DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

SIMPSON, JOHN, businessman, politician, and public servant; b. 27 Dec. 1807, at Helmsley, Yorkshire, Eng.; d. 19 Sept. 1878, at Ottawa, Ont., and buried at Niagara.

John Simpson was a linen draper in London, England, before moving to Niagara, Upper Canada, in 1835, and setting up as a bookseller and stationer. In September 1837 he began publishing the Niagara Chronicle in partnership with George Menzies*, and became its sole owner in 1839. In January 1837 he had edited a volume of poems, tales, and essays by local authors, and from 1843 to 1849 he published, in some years associated with Hugh Scobie*, annual editions of The Canadian mercantile almanack. He continued to centre his interests in the paper, its press, and associated bookstore until he disposed of the whole undertaking in 1852. Simpson married a local lady, Miss Baker, on 12 May 1841 in St Mark’s Church.

Simpson had shifted and enlarged his business interests in the late 1840s. The subscription list of the newly launched Niagara District Bank was located in the Chronicle office in 1845. In the following years he subscribed to the stock of the Erie and Ontario Insurance Company and a proposed Niagara Boot and Shoe Manufacturing Company. In addition, he was secretary of the Niagara and Ten Mile Creek Plank Road Company, the Niagara Permanent Building Society, the Niagara District Building Society, and the Erie and Ontario Railroad Company. Niagara’s economy was declining under competition from neighbouring towns, however, and Simpson was content to be sustained by the collectorship of customs at Niagara in the years 1855–57. Early in 1857 he was projecting a large woollen mill.

Simpson’s political apprenticeship began in1846–47 when he was president of the Niagara board of police. In 1848 he was elected to the Lincoln district council and in 1851 to the town council of Niagara. He served as mayor of Niagara for four years beginning in 1852. He then entered provincial politics. In recent parliaments Niagara had been represented by the moderate Reformers Francis Hincks* and Joseph Curran Morrison*. Simpson was returned in 1857 as a Conservative, defeating Charles Curry. He was successful in the two following general elections, defeating T. McMicking in 1861 and Henry John Boulton* in 1863. A man of proven competence and party loyalty, Simpson was appointed provincial secretary in the Étienne-Paschal Taché* – John A. Macdonald* government on 30 March 1864, and continued in the cabinet until the formation of the “Great Coalition” in 1864. He then resigned on 29 June to make way for three Grit ministers, including George Brown, to enter the cabinet. In compensation he was appointed deputy auditor general, an office he continued to hold until his death at Ottawa in 1878.

In his years at Niagara Simpson was a close associate of William Kirby* who was his election agent. A requisition to him, requesting that he stand for nomination in 1857, held 206 signatures, a veritable directory of the business community and the social register of Niagara. Throughout his career he was a member of the Church of England, and he was active in Christ Church in Ottawa.

Paul Cornell

John Simpson was the editor of The Canadian forget me not for MDCCCXXXVII . . . (Niagara, Ont., [1837]), and publisher of The Canadian mercantile almanack . . . (Niagara, Ont., and Toronto), 1843–49. Niagara Chronicle, 1838–52. Niagara Mail (Niagara; St Catharines), 1847–64. Ottawa Citizen, 20 Sept. 1878. Dom. ann. reg., 1878. Wallace, Macmillan dictionary, 693. L. A. Pierce, William Kirby, the portrait of a Tory loyalist (Toronto, 1929).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Paul Cornell, “SIMPSON, JOHN (1807-78),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 10, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 30, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/simpson_john_1807_78_10E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/simpson_john_1807_78_10E.html
Author of Article: Paul Cornell
Title of Article: SIMPSON, JOHN (1807-78)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 10
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1972
Year of revision: 1972
Access Date: October 30, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

SIMPSON, JOHN, homme d’affaires, homme politique et fonctionnaire, né le 27 décembre 1807 à Helmsley dans le Yorkshire, décédé le 19 septembre 1878 à Ottawa, Ont., et enterré à Niagara.

