DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

POLLARD, MARIA HEATHFIELD (baptized Maria) (Grant), social reformer, suffragist, school trustee, secretary, probation officer, and Unity movement preacher; b. 15 Sept. 1854 in Quebec City, daughter of the Reverend William Pollard and Maria Heathfield; m. 30 July 1874 Gordon Fraser (Frazar) Munro Grant (d. 5 Dec. 1908) in Victoria, B.C., and they had nine children, of whom two boys and five girls survived infancy; d. there 30 March 1937.

Maria Heathfield Pollard was born into a Methodist family. Her father had served as a minister in Upper and Lower Canada since his arrival from England in 1842, and during the 1860s he was chairman of several Methodist districts. In 1871 he accepted a call to Victoria and moved there with his wife, son, and four daughters, including Maria. In addition to caring for his city pastorate, Pollard became chairman of the Victoria district soon after his arrival and undertook missionary work along the coast. In 1873 Mrs Pollard was among those who established the British Columbia Protestant Orphans’ Home in Victoria.

In 1874 Maria married Gordon Grant, a marine engineer. Energetic and determined, she began her public career nine years later. The Pollards were strong advocates of temperance and Maria Grant and her mother were founding members of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of British Columbia [see Catharine Morton*]. Her mother was its first provincial president and Grant became provincial secretary in 1884. In March that year she made a public speech on the responsibilities of women voters. The WCTU promoted women’s suffrage; many women believed that if they could cast their ballot they would be able to influence legislation on alcohol. Years later Grant would recall that “when I was a small child and heard that women were not allowed to have any vote, I determined that when I grew up I should do my utmost to work for woman’s suffrage.” In 1885 she and other members of the WCTU circulated throughout the province the first petition for women’s enfranchisement and presented it to the Legislative Assembly. From then on, Grant and the WCTU would regularly call on the government to accede to their demands. The WCTU established a franchise department early in its existence; renamed the department of legislation, petition, and franchise in 1887, it would be superintended by Grant until 1915.

A key organizer in the formation of the Local Council of Women of Victoria and Vancouver Island in 1894, Grant was also a confident speaker, and she delivered the address that welcomed Lady Aberdeen [Marjoribanks], president of the National Council of Women of Canada, to the inaugural public meeting of the local council. Grant was named recording secretary of the new organization. In January 1895 the council successfully requested that the provincial government allow women to serve as school trustees. Grant, who had the necessary property qualifications, was chosen by the local council as its candidate. In March she easily defeated the only male contestant and was elected for a nine-month term, becoming the first female school trustee in British Columbia. She ran again the following year, but was not victorious, and attributed her loss to strenuous efforts to eliminate her and other women candidates. A man had stood all day at the entrance to the polling booth, urging voters to select a specific combination of male candidates or any contestants but the women. In 1899 she was again successful, but after her two-year term expired she lost her bid for re-election.

Throughout the 1890s and into the 20th century Grant was a force in the women’s franchise movement of British Columbia. In 1895 she published an article in the Victoria Daily Times entitled “The suffrage question; two views: fairly stated from both standpoints,” and persuaded the British Columbia Conference of the Methodist Church to support a WCTU petition to the federal government. She boasted of another petition, signed by 2,400 women, that was sent to the provincial government in 1897; she followed up on it by lobbying members of the assembly. As a result of her numerous letters to the editor of the Daily Colonist (Victoria), the paper referred to her as the “Woman’s Franchise Champion.” With a national plebiscite concerning Prohibition on the horizon [see Francis Stephens Spence*], temperance groups became more active. In 1897 Grant, once again secretary of the provincial WCTU, established a special plebiscite committee. That year she was elected secretary of the National Prohibition Federation of Temperance Societies of Canada and, while a delegate to the Dominion and World’s WCTU conventions in Toronto, she sent regular dispatches to the Daily Colonist.

