DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DUCHARME, DOMINIQUE (baptized François), fur trader, militia officer, office holder, and justice of the peace; b. 15 May 1765 in Lachine, Que., second son of Jean-Marie Ducharme* and Marie-Angélique Roy, dit Portelance; d. 3 Aug. 1853 in Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes (Oka), Lower Canada.

Dominique Ducharme came of a distinguished family that had been present in New France from the mid 17th century. Residing at Lachine, a centre of recruitment for the western fur trade, the Ducharmes naturally became involved in that activity at an early date. Dominique’s father made a comfortable living from the business, which enabled Dominique to attend the Collège Saint-Raphaël in Montreal from 1780 to 1786. But the boy possessed his father’s independence of spirit, and, his course completed, he too entered the fur trade. By 1793 he had at least one clerk, William McKay*, in his service on the Menominee River, which flows into Green Bay (Wis.), and possibly a second, his elder brother, Joseph. The following year, at La Baye (Green Bay), he brought out his younger brother Paul from Montreal also to act as a clerk. In 1793 Ducharme had paid two barrels of rum to two Indians for land on both sides of the Fox River at the Kaukauna rapids, thus gaining control of the portage around them and of the lower Fox. He built a house on the land and settled there. In 1794 he and another trader, Jacob Franks, obtained from the Menominee Indians “for value received,” a 999-year lease on a total of 1,200 acres on both sides of the Fox at La Baye; at the time Ducharme already possessed a concession on one side of the river beside one of the leased lots. He may have continued to engage in the fur trade in the west for the next 15 years; certainly he acquired a working knowledge of several native dialects.

Ducharme eventually returned to the Montreal area, settling at Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes. On 26 June 1810 he married Agathe de Lorimier, daughter of Claude-Nicolas-Guillaume de Lorimier*, resident Indian agent at Caughnawaga (Kahnawake). On 21 July 1812, after war broke out with the United States, Ducharme was commissioned a lieutenant in the Pointe-Claire Battalion of Militia. A cousin, also named Dominique, became an ensign in the same unit the following day, and it was possibly his uncle Dominique who had been appointed a captain at Lachine in the 2nd Battalion of Montreal Militia in 1811. In May 1813 Ducharme was ordered to the Niagara frontier, Upper Canada, in command of a party of Six Nations Indians from Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes and Saint-Régis. On 24 June, after Laura Secord [Ingersoll*] had informed Lieutenant James FitzGibbon* of a planned American attack on his outpost at Beaver Dams (Thorold), Ducharme’s scouts located the American force of some 500 men. Ducharme, by then a captain, reported its position to FitzGibbon and, with 300 of his Indians, joined later by about 100 Mohawks under Captain William Johnson Kerr*, he attacked the Americans from woods in the rear of their position. After three hours of fighting an enemy they could not see, and terrified by the war whoops issuing from the woods, the Americans surrendered to FitzGibbon on his arrival with just 46 men as reinforcements. According to Ducharme’s later account, confirmed in large part by FitzGibbon, it was his warriors, not Kerr’s Mohawks or FitzGibbon, who had engineered the victory.

Returning quickly to Lower Canada, Ducharme was placed under the command of Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel d’Irumberry* de Salaberry; for his participation in the battle of Châteauguay on 26 October he was later awarded a medal and clasp. His relations with the rigorous Salaberry were not always happy. On one occasion, according to the journalist Pantaléon Hudon, Ducharme’s Indians tracked down and captured six deserters from Salaberry’s unit; they were court-martialled and, on the lieutenant-colonel’s orders, shot. Ducharme, who regarded such punishment as too severe for amateur soldiers with family and farm concerns in the area, never forgave Salaberry and told him that he would have helped the men to escape had he known the fate that awaited them.

