DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

KINNEY, JAMES ALEXANDER ROSS, stenographer, publicist, and orphanage superintendent; b. 25 Feb. 1879 in Yarmouth, N.S., son of James Kinney and Charlotte Forest Woodhouse; m. first 23 July 1906 Mary Sarah Allison (d. 1908) in Halifax; m. secondly 30 Aug. 1909 Nettie Alexandra Fidelia (Dorothy) Martin (d. 6 Sept. 1923) in Amherst, N.S., and they had a son and a daughter; a stepdaughter predeceased him; d. 6 Nov. 1940 in Halifax.

After James A. R. Kinney’s father, a barber, died in Yarmouth in 1881, his mother returned to Halifax, her native city, where she supported her family through dressmaking. On his graduation in 1897 from the Halifax Commercial College after its amalgamation with the Halifax Business College (in which he may have initially enrolled), Kinney worked as a stenographic clerk in the law office of John Thomas Bulmer*, who had long been an advocate for improving the status of black Nova Scotians. He left Bulmer’s employ about the same time that James Robinson Johnston*, the province’s first black lawyer, joined the firm (probably in 1900 or 1901). He took up a position as a stenographer with Leslie, Hart and Company, a seafood broker and wholesaler; from 1902 he continued in this role with William Stairs, Son and Morrow, a long-established firm specializing in hardware, building supplies, and ship chandlery then presided over by William James Stairs*. Promoted to advertising manager in 1913, Kinney reached prospective customers by advertisements in the press and letters to particular categories of clients. He branded the company “Eastern Canada’s Supply House” and varied slogans to suit the item being featured. In 1925 a Halifax Herald story suggested that, as a respected and successful white-collar worker, “Mr. Kinney has proved the fallacy of the oft-heard remark that it is hard for a colored boy to make good.”

Kinney’s other activities flowed from his determination to better the prospects of black Nova Scotians. Identifying the African Baptist church as key to his goal, he had become a member of Cornwallis Street Baptist Church as a teenager, although his mother was a Methodist and his marriages were conducted according to Methodist rite. Kinney’s accomplishments enabled him to step into Johnston’s shoes as the lay leader of the local black community after the latter’s untimely death on 3 March 1915. Within a month he was leading the men’s Bible class of his church, striving to foster “spiritual uplift” and inculcate “race pride.” In the late summer the Reverend Moses B. Puryear, who revitalized the church between 1909 and 1918, seized on Kinney’s “practical business ability,” appointing him chair of a new committee charged with putting “all departments of the church on a sound working basis.” Kinney went as a delegate in 1915 to his first meeting of the African Baptist Association; by March 1916 he had become a church trustee. In 1917, after two years of assisting and substituting for William Andrew White (who would succeed Puryear), he took over as secretary, also styled clerk, of the ABA, which was renamed the African United Baptist Association in 1919. He held this important lay position until 1922 and again between 1929 and 1939; he was treasurer at the time of his death. At both the congregational and the provincial levels he was engaged in a perennial struggle to overcome the church’s financial problems and inspire confidence and ideas of responsible citizenship in African Nova Scotians. He worked hard to promote respect for education, participation in social welfare, and activism by black women. During World War I he helped recruit black men for military service; two of his brothers-in-law enlisted. In 1916 he served as secretary of the new Afro-Canadian Improvement Society.

Kinney emerged as a major advocate for an educational institution specifically for black children, a project that had been dear to Johnston’s heart. He and his associates were interested in the ideas of black self-reliance embodied in the Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute in Alabama. Kinney conferred with its founder, Booker Taliaferro Washington, in Halifax during August 1915, and in an admiring letter written a month later he likened himself to a product of the institute. Plans for the establishment of the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children went through several changes between its incorporation in 1915 and the opening of the facility on 6 June 1921. Initially, the aim was to provide vocational and technical training based on the Tuskegee model, but the local black community did not have the necessary resources. Moreover, the plight of homeless children demanded attention: Puryear deplored the condition of “citizens of African descent” in Halifax and argued for “a simple home” for “little children whose outlook was so hopeless it was impossible they could grow into decent citizens.” The lack of facilities for black children in need of care, whose number increased following the Halifax explosion on 6 Dec. 1917, suggested that a welfare institution should take priority over an educational one. (The building intended for a school was destroyed in the catastrophe.) The decision to focus on an orphanage with a school, rather than a school with a trades orientation, proved to be irreversible. In the end, the poverty experienced by African Nova Scotians during the post-war depression of the 1920s and the Great Depression of the 1930s precluded the possibility of reviving the earlier, more ambitious project, a matter of regret to Kinney.

