DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  John George Adami, 1862-1926 - Major-General Gilbert Lafayette Foster, C.B., Director General Medical Services, Overseas Military Forces of Canada, frontispiece from War Story of the Canadian Army Medical Corps: Volume I, The First Contingent, to the Autumn of 1915, By John George Adami, 1862-1926. London: Colour Ltd. & The Rolls House Publishing Co., Ltd., 1918. https://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/adami/camc/camc.html

Source: Link

FOSTER, GILBERT LAFAYETTE (La Fayette), physician and militia and army officer; b. 29 May 1871 in Aylesford, N.S., 10th of the 13 children of George Foster and Charlotte Almira; m. first 13 June 1901 Janie (Jane, Jeanette) Thompson Wickwire (1875–1936) in Canning, N.S., and they had two sons; m. secondly 3 Feb. 1938 Agnes Henrietta Roop (1870–1951) in St Marylebone, London, England; they had no children; d. 17 May 1940 in Wolfville, N.S., and was buried in Oak Grove Cemetery, Kentville, N.S.

Gilbert Lafayette Foster came from a successful middle-class farming family. His father, who died when Gilbert was a boy, was a Wesleyan Methodist of Irish descent who raised cattle on 100 acres of land in Kings County, in the heart of the Annapolis valley. Gilbert began his education in a one-room schoolhouse at the crossroads of North Kingston. Encouraged by his family to seek a career in the professions, he attended Dalhousie University, where he developed an interest in medicine. He then studied in New York City, graduating with an md from the New York University Medical College in 1896. Foster completed his training at Bellevue Hospital before returning to the Annapolis valley. In 1897 he set up a general private practice in Canning. There he met and began to court Janie Thompson Wickwire, who hailed from a United Empire Loyalist family prominent in local business and politics.

On 9 Aug. 1897 Foster joined the Canadian militia, becoming a surgeon-lieutenant with the 68th (Kings) Battalion of Infantry. The militia’s officer corps provided young men of the middle and upper classes with an opportunity to make socio-economic connections and contribute to imperial and public life. The militia also seems to have appealed to Foster’s sense of adventure; when the opportunity to go on active service arose, he leaped at it. In 1896 gold had been discovered in the Yukon by prospectors Keish* and Káa Goox*, and the subsequent influx of thousands of unruly miners had overwhelmed the territory’s small detachment of North-West Mounted Police [see Sir Samuel Benfield Steele*]. In March 1898 Prime Minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier* announced that troops would be dispatched to reassert dominion authority. Despite Foster’s young age and insecure financial position (medicine was then a proprietary business that required a large and stable client base, and he had just started his practice), he volunteered to serve as a medical officer and headed west in May with the Yukon Field Force.

Foster’s experience in the Yukon changed his life. The only doctor in the force, he administered to soldiers and civilians alike in a social world very different from that of rural Nova Scotia. Many of the troops found their situation tedious, and he wrote to Janie that although he was checking on their health regularly, “unfortunately there is no remedy for chronic boredom.” Foster, however, was kept busy: in addition to treating broken bones, sprains, cuts, and bruises, he also oversaw sanitation in the force’s camp, establishing public-health guidelines and conducting inspections to guard against diseases such as typhus, typhoid, cholera, and dysentery. During the harsh winter of 1898–99 he brought an injured man from the NWMP outpost at the Five Finger Rapids to the hospital in Fort Selkirk, covering 30 miles of frozen, mountainous terrain.

Foster returned from the Yukon in the summer of 1900. He had saved much of his pay, and, having settled his debts, he asked Janie to marry him. They moved to Halifax, where his well-connected in-laws introduced him to local society. Yet his practice failed to thrive, in part because of his reluctance to insist on payment from his patients. Still enthralled with military life, which presented complex problems of medical and personnel management, he remained active in the 68th Battalion, and was promoted surgeon-captain on 15 Aug. 1901 and surgeon-major on 26 Sept. 1902. He joined the reorganized Permanent Force on 1 Oct. 1905 and was assigned to Military District No.9 (Nova Scotia), where he served as a Canadian Army Medical Corps (CAMC) officer in Halifax. Exactly two years later he was named the district’s principal medical officer, and on 21 Nov. 1907 he was promoted lieutenant-colonel. As a Permanent Force officer, Foster took an active interest in training and professional soldiering: that year he attended courses given by the Royal Army Medical Corps in Aldershot, England, and in 1909 he visited China. On 1 May 1913 he became assistant director, medical services (ADMS), in Military District No.2 (Toronto and central Ontario), an appointment that made it necessary for Foster and his wife, with their two young sons, to move to Toronto.

