DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, Comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

d. 13 Dec. 1827 near Hammersmith (London), England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

McDONELL (Collachie), ALEXANDER, army and militia officer, office holder, politician, and land agent; b. 16 April 1762 in Fort Augustus, Scotland, second son of Allan McDonell of Collachie and Helen MacNab; brother of Angus*; m. early 1805 Anne Smith, sister of Samuel Smith*, in York (Toronto), Upper Canada, and they had five sons, including Allan Macdonell*, and two daughters; d. 18 March 1842 in Toronto.

Like other tacksmen families in the Highlands of Scotland, especially those of Roman Catholic persuasion, the McDonells of Collachie were by the 1770s under extreme economic pressure from their clan chieftain, and decided to emigrate to North America. Accompanied by other families of MacDonalds and MacDonells, they arrived in New York in 1773, settling under the auspices of Sir William Johnson* in the heart of the Mohawk valley. When the American revolution broke out, Allan McDonell joined his kinsmen in supporting the crown, and he was imprisoned by the rebels in 1776. He remained in custody until 1779, when he escaped to the province of Quebec and became a loyalist pensioner. His son Alexander enlisted in 1776 as a volunteer in the 1st battalion of the Royal Highland Emigrants, serving in the campaigns in the middle states and in the occupation of Philadelphia. With the evacuation of that city he made his way to Quebec and received a lieutenant’s commission in Butler’s Rangers, leading several raiding parties down the Mohawk valley in the last years of the war. As a half-pay officer Alexander joined his family in Quebec and accompanied them to Kingston in 1790. A wartime friendship with John Graves Simcoe* brought Alexander to Upper Canadian prominence in 1792 when Simcoe appointed him sheriff of the Home District; he transferred his residence to York in 1797. In 1793 he organized and accompanied an expedition under Simcoe to Lake Simcoe and Georgian Bay, his fluency in French, English, Gaelic, and Indian languages proving useful on this as on other occasions throughout his career.

The favour which had been shown to McDonell in Upper Canada survived Simcoe’s departure in 1796, and in 1800 he was elected to the House of Assembly for Glengarry and Prescott; he would sit off and on in the house for over 20 years. Glengarry undoubtedly chose him to represent the Highland community because of his family connections and his residence at York. In the 1804 session he seconded an unsuccessful motion to change the name of York to Toronto, and he failed also to get majority support for a bill requiring schools in each district in the province. A surviving fragment of McDonell’s diary for 1799 indicates that he was an active member of the small bachelor élite in the tiny capital of York, dining in the mess, drinking tea and wine in great quantities, and playing whist in the evening. Early in 1800 he served as second to John Small* in the notorious duel in which Attorney General John White* was fatally wounded; a few years earlier he had himself been challenged to a duel by William Jarvis*.

In 1804 McDonell was appointed agent of the Earl of Selkirk [Douglas*] in Upper Canada. Selkirk had met McDonell late in 1803 on his whirlwind tour of North America and had been impressed with him. The earl was always partial to Highland Catholics as subalterns, and McDonell’s political and social connections made him a particularly attractive choice to supervise Selkirk’s proposed settlement and private estate near Lake St Clair. Lieutenant Governor Peter Hunter* tried to warn Selkirk of McDonell’s weaknesses, but the advice went unheeded. Unfortunately, neither Baldoon, as the settlement became known, nor McDonell’s stewardship of it was successful. Selkirk and his agent had failed to appreciate the expense and difficulty of establishing a settlement in a wilderness area remote from communication and trade routes. Selkirk wanted his Highland settlers isolated from assimilating influences, and he was quite correct that the site he had selected was ideal for raising sheep, particularly because of adjacent marshlands. But the marshes bred malarial mosquitoes and the location was exposed to possible American depredations in time of war.

What Selkirk needed, even before the death in September 1804 of his resident manager, William Burn*, was a dependable supervisor on the spot. McDonell, indeed, had agreed in June 1804 to move to nearby Sandwich (Windsor) and devote his full attention to Selkirk’s affairs. Required by Selkirk to surrender all offices, McDonell understood, his employer noted, “that in accepting my agency he would take to it as his permanent employment & that he relinquished every idea of applying personally or by friends for Govt. promotion.” Such commitments were soon forgotten. McDonell’s political obligations – he was speaker of the assembly from 1805 to 1807 – and his continued ambition for office combined with his marriage in 1805 to anchor him firmly at York, and he spent increasingly less time at the troubled settlement.