He threw himself into the development of the home, first as a trustee and the secretary of the interracial Board of Trustees appointed in October 1917, and later as a director, secretary-treasurer, member of the Construction and Improvement Committee, and paid superintendent. On just over 200 acres in Westphal (Dartmouth) purchased for the project by the Nova Scotia government despite protests by local white residents, a commodious and handsome house was built with the aid of a $10,000 provincial grant and funds raised by Kinney and others. Staff included a matron, a teacher, and workers for the house and the farm. The children, usually numbering between 35 and 45, helped with domestic duties and outdoor chores to prepare them for employment as servants and labourers. Initially the home’s residents were pre-teenagers who had lost one or both parents, but by the late 1930s almost one-third were adolescents and about half were categorized as “illegitimate.” During the first decade some 100 children were cared for; Kinney insisted that all black children, regardless of their background, be accepted. They benefited from the home’s healthy rural location, on-site school, and dedicated staff as well as volunteers from local black neighbourhoods and a benevolent if patronizing public. Kinney worked closely with white Halifax businessman Henry Gibson Bauld, long-time president of the board. In 1925, when he took over the full-time management of the home, Kinney resigned from his advertising position; he may have continued to do some work on the side for William Stairs, Son and Morrow until 1927.

The financial campaigns dating from 1919 show that Kinney used effectively his commercial experience in aid of the home. With public funding, he was able to sustain it through its formative years, although it was never without a substantial capital debt. Brochures give examples of his penchant for slogans, usually combined with an apt photograph. In the early 1930s he quoted a statement he attributed to American president Herbert Clark Hoover, “the human race moves forward on the feet of its children,” and printed an invocation that said, “I am the child … You determine largely whether I shall succeed or fail / Help to train me, I beg you, that I may become a blessing to the world.” Later, positive results were stressed: “For 20 years … One Death and No Major Epidemics – an evidence of unusual care of children intrusted to our care.” The home was a source of pride throughout the Maritimes, and it was praised by government officials in Ottawa and elsewhere.

Kinney’s hope of creating an endowment was not realized. He was, however, successful in encouraging members of the elite to remember the home in their wills, as did, for example, Ella Almon Ritchie and her sister Eliza Ritchie. Tag days, door-to-door canvassing, and entertainments were all used to raise funds. In 1931 he arranged for the radio broadcast of a concert to draw pledges of support by telephone and telegraph, and it became an annual event. Musical himself, he instructed children in guitar and mandolin and took the home’s choir on concert tours. They performed at the United Baptist Convention of the Maritime Provinces in Wolfville, N.S., some two months before his death from pulmonary oedema resulting from kidney problems.

Kinney had no doubt that the home was the black community’s greatest achievement. The institution continued to profit from his family’s devotion: his daughter, Dorothy, helped look after children, and James Alexander Ross Jr, who had worked on the farm in his youth, succeeded to his father’s position. Although Kinney’s concentration on the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children for the last 19 years of his life may seem a somewhat limited use of his considerable leadership talents, he did what he could in difficult circumstances to promote the welfare of his people with scant regard for his own self-interest. The Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children, like many other residential institutions, would become mired in controversy over alleged abuse by the end of the 20th century. The victims’ prolonged but successful campaign for vindication and compensation would have been incomprehensible to Kinney and his contemporaries in depression-era Nova Scotia.

