DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

BROWN, CORYDON PARTLOW – Volume XII (1891-1900)

b. 15 Nov. 1848 in Southampton, N.B.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Archives of Manitoba, McGregor, J. D. 1.

Source: Link

McGREGOR, JAMES DUNCAN, businessman, livestock breeder, rancher, and office holder; b. 29 Aug. 1860 in Amherstburg, Upper Canada, son of David McGregor, a livery-stable owner, and Annie Smith; m. 10 April 1883 Elizabeth (Lizzy) Murphy (d. 1902) in North Cypress, Man., and they had three sons, one of whom predeceased him, and one daughter; d. 15 March 1935 in Winnipeg.

Educated in Windsor, Upper Canada, James Duncan McGregor left school at age 15. In the spring of 1877 he moved with his parents and siblings to Winnipeg, where his father and uncle opened a sale-and-commission business dealing in horses, oxen, feed, harnesses, wagons, buggies, and carts. Two years later McGregor set himself up as a trader in the frontier settlement of Portage la Prairie. In 1881, when the Canadian Pacific Railway decided on the route through Brandon, McGregor arrived there before the line was completed and was soon in business, outfitting settlers with horses and cattle. In 1885 he created J. D. McGregor and Company, which auctioned horses, cattle, and sheep. Four years later, he co-founded Munn, McGregor and Company with Henry Toke Munn; its primary function was to purchase western range horses, tame them, and sell them to Manitoba farmers. They dissolved their partnership in 1893, probably at McGregor’s insistence, because of difficulties in collecting money owed to them by poor farmers, most of whom purchased on credit. Nevertheless, McGregor’s original firm stayed in business until at least 1895 and was quite successful. By 1889 he had built for his family a residence that the Brandon Mail described as “one of the handsomest” in the city.

McGregor’s dream was to find a breed of cattle that would “produce quality beef economically.” He first encountered such animals at the farm of Hiram Walker and Sons [see Hiram Walker*] in Walkerville (Windsor), Ont. He saw similar cattle at the Quorn Ranch [see John Ware*] in the District of Alberta. In 1889 Walter Frederick Campbell Gordon-Cumming, a shareholder in the Quorn, had imported 40 Aberdeen Angus heifers and 3 bulls from his farm in Scotland. Later that year McGregor brought 2,000 cattle to the Quorn Ranch to be fattened and noticed the Aberdeen Angus herd, which he subsequently purchased and moved to one of his farms south of Oak Lake, Man. In the early 1890s, under the firm name Glencarnock Stock Farms, he established several farms, among which were two main properties, Glencarnock Farm proper, three miles south of Brandon, and Griswold (Deer) Farm, 35 miles west of the city; as well, there was Gwenmar Farm, near the community of Kemnay. During the same period he also acquired fillies from California and prize-winning stallions, Shropshire sheep, and Tamworth hogs from England, either to sell in Canada or to improve his own stock.

With the creation of the Yukon judicial district on 16 Aug. 1897, McGregor was appointed one of two inspectors of mines, with an annual salary of $1,500, by his close friend Clifford Sifton*, federal minister of the interior. He left soon afterwards for Dawson. Now 37 years old, McGregor stood six feet tall, had broad shoulders, and weighed over 200 pounds. He was a strapping and courageous man, well suited for the rigours of the trek to the Yukon and life among the miners. A natural leader, he confronted tough situations head-on and built a reputation for being honest, forthright, and fair.

McGregor’s time in office, however, was not without controversy. In 1899 he was acquitted of charges of accepting bribes and illegally using official information. That year Sifton named him liquor commissioner for the Yukon, at which time he left his post as mining inspector. He would stay in the territory for about eight years in all, regularly returning to Brandon and his farms.

In 1901 McGregor obtained a lease of more than 47,600 acres of land near the junction of the Bow and Oldman rivers, west of Medicine Hat (Alta). Arthur H. Hitchcock, a banker from Moose Jaw (Sask.), took a lease for a slightly larger acreage adjoining McGregor’s holding. To manage the Bow River properties, they incorporated the Grand Forks Cattle Company on 28 Aug. 1903 with the help of other investors. The firm was successful, and by 1906 it had almost 6,000 head of range cattle, 875 pure-bred cattle, and 951 horses. McGregor, Hitchcock, and British partners began to organize a massive irrigation project. They established the Robins Irrigation Company to acquire additional land nearby. In the fall of 1906 ownership of the cattle and the irrigation companies was transferred to the Southern Alberta Land Company, which was funded by the Canadian Agency, a British investment firm. McGregor became manager and oversaw the diversion of water from the Bow River to an artificial reservoir (now McGregor Lake) and the building of canals, dams, and flumes to irrigate more than 95,000 acres. Construction began in 1909, but three years later, after the collapse of diversionary works, the chief engineer, Arthur Grace, resigned and McGregor was replaced as manager. He would remain with the company as its farm operations adviser.

