DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CUOQ, JEAN-ANDRÉ – Volume XII (1891-1900)

d. 21 July 1898 at the mission of Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes (Oka), Que.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  John Stanfield. Image courtesy of Stanfield's Ltd., Truro, Nova Scotia.

Source: Link

STANFIELD, JOHN, businessman, politician, and militia and army officer; b. 18 May 1868 in Charlottetown, eldest son of Charles Edward Stanfield and Lydia Dawson; m. 5 June 1902 Sarah (Sadie) Yorston in Truro, N.S, and they had two sons; d. there 22 Jan. 1934.

John Stanfield was born two years before his English-emigrant father moved his woollen mill from Tryon, P.E.I., to Truro. After receiving his education in local public schools, he was apprenticed at Pacific Mills in Lawrence, Mass., then one of the largest textile manufacturers in the world, with a view to his entering the family business. In 1896 John and his younger brother Frank purchased the firm from their father at his invitation, using money he supplied at interest. The brothers quickly reconstructed the enterprise, deciding to specialize in high-quality underwear that would, thanks to a process they themselves developed, be shrinkproof. Incorporated as the Truro Knitting Mills Company Limited in 1902, the business was reincorporated as Stanfield’s Limited early in 1906 with John as president and Frank as vice-president and managing director. John, who oversaw the manufacturing and technical side of the operations, remained president until 1924, when the company was again reorganized and he yielded the office to Frank. He then assumed the vice-presidency, a position he held until the end of his life.

John Stanfield was more politician than businessman – unlike his precocious brother, who was effectively both. The Stanfield dynasty in federal politics began with “Honest John,” who became president of the Colchester County Conservative Association in 1906. When a federal by-election was called in the riding in November 1907, Stanfield offered and, contrary to all expectations, took the seat for the Conservatives; he thus penetrated the “solid eighteen” Liberal phalanx that had been victorious in Nova Scotia in the general election three years earlier. He was also successful in 1908 and 1911. He was never an active debater, the Toronto Globe noting in its obituary that he was “not given to speech-making.” There was talk of a cabinet post for Stanfield when Robert Laird Borden took office as prime minister in October 1911 but Nova Scotia was left out of the administration, New Brunswick receiving two portfolios (both of which went to John Douglas Hazen). Stanfield had to settle for the role of chief government whip.

Stanfield’s ten years as an mp were ultimately ended by the conscription crisis and the electoral rearrangements consequent upon the formation of Borden’s Union government in October 1917. A safe seat was needed for Fleming Blanchard McCurdy*, who had had to make way in the riding of Shelburne and Queens for William Stevens Fielding*, a pro-conscription Liberal whom McCurdy had defeated in 1911. Stanfield was prevailed upon to stand down, and McCurdy ran unopposed in Colchester in the general election of December 1917. Circumstantial evidence suggests that the quid pro quo was the reversion to Stanfield of the first Senate vacancy for Nova Scotia. And, indeed, after the death of Senator William Dennis in July 1920, Stanfield was elevated to the upper house in February. The appointment was timely, given that the government of Prime Minister Arthur Meighen* was defeated in December 1921.

In England when World War I erupted in August 1914, Stanfield, who belonged to the active militia, had quickly returned to Canada and offered his services to the Department of Militia and Defence. In January 1916 the 193rd Infantry Battalion was authorized and Stanfield was named commanding officer with the rank of lieutenant-colonel. Popular with recruits, the so-called Blue Feather Battalion (“Stanfield’s Unshrinkables”) would never be operational outside Canada and England. Instead it would be broken up, providing drafts for front-line fighting units in France. In September 1916 Stanfield became temporary commandant of the Nova Scotia Highland Brigade, formed earlier that year with the 193rd as one of its components. His military career ended prematurely, however. After going overseas in October, already in poor health, he was declared by a medical board unfit for further service and invalided home; he was subsequently discharged and placed on the reserve list. Stanfield was one of several serving mps who both raised and commanded a unit in the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

Stanfield’s Senate career was uneventful. No sooner had the federal Conservatives been restored to power in Ottawa in July 1930 than the lieutenant governorship of Nova Scotia became available. Prime Minister Richard Bedford Bennett*’s understandable desire to rid himself of the discredited Unionist old guard – especially those who may not have supported him in the party-leadership campaign of 1927 – gave rise to rumours that Stanfield would be kicked upstairs; the senator was insulted and, when offered the position, he declined. Instead, the appointment went to his brother Frank, who viewed the office as an honour to the family. John may have resented the fact that he had not been seriously considered for cabinet rank in Bennett’s new government; the prime minister chose as Nova Scotia’s representative Premier Edgar Nelson Rhodes*, who then resigned his provincial office.