Judith Fingard

DUA, MS-4-6 (William Stairs, Son & Morrow fonds), G. LAC, R233-35-2, Halifax, Ward 2: 62; R233-36-4, Halifax, Ward 2b: 12–13; R233-37-6, Halifax, Ward 5e-9: 1. NSA, MG 1, E, vols.3265–77 (Stairs family fonds); MG 3, vol.3877 (William Stairs, Son & Morrow papers); MG 20, vol.535 (Local Council of Women of Halifax fonds, Minute-books); MG 20, vol.159 (vertical file), vol.750 (Nova Scotia Home for Coloured Children fonds); “Nova Scotia hist. vital statistics,” Cumberland County, 1909; Halifax County, 1870, 1890, 1906: www.novascotiagenealogy.com (consulted 4 Feb. 2013). Acadian Recorder (Halifax), 24 June 1898; 14, 15, 17, 18 Jan. 1908; 17 Feb. 1912; 6 Sept. 1913; 25 June, 16 Aug. 1915; 6 Sept. 1923; 5 June 1924; 2 June 1925; 27 July 1928; 5 June 1929; 18 March 1930. Halifax Chronicle, 28 May, 7 June 1921; 27 June, 18 July, 21 Aug. 1933. Halifax Herald, 16, 20 March, 21 June, 2 Sept., 24, 31 Oct. 1916; 27 Oct., 13 Nov. 1917; 11 Feb., 25 March, 2 April, 9, 25 July, 3, 10 Dec. 1919; 12 March, 2, 3 April, 20, 31 May 1920; 15 Jan., 17 Feb., 3 March, 2, 7, 17 June 1921; 2 Jan., 27 Feb., 1 April, 2 May 1922; 29 Aug., 10 Dec. 1923; 10 March, 24 July, 8 Dec. 1924; 14, 15 April 1925; 2, 20 July 1926. Halifax Mail, 7, 8 Nov. 1940. Atlantic Advocate (Halifax), 1, no.1 (April 1915): 13; 1, no.11 (May 1917): 6–7. The Booker T. Washington papers, ed. L. R. Harlan and R. W. Smock (Urbana, Ill., 1972–89), 13: 371. Barry Cahill, “The ‘Colored Barrister’: the short life and tragic death of James Robinson Johnston, 1876–1915,” Dalhousie Law Journal (Halifax), 15 (1992): 336–79. Directory, Halifax, 1883–1940. R. N. Lafferty, “Child welfare in Halifax, 1900–1960: institutional transformation, denominationalism, and the creation of a ‘public’ welfare system” (phd thesis, Dalhousie Univ., Halifax, 2003). P. E. McKerrow, A brief history of the coloured Baptists of Nova Scotia, 1783–1895 (Halifax, 1895; repr., intro. and ed. F. S. Boyd Jr, assisted by M. I. Allen Boyd, 1976). N.S., Office of the Director of Child Welfare, Child welfare: report of the Director (Halifax), 1921–40. A. P. Oliver, A brief history of the colored Baptists of Nova Scotia, 1782–1953 ([Halifax, 1953]). C. R. Saunders, Share & care: the story of the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children (Halifax, 1994).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Judith Fingard, “KINNEY, JAMES ALEXANDER ROSS,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/kinney_james_alexander_ross_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/kinney_james_alexander_ross_16E.html
Author of Article: Judith Fingard
Title of Article: KINNEY, JAMES ALEXANDER ROSS
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: November 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MORRIN, JOSEPH – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 19 octobre 1794 dans le comté de Dumfries, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

KINNEY, JAMES ALEXANDER ROSS, sténographe, agent publicitaire et directeur d’orphelinat, né le 25 février 1879 à Yarmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse, fils de James Kinney et de Charlotte Forest Woodhouse ; le 23 juillet 1906, il épousa à Halifax Mary Sarah Allison (décédée en 1908), puis le 30 août 1909, à Amherst, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nettie Alexandra Fidelia (Dorothy) Martin (décédée le 6 septembre 1923), et de ce second mariage naquirent un fils et une fille ; une belle-fille mourut avant lui ; décédé le 6 novembre 1940 à Halifax.

Après la mort de son mari, barbier, à Yarmouth en 1881, la mère de James Alexander Ross Kinney retourna à Halifax, sa ville natale, où elle fit de la couture pour subvenir aux besoins de sa famille. En 1897, Kinney termina ses études au Halifax Commercial College, qui avait fusionné avec le Halifax Business College (dans lequel il s’était peut-être d’abord inscrit). Il travailla ensuite comme commis et sténographe dans le cabinet d’avocat de John Thomas Bulmer*, qui militait depuis longtemps pour l’amélioration de la condition des Noirs de Nouvelle-Écosse. Il quitta son emploi chez Bulmer à peu près au moment où James Robinson Johnston*, premier avocat noir de la province, se joignit à ce cabinet (probablement en 1900 ou 1901). Kinney obtint un poste de sténographe à la Leslie, Hart and Company, entreprise de courtage et de vente en gros de fruits de mer. À partir de 1902, il remplit la même tâche à la William Stairs, Son and Morrow, alors sous la présidence de William James Stairs* ; l’entreprise, établie de longue date, était spécialisée dans les articles de quincaillerie, les matériaux de construction et les fournitures de bateaux. Promu directeur de la publicité en 1913, Kinney recrutait des clients potentiels au moyen d’annonces dans la presse et de lettres adressées à certaines catégories de consommateurs. Il donna à la firme le titre d’Eastern Canada’s Supply House et variait les slogans selon le produit mis en vedette. En 1925, un article du Halifax Herald laissait entendre que, comme col blanc respecté et prospère, « M. Kinney [avait] démontré la fausseté de la remarque souvent entendue selon laquelle il [était] difficile pour un garçon de couleur de réussir ».