Instead of a resident man of business, McDonell soon became an absentee paymaster, unable to control either expenditures or the restive Highlanders who had arrived at Baldoon in 1804. Although gaps in the accounts and the problems of currency conversion make it impossible to ascertain precisely how much Baldoon cost Selkirk, the figure was in excess of £10,000 sterling – and in the end he would have little to show for the outlay but thousands of acres of wilderness. In fairness to McDonell, it should be stated that he repeatedly warned Selkirk of the difficulties of the site and of the undertaking, but he also ignored specific instructions from his employer to remove the settlers to safer ground after the first malaria epidemic. A series of resident managers proved incapable of dealing with Baldoon’s many problems, even though Dr John Sims may have done a better job from 1807 to 1809 than McDonell allowed.

As early as 1807 McDonell suggested to Selkirk that he would like to be relieved of his agency if a better appointment such as the provincial receiver generalship became available. Selkirk replied, “It has appeared to me for some time past that your avocations are now so multiple that it is impossible for you to devote your individual attention to my affairs as constant residence at Baldoon would require a sacrifice of other objects more important to yourself.” But better jobs did not come along, and McDonell found his agency more attractive just as Selkirk, appalled at the bills he was receiving, both for their magnitude and for the sloppiness of the accounting system, was moving to replace him. Over the years McDonell had repeatedly ignored Selkirk’s instructions and orders, as well as the pleas from Sims to provide a safer refuge for the nearly 1,000 breeding sheep on Selkirk’s home farm in the event of an American war. In the first days of conflict, Sims predicted, “some party on the other side will endeavour to obtain possession of the sheep at Baldoon,” a prescient anticipation of exactly what would finally destroy Selkirk’s venture in 1812. Selkirk in effect replaced McDonell with Thomas Clark* of Sandwich in 1809, but the damage had been done. Clark reported after examining the accounts that there was no fraud, only lack of proper attention to the business.

Unlike fellow agent James Williams* on Prince Edward Island, McDonell did obey Selkirk’s summons to England to report in detail on his stewardship and accounts, departing Upper Canada on 29 June 1811 and returning in 1812 just in time to be appointed deputy paymaster general of the militia with the rank of colonel. He was captured by the Americans at Niagara (Niagara-on-the-Lake) in May 1813 and was incarcerated in the same prison in Lancaster, Pa, which a generation earlier had contained his father. Although he appears to have returned to York on parole by early 1814, he was not formally exchanged and able to resume his military duties until 25 May 1814. The loss of income was a serious blow.

Following the close of the war, McDonell in July 1815 accepted the superintendency of the Perth settlement, a belated attempt by the British government to populate Upper Canada with potential soldiers by encouraging emigration from Scotland. He was extremely popular with the emigrants, perhaps because the largesse he showed was backed by government credit and because he resided in the settlement, however briefly. After settling the Perth people in the summer of 1816, McDonell was appointed assistant secretary of the Indian Department in Upper Canada and took up temporary residence at Niagara, where he complained constantly of the costs and disadvantages of living away from York. By 1818 he was building a substantial residence in York which was a social centre of the town for many years. The income to support this establishment and a large family came from his army pension, offices, and 10,000 acres of prime land he had acquired in the province, but he was perennially short of money and worried about his financial situation. Eventual appointment as inspector of licences for the Home District, a post he held from 1828 to 1841, was particularly lucrative and welcome. He was named to the Legislative Council in January 1831 and served faithfully until the council was abolished in February 1841, an unreconstructed member of the “family compact,” Roman Catholic branch. In 1835 he was made a director of the Bank of Upper Canada.

Alexander McDonell was one of the most prominent members of his religious persuasion in York from his first residence there, and he was a lay leader of Catholics throughout most of his long life. A close friend of his namesake Bishop Alexander McDonell, he assisted in the erection of St Paul’s Church in York in 1821, having from 1806 been one of the lay trustees of the Catholic church lot in the town. He served as treasurer of St Paul’s congregation in 1830, and he supported McDonell when the bishop suspended the Reverend William John O’Grady for resisting church authority. He also led York Catholics in periodic expressions of support for the government against the reformers in the 1830s, and was one of those who made possible the special position and privileges enjoyed by Catholics in an ostensibly Protestant province.

McDonell’s career spanned the transition from loyalism to “family compact” in Upper Canada, and while offering some substantiation for those who would link the two, it also reminds us that neither was the monopoly of those who supported the Church of England. Like many of his kinsmen in North America, he was equally at home in the drawing-room or the wilderness, and throughout his life he lived in accordance with his mother’s early injunction “never to forget that all the blood in his veins was of a Highland gentleman.” Honour was of great importance to Alexander McDonell, and although some might occasionally question his judgement, none ever doubted his integrity.

