DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

LESSARD, PROSPER-EDMOND (baptized James-Alexander-Prosper-Edward), businessman, militia officer, office holder, and politician; b. 3 Feb. 1873 in Cranbourne, Que., son of Jean-Prosper Lessard and Annie Campbell Davidson; m. 24 Nov. 1900 Hélène Gariépy in Edmonton, and they had three daughters and two sons; d. 11 April 1931 in Saint-Paul-des-Métis (St Paul), Alta, and was buried in the cemetery of St Joachim’s Church, Edmonton.

Prosper-Edmond Lessard studied commerce and sciences at Montreal’s Collège du Mont-Saint-Louis in the mid 1890s. Upon his graduation, he was hired as a bookkeeper in a Montreal mercantile house. This employment was cut short, however, when Lessard joined the stream of hopeful prospectors bound for the Klondike. He arrived in Edmonton in 1898 towards the end of the gold rush and decided to settle in the burgeoning town. Two important factors influenced his decision. First, he found employment as a bookkeeper in a merchant company run by fellow Quebecers Joseph Chénier and Joseph-Hormidas Gariépy. Secondly, he began courting Gariépy’s daughter Hélène, whom he married in 1900. In November 1899 Edmond-Hector Brosseau had bought Chénier’s share in the company, and Lessard in turn purchased Brosseau’s share in November 1901, thus going into partnership with his father-in-law. The firm of Gariépy and Lessard prospered until the partners sold out in April 1909.

Over the course of his career, Lessard displayed remarkable versatility and pursued a wide variety of interests. He developed strong business connections and became a member (1902) of Edmonton’s Board of Trade, of which he was a director between 1907 and 1909. In the latter year, with Adéodat Boileau and Léo Savard, he formed Imperial Agencies, which handled loans, insurance, and real estate. Investing heavily in resource extraction and industry, he served as vice-president of the Elk Park Oil Company, and he was a director of the Western Timber and Mines Company and Edmonton Iron Works. He was also a director of organizations as diverse as the North-West Grain Company, the North West Brewing Company, the Great Western Garment Company, the St Paul Mercantile Company, the Picardville Mercantile Company, the Elk Point Trading Company, W. A. MacKenzie and Company, and the Commercial Life Assurance Company of Canada.

Beyond his multifarious business ventures, Lessard played an increasingly active role in public affairs. In 1900 and 1901 he was secretary-treasurer of Edmonton’s Young Men’s Liberal Club. In October 1905 he, Philippe Roy, Joseph-Henri Picard, and others launched Le Courrier de l’Ouest, Alberta’s French-language Liberal organ. Lessard became secretary-treasurer of the Edmonton Liberal Association the following year; he was elected president in 1907 and re-elected in 1908. In March 1910 he was named honorary vice-president of the Club Laurier, founded by Edmonton’s French Liberals to support the party’s federal leader, Sir Wilfrid Laurier*. He was also occupied with the militia, serving as the captain of E Squadron of the Canadian Mounted Rifles in 1907, and then of D Squadron when the 19th (Alberta) Mounted Rifles was formed in the following year. As well, he found time to sit as a trustee of the separate-school board from 1907 to 1910. Lessard filled these challenging positions with seemingly boundless energy, good humour, and personal charm. He consequently enjoyed tremendous popularity in business and political circles as well as in local sporting circles in which he remained engaged throughout his life.

In the provincial election held in March 1909 Lessard ran as a candidate for the riding of Pakan. He won by acclamation, becoming the first French Canadian member in Alberta’s Legislative Assembly. In November he was sworn in as minister without portfolio in the cabinet of Alexander Cameron Rutherford*. His tenure in this position was short-lived, however, because the Liberals were badly divided by the Alberta and Great Waterways Railway scandal [see Charles Wilson Cross*] and in May 1910 Rutherford was compelled to resign. Lessard, a Rutherford loyalist, was not chosen for the cabinet formed by the new premier, Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton*. Nevertheless, he retained both his seat and the confidence of his constituents, and was duly returned in the elections of April 1913 and June 1917 as the mla for St Paul, the eastern part of his former riding. He was ousted in July 1921 when the United Farmers of Alberta defeated Charles Stewart*’s Liberals. Herbert Greenfield* became premier.