Les autres activités de Kinney découlaient de sa détermination à améliorer les perspectives d’avenir des Noirs de Nouvelle-Écosse. Considérant l’Église baptiste africaine comme la clé pour atteindre son objectif, il était devenu membre de l’église baptiste Cornwallis Street dès son adolescence. Pourtant, sa mère était méthodiste et ses mariages se déroulèrent selon le rite méthodiste. Les réalisations de Kinney lui permirent de succéder à Johnston en tant que meneur laïque de la communauté noire locale après la mort prématurée de ce dernier, le 3 mars 1915. Moins d’un mois plus tard, il dirigeait la classe d’études bibliques pour hommes de son église, s’efforçant de nourrir l’« élévation spirituelle » et d’inculquer une « fierté raciale ». Vers la fin de l’été, le révérend Moses B. Puryear, qui revitalisa sa congrégation baptiste entre 1909 et 1918, se saisit de « l’habileté pratique en affaires » de Kinney en le nommant président d’un nouveau comité chargé de mettre « tous les services de l’Église en bon état de fonctionnement ». En 1915, ce dernier participa comme délégué à sa première réunion de l’African Baptist Association ; en mars 1916, il était déjà membre du conseil d’administration de l’Église. En 1917, après deux années au cours desquelles il avait secondé et remplacé William Andrew White (qui succéderait à Puryear), Kinney accepta le poste de secrétaire, aussi appelé commis, de l’African Baptist Association, qui prit le nom d’African United Baptist Association en 1919. Il occupa cette fonction laïque importante jusqu’en 1922, puis de 1929 à 1939 ; à sa mort, il en était le trésorier. Tant au sein de sa communauté qu’au niveau provincial, il s’était engagé dans une lutte perpétuelle pour surmonter les problèmes financiers de l’église et pour insuffler de la confiance en soi et des idées de citoyenneté responsable aux Néo-Écossais d’ascendance africaine. Il s’évertua à promouvoir le respect pour l’éducation, la participation au bien-être social et l’activisme des femmes noires. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il aida à recruter des Noirs pour le service militaire ; deux de ses beaux-frères s’enrôlèrent. En 1916, il fut secrétaire de l’Afro-Canadian Improvement Society, nouvellement créée.

Kinney devint l’un de ceux qui préconisèrent le plus ardemment la création d’une école pour enfants noirs, projet qui avait été cher à Johnston. Ses associés et lui s’intéressaient au concept d’autonomie des Noirs mis en pratique au Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute, en Alabama. Kinney s’entretint avec le fondateur de l’établissement, Booker Taliaferro Washington, à Halifax, au mois d’août 1915. Dans une lettre empreinte d’admiration qu’il écrirait un mois plus tard, il se comparerait lui-même à un produit de cet établissement. Des plans pour la fondation du Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children furent modifiés plusieurs fois entre sa constitution juridique en 1915 et son inauguration le 6 juin 1921. Au départ, la mission consistait à fournir une formation professionnelle et technique inspirée du modèle Tuskegee, mais les ressources de la communauté noire locale étaient insuffisantes. De plus, la situation critique des enfants sans foyer nécessitait une attention particulière : Puryear déplorait la condition des « citoyens d’ascendance africaine » à Halifax et réclamait « un simple foyer » pour ces « petits enfants dont les perspectives d’avenir étaient si désespérées qu’il leur était impossible de devenir de bons citoyens ». Le manque de centres d’accueil pour les enfants noirs dans le besoin, qui furent encore plus nombreux à la suite de l’explosion de Halifax le 6 décembre 1917, indiquait qu’il fallait donner priorité à la création d’un établissement à vocation sociale et non scolaire. (L’édifice qui devait abriter une école fut détruit lors de la catastrophe.) La décision de se concentrer sur la mise sur pied d’un orphelinat doté d’une école, plutôt que sur une école à orientation professionnelle, s’avéra irrévocable. Au bout du compte, la pauvreté que connurent les Néo-Écossais d’origine africaine pendant la crise économique d’après-guerre, au cours des années 1920, et pendant la grande dépression des années 1930 écarta la possibilité de relancer le projet antérieur, plus ambitieux, ce que regretta Kinney.