John Simpson était toilier à Londres avant de venir s’installer en 1835 à Niagara, dans le Haut-Canada, où il ouvrit une librairie-papeterie. En septembre 1837, il commença à publier, en collaboration avec George Menzies*, le Niagara Chronicle, dont il devint l’unique propriétaire en 1839. En janvier 1837, il avait édité un recueil de poèmes, de contes et d’essais écrits par des auteurs de la région et, de 1843 à 1849, parfois avec l’aide de Hugh Scobie*, il publia chaque année The Canadian mercantile almanack. Il continua à se consacrer au journal, à l’imprimerie et à la librairie jusqu’à ce qu’il cédât toute l’affaire en 1852. Le 12 mai 1841, Simpson avait épousé, dans l’église St Mark, une fille de l’endroit, du nom de Baker.

Vers la fin des années 40, les affaires de Simpson avaient pris une tournure différente et elles étaient devenues considérables. En 1845, la liste des souscripteurs de la Niagara District Bank (qui venait d’ouvrir) se trouvait dans les bureaux du Chronicle. Dans les années qui suivirent, Simpson acheta des actions de l’Erie and Ontario Insurance Company et aussi de la Niagara Boot and Shoe Manufacturing Company qu’on se proposait de créer. En outre, il fut secrétaire de la Niagara and Ten Mile Creek Plank Road Company, de la Niagara Permanent Building Society, de la Niagara District Building Society et de l’Erie and Ontario Railroad Company. Cependant, la concurrence des villes voisines portant atteinte à l’économie de Niagara, Simpson fut bien heureux qu’un emploi de percepteur des douanes à Niagara de 1855 à 1857 lui assurât de quoi vivre. Au début de 1857, il songeait à installer une grande filature de laine.

Simpson commença son apprentissage en politique en 1846–1847, quand il fut président du corps de police de Niagara. En 1848, il fut élu au conseil du district de Lincoln et, en 1851, au conseil municipal de Niagara, où il exerça également les fonctions de maire pendant quatre ans à compter de 1852 ; puis il se lança dans la politique provinciale. Dans les précédents parlements, Niagara avait été représentée par des réformistes modérés tels que Francis Hincks* et Joseph Curran Morrison*. Simpson fut élu député conservateur en 1857 en défaisant Charles Curry. Il fut réélu lors des deux élections suivantes, défaisant respectivement T. McMicking en 1861 et Henry John Boulton* en 1863. Ayant fait les preuves de ses capacités et de sa loyauté à l’égard de son parti, Simpson fut nommé secrétaire de la province le 30 mars 1864 dans le gouvernement d’Étienne-Paschal Taché* et de John Alexander Macdonald et il resta membre du cabinet jusqu’à la formation de la « grande coalition » en 1864. Ce fut alors qu’il démissionna le 29 juin pour permettre à trois ministres grits, dont George Brown, d’entrer dans le cabinet. En compensation, Simpson fut nommé adjoint au vérificateur général des comptes, poste qu’il occupa jusqu’à sa mort survenue à Ottawa en 1878.

Pendant les années qu’il passa à Niagara, Simpson fut en contact étroit avec William Kirby*, qui était son agent électoral. Une pétition pour que Simpson se présente aux élections de 1857 recueillit 206 signatures ; ces 206 noms constituaient à eux seuls un véritable annuaire du monde des affaires et un répertoire mondain de Niagara. Simpson fut membre de l’Église d’Angleterre pendant toute sa carrière et s’occupa activement de l’église Christ à Ottawa.

Paul Cornell

John Simpson fut le rédacteur du Canadian forget me not for MDCCCXXXVII [...] (Niagara, Ont., [1837]), et l’éditeur du Canadian mercantile almanack [...] (Niagara, Ont., et Toronto), 18431849.— Niagara Chronicle, 18381852.— Niagara Mail (Niagara ; St Catharines), 18471864.— Ottawa Citizen, 20 sept. 1878.— Dom. ann. reg., 1878.— Wallace, Macmillan dictionary, 693.— L. A. Pierce, William Kirby, the portrait of a Tory loyalist (Toronto, 1929).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Paul Cornell, « SIMPSON, JOHN (1807-1878) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 10, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 22 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/simpson_john_1807_1878_10F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/simpson_john_1807_1878_10F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Paul Cornell
Titre de l'article:   SIMPSON, JOHN (1807-1878)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 10
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1972
Année de la révision:   1972
Date de consultation:   22 juillet 2014