The quality of the animals bred by Glencarnock Stock Farms, which McGregor had continued to oversee despite his absences, improved significantly in 1902 when he and James Bowman of Guelph, Ont., a noted breeder of doddies (as Aberdeen Angus were called), imported an outstanding bull from Scotland named Prince of Benton. In 1909 and again three years later McGregor arranged for significant importations of cattle from Scotland. The foundations were now laid for a breeding program that would produce one of the leading Aberdeen Angus herds in North America. Between 1908 and 1925 McGregor would show his cattle extensively across the continent, and during that period they were awarded “more prizes than any [other] herd in [Canada].” On 2 Dec. 1912 at the Chicago International Livestock Exposition his Aberdeen Angus steer Glencarnock Victor won the grand championship for the best fat animal. The following year McGregor won the same competition with Glencarnock Victor II. His success in Chicago did more than anything else to draw the attention of Canadian cattlemen to the merits of the breed. In 1923 he won his third grand championship, on this occasion with Blackcap Revolution, one of the greatest breeding bulls of his time. McGregor relied on the prepotency of the Aberdeen Angus bull “for the improvement of the common cattle of the country.”

In McGregor’s view expositions and fairs would “set the standard for [the] requirements of intelligent production and marketing [and serve as] an advertising medium for the producers of Canada.” This conviction gave him a strong motive for establishing, in 1907, the Brandon Winter Fair and Livestock Association, later the Manitoba Winter Fair and Fat Stock Association. The fair, over which McGregor would preside for 15 years, was first held in March 1908; it became the prime testing ground in Canada for the Aberdeen Angus breed and its crosses.

McGregor became famous within the beef industry for developing an innovative breeding technique: instead of using pedigreed cattle for reproduction, he selected bulls based on their individual characteristics, choosing ones whose aggregate of distinctive features matched those of the foundation cows. He gradually convinced prairie farmers of the importance of raising quality stock. In 1929 Maclean’s magazine applauded his method: “Shaggy, rough hides became smooth and glossy. Former canners were transformed into prime beeves.”

By urging farmers in Manitoba to stop depending solely on wheat and those in Saskatchewan and Alberta to cease concentrating on livestock, McGregor also played a role in diversifying western Canada’s monocultures. He pioneered the general cultivation of alfalfa there and helped establish the growing of sweet clover and fodder corn in Manitoba. In recognition of his “development of agricultural thought and practice, and in appreciation of his efforts as a breeder and exhibitor of Aberdeen Angus cattle,” the Agricultural College of Manitoba presented him with an honorary diploma on 3 April 1925. On 2 Dec. 1928 his portrait was hung in the Saddle and Sirloin Club of Chicago, the highest honour conferred by stockmen. The following year, on 25 January, McGregor succeeded Theodore Arthur Burrows* as lieutenant governor of Manitoba, a position he reluctantly accepted “as a compliment to the whole farming industry.” He would use this office to further the agricultural interests of Canada. Former business partner Munn described him as “a man of tremendous drive and energy, and with a remarkable imagination and vision as regards the development of the Canadian West.” With what the Winnipeg Evening Tribune described as “mingled benignity and quiet authority,” McGregor used the office as a platform for spreading his vision of Canada’s future, which involved building railways and roads to exploit the vast mineral resources of the north.

McGregor sold off his entire herd of cattle in October 1930. Although his sons and others had taken over Glencarnock Stock Farms, incorporating it a year and a half before the sale, the enterprise failed to flourish after the patriarch left, and the family had divested all their interests in the business by 1935.

An important influence on the development of the stock-raising industry in Canada, McGregor had been a member of the Canadian Aberdeen Angus Association and was its president from 1911 to 1921; he was also an organizer and president of the Manitoba Stock Association and a member of the Western Canada Live-stock Union. In 1918 he was appointed to the Canada Food Board as director of agricultural labour. In 1929 he became the founding president of the Canadian Council of Beef Producers, and the following year the Nor’‑West Farmer awarded him an honorary Master Farmer Medal. In addition, he headed the Dominion Agricultural Credit Company Limited, established in 1931 to help farmers diversify their production by raising livestock, but he resigned in 1934 because of ill health.

