DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Archives des Religieuses Hospitalières, Saint-Basile, N.-B. » Soeur Maillet, née Alphonsine Ranger

Source: Link

RANGER, MARIE-ALPHONSINE-EULALIE, dite Maillet, Religious Hospitaller of St Joseph, nurse, pharmacist, local superior, and educator; b. 10 Nov. 1846 in L’Acadie, Lower Canada, daughter of François Ranger and Geneviève Bourassa; d. 30 March 1934 in Saint-Basile (Edmundston), N.B., and was buried there 3 April.

Niece of the artist Napoléon Bourassa*, cousin of the future politician Henri Bourassa*, and daughter of a Patriote [see Pierre-Théophile Decoigne*], Marie-Alphonsine-Eulalie Ranger was born in the settlement of L’Acadie. She studied there with the Sisters of the Congregation of Notre-Dame and then entered the noviciate of the Religious Hospitallers of St Joseph of the Hôtel-Dieu in Montreal on 4 Aug. 1864. She made her vows in 1866 and took the name Sister Maillet in honour of Marie Maillet*, one of the founders of the Hôtel-Dieu in Montreal.

After practising as both a nurse and pharmacist in this institution, Sister Maillet joined a group of six Religious Hospitallers called to take charge of the convent of Saint-Basile in the region of Madawaska, N.B., and to open a hospital there. They were to replace the Sisters of Charity of Saint John [see Honoria Conway*], who as a result of the passage of the Common Schools Act in 1871 [see George Edwin King*] had been forced to abandon their work. On 11 Oct. 1873, at the age of 26, Sister Maillet arrived in Saint-Basile. The small convent, which also served as a school, orphanage, and hospital (which the sisters named Hôtel-Dieu St Joseph), was located in an old single-storey house. Although the official and canonical installation of the Religious Hospitallers, which was presided over by the bishop of Chatham, James Rogers*, took place on 10 November, the founding nuns had received their first patient on the 5th. The local population seemed to have misgivings about these women, whom they distrusted and feared would need their financial support. The nuns lacked everything, especially food and medicine. As the hospital pharmacist, Sister Maillet had to be creative to treat her patients. In her journal, the “Commencement de notre fondation,” she recounts that to care for the sick, “having no medicines, [she could] only apply oil of Our Lady of Mercy.” After the death in February 1874 of Mother Louise-Virginie Davignon, the superior of the small group, Sister Maillet took on more and more responsibilities. Eventually officially appointed local superior in 1880 at the age of 33, she remained in the post almost without interruption until 1919 (in fact she completed eight three-year terms). In failing health, she subsequently settled in the infirmary, where she devoted herself to caring for the sick boys and the elderly, and to religious teaching. She carried out these tasks until 1926, when she was forced to retire because of her health.

From January 1874 the Religious Hospitallers of St Joseph were responsible for the Academy of Madawaska – the school that had been run by their predecessors – and they established a boarding school for young girls. It admitted day students from 1879 and became a mixed public institution in 1885. That same year the sisters opened a boarding school and an orphanage for boys.

In September 1876, when the mother house in Montreal was threatening to repatriate the nuns because of their extreme poverty, Sister Maillet orchestrated a rescue mission and obtained the support of the bishop of Montreal, Ignace Bourget*. The following year the nuns were able to begin constructing a small wooden hospital that was independent from the convent; it was completed in 1881. The enlargement and improvement of the properties, which enabled the progress of the hospital and educational program, accelerated after Sister Maillet’s promotion to the position of local superior. To continue with the expansion, Mother Maillet called for a brickworks be set up in 1885. Among other things, the factory made bricks for the construction of a large building that would include a hospital, orphanage, monastery, and chapel. The bricks were also used to fabricate numerous other edifices in the region. In 1907, however, the government decided to expropriate the land on which the factory stood to build the National Transcontinental Railway, awarding fair compensation to the community only two years later. The factory ceased production the following year. In 1915 the sisters were finally able to receive their patients in the new structure.

