DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  Mrs. Kerby

Source: Link

SPENCER, EMILY (Kerby), teacher, author, feminist, and social activist; b. 26 March 1860 in Toronto, fourth daughter of Sarah Lafferty and James Spencer*, a Methodist minister; m. 11 Oct. 1888 George William Kerby (d. 1944) in Paris, Ont., and they had a daughter and a son; d. 3 Oct. 1938 in Calgary.

The Lafferty and Spencer families were both of loyalist stock. After several controversial terms as editor of the Christian Guardian in Toronto, James Spencer ministered in Brampton and Paris before his death in 1863. Raised in Paris by her mother, Emily Spencer graduated from the Toronto Normal School in the early 1880s and then taught public school in Paris. She likely met George Kerby when he went there in 1886 as a student supply preacher; they married two years later, following his ordination and assignment to Dundas Street Methodist Church in Woodstock. Emily served with him in subsequent pastorates, in Hamilton, St Catharines, Brantford, and Montreal. They were separated for a time in 1901–2 when he evangelized throughout Canada and the United States and she remained behind to care for their children, Helen Jalvera and Harold Spencer. For her, the home would remain “the foundation of the Kingdom of God.”

After George returned to live with them in Toronto, he received invitations from well-established churches in eastern Canada, in addition to an appeal from Central Methodist Church in Calgary. He credited Emily with being instrumental in his decision to accept the western charge, despite the advice of fellow ministers and friends who believed he would fade into obscurity on the frontier. After the Kerbys’ arrival in July 1903, it was soon recognized that Emily was not the stereotypical minister’s wife. Articulate and gifted, she was a class leader – an exceptional responsibility for a woman at this time – and later she took to openly castigating the church establishment. From 1914 to 1928 she published articles and letters criticizing the slow acceptance of women for ministry; she was particularly hopeful of female ordination in her new denomination, the United Church of Canada, formed by the union of Methodists, Congregationalists, and Presbyterians in 1925 [see Samuel Dwight Chown]. Writing into the 1930s under a number of pseudonyms – Constance Lynd, Elizabeth Barclay, Elizabeth Jones, Nell Adaire, Nell Netherby, Western Correspondent, Western Woman, and Zeta – she produced 45 known articles, letters, social commentaries, and manuscripts. Her forums included Woman’s Century (Toronto), the New Outlook (Toronto), the Christian Guardian, and the Calgary Herald.

In a wider social context, on 29 Oct. 1907 she had convened the organizational meeting of Calgary’s first Young Women’s Christian Association, which opened in November in a rented property. Appointed honorary president that year, she worked on several of its successful fund-raising campaigns for a new building; she was the Herald’s managing editor for a day, on 31 July 1909, when the proceeds from sales went to the YWCA. By 1914 the association was offering travellers’ aid, accommodation, and employment assistance in addition to other social-service programs.

In 1911 George Kerby had resigned from Central Methodist to become the first principal of the co-educational Mount Royal College in Calgary, a private school financed by the Methodists’ Alberta Conference and General Council. In a later tribute to Emily, who continued to run a men’s Bible class at Central, she and George were described as joint principals during the college’s early years. Emily apparently also acted as its matron, and for some years taught the junior grades. In 1912 she established the Mount Royal Educational Club, designed to draw women together and foster their expertise and confidence.

On 26 Oct. 1912 she participated in a meeting to reconstitute the Calgary Local Council of Women, which had been disbanded in the 1890s. It now became the primary platform for her social activism. She was appointed first vice-president in January 1913, and for 10 years, until 1923, she convened its immigration committee, where she reflected contemporary desires for assimilation and Anglo-Protestant fears about foreigners. Through the Calgary council she led, or joined, campaigns for a higher age of consent to marriage, women’s education, labour reforms, mothers’ pensions, protection of children, birth control, sex education, and provincial legislation for the sterilization of “mental defectives.” As convener of the council’s franchise committee, she was intensely involved in the struggle for women’s suffrage. On 10 Oct. 1914 she was one of the three delegates who presented a provincewide petition for the franchise to the government of Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton*. Suffrage was finally gained in April 1916. Elected president of the Calgary council that year, Emily supported Helen Letitia McClung [Mooney*] in the drive for national suffrage, which was granted to most women in 1918.