Kinney se consacra corps et âme à la mise sur pied de l’établissement, d’abord comme membre et secrétaire du conseil d’administration interracial désigné en octobre 1917, puis comme administrateur, secrétaire-trésorier, membre du Construction and Improvement Committee et directeur rémunéré. Sur le terrain d’un peu plus de 200 acres, à Westphal (Dartmouth), acheté pour le projet par le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse en dépit des protestations des résidents blancs du coin, une maison spacieuse et coquette fut construite grâce à une subvention provinciale de 10 000 $ et à des fonds recueillis par Kinney et d’autres personnes. Le personnel comprenait une directrice, une institutrice et des ouvriers pour la maison et la ferme. En général, de 35 à 45 enfants y vivaient ; ils participaient aux tâches domestiques et aux travaux à l’extérieur, ce qui les préparait à occuper des emplois de domestiques et d’ouvriers. Au début, le foyer hébergeait des préadolescents qui avaient perdu un de leurs parents, ou les deux, mais à la fin des années 1930, près du tiers des résidents étaient des adolescents et presque la moitié étaient dits « illégitimes ». Au cours de la première décennie, une centaine d’enfants furent accueillis ; Kinney insistait pour que tous les enfants noirs soient acceptés, sans tenir compte de leurs antécédents. Ils bénéficiaient de l’environnement rural sain du foyer, d’une école sur place et d’un personnel dévoué, ainsi que de bénévoles des quartiers noirs avoisinants et d’un public bienveillant, bien que condescendant. Kinney travailla étroitement avec Henry Gibson Bauld, homme d’affaires haligonien, qui n’était pas noir et qui fut longtemps président du conseil d’administration. En 1925, quand Kinney reprit la gestion du foyer, à temps plein, il démissionna de son poste en publicité ; il continua peut-être à effectuer quelques travaux pour la William Stairs, Son and Morrow jusqu’en 1927.

Les campagnes de financement datant de 1919 révèlent que Kinney utilisa son expérience des affaires à bon escient pour aider le foyer. Grâce au financement public, il fut en mesure d’en assurer le soutien pendant les premières années, même si le foyer garda toujours un capital d’emprunt substantiel. Les brochures reflètent son penchant pour les slogans, en général accompagnés de photographies pertinentes. Au début des années 1930, il cita une déclaration qu’il attribua au président américain Herbert Clark Hoover : « la race humaine va de l’avant [portée par] les pieds de ses enfants ». Il imprima de plus une invocation qui disait « Je suis l’enfant […] Vous déterminez en grande partie si je vais réussir ou échouer / Contribuez à ma formation, je vous en prie, afin que je puisse devenir une bénédiction pour le monde. » Plus tard, des résultats positifs furent soulignés : « Depuis 20 ans […] Un décès et aucune épidémie importante : preuve des soins exceptionnels prodigués aux enfants qui nous ont été confiés. » Le foyer était une source de fierté dans toutes les Maritimes ; les fonctionnaires du gouvernement à Ottawa et ailleurs en faisaient l’éloge.

L’espoir que nourrissait Kinney de créer une fondation ne se concrétisa pas. Il réussit toutefois à encourager des membres de l’élite à ne pas oublier le foyer dans leurs testaments, comme le firent, par exemple, Ella Almon Ritchie et sa sœur Eliza Ritchie. Différents moyens furent utilisés pour réunir des fonds, dont des journées de collecte, la sollicitation à domicile et des activités de divertissement. En 1931, Kinney prépara la diffusion radiophonique d’un concert pour attirer des promesses de soutien financier par téléphone et télégraphe, événement qui devint annuel. Lui-même doué pour la musique, il enseigna la guitare et la mandoline aux enfants, et emmena la chorale du foyer en tournée. L’ensemble se produisit à la United Baptist Convention of the Maritime Provinces tenue à Wolfville, en Nouvelle-Écosse, environ deux mois avant la mort de Kinney, causée par un œdème pulmonaire à la suite de problèmes rénaux.