The annals of the community reveal that Mother Maillet was an experienced administrator and a dedicated pharmacist. On several occasions the local newspapers reported that the nuns gave free treatment to the poor. On the orders of Mother Maillet, they even cared for a patient whose admission the curé had forbidden. Under her management the convent and the orphanage prospered. The academy became a secondary school officially recognized by the province in 1912. Above all, however, the Religious Hospitallers distinguished themselves in their services to the sick. In 1888 the government of New Brunswick agreed to set aside an annual allocation of $150 for the hospital, and this amount was gradually increased to $600 in 1907. A bazaar, organized every year from 1877 on, supplemented the community’s budget. In addition, the non-cloistered sisters (the convent’s cooks, who were the only non-cloistered members) took part in fund-raising drives.

Despite the serious difficulties of the early years, the activities of the nuns in Saint-Basile were running smoothly by 1923, the golden jubilee of their nursing practice there. On this occasion Louis-Napoléon Dugal, vicar general of the diocese, addressed the assembled crowd and greeted the thousands of pupils of both sexes who had been taught by the nuns, including the boarders, among them graduates of the senior classes who had pursued further studies in universities. He also reported that of the 19,339 patients the sisters had treated in Saint-Basile since 1873, they lost only 586. He emphasized the role played by Mother Maillet in these successes.

The importance of Mother Maillet in the development of Madawaska was widely acknowledged at the beginning of the 20th century. In February 1933 L’Évangéline published the text of a radio talk given by Brother Antoine Bernard, a cleric of St Viator and historian of Acadia, in which Mother Maillet was presented as the “benefactor” of the Acadians. Acadian newspapers in New Brunswick published the news of her death, which occurred on 30 March 1934, Good Friday, following the onset of lobar pneumonia aggravated by heart problems. People lamented the passing of one who had laid new foundations in Madawaska and underscored her service, leadership, and dedication. She was compared to Marguerite Bourgeoys* and Jeanne Mance*. Mother Maillet is without question one of the dominant figures in the work of the Religious Hospitallers of St Joseph. Her name “will live on in the memory of the people of Madawaska” – such were the words penned in 1920 by Abbé Thomas Albert in his Histoire du Madawaska (published in 1985 as The history of Madawaska). The first classical college for French-speaking girls in New Brunswick, founded in 1949 in Saint-Basile, would be named in her honour.

Caroline-Isabelle Caron

Arch. des Religieuses Hospitalières de Saint-Joseph (Saint-Basile, N.‑B.), “Commencement de notre fondation: notes depuis 1873 jusqu’à 1914, par sœur Maillet” (texte manuscrit, s.l., n.d.). BANQ-CAM, CE604-S1, 13 nov. 1846. PANB, RS141C5, F18971, 2 May 1934. L’Évangéline (Moncton, N.‑B.), 13 sept. 1916; 2 févr. 1933; 5, 12 avril 1934. Thomas Albert, Histoire du Madawaska d’après les recherches historiques de Patrick Therriault et les notes manuscrites de Prudent L. Mercure (Québec, 1920). Antoine Bernard, Les Hospitalières de Saint-Joseph et leur œuvre en Acadie (Vallée-Lourdes, N.‑B., 1958). Georgette Desjardins, Les Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph au Madawaska, 1873–1973 (Cap-Saint-Ignace, Québec, 1998); “Le rôle des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph dans l’éducation au Madawaska depuis 1873,” CCHA, Sessions d'étude, 48 (1981): 57–66. Georgette Desjardins et Corinne LaPlante, “Œuvres des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph du Nouveau-Brunswick (1868–1986),” Soc. Hist. du Madawaska, Rev. (Edmundston, N.‑B.), 14, nos.1–2 (janvier–juin 1986): 1–70. Gérard Desjardins, Le Madawaska raconté par “le Moniteur acadien,” 1867–1926 (Dieppe, N.‑B., 1999). L.‑N. Dugal, “Notice historique sur l’Hôtel-Dieu de Saint-Basile de Madawaska, N. B. (de 1873 à 1910),” Soc. Hist. du Madawaska, Rev., 25, no.4 (octobre–décembre 1997): 3–22. [Émilie Lefrançois], “La contribution des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph dans le domaine de la santé au Madawaska: 1873 à 2001,” Soc. Hist. du Madawaska, Rev., 29, no.4 (octobre–décembre 2001): 1–35. Mère Maillet, fondatrice de l’Hotel-Dieu de St‑Joseph de Saint-Basile, Nouveau-Brunswick: 1846–1934 (Edmundston, [1934]). N.B., Royal commission on higher education in New Brunswick, Report (Fredericton, 1962). Saint-Basile: berceau du Madawaska, 1792–1992, [sous la dir. de Georgette Desjardins] (Montréal, 1992).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Caroline-Isabelle Caron, “RANGER, MARIE-ALPHONSINE-EULALIE, dite Maillet,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 19, 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ranger_marie_alphonsine_eulalie_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ranger_marie_alphonsine_eulalie_16E.html
Author of Article:   Caroline-Isabelle Caron
Title of Article:   RANGER, MARIE-ALPHONSINE-EULALIE, dite Maillet
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   October 19, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 17 octobre 1817 dans le Maryland