James Duncan McGregor was a bold and enterprising figure in the development of the beef industry in western Canada and in agriculture more generally, internationally known for his pioneering methods in stockbreeding. On 15 March 1935, shortly after retiring from the lieutenant governor’s office, McGregor died at his Winnipeg residence. He was buried in Brandon cemetery four days later, the opening day of the city’s 28th winter fair. In 1979 he was inducted into the Manitoba Agricultural Hall of Fame.

Peter Hanlon

AM, CCA (Companies office corporation docs.) 0059, GR6427, file 425g, Glucarnock Stock Farms, Q 24620. Brandon Univ., S. J. McKee Arch. (Man.), RG 5, James Duncan McGregor fonds. GA, M 2389/627; M 2389/1055. LAC, R190-138-X, files 419067, 429492; R7693-0-0. Man., Dept. of Justice, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), no.1883-001263. Manitoba Free Press, 3 Dec. 1912, 3 Dec. 1913, 5 Dec. 1923, 4 Dec. 1928, 16 March 1935. Nor’-West Farmer (Winnipeg), 5 May, 20 Oct., 30 Nov. 1930. Shath Square, “Lieutenant-governors of Manitoba: part eleven,” Winnipeg Free Press, 10 July 1971, New Leisure: 22. Winnipeg Free Press, 16 March 1935. Edward Brado, Cattle kingdom: early ranching in Alberta (Vancouver, 1984). Kenneth Coates and Fred McGuiness, Pride of the land: an affectionate history of Brandon’s agricultural exhibitions (Winnipeg, 1985). Macdonald Coleman, The face of yesterday: the story of Brandon, Manitoba (Brandon, [1957]). Cornwallis Centennial Committee, Municipal memories ([Cornwallis, Man., 1984?]). F. W. Crawford, Aberdeen-Angus cattle in Canada (Winnipeg, 1944). J. F. Gilpin, Prairie promises: history of the Bow River irrigation district (Vauxhall, Alta, 1996). Griswold United Church Women, Bridging the years: Griswold centennial booklet, 1867–1967 ([Griswold, Man., 1967]). John Hurley, “From sombrero to cocked hat,” Maclean’s, 1 Nov. 1929: 11. H. T. Munn, Prairie trails and Arctic by-ways (London, 1932). A. H. Sanders, A history of Aberdeen-Angus cattle … (Chicago, 1928). F. H. Schofield, The story of Manitoba (3v., Winnipeg, 1913).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Peter Hanlon, “MCGREGOR, JAMES DUNCAN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 15, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcgregor_james_duncan_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcgregor_james_duncan_16E.html
Author of Article: Peter Hanlon
Title of Article: MCGREGOR, JAMES DUNCAN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: November 15, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

CHEWETT, JAMES GRANT – Volume IX (1861-1870)

décédé le 7 décembre 1862 à Toronto, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Archives of Manitoba, McGregor, J. D. 1.

Provenance : Lien

McGREGOR, JAMES DUNCAN, homme d’affaires, éleveur de bétail, propriétaire de ranch et fonctionnaire, né le 29 août 1860 à Amherstburg, Haut-Canada, fils de David McGregor, propriétaire d’écurie de louage, et d’Annie Smith ; le 10 avril 1883, il épousa à North Cypress, Manitoba, Elizabeth (Lizzy) Murphy (décédée en 1902), et ils eurent trois fils, dont un qui mourut avant lui, et une fille ; décédé le 15 mars 1935 à Winnipeg.