J. M. Bumsted

Two short journals kept by Alexander McDonell (Collachie) have been published: his “Diary of Gov. Simcoe’s journey from Humber Bay to Matchetache Bay, 1793” is in Canadian Institute, Trans. (Toronto), ser.4, 1 (1889–90): 128–39, and a fragment from a diary of 1799 appears as “A journal by Sheriff Alexander Macdonell …” in J. E. Middleton and Fred Landon, The province of Ontario: a history. 1615–1927 (5v., Toronto, [1927–28]), 2: 1246–50.

Arch. of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Toronto, M (Macdonell papers), AB35, esp. 35.08. PAC, MG 19, E1, ser.1: 14540–55, 14601–4, 14843–45; MG 24, 18, 1–36. Corr. of Lieut. Governor Simcoe (Cruikshank), 4: 10–11. [Thomas Douglas, 5th Earl of] Selkirk, Lord Selkirk’s diary, 1803–1804; a journal of his travels in British North America and the northeastern United States, ed. P. C. T. White (Toronto, 1958; repr. New York, 1969), 147, 326, 341. Examiner (Toronto), 23 March 1842. Chadwick, Ontarian families, 1: 10–14. [A. J. Dooner, named] Brother Alfred, Catholic pioneers in Upper Canada (Toronto, 1947), 4, 7–9, 21–23, 25–31. I. C. C. Graham, Colonists from Scotland: emigration to North America. 1707–1783 (Ithaca, N.Y., 1956; repr. Port Washington, N.Y., and London, 1972), 81 et seq. Norman Macdonald, Canada, 1763–1841, immigration and settlement; the administration of the imperial land regulations (London and Toronto, 1939), 240–45. J. A. Macdonell, Sketches illustrating the early settlement and history of Glengarry in Canada, relating principally to the Revolutionary War of 1775–83, the War of 1812–14 and the rebellion of 1837–8 … (Montreal, 1893). A. E. D. MacKenzie, Baldoon: Lord Selkirk’s settlement in Upper Canada, ed. George Kerr (London, Ont., 1978). Hazel [Chisholm] Mathews, The mark of honour (Toronto. 1965), 37–40. W. L. Scott, “The Macdonells of Leek, Collachie and Aberchalder,” CCHA Report, 2 (1934–35): 22–32.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

J. M. Bumsted, “McDONELL (Collachie), ALEXANDER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 7, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcdonnell_alexander_7E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcdonnell_alexander_7E.html
Author of Article: J. M. Bumsted
Title of Article: McDONELL (Collachie), ALEXANDER
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 7
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1988
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 13, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

McDONELL (Collachie), ALEXANDER, officier dans l’armée et dans la milice, fonctionnaire, homme politique et agent foncier, né le 16 avril 1762 à Fort Augustus, Écosse, deuxième fils d’Allan McDonell of Collachie et de Helen MacNab, et frère d’Angus* ; au début de 1805, il épousa à York (Toronto) Anne Smith, sœur de Samuel Smith*, et ils eurent cinq fils, dont Allan Macdonell*, et deux filles ; décédé le 18 mars 1842 à Toronto.

Dans les années 1770, à l’instar d’autres familles de tacksmen des Highlands d’Écosse, surtout celles qui étaient de foi catholique, les McDonell of Collachie décidèrent d’émigrer en Amérique du Nord pour échapper aux étouffantes exigences économiques de leur chef de clan. En compagnie d’autres familles de MacDonald et de MacDonell, ils débarquèrent à New York en 1773 et s’établirent, sous le parrainage de sir William Johnson*, au cœur de la vallée de la Mohawk. Dès le début de la Révolution américaine, Allan McDonell se porta à la défense de la couronne avec les membres de son clan. Emprisonné par les rebelles en 1776, et détenu jusqu’en 1779, il s’enfuit dans la province de Québec et devint pensionné loyaliste. Son fils Alexander s’enrôla en 1776 comme volontaire dans le 1er bataillon des Royal Highland Emigrants, avec lequel il fit campagne dans les états du Centre et participa à l’occupation de Philadelphie. Après l’évacuation de cette ville, il se rendit à Québec et reçut une commission de lieutenant dans les Butler’s Rangers. Pendant les dernières années de la guerre, il mena plusieurs raids dans la vallée de la Mohawk. Officier à la demi-solde, Alexander rejoignit sa famille à Québec puis l’accompagna à Kingston en 1790. Pendant les hostilités, il s’était lié d’amitié avec John Graves Simcoe*, qui lui donna en 1792 un poste important dans le Haut-Canada, celui de shérif du district de Home ; cinq ans plus tard, il élut domicile à York. En 1793, il organisa et fit, sous la direction de Simcoe, une expédition au lac Simcoe et dans la baie Géorgienne ; sa connaissance du français, de l’anglais, du gaélique et des langues indiennes se révéla alors utile, comme elle allait l’être en d’autres occasions tout au long de sa carrière.