After Stanfield’s unexpected death from a stroke in January 1934, his Senate seat remained empty for 18 months. It was one of four Nova Scotia Senate vacancies filled in the dying days of the Bennett administration in July 1935. Historian John English has described John Stanfield as “a notorious political manipulator” and the characterization may well be apt. He was an activist who more or less gave up business for partisan affairs, at which he was undoubtedly successful. The political gene was prominent in the next generation of Stanfields: one of John’s nephews, Robert Lorne*, became premier of Nova Scotia and later leader of the opposition in Ottawa, and another, Frank Thomas, succeeded to his old federal seat. Stanfield’s place on the directorate of the Acadia Trust Company, the family’s investment arm, of which he had been president since his brother Frank’s appointment as lieutenant governor in late 1930, was taken by a third nephew, Charles Edward Stanfield II. Of his own sons, one became a civil engineer and the other had a career in advertising.

Barry Cahill

John Stanfield’s personal and political papers have apparently not survived; records of Stanfield’s Limited during his career are privately held. His wartime activities are well documented at LAC by his military personnel record in RG 150, Acc. 1992–93/166, box 9228-47 and by the records of the 193rd Infantry Battalion (see the section on infantry battalions in the guide “Sources relating to units of the Canadian Expeditionary Force,” Infantry Battalions, 193rd Battalion: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/military-heritage/first-world-war/Documents/infantry%20battalions.pdf (consulted 19 Feb. 2016)). Among the other useful primary sources are Colchester County Registry of Probate (Truro, N.S.), no.3883 and LAC, R14423-0-6 and R6113-0-X. The following newspapers are helpful: Acadian Recorder (Halifax), Citizen (Truro), Colchester Sun (Truro), Halifax Chronicle, Halifax Herald, and Truro Daily News.

Globe, 23 Jan. 1934. J. L. Colvin, “The sons of the man who made the business,” Maclean’s, 1 Sept. 1920: 32–34. John English, The decline of politics: the Conservatives and the party system, 1901–20 (Toronto and Buffalo, N.Y., 1977). A short history & photographic record of the Nova Scotia Highlanders, 193rd overseas battalion, C.E.F., Lt. Col. John Stanfield, commanding officer (n.p., 1916).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Barry Cahill, “STANFIELD, JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 21, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/stanfield_john_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/stanfield_john_16E.html
Author of Article: Barry Cahill
Title of Article: STANFIELD, JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: July 21, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BALDWIN, WILLIAM WARREN – Volume VII (1836-1850)

Hommage à Huguette Filteau (1943–2018)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  John Stanfield. Image courtesy of Stanfield's Ltd., Truro, Nova Scotia.

Provenance : Lien

STANFIELD, JOHN, homme d’affaires, homme politique, et officier dans la milice et dans l’armée, né le 18 mai 1868 à Charlottetown, fils aîné de Charles Edward Stanfield et de Lydia Dawson ; le 5 juin 1902, il épousa à Truro, Nouvelle-Écosse, Sarah (Sadie) Yorston et ils eurent deux fils ; décédé le 22 janvier 1934 dans cette ville.