As an mla, Lessard was especially committed to protecting and extending the rights of Franco-Albertans. He openly challenged territorial legislation resulting from a motion by Frederick William Gordon Haultain* in 1892 that had begun eliminating French from the legislature and restricted its use in schools. In several addresses to the assembly, Lessard called attention to the historical presence of francophone voyageurs, missionaries, and settlers in the prairie west [see Albert Lacombe*] and insisted on the inviolability of French-language rights. Le Courrier de l’Ouest, which printed some provincial statutes in French, quoted him in the issue published on 7 April 1915: “Our ancestors were the first … to colonize the Northwest Territories. We have no need of special privileges in this region for it is our homeland; here we have natural and legal rights which we will defend tirelessly.”

Outside the legislature, Lessard assumed a leading role in the movement to build up Alberta’s francophone population. Since the 1890s the Roman Catholic diocese of St Albert had been attempting to establish French-speaking parishes north of Edmonton by attracting French Canadian and Franco-American immigrants [see Vital-Justin Grandin*]. To invigorate this campaign, Lessard collaborated with fellow laymen J.‑H. Picard, Léonidas-Alcidas Giroux, and R.‑A. Blais to institute the Société de la Colonisation de l’Alberta on 20 Sept. 1912. Setting out to advertise the province’s agricultural potential, the organization had created an information office by February of the following year, and an energetic publicity campaign had been launched.

Lessard’s political career culminated in his appointment to the Senate in September 1925 on the advice of Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King*. He performed his duties with verve and dedication while remaining actively involved in Edmonton’s francophone organizations, notably the Conseil La Vérendrye of the Knights of Columbus and the Association Canadienne-Française de l’Alberta.

On 11 April 1931 Lessard died suddenly in his sleep at age 58. His widespread popularity was reflected by the dense crowd who attended his funeral at St Joachim’s Church in Edmonton. A diverse cross-section of the province’s early society – businessmen, politicians, clergymen, soldiers, and homesteaders – was united in grief. It was among Franco-Albertans that Lessard’s passing was most deeply mourned: they had lost a powerful and diligent champion of their language and culture in Alberta.

Timothy Foran

FD, Frampton, Québec, 12 févr. 1873. Le Courrier de l’Ouest (Edmonton), 18 janv., 6 déc. 1906; 3 janv. 1907; 26 mars, 18 juin 1908; 18, 25 févr., 11, 18 mars, 21, 28 oct. 1909; 3 mars, 2 juin 1910; 9 janv., 17 avril 1913; 29 janv., 11 juin 1914; 8, 15 avril 1915. Le Devoir, 13 avril 1931. Edmonton Bull., 11, 14 April 1931. La Survivance (Edmonton), 16, 23 avril 1931. E. A. Aunger, “Legislating language use in Alberta: a century of incidental provisions for a fundamental matter,” Alberta Law Rev. (Edmonton), 42 (2004–5): 463–97. Éloi DeGrâce, “Le Courrier de l’Ouest (1905–1916),” in Glimpses of the Franco-Albertan past: recollections and studies, ed. Alice Trottier et al. (Edmonton, 1981), 101–11. Dictionnaire de l’Amérique française: francophonie nord-américaine hors Québec, Charles Dufresne et al., édit. (Ottawa, 1988), 221–22. E. J. Hart, Ambition and reality: the French-speaking community of Edmonton, 17951935 (Edmonton, 1980). R. J. A. Huel, “Gestae Dei per Francos: the French Canadian experience in western Canada,” in Visions of the New Jerusalem: religious settlement on the prairies, ed. B. G. Smillie (Edmonton, 1983), 39–53. Claude et Jacques Lamarche, Dictionnaire biographique Guérin: Québec-Canada/2000 (Montréal, 1999), 221. France Levasseur-Ouimet, 1899–1999, Saint-Joachim, la première paroisse catholique d’Edmonton (Edmonton, 1999). M. R. Lupul, The Roman Catholic Church and the North-West school question: a study in church–state relations in western Canada, 18751905 (Toronto, 1974). Robert Painchaud, Un rêve français dans le peuplement de la prairie (Saint-Boniface [Winnipeg], 1986). Jean Pariseau, Les oblats de Marie-Immaculée dans les paroisses canadiennes-françaises de la région de Rivière-de-la-Paix, 19121967 (Ottawa, 2002). D. B. Smith, “A history of French-speaking Albertans,” in Peoples of Alberta: portraits of cultural diversity, ed. Howard and Tamara Palmer (Saskatoon, 1985), 84–108. L. G. Thomas, The Liberal party in Alberta: a history of politics in the province of Alberta, 19051921 (Toronto, 1959). Alice Trottier, “Les oblats et la colonisation en Alberta,” in Western Oblate Studies 1: proceedings of the first symposium on the history of the Oblates in western and northern Canada …, ed. R.[‑J.‑A.] Huel et al. (Edmonton, 1990), 107–16. Who’s who in Canada, 1927.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Timothy Foran, “LESSARD, PROSPER-EDMOND (baptized James-Alexander-Prosper-Edward),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lessard_prosper_edmond_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lessard_prosper_edmond_16E.html
Author of Article: Timothy Foran
Title of Article: LESSARD, PROSPER-EDMOND (baptized James-Alexander-Prosper-Edward)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: November 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MILLER, JOHN CLASSON – Volume XI (1881-1890)