After World War I broke out in August 1914, the 43-year-old Foster joined the Canadian Expeditionary Force. On 21 September he was appointed ADMS of the CAMC and took command of the medical services of the 1st Canadian Division. He was one of the few senior professional Canadian soldiers initially allowed overseas by Samuel Hughes*, the minister of militia and defence in the Conservative government of Sir Robert Laird Borden. In England, Foster supervised the training of medical personnel and the care of the sick at Camp Bustard on Salisbury Plain. When the 1st Canadian Division went to France in the winter of 1914–15, Foster organized the collection and evacuation of the wounded by the division’s three field-ambulance units.

Then came the second battle of Ypres, and Foster oversaw the medical response to the first large-scale chemical-weapons attack in history. Chlorine gas released by the German 4th Army left Canadian soldiers gasping for air and suffering from chemical burns to their lungs and eyes. The enemy advanced, and in the chaos Foster had to withdraw and reorganize forward medical units to prevent them from being overrun. During 13 days of hard fighting between 22 April and 4 May 1915, Canadian doctors treated more than 10,000 casualties. He earned high praise from senior British medical officers as well as CAMC pathologist John George Adami, who wrote, “The credit for the success of the Canadian medical operations at Ypres should before all be awarded to the officer who controlled those operations, Colonel G. L. Foster, A.D.M.S.” In recognition of his work, Foster was made a cb. When the Canadian Corps was formed in September 1915, after the 2nd Canadian Division arrived in England, he was appointed its deputy director, medical services (DDMS).

Foster was in charge of the Canadian medical forces at the battle of the Somme in the fall of 1916 and received a superficial shrapnel wound on the bridge of his nose. While Foster was at the Somme, Hughes appointed physician Herbert Alexander Bruce* to investigate allegations of incompetence and mismanagement in the administration of the CAMC in England. When Bruce’s damning report was submitted in September 1916, Surgeon-General Guy Carleton Jones* was removed from the top overseas post in the CAMC. Although Jones was soon reinstated, the scandal and the subsequent reorganization of the medical corps forced his return to Canada early in 1917. In February Foster was promoted surgeon-general and made director general of medical services of the newly created Ministry of the Overseas Military Forces, headed by Sir George Halsey Perley. Foster also became director of medical services of the CAMC. His new job, based in London, was solely administrative, managing hospitals and the movement of men, overseeing promotions, and handling minor disputes between soldiers. He performed well: he was promoted major-general in March 1918, and the ministry’s 1918 report would note that under Foster’s leadership, the CAMC’s “efficiency has been developed to the highest pitch.” He became a staunch defender of the small cadre of professional soldiers who, in his opinion, were being marginalized by better-connected civilian doctors in the CEF. Foster believed that while the civilian doctors were competent in performing their medical tasks, they had little knowledge of the specific administrative and technical concerns of military medicine. Writing on 12 Jan. 1918 to the minister, Sir Albert Edward Kemp*, Foster noted: “Not only must the Military Side do these things [the normal duties of civilian doctors] but it must do them in a military way, as, unlike the work of the Professional Side which is internal to the Medical Service itself, almost every aspect of this work interlocks with the work and machinery of the other Arms and requires for its proper conduct a knowledge and experience of Army machinery, regulations, methods and usages in general.”

In the fall of 1918 Foster, already suffering from haemorrhoids and an enlarged liver owing to what his service record cites as “prolonged office work,” was stricken by the Spanish influenza at the height of the pandemic. He recovered after five weeks’ illness and returned to duty, but the ordeal left him with a heart condition and his health would never be the same. Following the war he served in Ottawa until demobilization, and the organization of the peacetime army prompted his retirement in 1921. For his wartime service Foster was awarded an honorary lld by McGill University, and in the official history of the CAMC, published in 1925, Sir Andrew Macphail wrote, “The service had been created in time of peace by [Darby] Bergin*, [Jean Louis Hubert] Neilson, [Sir Eugène] Fiset*, and Jones; in time of war by Jones and Foster.” Tony Foster records that his grandfather was pleased to receive this recognition and privately wrote: “Imagine that! A farm boy from North Kingston helping to create the Army’s Medical Services – and a Major General to boot!”

