DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

ARTHUR, Sir GEORGE – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 19 Sept. 1854 in London

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Sister Mary Francesca. Image courtesy of the St. Vincent’s Alumnae Association.

Source: Link

McDONALD (MacDonald, Macdonald), MARY, named Sister Mary Francesca, educator and Sister of Charity of the Immaculate Conception; b. 2 Feb. 1853 in Bouctouche, N.B., daughter of John McDonald, a farmer, and Margaret Dineen; d. 29 Aug. 1935 in Saint John.

Little is known of Mary McDonald’s first 18 years except that she was the eldest in a family that would eventually include six daughters and one son. From modest beginnings she rose to influence the development of women’s educational opportunities in New Brunswick during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Her professional life began in October 1871 when she was granted a first-class teaching licence for the locality of Bouctouche. That spring the provincial government of George Luther Hatheway* had passed the controversial Common Schools Act, which mandated tax-supported, non-sectarian education and was vehemently opposed by Roman Catholics. It was therefore in an atmosphere of denominational strife that McDonald began her career. By 1875, however, a compromise would be reached that allowed Catholic schools to operate within the public-school system while retaining their religious orientation [see George Edwin King*; John Sweeny*]. McDonald was evidently well suited to the role she had chosen: in 1884 she was described by district school inspector Valentin Landry* as “one of our most successful teachers.” Her initial pedagogical experience and familiarity with the educational bureaucracy of the day would later prove invaluable after she joined the Sisters of Charity of Saint John.

Like other young, single, female teachers of her era, McDonald boarded in the communities where she taught. In Bouctouche she lived with the prominent Dysart family, probably because her own family resided too far from her school, and in Tracadie, where she worked in the mid 1880s after a stint in Cocagne, she stayed with the Religious Hospitallers of St Joseph at the hospital where they cared for lepers [see Amanda Viger*]. While in Bouctouche, she would have been aware of the presence of the Sisters of Charity, who in 1880 established a convent there, and in all likelihood her decision to join this religious order – on 23 Jan. 1887 in Saint John – was prompted by her acquaintance with the local nuns. They were largely French-speaking, but McDonald read French and no doubt spoke it as well.

McDonald was one of the four dozen or so women who entered the congregation as postulants in the 1880s; only she and a few others were in their thirties. The community, founded in 1854, was still very small three decades later and several of its initial members, including the foundress, Honoria Conway*, were alive and active. As part of her early assignments, McDonald, who would take her final vows in 1889 as Sister Mary Francesca, taught at St Peter’s Girls’ School in Portland (Saint John). By the early 1890s she had been transferred to St Vincent’s School, also for girls, in Saint John, where she served as principal and was assigned originally to teach grades nine and ten. These were high-school-level classes that were not recognized by the Saint John Board of School Trustees since the act of 1871 had made provision for only one secondary school in the city. After a few years Sister Francesca, a woman admired within her religious community for her intellectual gifts, invited the superintendent of schools, Henry Seabury Bridges, to read Virgil and Cicero to her students. By 1902 Bridges was sufficiently impressed with the calibre of the work the pupils were undertaking that he recommended the school trustees recognize the diplomas awarded by St Vincent’s; thus the girls’ secondary school was brought under the umbrella of the board. He had earlier shown his confidence in Sister Francesca by asking her, in 1899, to join the board of examiners for high-school matriculations. Her interest in her pupils extended beyond their years of formal education: in 1902 she established the St Vincent’s Alumnae Association to encourage the continued development of the school’s graduates and to provide them with the same kind of amenities offered by similar academic establishments.

Sister Francesca matched her efforts on behalf of schoolgirls by turning her attention to the needs of the younger members of her community, which by the late 1890s numbered approximately 100 nuns throughout the province. She became the sister in charge of the congregation’s “Study” program; essentially a continuation of the nuns’ equivalent of the provincial Normal School curriculum, it gave instruction in teaching techniques and a continuous upgrading in various subjects.

In 1917 Sister Francesca was awarded an honorary ma from St Francis Xavier College in Antigonish, N.S., in recognition of the “distinguished services of her order in the cause of education and Christian charity.” By this time her community had become a papal institute under the name Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception. Two years later she retired from St Vincent’s and embarked on the creation of a private Catholic boarding school for girls, Mount Carmel Academy in Saint John, to meet the needs of those in remote areas who had no access to schooling beyond the elementary level. Tuition based, it was to operate outside the purview of the public-school board. Sister Francesca was involved in all aspects of its foundation, including, apparently, its design. The academy, which offered both high-school and commercial courses, functioned from the 1920s to the 1960s, when the government of Louis-Joseph Robichaud* introduced the Programme of Equal Opportunity in New Brunswick and set up high schools throughout the province, thereby eliminating the need for a boarding school.