James Alexander Ross Kinney était convaincu que le foyer était la plus grande réalisation de la communauté noire. L’établissement continua de profiter du dévouement de sa famille : sa fille Dorothy aida à prendre soin des enfants et James Alexander Ross fils, qui avait travaillé à la ferme pendant sa jeunesse, succéda à son père. Même si toute l’attention que Kinney apporta au Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children au cours des 19 dernières années de sa vie peut sembler une utilisation limitée de ses très grands talents de leader, il fit ce qu’il put dans des circonstances difficiles pour promouvoir le bien-être de ses semblables en se souciant peu de son intérêt personnel. À la fin du xxe siècle, des allégations d’abus plongeraient dans la controverse le Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children, tout comme plusieurs autres établissements résidentiels. La campagne de revendication et d’indemnisation des victimes, longue mais fructueuse, aurait été incompréhensible pour Kinney et ses contemporains dans la Nouvelle-Écosse de la grande dépression.

Judith Fingard

BAC, R233-35-2, Halifax, Ward 2 : 62 ; R233-36-4, Halifax, Ward 2b : 12–13 ; R233-37-6, Halifax, Ward 5e-9 : 1.— DUA, MS-4-6 (William Stairs, Son & Morrow fonds), G.— NSA, MG 1, E, vol. 3265–3277 (Stairs family fonds) ; MG 3, vol. 3877 (William Stairs, Son & Morrow papers) ; MG 20, vol. 535 (Local Council of Women of Halifax fonds, Minute-books) ; MG 20, vol. 159 (vertical file), vol. 750 (Nova Scotia Home for Coloured Children fonds) ; « Nova Scotia hist. vital statistics », Cumberland County, 1909 ; Halifax County, 1870, 1890, 1906 : www.novascotiagenealogy.com (consulté le 4 févr. 2013).— Acadian Recorder (Halifax), 24 juin 1898 ; 14–15, 17–18 janv. 1908 ; 17 févr. 1912 ; 6 sept. 1913 ; 25 juin, 16 août 1915 ; 6 sept. 1923 ; 5 juin 1924 ; 2 juin 1925 ; 27 juill. 1928 ; 5 juin 1929 ; 18 mars 1930.— Halifax Chronicle, 28 mai, 7 juin 1921 ; 27 juin, 18 juill., 21 août 1933.— Halifax Herald, 16, 20 mars, 21 juin, 2 sept., 24, 31 oct. 1916 ; 27 oct., 13 nov. 1917 ; 11 fév., 25 mars, 2 avril, 9, 25 juill., 3, 10 déc. 1919 ; 12 mars, 2–3 avril, 20, 31 mai 1920 ; 15 janv., 17 fév., 3 mars, 2, 7, 17 juin 1921 ; 2 janv., 27 fév., 1er avril, 2 mai 1922 ; 29 août, 10 déc. 1923 ; 10 mars, 24 juill., 8 déc. 1924 ; 14–15 avril 1925 ; 2, 20 juill. 1926.— Halifax Mail, 7–8 nov. 1940.— Atlantic Advocate (Halifax), 1, no 1 (avril 1915) : 13 ; 1, no 11 (mai 1917) : 6–7.— Annuaire, Halifax, 1883–1940.— The Booker T. Washington papers, L. R. Harlan et R. W. Smock, édit. (Urbana, Ill., 1972–1989), 13 : 371.— Barry Cahill, « The “Colored Barrister” : the short life and tragic death of James Robinson Johnston, 1876–1915 », Dalhousie Law Journal (Halifax), 15 (1992) : 336–379.— R. N. Lafferty, « Child welfare in Halifax, 1900–1960 : institutional transformation, denominationalism, and the creation of a “public” welfare system » (thèse de ph.d., Dalhousie Univ., Halifax, 2003).— P. E. McKerrow, A brief history of the coloured Baptists of Nova Scotia, 1783–1895 (Halifax, 1895 ; réimpr., F. S. Boyd fils et M. I. Allen Boyd, édit., 1976).— N.-É., Office of the Director of Child Welfare, Child welfare : report of the Director (Halifax), 1921–1940.— A. P. Oliver, A brief history of the colored Baptists of Nova Scotia, 1782–1953 ([Halifax, 1953]).— C. R. Saunders, Share & care : the story of the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children (Halifax, 1994).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Judith Fingard, « KINNEY, JAMES ALEXANDER ROSS », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/kinney_james_alexander_ross_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/kinney_james_alexander_ross_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Judith Fingard
Titre de l'article:   KINNEY, JAMES ALEXANDER ROSS
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   19 octobre 2017