After retiring, Gilbert Lafayette Foster moved to Kentville, where he lived with his wife until her death in 1936. Two years later he married Agnes Henrietta Roop, a native of Clementsport, N.S., in London, and they took up residence in Wolfville, just east of Kentville. The following year, according to the Nova Scotia Medical Bulletin, “General Foster, while driving his car … suffered a broken blood vessel. He crawled some distance and then lay on the ground for several hours before assistance came.” One of his legs had to be amputated, and his heart condition worsened. Foster died at his home on 17 May 1940 from the effects of a heart attack suffered two days earlier. At the time of his death he was a member of the Church of England. He had lived to see the outbreak of World War II, in which both of his sons would serve in the Canadian military: Gilbert Lafayette Jr rose to the rank of captain, and Harry Wickwire* became a major-general, like his father.

Mark Osborne Humphries

Some of Gilbert Lafayette Foster’s correspondence can be found at LAC in the Sir Robert Borden fonds, R6113-0-X; the Albert Edward Kemp fonds, R4276-0-X, vol.105, file 11; and the John Taylor Fotheringham fonds, R2421-0-0. The letter cited in the text, Foster to Kemp, 12 Jan. 1918, can be viewed at Canadiana Héritage, “Sir Robert Borden fonds,” reel C-4241, pp.25806–9: heritage.canadiana.ca/view/oocihm.lac_mikan_102180 (consulted 13 Dec. 2017).

GRO, Reg. of marriages, dist. St Marylebone, 3 Feb. 1938. LAC, R233-34-0, N.S., dist. Kings (189), subdist. Aylesford North (l): 12; R233-35-2, N.S., dist. Kings (17), subdist. Aylesford North (L), div. 1: 15; R233-36-4, N.S., dist. Halifax (City) (33), subdist. Ward 2 (B), div. 3: 25; R233-37-6, N.S., dist. Kings (36), subdist. Sheffield Mills (W), div. 1: 3; R611-280-X, vols.1682–87 (Director general of medical services in England; February 1917 to June 1919); RG 150, Acc. 1992–93/166, Box 3229-56; RG9-III-D-3, vol.5024, files 812 and 813, pt.1 (War diaries – Deputy Director, medical service, Canadian Corps, September 1915 to February 1917), and file 814, pt.1 (War diaries – Assistant Director of medical services, 1st Canadian Division, February to September 1915). Register (Berwick, N.S.), 20 June 1901, 29 Nov. 1922. J. G. Adami, War story of the Canadian Army Medical Corps (London, [1918]). Can., Dept. of Militia and Defence, The quarterly militia list of the Dominion of Canada (Ottawa), 1903–17. Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 43 (July–December 1940): 88. Tim Cook, No place to run: the Canadian Corps and gas warfare in the First World War (Vancouver and Toronto, 1999). Tony Foster, Meeting of generals (Toronto, 1986). Germany’s Western Front: translations from the German official history of the Great War, volume II, 1915, ed. M. O. Humphries and John Maker (Waterloo, Ont., 2010). J. L. Granatstein, The generals: the Canadian army’s senior commanders in the Second World War (Calgary, 2005). Brereton Greenhous, Guarding the goldfields: the story of the Yukon Field Force (Toronto, 1987). Sir Andrew Macphail, Official history of the Canadian forces in the Great War, 1914–19: the medical services (Ottawa, 1925). Maritime Medical News (Halifax), 13 (1901): 219; 19 (1907): 400; 21 (1909): 423. Desmond Morton, A peculiar kind of politics: Canada’s overseas ministry in the First World War (Toronto, 1982). G. W. L. Nicholson, Canadian Expeditionary Force, 1914–1919: official history of the Canadian army in the First World War (Ottawa, 1962). “Obituary,” Nova Scotia Medical Bull. (Halifax), 19 (1940): 343–44. James Wood, Militia myths: ideas of the Canadian citizen soldier, 1896–1921 (Vancouver and Toronto, 2010).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Mark Osborne Humphries, “FOSTER, GILBERT LAFAYETTE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 3, 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/foster_gilbert_lafayette_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/foster_gilbert_lafayette_16E.html
Author of Article:   Mark Osborne Humphries
Title of Article:   FOSTER, GILBERT LAFAYETTE
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2022
Year of revision:   2022
Access Date:   July 3, 2022

