lien

DREVER, JEAN ANNE (Pinkham), organisatrice communautaire, née le 6 mai 1849 à Lower Fort Garry (Manitoba), fille de William Drever et de Helen Rothney (Rothnie) ; le 29 décembre 1868, elle épousa à Upper Fort Garry (Winnipeg) William Cyprian Pinkham (1844–1928), et ils eurent huit enfants, dont trois garçons et quatre filles qui vécurent au delà de la petite enfance ; décédée le 1er février 1940 à Calgary.

Dans ses mémoires, Jean Anne Drever (Pinkham) se qualifierait d’« ancienne » des Prairies ; d’autres se souviendraient d’elle comme d’une meneuse talentueuse et d’une « maîtresse de maison bienveillante ». Née de parents écossais et presbytériens à Lower Fort Garry, elle passa près de 91 ans dans l’Ouest canadien. Son père, William Drever, originaire des Orcades, travaillait pour la Hudson’s Bay Company et finit par s’installer dans la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge (Manitoba), où il se maria en 1843. Après avoir quitté la compagnie, en 1851, il devint un marchand prospère. Sa femme, Helen, éleva six enfants dans les difficiles conditions de vie des pionniers, en mettant l’accent sur la foi religieuse, une éducation à la britannique, la générosité et l’hospitalité. Puisqu’il n’y avait pas d’église presbytérienne dans la colonie, les Drever assistaient aux offices de l’Église d’Angleterre. Leurs quatre filles furent pensionnaires à l’école de Mathilda Davis*, dans la paroisse anglicane de St Andrews, où elles étudièrent l’anglais, le français, la musique, le dessin, la danse, les travaux d’aiguille et le maintien. Jean Anne raconta : « [N]ous, les filles, avions [généralement] une vie très agréable, simple et chaleureuse. Souvent, quand j’entendais parler d’une soirée dansante, je commençais à confectionner une robe en mousseline ou en Tarleton le matin et la portais le soir même, et ce, sans l’aide d’une machine à coudre. » Après la mort subite de sa mère en 1866, Jean Anne s’occupa de son père, de l’aîné de ses deux frères (le plus jeune trouva lui aussi la mort cette année-là) et de ses deux sœurs encore à la maison. Durant le soulèvement de la Rivière-Rouge, en 1869–1870, la famille passerait « une période très tendue et éprouvante », écrirait-elle, car son père et son frère, « des loyalistes bien connus », subissaient le harcèlement des forces de Louis Riel*. La famille entretenait de bonnes relations avec les Premières Nations des Plaines, qui, au départ, comptaient parmi leurs rares voisins, et qui, d’après Jean Anne, « se conduisaient très bien ». Un jour où son père était malade, « ils entourèrent la maison, chantant et criant, [s]a mère était inquiète […] ils lui dirent qu’ils avaient appris qu’il était souffrant et tentaient de chasser le “mauvais esprit” ».

À 19 ans, Jean Anne, jeune femme de grande taille à l’allure étonnante, fit impression sur William Cyprian Pinkham. Missionnaire anglican énergique et instruit originaire de Terre-Neuve, ce dernier arriva en septembre 1868 pour prendre en charge la paroisse St James du diocèse de Rupert’s Land. Les Drever lui firent bon accueil et il épousa Jean Anne trois mois plus tard. Pendant toute leur longue union, Pinkham se sentit privilégié. Jean Anne partageait sa foi spirituelle et acceptait de relever les défis associés à la vie dans les communautés pionnières qu’il servait. Avec sa forte personnalité et ses extraordinaires qualités de meneuse, elle représentait, comme le noterait le biographe de son mari, « la femme idéale pour un homme d’Église », enthousiaste, pétrie de conscience sociale et remarquablement indépendante. Sans beaucoup d’expérience pour les tâches qui l’attendaient, avoua-t-elle dans ses mémoires, la jeune femme « garda son sang-froid » et enseigna à l’école du dimanche, dirigea une classe de travaux d’aiguille pour les filles, présida les réunions de mères et rendit visite aux malades. Ses responsabilités s’accrurent au fur et à mesure que la carrière de son mari progressa. Ce dernier, sous la présidence de son évêque Robert Machray*, devint membre de la section protestante du bureau d’Éducation de Manitoba, ainsi que surintendant des écoles protestantes, secrétaire du synode anglican, chanoine de la cathédrale St John à Winnipeg et archidiacre du diocèse. Mme Pinkham participa à la fondation de la Woman’s Auxiliary du diocèse et enseigna la couture aux élèves de la St John’s College Ladies’ School, ouverte en 1877. Celle qu’on décrirait comme « une bonne mère » donna naissance à huit enfants, dont sept naquirent au Manitoba. À la suite de la mort en bas âge de son premier enfant, elle concentra son attention sur les soins de santé. Une passion pour les hôpitaux communautaires guida son travail de vice-présidente fondatrice, puis de présidente, de la Women’s Hospital Aid Society, établie en 1883 pour soutenir l’Hôpital Général de Winnipeg. Parmi ses autres centres d’intérêt à la fin des années 1880 figurait le Children’s Home of Winnipeg.

