DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MALEPART DE BEAUCOURT, FRANÇOIS – Volume IV (1771-1800)

d. 24 June 1794 in Montreal (Que.)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Miss Mary Agnes Snively ca. 1901. Courtesy of City of Toronto Archives, Series 1201, Subseries 1, File 3.

Source: Link

SNIVELY, MARY AGNES, educator, nurse, and nursing-school administrator; b. 12 Nov. 1847 in St Catharines, Upper Canada, daughter of Martin Snively and Susan M. Copeland; d. unmarried 26 Sept. 1933 in Toronto.

Mary Agnes Snively’s father, of German descent, was born in Niagara Falls, Upper Canada. He ran a furniture-making and undertaking business in St Catharines. Her mother’s parents had emigrated from Ireland when Susan was young. Mary Agnes, the third of four surviving daughters, had a happy childhood and was very attached to her grandmother Copeland, whose strong sense of personal religion had a great impact on her.

After graduating from high school, Snively accepted a teaching position with the public-school board in her hometown. According to an inspector, she was an excellent instructor and faithful worker who exerted a “wonderful moral influence in dealing with children.” She taught for close to two decades. In the early 1880s her friends and former fellow teachers Louise Darch and Isabel Adams Hampton urged her to follow their example and attend New York’s Bellevue Hospital Training School for Nurses, which was modelled on Florence Nightingale’s school in England. Initially Snively’s widowed mother would not allow her daughter to enrol, but she relented after a visit from Hampton, and Snively entered Bellevue in October 1882. Upon completion of her program, she was hired on 1 Dec. 1884 as lady superintendent at the Toronto General Hospital, where the Training School for Nurses had been established three years earlier by Dr Charles O’Reilly* and Snively’s first predecessor, Harriet Goldie.

Snively found conditions at the TGH less than satisfactory. The hospital had about 400 beds, with only 7 nurses in charge of the wards and 27 nurses in training. There were no set schedules for work and study, no proper record-keeping systems, and no policies for obtaining supplies. Nurses’ living conditions were grim: they occupied poorly heated rooms wherever there was space in the building, slept on straw beds, and ate meals opposite the boiler-room in the basement.

With the indomitable will that would characterize her career in nursing leadership, Snively began instituting changes. She reorganized the curriculum, introducing regular lectures by physicians and courses on subjects such as nursing ethics, and implemented a written examination at the end of the two-year training period. Dishwashing and other menial tasks were reassigned to others so that the students could concentrate on medical responsibilities. Determined to improve their lives and aware that refinement and comfort would be essential to transform the image of nursing and attract middle-class women, she convinced the hospital board to erect a nurses’ residence. The new building, which included a dining room, parlours, and two libraries, was completed in July 1887 (starting in 1897 she would campaign for a larger residence, which was constructed in 1900). Thanks to gradual improvements, well-educated young women began to show interest. By 1891 there were 600 applicants, of whom 57 were accepted. Like her contemporary, Gertrude Elizabeth Livingston*, who had become head of the nursing school at the Montreal General Hospital in 1890, Snively focused on continually raising the reputation of her school and the profession. By 1894 the Toronto General Hospital Training School for Nurses was the largest in the country, and graduates were employed across Ontario and abroad. That year Snively helped establish the hospital’s Nurses’ Alumnae Association, the first of its kind in Canada, and was elected chair.

In 1897 Snively was named president of the Society of Superintendents of Training Schools for Nurses of the United States and Canada, whose members worked together to determine programs of study. Snively, who had recently extended the TGH training program to three years, believed that to achieve high standards in morals, ethics, and education throughout Canada, nurses needed to be organized and consolidated: she advocated a fixed curriculum, a uniform examination, and a registration process, and to this end she brought together provincial organizations and alumnae bodies to form the Canadian National Association of Trained Nurses in 1908 (it would become the Canadian Nurses’ Association in 1924). She was named the CNATN’s first president, and Flora Madeline Shaw* of the Montreal General Hospital Alumnae Association was appointed secretary-treasurer. Snively then forged ties between the CNATN and the International Council of Nurses, on whose executive she had served since its inception in 1899. The CNATN was officially welcomed into the ICN in 1909 at its triennial meeting in London, England. As president of the Canadian organization, Snively was invited to lay a wreath at the tomb of Queen Victoria and give a short address.