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

GREENAWAY, MINERVA MARGARET – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédée le 27 septembre 1906 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  John George Adami, 1862-1926 - Major-General Gilbert Lafayette Foster, C.B., Director General Medical Services, Overseas Military Forces of Canada, frontispiece from War Story of the Canadian Army Medical Corps: Volume I, The First Contingent, to the Autumn of 1915, By John George Adami, 1862-1926. London: Colour Ltd. & The Rolls House Publishing Co., Ltd., 1918. https://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/adami/camc/camc.html

Provenance : Lien

FOSTER, GILBERT LAFAYETTE (La Fayette), médecin et officier dans la milice et dans l’armée, né le 29 mai 1871 à Aylesford, Nouvelle-Écosse, dixième des 13 enfants de George Foster et de Charlotte Almira ; le 13 juin 1901, il épousa à Canning, Nouvelle-Écosse, Janie (Jane, Jeanette) Thompson Wickwire (1875–1936), et ils eurent deux fils, puis, le 3 février 1938 à St Marylebone, Londres, Agnes Henrietta Roop (1870–1951), et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 17 mai 1940 à Wolfville, Nouvelle-Écosse, et inhumé au cimetière Oak Grove, à Kentville, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Gilbert Lafayette Foster naquit dans une famille d’agriculteurs prospère de classe moyenne. Il perdit son père pendant son enfance. Ce dernier, méthodiste wesleyen d’origine irlandaise, élevait du bétail sur une terre de 100 acres dans le comté de Kings, au cœur de la vallée d’Annapolis. Gilbert Lafayette commença ses études dans une école d’une seule pièce située au carrefour de North Kingston. Encouragé par sa famille à entreprendre une carrière professionnelle, il fréquenta la Dalhousie University, où il développa un intérêt pour la médecine. Il étudia ensuite à New York et obtint un doctorat en médecine au New York University Medical College en 1896. Foster termina sa formation au Bellevue Hospital, puis retourna dans la vallée d’Annapolis. En 1897, il s’établit comme généraliste en pratique privée à Canning, où il rencontra et courtisa Janie Thompson Wickwire, issue d’une famille loyaliste bien en vue dans les affaires et la politique locales.

Le 9 août 1897, Foster s’enrôla dans la milice canadienne et devint chirurgien-lieutenant dans le 68th (Kings) Battalion of Infantry. Le corps des officiers de la milice offrait aux jeunes hommes de classe moyenne ou supérieure la possibilité de nouer des relations socioéconomiques, et de contribuer à la vie publique et impériale. Foster choisit vraisemblablement la milice aussi par goût de l’aventure. En effet, dès qu’une occasion de mission se présenta, il l’accueillit avec enthousiasme. En 1896, les prospecteurs Keish* et Káa Goox* avaient découvert de l’or au Yukon, et le petit détachement de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest du territoire [V. sir Samuel Benfield Steele*] s’était trouvé débordé par l’afflux subséquent de milliers de mineurs indisciplinés. En mars 1898, le premier ministre, sir Wilfrid Laurier*, annonça l’envoi de troupes pour réaffirmer l’autorité du dominion. Malgré son jeune âge et sa situation financière précaire (il commençait à peine à exercer la médecine, qui exigeait alors, à titre d’entreprise personnelle, une clientèle vaste et stable), Foster se porta volontaire en tant qu’officier de santé et partit pour l’Ouest en mai avec la Yukon Field Force.