After the war Ducharme returned to Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes, where, about 1816, he was appointed interpreter for the Indian Department, with all the duties of a resident agent. In November 1819 he received a commission of the peace, subsequently renewed until at least 1828. In November 1821 he was appointed commissioner for the trial of small causes at Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes. As political tensions in Lower Canada rose steadily in the 1820s and then dramatically in the 1830s [see Louis-Joseph Papineau*], he became increasingly alarmed by the possibility of armed revolt, which he considered pure folly. In 1837 he was sent to Saint-Benoît (Mirabel) to inspect the militia, a delicate task under the circumstances. After the inspection he breakfasted with the men, but the friendly tone of the conversation deteriorated over politics. When one man branded him a chouayen (a term of derision applied by the Patriotes to government supporters) for not giving up his commissions, Ducharme, who had a fiery temper even at 72, challenged him to a duel, but the challenge went unanswered. In late November a contingent of Patriotes, led by Amury Girod* and Jean-Olivier Chénier*, arrived at Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes to commandeer muskets and cannon. After the force had found only a few small arms and powder in a Hudson’s Bay Company storehouse and had been denied arms by the Indians, it confronted Ducharme, who angrily refused to produce any weapons and urged the insurgents to return to their homes. Two weeks later, however, upon learning of the rebel defeat, Ducharme’s humane concern again came to the fore, and he made his way to Saint-Eustache, where he evidently helped some of the rebel survivors escape. He was clearly content with the political status quo, but was not prepared to see men he knew, even though they had attempted the violent overthrow of legitimate authority, arrested for treason.

Ducharme’s last years were spent in the quiet obscurity of Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes, where he continued as interpreter, reporting to the secretary of the Indian Department, Duncan Campbell Napier*. Ducharme’s active career had spanned nearly 70 years. A small, wiry man of great physical strength, he was representative of a whole generation of Indian Department employees in the early 19th century, men who, by their involvement in the Indian trade, usually spoke several dialects and acquired an understanding of native customs. They linked Britain’s military and trade policies of the 18th and early 19th centuries with the peace-time priorities of the post-1815 period.

Douglas Leighton

PAC, MG 24, B2; RG 4, B37, 1; RG 8, I (C ser.), 230, 257, 688b, 825, 1168, 1171, 1202, 1695; RG 10, A3, 495; RG 68, General index, 1651–1841: 255, 262, 281, 349, 354, 357, 362, 639. Quebec Gazette, 30 July 1812. F.-J. Audet, Les députés de Montréal (ville et comtés), 1792–1867 . . . (Montréal, 1943), 344, 34650. Officers of British forces in Canada (Irving), 17071, 214, 21718. Wallace, Macmillan dict. Pierre Berton, Flames across the border, 1813–1814 (Toronto, 1981). Maurault, Le collège de Montréal (Dansereau; 1967), 189. Benjamin Sulte, Histoire de la milice canadienne-française, 1760–1897 (Montréal, 1897). “La bataille de Beaver-Dam,” BRH, 11 (1905): 34144. Pantaléon Hudon, “Le capitaine Dominique Ducharme,” Rev. canadienne, 15 (1878): 42030, 53144. Joseph Tassé, “Un épisode de la guerre de 1812,” Rev. canadienne, 7 (1870): 75355.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Douglas Leighton, “DUCHARME, DOMINIQUE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 8, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 20, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ducharme_dominique_8E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ducharme_dominique_8E.html
Author of Article: Douglas Leighton
Title of Article: DUCHARME, DOMINIQUE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 8
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1985
Year of revision: 1985
Access Date: October 20, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DUCHARME, DOMINIQUE (baptisé François), trafiquant de fourrures, officier de milice, fonctionnaire et juge de paix, né le 15 mai 1765 à Lachine, Québec, deuxième fils de Jean-Marie Ducharme* et de Marie-Angélique Roy, dit Portelance ; décédé le 3 août 1853 à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes (Oka, Québec).