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

Titre original :  Archives des Religieuses Hospitalières, Saint-Basile, N.-B. » Soeur Maillet, née Alphonsine Ranger

Provenance : Lien

RANGER, MARIE-ALPHONSINE-EULALIE, dite Maillet, religieuse hospitalière de Saint-Joseph, infirmière, pharmacienne, supérieure locale et éducatrice, née le 10 novembre 1846 à L’Acadie, Bas-Canada, fille de François Ranger et de Geneviève Bourassa ; décédée le 30 mars 1934 à Saint-Basile (Edmundston, Nouveau-Brunswick) et inhumée le 3 avril au même endroit.

Nièce de l’artiste Napoléon Bourassa*, cousine du futur homme politique Henri Bourassa* et fille d’un patriote [V. Pierre-Théophile Decoigne*], Marie-Alphonsine-Eulalie Ranger naît dans la localité de L’Acadie. Elle y étudie chez les Dames de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame, puis entre au noviciat des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal le 4 août 1864. Elle fait profession en 1866 et prend le nom de sœur Maillet, en l’honneur de Marie Maillet*, une des fondatrices de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal.

Après avoir exercé les professions d’infirmière et de pharmacienne dans cet établissement, sœur Maillet se joint à un groupe de six religieuses hospitalières appelées à prendre en charge le couvent de Saint-Basile, dans la région du Madawaska, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et à y ouvrir un hôpital. Elles doivent y remplacer les Sisters of Charity of Saint John [V. Honoria Conway*], qui, subissant le contrecoup du Common Schools Act adopté en 1871 [V. George Edwin King*], ont été contraintes d’abandonner leur œuvre. Le 11 octobre 1873, à l’âge de 26 ans, sœur Maillet arrive à Saint-Basile. Le petit couvent, qui fait aussi office d’école, d’orphelinat et d’hôpital (que les sœurs nomment Hôtel-Dieu Saint-Joseph), est situé dans une vieille maison d’un étage. Bien que l’installation officielle et canonique des religieuses hospitalières, présidée par l’évêque de Chatham, Mgr James Rogers*, ait lieu le 10 novembre, les fondatrices reçoivent leur premier malade le 5 novembre. La population locale semble ressentir de la réticence envers ces femmes, dont elle se méfie et qu’elle craint de devoir soutenir financièrement. Les religieuses manquent de tout, notamment de nourriture et de médicaments. Pharmacienne de l’hôpital, sœur Maillet doit faire preuve de créativité pour traiter ses patients. Dans son journal intitulé le « Commencement de notre fondation », elle raconte que, pour soigner les malades, « n’ayant pas de remèdes[, elle ne pouvait] que leur appliquer de l’huile de N. D. de Pitié ». Après la mort, en février 1874, de mère Louise-Virginie Davignon, supérieure du petit groupe, sœur Maillet assume de plus en plus de responsabilités. Enfin officiellement nommée supérieure locale en 1880, à l’âge de 33 ans, elle reste en poste presque continuellement jusqu’en 1919 (elle remplit en fait huit mandats de trois ans). Sa santé fléchissant, elle s’installe ensuite à l’infirmerie, où elle se consacre au soin des vieillards et des garçons malades, et à l’enseignement religieux. Elle accomplit ces tâches jusqu’à ce que, en 1926, son état exige son retrait.