né le 16 décembre 1836 dans le canton de Yonge, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

LESSARD, PROSPER-EDMOND (baptisé James-Alexander-Prosper-Edward), homme d’affaires, officier de milice, fonctionnaire et homme politique, né le 3 février 1873 à Cranbourne, Québec, fils de Jean-Prosper Lessard et d’Annie Campbell Davidson ; le 24 novembre 1900, il épousa à Edmonton Hélène Gariépy, et ils eurent trois filles et deux fils ; décédé le 11 avril 1931 à Saint-Paul-des-Métis (Saint-Paul, Alberta) et inhumé au cimetière de l’église Saint-Joachim, Edmonton.

Prosper-Edmond Lessard étudia le commerce et les sciences au collège du Mont-Saint-Louis de Montréal au milieu des années 1890. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, il fut engagé comme teneur de livres dans une maison de commerce à Montréal. Il quitta cet emploi, cependant, pour se joindre au flot de prospecteurs pleins d’espoir en route pour le Klondike. Lessard arriva à Edmonton en 1898, au moment où la ruée vers l’or touchait à sa fin et décida de s’établir dans la ville florissante. Deux facteurs importants influencèrent sa décision. D’abord, il trouva un emploi de teneur de livres dans une compagnie marchande dirigée par deux compatriotes de sa province d’origine, Joseph Chénier et Joseph-Hormidas Gariépy. Ensuite, il commença à courtiser la fille de ce dernier, Hélène, qu’il épousa en 1900. En novembre 1899, Edmond-Hector Brosseau avait acheté les parts de Chénier dans l’entreprise, parts que Lessard acheta à son tour en novembre 1901, devenant ainsi l’associé de son beau-père. L’entreprise Gariépy et Lessard prospéra jusqu’à ce que les associés la vendent, en avril 1909.

Durant sa carrière, Lessard fit preuve d’une remarquable polyvalence et eut des intérêts très variés. Il établit de solides relations d’affaires et, en 1902, devint membre du Bureau de commerce d’Edmonton ; il siégea à son conseil d’administration entre 1907 et 1909. En 1909, avec Adéodat Boileau et Léo Savard, il fonda l’entreprise Imperial Agencies, qui s’occupait de prêts, d’assurance et d’immobilier. Lessard investit beaucoup dans l’extraction et l’industrie des ressources naturelles ; il fut le vice-président de la Elk Park Oil Company, ainsi qu’un des administrateurs de la Western Timber and Mines Company et de l’Edmonton Iron Works. Il fut également membre du conseil d’administration de sociétés aussi diverses que la North-West Grain Company, la North West Brewing Company, la Great Western Garment Company, la St Paul Mercantile Company, la Picardville Mercantile Company, la Elk Point Trading Company, la W. A. MacKenzie and Company et la Commercial Life Assurance Company of Canada.