En 1887, le très prisé Pinkham fut nommé au siège épiscopal de Saskatchewan pour succéder à John McLean*. Peu après, le lieutenant-gouverneur Edgar Dewdney* lui demanda de se joindre au bureau d’Éducation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ; il en fut élu président à la première réunion. Comme évêque, réputé modéré, il « accepta[i]t une diversité de points de vue dans son clergé », selon l’historien Lewis Gwynne Thomas, et ne favorisait ni le courant évangélique ni celui de la Haute Église. De même, Mme Pinkham adopta une approche modérée de la religion et de la diplomatie au sein de la paroisse et de sa famille. Les enfants et elle s’installèrent plus à l’ouest en 1889, un an après que son mari eut aussi été nommé évêque de Calgary (il démissionnerait du siège épiscopal de Saskatchewan en 1903).

À Calgary, Mme Pinkham devint une chef de file communautaire fort précieuse et une hôtesse estimée. La Church of the Redeemer, qui avait ouvert ses portes en 1884, prit de l’expansion en même temps que la ville ; en 1889, on la choisit pour servir de cathédrale du diocèse. Mme Pinkham, qui encourageait ses filles à assumer des rôles de leader dans leurs œuvres paroissiales, occupa, de 1891 à 1904, le poste de première présidente de la Woman’s Auxiliary de la cathédrale, dont elle lancerait la Girls’ Branch en 1920. À ce moment-là, elle était présidente honoraire de la Woman’s Auxiliary du diocèse. Connue pour ses talents de cuisinière, elle tint chez elle des réceptions de mariage, des dîners et des réunions de groupes de fidèles comme ceux de la Women’s Guild et de la Mothers’ Union (organismes qu’elle dirigea à des époques différentes). Elle se rappela « [avoir transformé] quinze livres de beurre en tartes » pour une soirée à la salle paroissiale et avoir découpé 12 dindes pour une activité de financement. En 1890, elle prit la tête d’un groupe de femmes afin de recueillir des fonds pour le nouveau Calgary General Hospital et fonda la Women’s Hospital Aid Society, qu’elle présida jusqu’en 1901, dans le but d’équiper, entretenir et agrandir l’établissement. En 1897, sa fille aînée mourut en accouchant, ce qui l’amena sans aucun doute à redoubler d’efforts pour amasser le financement nécessaire à la construction d’une maternité et d’une maison de soins infirmiers liées au Calgary General Hospital. Mme Pinkham appuyait les plans de l’évêque en matière d’éducation et fut ravie lorsqu’il reçut l’aval de ses supérieurs ecclésiastiques pour créer une école de filles à Calgary, la seule école de filles protestante dans les territoires. Ces premiers pas dans le domaine de l’éducation donnèrent naissance au St Hilda’s College, ouvert en 1905, et au Bishop Pinkham College pour garçons, qui accueillit ses premiers élèves en 1911.

Les enfants de Mme Pinkham grandirent au sein d’une famille élargie influente, dans une série de résidences qu’elle qualifiait (en plaisantant, de toute évidence) de « palatiales ». On donna à chacune le nom de Bishop’s Court. Ses deux sœurs cadettes vivaient à Calgary : Mary Isabella, qui avait épousé James Farquharson Macleod*, commissaire de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, et Christian Helen, mariée à l’avocat réputé John Pascoe Jermy Jephson. Sa sœur aînée, Margaret, femme du missionnaire anglican John Alexander Mackay*, habitait en Saskatchewan. Dans leur demeure animée, les Pinkham accueillirent, outre parents et amis, de nombreux visiteurs étrangers. Mme Pinkham menait également une vie sociale active à l’extérieur de chez elle ; elle fréquentait des ranches du coin, dont le Cochrane Ranche [V. Matthew Henry Cochrane*], et s’adonnait à une multitude de loisirs. Une photographie la montre en train de jouer au hockey sur gazon avec sa fille cadette à Banff.

Au fil du temps, Mme Pinkham s’engagea aussi dans des organismes nationaux. Lorsque lady Aberdeen [Marjoribanks] visita Calgary, en 1894, elle fit appel à Mme Pinkham et son amie proche Isabella Clark Lougheed [Hardisty] pour l’aider à fonder la section locale du National Council of Women of Canada. Créée l’année suivante, celle-ci ne dura pas longtemps, mais ressusciterait en 1912 grâce aux efforts d’Henrietta Louise Muir Edwards. En 1909, Jean Anne et Isabella Clark participèrent à la mise en place d’une section du Victorian Order of Nurses for Canada, autre initiative de lady Aberdeen. La même année, elles devinrent respectivement première présidente et première vice-présidente du Colonel Macleod Chapter de l’Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire. De plus, en 1911, Mme Pinkham compta parmi les membres fondateurs du Women’s Canadian Club de Calgary. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, elle aida à mettre sur pied la section albertaine de la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge, en 1914, et agit à titre de vice-présidente provinciale du Canadian Serbian Relief Committee, fonction qui lui valut l’ordre de Saint-Sava 3e classe, de Serbie, et sa croix de la Miséricorde. Malheureusement, son plus jeune fils, le capitaine Ernest Frederick John Vernon Pinkham, membre du Corps expéditionnaire canadien, perdit la vie à la bataille de la Somme en 1916.