During World War I, Emily’s energies had also been devoted to the war effort. She worked in the central offices of the Red Cross in Calgary. She saw the conflict partially in relation to foreigners in Canada, and became interested too, as a result of the enlistment and loss of many servants, in the role of female domestics and the teaching of household science. The Housekeepers’ Association of Calgary was formed and, in 1918, its members met weekly at the YWCA. Equally engaged in the war effort, George served as chief recruiting officer for Military District No.13 and district representative under the Military Service Act. Their son had entered the Royal Naval Air Service in 1915 and would go on to a distinguished career in the Royal Air Force.

Emily was again drawn to the legal status of women in 1921 when she was vice-president of the National Council of Women of Canada. In June the Calgary local hosted its 28th congress, where a key issue was the ineligibility of women for appointment to the Senate, a problem that was resolved in 1929 in the persons case [see Emily Gowan Ferguson]. Emily Kerby, who remained active in the Calgary council until her final years, was also a member of other service clubs, including the Women’s Canadian Club, the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, the Woman’s Missionary Society, the Red Cross, the Women’s Civic Organization, and the Women’s Research Club. In addition to her articles on church matters, she continued to publish feminist and social commentaries, many in the form of short stories. She collaborated with her husband and others in founding the Calgary branch of the Canadian Authors Association in 1921. Age diminished neither her conviction nor her pointedness. In 1935 she explained what would happen if men continued to push women back into the kitchen: “Some fine morning you will … wonder what has occurred. It will only be our educated, efficient, twentieth century women showing their ability to shove. You may call it the woman’s revolution if you like. It will be bloodless, but it will hit your silver and gold hard.”

On 3 Oct. 1938, at 78, Emily Spencer Kerby suffered a heart attack and died, with her husband at her bedside. Over a thousand people gathered to pay tribute at her funeral, among them prominent members of the United Church and the Anglican bishop of Calgary. In its obituary the Herald acknowledged her profound and lasting influence, not just on her church, but also on the social fabric of the nation.

Anne White

A new day for women: life & writings of Emily Spencer Kerby, ed. Anne White (Calgary, 2004). Michael Owen, “‘Do women really count?’: Emily Spencer Kerby – early twentieth century Alberta feminist,” Canadian Methodist Hist. Soc., Papers ([Toronto]), 10 ([1993–94]): 170–87. Anne White, “Emily Spencer Kerby: pioneer clubwoman, educator, and activist,” Alberta Hist. (Calgary), 46 (1998), no.3: 2–9.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Anne White, “SPENCER, EMILY (Kerby),” in EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 16, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/spencer_emily_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/spencer_emily_16E.html
Author of Article: Anne White
Title of Article: SPENCER, EMILY (Kerby)
Publication Name: EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2014
Year of revision: 2014
Access Date: September 16, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  Mrs. Kerby

Provenance : Lien

SPENCER, EMILY (Kerby), enseignante, auteure, féministe et militante sociale, née le 26 mars 1860 à Toronto, quatrième fille de James Spencer*, ministre méthodiste, et de Sarah Lafferty ; le 11 octobre 1888, elle épousa à Paris, Ontario, George William Kerby (décédé en 1944), et ils eurent une fille et un fils ; décédée le 3 octobre 1938 à Calgary.

Les familles Spencer et Lafferty étaient toutes deux d’ascendance loyaliste. Après plusieurs mandats controversés à la rédaction en chef du Christian Guardian à Toronto, James Spencer exerça son ministère à Brampton et à Paris. Il mourut en 1863. Élevée à Paris par sa mère, Emily Spencer obtint son diplôme de la Normal School de Toronto au début des années 1880, puis enseigna dans une école publique à Paris. Elle fit probablement la connaissance de George William Kerby dans cette localité, où il séjourna, en 1886, à titre d’étudiant prédicateur suppléant. Ils se marièrent deux ans plus tard, après l’ordination de George William et son affectation à l’église méthodiste Dundas Street à Woodstock. Emily servit avec lui là où il exerça ensuite son sacerdoce, soit à Hamilton, à St Catharines, à Brantford et à Montréal. Le couple fut séparé quelque temps, en 1901–1902, lorsque George William partit faire une tournée d’évangélisation au Canada et aux États-Unis, tandis que sa femme resta à la maison pour prendre soin de leurs enfants, Helen Jalvera et Harold Spencer. Pour Emily, le foyer serait toujours « la pierre d’assise du royaume de Dieu ».