In 1900 Grant became president of the provincial WCTU, a position she would hold for five years. That year she organized Willard Union, a new branch of the WCTU in Victoria, for the purpose of establishing and operating a men’s mission that would be an alternative to saloons and offer accommodation for destitute men. In 1889 the WCTU had set up the Refuge Home, initially destined to shelter prostitutes who wished to change their ways; it gradually became a home for unwed mothers. Grant had sat on the home’s board regularly since its inception, and in 1904 she co-supervised the construction of a new building for the home. After she stepped down as president of the provincial WCTU, she served as its treasurer from 1906 to 1912.

Grant’s activities were briefly curtailed by the illness and death of her husband in 1908. The following year, frustrated by British Columbia’s attempts to deprive women of their municipal voting privileges and the lack of action on the provincial franchise, she redoubled her efforts. Perhaps thinking that an organization with a single goal might be more effective than the WCTU, in late 1910 she formed and became first president of the Political Equality League of Victoria, devoted to pursuing women’s suffrage. It became the nucleus of a provincial PEL, formed in May 1911 with Grant at its head. With the league’s paid organizer, Dorothy Davis, she co-edited its monthly publication, the Champion (Victoria), from its beginning in August 1912. By the following year the PEL had expanded to 36 branches throughout the province. Grant led a delegation of 72 women to Premier Sir Richard McBride* to present a petition signed by 10,000 persons. Women were becoming increasingly impatient, not only with government, but with their own leaders. In June 1913, perhaps because the PEL’s members were anxious to transfer the presidency of the organization to the mainland, Grant was replaced by a Vancouver woman, but she continued to edit the association’s magazine until it ceased publication in April 1914.

After World War I broke out in 1914, suffrage activity declined. Grant and the Victoria PEL established the Women’s Industrial Centre to provide work for women as tailors. Grant also helped to create a day nursery for working mothers. Meanwhile, as women in British Columbia and elsewhere worked diligently on behalf of the war effort, their right to vote gained popular support. The provincial election of September 1916 included a plebiscite on women’s suffrage. When a large majority voted in favour of the measure, she simply declared, “It’s good just to have lived to see this day.” She led a delegation to the new premier, Harlan Carey Brewster*, to protest delays in implementation of the provincial franchise, which women finally obtained on 5 April 1917.

Grant continued to speak out on legislation she viewed as unfair, such as the federal War-time Elections Act of 1917, which allowed only women who were closely related to servicemen the right to vote. After the war, in 1918, she was chair of the Local Council of Women’s citizenship committee. The same year she announced the formation of the Women’s Independent Political Association to select and support female candidates in civic elections. As its delegate, she joined with other women to lobby the provincial government for mothers’ pensions. In addition, she was a member of the Victoria Reconstruction Group, which analysed post-war issues affecting women.

As a mother of seven surviving children, Grant had taken a keen interest in children’s welfare. In 1901 she had been involved in establishing the Children’s Aid Society of Victoria and had become its secretary. Necessity obliged her to obtain a salary, which was assigned to her post about 1910. The duties of probation officer were added a few years later. In 1917 the society held a public meeting to discuss its financial difficulties. Grant’s wages, considered excessive, were reduced; she resigned the following year.

Sometime during the 1920s or perhaps earlier, Grant was attracted to the teachings of the Unity movement, founded in the United States in the late 1880s by Charles Sherlock Fillmore and his wife, Myrtle. Grant became a teacher at the Unity Centre in Victoria and was occasionally referred to as Reverend Grant. Unfortunately, none of the movement’s ordination records from this period have survived. Grant retired because of illness in 1933 and died four years later at the Victoria Women’s Club. She had been a member and secretary of the club since its founding in 1913 and served as its hostess.

Endowed with missionary zeal, a pioneering spirit, and abundant optimism, Grant was a dynamic presence in British Columbia. As an officer of the WCTU, the Local Council of Women, and the PEL, she was a familiar figure in delegations to government, lobbying primarily for the franchise, but also on issues affecting women and children. At a meeting of the provincial WCTU in 1896 she had spoken on “Woman as a mother, reformer, and a citizen.” She was all three.

Lyn Gough

Maria Heathfield Pollard Grant wrote under her married name “The suffrage question; two views: fairly stated from both standpoints,” Victoria Daily Times, 27 May 1895, and “WCTU Mission Hall of Victoria,” Western Methodist Recorder (Victoria), 2 (1900–1), no.6.