Au cours de leur longue vie, Jean Anne et William Cyprian Pinkham reçurent de nombreux honneurs, dont une invitation au couronnement du roi George V et de la reine Mary, en 1911. Arrivée à Londres juste avant la cérémonie, Mme Pinkham disposa de peu de temps pour acheter une tenue appropriée ou prendre rendez-vous chez le coiffeur. En bonne pionnière pleine de ressources, elle ajusta une nouvelle robe à l’aide d’épingles de sûreté et se coiffa elle-même. En 1926, son mari démissionna de ses fonctions d’évêque ; il mourut deux ans plus tard. La matriarche âgée, à qui certains attribuaient une présence formidable et imposante, lui survécut près de 12 ans, et demeura avec ses filles Mary Isabella Ross et Margaret Pauline Christian. Pendant un service du dimanche particulier à la cathédrale, le 26 janvier 1936, elle assista à l’installation de nouveaux vitraux, offerts par son ami de longue date Richard Bedford Bennett* ; l’ancien évêque y figurait sous les traits de saint Cyprien, tandis que Mme Pinkham, en reconnaissance de son travail public, y était représentée sous ceux de Marthe de Béthanie. Sur leur pierre tombale, à Calgary, un verset biblique évoque le thème de la charité mise en pratique : « Et j’entendis du ciel une voix qui disait : Écris : Heureux dès à présent les morts qui meurent dans le Seigneur ! Oui, dit l’Esprit, afin qu’ils se reposent de leurs travaux, car leurs œuvres les suivent. »

Patricia Roome

Le tapuscrit original des mémoires de Jean Anne Drever (Pinkham) est conservé à la Univ. of Calgary Library, Special Coll., 76/74.9.SOR80.9 (Anglican Church of Canada, Diocese of Calgary fonds, Synod Office records, ser. 3 : general files, 80.9 (« Reminiscences of an old timer » – Mrs. W. C. (Jean) Pinkham. ca. 1930)). Une copie se trouve aux GA, Pinkham family fonds, M 977. Ces mémoires ont d’abord paru dans le Calgary Herald (8, 15, 22, 29 nov., 6, 13 déc. 1924). Des extraits ont été publiés en trois parties (« Selections from the unpublished recollections of Mrs. W. C. Pinkham », Manitoba Pageant (Winnipeg), 19 (1973–1974), no 2 : 21–23 et no 3 : 19–22, et 20 (1974–1975), no 1 : 11–17) et en deux parties (« Reminiscences of an old timer », Manitoba Hist. (Winnipeg), no 20 (automne 1990) : 16–20, et no 21 (printemps 1991) : 13–16). Les mémoires de William Cyprian Pinkham sont également déposés aux GA, Pinkham family fonds, M 978-1 ; on en a publié des sections : « Selections from the unpublished autobiography of the Right Rev. William Cyprian Pinkham (1844–1928), first bishop of Calgary », introd. par D. J. Carter, Manitoba Pageant, 19, no 1 : 12–20.

Calgary Public Library, Clippings file Pinkham, Jean Drever.— GA, Pinkham family fonds.— Univ. of Calgary Library, Special Coll., 76/74.9.213 et 76/74.9.SOR25 (Anglican Church of Canada, Diocese of Calgary fonds, Women’s Auxiliary/Anglican Church Women records).— C. W. Adams et al., The Anglican Church in Calgary : church activities, 1878–1974, Herb Surplis, édit. (Calgary, 1975).— Doris Anderson, « Encounter », Beaver (Winnipeg), 84 (2004–2005), no 4 : 53.— D. J. Carter, Calgary’s Anglican cathedral : the Cathedral Church of the Redeemer, Calgary, Alberta ([Calgary], 1973) ; Where the wind blows : a history of the Anglican diocese of Calgary, 1888–1968 (Calgary, [1968]).— Sherrill MacLaren, Braehead : three founding families in nineteenth century Canada (Toronto, 1986).— A. M. Pinkham, « A summer at the Macleod ranch », Alberta Hist. (Calgary), 45 (1997), no 2 : 18–23.— Julie Sribney, The Cathedral Church of the Redeemer : 100 years (Calgary, 2005).— L. G. Thomas, « The Church of England and the Canadian west », dans The Anglican Church and the world of western Canada, 1820–1970, Barry Ferguson, édit. (Regina, 1991), 16–28.— Keith Wilson, William Cyprian Pinkham (Winnipeg, 1986).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Patricia Roome, « DREVER, JEAN ANNE (Pinkham) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 nov. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/drever_jean_anne_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/drever_jean_anne_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Patricia Roome
Titre de l'article:    DREVER, JEAN ANNE (Pinkham)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    25 novembre 2020