Quand George William rejoignit sa famille, qui s'était installée à Toronto, il reçut des offres d’églises bien établies dans l’est du Canada et fut sollicité par l’église méthodiste Central à Calgary. Emily, dirait-il, influença sa décision d’accepter la charge dans l’Ouest, malgré les conseils de collègues ministres et d’amis qui craignaient qu’il ne sombre dans l’oubli dans cette région reculée. Les Kerby arrivèrent à Calgary en juillet 1903. Bien vite, on s’aperçut que Mme Kerby ne correspondait pas à l’image stéréotypée de l’épouse de pasteur. Douée et s’exprimant bien, elle fut responsable de classe – position exceptionnelle pour une femme à l’époque – et, par la suite, elle se mit à critiquer vivement et ouvertement les autorités de l’Église. De 1914 à 1928, elle publia des lettres et des articles où elle dénonçait la lenteur à accepter l’ordination des femmes. Elle espérait particulièrement que cette réforme serait acceptée dans sa nouvelle confession, l’Église unie du Canada, issue de l’union, en 1925, des méthodistes, des congrégationalistes et des presbytériens [V. Samuel Dwight Chown]. Jusque dans les années 1930, elle écrirait sous divers pseudonymes : Constance Lynd, Elizabeth Barclay, Elizabeth Jones, Nell Adaire, Nell Netherby, Western Correspondent, Western Woman et Zeta. Sa production connue se compose de 45 articles, lettres, commentaires sociaux et manuscrits. Elle publia notamment dans le Woman’s Century, le New Outlook, le Christian Guardian (trois périodiques torontois) et le Calgary Herald.

Par ailleurs, le 29 octobre 1907, Emily Kerby avait convoqué l’assemblée de fondation de la toute première Young Women’s Christian Association de Calgary, qui ouvrit ses portes en novembre dans une propriété louée. Nommée présidente honoraire la même année, elle prit part à plusieurs des campagnes fructueuses de l’organisme afin de recueillir des fonds pour un nouvel immeuble. Elle fut directrice de la rédaction du Calgary Herald pendant la journée du 31 juillet 1909, où le produit des ventes alla à la Young Women’s Christian Association. Dès 1914, l’association offrait de l’assistance aux voyageuses, de l’hébergement, de l’aide à l’emploi et d’autres programmes de service social.

En 1911, George William Kerby avait quitté l’église méthodiste Central pour devenir le premier directeur du Mount Royal College de Calgary, établissement privé mixte financé par deux instances méthodistes, la Conférence de l’Alberta et le conseil général. Dans un hommage rendu postérieurement à Emily Kerby, qui continua d’animer une classe d’études bibliques pour hommes à l’église Central, on dit qu’elle et son mari dirigèrent conjointement le collège dans ses premières années. Mme Kerby fut également, semble-t-il, intendante de l’établissement et, pendant quelques années, elle enseigna dans les petites classes. En 1912, elle fonda le Mount Royal Educational Club, dans le but de réunir des femmes pour les encourager à développer leurs compétences et leur confiance en elles.