Demeuré dans les bonnes grâces des autorités haut-canadiennes après le départ de Simcoe en 1796, McDonell fut élu, en 1800, député de la circonscription de Glengarry and Prescott. Il allait siéger à l’Assemblée par intermittence durant plus de 20 ans. Sans aucun doute, les électeurs highlanders de Glengarry le choisissaient comme représentant à cause de ses liens familiaux et parce qu’il résidait à York. À la session de 1804, il appuya sans succès une motion qui visait à remplacer le nom d’York par celui de Toronto et ne réussit pas non plus à convaincre la majorité de soutenir un projet de loi qui exigeait l’ouverture d’une école dans tous les districts de la province. Un fragment de son journal de 1799 indique que, à l’instar des quelques autres membres de l’élite et célibataires qui habitaient la petite capitale provinciale, il dînait au mess, buvait du thé et du vin en abondance et passait ses soirées à jouer au whist. Au début de 1800, il servit de témoin à John Small* à l’occasion du célèbre duel où le procureur général John White* fut blessé à mort. Quelques années plus tôt, il avait lui-même été provoqué en duel par William Jarvis*.

En 1804, McDonell devint l’agent du comte de Selkirk [Douglas*] dans le Haut-Canada. Selkirk avait fait sa connaissance à la fin de l’année précédente, au cours de sa tournée éclair de l’Amérique du Nord, et McDonell l’avait impressionné. Le comte préféra toujours prendre des Highlanders catholiques comme subalternes, et McDonell, en raison de ses relations politiques et sociales, semblait tout désigné pour superviser le domaine personnel de Selkirk et l’établissement que ce dernier envisageait de fonder près du lac Saint-Clair. Le lieutenant-gouverneur Peter Hunter* tenta bien de le prévenir des faiblesses de McDonell, mais en vain. Hélas ! Baldoon (tel était le nom de l’établissement) ne fut pas une réussite, non plus que la gérance que McDonell y exerça. Selkirk et son agent n’avaient pas prévu combien il serait difficile et coûteux de fonder une colonie de peuplement dans un coin perdu, loin des voies de communication et de commerce. Le comte voulait préserver de l’assimilation ses colons highlanders, et il avait passablement raison de croire que l’emplacement serait idéal pour l’élevage du mouton, surtout à cause des marais avoisinants. Toutefois, ces marais abritaient des moustiques porteurs de malaria, et l’endroit risquait d’être ravagé par les Américains en cas de guerre.

Ce qu’il fallait à Selkirk, même avant la mort de son administrateur résidant, William Burn*, en septembre 1804, c’était un superviseur digne de confiance qui demeurerait sur les lieux. McDonell avait bien accepté, en juin 1804, de s’installer tout près, à Sandwich (Windsor), et de se vouer aux affaires de Selkirk. Tenu par lui d’abandonner toutes ses autres charges, il avait convenu, notait Selkirk, « qu’en acceptant de devenir [son] agent, il prenait un poste permanent et renonçait tout à fait à demander une promotion au gouvernement, soit de lui-même ou par l’intermédiaire de ses amis ». Mais McDonell oublia vite ses promesses. À cause de ses obligations politiques (il fut président de l’Assemblée de 1805 à 1807) et de son ambition d’obtenir des places, tout comme de son mariage en 1805, il s’enracina à York et passa de moins en moins de temps à Baldoon, où les problèmes abondaient.