Beyond her commitment to providing secondary schools for young women and to building up her colleagues’ teaching credentials, Sister Francesca’s work reflected the interwar efforts of many Catholic women in North America to promote a feminism that was true to the church but also involved a liberal education: she laid great emphasis on the need for her fellow sisters to attend university. Recalled one nun, “Sister seemed to see what would be demanded of the Sisters in the then distant, or somewhat distant, future.” She appears to have been thwarted initially by the superior general of the congregation, Mother Mary Alphonsus (Joanna Carney), who reportedly “saw no necessity” for the women in her charge to take post-secondary courses. She nevertheless persevered and eventually a number of nuns attended Mount St Vincent College in Rockingham (Halifax). Sister Francesca was unwavering in her desire to secure advanced training for the teaching members of her community. In the 1920s she wrote to the president of the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, Cecil Charles Jones*, asking that lecturers be sent to Saint John during the summer, and a summer school offering university classes was established there in 1928.

Sister Francesca died in 1935, midway through the decade in which the Sisters of Charity welcomed the largest number of entrants in the community’s entire history. As she lay terminally ill at Mount Carmel Academy, New Brunswick premier Albert Allison Dysart*, who had been a little boy when she boarded at his childhood home, came to see her. Kneeling by her bed, he kissed her, saying, “After my mother she is the one.” A member of the congregation would later recall that, a few days after the premier’s visit to the ailing nun, her confessor, Father Donald MacDougald, “prayed her into heaven.” In 1961 the St Vincent’s Alumnae Association inaugurated the Sister M. Francesca Memorial Scholarship in her honour.

Elizabeth W. McGahan

The assistance of the following is gratefully acknowledged: Sister Monica Plante, archivist of the Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception (Saint John); Robert Gilmore and Tom McCaffrey of the PANB; Mary McDevitt, archivist of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saint John; Kathleen MacKenzie, archivist of St Francis Xavier Univ. (Antigonish, N.S.); and M. C. Havey, archivist of the Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer (Toronto).

Arch. of the Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception, necrology records, p.4, no.111; new novitiate reg., p.4, no.11; Sr Mary Francesca file. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “New Brunswick provincial deaths, 1815–1938”: familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:XG8W-PDN (consulted 3 Jan. 2017). PANB, RS115-13/8 (record of licensed teachers, 1842–77). Casket (Antigonish), 17 May 1917: 4. E. W. McGahan, “Charity in the east: sectarianism, ethnicity and gender in Saint John, New Brunswick, schools,” in Changing habits: women’s religious orders in Canada, ed. E. M. Smyth (Ottawa, 2007), 38–68; “The Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception: a Canadian case study,” CCHA, Hist. studies, 61 (1995): 99–133. N.B., Dept. of Education, Annual report of the schools of New Brunswick (Fredericton), 1884–86.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Elizabeth W. McGahan, “McDONALD (MacDonald, Macdonald), MARY, named Sister Mary Francesca,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 19, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcdonald_mary_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcdonald_mary_16E.html
Author of Article:   Elizabeth W. McGahan
Title of Article:   McDONALD (MacDonald, Macdonald), MARY, named Sister Mary Francesca
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   September 19, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

KEISH – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédé le 11 juillet 1916 à Carcross, Yukon

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Sister Mary Francesca. Image courtesy of the St. Vincent’s Alumnae Association.

Provenance : Lien

McDONALD (MacDonald, Macdonald), MARY, dite sœur Mary Francesca, enseignante et religieuse de la congrégation des Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception, née le 2 février 1853 à Bouctouche, Nouveau-Brunswick, fille de John McDonald, agriculteur, et de Margaret Dineen ; décédée le 29 août 1935 à Saint-Jean.

On sait peu de chose sur les 18 premières années de la vie de Mary McDonald, sinon qu’elle était l’aînée d’une famille qui se composerait de six filles et un garçon. Malgré des débuts modestes, elle contribuerait à améliorer les perspectives d’éducation offertes aux femmes au Nouveau-Brunswick à la fin du xixe siècle et au début du xxe siècle.