Le 26 octobre 1912, Mme Kerby participa à une réunion en vue de remettre sur pied le Local Council of Women de Calgary, qui avait été dissous dans les années 1890. Dès lors, elle fit du militantisme social principalement au sein de cet organisme. Elle en devint la première vice-présidente, en janvier 1913, et, durant les dix années suivantes, elle en dirigea le comité d’immigration, où elle se fit l’écho des désirs d’assimilation de l’époque et des craintes entretenues par les anglophones protestants à l’égard des étrangers. Au moyen de l’association, à titre de chef ou de simple participante, elle s’investit dans des campagnes pour des causes diverses : la hausse de l’âge du consentement au mariage, l’instruction des femmes, des réformes du travail, des pensions pour les mères, la protection des enfants, la régulation des naissances, l’éducation sexuelle et une loi provinciale sur la stérilisation des « débiles mentaux ». En tant que responsable du comité du suffrage du Local Council of Women, elle fut très active dans la lutte pour le droit de vote des femmes. Elle était l’une des trois déléguées qui, le 10 octobre 1914, présentèrent une pétition provinciale en faveur de cette cause au gouvernement d’Arthur Lewis Watkins Sifton*. Les Albertaines obtinrent finalement le droit de vote en avril 1916. Élue présidente du Local Council of Women de Calgary la même année, Emily Kerby soutint Helen Letitia McClung [Mooney*] dans le combat des femmes pour le droit de voter aux élections fédérales, qui fut accordé à la plupart des femmes en 1918.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, Mme Kerby avait aussi consacré ses énergies à l’effort de guerre. Elle travailla à l’administration centrale de la Croix-Rouge à Calgary. La situation des étrangers au Canada était l’un des angles sous lesquels elle voyait la guerre et, à la suite de l’enrôlement et de la perte de bon nombre de domestiques, elle s’intéressa au rôle des servantes et à l’enseignement ménager. La Housekeepers’ Association of Calgary fut fondée et, en 1918, cet organisme se réunissait chaque semaine à la Young Women’s Christian Association. Tout aussi dévoué à l’effort de guerre, George William Kerby fut officier principal de recrutement du district militaire no 13 et représentant du district en vertu de la Loi concernant le service militaire. Le fils des Kerby était entré dans le Royal Naval Air Service en 1915 et ferait une carrière remarquable dans la Royal Air Force.

Emily Kerby s’occupa à nouveau du statut juridique des femmes en 1921, quand elle était vice-présidente du National Council of Women of Canada. En juin, le Local Council of Women de Calgary accueillit le vingt-huitième congrès de l’organisme. Un des principaux points à l’ordre du jour était l’inadmissibilité des femmes au Sénat, question résolue en 1929 par la décision rendue dans l’affaire « personnes » [V. Emily Gowan Ferguson]. Mme Kerby, qui milita au Local Council of Women de Calgary jusque dans les dernières années de sa vie, appartenait à d’autres cercles philanthropiques, notamment le Women’s Canadian Club, l’Union chrétienne de tempérance des femmes, la Woman’s Missionary Society, la Croix-Rouge, la Women’s Civic Organization et le Women’s Research Club. Outre des articles sur les affaires ecclésiastiques, elle continua de publier des commentaires féministes et sociaux, souvent sous la forme de nouvelles. Avec son mari et d’autres personnes, elle aida en 1921 à fonder la branche de Calgary de la Canadian Authors Association. Avec l’âge, elle ne devint ni moins convaincue ni moins directe. En 1935, elle expliqua ce qu’il adviendrait si les hommes continuaient de renvoyer les femmes à la cuisine : « Un beau matin, vous […] vous demanderez ce qui s’est passé. Simplement, nos femmes instruites et efficaces du vingtième siècle seront en train de montrer qu’elles savent aller de l’avant. Appelez cela la révolution des femmes si vous voulez. Elle se fera sans effusion de sang, mais elle frappera durement votre argent et votre or. »

Le 3 octobre 1938, à l’âge de 78 ans, Emily Kerby succomba à une crise cardiaque ; son mari était à son chevet. Plus d’un millier de personnes, dont des dignitaires de l’Église unie et l’évêque anglican de Calgary, se rassemblèrent à ses funérailles pour lui rendre hommage. Dans sa nécrologie, le Calgary Herald reconnut l’influence profonde et durable qu’elle avait exercée non seulement sur son Église, mais aussi sur la structure sociale canadienne.

Anne White

A new day for women : life & writings of Emily Spencer Kerby, Anne White, édit. (Calgary, 2004).— Michael Owen, « “Do women really count ?” : Emily Spencer Kerby – early twentieth century Alberta feminist », Canadian Methodist Hist. Soc., Papers ([Toronto]), 10 ([1993–1994]) : 170–187.— Anne White, « Emily Spencer Kerby : pioneer clubwoman, educator, and activist », Alberta Hist. (Calgary), 46 (1998), no 3 : 2–9.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Anne White, « SPENCER, EMILY (Kerby) », dans FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 sept. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/spencer_emily_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/spencer_emily_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Anne White
Titre de l'article:   SPENCER, EMILY (Kerby)
Titre de la publication:   FR:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2014
Année de la révision:   2014
Date de consultation:   30 septembre 2014