L’expérience au Yukon changea la vie de Foster. Seul médecin de l’unité, il s’occupait à la fois des soldats et des civils, dans un milieu bien différent du monde rural de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Beaucoup de soldats trouvaient leur position fastidieuse ; il écrivit à Janie Thompson que, même s’il vérifiait régulièrement leur état de santé, « malheureusement il n’y a[vait] pas de remède à l’ennui chronique ». Foster, lui, n’avait pas le temps de se morfondre : outre le traitement des fractures, entorses, coupures et ecchymoses, il assurait la supervision des conditions sanitaires du camp, établissait les directives de santé publique et menait des inspections pour prévenir des maladies comme le typhus, la fièvre typhoïde, le choléra et la dysenterie. Pendant le dur hiver de 1898–1899, il transporta un blessé du poste éloigné de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest aux rapides Five Finger jusqu’à l’hôpital du fort Selkirk, parcourant 30 milles en terrain glacé et montagneux.

Foster revint du Yukon à l’été de 1900. Il avait économisé une grande partie de sa paie et, après avoir réglé ses dettes, il demanda à Janie Thompson de l’épouser. Le couple s’installa à Halifax, où, grâce aux relations de sa belle-famille, Foster se fit connaître dans la société locale. Malgré tout, sa pratique ne réussit pas à prospérer, en partie à cause de sa réticence à exiger le paiement de ses patients. Toujours attiré par la vie militaire à une époque où l’armée affrontait des problèmes complexes de gestion médicale et administrative, il demeura actif au sein du 68th Battalion, où il fut promu chirurgien-capitaine le 15 août 1901 et chirurgien-major le 26 septembre 1902. Le 1er octobre 1905, il s’engagea dans l’armée permanente réorganisée et fut affecté au district militaire n° 9 (Nouvelle-Écosse) en qualité d’officier du Corps de santé de l’armée canadienne (CSAC) à Halifax. Deux ans plus tard, jour pour jour, on le nomma médecin militaire principal du district et, le 21 novembre 1907, il reçut la promotion de lieutenant-colonel. À titre d’officier de l’armée permanente, Foster s’intéressa activement à la formation des soldats et à leur profession : cette année-là, il assista à des cours donnés par le Royal Army Medical Corps à Aldershot, en Angleterre, et, en 1909, il fit un voyage en Chine. Le 1er mai 1913, il devint directeur adjoint des services médicaux, dans le district militaire n° 2 (Toronto et centre de l’Ontario), poste qui l’obligea à s’installer à Toronto avec sa femme et ses deux jeunes fils.

Après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale en août 1914, Foster, âgé de 43 ans, s’enrôla dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC). Le 21 septembre, il fut nommé directeur adjoint des services médicaux du CSAC et prit le commandement des services médicaux de la 1re division canadienne. Il compta parmi les rares soldats professionnels d’expérience initialement envoyés outre-mer par Samuel Hughes*, ministre de la Milice et de la Défense du gouvernement conservateur de sir Robert Laird Borden. En Angleterre, Foster supervisa la formation du personnel médical et le soin des malades au camp Bustard, dans la plaine de Salisbury. Quand la 1re division canadienne séjourna en France durant l’hiver 1914–1915, Foster organisa le rassemblement et l’évacuation des blessés par les trois unités d’ambulances de campagne de la division.

Puis arriva la deuxième bataille d’Ypres. Foster supervisa le secours médical après la première attaque chimique à grande échelle de l’histoire. Le chlore gazeux répandu par la 4e armée allemande laissa les soldats canadiens en détresse respiratoire, souffrant de brûlures par produits chimiques aux poumons et aux yeux. L’ennemi avançait et, dans le chaos, Foster dut se replier et réorganiser les unités médicales plus loin pour éviter leur invasion. Pendant 13 jours de durs combats, entre le 22 avril et le 4 mai 1915, les médecins canadiens traitèrent plus de 10 000 blessés. Foster s’attira les louanges d’officiers de santé britanniques chevronnés, ainsi que du pathologiste du CSAC, John George Adami, qui écrivit : « Le mérite du succès des opérations médicales canadiennes à Ypres doit avant tout revenir à l’officier responsable de ces opérations, le colonel G. L. Foster, D.A.S.M. » En reconnaissance de son travail, Foster reçut le titre de compagnon de l’ordre du Bain. Quand on constitua le Corps d’armée canadien, en septembre 1915, après l’arrivée de la 2e division canadienne en Angleterre, il devint directeur adjoint des services médicaux.