Plutôt qu’un superviseur résidant, McDonell devint vite un trésorier absentéiste qui n’arrivait ni à comprimer les dépenses ni à maîtriser les rétifs Highlanders arrivés à Baldoon en 1804. Des lacunes comptables et la conversion des monnaies empêchent d’évaluer avec précision combien Baldoon coûta à Selkirk, mais il est sûr que la somme dépassa les £10 000 (cours d’Angleterre) – tout cela pour n’aboutir pratiquement qu’à des milliers d’acres en friche. En toute justice, il faut noter que McDonell exposa souvent à Selkirk les difficultés de l’emplacement et de l’entreprise. Par contre, il ne l’écouta pas lorsque celui-ci lui enjoignit, après la première épidémie de malaria, d’installer ses colons dans un lieu plus sain. Les administrateurs résidants qui se succédèrent à Baldoon ne parvinrent pas à résoudre les nombreux problèmes créés par le lieu, mais de 1807 à 1809 le docteur John Sims se débrouilla peut-être mieux que McDonell ne le reconnaissait.

Dès 1807, McDonell laissa entendre à Selkirk qu’il souhaitait être relevé de son poste d’agent si une fonction plus intéressante, par exemple celle de receveur général de la province, devenait vacante. Selkirk répondit : « Il me semble depuis quelque temps déjà que vos occupations sont devenues si nombreuses qu’il vous est impossible de consacrer une attention personnelle à mes affaires, étant donné que résider en permanence à Baldoon vous obligerait à sacrifier des objectifs plus importants pour vous. » Mais aucun poste plus intéressant ne se présenta, et McDonell se mit à trouver plus d’attraits à celui qu’il occupait, au moment même où Selkirk, atterré par le montant des factures et par la faiblesse du système comptable, s’apprêtait à le remplacer. Au fil des ans, McDonell avait à maintes reprises négligé les instructions et les ordres de Selkirk, comme il n’avait pas écouté Sims, qui le pressait de trouver un endroit où le millier de moutons de la ferme personnelle de Selkirk seraient à l’abri en cas de guerre contre les Américains. Dès les premiers jours du conflit, prévoyait Sims, « quelque détachement ennemi tenter[ait] de mettre la main sur les moutons de Baldoon » – ce qui allait effectivement survenir en 1812 et détruire l’entreprise d’élevage. Selkirk remplaça McDonell en 1809 par Thomas Clark*, de Sandwich, mais il était trop tard. Après examen des comptes, Clark rapporta qu’il n’y avait pas eu fraude mais négligence dans la conduite des affaires.

Contrairement à son homologue James Williams*, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, McDonell se rendit en Angleterre lorsque Selkirk l’y convoqua pour avoir un état détaillé de son administration et de ses comptes. Parti du Haut-Canada le 29 juin 1811, il revint en 1812, juste à temps pour qu’on le nomme trésorier-payeur général adjoint de la milice, avec le grade de colonel. Fait prisonnier par les Américains à Niagara (Niagara-on-the-Lake) en mai 1813, il fut incarcéré à Lancaster, en Pennsylvanie, dans la prison même où l’on avait détenu son père une trentaine d’années plus tôt. Même si, apparemment, il avait été libéré sur parole et se trouvait à York au début de 1814, il ne fut échangé officiellement et ne put reprendre ses fonctions militaires que le 25 mai 1814. La perte de revenu qu’il avait subie l’éprouva durement.

Une fois les hostilités terminées, McDonell accepta en juillet 1815 la surintendance de l’établissement de Perth, que le gouvernement britannique fonda, trop tard, pour encourager l’immigration écossaise et peupler le Haut-Canada d’hommes aptes au service militaire. Il était extrêmement populaire auprès des immigrants, peut-être parce que le crédit gouvernemental lui permettait des largesses et parce qu’il résida à Perth même, quoique pendant peu de temps. Après avoir passé l’été de 1816 à installer les colons, il devint secrétaire adjoint du département des Affaires indiennes et s’établit temporairement à Niagara, où les dépenses et désavantages que lui imposait l’éloignement d’York furent pour lui un constant sujet de récriminations. En 1818, il construisait à York une vaste résidence qui allait être pendant de nombreuses années un haut lieu mondain. Pour financer ces travaux et subvenir aux besoins de sa nombreuse famille, il pouvait compter sur sa pension militaire, le revenu de ses diverses fonctions et le produit des 10 000 acres de terre de première qualité dont il avait fait l’acquisition dans la province, mais il était toujours à court d’argent et inquiet de sa situation financière. C’est donc avec soulagement qu’il apprit en 1828 sa nomination au poste lucratif d’inspecteur des licences du district de Home ; il devait conserver ce poste jusqu’en 1841. Membre depuis longtemps du family compact et de son aile catholique, il fut nommé en 1831 au Conseil législatif, qu’il servit fidèlement jusqu’à son abolition en 1841. En 1835, il entra au conseil d’administration de la Bank of Upper Canada.