Snively was known for her great kindness and dedication to the welfare of patients. She was a strong disciplinarian with unrelenting ideals who placed great value on enthusiasm, courage, and inspiration. In a speech delivered at a 1904 graduation ceremony in Cleveland, Ohio (later printed in the American Journal of Nursing), she spoke of the profession as a mission, calling it “the noblest, most womanly, most Christ-like, of all the avocations open to women.… What makes a woman a good nurse? Practice. What makes a woman a good woman? Practice.… Life is not a holiday, it is an education. The world is not a playground, it is a school-room, and character develops in the stream of the world’s life.” Snively exemplified this conviction, as well as the motto adopted in 1907 by the TGH Training School for Nurses, Augere quam acquirere, which it translated thus: To be is greater than to acquire.

On 1 Dec. 1909 the Nurses’ Alumnae Association of the TGH held a reception celebrating the 25th anniversary of Snively’s appointment. She was presented with a silver card-case and a cheque for $1,000. Then board chairman Joseph Wesley Flavelle shared the devastating news that Snively had decided to retire. He announced that the hospital would provide her with a lifetime annuity of $700. In a note written to her mentor that day, graduate Janet Neilson expressed her admiration: “Never have we seen you choose the easiest way because it was the easiest. We have always seen you brave unpopularity when the right issue was at stake. Time and time again have we seen you ignore physical and mental weariness and shoulder your burden, and we have always known you to turn a tender and pitying ear to the cry of pain. However far short we have fallen from the ideal you have had for us we cannot fail to have been influenced by your spirit.” When she left her position the following year Snively handed on to her successor, Robina Lamont Stewart, a school known internationally for its high standards and one which had influenced nursing across Canada and in the United States through those described by historian Pauline O. Jardine as its graduate “missionaries.”

Snively remained active. After her retirement she travelled abroad for 14 months, during which time she attended the 1911 International Council of Nurses meeting in Cologne, Germany. Maintaining ties with the CNATN, she served as archivist and honorary president, and she was made a life member in 1921. She continued to devote herself to the welfare of others through church and social work. For many years she taught a Chinese Sunday-school class, took on the presidency of the Woman’s Missionary Society of St James Square Presbyterian Church, and directed a nursing mission that cared for the city’s poor. Sacrificing personal comforts, she financially supported aspiring medical students and missionaries in Formosa (Taiwan), India, and China, and also funded a children’s school in China.

Upon retiring Snively had moved from her quarters in the nurses’ residence to a boarding house. In 1931 the TGH’s trustees arranged for her to enter the new Private Patients’ Pavilion. It was there that she died at age 85 following a two-month illness. The “Mother of Nurses in Canada,” as she was remembered in the Canadian Nurse, was laid to rest in Victoria Lawn Cemetery, St Catharines. In Jardine’s words, she left a remarkable legacy: “higher education, professional ethics, devotion to duty, and an acquired public image – now nurses were recognized as both ladies and professional women.”

Diana Mansell

Mary Agnes Snively published several articles, reports, and speeches, including: “Address of President Mary Agnes Snively: fifth annual convention of the Superintendents’ Society, 1898, Toronto, Canada,” in Legacy of leadership …, ed. Nettie Birnbach and Sandra Lewenson (New York, 1993), 34–39; “President’s address,” Canadian Nurse (Toronto), 4 (1908): 524–28; and “What manner of women ought nurses to be?,” American Journal of Nursing (New York), 4 (1903–4): 836–40.

Snively’s portrait was presented to the Toronto General Hospital in 1925 by the Nurses’ Alumnae Assoc. Painted by John Wycliffe Lowes Forster, it originally hung in the nurses’ residence. It is now in the Univ. Health Network Nursing Centre, located in the hospital’s Eaton Building.

Information about Snively can be found in the City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 234 (Alumnae Assoc., School of Nursing, Toronto General Hospital); see in particular ser.895, 896, 948, and 1206 as well as the archives’ web exhibit “That I may be of service – guiding hands.”

Daily Mail and Empire (Toronto), 2 Dec. 1909, 27 Sept. 1933. J. E. Browne, “A daughter of Canada,” Canadian Nurse (Winnipeg), 20 (1924): 617–20, 681–84, 734–36; “In memoriam: Miss Mary Agnes Snively,” Canadian Nurse (Montreal), 29 (1933): 567–70. Elvie Follett, “Mary Agnes Snively,” Toronto General Hospital, School of Nursing, Alumnae Assoc., Quarterly (Toronto), fall 1984 (copy at the City of Toronto Arch., fonds 234). History: the School for Nurses, Toronto General Hospital …, ed. M. I. Lawrence ([Toronto, 1931]). P. O. Jardine, “An urban middle-class calling: women and the emergence of modern nursing education at the Toronto General Hospital, 1881–1914,” Urban Hist. Rev. (Toronto), 17 (1988–89): 177–90. Diana Mansell, “Mary Agnes Snively: realistic optimist,” Canadian Journal of Nursing Leadership (Toronto), 12 (1999), 1: 27–29. Natalie Riegler, “Mary Agnes Snively, 1847–1933: leading the way,” Registered Nurse (Toronto), May–June 1999: 5–7 (copy at the City of Toronto Arch., fonds 234).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Diana Mansell, “SNIVELY, MARY AGNES,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 24, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/snively_mary_agnes_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/snively_mary_agnes_16E.html
Author of Article: Diana Mansell
Title of Article: SNIVELY, MARY AGNES
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: June 24, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MACDONALD, JOHN SANDFIELD – Volume X (1871-1880)