La vie professionnelle de Mlle McDonald commença en octobre 1871, quand elle obtint un brevet d’enseignement de première classe lui permettant de travailler à Bouctouche. Au printemps de la même année, le gouvernement provincial de George Luther Hatheway* avait adopté le controversé Common Schools Act qui instaurait un système scolaire non confessionnel financé par les recettes fiscales, auquel les catholiques s’étaient farouchement opposés. Mlle McDonald entama donc sa carrière dans un climat de querelle confessionnelle ; cependant, en 1875, on parviendrait à un compromis qui permettrait aux écoles catholiques de se maintenir dans le système public tout en préservant leur orientation religieuse [V. George Edwin King* ; John Sweeny*]. À l’évidence, la profession que Mlle McDonald avait choisie lui convenait tout à fait : en 1884, l’inspecteur d’écoles de district Valentin Landry* affirma qu’elle était « une de [leurs] meilleures institutrices ». Son expérience pédagogique et sa connaissance de l’administration scolaire de l’époque constitueraient pour elle des atouts précieux après son entrée chez les Sisters of Charity of Saint John.

À l’instar d’autres jeunes institutrices célibataires, Mlle McDonald vivait en pension dans les localités où elle enseignait. À Bouctouche, elle logea chez l’éminente famille Dysart, probablement parce que sa propre famille habitait trop loin de l’école. À Tracadie, où elle travailla au milieu des années 1880, après un passage à Cocagne, elle demeura avec les Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph au lazaret où celles-ci soignaient les lépreux [V. Amanda Viger*]. Pendant qu’elle séjournait à Bouctouche, Mlle McDonald avait certainement remarqué la présence des Sisters of Charity of Saint John, qui y avaient fondé un couvent en 1880 ; sa rencontre avec les religieuses de l’endroit motiva vraisemblablement sa décision d’entrer dans leur communauté, le 23 janvier 1887, à Saint-Jean. La plupart étaient francophones ; quant à Mlle McDonald, elle lisait le français et le parlait aussi sans aucun doute.

Mlle McDonald figurait parmi les quelque 48 postulantes qui se joignirent à la congrégation dans les années 1880 et parmi les rares trentenaires. Fondée en 1854, la communauté demeurait minuscule trois décennies plus tard, et plusieurs de ses premières membres, y compris la fondatrice, mère Mary Vincent [Honoria Conway*], vivaient encore et restaient actives. Mlle McDonald prononcerait ses vœux perpétuels en 1889 sous le nom de sœur Mary Francesca. Enseigner à la St Peter’s Girls’ School à Portland (Saint-Jean) constitua l’une de ses premières tâches. Au début des années 1890, on l’avait déjà mutée à la St Vincent’s School, autre école pour filles, à Saint-Jean, qu’elle dirigea tout en enseignant aux élèves des neuvième et dixième années. Le conseil scolaire de Saint-Jean ne reconnaissait pas ces cours d’enseignement secondaire, puisque la loi de 1871 ne prévoyait qu’une seule école secondaire dans cette ville. Après quelques années, sœur Mary Francesca, dont la communauté religieuse admirait les facultés intellectuelles, invita le surintendant des écoles, Henry Seabury Bridges, à lire Virgile et Cicéron à ses classes. En 1902, Bridges, suffisamment impressionné par la qualité du travail entrepris par les élèves, recommanda au conseil scolaire de reconnaître les diplômes décernés par la St Vincent’s School ; l’école secondaire pour filles fut ainsi placée sous l’égide du conseil. Il avait déjà témoigné sa confiance à sœur Mary Francesca en lui proposant, en 1899, de se joindre au bureau des examinateurs de fin d’études secondaires. L’intérêt de cette dernière pour ses élèves s’étendait au delà de leur parcours scolaire : en 1902, elle fonda la St Vincent’s Alumnae Association, pour favoriser le développement continu des diplômées de l’école et leur offrir des installations comparables à celles accordées par des établissements de formation similaires.

Parallèlement à son travail pour le bien des élèves, sœur Mary Francesca tourna son attention vers les besoins des jeunes membres de sa communauté, composée, à la fin des années 1890, d’environ 100 religieuses réparties dans la province. Elle devint responsable du programme « Études » de la congrégation, qui permettait aux religieuses, à la suite de leur formation équivalente au programme provincial de la Normal School, d’apprendre des méthodes d’enseignement et de se perfectionner dans divers domaines.

En 1917, sœur Mary Francesca reçut une maîtrise honorifique du St Francis Xavier College à Antigonish, en Nouvelle-Écosse, pour les « services distingués de son ordre à la cause de l’éducation et de la charité chrétienne ». À cette époque, sa communauté avait reçu la reconnaissance pontificale et adopté le nom de Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception. Deux ans plus tard, sœur Mary Francesca prit sa retraite de la St Vincent’s School et s’engagea dans la création d’un pensionnat catholique privé pour filles, la Mount Carmel Academy, à Saint-Jean, pour répondre aux besoins des jeunes femmes des régions éloignées qui n’avaient accès qu’à des études primaires. Financé par les frais de scolarité, cet établissement ne relèverait pas du conseil des écoles publiques. Sœur Mary Francesca participa à tous les aspects de sa fondation, y compris au dessin des plans, semble-t-il. L’école, qui offrait des cours de l’enseignement secondaire ainsi qu’un programme d’études commerciales, ouvrit ses portes dans les années 1920. Elle resterait en activité jusque dans les années 1960, lorsque le gouvernement de Louis-Joseph Robichaud* implanterait au Nouveau-Brunswick le Programme chances égales pour tous et mettrait sur pied des écoles secondaires partout dans la province, éliminant la nécessité d’un pensionnat.