James Duncan McGregor étudia à Windsor, dans le Haut-Canada, avant de quitter l’école à 15 ans. Au printemps de 1877, il s’installa avec ses parents et sa fratrie à Winnipeg, où son père et son oncle ouvrirent une entreprise de vente à la commission de chevaux, bœufs, nourriture pour animaux, harnais, chariots, bogheis et charrettes. Deux ans plus tard, McGregor s’établit comme commerçant dans la colonie frontalière de Portage-la-Prairie. Il fut décidé en 1881 que le chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique passerait par Brandon ; McGregor s’y rendit avant la fin de la construction de la voie ferrée et se lança sans tarder en affaires, fournissant chevaux et bétail aux colons. Il créa en 1885 la J. D. McGregor and Company, qui vendait aux enchères des chevaux, du bétail et des moutons. Quatre ans plus tard, il cofonda avec Henry Toke Munn la Munn, McGregor and Company, dont le but premier consistait à acheter des chevaux de l’Ouest et à les domestiquer pour les vendre à des agriculteurs manitobains. Les deux hommes mirent fin à leur association en 1893, probablement à la demande de McGregor, parce qu’ils avaient du mal à se faire payer par les agriculteurs pauvres, qui achetaient pour la plupart à crédit. Cependant, la première entreprise de McGregor poursuivit avec succès ses activités au moins jusqu’en 1895. En 1889, il avait déjà construit pour sa famille une résidence « parmi les plus belles » de la ville, d’après l’édition du 15 août du Brandon Mail.

McGregor rêvait de trouver une espèce bovine qui permettrait de « produire du bœuf de qualité à moindre coût ». Il vit d’abord ce type de bétail à la ferme Hiram Walker and Sons [V. Hiram Walker*] à Walkerville (Windsor), en Ontario, puis d’autres bêtes semblables au Quorn Ranch [V. John Ware*], dans le district d’Alberta. En 1889, Walter Frederick Campbell Gordon-Cumming, actionnaire du Quorn, avait importé 40 génisses Aberdeen-Angus et trois taureaux de sa ferme en Écosse. Plus tard la même année, tandis qu’il amenait 2 000 animaux au Quorn Ranch pour les faire engraisser, McGregor remarqua le troupeau d’Aberdeen-Angus, qu’il acheta ensuite et transporta dans une de ses fermes au sud d’Oak Lake, au Manitoba. Sous la raison sociale Glencarnock Stock Farms, il établit plusieurs fermes au début des années 1890 ; les deux principales étaient Glencarnock Farm, à trois milles au sud de Brandon, et Griswold (Deer) Farm, à 35 milles à l’ouest de la ville, auxquelles s’ajoutait Gwenmar Farm, près de la communauté de Kemnay. À la même époque, il fit l’acquisition de pouliches de Californie et d’étalons primés, de moutons Shropshire et de porcs Tamworth d’Angleterre, soit pour les vendre au Canada ou améliorer son propre cheptel.

À la création du district judiciaire du Yukon, le 16 août 1897, McGregor fut nommé à un des deux postes d’inspecteur des mines, avec un salaire annuel de 1 500 $, par son grand ami Clifford Sifton*, ministre fédéral de l’Intérieur. Il partit peu après pour Dawson. Il avait alors 37 ans. McGregor, qui mesurait 6 pieds, arborait de larges épaules et pesait plus de 200 livres, était bien bâti et courageux, capable d’affronter les rigueurs du voyage jusqu’au Yukon et de vivre parmi les mineurs. Leader naturel, il aborda de front des situations difficiles et acquit une réputation d’homme honnête, franc et juste.

Néanmoins, le mandat de McGregor suscita quelques controverses. En 1899, il fut acquitté d’accusations d’avoir accepté des pots-de-vin et utilisé illégalement des renseignements officiels. La même année, il quitta son poste d’inspecteur minier, quand Sifton le nomma commissaire du Yukon aux boissons alcoolisées. En tout, il resterait environ huit ans au Yukon, pendant lesquels il retournerait régulièrement à Brandon et à ses fermes.

En 1901, McGregor obtint une location de plus de 47 600 acres de terre près de la jonction des rivières Bow et Oldman, à l’ouest de Medicine Hat (Alberta). Arthur Hitchcock, banquier de Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan), loua une terre légèrement plus grande attenante à celle de McGregor. Pour gérer les propriétés de la rivière Bow, ils constituèrent juridiquement la Grand Forks Cattle Company le 28 août 1903, avec l’aide d’autres investisseurs. L’entreprise fructifia et, en 1906, elle comptait près de 6 000 têtes de bétail de pâturage, 875 bovins de race pure et 951 chevaux. McGregor, Hitchcock et leurs associés britanniques entreprirent un gigantesque projet d’irrigation. Ils fondèrent la Robins Irrigation Company dans le but d’acquérir des terres avoisinantes supplémentaires. À l’automne de 1906, la propriété du bétail et des sociétés d’irrigation fut transférée à la Southern Alberta Land Company, financée par la Canadian Agency, entreprise d’investissement britannique. McGregor en devint le gérant et supervisa la dérivation des eaux de la rivière Bow vers un réservoir artificiel (aujourd’hui le lac McGregor) et la construction de canaux, de barrages et de chenaux pour irriguer plus de 95 000 acres. La construction commença en 1909, mais, trois ans plus tard, après l’échec des travaux de diversion, l’ingénieur en chef Arthur Grace démissionna et McGregor perdit son poste de gérant. Il continuerait de conseiller l’entreprise sur ses opérations agricoles.