né le 12 décembre 1812 à St Raphael West, dans le comté de Glengarry, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Miss Mary Agnes Snively ca. 1901. Courtesy of City of Toronto Archives, Series 1201, Subseries 1, File 3.

Provenance : Lien

SNIVELY, MARY AGNES, éducatrice, infirmière et administratrice d’une école d’infirmières, née le 12 novembre 1847 à St Catharines, Haut-Canada, fille de Martin Snively et de Susan M. Copeland ; décédée célibataire le 26 septembre 1933 à Toronto.

D’ascendance allemande, le père de Mary Agnes Snively naquit à Niagara Falls, dans le Haut-Canada. Il dirigeait une entreprise de fabrication de meubles et de pompes funèbres à St Catharines. Les parents de sa mère avaient émigré d’Irlande quand celle-ci était jeune. Mary Agnes, la troisième de quatre filles survivantes, vécut une enfance heureuse et était très attachée à sa grand-mère Copeland, dont le sens profond de la foi personnelle l’influença considérablement.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaires, Mary Agnes accepta un poste d’institutrice que lui offrit le conseil des écoles publiques de sa ville natale. Selon un inspecteur, c’était une excellente enseignante et une travailleuse fidèle qui exerçait une « merveilleuse influence morale dans ses relations avec les enfants ». Elle enseigna pendant près de deux décennies. Au début des années 1880, ses amies et anciennes collègues enseignantes Louise Darch et Isabel Adams Hampton lui conseillèrent vivement de suivre leur exemple et d’aller étudier à la Bellevue Hospital Training School for Nurses à New York, conçue sur le modèle de l’école de Florence Nightingale, en Angleterre. La mère de Mary Agnes, veuve, refusa d’abord de laisser sa fille s’inscrire, puis revint sur sa décision après une visite de Mlle Hampton. Mary Agnes entra à Bellevue en octobre 1882. Son programme terminé, elle fut engagée, le 1er décembre 1884, comme surintendante au Toronto General Hospital (TGH), où la Training School for Nurses avait été fondée trois ans auparavant par le Dr Charles O’Reilly* et la première surintendante, Harriet Goldie.

Mlle Snively trouvait les conditions au TGH moins que satisfaisantes. L’établissement d’environ 400 lits ne comptait que 7 infirmières responsables des salles et 27 infirmières en formation. Il n’y avait pas d’horaire fixe pour le travail et l’étude, ni de bonne tenue de dossiers, ni de politique pour l’obtention de fournitures. Les infirmières vivaient dans des conditions pitoyables : elles logeaient dans des pièces mal chauffées, au hasard de l’espace disponible dans l’édifice, dormaient sur des paillasses et prenaient leurs repas au sous-sol, face à la salle des chaudières.

Armée de la volonté à toute épreuve qui caractériserait sa carrière de directrice des soins infirmiers, Mlle Snively commença à instituer des changements. Elle réorganisa le programme d’études : elle instaura des cours magistraux donnés régulièrement par des médecins et des cours sur des sujets tels que l’éthique des soins infirmiers, et mit en place un examen écrit à la fin de la période de formation de deux ans. Le lavage de la vaisselle et d’autres tâches domestiques furent confiés à d’autres personnes pour que les étudiantes puissent se concentrer sur leurs responsabilités médicales. Déterminée à améliorer leurs vies et consciente que le raffinement et le confort seraient essentiels pour transformer l’image des soins infirmiers et attirer des femmes de la classe moyenne, elle convainquit le conseil d’administration de l’hôpital de construire une résidence pour les infirmières. Le nouvel édifice, qui abritait une salle à manger, des salons et deux bibliothèques, fut achevé en juillet 1887 (à partir de 1897, Mlle Snively ferait campagne pour obtenir une résidence plus spacieuse, qui serait bâtie en 1900). Grâce à des améliorations graduelles, de jeunes femmes instruites commencèrent à montrer de l’intérêt. En 1891, l’hôpital avait déjà reçu 600 demandes d’admission, dont 57 furent acceptées. À l’instar de sa contemporaine, Gertrude Elizabeth Livingston*, nommée directrice de l’école d’infirmières du Montreal General Hospital en 1890, Mlle Snively s’évertua à renforcer continuellement la réputation de son école et de la profession. En 1894, la Toronto General Hospital Training School for Nurses était déjà la plus grande du pays, et les diplômées étaient engagées dans tout l’Ontario et ailleurs. Cette année-là, Mlle Snively collabora à la création de la Nurses’ Alumnae Association de l’hôpital, première de la sorte au Canada, dont elle fut élue présidente.