BANQ-Q, CE301-S68, 30 nov. 1854. BCA, GR-2951, nos.1908-09-021698, 1937-09-528544; GR-2962, no.1874-09-001134; MS-2644. Daily Colonist, 1894–1933. Jim Nesbitt, “Old homes & families,” Daily Colonist, 11 Feb. 1951. Victoria Daily Times, 1895–1937. C. Bryant, “Rev. W. Pollard,” Western Methodist Recorder, 2, no.6. Champion (Victoria), 1 (1912)–2 (1914). C. L. Cleverdon, The woman suffrage movement in Canada, intro. Ramsay Cook (2nd ed., Toronto, 1974). G. H. Cornish, Cyclopædia of Methodism in Canada … (2v., Toronto and Halifax, 1881–1903). Elizabeth Forbes, Wild roses at their feet: pioneer women of Vancouver Island ([Victoria], 1971), 27–28. Lyn Gough, As wise as serpents: five women & an organization that changed British Columbia, 1883–1939 (Victoria, 1988). L. L. Hale, “The British Columbia woman suffrage movement, 1890–1917” (ma thesis, Univ. of B.C., Vancouver, 1977). Gloria Whelan, “Maria Grant, 1854–1937: the life and times of an early twentieth century Christian,” in In her own right: selected essays on women’s history in B.C., ed. Barbara Latham and Cathy Kess (Victoria, 1980). Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of B.C., Report of the annual convention (Victoria and Vancouver), 1907–9; later published as Yearbook and proc. of the annual convention (Vancouver), 1910–18 (copies held at BCA, Northwest coll.).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Lyn Gough, “POLLARD, MARIA HEATHFIELD (baptized Maria) (Grant),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/pollard_maria_heathfield_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/pollard_maria_heathfield_16E.html
Author of Article: Lyn Gough
Title of Article: POLLARD, MARIA HEATHFIELD (baptized Maria) (Grant)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: November 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 18 octobre 1910 à Belleville, Ontario

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

POLLARD, MARIA HEATHFIELD (baptisée Maria) (Grant), réformatrice sociale, partisane du suffrage féminin, administratrice scolaire, secrétaire, agente de probation et prédicatrice du mouvement Unity, née le 15 septembre 1854 à Québec, fille du révérend William Pollard et de Maria Heathfield ; le 30 juillet 1874, elle épousa à Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, Gordon Fraser (Frazar) Munro Grant (décédé le 5 décembre 1908), et ils eurent neuf enfants, dont deux fils et cinq filles qui vécurent au delà de la petite enfance ; décédée le 30 mars 1937 au même endroit.

Maria Heathfield Pollard naquit au sein d’une famille méthodiste. Son père avait été ministre dans le Haut et le Bas-Canada dès son arrivée d’Angleterre en 1842 et fut président de plusieurs districts méthodistes durant les années 1860. En 1871, il accepta une nomination à Victoria et s’y installa avec sa femme, son fils et ses quatre filles, dont Maria Heathfield. Le révérend Pollard ne tarda pas à assumer, en plus de ses fonctions de pasteur dans la ville, la présidence du district de Victoria et entreprit des œuvres missionnaires le long de la côte. En 1873, sa femme comptait parmi les personnes qui fondèrent le British Columbia Protestant Orphans’ Home à Victoria.