Foster était à la tête des services médicaux canadiens à la bataille de la Somme, à l’automne de 1916, quand il subit une blessure superficielle à l’arête du nez par un éclat d’obus. Pendant que Foster assumait ses fonctions, Hughes chargea le médecin Herbert Alexander Bruce* d’enquêter sur des allégations d’incompétence et de mauvaise gestion au sein de l’administration du CSAC en Angleterre. En septembre 1916, Bruce remit un rapport accablant, et le chirurgien-général Guy Carleton Jones* fut démis de son poste de direction outre-mer au sein du CSAC. Même s’il réintégra rapidement son poste, le scandale et la réorganisation subséquente du corps médical l’obligèrent à revenir au Canada au début de 1917. En février, Foster devint chirurgien-général et directeur général des services médicaux du ministère des Forces militaires d’outre-mer récemment créé, dirigé par sir George Halsey Perley. Foster accéda aussi à la direction des services médicaux du CSAC. Son nouvel emploi, basé à Londres et purement administratif, consistait à gérer des hôpitaux, le déplacement des hommes et l’attribution des promotions, et à arbitrer des querelles mineures entre soldats. Il s’acquittait bien de ses responsabilités : il fut promu major-général en mars 1918. Le rapport du ministère de 1918 souligna que, sous la direction de Foster, « l’efficacité [du CSAC] avait atteint un sommet ». Foster devint un ardent défenseur du petit groupe de soldats professionnels que, lui semblait-il, marginalisaient les médecins civils du CEC, qui disposaient de meilleures relations. Il reconnaissait la compétence des médecins civils dans leurs tâches médicales, mais les croyait peu aguerris devant les problèmes administratifs et les techniques propres à la médecine militaire. Dans une lettre datée du 12 janvier 1918 adressée au ministre, sir Albert Edward Kemp*, Foster notait : « Non seulement le secteur militaire fait ces choses [les devoirs normaux des médecins civils] mais il doit les faire d’une manière militaire, car, contrairement au travail du secteur professionnel, qui est inhérent au service médical même, presque tous les aspects de ce travail sont interreliés avec le travail et l’équipement des autres secteurs et exigent pour son fonctionnement approprié une connaissance et une expérience de l’équipement, des règlements, des méthodes et des usages de l’armée en général. »

À l’automne de 1918, Foster, qui souffrait déjà d’hémorroïdes et d’une hypertrophie hépatique attribuable, selon son dossier de service, à « un travail de bureau de longue durée », contracta la grippe espagnole au plus fort de la pandémie. Il se rétablit au bout de cinq semaines et reprit ses fonctions, mais l’épreuve lui laissa une maladie cardiaque et altéra sa santé à tout jamais. Après la guerre, il poursuivit sa carrière à Ottawa jusqu’à la démobilisation, et l’organisation de l’armée en temps de paix précipita sa retraite en 1921. Pour ses services en temps de guerre, Foster reçut un doctorat honorifique en droit de la McGill University et, dans l’histoire officielle du CSAC, publiée en 1925, sir Andrew Macphail écrivit : « Le service avait été créé en temps de paix par [Darby Bergin*], [Jean Louis Hubert] Neilson, [sir Eugène Fiset*] et Jones ; en temps de guerre, par Jones et Foster. » Tony Foster se rappellerait que son grand-père était heureux de recevoir cet hommage et qu’il écrivit, en privé : « Imagine cela ! Un enfant de ferme de North Kingston qui contribue à créer le Corps de santé de l’armée canadienne – et un major-général, en plus ! »

Après sa retraite, Gilbert Lafayette Foster alla vivre à Kentville, où il vécut avec sa femme jusqu’à la mort de celle-ci en 1936. Deux ans plus tard, il épousa à Londres Agnes Henrietta Roop, originaire de Clementsport, en Nouvelle-Écosse ; le couple s’installa à Wolfville, juste à l’est de Kentville. L’année suivante, selon le Nova Scotia Medical Bulletin, le « général Foster, alors au volant de sa voiture […] subit une rupture de vaisseau sanguin. Il se traîna sur une certaine distance, puis resta étendu au sol pendant plusieurs heures avant que l’aide n’arrive. » On dut l’amputer d’une jambe et l’état de son cœur s’aggrava. Foster mourut à son domicile le 17 mai 1940 à la suite d’une crise cardiaque survenue deux jours auparavant. Au moment de son décès, il appartenait à l’Église d’Angleterre. Il avait vécu assez longtemps pour assister au déclenchement de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, au cours de laquelle ses deux fils combattraient dans l’armée canadienne : Gilbert Lafayette fils s’élèverait au grade de capitaine et Harry Wickwire* deviendrait major-général, comme son père.