En 1897, Mlle Snively fut nommée présidente de la Society of Superintendents of Training Schools for Nurses of the United States and Canada, dont les membres travaillaient de concert pour élaborer des programmes d’études. Elle venait de porter la durée du programme de formation du TGH à trois ans et croyait que, pour atteindre de hauts niveaux en morale, éthique et éducation dans tout le Canada, les infirmières devaient être regroupées au sein d’une organisation : elle fit valoir l’importance d’un programme d’enseignement fixe, d’un examen uniforme et d’un processus d’autorisation. À cette fin, elle rassembla des organisations provinciales et des associations d’anciennes pour former, en 1908, la Canadian National Association of Trained Nurses (CNATN) (qui deviendrait la Canadian Nurses’ Association en 1924). Elle fut nommée première présidente de la CNATN et Flora Madeline Shaw*, de la Montreal General Hospital Alumnae Association, fut désignée secrétaire-trésorière. Mlle Snively créa alors des liens entre la CNATN et le Conseil international des infirmières, dont elle était membre du conseil de direction depuis sa fondation en 1899. Le Conseil international des infirmières accueillit officiellement la CNATN dans ses rangs en 1909, à sa réunion triennale tenue à Londres. À titre de présidente de l’organisme canadien, Mlle Snively fut invitée à déposer une couronne sur le tombeau de la reine Victoria et à prononcer une brève allocution.

Mlle Snively était reconnue pour son immense bonté et son dévouement au bien-être des patients. Elle était une partisane de la discipline stricte et nourrissait des idéaux tenaces valorisant fortement l’enthousiasme, le courage et l’inspiration. Dans un discours qu’elle livra en 1904 à une remise de diplômes à Cleveland, en Ohio (le texte serait publié dans l’American Journal of Nursing), elle parla de la profession comme d’une mission et la qualifia de « la plus noble, la plus féminine, la plus semblable à celle du Christ de toutes les professions ouvertes aux femmes […] Qu’est-ce qui fait d’une femme une bonne infirmière ? La pratique. Qu’est-ce qui fait d’une femme une bonne femme ? La pratique […] La vie n’est pas une sinécure, c’est une éducation. Le monde n’est pas un terrain de jeux, c’est une salle de classe, et le caractère se développe dans le courant de la vie du monde. » Mlle Snively incarnait cette conviction, tout comme la devise que l’école d’infirmières du TGH adopta en 1907, Augere quam acquirere, et traduisit ainsi : Être vaut mieux qu’acquérir.

Le 1er décembre 1909, la Nurses’ Alumnae Association du TGH tint une réception pour célébrer le vingt-cinquième anniversaire de la nomination de Mlle Snively. On lui offrit un porte-cartes en argent et un chèque de 1 000 $. Puis, le président du conseil d’administration, Joseph Wesley Flavelle, annonça la terrible nouvelle : Mlle Snively avait décidé de prendre sa retraite. Il déclara que l’hôpital lui accorderait une rente viagère de 700 $. Dans une note écrite à son mentor ce jour-là, la diplômée Janet Neilson exprima son admiration : « Jamais nous ne vous avons vue choisir la voie la plus facile parce qu’elle était la plus facile. Nous vous avons toujours vue affronter l’impopularité lorsque la bonne cause était en jeu. Maintes et maintes fois, nous vous avons vue faire fi de la fatigue physique et nerveuse et hisser sur vos épaules votre fardeau, et nous vous savions toujours prête à tendre une oreille attentive et compatissante au cri de douleur. Même si nous avons été loin d’atteindre l’idéal que vous aviez envisagé pour nous, nous n’avons pu échapper à l’influence de votre esprit. » Quand elle quitta son poste l’année suivante, Mlle Snively laissa à celle qui lui succéda, Robina Lamont Stewart, une école reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour ses normes élevées et son influence sur les soins infirmiers d’un bout à l’autre du Canada et aux États-Unis par l’entremise de celles que l’historienne Pauline O. Jardine appellerait ses diplômées « missionnaires ».