Parallèlement à ses multiples entreprises commerciales, Lessard joua un rôle de plus en plus actif dans les affaires publiques. En 1900 et 1901, il fut le secrétaire-trésorier du Young Men’s Liberal Club d’Edmonton. En octobre 1905, il lança avec Philippe Roy et Joseph-Henri Picard, entre autres, le Courrier de l’Ouest, l’organe de langue française du Parti libéral en Alberta. Lessard devint le secrétaire-trésorier de l’Edmonton Liberal Association en 1906 ; il en fut élu président en 1907 et 1908. En mars 1910, il fut nommé vice-président honoraire du Club Laurier, fondé par les libéraux francophones d’Edmonton pour appuyer le chef fédéral du parti, sir Wilfrid Laurier*. La milice l’occupait également ; il servit comme capitaine du E Squadron du Canadian Mounted Rifles en 1907, puis du D Squadron lorsque le 19th (Alberta) Mounted Rifles fut créé l’année suivante. Il trouva aussi le temps d’être commissaire pour les écoles séparées de 1907 à 1910. Lessard s’acquitta de ces fonctions importantes avec bonne humeur et charme, et avec une énergie apparemment inépuisable. Il jouit par conséquent d’une popularité considérable dans le monde des affaires et de la politique, ainsi que dans les milieux sportifs locaux, dans lesquels il s’investit tout au long de sa vie.

Au moment des élections provinciales qui se tinrent en mars 1909, Lessard fut candidat dans la circonscription de Pakan. Élu sans opposition, il devint le premier Canadien français membre de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta. En novembre, il prêta serment en qualité de ministre sans portefeuille dans le cabinet d’Alexander Cameron Rutherford*. Il ne garda pas ce poste très longtemps, cependant, car le scandale de l’Alberta and Great Waterways Railway divisa fortement les libéraux [V. Charles Wilson Cross*] et Rutherford fut contraint de démissionner en mai 1910. Lessard, fidèle partisan de Rutherford, ne fit pas partie du cabinet du nouveau premier ministre, Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton*. Il conserva néanmoins son siège et la confiance de ses électeurs, et fut dûment réélu aux élections d’avril 1913 et de juin 1917 comme membre de l’Assemblée législative pour la circonscription de Saint-Paul, la partie est de son ancienne circonscription. On l’évinça en juillet 1921, lorsque les Fermiers unis de l’Alberta défirent les libéraux de Charles Stewart*. Herbert Greenfield* devint premier ministre.

En tant que membre de l’Assemblée législative, Lessard s’engagea tout particulièrement à défendre et à étendre les droits des Franco-Albertains. Il contesta ouvertement la loi territoriale, résultant d’une motion proposée en 1892 par Frederick William Gordon Haultain*, en vertu de laquelle on avait commencé à éliminer le français de l’Assemblée législative et à restreindre son usage dans les écoles. À plusieurs reprises, alors qu’il s’adressait à l’assemblée, Lessard attira l’attention sur la présence historique des voyageurs, missionnaires et colons francophones dans les Prairies [V. Albert Lacombe*], et insista sur l’inviolabilité des droits concernant la langue française. Le Courrier de l’Ouest, qui publia certaines lois provinciales en français, le cita dans son édition du 7 avril 1915 : « Nos ancêtres ont été les premiers [… qui] colonisèrent les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Nous n’avons besoin d’aucun privilège dans ce pays, qui est notre seule patrie ; nous y avons des droits naturels et légaux que nous maintiendrons sans relâche. »

Hors de l’Assemblée législative, Lessard joua un rôle de premier plan dans le mouvement visant à accroître la population francophone de l’Alberta. Depuis les années 1890, le diocèse catholique de Saint-Albert avait tenté de fonder des paroisses francophones au nord d’Edmonton en attirant des immigrants canadiens-français et franco-américains [V. Vital-Justin Grandin*]. Afin de dynamiser cette campagne, Lessard collabora avec Picard, Léonidas-Alcidas Giroux et R.-A. Blais, aussi des laïques, pour constituer la Société de la Colonisation de l’Alberta le 20 septembre 1912. L’organisme entreprit de faire la promotion du potentiel agricole de la province ; pas plus tard que février de l’année suivante, il avait créé un bureau d’information et une campagne publicitaire énergique avait été lancée.