Dès janvier 1874, les Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph ont pris en charge l’académie de Madawaska – l’école que dirigeaient leurs prédécesseures – et ont mis sur pied un pensionnat pour jeunes filles. L’école admet de jeunes externes à partir de 1879, et devient publique et mixte en 1885. Cette année-là, les sœurs ouvrent un pensionnat et un orphelinat pour garçons.

En septembre 1876, au moment où la maison mère de Montréal menaçait de rapatrier les religieuses en raison de leur excessive pauvreté, sœur Maillet a orchestré une entreprise de sauvetage et obtenu l’appui de l’évêque de Montréal, Mgr Ignace Bourget*. Les religieuses peuvent alors, l’année suivante, commencer à bâtir un petit hôpital en bois indépendant du couvent, dont la construction se termine en 1881. L’agrandissement et l’amélioration des propriétés, qui permettent le développement des œuvres hospitalières et d’éducation des religieuses, se sont accélérés après l’élévation de sœur Maillet au titre de supérieure locale. Afin de poursuivre cette expansion, mère Maillet commande la mise sur pied d’une briqueterie en 1885. L’usine produit notamment les briques pour l’érection d’un édifice imposant qui comprendra un hôpital, un orphelinat, un monastère et une chapelle. Les briques sont aussi utilisées dans la réalisation de nombreuses bâtisses de la région. En 1907, le gouvernement provincial décide toutefois d’exproprier le terrain où se trouve l’usine pour y construire le chemin de fer National Transcontinental. Il compensera justement la communauté en 1909 seulement. Cette affaire mène à la cessation des activités de l’usine en 1908. Les religieuses peuvent enfin accueillir leurs patients dans le grand édifice de briques en 1915.

Les annales de la congrégation révèlent que mère Maillet est une administratrice chevronnée et une pharmacienne dévouée. À plusieurs reprises, les journaux locaux rapportent que les religieuses soignent gratuitement des personnes pauvres. Sur l’ordre de mère Maillet, elles ont même traité un patient dont le curé a interdit l’admission. Sous sa direction, le couvent et l’orphelinat prospèrent. L’académie devient une école supérieure reconnue officiellement par la province en 1912. Cependant, les religieuses hospitalières se distinguent avant tout par leurs services aux malades. En 1888, le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick a accepté de réserver pour l’hôpital une allocation annuelle de 150 $, progressivement élevée à 600 $ en 1907. Un bazar, organisé d’année en année à partir de 1877, complémente le budget de la congrégation. De plus, les sœurs tourières (les cuisinières du couvent, seules religieuses non cloîtrées du groupe) participent à des quêtes de financement.

Malgré les sérieuses difficultés des premières années, les activités des religieuses à Saint-Basile se déroulent bien en 1923, année du jubilé d’or des soins hospitaliers qu’elles donnent depuis leur arrivée. Mgr Louis-Napoléon Dugal, vicaire général du diocèse, s’adresse à la foule réunie et salue les milliers d’élèves des deux sexes auxquels elles ont enseigné, dont les pensionnaires et ceux qui, sortis des classes supérieures, ont poursuivi leurs études dans des universités. Il rapporte aussi que, parmi les 19 339 patients qu’elles ont traités depuis 1873 à Saint-Basile, les sœurs n’en ont perdu que 586. Il souligne le mérite de mère Maillet dans ces réussites.