Mlle Snively ne resta pas inactive. Une fois retraitée, elle voyagea à l’étranger pendant 14 mois, au cours desquels elle assista à la réunion de 1911 du Conseil international des infirmières, à Cologne, en Allemagne. Elle conserva des relations avec la CNATN ; elle fut archiviste et présidente honoraire de l’association qui la nomma membre à vie en 1921. Elle continua de se consacrer au bien-être des autres dans des œuvres religieuses et sociales. Pendant de nombreuses années, elle anima une classe du dimanche pour Chinois, accepta la présidence de la Woman’s Missionary Society de l’église presbytérienne St James Square et dirigea une mission infirmière qui soignait les pauvres de la ville. Sacrifiant son confort personnel, elle soutint financièrement des aspirants aux études de médecine et des missionnaires à Formose (Taiwan), en Inde et en Chine, et octroya une subvention à une école en Chine.

En prenant sa retraite, Mary Agnes Snively avait quitté son domicile dans la résidence des infirmières pour s’installer dans une pension. En 1931, le conseil d’administration du TGH lui ouvrit les portes du Private Patients’ Pavilion nouvellement construit. Ce fut là qu’elle mourut, à l’âge de 85 ans, après deux mois de maladie. La « mère des infirmières du Canada », comme la revue Canadian Nurse la qualifia, fut inhumée au cimetière Victoria Lawn, à St Catharines. Selon Pauline O. Jardine, elle légua un héritage remarquable : « études supérieures, éthique professionnelle, dévouement au travail et image publique acquise – les infirmières étaient désormais reconnues tant comme des dames que [comme] des professionnelles ».

Diana Mansell

Mary Agnes Snively a publié plusieurs articles, rapports et discours, dont : « Address of President Mary Agnes Snively : fifth annual convention of the Superintendents’ Society, 1898, Toronto, Canada », dans Legacy of leadership […], Nettie Birnbach et Sandra Lewenson, édit. (New York, 1993), 34–39 ; « President’s address », Canadian Nurse (Toronto), 4 (1908) : 524–528 ; et « What manner of women ought nurses to be ? », American Journal of Nursing (New York), 4 (1903–1904) : 836–840.

En 1925, la Nurses’ Alumnae Assoc. a offert un portrait de Mlle Snively au Toronto General Hospital. Le tableau, œuvre de John Wycliffe Lowes Forster, a d’abord été accroché dans la résidence des infirmières, avant d’être installé dans la Univ. Health Network Nursing Centre, situé dans l’Eaton Building de l’hôpital.

On peut trouver de l’information sur Mlle Snively aux City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 234 (Alumnae Assoc., School of Nursing, Toronto General Hospital) ; voir notamment les séries 895, 896, 948 et 1206, ainsi que l’exposition virtuelle des archives intitulée « That I may be of service – guiding hands ».

Daily Mail and Empire (Toronto), 2 déc. 1909, 27 sept. 1933.— J. E. Browne, « A daughter of Canada », Canadian Nurse (Winnipeg), 20 (1924) : 617–620, 681–684, 734–736 ; « In memoriam : Miss Mary Agnes Snively », Canadian Nurse (Montréal), 29 (1933) : 567–570.— Elvie Follett, « Mary Agnes Snively », Toronto General Hospital, School of Nursing, Alumnae Assoc., Quarterly (Toronto), automne 1984 (exemplaire aux City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 234).— History : the School for Nurses, Toronto General Hospital […], M. I. Lawrence, édit. ([Toronto, 1931]).— P. O. Jardine, « An urban middle-class calling : women and the emergence of modern nursing education at the Toronto General Hospital, 1881–1914 », Rev. d’hist. urbaine (Toronto), 17, (1988–1989) : 177–190.— Diana Mansell, « Mary Agnes Snively : realistic optimist », Canadian Journal of Nursing Leadership (Toronto), 12 (1999), 1 : 27–29.— Natalie Riegler, « Mary Agnes Snively, 1847–1933 : leading the way », Registered Nurse (Toronto), mai–juin 1999 : 5–7 (exemplaire aux City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 234).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Diana Mansell, « SNIVELY, MARY AGNES », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 12 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/snively_mary_agnes_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/snively_mary_agnes_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Diana Mansell
Titre de l'article:   SNIVELY, MARY AGNES
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   12 décembre 2017