DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MARTIN, CHARLES-AMADOR, musician, the second native Canadian to be ordained a priest; b. in Quebec, 7 March 1648, son of Abraham Martin*, dit L’Écossais, and Marguerite Langlois, godson of Charles de Saint-Étienne* de La Tour; d. at Sainte-Foy near Quebec, 19 June 1711.

Martin obtained his elementary and theological education from the Jesuits in Quebec. As part of his training, on 15 July 1667 he and his fellow student Pierre Francheville engaged in a public disputation “on the whole of Philosophy, with honour, and in presence of a considerable audience.” Ordained a priest by Bishop Laval on 14 March 1671, Martin spent his career in or near Quebec. His first position was that of parish priest at Beauport; in 1672, while he was incumbent, the wooden church there was replaced with a stone building. Later he was pastor at Sainte-Famille, again at Beauport, at Château-Richer and Ange-Gardien-de-Montmorency. In 1673 he assisted in the conduct of elections at the Quebec Hôtel-Dieu, the first native priest to do so. He spent several years as teacher at the Quebec Seminary where from 1678 to 1681 he also acted as bursar, in charge of food supplies, repairs and the account books of the farm. On 8 November 1684 Bishop Laval appointed Martin one of eight canons of the new chapter of Quebec. Allaire asserts that, “as a gifted musician, Martin was able to raise greatly the level of the performance of the religious ceremonies at the Quebec cathedral.” He resigned from this office in 1697 and the following year entered his last and longest assignment, that of priest of the newly established parish of Notre-Dame-de-Sainte-Foy. He held this position until his death during a purple fever epidemic. His remains were buried in the cathedral at Quebec.

As early as 1662 Father Jérôme Lalemant* refers to one “Amador” as a singer. Sister Regnard* Duplessis de Sainte-Hélène, who had come to Quebec nine years before Martin’s death, states that Monsieur Martin, an able singer, composed the chant for the mass and the Office of the Holy Family celebration, which had been established by Laval in 1665. A musical manuscript preserved at the Hôtel-Dieu of Quebec includes the prose of the Office. Though it is unsigned and undated, local tradition claims that it is in Martin’s handwriting. Comparison of it with Martin’s known handwriting makes this appear a possibility, but establishes no definite proof. Dated 18th-century copies survive at other Quebec institutions and the music was printed with slight modifications in the 1827 and later editions of the Graduel romain, It was sung on the appropriate occasion at the Quebec basilica until the middle of the 20th century. In 1902 Ernest Gagnon, former organist of the church, judged it a piece of plain-chant of undeniable beauty and remarkable correctness, from the point of view of both rhythm and modality.

Recent investigators reject the claim that Martin also wrote the music for the mass of the Holy Family celebration. Judging by what is known about the writing of the words, the musical composition of the prose “Sacræ familiæ felix spectaculum” should be dated near the turn of the century rather than about 1679, as previously assumed. Indeed, no conclusive evidence has been found that Martin is the composer of Canada’s earliest preserved musical composition.

Helmut Kallmann

AHDQ, Messe de la Sainte-Famille, Prose: “Sacræ familiæ felix spectaculum” (the ASQ and AMUQ have copies of this manuscript dated 1748, 1783, and 1810.); Sœur Duplessis de Sainte-Hélène, Notice sur la fête de la Sainte-Famille, 11. Caron, “Inventaire de documents,” APQ Rapport, 1939–40, 206, 209, 213, 215, 258, 303, 324, 334. Graduel romain (2e éd., Québec, 1827), 203ff. (This contains the plain-chant prose “Sacræ familiæ felix spectaculum” without composer’s name or any reference to its origin; the first edition (1800) of the Graduel romain does not contain this prose.) JR (Thwaites), XLV, 119, 271; XLVII, 295; L, 213. Juchereau, Annales (Jamet), 177. Provost, Le Séminaire de Québec: documents et biographies, 65, 420.

Allaire, Dictionnaire, IV, 8. [Allaire gives the most complete description of Martin’s career as a priest.  h.k.] Ernest Gagnon, Louis Jolliet, découvreur du Mississipi et du pays des Illinois, premier seigneur de l’île dAnticosti (Montréal, 1946). Helmut Kallmann, A history of music in Canada, 1534–1914 (Toronto, 1960), 22, 23.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Helmut Kallmann, “MARTIN, CHARLES-AMADOR,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed August 20, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/martin_charles_amador_2E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/martin_charles_amador_2E.html
Author of Article: Helmut Kallmann
Title of Article: MARTIN, CHARLES-AMADOR
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1969
Year of revision: 1969
Access Date: August 20, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MARTIN, CHARLES-AMADOR, musicien, le second Canadien de naissance à être ordonné prêtre ; né à Québec, le 7 mars 1648, fils d’Abraham Martin*, dit L’Écossais, et de Marguerite Langlois, filleul de Charles de Saint-Étienne* de La Tour ; mort à Sainte-Foy, près de Québec, le 19 juin 1711.