Sœur Mary Francesca était déterminée à permettre aux jeunes filles de poursuivre des études secondaires et à ses collègues de développer leurs compétences en enseignement. En outre, son travail reflétait les efforts que fournirent de nombreuses catholiques en Amérique du Nord pendant l’entre-deux-guerres pour promouvoir un féminisme qui, tout en restant fidèle à l’Église, favorisait l’accès des femmes à une éducation libérale : elle insistait d’ailleurs beaucoup pour que ses consœurs fréquentent l’université. Une religieuse se souvint qu’elle « semblait savoir ce qu’on attendrait des sœurs dans un avenir éloigné, ou quelque peu éloigné ». Initialement, la supérieure générale de la congrégation, mère Mary Alphonsus (Joanna Carney), semble avoir contrarié les projets de sœur Mary Francesca, car, selon certaines sources, elle « ne voyait aucune nécessité » pour les femmes sous sa responsabilité de poursuivre des études postsecondaires. Sœur Mary Francesca persévéra néanmoins et, finalement, un certain nombre de religieuses fréquentèrent le Mount St Vincent College à Rockingham (Halifax). Sa volonté d’assurer une formation supérieure aux enseignantes de sa communauté ne se démentit pas. Dans les années 1920, elle écrivit au président de la University of New Brunswick à Fredericton, Cecil Charles Jones*, pour réclamer la venue de chargés d’enseignement à Saint-Jean en été ; en 1928, on y établit une école qui offrait des cours universitaires pendant la saison estivale.

Sœur Mary Francesca mourut en 1935, au milieu de la décennie où les Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception accueillirent le plus grand nombre de postulantes de toute leur histoire. Dans les derniers jours de sa grave maladie, à la Mount Carmel Academy, elle reçut la visite du premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick, Albert Allison Dysart*. Quand elle avait logé dans la maison de sa famille, celui-ci était un petit garçon. Agenouillé près de son lit, il l’embrassa et dit : « Après ma mère, elle est [la personne qui m’est la plus chère]. » Une consœur se souviendrait que, quelques jours plus tard, le confesseur de la souffrante, le père Donald MacDougald, « l’accompagna par la prière jusqu’au paradis ». En 1961, la St Vincent’s Alumnae Association créerait la Sister M. Francesca Memorial Scholarship en son honneur.

Elizabeth W. McGahan

Nous sommes très reconnaissante de l’aide que nous ont apportée les personnes suivantes : sœur Monica Plante, archiviste des Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception (Saint-Jean) ; Robert Gilmore et Tom McCaffrey des APNB ; Mary McDevitt, archiviste du diocèse catholique de Saint-Jean ; Kathleen MacKenzie, archiviste de la St Francis Xavier Univ. (Antigonish, N.-É.) ; et M. C. Havey, archiviste de la Congrégation du Très-Saint-Rédempteur (Toronto).

APNB, RS115-13/8 (record of licensed teachers, 1842–1877).— Arch. of the Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception, necrology records, p.4, no 111 ; new novitiate reg., p.4, no 11 ; Sr Mary Francesca file.— Église de Jésus-Christ des saints des derniers jours, « New Brunswick provincial deaths, 1815–1938 » : https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:XG8W-PDN (consulté le 3 janv. 2017).— Casket (Antigonish), 17 mai 1917 : 4.— E. W. McGahan, « Charity in the east : sectarianism, ethnicity and gender in Saint John, New Brunswick, schools », dans Changing habits : women’s religious orders in Canada, E. M. Smyth, édit. (Ottawa, 2007), 38–68 ; « The Sisters of Charity of the Immaculate Conception : a Canadian case study », SCHEC, Hist. studies, 61 (1995) : 99–133.— N.-B., Dept. of Education, Annual report of the schools of New Brunswick (Fredericton), 1884–1886.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Elizabeth W. McGahan, « McDONALD (MacDonald, Macdonald), MARY, dite sœur Mary Francesca », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 11 juill. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcdonald_mary_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcdonald_mary_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Elizabeth W. McGahan
Titre de l'article:    McDONALD (MacDonald, Macdonald), MARY, dite sœur Mary Francesca
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    11 juillet 2020