Dominique Ducharme était issu d’une famille distinguée établie en Nouvelle-France depuis le milieu du xviie siècle. Demeurant à Lachine, centre de recrutement pour la traite des fourrures dans l’Ouest, les Ducharme en vinrent tout naturellement à s’engager dans cette activité. Le père de Dominique vivait dans l’aisance grâce à la traite des fourrures, ce qui permit à ce dernier de fréquenter le collège Saint-Raphaël à Montréal de 1780 à 1786. Cependant, le fils avait hérité du caractère indépendant de son père et, ses études terminées, il s’engagea lui aussi dans la traite des fourrures. En 1793, il avait au moins un commis, William McKay*, à son service à la rivière Menominee qui se jette dans la baie des Puants (baie Green, Wisconsin), et peut-être aussi un deuxième dans la personne de son frère aîné, Joseph. L’année suivante, il était à La Baye (Green Bay) où il fit venir de Montréal son frère cadet Paul qu’il engagea lui aussi en qualité de commis. En 1793, Ducharme avait donné deux barriques de rhum à deux Indiens en échange de terres situées sur les deux rives de la rivière Renard (rivière Fox) aux rapides Kaukauna. Il s’assurait ainsi la mainmise sur le portage qu’il fallait emprunter pour contourner ces rapides ainsi que sur le cours inférieur de la Renard. Il construisit une maison sur une des terres qu’il venait d’acquérir et s’y installa. En 1794, avec un autre trafiquant, Jacob Franks, il obtint des Folles-Avoines « contre valeur reçue » un bail de 999 ans pour 1 200 acres de terre s’étendant des deux côtés de la rivière Renard à La Baye. À cette époque, Ducharme possédait déjà un lot sur un côté de la rivière, voisin de l’un de ceux qu’il avait obtenus en location. Il se peut que durant les 15 années suivantes il ait continué à faire le commerce des fourrures dans l’Ouest, acquérant en même temps une connaissance pratique de plusieurs dialectes indiens.

Ducharme revint finalement dans la région de Montréal, se fixant à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes. Le 26 juin 1810, il épousa Agathe de Lorimier, fille de Claude-Nicolas-Guillaume de Lorimier*, agent résidant du département des Affaires indiennes à Caughnawaga (Kahnawake). Le 21 juillet 1812, après le début de la guerre contre les États-Unis, Ducharme reçut une commission de lieutenant dans le bataillon de milice de Pointe-Claire. Un cousin, nommé lui aussi Dominique, devint enseigne dans la même unité le jour suivant et c’est peut-être son oncle Dominique qui avait été nommé en 1811 capitaine à Lachine dans le 2e bataillon de milice de la ville de Montréal. En mai 1813, Ducharme reçut l’ordre de se rendre à la frontière du Niagara, dans le Haut-Canada, à la tête d’un détachement d’Indiens des Six-Nations de Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes et de Saint-Régis. Le 24 juin, après que Laura Secord [Ingersoll*] eut prévenu le lieutenant James FitzGibbon* que les Américains se préparaient à attaquer son avant-poste à Beaver Dams (Thorold, Ontario), les éclaireurs de Ducharme repérèrent une troupe américaine de quelque 500 hommes. Ducharme, alors capitaine, signala leur position à FitzGibbon et, avec 300 de ses Indiens auxquels se joignirent plus tard quelque 100 Agniers commandés par le capitaine William Johnson Kerr*, il attaqua les Américains à partir d’un bois situé à l’arrière de leur position. Après avoir combattu pendant trois heures un ennemi invisible, et terrifiés par les cris de guerre provenant du bois, les Américains se rendirent à FitzGibbon lorsque ce dernier arriva sur les lieux avec un renfort de 46 hommes seulement. Selon le récit fait plus tard par Ducharme et confirmé en grande partie par FitzGibbon, le crédit de cette victoire revenait à ses guerriers et non pas aux Agniers de Kerr ou aux hommes de FitzGibbon.

Retournant promptement au Bas-Canada, Ducharme fut placé sous le commandement du lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel d’Irumberry* de Salaberry, et, pour sa conduite lors de la bataille de Châteauguay le 26 octobre, on lui décerna plus tard une médaille avec agrafe. Ses rapports avec le sévère Salaberry ne furent pas toujours cordiaux. Un jour, selon le journaliste Pantaléon Hudon, les Indiens de Ducharme pourchassèrent et capturèrent six déserteurs appartenant à l’unité de Salaberry. Ces fugitifs passèrent en conseil de guerre et furent fusillés sur l’ordre du colonel. Ducharme, qui jugeait cette peine trop sévère pour des soldats amateurs, pères de famille et fermiers de la région, ne pardonna jamais à Salaberry cette rigueur excessive et lui dit qu’il aurait aidé ces malheureux à s’échapper s’il avait connu le sort qui leur était réservé.