John Stanfield naquit deux ans avant que son père, immigrant britannique, ne transfère son usine de lainages de Tryon, dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à Truro. Après avoir fréquenté des écoles publiques locales, il fit son apprentissage à la Pacific Mills, à Lawrence, au Massachusetts, en vue d’entrer dans l’entreprise familiale. À l’époque, la firme était l’un des plus grands fabricants de textiles au monde. En 1896, John et son frère cadet Frank achetèrent l’entreprise de leur père sur son invitation, avec l’argent qu’il leur prêta à intérêt. Les frères restructurèrent rapidement l’entreprise en décidant de ne fabriquer que des sous-vêtements de haute qualité qui, grâce à un procédé qu’ils mirent au point eux-mêmes, seraient irrétrécissables. Constituée en société en 1902 sous le nom de Truro Knitting Mills Company Limited, l’entreprise fut reconstituée au début de 1906 sous la raison sociale de Stanfield’s Limited ; John en était président et Frank, vice-président et directeur général. John, qui supervisait la production et les aspects techniques des opérations, resta président jusqu’en 1924, quand l’entreprise fut une nouvelle fois réorganisée. Il céda alors son poste à Frank et devint vice-président, fonction qu’il occupa jusqu’à la fin de sa vie.

John Stanfield était davantage un homme politique qu’un homme d’affaires, contrairement à son frère, précoce, doué dans l’un et l’autre rôle. La dynastie Stanfield en politique fédérale débuta avec « l’honnête John », nommé président de la Colchester County Conservative Association en 1906. Lorsqu’une élection fédérale partielle fut déclenchée dans la circonscription en novembre 1907, Stanfield se présenta et, contre toute attente, remporta le siège pour les conservateurs ; par le fait même, il fit une brèche dans la solide phalange composée des 18 députés libéraux victorieux aux élections générales en Nouvelle-Écosse, trois ans plus tôt. Il triompha également en 1908 et en 1911. Il ne fut jamais un débatteur actif ; à Toronto, dans la notice nécrologique que lui consacra le Globe, on lirait qu’il « n’[avait] pas l’habitude des discours ». On évoqua la possibilité d’un poste ministériel pour Stanfield lorsque Robert Laird Borden devint premier ministre, en octobre 1911, mais on oublia la Nouvelle-Écosse dans la constitution du cabinet, tandis que le Nouveau-Brunswick reçut deux portefeuilles (tous deux attribués à John Douglas Hazen). Stanfield dut se contenter du poste de whip en chef du gouvernement.

Les dix années de Stanfield comme député prirent fin avec la crise de la conscription et le remaniement électoral résultant de la formation du gouvernement d’union de Borden en octobre 1917. Il fallait trouver un siège sûr pour Fleming Blanchard McCurdy*, qui avait dû céder la place dans la circonscription de Shelburne and Queens à William Stevens Fielding*, libéral favorable à la conscription que McCurdy avait battu en 1911. On persuada Stanfield de démissionner et McCurdy resta le seul candidat à se présenter dans Colchester aux élections générales de décembre 1917. Des preuves circonstancielles laissent croire qu’on promit à Stanfield, en guise de compensation, le premier poste de sénateur à pourvoir pour la Nouvelle-Écosse. Et, effectivement, après la mort du sénateur William Dennis en juillet 1920, Stanfield accéda à la Chambre haute en février. Cette nomination arriva à point nommé, car le gouvernement du premier ministre Arthur Meighen* fut défait en décembre 1921.