Mark Osborne Humphries

BAC conserve une partie de la correspondance de Gilbert Lafayette Foster dans les fonds suivants : sir Robert Borden, R6113-0-X ; Albert Edward Kemp, R4276-0-X, vol. 105, dossier 11 ; et John Taylor Fotheringham, R2421-0-0. La lettre de Foster adressée à Kemp et datée du 12 janv. 1918, mentionnée dans le texte, est accessible à : Canadiana Héritage, « Sir Robert Borden fonds », bobine C-4241, pp.25806–25809 : heritage.canadiana.ca/view/oocihm.lac_mikan_102180 (consulté le 13 déc. 2017).

BAC, R233-34-0, N.-É., dist. Kings (189), sous-dist. Aylesford Nord (l) : 12 ; R233-35-2, N.-É., dist. Kings (17), sous-dist. Aylesford Nord (L), div. 1 : 15 ; R233-36-4, N.-É., dist. Halifax (City) (33), sous-dist. quartier 2 (B), div. 3 : 25 ; R233-37-6, N.-É., dist. Kings (36), sous-dist. Sheffield Mills (W), div. 1 : 3 ; R611-280-X, vol. 1682–1687 (Directeur général des services de santé en Angleterre, février 1917 à juin 1919) ; RG 150, Acc. 1992–93/166, boîte 3229-56 ; RG9-III-D-3, vol. 5024, dossiers 812–813, 1re partie (Journal de guerre – Sous-directeur, Services de santé, Corps d’armée canadien, septembre 1915 à février 1917), et dossier 814, 1re partie (Journal de guerre – Directeur adjoint, Services de santé, 1re division canadienne, février à septembre 1915).— GRO, Reg. of marriages, dist. St Marylebone, 3 févr. 1938.— Register (Berwick, N.-É.), 20 juin 1901, 29 nov. 1922.— J. G. Adami, War story of the Canadian Army Medical Corps (Londres, [1918]).— Canada, Dép. de la Milice et de la Défense, The quarterly militia list of the Dominion of Canada (Ottawa), 1903–1917.— Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 43 (juillet–décembre 1940) : 88.— Tim Cook, No place to run : the Canadian Corps and gas warfare in the First World War (Vancouver et Toronto, 1999).— Tony Foster, Meeting of generals (Toronto, 1986).— Germany’s Western Front : translations from the German official history of the Great War, volume II, 1915, M. O. Humphries et John Maker, édit. (Waterloo, Ontario, 2010).— J. L. Granatstein, The generals : the Canadian army’s senior commanders in the Second World War (Calgary, 2005).— Brereton Greenhous, Guarding the goldfields : the story of the Yukon Field Force (Toronto, 1987).— Sir Andrew Macphail, Official history of the Canadian forces in the Great War, 1914–19 : the medical services (Ottawa, 1925).— Maritime Medical News (Halifax), 13 (1901) : 219 ; 19 (1907) : 400 ; 21 (1909) : 423.— Desmond Morton, A peculiar kind of politics : Canada’s overseas ministry in the First World War (Toronto, 1982).— G. W. L. Nicholson, Corps expéditionnaire canadien, 1914–1919 : histoire officielle de la participation de l’armée canadienne à la Première Guerre mondiale (Ottawa, 1962).— « Obituary », Nova Scotia Medical Bull. (Halifax), 19 (1940) : 343–344.— James Wood, Militia myths : ideas of the Canadian citizen soldier, 1896–1921 (Vancouver et Toronto, 2010).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Mark Osborne Humphries, « FOSTER, GILBERT LAFAYETTE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 27 sept. 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/foster_gilbert_lafayette_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/foster_gilbert_lafayette_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Mark Osborne Humphries
Titre de l'article:    FOSTER, GILBERT LAFAYETTE
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2022
Année de la révision:    2022
Date de consultation:    27 septembre 2022