En effet, l’importance de mère Maillet dans le développement du Madawaska est largement reconnue au début du xxe siècle. En février 1933, l’Évangéline publie le texte d’une radiocauserie du frère Antoine Bernard, clerc de Saint-Viateur et historien de l’Acadie, où mère Maillet est présentée comme la « bienfaitrice » des Acadiens. Les journaux acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick annoncent sa mort, survenue le 30 mars 1934, un Vendredi saint, à la suite d’une pneumonie lobaire aggravée par des troubles cardiaques. On déplore la disparition d’une fondatrice du Madawaska et souligne son service, son leadership et sa dévotion. On la compare à Marguerite Bourgeoys* et à Jeanne Mance*. Mère Maillet est sans contredit l’une des figures dominantes de l’œuvre des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph. Son nom « vivra dans la mémoire du peuple du Madawaska » ; c’est ce que l’abbé Thomas Albert a écrit en 1920 dans son Histoire du Madawaska. Le premier collège classique pour jeunes filles de langue française du Nouveau-Brunswick, fondé en 1949 à Saint-Basile, sera désigné en son honneur.

Caroline-Isabelle Caron

APNB, RS141C5, F18971, 2 mai 1934.— Arch. des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph (Saint-Basile, N.-B.), « Commencement de notre fondation : notes depuis 1873 jusqu’à 1914, par sœur Maillet » (texte manuscrit, s.l.n.d.).— BAnQ-CAM, CE604-S1, 13 nov. 1846.— L’Évangéline (Moncton, N.-B.), 13 sept. 1916 ; 2 févr. 1933 ; 5, 12 avril 1934.— Thomas Albert, Histoire du Madawaska d’après les recherches historiques de Patrick Therriault et les notes manuscrites de Prudent L. Mercure (Québec, 1920).— Antoine Bernard, les Hospitalières de Saint-Joseph et leur œuvre en Acadie (Vallée-Lourdes, N.-B., 1958).— Georgette Desjardins, les Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph au Madawaska, 1873–1973 (Cap-Saint-Ignace, Québec, 1998) ; « le Rôle des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph dans l’éducation au Madawaska depuis 1873 », SCHEC, Sessions d’étude, 48 (1981) : 57–66.— Georgette Desjardins et Corinne LaPlante, « Œuvres des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph du Nouveau-Brunswick (1868–1986) », Soc. hist. du Madawaska, Rev. (Edmundston, N.-B.), 14, nos 1–2 (janvier–juin 1986) : 1–70.— Gérard Desjardins, le Madawaska raconté par le Moniteur acadien, 1867–1926 (Dieppe, N.-B., 1999).— L.-N. Dugal, « Notice historique sur l’Hôtel-Dieu de Saint-Basile de Madawaska, N. B. (de 1873 à 1910) », Soc. hist. du Madawaska, Rev., 25, no 4 (octobre–décembre 1997) : 3–22.— [Émilie Lefrançois], « la Contribution des Religieuses hospitalières de Saint-Joseph dans le domaine de la santé au Madawaska : 1873 à 2001 », Soc. hist. du Madawaska, Rev., 29, no 4 (octobre–décembre 2001) : 1–35.— Mère Maillet, fondatrice de l’Hotel-Dieu de St-Joseph de Saint-Basile, Nouveau-Brunswick : 1846–1934 (Edmundston, [1934]).— N.-B., Commission royale d’enquête sur l’enseignement supérieur au Nouveau-Brunswick, Rapport (Fredericton, 1962).— Saint-Basile : berceau du Madawaska, 1792–1992, [sous la dir. de Georgette Desjardins] (Montréal, 1992).

Bibliographie générale

FR:Citations

FR:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default FR:

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ranger_marie_alphonsine_eulalie_16F.html
Author of Article:   Caroline-Isabelle Caron
Title of Article:   RANGER, MARIE-ALPHONSINE-EULALIE, dite Maillet
Publication Name:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16
Publication Details:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 2021
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   17 octobre 2021