La qualité des animaux élevés par les Glencarnock Stock Farms, que McGregor n’avait pas cessé de superviser malgré ses absences, connut une nette amélioration en 1902, lorsque McGregor et James Bowman de Guelph, en Ontario, célèbre éleveur de doddies, comme on surnommait les bovins sans corne Aberdeen-Angus, importèrent d’Écosse un remarquable taureau nommé Prince of Benton. En 1909, et encore trois ans plus tard, McGregor organisa d’importantes importations de bovins d’Écosse. Ainsi furent posées les fondations d’un programme d’élevage dont émanerait un des meilleurs troupeaux d’Aberdeen-Angus en Amérique du Nord. Entre 1908 et 1925, McGregor présenta son bétail partout en Amérique du Nord et, durant cette période, son troupeau reçut « plus de prix que tout [autre] au [Canada] ». Le 2 décembre 1912, son bœuf Aberdeen-Angus Glencarnock Victor remporta le grand championnat à la Chicago International Livestock Exposition pour le meilleur animal gras. L’année suivante, McGregor gagna le même concours avec Glencarnock Victor II. Son succès à Chicago attira surtout l’attention d’éleveurs canadiens sur la valeur de cette race de bovins. En 1923, McGregor remporta un troisième grand championnat, cette fois avec Blackcap Revolution, un des plus grands taureaux reproducteurs de son époque. L’éleveur comptait sur la prépotence du taureau Aberdeen-Angus « pour l’amélioration du bétail commun au pays ».

Selon McGregor, les expositions et les foires « fixer[aient] les normes [d’une] production et [d’une] mise en marché intelligentes [et serviraient de] moyen publicitaire pour les producteurs du Canada ». Cette conviction le poussa à fonder, en 1907, la Brandon Winter Fair and Livestock Association, qui deviendrait la Manitoba Winter Fair and Fat Stock Association. Cette foire, que McGregor présiderait durant 15 ans, eut lieu pour la première fois en 1908 ; elle devint le principal terrain d’essai au Canada pour la race Aberdeen-Angus et ses croisements.

McGregor obtint la célébrité dans l’industrie du bœuf en développant une technique de reproduction innovatrice : au lieu d’utiliser des bovins de race pour la reproduction, il sélectionnait des taureaux pour la reproduction en fonction de leurs caractéristiques individuelles, choisissant ceux dont l’ensemble des traits distinctifs correspondaient à ceux des vaches souches. Progressivement, il convainquit les agriculteurs des Prairies de l’importance d’élever du bétail de qualité. En 1929, le magazine Maclean’s loua sa méthode : « Les peaux hirsutes et rêches devinrent lisses et brillantes. L’ancienne viande à conserves fut transformée en bœuf de premier choix. »

En ayant fortement incité les agriculteurs manitobains à ne plus dépendre uniquement du blé, et ceux de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta à cesser de se concentrer sur le bétail, McGregor avait aussi contribué à diversifier les monocultures de l’Ouest canadien. Il fut un pionnier de la culture de la luzerne partout dans cette région, et aida à établir celle du mélilot et de plantes fourragères au Manitoba. Pour son apport au « développement de la pensée et des pratiques agricoles, et en reconnaissance de ses efforts comme éleveur et exposant de bovins Aberdeen-Angus », l’Agricultural College of Manitoba lui remit un diplôme honorifique le 3 avril 1925. Le 2 décembre 1928, on accrocha son portrait au Saddle and Sirloin Club of Chicago, le plus grand honneur conféré par les éleveurs. Le 25 janvier 1929, il succéda à Theodore Arthur Burrows* à titre de lieutenant-gouverneur du Manitoba, poste qu’il accepta avec réticence « comme un compliment à l’ensemble de l’industrie agricole » et qu’il utiliserait pour promouvoir les intérêts agricoles du Canada. Son ancien associé en affaires Munn le décrivit comme « un homme [doté] d’une volonté et d’une énergie énormes, et [d’]une imagination et [d’]une vision remarquables en ce qui concerne le développement de l’Ouest canadien ». Avec, comme l’écrivit le Winnipeg Evening Tribune le 31 janvier 1929, « un mélange d’affabilité et d’autorité calme », McGregor se servit de sa position pour promouvoir sa vision de l’avenir du Canada, qui comprenait la construction de chemins de fer et de routes pour exploiter les importantes ressources minérales du Nord.