Stanfield se trouvait en Angleterre au déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, en août 1914 ; membre de la milice active, il s’était empressé de rentrer au Canada et d’offrir ses services au ministère de la Milice et de la Défense. En janvier 1916, on autorisa la mise sur pied du 193rd Infantry Battalion et on nomma Stanfield commandant avec le grade de lieutenant-colonel. Populaire auprès des recrues, le bataillon, qu’on appelait le Blue Feather Battalion (« les irrétrécissables de Stanfield »), ne serait jamais opérationnel ailleurs qu’au Canada et en Angleterre. Il serait plutôt démantelé et fournirait des recrues aux unités de combat du front en France. En septembre 1916, Stanfield devint commandant provisoire de la Nova Scotia Highland Brigade, formée plus tôt cette année-là et composée, entre autres, du 193rd Infantry Battalion. Sa carrière militaire se termina prématurément, cependant. Après qu’il eut séjourné outre-mer en octobre, déjà en mauvaise santé, une commission médicale le déclara inapte au service et le démobilisa comme invalide ; on le libéra par la suite de ses fonctions et on l’inscrivit sur la liste des réservistes. Plusieurs autres députés en exercice mirent sur pied et commandèrent une unité du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Au Sénat, Stanfield mena une carrière sans histoire. Les conservateurs fédéraux avaient à peine repris le pouvoir à Ottawa en juillet 1930 que le poste de lieutenant-gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse devint vacant. Le désir compréhensible du premier ministre, Richard Bedford Bennett*, de se débarrasser de la vieille garde unioniste discréditée – en particulier de ceux qui ne l’avaient peut-être pas appuyé durant la course à la direction du parti, en 1927 – donna naissance à des rumeurs voulant qu’on catapulte Stanfield à un poste supérieur ; le sénateur en fut insulté et, lorsqu’on lui offrit la charge, la refusa. Le poste alla plutôt à son frère Frank, qui y vit un honneur pour la famille. Il se peut que John ait éprouvé du ressentiment parce qu’on n’avait pas sérieusement envisagé de lui offrir un ministère dans le nouveau gouvernement de Bennett ; ce dernier choisit, comme représentant de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le premier ministre Edgar Nelson Rhodes*, qui quitta alors ses fonctions provinciales.

Après le décès inattendu de John Stanfield à la suite d’un accident vasculaire cérébral, en janvier 1934, son siège au Sénat resta inoccupé durant 18 mois. Ce poste compta parmi les quatre vacants au Sénat pour la Nouvelle-Écosse qui furent pourvus en juillet 1935, dans les derniers jours du gouvernement Bennett. L’historien John English dirait de John Stanfield qu’il était « un manipulateur politique notoire » ; cette description pourrait bien être juste. C’était un militant qui délaissa plus ou moins les affaires au profit des activités partisanes, dans lesquelles il réussit incontestablement. La génération suivante de Stanfield hérita du gène politique : l’un des neveux de John, Robert Lorne*, devint premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Écosse et plus tard chef de l’opposition à Ottawa, et un autre, Frank Thomas, reprit son ancien siège fédéral. Le poste de Stanfield au conseil d’administration de l’Acadia Trust Company, société d’investissement de la famille, dont il avait été président depuis la nomination de son frère Frank à la fonction de lieutenant-gouverneur à la fin de 1930, échut à un troisième neveu, Charles Edward Stanfield II. Quant à ses propres fils, l’un devint ingénieur civil et l’autre fit carrière dans la publicité.

Barry Cahill

Les papiers personnels ou liés aux activités politiques de John Stanfield semblent avoir disparu ; des particuliers détiennent des dossiers de la Stanfield’s Limited cumulés au cours de sa carrière. On trouve de nombreux renseignements sur ses activités en temps de guerre dans son dossier militaire conservé à BAC, RG 150, Acc. 1992–93/166, boîte 9228-47, et dans les dossiers du 193rd Infantry Battalion (voir « Guide des sources pour les unités du Corps expéditionnaire canadien », Bataillons d’infanterie, 193rd Battalion : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/patrimoine-militaire/premiere-guerre-mondiale/Documents/bataillons%20infanterie.pdf (consulté le 19 févr. 2016). Parmi les autres sources primaires d’intérêt figurent : Colchester County Registry of Probate (Truro, N.-É.), no 3883 ; et BAC, R14423-0-6 ; R6113-0-X. Les journaux suivants nous ont été utiles : Acadian Recorder (Halifax), Citizen (Truro), Colchester Sun (Truro), Halifax Chronicle, Halifax Herald et Truro Daily News.

Globe, 23 janv. 1934.— J. L. Colvin, « The sons of the man who made the business », Maclean’s, 1er sept. 1920 : 32–34.— John English, The decline of politics : the Conservatives and the party system, 1901–20 (Toronto et Buffalo, N.Y., 1977).— A short history & photographic record of the Nova Scotia Highlanders, 193rd overseas battalion, C.E.F., Lt. Col. John Stanfield, commanding officer (s.l., 1916).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Barry Cahill, « STANFIELD, JOHN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 août 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/stanfield_john_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/stanfield_john_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Barry Cahill
Titre de l'article:   STANFIELD, JOHN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   19 août 2018