En 1874, Mlle Pollard épousa Gordon Fraser Munro Grant, ingénieur en mécanique navale. Énergique et déterminée, elle commença sa carrière publique neuf ans plus tard. Les Pollard étaient d’ardents défenseurs de la tempérance. Mme Grant et sa mère furent des membres fondateurs de la Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of British Columbia (WCTU) [V. Catharine Morton*]. Sa mère fut la première présidente provinciale de l’organisation et Mme Grant en devint la secrétaire pour la province en 1884. En mars, elle prononça un discours public sur les responsabilités des électrices. La WCTU fit la promotion du suffrage féminin ; beaucoup de femmes croyaient que si elles pouvaient voter, elles seraient en mesure d’influencer la législation sur l’alcool. Des années plus tard, Mme Grant se rappellerait : « quand j’étais toute jeune et que j’entendis que les femmes n’avaient aucun droit de vote, je décidai que quand je serais grande, je devrais faire tout mon possible afin de travailler pour le suffrage féminin ». En 1885, Mme Grant et d’autres membres de la WCTU firent circuler partout dans la province la première pétition pour le droit de vote des femmes et la présentèrent à l’Assemblée législative. À partir de ce moment-là, Mme Grant et la WCTU prieraient régulièrement le gouvernement de donner suite à leurs demandes. La WCTU créa un département du droit de vote tôt dans son existence ; rebaptisé département de la législation, des pétitions et du droit de vote en 1887, il serait supervisé par Mme Grant jusqu’en 1915.

L’une des principales organisatrices du Local Council of Women of Victoria and Vancouver Island en 1894, Mme Grant était aussi une oratrice pleine d’assurance et prononça le discours qui accueillit lady Aberdeen [Marjoribanks], présidente du National Council of Women of Canada, à l’assemblée publique inaugurale du conseil local. Mme Grant fut nommée secrétaire archiviste de la nouvelle organisation. En janvier 1895, le conseil demanda que le gouvernement provincial permette aux femmes d’occuper les fonctions d’administratrices scolaires, ce qui leur fut accordé. Mme Grant, qui avait le cens d’éligibilité nécessaire, fut choisie comme candidate par le conseil local. En mars, elle battit facilement le seul adversaire masculin et fut élue pour un mandat de neuf mois, devenant ainsi la première femme à occuper le poste d’administratrice scolaire en Colombie-Britannique. Elle se présenta à nouveau l’année suivante. Elle fut vaincue et attribua sa défaite aux efforts acharnés visant à l’éliminer et à éliminer d’autres candidates. Un homme était demeuré toute la journée à l’entrée du bureau de vote, insistant vivement pour que les électeurs choisissent une combinaison particulière de candidats masculins ou tout autre adversaire, sauf les femmes. En 1899, elle renoua avec la victoire, mais à la fin de son mandat de deux ans, sa tentative de se faire réélire échoua.

Durant les années 1890 et au début du xxe siècle, Mme Grant exerça un grand pouvoir au sein du mouvement pour l’obtention du droit de vote des femmes en Colombie-Britannique. En 1895, elle publia un article dans le Victoria Daily Times intitulé « The suffrage question ; two views : fairly stated from both standpoints » et persuada la Conférence de la Colombie-Britannique de l’Église méthodiste de soutenir une pétition de la WCTU destinée au gouvernement fédéral. Elle se vanta d’une autre pétition, signée par 2 400 femmes, qui fut envoyée au gouvernement provincial en 1897 ; elle donna suite à celle-ci en faisant pression sur des membres de l’Assemblée. En raison de ses nombreuses lettres au rédacteur en chef du Daily Colonist de Victoria, le journal la décrivit comme la « championne du droit de vote des femmes ». Avec un plébiscite national sur la prohibition qui se pointait à l’horizon [V. Francis Stephens Spence*], les groupes de tempérance devinrent plus actifs. En 1897, Mme Grant, de nouveau secrétaire de la WCTU de la province, mit sur pied un comité spécial pour le plébiscite. Cette année-là, elle fut élue secrétaire de la National Prohibition Federation of Temperance Societies of Canada et, lorsqu’elle agit à titre de déléguée aux congrès de la Dominion Woman’s Christian Temperance Union et de la World’s Woman’s Christian Temperance Union qui se tinrent à Toronto, elle envoya régulièrement des dépêches au Daily Colonist.