McGregor vendit tout son troupeau de bovins en octobre 1930. Ses fils et d’autres personnes avaient repris les Glencarnock Stock Farms, juridiquement constituées un an et demi avant leur vente, mais l’entreprise cessa de croître après le départ du patriarche. En 1935, la famille s’était déjà départie de toutes ses actions dans la société.

Personnalité influente dans le développement de l’industrie de l’élevage au Canada, McGregor fut membre de la Canadian Aberdeen Angus Association, qu’il présida de 1911 à 1921, organisateur et président de la Manitoba Stock Association, et membre de la Western Canada Live-stock Union. En 1918, on le nomma directeur de la main-d’œuvre agricole au sein de la Commission canadienne du ravitaillement. En 1929, il devint le président fondateur du Canadian Council of Beef Producers et, en 1930, le Nor’-West Farmer lui décerna la médaille Master Farmer. En outre, il dirigea la Dominion Agricultural Credit Company Limited, fondée en 1931 pour aider les agriculteurs à diversifier leur production en élevant du bétail ; il démissionna en 1934 en raison d’ennuis de santé.

Figure audacieuse et dynamique de l’industrie bovine dans l’Ouest canadien et de l’agriculture en général, James Duncan McGregor fut internationalement connu pour ses méthodes d’élevage innovatrices. Peu après avoir quitté sa fonction de lieutenant-gouverneur, il mourut à sa résidence de Winnipeg le 15 mars 1935. On lenterra dans le cimetière de Brandon quatre jours plus tard, le jour de l’ouverture de la vingt-huitième foire d’hiver de la ville. En 1979, il fut intronisé au Manitoba Agricultural Hall of Fame.

Peter Hanlon

AM, CCA (Companies office corporation docs.) 0059, GR6427, file 425g, Glucarnock Stock Farms, Q 24620.— BAC, R190-138-X, dossiers 419067, 429492 ; R7693-0-0.— Brandon Univ., S. J. McKee Arch. (Manitoba), RG 5, James Duncan McGregor fonds.— GA, M 2389/627 ; M 2389/1055.— Manitoba, Ministère de la Justice, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), no 1883-001263.— Manitoba Free Press, 3 déc. 1912, 3 déc. 1913, 5 déc. 1923, 4 déc. 1928, 16 mars 1935.— Nor’-West Farmer (Winnipeg), 5 mai, 20 oct, 30 nov. 1930.— Shath Square, « Lieutenant-governors of Manitoba : part eleven », Winnipeg Free Press, 10 juill. 1971, New Leisure, p.22.— Winnipeg Free Press, 16 mars 1935.— Edward Brado, Cattle kingdom : early ranching in Alberta (Vancouver, 1984).— Kenneth Coates et Fred McGuiness, Pride of the land : an affectionate history of Brandon’s agricultural exhibitions (Winnipeg, 1985).— Macdonald Coleman, The face of yesterday : the story of Brandon, Manitoba (Brandon, [1957]).— Cornwallis Centennial Committee, Municipal memories ([Cornwallis, Manitoba, 1984 ?]).— F. W. Crawford, Aberdeen-Angus cattle in Canada (Winnipeg, 1944).— J. F. Gilpin, Prairie promises : history of the Bow River irrigation district (Vauxhall, Alberta, 1996).— Griswold United Church Women, Bridging the years : Griswold centennial booklet, 1867–1967 ([Griswold, Manitoba, 1967]).— John Hurley, « From sombrero to cocked hat », Maclean’s, 1er nov. 1929 : 11.— H. T. Munn, Prairie trails and Arctic by-ways (Londres, 1932).— A. H. Sanders, A history of Aberdeen-Angus cattle [...] (Chicago, 1928).— F. H. Schofield, The story of Manitoba (3 vol., Winnipeg, 1913).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Peter Hanlon, « MCGREGOR, JAMES DUNCAN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 7 déc. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcgregor_james_duncan_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcgregor_james_duncan_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Peter Hanlon
Titre de l'article:   MCGREGOR, JAMES DUNCAN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   7 décembre 2019