À compter de son premier séjour à York, McDonell fut l’un des catholiques les plus en vue de l’endroit ; d’ailleurs, pendant la majeure partie de son existence, il servit comme responsable laïque auprès de ses coreligionnaires. Ami intime de son homonyme l’évêque Alexander McDonell, il participa à l’érection de l’église de St Paul d’York en 1821 ; à compter de 1806, il avait été l’un des administrateurs laïques du terrain sur lequel devait s’élever cette église. Trésorier de la paroisse St Paul en 1830, il appuya Mgr McDonell lorsque celui-ci suspendit l’abbé William John O’Grady pour avoir résisté à l’autorité ecclésiastique. Dans les années 1830, il prit plusieurs fois la direction des catholiques yorkais pour soutenir le gouvernement contre les réformistes, et il fut l’un de ceux qui permirent à ses coreligionnaires d’obtenir une position spéciale et des privilèges dans une province en apparence protestante.

La carrière d’Alexander McDonell coïncide avec la transition qui mena le Haut-Canada de la période des loyalistes à celle du family compact et, bien qu’elle offre des arguments à ceux qui voient un lien entre ces deux groupes, elle rappelle que ni l’un ni l’autre n’était le monopole des partisans de l’Église d’Angleterre. Comme nombre des membres de son clan établis en Amérique du Nord, McDonell était aussi à l’aise dans les salons qu’en forêt, et il vécut toujours conformément à l’injonction que sa mère lui avait faite jadis de « ne jamais oublier que tout le sang qui coulait dans ses veines était celui d’un gentleman des Highlands ». McDonell était un homme d’honneur et, si son jugement a pu être mis en doute, jamais son intégrité ne l’a été.

J. M. Bumsted

Deux courts journaux tenus par Alexander McDonell (Collachie) ont été publiés, l’un sous le titre de « Diary of Gov. Simcoe’s journey from Humber Bay to Matchetache Bay, 1793 », Canadian Institute, Trans. (Toronto), sér. 4, 1 (1889–1890) : 128–139, et l’autre, un fragment d’un journal daté de 1799, sous le titre de « A journal by Sheriff Alexander Macdonell […] », dans J. E. Middleton et Fred Landon, The province of Ontario : a history, 1615–1927 (5 vol., Toronto, [1927–1928]), 2 : 1246–1250.

APC, MG 19, E1, sér. 1 : 14540–14555, 14601–14604, 14843–14845 ; MG 24, I8, 1–36.— Arch. of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Toronto, M (Macdonell papers), AB35, particulièrement 35.08.— Corr. of Lieut. Governor Simcoe (Cruikshank), 4 : 10–11.— [Thomas Douglas, 5e comte de] Selkirk, Lord Selkirk’s diary, 1803–1804 ; a journal of his travels in British North America and the northeastern United States, P. C. T. White, édit. (Toronto, 1958 ; réimpr., New York, 1969), 147, 326, 341.— Examiner (Toronto), 23 mars 1842.— Chadwick, Ontarian families, 1 : 10–14.— [A. J. Dooner] Brother Alfred, Catholic pioneers in Upper Canada (Toronto, 1947), 4, 7–9, 21–23, 25–31.— I. C. C. Graham, Colonists from Scotland : emigration to North America, 1707–1783 (Ithaca, N.Y., 1956 ; réimpr., Port Washington, N.Y., et Londres, 1972), 81 et suivantes.— Norman Macdonald, Canada, 1763–1841, immigration and settlement ; the administration of the imperial land regulations (Londres et Toronto, 1939), 240–245.— J. A. Macdonell, Sketches illustrating the early settlement and history of Glengarry in Canada, relating principally to the Revolutionary War of 1775–83, the War of 1812–14 and the rebellion of 1837–8 […] (Montréal, 1893).— A. E. D. MacKenzie, Baldoon : Lord Selkirk’s settlement in Upper Canada, George Kerr, édit. (London, Ontario, 1978).— Hazel [Chisholm] Mathews, The mark of honour (Toronto, 1965), 37–40.— W. L. Scott, « The Macdonells of Leek, Collachie and Aberchalder », SCHEC Report, 2 (1934–1935) : 22–32.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

J. M. Bumsted, « McDONELL (Collachie), ALEXANDER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 7, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 11 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcdonnell_alexander_7F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcdonnell_alexander_7F.html
Auteur de l'article:   J. M. Bumsted
Titre de l'article:   McDONELL (Collachie), ALEXANDER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 7
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1988
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   11 décembre 2017