La carrière politique de Lessard atteignit son point culminant quand il fut nommé au Sénat, en septembre 1925, selon le conseil du premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King*. Il remplit ses fonctions avec verve et dévouement, tout en continuant de prendre une part active dans les organisations francophones d’Edmonton, et notamment dans le Conseil La Vérendrye des Chevaliers de Colomb et l’Association Canadienne-Française de l’Alberta.

Le 11 avril 1931, Prosper-Edmond Lessard mourut subitement dans son sommeil à l’âge de 58 ans. La foule dense qui assista à ses funérailles à l’église Saint-Joachim d’Edmonton témoigna de sa grande popularité. Un échantillon diversifié de la société de la province de l’époque – hommes d’affaires, hommes politiques, ecclésiastiques, soldats et colons – fut uni dans le deuil. Les Franco-Albertains pleurèrent tout particulièrement la perte de Lessard : un puissant et zélé défenseur de leur langue et de leur culture en Alberta venait de les quitter.

Timothy Foran

FD, Frampton, Québec, 12 févr. 1873. — Le Courrier de l’Ouest (Edmonton), 18 janv., 6 déc. 1906 ; 3 janv. 1907 ; 26 mars, 18 juin 1908 ; 18, 25 févr., 11, 18 mars, 21, 28 oct. 1909 ; 3 mars, 2 juin 1910 ; 9 janv., 17 avril 1913 ; 29 janv., 11 juin 1914 ; 8, 15 avril 1915.— Le Devoir, 13 avril 1931.— Edmonton Bull., 11, 14 avril 1931.— La Survivance (Edmonton), 16, 23 avril 1931.— E. A. Aunger, « Legislating language use in Alberta : a century of incidental provisions for a fundamental matter », Alberta Law Rev. (Edmonton), 42 (2004–2005) : 463–497.— Éloi DeGrâce, « le Courrier de l’Ouest (1905–1916) », dans Aspects du passé franco-albertain : témoignages et études, Alice Trottier et al., édit. (Edmonton, 1981), 101–111.— Dictionnaire de l’Amérique française : francophonie nord-américaine hors Québec, Charles Dufresne et al., édit. (Ottawa, 1988), 221–222.— E. J. Hart, Ambitions et réalités : la communauté francophone d’Edmonton, 1795–1935 (Edmonton, 1981).— R. J. A. Huel, « Gestae Dei per Francos : the French Canadian experience in western Canada », dans Visions of the New Jerusalem : religious settlement on the prairies, B. G. Smillie, édit. (Edmonton, 1983), 39–53.— Claude Lamarche et Jacques Lamarche, Dictionnaire biographique Guérin : Québec-Canada/2000 (Montréal, 1999), 221.— France Levasseur-Ouimet, 18991999, Saint-Joachim, la première paroisse catholique d’Edmonton (Edmonton, 1999).— M. R. Lupul, The Roman Catholic Church and the North-West school question : a study in church-state relations in western Canada, 18751905 (Toronto, 1974).— Robert Painchaud, Un rêve français dans le peuplement de la prairie (Saint-Boniface [Winnipeg], 1986).— Jean Pariseau, les Oblats de Marie-Immaculée dans les paroisses canadiennes-françaises de la région de Rivière-de-la-Paix, 19121967 (Ottawa, 2002).— D. B. Smith, « A history of French-speaking Albertans », dans Peoples of Alberta : portraits of cultural diversity, Howard Palmer et Tamara Palmer, édit. (Saskatoon, 1985), 84–108.— L. G. Thomas, The Liberal party in Alberta : a history of politics in the province of Alberta, 19051921 (Toronto, 1959).— Alice Trottier, « les Oblats et la colonisation en Alberta », dans Études oblates de l’Ouest 1 : actes du premier colloque sur l’histoire des oblats dans l’Ouest et le Nord canadiens [...], R.[-J.-A.] Huel et al., édit. (Edmonton, 1990), 107–116.— Who’s who in Canada, 1927.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Timothy Foran, « LESSARD, PROSPER-EDMOND (baptisé James-Alexander-Prosper-Edward) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 16 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lessard_prosper_edmond_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lessard_prosper_edmond_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Timothy Foran
Titre de l'article:   LESSARD, PROSPER-EDMOND (baptisé James-Alexander-Prosper-Edward)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   16 décembre 2017