La guerre terminée, Ducharme revint à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes où il fut nommé vers 1816 interprète du département des Affaires indiennes, assumant toutes les fonctions d’un agent résidant. En novembre 1819, il reçut une commission de juge de paix, renouvelée jusqu’en 1828 au moins. En novembre 1821, il fut nommé commissaire chargé de la décision sommaire des petites causes à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes. Comme les tensions politiques augmentaient sans cesse au Bas-Canada dans les années 1820 et qu’elles se faisaient sentir de façon dramatique dans les années 1830 [V. Louis-Joseph Papineau*], Ducharme craignait de plus en plus la possibilité d’une révolte armée qui serait selon lui une pure folie. En 1837, il fut envoyé à Saint-Benoît (Mirabel) inspecter la milice, une tâche délicate dans les circonstances. L’inspection terminée, il prit le déjeuner avec les hommes, mais le ton amical de la conversation tourna au vinaigre lorsqu’on se mit à parler politique. Quand un des hommes le traita de « chouayen » (terme de dérision appliqué par les patriotes aux partisans du gouvernement) parce qu’il n’avait pas renoncé à ses commissions, Ducharme, qui avait un tempérament fougueux même à 72 ans, le provoqua en duel, mais son défi ne fut pas relevé. Vers la fin de novembre, un détachement de patriotes conduit par Amury Girod* et Jean-Olivier Chénier* arriva à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes afin de réquisitionner des mousquets et des canons. N’ayant trouvé que quelques armes légères et un peu de poudre dans un entrepôt de la Hudson’s Bay Company, et s’étant vu refuser des armes par les Indiens, les insurgés en réclamèrent à Ducharme qui refusa avec colère et les pressa de retourner dans leur foyer. Cependant, deux semaines plus tard, apprenant la défaite des rebelles, les sentiments humains de Ducharme prirent le dessus et il se rendit à Saint-Eustache où il favorisa manifestement la fuite de certains insurgés. Il était évidemment satisfait du statu quo politique, mais n’était pas prêt à voir des hommes qu’il connaissait arrêtés pour trahison, même s’ils avaient tenté de renverser par la violence l’autorité établie.

Dominique Ducharme vécut ses dernières années dans une tranquille obscurité à Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes où il continua à remplir ses fonctions d’interprète, rendant compte de ses activités au secrétaire du département des Affaires indiennes, Duncan Campbell Napier*. La carrière de Ducharme couvre une période de près de 70 ans. De petite taille, sec et doué d’une grande force physique, Ducharme fut le représentant typique de toute une génération d’employés du département des Affaires indiennes du début du xixe siècle. Participant à la traite des fourrures avec les Indiens, ces fonctionnaires parlaient ordinairement plusieurs dialectes et en vinrent à comprendre les coutumes des autochtones. Ils firent le lien entre les politiques commerciales et militaires de la Grande-Bretagne du xviiie siècle et du début du xixe, et les priorités de temps de paix de la période postérieure à 1815.

Douglas Leighton

L’histoire de la bataille de Beaver Dams telle que l’a racontée Dominique Ducharme a été publiée en partie ou en entier dans quelques articles dont Pantaléon Hudon, « le Capitaine Dominique Ducharme », Rev. canadienne, 15 (1878) : 420–430, 531–544, et « La Bataille de Beaver-Dam », BRH, 11 (1905) : 341–344.

APC, MG 24, B2 ; RG 4, B37, 1 ; RG 8, I (C sér.), 230 ; 257 ; 688b ; 825 ; 1168 ; 1171 ; 1202 ; 1695 ; RG 10, A3, 495 ; RG 68, General index, 1651–1841 : 255, 262, 281, 349, 354, 357, 362, 639.— La Gazette de Québec, 30 juill 1812.— F.-J. Audet, les Députés de Montréal (ville et comtés), 1792–1867 [...] (Montréal, 1943), 344, 346–350.— Officers of British forces in Canada (Irving), 170–171, 214, 217–218.— Wallace, Macmillan dict.-Pierre Berton, Flames across the border, 1813–1814 (Toronto, 1981).— Maurault, le Collège de Montréal (Dansereau ; 1967), 189.— Benjamin Sulte, Histoire de la milice canadienne-française, 1760–1897 (Montréal, 1897).— Joseph Tassé, « Un épisode de la guerre de 1812 », Rev. canadienne, 7 (1870) : 753–755.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Douglas Leighton, « DUCHARME, DOMINIQUE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 8, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 1 nov. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ducharme_dominique_8F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ducharme_dominique_8F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Douglas Leighton
Titre de l'article:   DUCHARME, DOMINIQUE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 8
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1985
Année de la révision:   1985
Date de consultation:   1 novembre 2014