Martin fit ses études élémentaires et théologiques chez les Jésuites à Québec. Au cours de ses années de formation, il prit part, comme c’était l’usage, à un débat public auquel font allusion les Relations des Jésuites : « Amador Martin et Pierre [de] Francheville soutiennent de toute la philosophie avec honneur et en bonne compagnie ». Ordonné prêtre, le 14 mars 1671, par Mgr de Laval, il exerça son ministère à Québec et dans les environs. On lui confia une première cure à Beauport où, en 1672, il fit remplacer l’ancienne église de bois par une autre de pierre. Par la suite, il exerça son ministère paroissial à Sainte-Famille, de nouveau à Beauport, puis à Château-Richer et à l’Ange-Gardien de Montmorency. En 1673, il eut l’honneur d’être le premier prêtre canadien de naissance à participer à la tenue des élections de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec. Il enseigna pendant plusieurs années au séminaire de Québec où, de 1678 à 1681, il remplit en outre la fonction d’économe : les vivres, les approvisionnements et l’entretien relevaient de sa charge ainsi que les écritures de la ferme. Le 8 novembre 1684, Mgr de Laval nomma huit chanoines au nouveau chapitre de Québec : Martin était du nombre. Allaire affirme qu’il était « non moins bon chantre [et qu’] il rehausse grandement les cérémonies de la cathédrale. » Il résigna ses fonctions en 1697 et, l’année suivante, fut nommé curé de la toute nouvelle paroisse, Notre-Dame-de-Sainte-Foy. C’est là qu’il mourut, victime d’une épidémie de fièvre pourprée ; il fut inhumé dans la cathédrale de Québec.

Dès 1662, le père Jérôme Lalemant* fit allusion dans ses écrits à un certain « Amador », chantre. En 1665, Mgr de Laval institua la fête de la sainte Famille. Sœur Regnard* Duplessis de Sainte-Hélène, qui était arrivée à Québec neuf ans avant la mort de Martin, a écrit par la suite : « Mr Martin, qui étant habile chantre, composa le chant de la Messe et de l’Office de la Ste Famille, tel qu’il est ». Un manuscrit de musique, conservé à l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec, contient la prose de cet office. Même si ce manuscrit ne porte ni date ni signature, la tradition locale veut qu’il soit de la main de Martin. En comparant ce manuscrit à d’autres écrits de Charles-Amador Martin, il faut admettre que c’est une possibilité mais cela ne prouve rien. D’autres institutions ont conservé des copies, datant du xviiie siècle, de ce manuscrit ; la musique, légèrement modifiée, fut publiée dans l’édition de 1827 et les éditions subséquentes du Graduel Romain. À la basilique de Québec on a chanté cette messe, à l’occasion de la fête de la sainte Famille, jusqu’au milieu du xxe siècle et Ernest Gagnon, ancien organiste de cette église, déclarait en 1902 : « C’est une pièce de plain chant d’une incontestable beauté, écrite dans le premier mode authentique de la tonalité ancienne. Le style de cette composition est d’une correction remarquable, tant au point de vue du rythme qu’au point de vue des affinités des notes modales ».

On a fait récemment de nouvelles recherches à ce sujet et l’on rejette la prétention voulant que Martin soit l’auteur de la musique de la messe de la fête de la sainte Famille. L’étude de l’orthographe et de la graphie des mots révèle que la composition musicale de la prose « Sacræ familiæ felix spectaculum » daterait de la fin du siècle et non de 1670, comme on l’avait prétendu tout d’abord. Bref, il a été impossible de prouver d’une façon irréfutable que Martin était l’auteur de la plus ancienne composition musicale du Canada.

Helmut Kallmann

AHDQ, Sœur Duplessis de Sainte-Hélène, Notice sur la Fête de la Sainte-Famille, 11 ; Messe de la Sainte-Famille, Prose « Sacræ Familiæ felix spectaculum ». [Les ASQ et les AMUQ conservent des copies de ce manuscrit, datées de 1748, 1783 et 1810.] — Le Graduel romain (2e éd., Québec, 1827), 203ss, contient le plain-chant, Prose « Sacræ Familiæ felix spectaculum », sans nom de compositeur et ne donne aucun détail quant à son origine ; la 1re édition (1800) du Graduel romain ne reproduit pas cette pièce musicale. — JR (Thwaites), XLV : 119, 271 ; XLVII : 295 ; L : 213. — Caron, Inventaire de documents, RAPQ, 1939–40 : 206, 209, 213, 215, 258, 303, 324, 334. — Juchereau, Annales (Jamet), 177. — Provost, Le Séminaire de Québec : documents et biographies, 65, 420. — Allaire, Dictionnaire, IV : 8 [Allaire donne la description la plus complète de la carrière de Martin comme prêtre. h.k.]. — Ernest Gagnon, Louis Jolliet, découvreur du Mississipi et du pays des Illinois, premier seigneur de lîle dAnticosti (Montréal, 1946). — Helmut Kallmann, A history of music in Canada, 1534–1914 (Toronto, 1960), 22, 23.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Helmut Kallmann, « MARTIN, CHARLES-AMADOR », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 31 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/martin_charles_amador_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/martin_charles_amador_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Helmut Kallmann
Titre de l'article:   MARTIN, CHARLES-AMADOR
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   31 juillet 2014