En 1900, Mme Grant devint présidente de la WCTU provinciale, poste qu’elle occuperait pendant cinq ans. Cette année-là, elle organisa la Willard Union, une nouvelle section de la WCTU à Victoria, dans le but de fonder et de gérer une mission pour hommes qui serait une solution de rechange aux saloons et qui offrirait un logement aux pauvres. En 1889, la WCTU avait fondé le Refuge Home, initialement destiné à abriter des prostituées qui souhaitaient changer leur manière de vivre ; cet établissement devint graduellement un refuge pour mères célibataires. Mme Grant avait régulièrement siégé au conseil du refuge depuis ses débuts et, en 1904, elle supervisa conjointement la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment pour l’établissement. Après avoir quitté son poste de présidente de la WCTU provinciale, elle remplit les fonctions de trésorière de l’organisation de 1906 à 1912.

Les activités de Mme Grant furent quelque temps réduites par la maladie et la mort de son mari en 1908. L’année suivante, frustrée par les tentatives de la Colombie-Britannique de priver les femmes de leur droit de vote dans les municipalités et par l’inertie en matière de suffrage féminin dans la province, elle redoubla d’efforts. Pensant peut-être qu’une organisation avec un objectif unique serait plus efficace que la WCTU, elle créa à la fin de 1910 la Political Equality League of Victoria, organisme voué à poursuivre la lutte pour le suffrage féminin et dont elle fut la première présidente. Cette organisation devint la base d’une Political Equality League (PEL) provinciale, créée en mai 1911, avec Mme Grant à sa tête. Conjointement avec l’organisatrice rémunérée de la ligue, Dorothy Davis, elle dirigea la publication mensuelle de l’organisation, le Champion de Victoria, dès ses débuts en août 1912. Pas plus tard que l’année suivante, la PEL s’était élargie et comprenait 36 sections dans toute la province. Mme Grant mena une délégation de 72 femmes devant le premier ministre, sir Richard McBride*, pour présenter une pétition signée par 10 000 personnes. Les femmes se montraient de plus en plus impatientes, non seulement envers le gouvernement, mais aussi envers leurs propres dirigeantes. En juin 1913, peut-être en raison du fait que les membres de la PEL tenaient beaucoup à transférer la présidence de l’organisation de l’île au continent, Mme Grant fut remplacée par une femme de Vancouver. Elle continua néanmoins de diriger la revue de l’association jusqu’à ce qu’elle cesse d’être publiée, en avril 1914.

Après que la Première Guerre mondiale eut éclaté en 1914, les activités relatives au suffrage déclinèrent. Mme Grant et la Political Equality League of Victoria fondèrent le Women’s Industrial Centre pour offrir aux femmes du travail de couturières. Elle aida également à créer une garderie pour les enfants des ouvrières. Pendant ce temps, tandis que les femmes en Colombie-Britannique et ailleurs travaillaient avec zèle à l’effort de guerre, leur droit de vote gagna de l’appui populaire. Les élections provinciales de septembre 1916 incluaient un plébiscite sur le suffrage féminin. Lorsqu’une vaste majorité vota pour cette mesure, elle déclara simplement ceci : « Il est bon d’avoir vécu seulement pour voir ce jour. » Elle mena une délégation devant le nouveau premier ministre, Harlan Carey Brewster*, pour protester contre les retards dans la mise en œuvre du droit de vote dans la province, que les femmes obtinrent finalement le 5 avril 1917.

Mme Grant continua de s’élever contre des législations qu’elle considérait comme injustes, telle la Loi des élections en temps de guerre de 1917 du gouvernement fédéral, qui permettait seulement aux femmes apparentées de près à des soldats de voter. Après la guerre, en 1918, elle fut présidente du comité de la citoyenneté du Local Council of Women. La même année, elle annonça la création de la Women’s Independent Political Association pour sélectionner et soutenir des candidates aux élections municipales. À titre de déléguée de l’organisation, elle s’associa à d’autres femmes afin de faire pression sur le gouvernement provincial pour les pensions destinées aux mères. De plus, elle fut membre du Victoria Reconstruction Group, qui analysa les problèmes d’après-guerre touchant les femmes.

Mère de sept enfants survivants, Mme Grant s’était intéressée vivement à la protection de l’enfance. En 1901, elle avait participé à la création de la Children’s Aid Society of Victoria pour laquelle elle avait rempli les fonctions de secrétaire. La nécessité l’obligea à obtenir un salaire, qui fut attribué à son poste aux environs de 1910. Les tâches d’agente de probation s’y ajoutèrent quelques années plus tard. En 1917, la société tint une assemblée publique afin de discuter de ses difficultés financières. Le salaire de Mme Grant, considéré comme excessif, fut réduit ; elle démissionna l’année suivante.

Au cours des années 1920 ou peut-être même avant, Mme Grant fut attirée par les enseignements du mouvement Unity fondé aux États-Unis à la fin des années 1880 par Charles Sherlock Fillmore et sa femme, Myrtle. Mme Grant devint enseignante au Unity Centre de Victoria et était parfois appelée révérend Grant. Malheureusement, aucune archive d’ordination du mouvement venant de cette période ne subsista. Mme Grant se retira pour cause de maladie en 1933 et mourut quatre ans plus tard au Victoria Women’s Club. Elle avait été membre et secrétaire du club depuis sa fondation en 1913, et y avait rempli les fonctions d’hôtesse.

Dotée d’un zèle missionnaire, d’un esprit de pionnière et d’un immense optimisme, Maria Heathfield Pollard Grant fut une présence dynamique en Colombie-Britannique. En tant que dirigeante de la WCTU, du Local Council of Women et de la PEL, elle était une figure familière des délégations qui se rendaient devant le gouvernement, faisant pression surtout pour l’obtention du droit de vote, mais aussi pour des questions concernant les femmes et les enfants. Lors d’une assemblée de la WCTU provinciale en 1896, elle avait parlé de la « femme en tant que mère, réformatrice et citoyenne ». Elle était les trois à la fois.

Lyn Gough

Maria Heathfield Pollard (Grant) a écrit, sous son nom de femme mariée, « The suffrage question ; two views : fairly stated from both standpoints », Victoria Daily Times, 27 mai 1895, et « WCTU Mission Hall of Victoria », Western Methodist Recorder (Victoria), 2 (1900–1901), no 6.

BAnQ-Q, CE301-S68, 30 nov. 1854.— BCA, GR-2951, no 1908-09-021698, no 1937-09-528544 ; GR-2962, no 1874-09-001134 ; MS-2644.— Daily Colonist (Victoria), 1894–1933.— Jim Nesbitt, « Old homes & families », Daily Colonist, 11 févr. 1951.— Victoria Daily Times, 1895–1937.— C. Bryant, « Rev. W. Pollard », Western Methodist Recorder, 2 (1900–1901), no 6.— Champion (Victoria), 1 (1912)–2 (1914).— C. L. Cleverdon, The woman suffrage movement in Canada, introd. par Ramsay Cook (2e éd., Toronto, 1974).— G. H. Cornish, Cyclopædia of Methodism in Canada [...] (2 vol., Toronto et Halifax, 1881–1903).— Elizabeth Forbes, Wild roses at their feet : pioneer women of Vancouver Island ([Victoria], 1971), 27–28.— Lyn Gough, As wise as serpents : five women & an organization that changed British Columbia, 1883–1939 (Victoria, 1988).— L. L. Hale, « The British Columbia woman suffrage movement, 1890–1917 » (mémoire de m.a., Univ. of B.C., Vancouver, 1977).— Gloria Whelan, « Maria Grant, 1854–1937 : the life and times of an early twentieth century Christian », dans In her own right : selected essays on women’s history in B.C., Barbara Latham et Cathy Kess, édit. (Victoria, 1980).— Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of B.C., Report of the annual convention (Victoria et Vancouver), 1907–1909, ensuite publié sous le titre : Yearbook and proc. of the annual convention (Vancouver), 1910–1918 (exemplaires conservés aux BCA, Northwest coll.).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Lyn Gough, « POLLARD, MARIA HEATHFIELD (baptisée Maria) (Grant)  », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/pollard_maria_heathfield_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/pollard_maria_heathfield_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Lyn Gough
Titre de l'article:   POLLARD, MARIA HEATHFIELD (baptisée Maria) (Grant)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   18 octobre 2017